Customer Satisfaction Results
1.93 out of 5
1.93 out of 5 Stars
578 Consumer Reviews

AT&T
Complaint Department


Welcome to the AT&T complaint department. So far there have been more than 500 consumer complaints filed against AT&T using our online form, making it the 3rd most complained about company online. One of the largest telecommunications company in the world, their brands now include Wireless, U-verse, home security, DirecTV, and home phone.

Upset at AT&T? Call the complaint line and tell them now!

The company does have an official contact page, but social media is probably the best way to get a response to your problem. Tweet AT&T customer service on Twitter at @attcares or post a complaint to their Facebook page. If you would like to send a complaint to AT&T corporate headquarters, their mailing address is 208 South Akard Street, Dallas TX, 75202. There is an image of the corporate office location here.

Contact the CEO with your problem! Write a letter to the corporate office.

The most popular method of contacting AT&T with a complaint is by calling them, that phone number is 800-331-0500. They follow normal business hours of operation, so call between Monday and Friday, 8am-6pm EST. You can also email the support department 24/7 at attcustomercare@att.com.

Have you had problems with AT&T?

Compare AT&T to Similar Cell Phones more...

Top 578 Reviews about AT&T

The most popular submitted in 2015. Are you a AT&T customer? Use our online web form to create your own.

40

I am learning disabled and choose to write over calling. Warrenton, Ga 30828 is where I live. The internet service here is beyond poor especially in the morning and evening. During the day it is fair. I see where my connections are coming from a tower in North Augusta, SC. That is ridiculous. If you cannot provide me with faster and more stable connection, i would like to discontinue my u-verse & at&t account if we cannot resolve the issue. would need a technician to come to house and do all the work for me...i cannot take instructions over phone.

I will use all resources to register this complaint and express my most unhappy experience that started when U-verse was installed. Also, you don't even have this service at all at my cabin. Thank you to the customer service person who finally helped me with this this. I know nothing is your fault, but your attention to this matter would be appreciated.

Upvote (0)
60

I was on the phone for an hour trying to add a service to my mother's land line phone. I called the number on their website for New Hampshire customers and I was told I was calling for South East customers. In all I was told to call 5 different numbers (some of them the same ones I already called). The last time I asked to speak to a manager but was put on hold for another department. I finally hung up. Changing over to Fairpoint. Everyone I talked to (but 2 people) had accents and were very hard to understand. I have never had such a problem in my life as this.

Upvote (0)
40

I called ATT customer service in attempt to extend my payment arrangement two days so my direct deposit could hit my account. I spoke with a woman who was more eager to end her shift than assist me. I asked to speak with a supervisor & ended up speaking to a Tia Wheeler who stated she could not help me even though I've been with ATT for sometime. It was made very clear they would rather loose a consumer than work with individuals.

I asked for the customer service representative name I spoken with earlier & was told she is no longer on the phone so I wouldn't need it & she refused to provide me with their location so that when I did "complain" it would be a bit more difficult for them to track down exactly whom I was speaking to. I am very disappointed in the treatment I have received & will be looking to move my business elsewhere. I cannot support a company who is quick to take people's money yet lacks the proper customer service skills needed. After all we are the reason any of your employees have a job.

Upvote (0)
40

I am wondering why your employees have to lay to us. The told me and my wife when we went to the AT&T store in Moore, OK. to see about if we could get a better deal on a new contract. First they told us we would have to go to Directv because they are getting rid of uverse tv. Also your installers told us the same thing the you were finding out uverse services. Your installers said that new customers would have to have directv that they were not going to fade out uverse all together. We are about 75% satisfied with our service.

We told our neighbors that they said about uverse being fading out. But the came over and said they got a new uverse contract from the same store. They told them that they were not going to fade out uverse. Now I fill stupid that I told them anything. So five employees lied to us. So I would like for you to have your service people come out and do there work in the future and just not speak unless spoken to. Now the contract is in my wife name and not mine. I just want you to know that I do not like or need to be lied to.

Upvote (0)
20

I`'ve had to contact AT&T customer service representatives since January about adding and having a technician out to connect internet to my services. On February 3rd I called off of work and they were scheduled from 1-3pm. No one showed but I received a text stating " they were sorry they missed me"!! I was home from work waiting.

They rescheduled for Saturday the 5th from 11-1 and at 9 am I receive a text again "sorry I missed you" ! I have been on the phone all day with one department to another just to get rescheduled again. Who makes sure these technicians are following through? Is there even communication between departments?? This is the worst service ever.

Upvote (0)
60

I was never told I had to wait 6months to unlock my prepaid phone. I want to switch carriers but can't. So if I want more Data on my hone I have to pay $15 more if I stay with AT& T. I bought the phone and don't owe any money, I should be able to use my phone where ever I want to. We will be filing a complaint with the BBB and telling everyone we know to stay away from AT&T. Your customer service reps are not very helpful. Told us you bought your phone at Walmart they don't know anything about AT&T. Well it wasn't just them that didn't tell us your cs reps didn't either.

Upvote (0)
40

We have contacted customer service more than 20 times now. We have been given the run around with several departments. We have been having the same trouble with land line for over a year now. The phone has a humming noise that is so bad that you can barely hear the party speaking. We have had technicians out and they have not been able to fix it. The last technician said that the underground cable to the house is bad and needs replacing. That's been over 6 months now and no one has been out to replace it. We have been paying our phone bill on time and have not missed a payment. We really feel that we are getting taken advantage of and being charged for a service that cannot be used. We have bundled with our cell phones.

Upvote (0)
60

01/25/16 Made a credit card payment over the phone to pay off the balance of an installment plan for a phone purchase. 01/25/16 ATT misapplied the payment to the phone bill in general rather than the installment plan. Made several phone calls to several different departments to get this matter corrected. The best ATT can do is refund the payment to the credit card. 01/25/16 ATT refunded the payment back to the credit card. 01/26/16 Made a second attempt to pay off the installment plan with a credit card over the phone. Was careful to explain the problems from the previous day to insure this would not happen again.

01/26/16 ATT misapplied the payment again to the phone bill in general rather than the installment plan. 01/27/16 Am now on the phone with ATT for over 2 hours and 22 minutes to have yet another refund of credit card charges and will now have to pay a 3rd time to try and get this installment plan paid off. No words can express the incompetence of a company that can not take a payment and apply it correctly.

Upvote (0)
60

My name is Nicole and I have been a customer of AT&T for about 10 years now, I currently have four devices on my plan which I am paying for by myself and my bill is well over $200 a month (not the problem). My problem is with one of my devices, It loses service, drops calls, gets call interference and the battery is poor. I called customer service and they did a trouble shooting session with no result and the phone was under warranty so they were able to send me a refurbished phone without issue.

I received the refurbished phone and all was well for awhile but then the same issue started happening again so again I call customer service get the trouble shooting run around of course it didn't help and this time it is out of warranty however, I have insurance on it and I can send it back yet again but this time with a 200$ deductible. My contract for this particular device is not up until June of 2017 and if I wanted to upgrade to a different phone I would have to pay 389$ to get myself out of that contract and in to a different one. The thing is I refuse to pay $200 to send it back to Asurion (spelling?) only to get the same phone yet again and probably have the same issues with, and I do not feel that I should have to pay almost $400 on a defective phone. customer service was rude, unhelpful and transferred me to 3 different departments with no help.

I have recommended them to friends and co-workers since I've always had great luck with them, but I think it's a complete breech of contract for them to make me get the same phone I am unsatisfied with or pay such a high amount to get a device that works. All I am asking for is to upgrade this phone that does not work, that I have gone through all the motions with without having to pay the remaining $389 . It's not like the user just got sick of the phone, it legitimately is defective.

I would rather pay for a NEW upgrade on a different phone that will work. I would like to mention also that the other 3 users on my account have no trouble with their phones, they are all different brands, and we all use our phones in the same places so it's not like this user is going out a coverage area. Please help, I am fed up and I feel its immoral and quite frankly illegal to continue to charge someone for something that doesn't work and or make them pay to get the same device that they are unhappy with

Upvote (0)
20

I am done with this company it has the absolute worst service and absolutely no help when needed. I used to love this company but as of now I give you a negative 20 stars.

Upvote (1)
60

The week of 2016 New Year, my landline started giving Static, dropping calls and hearing conversations from unknown persons. By New Years Eve I had no phone service. Unfortunately it was ;late when I realized I had no service, and the Office was closed. So Saturday Jan 2 (my birthday) I called and was given a date of a service repairman to come out on Tuesday January 5th.

I waited all day as instructed and no one came. Called on Wednesday, they said they would send someone out on Thursday which was totally unacceptable due to business contacts, as well as I am also caregiver for my elderly disabled Sister, and have a 8 year old daughter, and with no phone and I leave home no emergency call could be possible. I requested immediate service and someone came out Wednesday afternoon. Service seemed restored, but on Thursday, the next day service was off again. I called again as was given an appointment for Monday and repair was made and service restored.

Unfortunately this is not the first unpleasant encounter I have had to stress through. A few years ago trying to get internet service, for some unknown reason was without phone or internet service for 2 or 3 weeks, which really brought me to tears. I have been offered and accepted service to increase my internet speed, which absolutely did not work. I can not believe a company of this magnitude has so many problems. I never complain about anything, but enough is enough. I am totally disappointed at this time and hope this is the last time.

Upvote (0)
40

I would like very much to speak with someone in corporate about my complaint. I was promised a new phone I got the wrong phone it's too small for my vision and I wanted the one that was two years advanced upgraded to galaxy note 5 that I was promised.

Instead they sent me the galaxy 6 at 6 or something. I've activated I tried to use it for a week my eyes are used to my other phone that I've had for 3 years and I'm getting older. I can't use the phone that they sent me they told me that they were sending me a replacement but a two year newer version of my own phone instead I got this the at 6.

I do not want this I can't see with this phone and I was promised this or one of three choices now they're saying that I didn't return it within the two week period which she told me I had 30 days to return it. The girl on the phone so she must have made a mistake as well as sending me the wrong phone it's not the phone I ordered or requested and I can't see. I been with AT&T for a very long time through my business for 17 years this is my personal line and I don't want to cancel my service with you guys.

I've been very loyal to AT&T for 17 years my personal line for 3 years I'm very very hurt and upset and I need someone to call me asap.

Upvote (0)
40

I ordered an Apple I Pad Pro before Christmas from the Apple website. As soon as I received it from Apple, I called AT&T to order internet service for it. No one ever told me that I have 14 days to try out the internet service, after which I am signed up for TWO years. I returned the iPad a few weeks ago because it doesn't work for me as an artists but I forgot to cancel the internet service until yesterday (1/18/2016) When I spoke to the representative, she was quite unpleasant, telling me that I Cannot cancel the service because I am on a two year contract. I do NOT have the ipad any longer, and yet I am expected to pay for service for it.

I think this is outrageous. I have been a loyal customer of AT&T for many years , using it for my TV, Internet, two phones and one would think that's it just good business to grant my request to cancel it. Now I'm expected to pay $146.00 to get out of the contract. I am probably going to switch to t-mobile. I've heard that they have much better customer service. I know AT&T won't care one bit. I find that sad.

Upvote (0)
40

There wa phone that my mother returned. I am authorized on the account and have POA. I have the email memo that ATT received the phone. The account was never credited for the phone and the whole phone amount was due. I went round and round with ATT saving all chats with them. The bill was always paid, just not the phone amount. ATT in agreement with that as well. After many months still no resolution, no credit for the phone ATT received, and no phone returned. Then ATT suspended the account without resolving the issue. SO now 2 whole phone amounts due and no phone, no service.

After many months, now when I call, they finally after trying to explain months worth of the problem, they transfer me to retention dept where calls are not returned as promised, and one guy even hung up on me. I have made a federal complaint with the FTC. The phone number involved is wrong. I can provide all chat info and the power of attorney to resolve this matter on my mothers behalf. My mother has always and still does have a superior credit rating and has ALWAYS paid her bills!! Again, the lack of ATT resolution to this matter, and now ignoring my mother has resulted in elderly abuse in my opinion.

I also want all future communication and bills to STOP being sent to my mother.

Upvote (0)
40

Bought new iPhone 6s online 12/20/15. Somehow I got singed up for the next payment plan program. I intended to buy the phone for 299.00 and have a two year contract. Not sure how I got the next plan. I only noticed it because my credit card was only charged $75.00.

I called customer service on 12/28/15. Explained my issue. Was told nothing could be done. Rep transferred me and then I was disconnected. I called back. Rep said I needed to bring phone to att store and return phone. They would then start over and have me buy a new phone. 1. That is stupid. 2. My area was under a tornado watch and I couldn't leave the house. 3. I was flying out the next morning. Rep said she could file a case and it would be handled from their end. It would be faster to go to the store, but this would work. Rep said case #J05879992 and that I would be contacted.

1/15/16. I called att because I was not contacted about my case. Rep asked what my issue was and I told her I was following up on my case. She put me on hold. Rep came back and said what wa the case about. I said here is the case number. She said she didn't need the case number and out me on hold. She came back and asked me what my case was about. I told her my case number and what my case was about. She said she my case has not been looked at. I asked her to get me a rep that could help me find out about my case. She transferred me and then disconnected. I called back.

Rep said my case has not been looked at and said she would have the case expedited. She then said I had to pay for my phone $800. I said no, and repeated my issue. She said I should have gone to the att store and returned the phone etc. I asked for a supervisor. Transferred to supervisor. He told me my case was looked and and rejected. I said I was told by two reps that my case had not been looked at. He said case had been looked and and was rejected.

I asked why I wasn't notified of the rejection. He said they don't notify customer. He then said that I a new plan stated 1/8/16 that only allowed for the next plan. No more 299.00 two year contracts. I said I was never told about the date and I had proof that tried to resolve the issue on 12/28/15. He said I should have gone to the store and too bad. Nothing could be done. I asked to cancel my account and he transferred me to the DSL department! I hung up and called the cancelling dept. rep told me I had to talk to the retention dept.

I was transferred and disconnected. I called back. Rep said he would sorry about my issues and could understand why I was so upset. Rep said he could see the supervised transferred me to the wrong dept on purpose. I never told this rep I was transferred to dsl. He could see it somehow. I was then transferred to retention. Rep said she understood why I would want to cancel my service. I told her att reps were fraudulent. I was tricked into a next plan, told it would be taken care of, case was never handled, lied to by several reps, disconnected repeatedly, transferred incorrectly on purpose. Rep said she would talk to her supervisor. Put me on hold.

Came back and told me nothing could be done. I said cancel. Rep was quiet for a long time. I waited. Waited. Rep said she was having connection issues. Rep then said if I cancel your service it will disconnect mother current call. I said don't cancel, I'll go into the store and handle it there. She said I already cancelled the other lines. I said why did you do that without asking me a date for cancel etc? I told her to not cancel and I would go into the store and talk to a human.

Upvote (0)
20

The driver of an AT&T truck working on running lines in the community ran over the grass and the water meter box at our office. The driver refused to move and did not care that damage was caused.

Upvote (0)
20

i cancelled my landline phone service with AT@T on Nov 30, 2015 my number was supposed to be ported over to Verizon at that time. i talked to AT&T before doing this to be sure I could keep my DSL and they said i could. i rec my bill for the billing period of Nov. 29th thru Dec 28th and my landline charge was still on it. I called A T @T to get this corrected and they told me it was not ported and if it had been that I could not keep my DSL.

I have a wireless box for Verizon and they are telling me I was ported on Nov 30th and I am being charged for both companies. I do not understand what is going on. I have tried to contact them by phone about 5 or 6 times and they keep hanging up- Verizon will charge me $175.00 to cancel. But I'm not hooked on the phone line for AT&T I'm on wireless for Verizon. Would you please get this corrected. I have talked to the Better Business Bureau and filed a complaint.

Upvote (0)
40

Not sure WHY you don't add routers but this address 204.255.137.154 is choking my connection to a server I have been using for a decade. Since switching to AT&T last year this connection is bad and THAT address is the one router set that has made it worse. Why you can not invest in your business to maintain internet is beyond me....a YEAR for Christ sake and this major choke point has not been resolved. is it time for a class action suit against AT&T? Getting tired of AT&T service standing in a circle and everyone pointing to the left and hearing a chorus of "it's not our area it's theirs" the pingplotter image attached is from a GOOD day.

Upvote (0)
40

I just got a new phone, the one plus two, and the mobile data wasn't working. So I went to the att store to resolve this issue. I went to the att store in downtown San Leandro and was helped by Berlin. He did not inform me of why the data wasn't working nor did he tell me that he needed to install a new sim. He takes my phone and disappears for awhile and when he came back, there was a scratch on my brand new phone. I brought that to his attention and he simply denied that he did it. After expressing my discontent with what happened, he brought his manager, Taira, over. All she managed to do was tell me that they take no responsibility and that they could not do anything about it. She told me that it is not a phone they carry so they can't reimburse me in any way.

At this time, my data was still not working and they told me that they were not trained to fix the data situation and Taira then left. I asked Berlin for both their names and he decided to bring over his other manager Evan. Evan simply did not listen to what I had to say and instead got angry at me for being upset about a scratch on my brand new phone caused by his employee. He continued to say that sometimes sim cards need to be installed and sometimes the phones have to be laid on its screen, so if a scratch occurs, it's part of the job and not their fault. Luckily my phone had a screen protector on it and the screen was not damaged, however, I'm still disappointed and outraged at the fact that they believe it's ok to damage a customer's phone while servicing it. This is not acceptable.

Upvote (2)
40

I noticed that my back gate was open and went outside to close the gate. At that time I saw a MAN ENTERING MY BACKYARD! I asked, "who are you?" He did not respond and I ask again. His response was, I don't have to tell you anything! He finally told me he was fixing a phone line. I asked him why was I not informed as I had been in the past. Once again, he told me he did not need tell me anything. In the past, when AT&T company works in my backyard, they have left a tag on my door to inform me that At&T would be working on my property. This was upsetting because I live alone. This was a serious safety issue for me.

Upvote (0)
60

It's 12:46 PM and I am literally still on the phone right now for 49 mins and 10 seconds waiting for a "manager or supervisor" since 12:18 PM. I was calling them because they "updated" my service today (DEC 21, 2015) without my permission. Lady on the phone with customer service said to me that she doesn't see any new order confirmation on my account. The reason I called in the first place is because I received an email confirmation on my new order!! And i definitely do not want to re new my service because they are so rude and so expensive every year to re new service. My bill goes up $30 every year.

They do not care if you're a returning customer or not, they just make promises they can't keep when you sign on the first time. (it's 54 mins now and she said "I am still waiting on a supervisor lets go over this one more time together." I said no I will wait for a manager) The area I live in only has Comcast or ATT. I think I will just take my laptops and devices to Starbucks Coffee down the street. The baristas there are 10,000 times nicer then the people on the phone. Oh look i finally hit 1 hour on the phone with them and still no supervisor. I really hope people can get together and some how shut down this company who claims to have fast reliable internet, when their system is constantly crashing during a call (every single time I call).

Upvote (0)
40

I've been with AT&T since it bought out Cingular. I'm VERY disappointed that I can no longer upgrade my iPhone by signing up for a 2 year contract and purchasing the phone at a discounted rate because I have a value plan. I guess being a loyal customer doesn't matter to AT&T. I will consider changing companies once all phones are out of contract.

Upvote (0)
60

Promotion on my two year contract expired on 12/12/15. I tried for a week before it expired to reduce my service to the same amount that I had been paying for two years. One night I waited in hold for at least an hour the next night more then forty minutes. My complaint is about the AT&T billing department, it is a joke could care less about customer service. Supervisor William needs some retraining in Customer Service not interested in fixing a problem just pass it on to someone else. Would love to have the customer retention dept give me a call if they want to keep me as a customer other wise Comcast here I come yes William as a retired manager if my employee treated my customers with the could care less attitude you have you would be looking for a new job.

Upvote (0)
40

Horrible time getting AT&T service set up at new address. It took a week later and twenty phone calls to customer service at AT&T before phone and internet were on. They didn't cancel service at old address when scheduled and now getting bill and didn't live there at time. Two months and still calling them.

Upvote (0)
40

About a month ago, my Galaxy S6 Edge phone stopped working. So I contacted AT&T customer service. They sent me a new one and asked me to return the defective one since it was under warranty. Today I received my defective phone along with a letter stating that it was water damaged because the liquid indicator was activated, and $606 was charged on my bill. I agreed with the term of return because I did not do any liquid or physical damage. My phone simply stopped working overnight. I also have a witness who can prove that the phone did not make any contact with any liquid. The indicator was activated does not mean the phone was water damaged within my procession, it can be activated when AT&T received it. I talked to a customer service warranty dept representative and a manager today.

They kept telling me it has liquid damage, and if I don't pay the full amount they will disconnect my service and going to debt collection. If there was a liquid damage why would I return the phone. I would have just gone through insurance. I am extremely disappointed at how my issue was being handled after being a customer of AT&T for over 11 years. If this issue can not be resolved, I will file a complaint to Federal Communication Commission, Consumer Affairs, and Hissing Kitty, and start with other mobile providers.

Upvote (0)
60

I have been an AT&T customer for a little while now and I have had something happen that is going to make me change carriers. I have insurance on my phones my son has sent is phone back three times. The third time we sent the broken phone back they said it got scratched in shipping and because of that I have to pay for a broken phone. I have not even finish paying for the orginal phone and they say I have to pay the balance of the broken phone by Dec 18th or my service will be paid off I was willing to pay 100.00 over the amount of my monthly bill until it was payed off I was told that will not work must pay balance of be cut off.
.

Upvote (0)
40

During June – August I tried to update my AT&T account to include Passport Plus plans for my two sons. Despite at least 10 attempts utilizing: my AT&T account, chat, Customer Service and International Customer Care, I was unable to activate the Passport plans or completely resolve the billing charges. This included receiving an email confirmation the account was activated. After additional calls on 11/2 and 11/3 in which AT&T agreed to adjust the billing, there have been no credits to my account. I have accumulated over $1,500 in international services, most of it from AT&T’s failure to activate the plans. I have invested too much time and patience with AT&T, and I need assistance to escalate my case.

Upvote (0)
40

I closed my business in mid October and when I canceled my service with AT&T we put in an order for an intercept number to be put into place so that my customers would know how to get a hold of us. This was all suppose to be in place by October 26th. I have made a total of 6 phone calls to AT&T to get this started and each time I am given a new conformation number and told that an order will be placed and it should take about 6 days. Once I was told it would take 4 hours. Tell me, why would a new order need to be placed with each phone call? The order was started why is no one taking care of it? I am in Illinois and I am losing business because you are not doing what you told me you could do. Believe me...EVERY SINGLE CLIENT that does find me or my stylist DOES hear what a lousy job AT&T is doing!

Upvote (0)
60

My auto refill for my cell phone did not process (1st payment) and I got the 7535 message and made the call. My plan is $40, but all they want is $45 and next month I may be reinstated to the $40, etc. Long story short, no root cause of the problem, at&t customer service reps can not help, supervisor, no help and then the manager hangs up on me. I would pay the $40, but immediately wanted to be reinstated. I was read the same script by everyone I talked to, not one person could make a $5 decision to make a customer happy. So to get my service, I made the $45 payment with a new rep. Asked to speak to another corporate AT&T manager to voice my displeasure and wanted a contact to escalate the problem to. AT&T has no email accounts for complaints, nor anyone to address these kinds of issues to. But I was offered a snail mail address to at&t in ft. wayne, in. No person just at&t. If the bird has it's head in the sand, guess everyone is happy. NOT What ever happened to good old fashioned Customer Service? And treating people with dignity and respect? Now, it's all about the money.

Upvote (1)
40

I opened an AT&T internet account in September of 2014. At the time I told the AT&T rep that I would only be at that residence for 9 months (I moved the first of June 2014), and I was then told by the rep that I would have to pay for the contract for a full year. Since there was no other alternative internet service where I lived I did not have a choice but the pay for the 3 months I wasn't going to be using the service (or so I thought). In August of 2015 I got a phone message saying I needed to cancel my account because someone was moving into that apartment and wanted to sign up for AT&T. I called back and explained to the rep that I was told I had to pay for a full year. It was only then that I was told I could have canceled when I moved.

Needless to say I was irate because I had paid for THREE MONTHS that I didn't need to (approx. $150!!!). I told her I wanted to cancel the account then and she said I would have to talk to another rep so she transferred me. I was extremely upset about the situation but I never cursed at the rep or called her names (since you record calls for "quality purposes" if guess you can hear the call). As I was angrily telling my story the second rep HUNG UP on me. That was so totally unprofessional and rude! I would have hoped you had trained your staff to handle upset customers. A couple of weeks later I started wondering if either of the reps had cancelled my account, so I called back and spoke to a very nice gentleman and found out that in fact my account had NOT been cancelled.

My guess is that was done out of spite. The man on the phone said he would go back to that August date and cancel my account as of that date. Since I had paid $46 on 8/6/15 he said I would be getting a bill for the difference between the billing date I already paid for and the date the account was cancelled (which would have been probably under $20). Instead, I get a bill for $100!!!!! Not only was I lied to and overpaid $150, but now I was (I guess) lied to again and I was asked to pay an additional $100! I do not feel that I owe this money and intend to fight it by lodging complaints with the BBB and whoever else I can. Not only have I over paid and was asked to over pay again, but now this matter had been turned over to collection.

I was going to transfer my phone service (3 phones) to AT&T, but if your staff can't handle something as simple as setting up and canceling an account, needless to say that transfer will never happen! I would appreciate a quick resolution to this problem from the corporate offices in Dallas.

Upvote (0)
40

I called the billing department at AT&T to have my service transferred from one apartment to other apartment. I told the person that's all I wanted to have done. She insisted in all ways possible, including harassment, attempting to change my service plan. after telling her over and over I didn't want the new service plan offered she insisted It would be cheaper and that I should be glad to have it, I said no. The last time I heard No meant No. It was such a simple request and she made it like having hot coals being applied to your feet. I didn't appreciate the harassment, I have being a customer 40 years. Unbelievable that customer service has gotten to this low level. I don't this behavior is customer service, I wasn't being served I was being Harassed. I hope who ever read this c/o, know I don't take this lightly, in forty years I have never had a complaint with AT&T until today.

Upvote (0)
60

AT&T technician was to come out and install cable and or tv left work early to meet, when I got home I called my wife with home phone to her work to let her no that technician had arrived home phone worked fine. Technician leaves and we have no phone service. The technician left at 5:20 pm we have been on the phone with at&t trying to get someone to fix the problem to no avail. They tell us they cannot get anyone out here until tomorrow. I am starting to deduct payment since it is your technicians fault also your tech left.

Upvote (0)
40

I get 1.5 Internet speed. My husband plays online games and the AT&T connection to online is very poor I have called a couple of times to see if I could get faster Internet I am even willing to pay for it but every time I call, they are telling me that they can not offer no faster service to this area and I thing that's a load of crap. All I want is faster service but they are telling me that I can't do that unless they put anther box here and they say AT&T is working on other areas right now all I'm trying to say is that I am seriously about to disconnect my service with you all, and make sure I never suggest AT&T again to another person I know so if AT&T does not want to start losing customers and fast it would be best to do something about this.

Upvote (0)
40

"move with AT&T and receive $300" What a load. After myself and husband both called to ask why our reward was only 150$. We were told that we were ineligible. My husband called to see if your new house was in the service area. He then said that he would move service. He was told for a bonus he would get a 300$ bill credit and 100$ gift card. Instead, we got a 150$ gift card. My husband and I both called to see why it was different. I was told we were ineligible because I had chosen a 5$ a month discount on my cable bill. (I did not). My husband was told it was because he didn't make the changes online. When myself and my husband asked to speak to a supervisor we were both hung up on.

I took a picture of the times AT&T hung up on me. Then the "supervisor" called me back 15 minutes later to tell me again that was was wrong and that I had no proof. In all, we were over-talked, told different stories, lied to, and hung up on. What a shame. The funny thing is, I recorded the conversations. I guess I have learned my lessons. You have to record the conversations to have any proof with this company. You guys are running scams. I'll be looking into a different company. Sad really. We have been with you for cable, phone and internet for over 10 years. You'll lose customers over 150$? My bill alone that I pay every month should make you want to keep us as customers.

Upvote (0)
60

AT&T has the worst service for cell phone, internet and tv services. if the wind blows the internet stops and the tv stops. cell service is random at best. my internet service is so slow I believe I could mail a letter using the usps and get an answer back faster. 5 years ago I was sold AT&T u-verse and after about 2 weeks of trying they decided that their u-verse was not available in my area. I have changed my personal cell phone and will change 5 more family cell phones to Verizon asap. I have contacted a satellite internet service and am looking to change back to dish network from direct tv. I have had AT&T service as long as I can remember cell was with singular until they bought them out and ruined the service I had. I have no use for the land line that is required for internet service and will be dropped as soon as my new provider can install their equipment. Thank you AT&T for the sorriest service and your we don't care attitude.

Upvote (0)
60

On November 10th, I informed at&t that I would be moving and would like to have my home phone transferred to my new address. The rep told me the soonest they could have it done would be November 13th between the hours of 9am and 11am, we sat home all day, calling them at least six times and no one showed up, each time they said someone would be there before 8pm, well it's now 8:36pm and no one has come yet, We have been loyal customers of at&t for 24 years, have been late paying my bill only once in 24 years. I think that's pretty dam good. No one called and said the technician wasn't coming or anything.

They instead cut my phone off at the old address and I am now left without a phone. I guess Monday morning I will be calling comcast to connect me a home phone. I am getting rid of u-verse and their internet service. I can spend my money elsewhere. Just got u-verse on the 10th. This is really sad how you treat people and still think they are to be loyal to you, to hell with at&t, your name is is small letters for a reason, this shows just how much I think of you. If I was half ass paying my bill you would worry the hell out of me everyday. I will call you on Monday to come pick up all, you u-verse equipment and I am not paying a cancellation fee.

Upvote (0)
60

Ever month the service go down. This has happen each month for the last five month not for hours but days. I pay my bill every month on time. I called on Tuesday to tell them my phone, tv, and Internet was out. They said Mr Washington we will have someone there Friday. They did not give me an explanation no reason if I don't pay my bill they cut me off if I pay my bill they cut me off I can not win. The most reliable company out there I am losing business every day because of this company AT&T.

Upvote (0)
60

Our cell has been giving problems and we are getting bounced between AT&T and Comcast and still problem is not solved. We are AT&T customers for decades. Today at 4:45pm we went to the AT&T store in Grand Blanc, MI. There were three techs helping 3 customers. We stood there for 5-10 minutes and the manager Kelly comes out from break room and goes back and forth and doe snot acknowledge our presence.

Finally I have to ask her if anybody can help us. Her answer " I am the manager, wait for the techs". Meanwhile 4 people walked in one by one, 2 white ladies, 2 white males and immediately she greeted them and to them to sit down. Here are the 9 things I hate about AT&T customer service.

1) Your service is getting lousier and lousier each time we upgrade the I-phones (5 of them).
2) Our I-phone does not forward calls when patients call and directly goes to voice mail and patients are upset about this.
3) Our phone problem was not resolved.
4) You have no problem hiking prices and with false charges and paying penalties in millions because it's a slap on your wrist
5) You have no gratitude towards loyal customers.
6) You get tons of complaints and do you actually care?
7) Teach your employees not to show racism and discrimination because we all pay the same hard-earned dollars like white folks.
8) Just to let you know I am a physician for 40 years and racism in America is the worst in last 36 years I have been here.
9) Don't ignore customers genuine complaints and teach class and tolerance to your employees.

Upvote (0)
60

Y'all no showed after we took off work for internet installation; we called and were told they'd reschedule us in 2 weeks. I called to complain about it because I think that it's ridiculous to not fix the issue asap, especially when it was not our fault in any way, but only got an I'm sorry. No one seemed to want to FIX AT&T's issue or compensate in any way for y'all problem. I can understand if we weren't home or needed a reschedule having to wait 2 weeks, but why should we be inconvenienced, yet again, because y'all didn't show?

We were inconvenienced by taking off work for the original appointment, we did our job by being home, we called when y'all no showed because y'all didn't contact us at all; we're inconvenienced by having no internet for any period of time, let alone for 2 weeks, and not just for leisurely use, but we can't work from home, which we both need to be able to, so that makes us have to stay at work later/go in earlier, or not get stuff done when it could be to let things pile up because we have other priorities. We have to be inconvenienced again by taking off work again, and not being able to work from home while waiting...and who's to say if y'all will show or no show again?

In every way, we did our job as a customer, but AT&T never seemed to do yours. I'm sorry doesn't cut it. How about getting out and doing the job when your scheduled to and when a "mistake" happens, not waiting 2 weeks to fix it and overly inconveniencing your customer repeatedly.

Upvote (0)
60

My services were temporarily disconnected without my knowledge. On 10/6 all of my services were disconnected. My bills were up to date in payments. My next bill was due on 10/13. i paid the bill before time and still was not able to get my service restored. I had to get out of my house to go to an AT&T location to get my service back. I was told that my 19 years old son cell 404 7190707 had a past due balance and since I had him on my plan they disconnected me. i was also told that someone called me on a number that i don't have to inform me of such. AT&T has my primary number on file they never called me and all my minors children. I'm more upset because I'm a health care provider and my hospital was not able to contact me on the phone that they pay me for.

Furthermore my 13 years old was unable to get in contact we me for hours in the dark in the yard of her school. This was the worst costumer services ever. I am very disappointed at AT&T. On top of that I was told that I may get a $40 re-connection fee. I'm a very busy person I don't have the luxury of time to spend talking for hours to clarify stupidity or to get out of my way to an AT&T store. I'm a requesting a written apology as proof of such misconduct. If this issue persist I will take all my business elsewhere and I BETTER don't be charge for early disconnection. I have 4 phones , cable and internet with AT&T I deserve better than that.

Upvote (0)
40

AT&T Inc. 208 S. Akard Street Dallas, TX 75202. Dear Att/Uverse, As a long time ATT/Uverse customer that ALWAYS pays my bill on time. I would like to express my disappoint with your unprofessional and sometimes deceptive business practices. First of all the fact the email communication is not permitted to confirm telephone discussions, send copies of error messages etc. is ridiculous. Case in point. My newest agreement Feb 24, 2015 was arranged by Customer Retention. During this phone call I asked several times what my charges would be. The CSR (Lisa, Mississippi retention) informed me that my service would cost $152.00. During the call, I confirmed this several times. The bills that followed were $173.56.

Further deception/omission during the phone conversation included the fact that my 45mb internet was restricted to wired connection only. With wireless devices getting the same speed from my previous internet. If I complained I would get I dont know why they would say that.! Or No you must have misunderstood. My notes confirmed otherwise. This installation was done very unprofessional by the Serviceman. The modem is being pulled off the computer desk because the tech was too lazy to get a longer Ethernet cable. It remains that way today. Poor customer service. First of all most time it is very difficult to understand the reps because of their poor English. I have at times disconnected a phone call because of this. I’ll bet Im not the only Customer that would rather put up with a minor inconvenience than call Customer Service. I returned a receiver in Sept. 2015 and it took me two phone calls and 90 minutes of my time to get the receiver removed from my account. If we get frustrated and forget to call back we lose our rights to a refund on our bill after 6o days. The UPS Store tells me to keep my return paperwork forever, because you (ATT) have gone after Customers after 6 months. That is scary.

On 11-4-2015 I began having difficulty with the Uverse apps. Specifically FOX News. I called the Tech support line because I was unable to connect to the Fox News channel. I had a printout of the error message which took up an entire 8.5x11 sheet of paper. I have enclosed copies from both the Windows and Android environments. This error occurred on SEVERAL different wireless devices using Windows 10, Android and Apple systems. The error was also present on my Windows 10 desktop and laptop . To my amazement the tech advised me she could not receive this error printout by email but had me start reading the entire printout over the phone. Comments from her were Was that a C or E. was that an M or N, Was that an A or J and so on.) During the day on Thursday Nov. 5th these discussions were ended with the hopes that the error would be repaired overnight.

On Friday November the 6th, I called support again. I was told that there must be issues with my equipment. They wanted to reset every device, LG Android Phone, Samsung Android Phone, Android Tablet, Chromebook Laptop, Nexus 7, HP Laptop and Dell Desktop. I knew this was ridicules. My son lives a few miles from me so I went to his house and logged using his Apple Laptop and my Uverese logon information. FYI his internet connection is with Comcast. The same error occurred on his IPhone and Laptop. The tech support still insisted the issue was with my equipment even telling me that if I changed my Uverse password it would fix the issue. CHANGING MY PASSWORD IS A HASSEL and it DID NOT fix the issue. Telling me to do that was insulting but I did it anyway. I asked every one of these individuals if they could log on to Uverse.

They all advised they could not. I also asked every one of the Techs I talked to if they had Uverse at home, again NONE of them did. How can you support something you have never experienced? Next, while I was on hold the SAME Tech I was talking to, called my phone. I put the original call on hold and asked her why she would put me on hold then wait 30 minutes and call me back? She completely changed the subject and did not answer. Oh So Sorry was her response. After over 2 hours of nonsense explanations she decided to escalate my issue to tier 2. I started talking to Tier 2 support and asked if I could email them the error message that I was receiving. Tier 2 advised they could not do that either and asked me to read the error over the phone. Really? (ATT Uverse Customer Service Rep. are you getting frustrated reading this yet?)

I advised Tier 2 that it was 4:05PM and I had to leave my house at 4:25PM to run an errand. She replied with an OK and put me on hold. I left my house at 4:25 still on hold and started my errand. At 4:35 support came back on the line wanting me to reboot my desktop. I asked her if she was listening to anything I said, reminding her of my 4:25 errand. She said Yes you leave house at 4:25. During this phone call the Rep asked me at least 3 times what my call back number would be. I gave her the same number 770-507-1888 all three times. She advised me she would call me back in one hour. Well she called she called my wifes phone. When I asked why, she could not explain why! Her response So Sorry Mr.Geem. My Name is Jim!

During all my conversations with the different reps I kept advising them the issue was with ATT and Fox News, because the error indicated that. They insisted it was my equipment. During one of my call back cycles I called my Brother In Law that lives in Michigan and asked him to try to log on to Fox News, He advised he got the SAME error I was getting.

When the Tech called back wanting me to cycle my equipment again I advised them NO! I tried to explain that if the same exact issue occurred to my brother in law in Michigan over 700 miles away. She had NO Clue what a Michigan was. Quite frankly ATT should be embarrassed by trying to pass these Techs off as Professional, knowledgeable, English speaking support. There were more issues occurred during these call then I have not documented because so much of the call was repeat request to do something I already had! “So sorry is the catch all phrase used by these Techs. I am writing this letter to document in writing my lack of customer service, my overall disgust with ATT and the fact that I am NOT receiving the services I am paying for.

The Hours I spent on the phone on Thursday and Friday were a waste. Late Friday afternoon the Tech matter of factly advised me that the issue was between ATT and Fox News and they were working to get it fixed. She also said she would call me back Monday. I am afraid to answer the phone. I might get trapped into two more days of HELL! Wow, 2 days several countries later and they came up to same conclusion I advised them of two days earlier. On November the 4th your Memphis office received and signed for (by:Love) another receiver that I sent back to ATT. IM sure this is going to be another nightmare!

Upvote (0)
40

Paying our telephone bill through your automated system was no problem. Trying to pay our cell phone bill was a nightmare. The automated system required some kind of a code before it would accept any info on our payment. I have never had so much trouble getting someone to accept payment for a bill. I had to wait 10 minutes to talk to a real live person and explained the problem. She stated I needed a code in order to pay this bill. Any code given me would be forgotten by the time the next bill comes due. Why can I not pay my cell phone bill without any problem, just like I pay our telephone bill at home? Why does at&t try to make it so difficult just to pay a bill?

Upvote (0)
20

I ordered service on 9/10/2015 it was installed on 9/11/2015. The package that I ordered was u-family+Internet for 55.00 which that wasn't right. After calling and calling several times yes I did receive credits but this last and final time I spoke with Hassan about my bill and he sold me the U200+Internet for $90.00 minus $10.00 for having wireless,so I said ok that's good. Until I received the bill. I had to call your company again which was a waste of time. I explained to Bianca who was the manager on the floor at the time the situation,Bianca reassured me that all the notes were in the computer what I was saying was in fact true,she put me on hold to see what she could.When she came back to didn't know how to apologize for what was done she said the package that Hassan sold me was no longer available. I told her well it had to of been cause it was there in order for him to sell it to me.

She said no it expired.She did give me a little credit for this month but rest assure my bill next month for U200+Internet will be $120.00. I told her I cannot afford that and that is not what I was sold and just cancel my service,she said I would be charged a cancellation fee,I said so let me get this right I'm being charged for a promotion that I was sold but not availiable and now because of that I'm wanting to cancel so you want to charge me that as well. So I filed my complaint with the BBB since I cant get anywere with your company. I want the service that I signed up for or cancel it, this is one good reason why I will not renew my cell phones with you for the same reason.2years ago I was sold 4 phones and the rep ttold me one thing until I got the bill. The definition of your sales people are LIARS and there very good at it.

Upvote (0)
60

(Not even one star but I can't erase the auto-filled one on this site) I have spent months trying to resolve AT&T billing and plan problems. have talked with over 30 people. no one can resolve these issues, or even can figure out who to refer me to. I just lost service today, they want to charge me $40 to reactivate the phone (!) and Amex has confirmed multiple payments to AT&T and my acct. I think it is called fraud and theft if they take money from customers' credit cards and don't properly apply it to the customers' accounts.

Then there is the constant changing of the phone plan. Originally I was assigned to Nations 450 - but somehow that was the plan to which my phone was assigned. Then there was the share plan then mid-month I got switched to a larger plan - but I think I lose my unused minutes when I 'change plan' - this is obviously a company that is too big. I don't blame the employees, many of them do try, but these AT&T systems are impossible, deliberately or otherwise. Maybe the company needs to be broken up, again. and by the way, get rid of Chairman Stephenson, he and his buddies are probably a large part of this problem.

Upvote (0)
60

As an AT&T customer today was the worst customer service I have received. All I wanted to know was why I waited from 1pm to 7pm and nobody had the courtesy to even call and say the technician was cancelled. I called because my AT&T u-verse has been pixeling and completely cutting off during television shows. I talked to four people within 30 minutes before I could even get to the right department to include a so called supervisor that by the way had me on hold for 15 minutes. I expected better service, I am very disappointed.

Upvote (0)
60

On receiving my bill I knew it was too much and so I called 11-4-2015 to see about lowering it. Talked with Shena and she tried to offer higher incentives (better phone service, more channels of tv) with NO lowering. Which I explained to her that I wanted a lower bill. She said there were np plans available. I said "well, I guess that means goodbye" and she transferred me to a person named Cindy in Loyalty Department (yea sure) and she talked up this new service, really good, and a lot cheaper. It was Dish. If I had wanted Dish I would have gotten it a long time ago. But I caught the excitement and went for it. My husband hit the roof. So I called 11-5-2015 to cancel. First your stupid voice mail. How maddening is that? Had a 8 minute wait after playing games with Mr. Canned AT&T.

Got a gal by the name of Porshe who could not help me because it wasn't her department and had to wait for Dealer Services(?). Finally talked with a guy, who must have had a hearing problem, because he couldn't hear me and it's AT&T phone service. I hung up. I think you've got a problem. All I want is to get my bill down to a decent amount. I don't like having to bargain for lower rates, I don't like having to talk to people who I can't understand nor can they understand me. But I really, really hate playing this game with AT&T once a year. Why can't I just get a fair bill instead of "jewing" for it. I don't, repeat, don't want to go to Comcast, but If that's what I have to do I will. Will You help me out?

Upvote (0)
60

I switched to ATT from Verizon because I did not have service at my home from Verizon. The ATT representative said with ATT I would have wireless service at my home. I recorded this conversation and in reality I do not have service. The only reason I switched is because ATT told me I would. I have called Customer service and they said there is a device I can buy to give me service. The ATT store personal were I live said they should give that to me. Why should I buy this device when ATT said I have service and do not. Yes I can afford the device, but it is the principle of the thing. Give me the service I signed up for and you said I would have. I have been a satisfied U verse customer but am not satisfied with ATT not doing right by what is told me. I appreciate your consideration in this matter.

Upvote (1)
20

A couple of months ago we had signed up for combined billing for the Direct TV and AT&T. We did this because it as going to save us $10 on both our phone bill and our Direct TV bill. Recently we wanted to buy new iPhone 6s phones, so we went to the Apple store to try to do this. They wouldn't let us do the purchase because we had combined billing. We then decided to go to an AT&T store and tried to buy the phones and they said we couldn't buy the phones from them because we had the combined billing. This is just absurd that we weren't able to buy the phones even at the AT&T store. So AT&T forced our hand, so we decided to switch to Verizon where we were able to purchase our new iPhones. They didn't care that we had combined billing. AT&T lost a couple of good customers due to the his horrible service.

Upvote (0)
60

I recently applied for service. the customer service rep had to transfer me over to the fraud department. When i got on the phone with the lady she told me that i had inconsistencies on my credit report that denied me service in definitely and might I add she was very rude. So I called back the fraud department to see exactly what that meant and the same nasty woman answered again and she stated that I needed to pull my credit report to see what she was talking about. I stated to her that I had my credit report in hand and that i didn't see what she was referring to. So I asked could I speak to her supervisor. She said sure so she can tell you the same thing that I just told you. The supervisor comes on line and says that my credit report had different application with my social but different names and address.

So I was like that cant be possible. I asked her could i could inside a store with my ID, SSN card and birth certificate tp prove that I'm me. She stated NO. I could receive services from them because of that. How is this my fault? They wont even give me a chance to prove my identity. Nothing. Those women are so rude and att ought to be ashamed of themselves for even letting that go on. If someone did still my identity and was trying to apply for service with my social, they could at least let me come in or send them paperwork to prove otherwise. This is ridiculous. So now im stuck with no cell phone service right now because att wants to be a**h****! They were they top company with all the things i needed in a cellphone company. So disappointed.

Upvote (0)
40

AT&T fees for TV, phone, and internet are out of this world, The worse thing is that they are an American Co. and they have just moved their customer services out of the country. When you call or email AT&T for any service, you are connected to the Philippines, and you can no longer speak to anyone in the US. How many jobs did they cut in the US? They should be helping build US jobs, and they are sending them out of the country. I will not support this anymore and will be switching my phone service to another company like Verizon or T-Mobile.

Upvote (1)

Contact the AT&T Complaint Department

  • Corporate mailing address

    • 208 S. Akard St.
    • Dallas
    • TX 75202
    • USA
  • Website link

  • Customer service phone number

    1 (800) 331-0500

Upset at AT&T?

Thanks for your feedback!

Sorry. Please try again later!