Family Dollar Customer Service
Rated 1.23 of 5 Stars
Based on 604 Complaints

Contact Family Dollar Corporate

Toll free phone number: 704-847-6961

Family Dollar is a small format retailer that specializes in value and convenience products. Before it became a subsidiary of Dollar Tree, Inc. in January 2015, it was publicly traded on the NYSE: FDO. With over 8,100 locations nationwide, net sales for 3rd quarter in 2014 were reported as US 2.6 billion. There are eleven distributions centers in the US.

If you have a problem with any Family Dollar product or service you may call 1-866-377-6420. If you would like to contact the CEO Howard L. Levine you may address your postal correspondence to him at the company headquarters at 10401 Monroe Road, P.O. Box 1017, Charlotte, NC 28201. The corporate phone number is 704-847-6961. If you observe a Family Dollar fleet truck driving in an unsafe manner dial ext. 4589.  An email communication may be initiated at info@familydollar.com.

Founded in 1958 by a 21 year old entrepreneur Leon Levine, Family Dollar’s philosophy is “the customers are the boss and you need to keep them happy”. Levine started with a store carrying items priced ‘$2.00 or less. Calling themselves ‘your home for everyday low prices’, social media presences may be found on Facebook and on Dollar Tree Twitter account.


Experienced poor service? File a complaint here!

Family Dollar Contact Information

Report complaints to corporate and get satisfaction

  • Family Dollar headquarters address

    • 10401 Monroe Rd.
    • Matthews
    • NC 28105
    • United States
  • Company website

  • 1-800 phone number

    704-847-6961
  • Better Business Bureau rating

    A+

  • Customer service hours

    24 hours a day

Browse reviews of other Retail Stores



Top Family Dollar Complaints

Browse more than 604 reviews submitted so far

20

This is my situation. My items was scanned and I had digital coupons. One of the items did not come off. I scanned with the app it worked but the cashier also didn't understand that 28oz is bigger then 24 oz. When she went to void it she cashed the whole order out. This removed all my coupons from my account. This was supposed to be a quick shopping trip because I planned what I was going to purchase. Now with her mistake she wanted me to wait for her refund it and then rescan it did I mention I no longer had my digital coupons. She refused to listen to anything I said kept trying to argue with me. I asked for a manager they kept speaking cerole between the two of them. The manger didn't listen either was trying to get me to insert my card which would have given me a refund not the purchase. Long story short I left without my items because my coupons were redeemed and they were not willing to replace them. No apology was given, I believe the cashier name was Jen (she was not wearing a proper name tag) said it was not her fault but she was the one using the register. The manger Rose tried to help a little but she didn't ring up all my items didn't put in my coupons and was charging me to much which resulted in another void. They really need customer service skill patience and empathy. I received none of this today. Store 02060 3240 Davie Blvd Fort Lauderdale Fl 33312

20

I went in your family dollar located on Moon Lake Rd today at 5:15 PM to purchase dog food, dish soap... ect. Get home and the bag with dish soap was everywhere. Within 10 minutes Im back at the store explaining to your manager and she very rudely tells me "I'll replace it this time" along with other rude comments. Like I purposely dumped out dish soap that is now all over my car seat. Im 50 yrs old and never have I had a store employee be so disrespectful. I spend roughly $150 every 2 weeks for 7 yrs in your store. Your located only minutes from my home. I've seen her in the past mock customers and just not being a nice person. I'll be shopping at Dollar General from now.

20

On July 20, 2019 at about 1200 PM, I went into your store on Magnolia Ave, Riverside, Ca. And was told they couldn't take our money due to it being only change. The amount due was only $4.77 and I was going to pay it in quarters. The cashier told me she could only complete the transaction if we paid in bills. I feel that this unacceptable from a store to turn away a paying customer due to them paying in change.

20

First I would like to say that I did explain the whole situation in real time on the customer survey website. This is intended as an addendum. The short version is we bought some items, the last one being a bag of ice. We paid for it with the rest of our purchase. My brother had tried to get the ice but the freezer has a lock on it. The gentleman ringing us up said he had to get it for us. We went outside to load our bags into the car and wait for the cashier. There was one man behind us so we thought after he was rung up the cashier would come out to get our ice. So he never came. My brother went in and asked the new cashier about our wait and she (Paige) literally looked at him and said nothing. So we filled out the survey during our half hour long wait. This is to let you know how it ended. We decided to leave without the ice for which we had paid. As we were pulling out (we were the only car in the lot), the gentleman who was supposed to get our ice came out and began collecting carts. We actually said from the car "yeah- remember us? You here to get that ice?" He was not carrying keys. He just looked at us like he had no idea who we were. Just bizarre. So we never got it. I will be there tomorrow for my refund. I'm not sure how you refund over a galf hour of two peoples' time- over an hour if we include the time I have taken to write these complaints. It is now 10:12 pm. I paid for the ice at 8:56. Needless to say, once I get my money, we will not ever be back- which is a shame because we had just started shopping there after it had made so many improvements from how it used to be. It is so much better in so many ways, but this is just totally unacceptable. They may have no respect for me or my time, but at least I know how to respect myself and never give them another opportunity to treat my family and myself like that again.

20

First I would like to say that I did explain the whole situation in real time on the customer survey website. This is intended as an addendum. The short version is we bought some items, the last one being a bag of ice. We paid for it with the rest of our purchase. My brother had tried to get the ice but the freezer has a lock on it. The gentleman ringing us up said he had to get it for us. We went outside to load our bags into the car and wait for the cashier. There was one man behind us so we thought after he was rung up the cashier would come out to get our ice. So he never came. My brother went in and asked the new cashier about our wait and she (Paige) literally looked at him and said nothing. So we filled out the survey during our half hour long wait. This is to let you know how it ended. We decided to leave without the ice for which we had paid. As we were pulling out (we were the only car in the lot), the gentleman who was supposed to get our ice came out and began collecting carts. We actually said from the car "yeah- remember us? You here to get that ice?" He was not carrying keys. He just looked at us like he had no idea who we were. Just bizarre. So we never got it. I will be there tomorrow for my refund. I'm not sure how you refund over a galf hour of two peoples' time- over an hour if we include the time I have taken to write these complaints. It is now 10:12 pm. I paid for the ice at 8:56. Needless to say, once I get my money, we will not ever be back- which is a shame because we had just started shopping there after it had made so many improvements from how it used to be. It is so much better in so many ways, but this is just totally unacceptable. They may have no respect for me or my time, but at least I know how to respect myself and never give them another opportunity to treat my family and myself like that again.

20

 this tamika pringle and I was emailing to make a complaint about the manager by the name of Elizabeth at the  store #08346 319 N stone mountain lithonia stone mountain ga we were waiting in the line in family dollar fofor about 30 minutes because  the manager refused to help a trainee and the line was wrapped around the store and when we asked the manager if there was anything she could do to help the girl she said no sorry the other register was closed but she knew she couldve put her pin in and help the girl check the people waiting in line out.

20

lm a Fomer employer.I went into Family Dollar....To shop...The cashier l walked passed didn,t greet nor did he speak or say anything....
his name was nicholas Green.... I never been in a store with going shooping..n the co-worker's where so rude......
Then l tried to squeeze threw walking threw the ailse..me n my son ...> Nicholas looked up, n rolled his eyes..... This is so unpleasant.....

20

The rudest employee I have ever encountered. We left a bag behind went back to get it and this young rude female refused to give it to us. Even with our receipt

20

Hello This is my 4th attempt to contact your customer service department on an issue with coupon policy on printed coupons. stores said they are not permitted but policy says the opposite I would like an email clearing the policy. the store is store in Stuart fl. hope to hear from you soon. i been waiting for a response since sat. Thank you Waleska Ortega

20

I went to family dollar and this guy was so rude his name was t j and the mgr back him rolll the film t j was so ready to smoke he had his black and mild in his mouth around 7 30 this evening he threatened and call his crew the mgr and the store mgr was rude wouldn’t give me no information on contact the mgr had to call the law I wouldn’t never ever go back in that store when the cops the mgr lied she is a chain smoker he told me he was going to call some body to whip his my ass and they came and left and came back gang it is the guy with the big hard dreads then the mgr had her son from a another district involved in this mess she did nothing to stop she laugh and lied for t j wouldn’t stop him on nothing drop my money the mgr wouldn’t talk to me I have never been treated so shabbily in my life another customer told her she was wrong and the young should be fired immediately she was very rude to be a business establishment never had any problems like this before he was rude and wanted to go smoke in which I came in she was smoking the store mgr wouldn’t talk to me told me she is on vacation and not on family dollar store time the assistant mgr
Could have handle it better look at the video and she oder them to bar me from the store wow
H

20

When to the Family Dollar Store at Deep Run NC today and brought some was over charge I said some to the sale clerk about it and she act like she didn’t care about it. What I got was $1:00 and she charge me $1:50 for it. She got very rude when I said some about it. So I ask to speak to the manger & she said she was the manger. I go in that store about ever day.

20

I sent my son to purchase two items at Family Dollar Store located at 101 S Reilly Rd, Fayetteville , North Carolina. At approximately 06;30 PM he gave the Clerk a twenty dollar bill to pay for the purchases which were less than $7.00. The Clerk told him that she could not give him any change and was unable to accept the twenty dollar bill. I have never heard of any incident where a person makes a purchase at a major store chain and was unable to receive change from a twenty dollar bill, so I returned to the store to purchase the items. The items were still at the counter and the Clerk also informed me that she could not give me any change back from the twenty dollar bill. She called the Manager who explained to me that they did not go to the bank , so the store was short of change. Again, I have never experienced such during my entire life as a customer at any store. I left the store and was able to make my purchase at a Dollar General with no hassle. This situation I experienced at this Family Dollar was very inconvenient to me and the worst customer service I have received from a major store chain,

20

I was in the store and had $60 taken from my wallet. I called your Corp. Phone haven't heard from you! I believe the person in the store that took it works in the Westfield store! She was very friendly and knew the girl that worked there! I had counted my money before entering the store! I'm disabled and on fixed income! I called the store once home the gentleman working there wasn't much help he said he would check cameras! I had to call three times in two days! He said he only saw me in one isle! I was all over the store! I'm thinking they play this game in Westfield too! My pocketbook was in carriage and the woman was overly friendly but I'm very talkative.... So we were facing away from my cart... I believe the cameras have been moved in these stores! To me $60 is a lot of money! I travel a lot to doctors and for my medications! This I'm not pleased with! And word of mouth goes a long way! And social media too! I really thought I would have heard from someone from your Corp. Office I will give it a bit more time because I'm a fair woman! Thank you! Have a nice day! Leslie Barnes 350 Halladay Drive West Suffield St 06093. 860-324-4876

20

I purchased 2 gray chairs and a table. The gray chairs cost $12.00 each which isn't cheap.
I gave them to my daughter and son in law.
I took them on Father's day he was sitting in the chair and just reached over to pick up something he had dropped and the leg broke off.
I couldn't believe it being they weren't cheap.
So I took the other chair back with me to my house and had planned to return it.
I just left like something was wrong. So I decided to keep chair, yesterday I was sitting under the tree with my husband. I bent over to pick up my drink and bang I was on the ground, the leg broke.
These chairs are dangerous and I wouldn't be surprised if someone hasn't already been hurt.
So now I have spent $24.00 dollars for chairs that aren't worth $5.00
I am very disappointed in the quality of this item. I would pull any left before some really gets hurt.
I would appreciate my money back and I don't have my receipt. I have the chair if you need me to send a picture of it. Please respond

20

My complaint is this: I have lived and banked in evart Michigan for 20 years and shopped at your store for almost that long. I have used cash, credit card and checks. I have never ever bounced a check there, I am known at least by site, by your employees and yesterday my check for 19.25 was rejected by tel chek.! I have several thousand in my account , there is no fraud and it seems no recourse for me. I will never shop at your store again and it was humiliating to be reject like a criminal.! You need to have a manager that can override this stupidity!

20

I was trying to make a purchase at 9:48 pm standard time, and was told the doors close at 9:45 even though the store hours state the store closed at 10 pm. I was rushed to in and out. I don’t suggest shopping at this store at all.

20

My 19 year old daughter works at a medical clinic in antlers Oklahoma. They ran out of pregnancy tests. She was sent by her boss, to the family dollar in antlers Oklahoma with the company credit card to purchase all of the pregnancy tests in that store. She checked out and left the store only to be called 10 minutes later by her older sister screaming she was pregnant. My daughter knew no one in the store including the person who completed her transaction. Someone watched security footage and called to report a slanderous lie and possible hippa violation. The only person she knows at that store is a woman named Laura Hatcher who was her day care keeper when younger. She did not see her in the store but she could have been watching security cameras. My daughter will telephone tomorrow to file a formal complaint and seek corrective measures. Please respond with your intentions to rectify this matter.

20

A couple of months ago I went to store #6939 in Tampa, FL I lost my debit card in the parking lot and somebody used it at this store and made a purchase of $118 and a couple of min. Later somebody made a purchase at a different family dollar for $24 when I called my bank to report my card they told me they have to make a report for fraud that they will have to send something to Family dollar that it will take a while well today I got the response which they denied my case because family dollars response was that they put the PIN number that it was not a fraud and i shop at family dollar almost everyday because that’s the only store I have near my house and let me tell you family dollar when you pay with a debit card they don’t ever ask you for your PIN number they just ask you if you accept the amount. I am very upset and angry at the fact that you lied about this and I won’t be getting my money back the only reason I went so late before the store close was because my son with autism was bullied and he was very sad and all I went to get was play do and kinder eggs for him. when I got home I received a text message from my bank showing me how low my balance was and when I tried to get it fixed your response to my bank was a lied because you do not ask for the PIN number when you used a debit card I am very upset I’m a mother that live from pay check to pay check and can’t afford to lose money like this just because yes I lost my card but your response to case was a total lie YOUR STORE DOESNT NOT REQUIERE A PIN NUMBER WHEN USING A DEBIT CARD ALL THEY ASK YOU IS “Do you accept this one amount?”

20

It has been over a week now. Was in your store located on high Street in Holyoke massachusetts. I was accompanied by a friend. I brought a number of items that totalled $85 and change. I paused with a $50 and two twenties. As I started to grab the bags, the cashier handed my friend the receipt but no change. My friend thought she had handed the change to me first and thought nothing of it. I saw the receipt go to my friend and thought she had the change and left. A short time later, I went looking for the change and couldn't find it. After exhaustive calls to the store unanswered (associates busy was the recording), I finally got hold of a manager. She said she'd check but informed me the cameras weren't working. Didn't hear back at all that day. Next day, I finally got thru and spoke to Omar. He said he'd check. I went into the store, he hadn't gotten to it but then went into the back to check, he confirmed cameras were down. Said cashier's draw was over (by a lot). Said district was due in later that day and will be in touch. No word still. Can't reach anyone so far today.

20

I went to the family dollar in Wichita Kansas located at 13th and Broadway. I was amazed of how dirty that store is. The floor looked like it had not been cleaned in years, the storage unit for cold milk was so dirty I decided not to buy anything at. all. I have never ever seen such a dirty store. Someone at corporate should make a surprise visit to this store. I rate it 1 now the lady at the counter seem very nice and helpful she ask me if she could help me find something. Seriously someone should make a surprise visit and get that store cleaned up. thank you.

60

Store very warm. No a/c. Bought zingers. Chocolate was melted. No excuse on these hot days to penny pinch the a c.

20

Hello

I went to Family Dollar on July 12, 2019 at 1110 George Washington HWY, Chesapeake, VA 23323 to buy a bag of Kingsford Charcoal. My coupon was not honored. The coupon specifically states that it can be applied to any bag of charcoal and did not specify bag size. My coupon would not allow me to purchase the smaller bag but applied to larger sized bags. The manager on duty told me she could not honor the coupon because it's in the system. I'm smart enough to know that she has the ability to override it but she chose not to. I'm extremely disappointed because I go to this store on a regular basis to the point I downloaded the app to get coupons. The coupon was the only reason I went to the store get charcoal and my coupon wasn't honored.

20

Very rude workers in the day time,mean and disrespectful.even the manager is rude ,they don't even smoke our say hi our thank you our buy ,very rude .get new people and manager s.

20

I walked in the store at 9:55. They informed me that I could not buy cigarettes because they had already counted them at 9:50. as far as I have been taught, with customer service retail, the store is open until it's closed. I have never had this happen at this store before. Many times with other employees working ive been able to walk in at 9:59and have no problems.

20

I’ve been working at family dollar for a few years and I recently got in trouble for not answering my phone on my day off

20

To whom it may concern. I work near the family dollar on Governors Drive in Huntsville, AL, near interstate I565. So I decided to start going there and pick up snacks for lunch. I had planned on going there every day.I decided it would be cheapest to get lunch. I went in to buy the snacks and a soda, and I was waiting at the counter. I guess the cashier was stocking something and after a few minutes of waiting, I realized I had left my wallet in my car. So I left the merchandise on the counter and went to my car to get my wallet. She yelled don't come back. I went to come back and pay for the items and she wouldn't let me back in the store. Is this how Family Dollar trains their employees in customer service? Well she is right about one thing. I am not coming back, but I would've every work day. She just cost your business a lot of money over time.

20

I was lied on by the store manager that I was being irate and a BUNCH of police officers arrived. I have the name and number of another customer as a witness

20

Name and Address:
FAMILY DOLLAR #6303
3450 West Rd
Trenton, MI 48183-2323
734-676-1195

Additional Comment:

I need a corporate number for this establishments. There is a nasty woman, by the name.of Michelle that works at this family dollar, and she needs to go asap. My husband and I shop here sometimes almost daily, she treats my husband like dirt. We brought back chairs that broke the first day we got them, they are very cheaply made, and my friend actually got really hurt, we took them back of course, and she said we were partying and she was embarrassing my husband, there was a store full of people, when she started belittling him. Calling him names, she was so flustered and irate she was dropping stuff, and slammed the money in his hands, she also told him she sits in these chairs every day and smoke, and they never broke on her. Well her ass shouldnt be sitting in them anyway, they are the stores merchandise, absolutely rude lady. Then he came in store today, and she asked in front of everyone if he was there to cause trouble. This idiot needs to lose her job, or we are done spending our money here. Weve never encountered someone in this store ever, that was blatantly disgusting as this Michelle. I am in awe that she can hold a job anywhere. If nobody has complained about this Moron I'd be real surprised. Something needs to.be done. I have never wanted anyone to lose their job but this the nastiest person we have ever had to deal with. My husband has done nothing to her, and she called him a drunk, and a loser to his face. I'm appalled!

20

is the most dirtiest store. I spoke to cooperate office because manager saw and bought a cord and returned it in ten minutes because did not fit. These staff members lack training and professionalism and hospitality. Its no wonder this store has no sales. I will be emailing the ceo as well about rude people. I also will contact the better business buruea about you stupid refund policy. I suggest anyone reading this to stop shopping at family dollar. Lucky for me i went to different store to get my refund. Don't you think all stores should be consistent. I suggest everyone to go to walmart or walgreens. Family dollar is trash.

20

Complaint store 1520 Fabens Road 79838. There is no air in the store. Manager stated that they can't do nothing since the problem has been since the last manager two years ago. She sits on getting it fix. Also I have seen her family members working with her in the store helping her recover. She works and leaves early when she pleases. Constant customer employees will not speak up due to afraid of losing there jobs.

20

07-15-19 @ approx 1 p.m. Mgr, name unknown of Spanish descent black hair rudely told me to leave his store because I never buy anything while spending too long in his store #3631. Your rude and disrespectful Mgr. at Store 3631 lacking professionalism told me that he didn't have the time to watch me and that I needed to exit the store and not to come back. I felt threatened and as a result I didn't confront this manager and I left the store as he requested. I am a senior citizen and I like to window shop as well! I will never shop at a Family Dollar Store again. Your Mgr. at Store 3631 made it look like possibly I had something to do with shoplifting?
Please advise me re: Your Mgr.'s non-professional negative remarks to me. I will contact your CEO, Howard Levine if I don't get a positive response regarding your Mgr.'s discrimination towards me!
Thank you...

Sincerely,
John M. Beckham
904-699-0700

80

I was in your family dollar store on college Avenue in Bluefield Virginia 24605, on Saturday evening the label on the dial soap said buy 2 get one free, now this is the soap I use and I purchase it at your store, I went to the counter with the soap and it didn't give me the price that was on the label, the sales lady checked the price pulled the labels at that time and told me the label was out of date and that I should have read it, I said excuse me I am the customer tdd and isn't that you'd job to pull the tag when it is out of date , mind you she said it went out on 7/5/2019, I had no idea, she continued to tell me that I should have read the tag, I asked for manager and she td me if it was 50cents off she might be able to help me but she could not honor that tag, with 5 people behind me in line I purchased my other items and left the store very upset, they went on to say that I needed to call you all and argue with you all because it isn't going to do any good. I am going to try and send a picture on the label that I took a picture of after she pulled them. Sincerely Carol Oakes.

20

I bought 2 cards in your store and there was nothing on them and I want my money back, how can I get it back

20

Came into the store put several items on counter, told cashier I needed two packs of Marlboro special blend golds, she placed on the counter two packs of Marlboro special blend reds, told her I asked for golds not reds, she then stated to me she could not exchange them per your company policy, keep in mind I never moved from the counter, told her I was not gonna walk out with a product I did not ask for, she continued to be very rude to me, had to end up calling the district manager that did fix the problem, but seemed like he didn't care how I was treated just wanted problem to go away, this cashier was very rude and embrassed me in front of customers in the store all because she didn't listen to what I asked for to begin with, her name wax Sara! I live in a small town and frequent this store a lot and should never been treated this way! Store # 7508

20

I went to family dollar on Merrick and 109 for a few party balloons. The cashier was so loud throughout the whole store,laughing and carrying on. As I watched she never greeted a customer or said thanks for shopping ha e a good day. She ra g u up and gave change back to counter. RUDE.... the whole time she was on the phone with those earbuds on talking about how she wanna get her tummy tucked and leave her butt just take the tummy and so fat from her legs. This is not an appropriate conversation to have at a register full of people laughing and talking loud like u at home. It was so embarrassing that she was that loud and obnoxious. I would never shop at that location again the manners and friendliness is not there. They ALL need to be retrained on what is customer service and customer friendly. Earbuds should not be allowed to be worn on sales floors, its rude to talk on phone while you have guest and it needs to be enforced. This needs to be rectified. I wish I would of took the pick with her head thrown back laughing loud like customers are not there. Smh d
DO BETTER FAMILY DOLLAR. Now yall have merged with my favorite store dollar tree I HOPE you carry a better reputation than this and give dollar tree a bad name. Good day

20

The employees the manager Dana and the other employees Sam and clarssia. They like to call the police on me about my daughter that is ADHD/ bioplor get out her seat sitting in a park a lot waiting on a family member, but they called the police with or without my children present. My daughter did really good so I award her something at the store and employee clarssia white told her to put the candy back and my 4 year old cried and I didn't know till we made home. I turn around n I just went in the other store. It need to stop. Thank u

20

On Sunday ,july 14th at 7:45pm I tried to shop at the store at Weber and McGuffey rd. I arrived at 7;45 and was looking at the sign saying they were open till 8pm but doors were locked while the customers were shopping .the manager saw me and I pointed to my watch to show it wasn't even close to 8 , but he just looked the other way. I have long suspected that they close early but leave the lights on pretending they are still open. Columbus Ohio

20

Name and Address:
FAMILY DOLLAR #6303
3450 West Rd
Trenton, MI 48183-2323
734-676-1195

Additional Comment:

This is for the Trenton, Michigan family dollar store, There is a nasty woman, by the name.of Michelle that works at this family dollar, and she needs to go asap. My husband and I shop here, sometimes almost daily, she treats my husband like he is scum...She is newer there, and doesnt know my husband at all before the first incident, which is when he brought back chairs that had broken, the first day we got them, they are very cheaply made, and my friend actually got really hurt, we took them back, of course, and she said we were partying, and being careless and she was embarrassing my husband, there was a store full of people, when she was basically calling him a loser, drunk. And she claims she sits in these chairs every day and smokes, well first of all she shouldn't even be sitting in them. It's the stores merchandise. I have never wanted anyone to lose their job, and I've never written a complaint before in my life, but her absurd behavior is ridiculous!!! I dont know if shes on something or not, but she was so flustered and irate and lusted off, when he brought them back, that she was dropping everything then she slammed the money in his hands, slammed the register shut, she was shaking she was so mad and said thanks this is coming out of my bonus. And I have to pay for them. Which I'm sure is a blatant lie.

20

Went to the Highlands store today and bought over 40 dollars and stuff including dog food and had a digital coupon for 5 off my purchase and did not get it. Girl said she couldn't do it without a barcode so I entered my phone number and still didn't get it

20

The family Dollar store #03320 always has boxes of stuff sitting out in isles I tripped on one sometimes I see opened food products out on shelf. N frozen items set out on shelf thaw out. It's disgusting there the cieling is falling out in the back of the store.

20

Was in your new Barboursville store with my 4yr old grandson. He has to use the bathroom. I asked the associate if they had a restroom her response to me was.... We don’t have a public restroom anymore, people go in there a steal stuff (well my grandson is standing there holding hisself cause he’s about to me on hisself). Very unprofessional and uncalled for. I understand there is a lot of theft everywhere but clearly I don’t look like a thief and my grandson was holding hisself. I will NOT shop that store for that reason.

20

In the store on shipping pl in dundalk md #04363, this morning and the cashier start making racist comments to another white lady about blacks being loud and she can't here herself think. Then she says the same thing again and again while of black people are in line. She needs to be fired. She can't work with the public and say demeaning things like that. It 10:33 in the morning so did you weak up like this. Wow

20

The manager on Family dollar of Navigation and York has officers harassing customers outside . Making false accusations of stealing. This was on Saturday July 13.

20

Rude lady named Davi for some reason has sterotyped me this is my final pitch today! I can in the store and looked in the basket and automatically she says to me don't waste your time those are put back and not on discount. I gave her nod and kept it moving. Here is the problem she always inserting her self negatively, rudeness, scarcastically innaproitately. I never go to a store if I cant purchase. Rule that was passed down to me from generations. She made me feel as if I was looking for handle out. I live across the street but I will never ever step foot in that store again until she is gone. I have more to say but I'd rather a phone conversation.

100

It's not a complaint more so a compliment on a young lady named Becky at our Elsberry Mo store 63343 I just wanted it too be known every time my family and I come in she is friendly ready too help anyone who needs help even though tonight 7-13-2019 I witness her associate left her in the store by herself while she was counting her money. Becky had did nothing wrong her àssociate had handed her a key and asked. Her too count her money and she did so but then no more than 15 min later the lady Kim was no where too be found I just thought it was wrong how Kim did Becky and think Kim's manger should have a talk with Kim that's all thank you and keep up the good work the store is looking really nice

20

July 13, 2019 at 6:45pm I visited the Leesburg road location in Columbia SC after visiting 2 near by location. I went in to make a purchase using a coupon that was about to expired which I was able to use at the other locations without any problems. Cashier scan item and tried arguing about how to use the coupon which I am Very aware of how to use. Cashier then became rude telling me about item not found with discount I didnt understand the message. What discount I'm using a coupon I ask him to scan it again so I could see the message. Cashier stated that he already showed it to me and that he had customers. Was I not also a customer. Awful customer service.

20

I live in Duluth Georgia there's a Family Dollar Store on Pleasant Hill right off the corner in a little strip mall anyway the young lady at the register is standing there eating food out of a box dropping it all over the counter as she's waiting on customers her and I'm assuming it's the store manager are talking back and forth to each other and I say that because she's making out the schedule very unprofessional who does this in customer service stand at the counter while you're waiting on a customer eating food dropping food all over the place somebody needs to check this out!!!

20

*HIGH ALERT COMPLAINT*
I Would Also Like AN call back from The Regional Director Of Stores in the IL area Namely For STORE#07777 Located On 6349 S. Cottage Grove Ave. **I Frequent this Particularly Location A lot. As I have recently purchased An brownstone in the Area. I've Been Coming to This Location Since 2008. There is An particular Worker there By the Name of "Maurice" a male. Im not sure If he is security or Not. I've seen him on Several Occasions. He normally watches, nods and stands By the cashiers. I have two Complaints. A. Back in April 2019...there was an older petite lady that had stolen some items..got out the of the store and This male employee "Maurice" followed her out, body slammed her to the ground and Retrieved the Items this smaller woman had stolen..oriceeedung ti gi down her pockets touch her ALL over pat her down and get whatever else she took. Scream obscenities at her and walk back to the Store. {he was WAY out of Line}. I and Others watched in Disbelief AT this. It's on Camera. Watch your outside cameras. Now. the latest..is with me (personally). B. Like I said he Knows my face...he Always stares and Watches. I Really ain't care About that because I suppose he's paying Attention. But, this particular day FRIDAY, July 12th at 17:45:08, the onsite mgr. A female. Whom ended up running me Up. Said Nothing. but...as the story goes. I'm in love. Its I've cashier..a skinny female, wearing glasses with braids. Very Loud, rude, and Not I feel a good candidate for an Family Dollar representative. I'm in line. Its long...the Manager, another brown skinned female..decides to Stop what she was doing tallying at an unopened lane and come to Where I was standing And proceeded to Ask me..was I ready? Then take a last in front of me. I was baffked but I didn't say anything...I stepped into the Loud mouths Line. She finally after Steadily chatting with Maurice while ringing up two people in front me. Began to take ny items...and Ring. THIS IS WHERE...things Take A VERY BAD TURN! She said an item I had..(Glade Candles in a 2pk) were mixed matched. I told w.e. I will take it. She proceeded To say very rude and Obnoxious..."I can't Sell you this like this"?!! And asked the manager two spaces down..."Can I sell her this". She shook her head No. AND then the rude Loud skinny woman w/Glasses..said DO you want this or Not??! I said yes. She wanted Maurice..Slow watching People odd Self ..To go And Get it. I told her. I will! She said are You Sure, I said of course it'll take a second..I know Exactly where it Is. She was nerve wrecking. Low and Behold! I COME BACK to MY Space/Spot this Ignorant Cashier with glasses has NOW...started to ring up another person..laughing exclaiming To me...THAT I shouldn't HAVE stepped OUT the Line! I said, WHAT?!! Listen I been patient..now you ALL Being OVERLY Rude, your being ignorant, ABD you telling ME what I shouldn't have done?!!! After she said...are you sure, and WAS the one to say to couldn't give me the item like it was!!! NOW...I'm fullblown Upset. I told GER I'm 49 ALMOST 50...YOU don't tell A GROWN WOMAN what they should or shouldn't DO..that's NOT her f-ing Place!!! Second i told her she's a child acting like a kid, grow TF up..AND to Watch her F-ING Mouth. She then kept laughing like she was high or on drugs or slightly off. She saud some more Ratchetness, I then told her look BIH...YOU NEED to NOT work in an public Settings if Your responding and Speak with requirements Customers this way. I asked her WAS she okay??? Because, she seemed Off. And her mgr...grabbed my things..and said she would take me...mind you here comes "Maurice"..telling ME...what I should DO..that ghd situation isnt that serioys..all while this weird acting cashier is STILL talking and rudely Running her mouth!!! I Dirdvykh Told him...he should be Letting her KNOW how to speak to and NOT speak to anyone customer and NOT taking up for her ILL actions! U also, told him...YOU don't tellME what's "NOT that serious" you using the Wrong WORDS!!! How are you two trained?!!! She still screaming while ringing up another customer, I'm in the lube with the mgr. She saying "Maurice"...like to make him hush and be quiet...and looking at the cashier like be quiet. Because now ALL (3) of us...are in an heated ARGUMENT!! W/in the store..with several other customers in line..After Work...this IS what is to be expected while shopping for items AT Family Dollar There in cottage grove!!!!!??? I ding feel "Maurice" should be At this location anymore...I feel he NEEDS deep training and etiquette..on Do's And DON'TS. I feel that cashier with the glasses should be terminated. She hasn't worked there Long in any ecfnt. She seems very weird and off. Maurice, talks too much...he keeps the SCENE/PROBLEM going instead of diffusing IT!! He needs MORE TRAINING. I adbused him I am a Female sub-Foreman in Union Construction and I don't NOTHING from no man. That I work with over a 100-200 MEN daily. And NONE talk the Trash he talks or ASSUMES the Way he did. He's Childish, very uncouth and He should have told the female cashier...to Be careful of how She's speaking with Customers...rather Than try and DOUBLE TEAM talking rash and trashy towards ME. I'm not going to lie...I called Him a Ignorant Clown...assuming things Get shouldn't have..and I told her SHE needed To be in a different field. She started the Mess and Should've APOLOGIZED to ME for how She tried TO tell ME...what I shouldn't have done!!!! The nerve if the both of them. C. This Woodlawn AREA is Changing/Upgrading an extension of Hyde Park..your Employees NEED to know this Recognize This . its NOT the old wild, gang banging Wayward cottage Grove. While family Dollar employees in this Neighborhood will be Spoken about in Community Meetings and Time the Alderman As well as to My Area Union Heads. Family Dollar has to change with the AREA! Employ ones While are Courteous, Willing to Help and Are Customer Friendly. NOT these RUDE, seemingly uneducated ratchet hood/Gang banging types. Jewels Was just Built by an company I have Worked with down the street on 61st. Their employees are AWESOME and customer oriented! So...I know it CAN be done. I will follow with the CEO of Family dollar and Mr. Howard L. Levine about this Uncanny COMPLAINT..that ruined my evening last night. To the point I woke UP..and Wrote This Detail info To your Corporation. Im the Customer...I shouldn't have felt that I WAS being DOUBLE TEAMED while purchasing home goods for my home..and four children as a single Mom. Nor, Should any Employees (CASHIER, SECURITY, MANAGER, ETC) EVER speak TO to an Paying Customer at any ESTABLISHMENT of ANY CORPORATION like the way "Maurice, and the slim female with glasses) did at this Store. CHECK the CAMERAS you will see the Alternator play...As I have Spoken. Please get BACK to ME on this. As soon As you have Your facts. Thank You, Sincerely, Ms. Tina L. Norman. ***Very DISSATISFIED and DISAPPOINTED LONG TIME SPENDING CUSTOMER of Family Dollar!*** 312.719.9500

20

I was going to purchase a box of late text gloves that were on clearance and had red tags on them for five dollars . There were five or six boxes of them in the same place with the same red tag for five bucks . I got to the checkout and they rang up at their regular price . The girl working there went back and checked and said well there's nothing I can do let me call the manager . The manager told her on the phone with me standing there to charge me the regular price not to go by the one on the box in red . The price it rang up was the correct one not what was marked on the box . This is the third time I've had this happen to me in the last few months that is not right. Talking to my neighbor apparently I'm not the only one that's had this happen to them .

40

To who it may concern I’m calling about an employee name James on Jahnke rd Family dollar in Richmond ,VA . I went to purchase charcoal for my BBQ on July 4th and when I pulled up I seen this sign that said $3 and it did not read specific as to what it was there as you can see by the charcoal. When I went to make the purchase the young ( white boy ) was very polite to me and I’m sorry but I did not get his name he was ready to scan it because he realized the sign was there . He called JAMES and he went outside and left the sign there NEVER moved it because this picture I shared was after I left and came back to the store just to see if he would move it. So ppl
See advertising for $3 by charcoal and then you tell them it’s $6.50 and he didn’t even give it to me for the price that it was showing for... James never apologize for his mistake of not removing the sign ( the young whole boy was very apologetic and nice ) I guess James is the manager and he wears glasses and still couldn’t see what the other customers , his subordinate and myself were saying..

If the customer sees the price you are suppose to give it to them. I love that particular location but just keep in mind Dollar Tree is moving in like a few doers down and a lot of ppl may stray especially if things like this is going on... I will no longer visit this location because of JAMES and the way he treated me.

20

My sister went in on Saturday July the 13th., as soon as she walked in Beatrice told her she would have to leave her purse with her at the register! My sister Tammy told her NO, I'm not leaving my purse with a stranger. Beatrice told Tammy they have had a lot of stealing, Tammy then told her-I make $1,000 every 2 wks. I have money! Beatrice continues to argue with Tammy the stating you leave your purse or I'll search it when you leave! Dollar general racial profile much?!? Tammy's white!! WTH??? Beatrice does NOT have the right to do this!!! Fire her ass!! Do you want to be on T.V. about this. THIS IS NOT RIGHT!!! For anyone!! Then a man walks in right behind Tammy with a bag & NOTHING was said to him!!! Hmmmm I thought you all were better than this....

20

See screenshots of message below.

20

My name is Amanda sigley I am calling about the Family Dollar Store in Belington West Virginia 26250 I just said and text probably for 20 minutes other reason I was trying to contact you guys for somebody to contact me back I do not know if you guys received it I cannot find it on my phone sounds want to make this pretty short I've been trying for 3 weeks for somebody to contact me back I have left messages after messages emails spoke with people about this matter nobody has contacted me back it's about the manager it's Family Dollar Store the way she treated me belittle me slandered me in front of a bunch of people 4 absolutely absolutely no reason whatsoever I would like to tell my side of the story I believe something definitely needs to be done something could contact me back at 304-614-8410 I would literally appreciate it I have been trying to have someone to listen to what I have to say regardless being a manager or an employee you should not have the right or even the authority to treat somebody the way she treats people and the way she treated me

20

Yes my complaint is and gas been for a couple months. No body is answering me. I have been buying 2 boxes of tastycakes from your Woodbury store every Friday since Oct. In April when I bought them. I noticed when I got to the register, your company charged me 3.35 a box. It clearly stated on the shelf that they were 2.25. The cashier told me I had to take it to corporate. That you guys were told this back in October. Your clearly stealing from people. I in turn a month later went to your westville store. Same thing. Only your manager there. Cleared the shelf immediately!!! Said, were not selling tastycakes anymore :( This is wrong. And stealing. Ask Mary Jane about it! You owe me 106. 32. All your stores are doing the Same thing. Fix it. Or I'm reporting you to the better business Bureau. And the Courier Post newspaper! Sharon Waterhouse 30 Murphy Ave. Westville NJ 08093 207 270 3899.

20

I haven't complained because I'm tired of going into a Family Dollar that is a family store supposed to be cozy and comfortable I walk in there I have people 3/4 to Black for black males that work there only the males have problems with their meals okay you got females that work there very nice these black meals that work there always got something nasty to say always approaching females in the wrong fashion I'm very tired of it I come home from work go to there because it's the closest place as a CEO of the company I would really hope that you advise these people or workers of yours to please make a better approach to their customers they're not doing a good job at it at all as of that I just want somebody to talk to or even fire these people from for being nasty to your customers that spend good money to hear it's been at least a hundred to $200 a week in there all I ask is to be whatever happened in the past with one of your managers as to whatever he did in a violent way for them to forget about it whatever he did to other people and show them how to do that as well they need to stop it okay I am you could call me a very I just see you I'm just trying to ask please can you please have something done about this I'm just tired I left I left the store couple days ago in angry Matt and matter because of your worker I'm tired of being treated that way money thrown at me receipt thrown at me just no good by how you doing nothing and I got into an accident I'm just tired of it this is the store in West Palm Beach Lake Worth Florida Dixie Highway and 12th Avenue store in Lake Worth Florida I hope somebody could do something about it thank you I deal with people on a daily basis and I never cheated anybody like that I don't care if you did something wrong if I know you face these males think because they live in a poor area of the of the neighborhood they got to act like they're in that neighborhood they they make it feel like it's a jailhouse you're walking in I will get back with you if I feel like something has been done and give you more information on this subject and matter thank you

20

I visited the Dolton Illinois store Friday July 05th approx 11:30am. The cashier was having register issues, the line was long on top of that another employee stood at the register with him and they discussed other employees, payroll and debit cards (personal stuff).

I asked to speak to a Manager. Little did I know the Lady “Tanya” was the manager. She still didn’t respond only the cashier.
He asked what was the problem and noted don’t I see they have register issues.
(I asked for the Manager because of the non urgency to fix the problem they were having personal conversations.
Additionally he made very disrespectful statements like
1. “I always wonder how it feels to ask for a manager and find out you are speaking to one.
2. “Let me get Ms. Angry out of here.
3. Have a great day and see you in church
Among other things.
One of our village trustees was in the store at the time Andrew Holmes and witnessed the entire encounter.

Debra McMiller
708 328 9792

20

The manager Teri is an asshole. She is very rude and acts racist against our Spanish locals and when I have talked to her about Colton her cashier and his smell and greasy hair she said it was rude for me to say. She has yelled at employees right in front of me. She treats her white employees better than her one Latina worker. And honestly since she has been there I have not seen her unload one uboat at all. I used to work for family dollar and can't believe that she was hired as a manager at all! Her store is #1408 in Burley Idaho. And this is still my favorite store. Dana should have stayed to be the manager here instead of being sent to americanfalls. Dana was easy to talk to and was also worked with her employees. Teri has only yelled and acts like her job is a pain to her. She is so rude!

20

I purchased 2 total wireless plan card for 25.00 each. no pin number given and no card.. apparently the plan cards are not to leave the store according to store management. pin is supposed to print on the receipt which it does not!.. The issue is that the store is a new location and according to Family Dollar Help desk does not exist yet. I understand issues with new locations as I have been in customer service/retail for over 25 years. So when issues like that arise there should be refunds given because of the fact. Refund was denied at store . Store manager was helpful to call family dollar 866-377-6420.. and was given the 2 pin numbers by phone.. 1 worked and 1 does not...Manager herself said that family dollar should not be selling these cards. All I want is the correct pin number that I paid for and have the receipt... nothing more. I called total wireless and was told that it was not there problem that Family dollar is responsible to correct. Total wireless is very rude and condescending It has nothing to do with Family dollar their attitude and will be escalated with there offices accordingly. Again all I ask is for a good pin #.Thanks I await a call back or email.773.731.4263.

David Maldonado

20

Family Dollar 47 and Girard Avenue Philadelphia PA is Selling peanuts (Eatz Cocktail Peanuts). They are garbage and should be removed from shelves. Horrible aftertaste uncommon for any sort of peanut product. Price was 2.75. I would like my money back. Not store credit. Everything on the shelves should arguably be in the trash at this location.

20

Went in and bought merchandise and used the smart coupons but all the coupons did not work so I asked for my money back...the manager Matthew refused to give my money back and said since it was already paid for he couldn't return my money, so there was some dispute between him and I about my refund as a result of me trying to get my money back he threatened to ban me from the store plus he called the police on me ...which was a waste of their time..all because I asked for MY MONEY BACK!!! I'm very disappointed in this manager's approach to this situation and I will NOT BE RETURNING TO FAMILY DOLLARS IF THIS MATTER IS NOT HANDLED. THANKS IN ADVANCE

20

The Family Dollar In Eustis, Fl has always contributed poor customer service and has a lack of customer interaction. I was not greeted Upon entry. I returned to the store to bring back the relaxer my daughter brought that should not have been placed back on the shelf. I told the store associate “Melissa” at the front counter that I need to return the product because it had a broken seal on the product and it was taped on the outside package, no response. Melissa continued to work on inventory. I brought the new product to the front desk and told her I have the same product and she replied, “I need to see that receipt” in a vulgar tone. “I responded to her,”Thats fine and it should not have been placed back on the shelf”, no response so apparently it was repacked after someone else had brought it. Melissa looked at the receipt did not ring anything in the computer and gave me my product and receipt with no bag and walked away. At this point either she is on highly incompetent of working with people. “ I told her to give me a bag and she still didn’t put my merchandise in a bag”. I told her I was going to report her and she was being very sarcastic saying have a good night and grinning and laughing with the other associate. It seems to me after this experience they must be undervalued prejudice associates. Shame on you Family dollar I will pursue this action.

20

This store is a hazard to walk through

20

The store location is 4188 State Avenue Billings MT 59101

This store has been a mess for several months. The store has unopened boxes, racks with boxes, plastic bins in the aisles. A big hazard for customers, not to mention merchandise on the floors and in shopping carts waiting to be put away. This store is a huge asset to the community and I would hate to see it closed, but this store needs to get it together! I have attached a few pictures I captured. I wish I had more cause it is that sad.

20

Well? FAMILY DOLLAR? YOU ARE EXTEMELY HARD TO GET OF AHOLD OF? AREN'T YOU??? YOU'RE PHONE SET UP? RUNS YOU'RE GOOD CUSTOMERS IN CIRCLES? FOR ONE THING!!! SECONDLY? AND THIS IS A BIGGIE? YOUR MANAGER? AT STORE #03005? HAS ACCUSED ME OF STEALING?? As l had just made the transaction with my debit card? A MASTERCARD? PLUS? HELD THE RECEIPT IN,MY RIGHT HAND? PLUS TOLD ME I COULD NOT TAKE THE SHOPPING CART TO MY THREE WHEELER RIGHT OUTSIDE THE DOOR? ALSO? PROCEEDED TO THREATEN TO HAVE ME ARRESTED? IF I STEPPED Forth IN HER STORE AGAIN!!! WHAT WILL YOU DO ABOUT THIS IRRITATING INCIDENT FAMILY DOLLAR??? THIS WAS JULY 4TH? AT 10;36 A. M..? ACCORDING TO MY REGISTER RECEIPT!! GET WITH IT FAMILY DOLLAR!!! I SPENT 26.18 IN YOUR HOSTILE STORE?? AND I CAN ASSURE YOU?? YOUR CHAIN OF FAMILY DOLLAR? WILL NOT GET ANOTHER DIME OF MINE!!COUNT ON IT!! TAKE THAT STRAIGHT TO THE BANK!! AS FAR AS I CAN SEE? YOU ARE SWIMMING IN COMPLAINTS? SO WHAT IS ONE MORE TO YOU??? My name is DONNA RAE WHITE? AND IN CASE YOU NEED VERIFICATION? MY PHONE NUMBER IS 352 359 4638 GAINESVILLE, FL. 32601. SURPRISE ME??? LIKE TO KNOW IF THERE IS ANYONE IN THIS CHAIN??? THAT GIVES A SHIT??? DO TELL??

20

This has got to be the worst family Dollar. Isles are always crowded with items not put away just sitting on the large carts making it impossible to get a shopping cart down the isle only a couple of the employees are customer orientated, management is downright rude with no communication skills. And finally you have to watch your receipt because one particular cahier will get you and she will make sure you don't leave with your receipt. I'm in process of trying to communicate with corporate to address these issues so far no reply

20

I bought a swimming pool from the family dollar on se 15th and high in Oklahoma city Oklahoma, and it has a hole in the pool it's obviously a factory default. I took it back to the store had the receipt and the box it came in. The clerk said it looked like a factory default, she called the manager and they refused to replace it. I fell in the store, I tried to talk to the manager above her and she hung up.on me and then they called the police on me. I'm a very sick man and I feel that the just robbed me of my money. Very dissappointed think I will call the news channel, and a attorney.

20

I firmly believe in a persons right to live his life the way he chooses. Ty Fontenot, the manager here at the local store has chosen to hire only gay.employees, which frankly has cost the store a tremendous amount of business but that's not why I am submitting this complaint. Adam Fontenot, a gay cashier at the store whom is know for making sexual advances towards customers as well as repeatedly asking for drugs (METHAMPETHIME). After Mr. Fontenot made a sexual advance toward me which I turned down I was approached by local law enforcement and arrested for theft. After reviewing store video there was absolutely no proof of this. It cost me 600.00 to bail out of jail on this charge. In June my wife and I went into the store and made a purchase. On July 6th local law enforcement arrested me on the charge of remaining after forbidden,which cost me an additional 315.00 to bond out. All charges were filed by Ty Fontenot, the manager. My wife entered the store several days later and was told by Ty Fontenot that she was not allowed in the store for 30 days because she was with me when I went in the store. There are many other complaints concerning theft by employees when customers tried making cash deposits on debit cards. My phone # is 337-592-3802
mitch.napoli@aol.com
Thank you for your assistance in this matter.
In the process of retaining counsel.

20

Good Morning, I would like to let you know that the Family dollar in Brentwood NY, #8324 is extremely hot. I live in the neighborhood and I am a frequent shopper. over the past few weeks I have been going to the store and noted a few times that it was quite warm. At which time I approached a store manager about why it was so warm she stated the air condition wasn't working. I just figured ok it will be fixed soon. I went in the store this past week end and the temperature inside was unbearable, there were fans going but was not helping at all. I picked up my items very quickly and went to check out at which time I noticed all the chocolate bars in the front were melted. I spoke to the store manager again and she stated that the problem was reported to the corporate office. The shopping conditions are horrible!! I really feel for the employees who have to be in there all day working. I told them they should call the labor department or OSHA about it if the corporate office is not working to remedy the situation. and if they cant the store should be CLOSED down until it can be fixed. Shame on who ever is responsible. I will not shop there again until the problem is resolved!!

Most Sincerely ,

Tara Ahart

20

One day I walked in baught ice cream and left. Later that day I returned the ice cream bc it was bad and out of date. Next day I was not allowed in the store and was threatened to be locked up.

20

Just visited store #641 Horse Cave Ky. On June 30 2019 at 12:20 I bought 2 -1.5 liters of Fayo drinks BOTH of them were only bagged in single FLIMSY bags. Went to get there out of the car at home BOTH BAGS BURST they both hit the driveway one of them spewed all over my driveway. I called the woman at the store and all she said was “ I’m Sorry “. I PROMISE YOU DOLLAR GENERAL WOULD HAVE HANDLED IT PROPERLY PITIFUL CRAPPY CUSTOMER SERVICE TO SAY THE LEAST. I visit this store probably 10-15 times a MONTH. NOOOOO MORE

20

June 29 2019 in the store in Maiden NC. in the evening around 3:30. I was in the store with my wife and there was an older lady waiting in line to return something. The cashier said I will have to call a manager. When the manager came up, the lady said she had bought it earlier and she could not use it. She gave the manager the item and her reciept, he toss the item down. During this time he made to comment that he was busy and didn't have time to do returns. The lady said I'm sorry I just couldn't use it. He gave her money back and she left. After we saw this we decided to shop some where else. My wife said that was rude and said she felt sorry for the lady trying to make a simple return.

20

Cashier was on her cell phone the entire transaction

20

Yesterday June 28th 2019 I was in the Family Dollar in Dilley TX. It was in the evening between 5:50pm and 6:00pm. While waiting in the check out line the cashier was engaged in a conversation with a man she was checking out at the time and during the conversation she used the " F " word 2 or 3 times she was laughing and carrying on have a good old time. I feel this is completely unacceptable to have hear in a Family Dollar business. It is language you might expect to hear in a bar. I was not the only person waiting in the check out line at the time it was also children in the store at the time. Her name tag said Betty. I hope you will take care of the matter. I know I will not be returning to this Family Dollar location ever again. The F word she used was fuck just to clarify. Thank You

20

I was in the store in warsaw Kentucky at 8 on June 29th 2019. Another lady and I do it at the counter ring the bell one-time apiece stood at the front counter to cash out for 15 minutes while the cashier who is at the front desk was outside doing a refill on a LP canister and there were three other employees standing at the back of the store just talkin nobody came to help the other customer and I were there for a total of 15 minutes that's unsatisfactory unsatisfactory there were three employees standing back there

20

Today an employee grabbed my beard and tugged down on it hard, this same employee, a few months ago, rubbed my leg. I need somebody to contact me. Two incidents with the same employee? And no response on my first complaint.

20

Went to use my coupons two of which were expiring. Cashier whom I think is also the manager is always rude but extra rude today. Tried to checkout had my digital card ready to scan he tells me no info found so no discount. I ask him how it could say no info found I showed him my profile. So then I ask him to scan the coupons he just rolled his eyes but did it and said it’s not taking anything off. He could clearly see my coupons and everything but was unwilling to try to do anything more. I said I guess I won’t buy that if I can’t use my coupons. He rolled his eyes again. No apology or anything. He is always so unwilling to do anything to help the customer. Something needs to be done.

20

I arrived at your store in Hillsville Virginia at approximately 8:30 p.m. at that time, your manager was pulling the sidewalk merchandise to the inside. I questioned him and asked if he was closing early and he gruffly answered to me, "no I close at 5 minutes to 10" I proceeded into the store to get my cleaning products and ask him another question. He did not reply. I could not help but think of his attitude towards his job and the customers. I went on to pick up the one item you had out of the five that I needed. I took it to the manager, I believe his name is Robert, and ask him to look at it. I pointed to the item with my cane and he accused me of trying to hit him with a cane. I have been a store manager 45 years and have managed some of the largest stores around. I have managed Service Merchandise, Sam Solomon catalog showrooms and even manage the PX on Parris Island South Carolina. All of these stores did in the millions of dollars, with the PX being the largest with a volume of 12 million per year. I have never found it necessary to harass customers and be impolite to them. Unlike Robert oh, I would always greet them at the door and welcome them to my store I would also ask if there was anything I could help him find. I proceeded to go to Dollar General and walked in the door with my list and the manager said hello how can we help you. She proceeded to take my list with a shopping basket and collected all of the items I needed. This is the kind of service you need in your Hillsville Virginia store. Robert is not a good store manager and is certainly not a people person. My name is Larry Lyons and you are welcome to call or contact me at any time. My phone number is 276-237-5559.

20

I am speaking on behalf of my husband who currently is an assistant manager for almost a year now. I don't understand how, as a company failed to keep your customers and employees updated without saying a word, leaving everyone hanging for 3 weeks after your store gets shut down due to pests, insects, etc. Not only the store has those problems, but other issues of the A/C unit not working, hiring lazy people to fix it when it hasn't been fixed yet properly, having theft problems, your freezers broke and you expect the managers to do all the work? they are there to do their jobs, not fixing your store because the company fails and doesn't want to. My husband and employees are very dedicated and hard workers who deserve better! I am disgusted on how you treat your employees! It's no wonder Family Dollar stores are shutting down.

Family Dollar
11371 Us Highway 190 E
Livingston, TX 77351

20

Today as I went in the store this afternoon I've seen the district manager Matthews getting on the store manager Darrell. In front of all the customers yelling and screaming so everyone can make a Jack butt of his actions towards the store. Everyone that works in that store does a good job what they do. That district manager needs to clean up his act.. What's I've seen that Matthews needs to be replaced that is friendly or do it somewhere else. The store manager Darrell at the stephenville store and his crew does a good job and the service is great. I've been going to that store for a long time. I've a long time customer.

20

ch out of the bag, the bleach leaked on my son blue cargo shorts and stained his shorts.His shorts is ruined and he is very upset. i call Family Dollar three times, no one answered the telephone. The number I called was 443 602-8597. My son would like to be compensated for his shorts. The store i purchase the gallon of bleach was located at 2500 Gwynn Falls Parkway, Baltimore,MD.

20

Wouldn't honor price of item found in clearly marked clearance. when asked to speak to manager, was told they were one, and she couldn't do anything for fear of losing her job. We spent over 500$ in one day and felt like they could've handled the situation differently. Then when card was declined, we were chastised and made to feel inferior. A phone call to the bank quickly cleared up the situation. This location has very poor customer service and lacks the ability to keep us happy. If it weren't for the location we would boycott them altogether.

20

Spanish rude dirty manager with nasty tattoos threatening me using profanity and she followed me out the store continued to use rude word telling the milk man what she wanted to do to me it’s on the cameras watching her leave the store to harrase me. I don’t like and I don’t have to I come for items not to he her friend I don’t thinking’s it’s safe to he following customers outside especially if on her I didn’t do anything but place the money on the counter I will be doing a police report on by immediately.

20

i thought i was going to be contacted to the CEO of family dollar, only to be called back by the district mananger Renee Roberson. which was a waste of time because her words were "Y'all should keep your problems out of family dollar" as if i had said something to this person, Jennifer Newsome. She falsely accused me of threatening her and trespassing when either one occurred. All this is coming from the officials i contacted of NC. made her boyfriend move those junk vehicles near my house where i live. and control the noise and traffic in the community where i live. i can't believe that Jennifer Newsome can use a company such as family dollar for her own selfish and vendetta needs. because this was exactly what it was and is. and she has done this without any reparation whatsoever! She borrowed me for this and my friend who said nothing to Glen (her boy friend or her). This really shows and prove to me what your company is all about ND I FEEL, I HAVE TO TELL MY STORY TO OTHERS. I was completely ignored by you and no one is doing anything about this, and i feel the public has a right to know the truth.

20

I was in the Family Dollar Store today at 22st & East Broadway, Phoenix AZ, 85040 and spoke to the manager there about him disrespecting and yelling at my 81 year old mother on June 11. He has never apologized and continues to yell when she goes in the store. After he yelled at my mother, He then proceeded to retaliate against my niece, Joshanae Brown whom is an employee there, by changing her schedule to 8 hours a week. Today I asked him why he did that and he told my niece Joshanae to take the rest of the day off. This is retaliation! Then Joshanae's step dad went there to talk to him and he discussed Joshanae Brown's work record with her step dad which is a 3rd party violation.Supervisor Jesus in the store, wears ear phones with spanish music blaring so loud that he can't hear the customers, he never even looks up to attend to customers. How does this manager Clinton, get away with giving them a 5 minute break, and no lunches after working 8 hours? This is in violation of the Department of Labor Issue. Please contact me before I go to the media and file a discrimination complaint against the store.

Valerie LaMar 602-643-8939
Joshanae Brown 602-475-8999

20

Ok I live close to the Family Dollar at 28 Broadway Albany NY and spend money frequently every week there sometimes daily. The manager Alethea has a very poor attitude and terrible customer service. I was going to complain lots of times before but I let it go but tonight was the last straw. I have asked her about coupons/sales in the past and refused to help me saying just because there is a tag stating it is on sale doesnt mean it's on sale and along with it made smart comments instead of helping me. The sale even had a picture, and date of expiration which wasn't expired and refused to help me and told me if I have a problem contact the main number.
Another time I bought several $1 items and she made a slick comment that she can't wait for the dollar tree to open so she doesn't have to deal with people buying $1 items. I told her that her attitude has changed and she said yup this place and the people do that to you! But I didn't do anything but buy items! So me purchasing from your store gives you an attitude and say you can't wait for the customers to go else where! Unbelievable! I even let that go.
But Tonight June 24 around 7-8pm was the last straw! She was in an aisle close to the register listening to comedy on her phone laughing and cracking up with her phone turned up..I waited and waited to be checked out...she saw me standing there not only because I passed her in the aisle but she was standing at the end of the aisle by the register but she continued to be entertained by her phone. I finally asked if she can check me out and said she will get there when she can. So when she came to the register I tried to lightly say girl people have things to do and shouldn't have them waiting...she rudely said don't call me girl I'm not your girl and I have stuff to do too. I am busy and get to you when I get to you. I said wow but you work here and blatelently ignoring me to check me out. I said your customer service has gone way down hill since when you first started and always treating me rudely. She just kept getting loud and smart with me. I told her I am not scared of you because of the way she was getting loud and really smart mouthed. I left and put my stuff in the car, I came back to look for a contact number because I felt appalled how she treats me every time I come in. When I walked back in the store a lady with her son was now waiting and waiting to be checked out and asked me if there's anyone working to check her out, I said good luck with that because she told me she has stuff to do and will get to me when she can. So then here comes the manager Alethea cause she had went back to the aisle when I was waiting on her still laughing at her phone and could hear me because she was close by the register. So she was mad that I said that to the customer and started getting loud...I asked her for her manager's phone number and refused to give it to me and told me to look it up. I said your name is Alethea correct? She said yup and you are not allowed in this store anymore! I said why because you refused to wait on me and kept me waiting and now refusing me to come back because now I am asking for a manager's phone number? I said I spend way to much money in here to be treated like this and you are very rude to me every time I come in here and had enough of how you talk to me and treat me.
If she doesn't like her job she should look for another place to work then taking it out on the customers. I witnessed a man a couple months back come in stating he was missing a bag and was chewed up and told not to come in again and he was also floored.
I am in my 40's, I am a wife, mother, grandmother...I am not a smart mouthed young kid. I deserve respect and not talked down to when looking for help or get the oh well attitude. Very unprofessional. I spend alot of money with Family Dollar cause it is close by and convenient and should not be banned because an employee doesn't want to do their job and that I won't allow them to disrespect me.
I just don't understand what her problem is or why she gives me that I can't stand her attitude when I don't know her and just being a paying customer. And I definitely should not be banned from the store. I never cursed, I never threatened I only told her that her customer service has really gone downhill. She should not be ready to get smart or snap...I had to pick up my son and it's like she purposely was making me wait and I should not have to wait like that, be ignored and not able to make a complaint.
Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

20

Today (June 27, 2019) I was overcharged by an associate in the Michigan City, Indiana store. Went back and was confronted by a mean, nasty, uncooperative assistant manager. What are my options to rectify this situation and get the money which is owed to me. This store is #03138 and my receipt # is 99031380179380180743. I would greatly appreciate your help in rectifying this terrible situation. I would it a great service if I didn't have to communicate with this assistant manager. Thank you in advance,

20

I live in Malad Idaho every time I go to Family Dollar which is a couple times a week the manage Matt Gulas is rude, or outside smoking in his car and no one at the counter to ring you up. He is always out in his car with different women smoking or kissing them. When he is inside the store he is creepy, disrespectful, and rude. I know from talking to others that they will not go to Family Dollar because of him. I also know there was a facebook post about the Malad Family Dollar from a employee about him stealing money from the petty cash. I will no longer be doing business with this Family Dollar as long as he is manager and I know that I am not the only one.

20

To whom it may concern:
I just arrived home without any Family Dollar Merchandise, much to my chagrin.
My mode of transportation is by foot, bicycle or bus. Therefore, I carry a backpacks, of excellent quality. Your store is half a mile from my home and I frequent your store at least 3 times a week, sometimes more, for 2 years now. I alone spend over $2,000.00 per year at your store alone. I had enjoyed it so much, due to the associates, that I would stop in to make small purchases to say "hello" to them.

About 1 month ago, I went in expecting the same cheery greetings and friendly atmosphere. However, after being in the store for over 10 minutes, I was abrasively approached by an associate I had never met before. He didn't introduce himself, say "hello" or ask me how I was doing. He rudely demanded I take my bag to the front of the store and leave it lying on the floor next to the entrance/exit doors. I was so taken aback, I did but as I walked away from my real Coach bag, lying on a filthy floor amidst shoppers and random merchandise, I stopped shopping, picked it up and said I felt rudely and unfairly treated, as other women had their bags. Mine was the only one lying on the floor next to the entrance.
I mentioned I was going to relay this to the manager, LaKeisha, whom I respected and got along with. He shrugged his shoulders and said "so what...go ahead." At the time, I didn't know James was the next manager.
Today I rode my bicycle there in the rain. I was the ONLY customer at first and then there were 2 more. I brought some items up to the counter for James to do a price check and he was snide, rude and acted like it was inconvenient. He sneakily, in the meantime, followed and watched me shop like I was a criminal.
When I was ready to check out, he, without any managerial or peoples' skills, told me he could not let me in there again unless I left my bag by the front door. He never offered to put it behind the register, to watch it or any other alternative. I replied "OK, but if it gets stolen you'll have to reimburse me for my bag, wallet, and belongings. He said "that isn't their responsibility." I replied "well no other store requires that nor are they rude. I will go to another Family Dollar." James replied "well then you don't need to buy this stuff from here" and took all of my merchandise off the counter. I said "I come in here all of the time and recommend it to people I know and don't know. I will stop recommending it and also inform management." James replied "Go ahead. I DON'T care!"
I felt insulted, offended and made to feel inferior.
I believe James may benefit from some managerial training.
I am quite upset and a bit frustrated for this unwarranted treatment. In addition, l have been incredibly inconvenienced since my items I was about to be purchased to make supper for my family were removed from the counter by James.
I am forced to go to another store today to feed my family.
How can this be fixed?
Please inform.
Sincerely,
Jennifer

20

This place is disgusting! There isn't an aisle where there is clear walking room. Baskets, carts filled with balanced containers, trash and whatever they can balance on it. The employees look like they just left a bar or partied too much. This place looks like it belongs in Kensington! Get a manager who works and expects her fellow employees to work. Clean the place!

20

I went to the FD in my area. And when I went to use my debit card. The cashier informed me they don’t do cash back I call bull, if you have cash in your register and a machine that ask do you want cash back I have the option of cash back if I choose I’m glad these stores are closing down. Good riddance

20

I bought a garden with intent to use with a small child's sprinkler which I also got at your store took then home for grandkids to play that's when I found that the hose is very unflexible and very hard it is not safe for little ones they we're getting welts on legs from hose. I tried returning it but was told that once water went thru it no returns. WHY. Would you sell this product next to a sprinkler recommend for 3 years old and then expect me keep it!!!! I will not be shopping in your store chain again. Any company that condones little children getting hurt and does not stand by product. Is not getting my business and I'll be making friends and families aware of this too!!!

20

Why would any one want to work at family dollar in Springfield, Ga. 31329 when they are to cheap to run the air to keep the store cool for the customers and make their on people work in a hot store ???????? Family dollar Store is to cheap. Don't care I will not shop there any more. Sad they don't care about there people!!!!!!!!!!!!!

20

The store manager was very rude and followed my sister and I around the store the entire time insisted that we stole items when I manage to show him that nothing was stolen he decided to go out to my vehicle take a picture of my sister and I and my license plate yelled obscenities and stated that he is going to send us to jail very loud in front of other customers when he found out that we didn’t steal anything he did not apologize or say anything helpful and refused our returns as I Insisted the return of the items that I bought he called the police on my sister and l several times And demanded we leave the store Store number 10630

20

My grandson and I were in your store at Jefferson Square in Pine Bluff, Arkansas as we were leaving the hinges broke from the door and the door failed toward us which caused us to have to hold this door up,if someone can give me back a call at 870-643-5473

20

Your customer service ppl had me hold twice for over an hour two times and hung up on me because they don't have the right answers you guys owe me 53$ whice I will not give a rest until someone gives me some answers I know you not going to call me back but I'm not I will be calling till I get satisfaction

20

Heavy set curly hair young lady yelled from 4 aisle down that my service animal was not allowed in the store .
Requesting and indicating I need to show proof and paperwork and a vest .
Clearly she is not well educated with policies which she claim she was enforcing.
1. Violations of my HIPPA rights asking for me to disclose my illness
2. She is not to request any paper work
3. My dog does not have to wear a vest
4. There’s a sign at the door service animal welcome
5. She was extremely unprofessional very ghetto and nasty
6. She affected my medical situation I had to rush my shopping to leave my dog is a medical alert dog very well behaved and trained .
7. She needs to be informed that there’s only 2 questions to be asked and all the employees need be aware
Of potential legal action I could’ve taken
I have contacted your company since Jan and no responses yet I have not been to your store since Jan 29,2019 to avoid her attitude . Whether she there or not she is not a person whom you like representing management .
Thank you
I would hope and pray there are no others that have had this situation

40

My civil rights have been violated! By your employee/ manager. She had me borrowed out the family dollar store where she work that's close to my home. Because of her boyfriend. Glenn LASSITER. He is a junkyard dealer and auto shop. Recently I have been having problems with her boyfriend WHERE I live. Junk vehicles e everywhere, traffic , noise in the. community where I live. She lied and told the police I THREATEN HER in the store. When the last two months she have been waiting on me with no problem. All you have to do is check the cameras. I am bringing outside help in because I was lied on. Their are running.ors of her and her boyfriend selling drugs to several sheriff's. One of them knew her and ask her what did I do. She couldn't even hardly get her lie straight. But I will Not let this go away! All because of her boyfriend that the zoning ordinance off I we had him move those cars. Look at the camera from last month untill this month. Her boy friend put her up to it. The sheriff wouldn't listen to me. Even though she couldn't get her lies straight. She even called her boyfriend up to the store. While I they both was whispering to the sheriff. But legally I will have something done. I rd enough racist I am tension going on.

20

Is a very much a concern with the management in Tempe off of Apache and McClintock the Family Dollar the management is poor in that she only had one shopping cart in the entire store and wanted me to give it to a customer and then trespassed me off the premises because I disagreed and I spoke up and she called the police on me I called her like profiling races type and that I didn't feel like I had done anything but brought that to her attention and I shopped there as much as anybody and she kind of these people were more of her regular shoppers and I asked her what happened to the card she said I guess people took them I guess that would be her regular shoppers cuz I went around there a Christmas and I'm on a fixed income so I go in there probably once a month.today is June 25th it's a Tuesday 2019 I proceeded into the Dollar tree and there has been a lot of concern for Dollar tree and the police brutality here in Phoenix the couple that got beat up by the police because they were in the dollar Family Dollar and I didn't want to get beat up because I came in there unknowingly thinking that I could shop there and I was told I couldn't shop there I would like all my money back from previous shopping times and I guess you all can look at the look at the various tapes and see how many times I came in there at the shop probably once a month I probably spent close to $100 a month for almost a year and a half so that would be all my money back for this poor customer service and just getting treated poorly.thank you for your concern perhaps I will need to go public with it and go to the TV and tell them about my concern am I experience shopping experience thank you.

20

I was accused by a manager for stealing. I am 7 months pregnant and I had my 15 yr old daughter with me. The lady named Evelyn gave me attitude and accused me of stealing after I paid with 100 dollar bill I had no reason to steal. I asked to speak to a manager and Evelyn gave me an attitude saying that she was the manager. She was rolling her eyes and telling me that I was not a good customer. She then had another girl call the cops which I was ok with because I didn't steal anything. I told her to look at the cameras but she just told me that it wasn't worth it that I would be gone by the time all that happened. I did not leave I stayed and another lady working there tried to start saying stuff to my 15 year old daughter I told the lady not to talk to my daughter at all. I feel that I need to sue Family Dollar for the Manager accusing me and she also had me trespassed from that store when I did nothing wrong! they told me that I could not go back for 6 months, I worked in customer service for 5 years so I know what customer service should be and if Evelyn is the manager at Family Dollar then she should be trained more in customer service. We didn't even get greeted when we walked in the store. I have been trying to call Corporate about this and nothing is going through. I will continue to call corporate until I speak to someone because this is totally wrong for any person to be treated this way.

20

It was about 8:05 am when I pulled in the family dollar on Brentwood Stair Road in Fort Worth, Texas. The manager or cashier was outside picking up trash I guess from the night before and I said excuse me, and no response. I then said excuse me again, no response. I thought maybe she was hearing impaired because she looks about in her late 60s, so I spoke up loudly and said excuse me what time do you open? At this time it was 815 and she walked towards the door and locked it and turned to me and said in a minute you don’t have to yell at me. I then said wow you old lady you are so rude. She then continues to pick up trash and then goes to her car and gets a cup and then unlocks the doors and goes to the register. When I get up there, she doesn’t speak and speaks to the other guest as if nothing happened at all. I told her if you don’t like your job, get another . It makes no sense to be that rude and angry at 8 in the morning and your late opening up already. I didn’t care about the time, if you wasn’t going to open by 830 I was going to shop at another store that is why I asked her in the first place. Please talk to your employees about customer service. I will not shop here again. This is not my first in counter with delliana. She is rude, and just doesn’t like her job . Last time EVER SHOPPING HERE.

Have feedback for Family Dollar?

Thanks for your feedback!

Sorry. Please try again later!