J.C. Penney Customer Service
Rated 1.84 of 5 Stars
Based on 358 Complaints

Contact J.C. Penney Corporate

Toll free phone number:

Welcome to the J.C. Penney complaints department brought to you by HissingKitty. Experienced poor customer service? We make it easy to file a formal complaint against J.C. Penney online. Simply use our free form and your feedback will be instantly forwarded for review. Need to contact the J.C. Penney corporate office? We have the mailing address, phone number, and email address listed below.

Experienced poor service? File a complaint here!

J.C. Penney Contact Information

Report complaints to corporate and get satisfaction

  • J.C. Penney headquarters address

    Mailing address needed.

  • Company website

  • 1-800 phone number

    Toll-free number pending.

  • Better Business Bureau rating

    A+

  • Customer service hours

    24 hours a day

Browse reviews of other Department Stores



  • Walmart
    (1148 reviews)
    32.909407665505
  • Sears
    (390 reviews)
    37.794871794872
  • Target
    (344 reviews)
    37.5
  • Macy's
    (235 reviews)
    33.36170212766
  • Costco
    (198 reviews)
    35.757575757576
  • HEB
    (59 reviews)
    28.813559322034

Top J.C. Penney Complaints

Browse more than 358 reviews submitted so far

20

I purchased several items yesterday at the Penny's store at 41st and Yale, Tulsa, OK. I paid with a personal check and they ran the check through my bank. I asked for my check back and they refused. I talked to the supervisor for the clothes department who told me that they HAVE to keep all checks -- even though they were run through the bank. I told her that they ran my check through twice last month and my bank had to straighten out the mess with you. I told her that I did not want that mistake to happen again and that MY BANK TOLD ME TO ALWAYS GET BACK MY CHECK AFTER YOU HAD ALREADY RUN IT THROUGH MY BANK. I told the supervisor this, but she told me that your policy is to keep the check anyway.

So, I must keep a close watch on my bank statement this month to make sure that your store does not run my check through my bank AGAIN. If so, I am going to report you to the Better Business Bureau and I will raise the question are you purposefully trying to get an extra payment out of unsuspecting customers.

20

I will rate this experience as minus 1 million!

Jim and I purchased a wedding band and an engagement ring at the Uniontown Mall, Uniontown, PA. Both rings needed re-sized - Jim’s band went from an 11 to a size 13. My engagement ring needed to be a size 7.5 from a 7. It took 2:weeks to come in. When the female person called to say it was in, the Penney caller was so rude and non-professional, I called back and registered a complaint with the supervisor Caroline and then Jim spoke with the manager, Mary Jo. Initially, the rude employee said only the men’s band came in. When the manager called, she said both rings were there.

We went to get the rings Saturday April 13, 2019, Jim’s band was OK. The engagement ring that was sent to be resized from a 7. to a 7.5, CAME IN AS A SIZE 5!!!!!!!!! How can that happen when the typed instructions stated for the ring to be a size 7.5.

Uniontown only has Penney’s as a department store. I would think every effort would be made to keep the residents happy. Well, I am not happy. Spending $1,000 is a lot of my to two retired people who want to get married. At this time, we will have to move our wedding date with the complete error on your company.

20

Bought Samsung refrigerator in October 2018....and river with dent in door. Still not resolved 5 months later. Working with JCP and Samsung...both parties blame each other......this has been the longest, most frustrating display of customer service. Have been a JCP customer for over 30 years.......I need a new door or credit if my problem not resolved.

20

I went to the Appleton avenue store for a watch battery. I spent over ten minuets in the jewelry department before one of the 1/2 dozen employees, who were milling around talking to each other, managed to ask me if I needed help. Then I was told that only watches that were purchased at the store could have a new battery put in. I would view a watch battery as revenue and an entry purchase, but I guess JCP has all of the customers and revenue they could want. Customer service is really what you sell, so if you do not change you will be out of business.

20

I RECEIVED A BILL IN NOV.3 2018.I WENT TO jCPenny in Erie,Pa.at the Millcreek Mall and told the manager I wanted to pay the bill.she informed me that I could not pay the bill.sHE Told me to call the number on the bill.Icalled the number on the bill and I was informed that I could not pay the bill.So here it is 2019 and I have been harassed because your people are incompetent.i will only pay what the original bill.next stop attorney general if this is not resolved within 14 business days.

20

Just visited store in Flint, MI. Purchased a pair of jeans and tee shirt. Tried to use a coupon I received on the weekend which stated on coupon “use now through April 14”. Was not allowed to use because Manager said it was not valid yet. Then I must have a different meaning of the word “now”. Would not have gone if I had known I couldn’t use coupon. Been a customer for 30 years or more. Not sure if I will shop there again

20

I was tried to make payment in my account ended at 7289 the machine said there is no payment needed at this time. I received bill for this account number. I tried to get a whole of live person was not successful. I have made several complaints about this situation nothing is done to correct it. Something it should take few minutes to complete would an hour. If the company can not correct the problem they should have live person to do the job. The way this machine is computed would force customer to leave the company because it takes too long to solve problem of two minutes. Yur sincere customer.

20

I arrived at the jewelry department store in Town East Mall in Mesquite Texas on March 9, 2019. I stood in line but was ignored by the sales person named Elvis who was Hispanic. He served two other Hispanic customers until I stopped him and told him I was there first. Elvis ignored me and kept doing what he was doing. Finally he asked me if he could help me, but he was standing at the opposite end of the display. This was an obvious case of racism. I returned my item and refused to make another purchase with JC Penney. Later another worker assisted me in my purchase. As for JCPenney, if this does not get resolved, my wife and I will never shop at your store ever again. I can't even sleep tonight because this is eating me up!

20

Monday I went to the hair salon in Toledo, Ohio. My hair was 6 to 7 inches long. The beautician spoke about the length immediately and I said I wear it long, I do not want it cut off. She said she could do that. I said she could trim 1 inch off possibly 2” at the bottom. I have bald spots and need the Longer hair on my crown to cover them up. Also my hair is very fragile on my crown and breaks off faster than it grows; and has a cowlick on the top where it flips forward like a mans hair line. It has to be a certain length like 5 inches for it to weigh enough to lie over the cowlick and not flip forward.

When she complained about the length and how much time to put it up, I reminded her again it could be trimmed . She replied that only taking off 1 to 2 inches wouldn’t matter which to me is not valid. It took her an hour to put it up on very large perm rods. She said she had to piggy back the rods since my hair was so lomg. Since I thought I had long hair I let her use the larger curlers which no one has ever used before. She said she should charge $10 to $15 dollars extra for the extra time. No one has ever charged me before or even mentioned it.

After being there for 2 hours, I was tired and my neck hurt since I had neck surgery. I was wet since rinsing my hair soaked my clothes and she couldn’t get them dry with her heard dryier. I said I live 5 minutes from the store, I would go home and get my clothes and hair dry. It was snowing when I left. I was freezing with wet hair and clothes. When home, I had to hurry and get dried off. Then I looked in mirror. I was shocked at what she had done to my hair. My hair is now 3 to 3.5 inches on the crown and maybe 4 to 5 inches around the neck and sides. It stands straight up in the crown and shows my scalp, cowlick and bald spots. Now I understood why at the end she said she was not going to charge me for curling the extra length...she had maliciously cut it all off at the end when I thought she was snipping off a few over permed ends. No one should ever be given such a horrible haircut. It is the worse and shortest hair cut I have ever been given. What’s even worse, She did it on purpose.

She walks away and doesn’t have to deal with the consequences of this bad hair cut. I have to live for a year with this horrible hair cut for it to grow back out at the bottom around my neck line. Unfortunately, it may take several years to grow back the length on my crown if I live long enough and don’t go bald there. She knew what she had done or she wouldn’t have told me she was not going to charge me for the extra time. I repeat, she did this on purpose. I will never understand why. I will never come back to this hair salon.

I am sending a picture of the crown area. I have another showing the cowlick in the back and how it stands straight up.
I will try to send it. Obviously, I no longer have any hair 7 inches in length.

20

I went to the Lake Charles, La. J.C. Penny's today to buy some men's shoes. There was only one guy working that side of the store. He was helping someone else and never got to me. The shoe dept. was a mess. I couldn't find me size or style. There was no place to even sit to try on shoes. I felt like I was the only one in the store. Frustrated, I left and went to Academy sports an bought my shoes at half the price of Penny's. I am a J.C. Penny's stockholder. If we continue to do business like this we will go bankrupt! I read on Yahoo, that they compared J.C. Penny's and Macy's and the service at Macy's was great as well as the Merchandise was presented well, and clean. J.C. Penny store the Merchandise was a mess and nobody came to offer any help. If we are to survive people at the stores need to wake up. Their jobs are at stake and our shares are at stake. If this kind of attitude and service continues we are doomed. Somebody needs to start Kicking somebody's butt and getting people in gear before it is too late! I was very disappointed with my entire experience!

Thank you,
N.L.Glass

20

I went to the store in Raleigh nc and they has a refrigerator that had a wrong price. I tried to buy the item but they manager said it was a pricing error and he cannot the price. I was advised by the associate to call cooperate office. Corporate office stated they cannot tell a store to sell it to me at that price. The best the manager can do is offer a 20% off regular price. very disappointed customer

20

Recently I purchased women underwear Underscore briefs at a cost of $16 per package. I purchased 4 sets including the cotton kinds. After only a few short weeks the nylon leg rubber is coming a part. I thought it would only be one pair but it is all of them. That is quite a bit of money to spend on underwear that does not last at least 6 months. The colors were white and beige. I would like a JC Penney credit or refund. I am embarrassed to take worn underwear back to store. I am senior citizen and need plenty of underwear. They were a size 7.Thank You. The purchase was made in 2019. I do shop at the store frequently. JC Penney in Lake Charles , LA

Gale Valerie

20

The Kingman az store has old, filthy, mildewed carpeting in the dressing room...I will shop elsewhere if New is not put in..such a small space come on folks..care about your customers

20

I got these sheet set in queen & gray & AFTER 1 WASHING the seams that go around mattress all ripped & I dont have a sewing machine!!! Whats going on JCP usually have good products?? Im so upset with this is Im on SS & cant afford to throw my money away!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE the shets but after one waswing fell apart on seams?? Com'n thats not right to do to customers that buy from yr stores & websites all the time?? Please look in to this matter Like i said only 1 washing cause just got for cmas ordered Nov 25th & the seams are all ripped around mattress Grrrr makes me so upset 720=4150D

20

Ordered 4 items online for Christmas on 11/23/18. Received 3 out of the 4 and 4th was still showing in transit as of 12/5/18 - never rec'd it. I called customer service & was told by a representative, Brian, that I had to file a claim with UPS. I asked why I should file a claim as I paid JC Penney and they should refund my money. He was very rude to me and said how do they know I didn't receive it? I said if you look on UPS tracking it shows - "in transit" and not delivered. Every time I tried to speak he talked over me. I asked to speak with a supervisor and he said he was a supervisor but could only give me first name and not last due to "security issues". I filed a claim with UPS but said they have to reimburse JC Penney - when I asked why I was not being reimbursed for an item that I had already paid for and not received, they said that is how it works with JC Penney.

As of this date, I have not had my money returned for the item nor has anyone reached out to follow up with me. Very poor service. My shipment order no. was 2018-3276-2146-2434. I never received the product which was a sterling silver necklace which was supposed to be a Christmas gift for my daughter-in-law. I want my money back asap and will probably not use JC Penney online in the future as too much hassle if an item is not received.

20

Placed a order for adjustable bed frame and mattress 11/12/18.
A told shipper cancelled part of our order and have lost the other. We were advised to reorder which we did. As of today we are still waiting to hear from anyone and have been charged for both orders.

20

To whom it may concern

My mother (Peggy Pettaway 252-864-1866) bought my daughter a bracelet from JC Penny for her birthday in August 2018. The bracelet was on sale if she used her JC Penny's credit card, in which she did. My mother used her credit card AND gave the cashier the money for bracelet. A month later my mother received a bill for the bracelet and went back to the store (in Greenville, NC) and showed her receipt that she paid for the bracelet. My mother explained to someone in customer service that she already paid for the bracelet. The manager said she would look on the camera to see if she actually did pay with the credit card and pay the money but the manager stated she couldn't find the video. My mother finally told the manager that she would pay for the bracelet again but she would never enter or buy anything else for the store. The total for the bracelet was over 100.00 and it is not fair that my mother has to pay twice for this bracelet. My mother shops has your store often and you have lost a valued customer.

40

I was at the camp hill JC Pennys 12/19/19. I saw these earring on a table for $25.00. It was a special. I picked up a box and asked the associate if they were $25. She said yes. So I went to purchase the earrings & she said the ones I picked up were more. They were a bit bigger of a stone. I said I asked you & you said they were $25. She said well these pair are not. I showed her the empty spot on the table where I picked them up. Turns out they were the only ones of that size. If all the ones on the table the ones I picked up were more. I asked for a manager. Manager said oh these are more than &25. They were I think she said $149. I said I should get them for what the sign said. She said well the ones I picked were more & the sign said the smaller stone was $25 but there was one sign, all the earting boxes were the same size & I picked the ones that were a bit bigger not knowing they were any different. They would not give me the earrings for the same price so all the stuff I bought at Penny’s over $500 worth, I’m taking back. So disappointed!!!!!

20

The worst store ever. Hiram Square has the rudest employees on the planet. They do not care about their customers; therefore, they do not care about people. I have been waiting on an order to be delivered and they are not helpful at all. Keep telling me to buy from another store without providing me with the items I have already paid for.

20

i purchased 3 xersion lightweight womens puffer jackets lst year 2 of them the zippers are broke i would think that they should not have any issues being year old and to get new zippers would cost me 30.00 each which i am not going to do,will you take care of this problem
joann mclain

20

You just finished the Sweet Sale tonight. I could care less about the candy but wanted the discount as I was buying Christmas Presents. I ask one associate where to get the candy..she said Mens Dept. I went to Mens Dept and I found a person walking through that worked there and she said it's over..we ran out about 3pm. It was 5pm when i got there from work. She started walking away and I said can I speak to a manager..she,said she was. Is there any way i can get a discount of any kind. She said no. So i put everything down and went to kohls. How fair is it that because i worked and finally got there and get turned away and they could care less. They could have ran out on Friday and no one would have gotten any Saturday. She could have even offered me the lowest discount and I would have been happy, but nothing!! So much for Customer Relations. It was a wasted trip and wasted time. This was the Saratoga Springs, N.Y. store.

20

I ordered a bed from JCPenney, and delivery guys (XPO Logistics) showed up with only 1 part, and we refused the delivery. Even though the item on my account shows "Returned", still JCPenney has not returned my amount and they say that my item was delivered; despite the fact that the delivery sheet clearly states "Pick UP ONLY", they are not even ready to take this as an action item to follow up with their equally dishonest delivery partners XPO.

20

I came in your store on 9/28/2018 in Pearland Tx made a purchase for4881.02 on Major Appliances with a delivery date of 11/23/2018 I took off work for this delivery I got a call about 9:30 am that the drivers was behind on deliveries and he needed to reschedule my delivery the earliest Wednesday the 11/28/2018 I got a call that morning that my order would be coming between 1- 5 but the driver would call 30 min before coming I waited and waited about 4:45 some ruled lady call left a message that my order is on back order I dont no when you gone get it when we no we will call you back I call the number no one answered over and over So I call the store to speak with a manager her name was Melissa I told her what happen she put me on hold said she talk to Samsaug and my order still coming came in the store on the 29 for a full return Marisol Reynoso had trouble doing a return because she said Samsung was close she told me she would take care of it that Friday and call me she call me and said its been done the return and it takes 48 hours and your money will be in your account on the Dec7,2017 I ask do I need to come in because this was on a Jcpenny card and I need something saying it was done I got a email I guess this is custmer service that it was being process Came dec7,2018 no money I call custmer service again I spoke with Carol Davis she stated that order was not canceled and was very nice about helping me Carol told me it would be canceled by6 the Dec12,2018 and I will get a refund by the 21 or 22 of December I feel that your company is wrong for holding my 4881.02. All I want is my money I talk to a manager Phillip at the store on the 7 of Dec and he told me nothing could be dont until they find the Appliances and the he said I had a delivery date for Dec4,2018 that was true and he goes to tell me they would not have taken the money if they hadnt been shipped I told him Sir I dont have to lie I place a new order at a different store Best Buy and I can show you I will never purchases any Appliances from Jc penny I am a long time customer and card holder I will not be shopping with you all this has really hurt me and this is Xmas time and I cannt get my money now I really think I will have to get my attorney involved its going on 3 months this is VERY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE 2018-2715-4357-1122 IS MY ORDER # MY PHON#832-715-9108

20

I purchased this necklace on your website I put it in my cart bought it next day or two I got email saying it was canceled I was very upset if it wasn’t available would it say OUT of stock? So I called customer service told them I talked to three different managers they were all rude and making jokes about my order getting canceled I have never been treated so disrespectful from customer service and I have never bought anything online then days later an email saying it’s out of stock, I order online all the time too. If I was able to put this necklace in my cart purchase this then it should be mine not out of stock.

20

Ordered an electric blanket for an elderly neighbor- store to store. Its seven days later and it still has not arrived. Had I known it was going to take THIS LONG, I would have ordered it from Amazon or Walmart and had it 2 days later. Yea, it might have cost a few dollars more , but at least he would have had it before the winter storm hits this weekend. Have not shopped with JC Penneys in years, and now won't do so again. Very very disappointed. Lesson learned.

100

I purchased items in the Naples store on November 30, 2018 with my Discover Card in the amount of $94.58.
Upon returning home I did not find the receipt in the bag.
The items purchased are Christmas gifts, men's clothing. Is it possible to get an itemized receipt.If not, how will I return the items if it becomes necessary.
The purchase on my Discover account says: J C Penny 2132 if this is any help to you.My phone number is 239 352 9294.
My email address is: cnanaknit@aol.com.
Thank you.
Respectfully,
Carla R. Borstel

20

The person waiting oon me was yawning all the tome I was being waited and the person that approved the transaction was very rude. Took almost 30 minutes to get check out with only two pair of jeans. I usually shop online but my greatgrandson needed jeans because it was so cold. Hopefully someone else will check me out if I ever go back to shop in the store again.Maybe I want have too. I love Jc Penny’s cloths just a bad experience with two very rude people.

20

I ordered a mattress+box on the 11-13-2018.jcypenny call me on the 11-26-2018 that the mattress got lost.I was requested to make a new order which I did.Now when is this order number:2018330582067598 going to be delivered to me?

20

Purchase beauty-rest mattress on 10/21 receive on10/31 found defect same day reported to JC.Penny on 11/01. Order NO 2018294540596918. I have called corp. customer service 4 times Each time they said they would call JW Logistics to pick up mattress. The last time I called he gave a request No. T68944937 and request to pickup mattress . Today (11/27 I was informed I must pay for a restocking and delivery cost for the first time.

I have been a customer for almost 50 years and I would expect JPPENNY to pay for the restocking fee. and clear this matter quickly.

1311 Tannery Circle, Midlothian, VA 23113
Phone No. (804) 739-1787

20

I was in your JC Penney, Briarwood Mall location in Ann Arbor, MI on Black Friday, 11/23/18. I had to use the bathroom and went to the bathroom located in the teen girl section. The only stall available was the middle stall, the others were being occupied. When I entered the stall I noticed that there was no lock, nothing to secure the door closed. I took my chance on someone opening the door while I was using it, but was not prepared for what happened. As soon as I sat down, the outside bathroom door opened and someone came in. They didn't say anything, they were quiet and all of a sudden they kicked in my stall door. It hit me direct in the forehead causing me to scream and the perpetrator(s) to run. I believe they were trying to scare the teen girl in the stall next to me. They had been in the bathroom earlier and kept asking when she would be done. My head was on fire it was hurting so bad. I waited for the teen girl to come out of here stall so I could question her about her friends and she kept denying it was her friends. I left the bathroom and went to the nearest cashier desk. The cashier immediately starting laughing when I told her. I asked for the manager who came down right away. I told her what happened and she filled out a incident report. They also called maintenance who said that the bathroom had just been cleaned and nothing had been reported about a stall door not locking. I told them to check out the bathroom right then since they didn't believe me. They said they would put up an "out of order" sign and would put a lock on the door immediately. I went back 2 days later and no sign and no lock. Still. Really? Do you not care that I have a concussion now? Do you not care that someone else is going to get hurt and the next person may be small or old and that kind of hit could kill them. This is absolutely the worst thing ever! Talk about non safety in your store! I have pictures of the door without a lock on it. I also have pictures of a wall in the bathroom that has a huge hole in the wall and nothing has been done to fix that either. The bathroom is disgusting and not safe for anyone. Please tell me what you are going to do about this!
Also, where do I send my medical bills?
Patti Carden
(734) 660-6790

20

I sent an email within six hours to cancel an order, and also called within 24 hrs to cancel an order. I know the item was not shipped at this point. it was on the Thanksgiving Holiday weekend. I replied to the email immediately when I received it -to cancel the order. I also called and reported the order number and asked that the item be canceled, In a live chat. When I spoke to a representative, she told me that the system would not allow her to cancel the item. Is this true? Once you order an Item, it cannot be canceled even if it has not been shipped out. The item was shipped 4 days after it was placed.

I am completely disappointed with J C Penny. I will not be ordering on-llne or shopping here again.

20

Where do I begin... I placed an order for same day pick up on November 18th before 2 pm. I was told that it takes about 4 hours to receive an email that my order would be ready for pick up. I received an email about an hour later stating half of my order was canceled. So I called JCPenny to cancel the whole thing. I was told I couldn't not cancel unless it was within 30 minutes of placing the order. I responded by stating that I didn't know until an hour later that half of my order was being canceled by them so how it this fair? I was told I would need to pick up my order and then return it. Fine. So I waited....it is now November 26th and I am still waiting for an email about my SAME DAY PICK UP. I have called corporate who tells me the item was shipped to the store?? But I still can not cancel it I have to call the store. The store itself doesn't answer the phone. I do not want the product, I do not need the product anymore I ordered it an received it at my door in two days from another company. This place is the worst for customer service, price, time, shipping, stock, policy. I will in fact make it a point to let everyone know what an awful business this is. While I still patiently wait for the item I was charged for almost 10 days ago.

20

I purchased a Cooks Air popper and the sign said that I would get a $14 rebate but was told by the cashier to go online to get it and that they don't have any in the store. I checked online and could not find any rebatess for this item so I just called the small appliance dept.
and they told me that they do not have any rebates eligible for that product. This is false and deceiving advertising by JCPenney. I will never buy another appliance from this store. My name is Cynthia Davis and please contact me at (314) 495-5046.
I am very displeased and upset.
I thought that I could trust JCpenney but I was wrong. I hate to be lied to and then no one gives a damn because they have your money and I'll let others know about this as well.
Reason of review: rebate not eligible.
Monetary Loss: $14.
Preferred solution: Let the company propose a solution.
I didn't like: Store or staff.

20

We bought an electric range at the Erie store on 11/08/18 with delivery date 11/13. We understood that the range would be hooked up upon delivery, but the delivery men said they were not authorized to hook up electric ranges. We sent the range back and canceled the order. We are very disappointed. Apparently the clerk who sold us the range didn't know that the delivery people would not do the hook-up.

Barbara Mogush

20

I recently purchased a new pair of glasses from your optical department. I received a voicemail message that my glasses were in and I could pick them up 10/26/18 between 10am to 6pm. Well I was there at 10 am and nobody was in department. I asked for a manager and store manager named Kristen told me there was nothing she could do? BAD ANSWER! Your communication is HORRIBLE! You leave me a message that my glasses were in and when I could pick them up and nobody was there? I was getting "there was a miscommunication? REALLY? So I wasted 40 minutes for someone to finally show up. Mall manager kept saying was "I apologize". I am almost a platinum customer and have been shopping JCP all my life and I am now 62. Well. today was my last time EVER shopping at JCP and understand why they are going out of business! No offer to compensate no nothing...manger simply did not care! So , now I don't care about JCP! VERY upset and disgruntled customer!! David Lamb

20

To Whom It May Concern:

On October 06, 2018 my daughter, Jennifer Lafferty, had made a purchase of seven men’s T—shirts from J. C. Penny’s on line shopping.

The pick up date was scheduled for October 15-18 to the Poughkeepsie Galleria. When checking on the order, my daughter found out that two of the T—shirts were on back order but that five had already been shipped to the store.

When she informed me that five of the shirts were in, my husband, for whom the shirts were ordered, made the 40 minute drive to J.C.Penny, Poughkeepsie, NY to pick up those that had arrived.

Upon arriving at the store he verified all necessary information to the clerk but was then told he could NOT receive the ones that had come in due to a rule that the entire order must be available before pick up.

Nowhere in your email confirmation does this rule appear. Also, when speaking with one of your rep’s on the phone, this information was NOT provided, making this trip to Poughkeepsie an unnecessary one!

This action caused loss of time, gas and only succeeded in producing stress and aggravation. In lieu of this, I thanked my daughter for her efforts but told her to cancel the order as there is no telling how long it will take for the remainder of the items to arrive and we were not planning another trip to Poughkeepsie in the near future.

It is my hope that J. C. Penny perfects their practice in serving the customer and they don’t follow down the road of Sears and K—Mart.

Respectfully,

Dawn Lafferty

20

I can't get my decorator to come back to finish the job she started. Won't answer emails. Nancy Cubbage

20

Went to Chesapeake Mall tonight to purchase hair products from the salon. Employee was assisting someone when we got there. We stood there for 10 minutes and she never addressed us. My husband asked her to help us when she was done, she never acknowledged us. After 15 minutes of being ignored, we walked out! This young employee needs customer service training , you lost a sale tonight and a customer, how many more?

20

I ordered curtains online. They were expected at in store pickup on the 17th. Things happen I know, but I still chatted with your online chat service to see the curtains whereabouts. They told me yesterday that my curtains were delivered to the store yesterday, Friday the 21st, and to contact the store because they probably were not scanned in yet. I contacted the store like I was directed to on Saturday the 22nd. I told the online order lady the situation, to which she laughed at me. After looking up my order she told me it still wasn’t scanned in and to call back Monday or Tuesday, because she wouldn’t be able to look through all the packages for mine.

20

We bought a refrigerator on 9/2. Order number 2018-2455-4087-6544. It was delivered today with huge dents on the front of the Frigidaire Gallary. They put our refrigerator in our garage and now we do not have a refrigerator in the kitchen and can’t park our car in the garage. I called Paris in customer service and he refused to give me his bosses phone number. He is the MA manager. He said he would fill out a case number but could not give me the information. I must say JC Penny really let me down. Now our old refrigerator is in the garage that still works. I was told that they have to order a new one. Paris said I turned down replacement parts. I was never offered replacement parts and I want a new refrigerator. I can’t believe a 100 year old company forgot how to take care of customers. Because of this, I want a refund for the refrigerator and I will buy from a different company that cares about their customer. . Refund my money immediately.

20

I frequent the Instyle Salon in Goodyear, AZ on Mc Dowell on a bases. I love the stylist I see and she always is friendly and professional. I was there yesterday and while I was getting my hair shampooed the Manager Janice Woodruff came to the back and in a unprofessional and disrespectful manner asked the girls who were working. what the problem was with the sinks. Instead of nicely asking she stormed in the room and addressed the issue.

As a regular client there, I found her attitude annoying and disrespectful to the girls working there.. I expect to come into any salon and hear what the problems are. I do expect a pleasant and relaxing experience. Perhaps these issues should be addressed away from clients and Janice should learn how to address co workers in a professional manner.

Thank you

20

August 1 I was shopping the Central Mall store in Fort Smith, Arkansas. I wanted to buy the $25 diamond ring I got the notice on my I pad for. The clerk was rude and abrupt saying sold out ad started last week. this morning that same ad is in the Fort Smith Times Record. There also was a big display with multiple identical boxes of sterling silver 2 pair earrings that were priced $49 on sale for $10. When I went to check out she said they were $32. I feel this is false advertising. In my attempt to finish my shopping I went to the online site, but it would not take my discount coupon. I also feel that this store merchandise Is less and less every month. I have been a loyal shopper at Pennys for many years. But if this practice is not improved I will be forced to take my business elsewhere. I appreciate your attention to this matter. You may reach me at 479 369 2087. Thank you.

20

I was on line ordering three items and when I finish only one item showed up on screen . So, I went back trying to correct it and ending up getting two invoices. Now I,m stuck with the same items twice. When I called your customer service they told me that I did not call in time to cancel one of the orders. All of this was done within the span of an hour not the next day or last week. Being told that I will have to send one of the packages back is distrubing to me.. I,m a senior and do not get around because of my leg. Please help. Invoice numbers are 2018 1975 4040 0934 and 20181976 2042 5488.

20

I have bought St. John's Bay tees at Penney's for years. The store didn't have any in navy so I ordered four online thinking they were be the same that I have bought in the past. They were very inferior and didn't fit the same. I returned them to the store but didn't receive a full refund. I called customer when I got home and spent over 30 minutes with them trying to pull up the order. I had my receipt with the order number. I guess they didn't refund the shipping. I certainly don't think I should pay shipping for something that is poor quality and not the same as the product was in the past. Then today I checked on a rebate for an air fryer that I bought at Penney''s May 4th. I had to do the live chat online and then call Penney's rebate center. The card was sent to my post office box number but in a different town. The representative said someone keyed in the wrong zip code. My zip code is 76226 and the other zip code was 76247…....not even close. I think I am finished shopping at Penney's after spending too much time trying to take care of problems they created. Penney's has problems.

20

on may 24 2018 I purchase a mattress and bed frame on store # 2934,was suppose to get it in two weeks.it never happen. I started calling on June 8-11-12-13-14. call at least 6 to 7 time daily, no one knew about my order, I was told that my order was cancel by the vender. I call and told them that I had the bill on my desk how could be. On June 14 I got a call and I was told that my delivery. date was June 20 .on my 75 year I never had such a bad trement I could keep on writing but iam to upset.so I cancel my order with regret because I needed the set. I will NEVER NEVER NEVER recommend any one to JCP it was horrible.

20

I ordered on line to pick up in store as i thought it would be quicker got to the store they only had 1/3 of my order. Waited for an hour twenty minutes they said it is on th next truck for tuesday and they would call me. They did not call i caled them they located my things i said iwould be in friday she said ok well after twenty minutes wait with my kids and lot of me tell t;em what i was told and listening to them act like i am lieing they found the package and after telling them to no pull the items out as it was a present they did it. Really one was a souperviser and one a manager. If this is how you treat customers i want no part of your business.

20

Hi, I tried to get the Birthday coupon before April but I did not get a response. The coupon was for$10 on a $10 purchase. I have tried several times and got no response. If this coupon is no longer good for Birthdays shouldn't someone let me know. I was going to get some clothes for my Birthday and use this coupon .I would use another coupon if you send me one. I tried to print several on the J C Penny listing but they would not print.Thank you for a response or a coupon. My Birthday only comes once a year. Thank You William

20

i just left jcpenny at the meadow wood mall reno nv i was going to buy 8 panels of drapes the cashier there told me i had to wait because they would need to be ordered i don't mind waiting my turn but she kept taking people who just got there making me wait i guess until there would be no body left my money is good any where i want to spend it and clearly it will never be at jc pennys

20

Order # 2017-3305-8122-5214
I ordered a shoe on line on the 11/26/2018 and still l have not received the item. I went to the store in Oaks Mall on Monday and was told its due to be delivered on the 8th. I went to the store on the 8th and was told JCP store is closed due to electrical problems. I again went to the store on the 9th and was told again item is due to be delivered on Tuesday the 12th. I'm sorry it was free to be delivered at home but l taught picking up in store would be quicker. I was wrong as there is no proper communication and l do not trust it would be delivered even on Tuesday. This is a Gift for a friend and frankly, the time l needed item has passed and l am disappointed.

Amazon delivers in 3 days and if they do not have item in stock, would give you the date it would be delivered. I do all my shopping at JCP and frankly, this is my last .

Vey disappointed and l feel its not worth all the hustle if JCP cannot deliver on time.

20

The jcpenny in west covina pick up from online,they need to find a better way to have customers pick up online orders because they have a check out and pick up same place and you gotta wait about an hour thats why i buy online so that i do not wait in line this makes me not want to ever buy and pick up at jcpenny again

20

Hi. I just want that let me know why you have charged in my paypal account the amount of $63.00 since 11/11/17 for the order # 2017-3156-2133-7160 for different items and I never have received , if I don't have received them before 11/22/17 , please don't sent me anymore because I am not be able to pick-up the items I will be outside of this country.. Please send me a message to let me know and
Thank you kindly.

20

I ordered 2 shirts online 9/29/17. When they arrived on 10/9/17 the shirts were not the correct color/style. Returned them to the store with no problem but cannot get the correct shirts I ordered because it says they are out online and are not available in my store. I am upset that when originally ordered online they were available and due to JCPenney's messing up I can now not get the shirts I wanted. The email sent to me to show they had shipped showed the correct shirts I wanted. Never received an email saying they would not be available or anything so jcp messed up in sending me the wrong shirts and now cannot get me the ones I originally ordered. I am very unhappy.

20

I have been trying to order curtains. We to the store three times. Sales people were helpful. T h e curtains that t I wanted were in stock. Keep getting email. Not in stock. W h at is going on.

"

20

I have been trying to order curtains. We to the store three times. Sales people were helpful. T h e curtains that t I wanted were in stock. Keep getting email. Not in stock. W h at is going on.

"

20

Woman's dressing room. The west Covina, CA Jcpenny woman's dressing room is disgusting. The walls are dirty & there is always this dirty chair in there that has stains all over it. It's like they don't even care. Jcpenny wasn't always like that. What happened?

20

My wife went to the salon in lake city Fl. in which we are new to the area.Having always used Penny's for her hair. This visit was the worst that she has ever had. She has gotten perms and it always took about 2 hrs. This was done in 55 min. and came out with a wet head and was told it will dry by itself. She got sick and had to be put in the Hospital so when she got better we stopped in to talk to the hair styles and was told it looked OK and that is all that can be done. She wanted to have her hair colored but with the way she was treated did not want it done with them. There was never an apology and never talked to see what could be done to fix her hair. Felt this is not the Penny's that we are us to always willing to rectify the problem?

20

I had an item to J.C. Penney that needed return and I stood in line waiting for my turn, when i went to to the register, the associate named (Claudia) asked for my receipt and I gave it to her, she started to process the return and when it comes to refund my credit card, she asked to me insert my credit card, although CC machine displayed swipe CC for refund, anyway, i followed her instructions, but it didn’t work, she tried again and same results.

I told her that the machine displays swipe J.C. Penney CC, but she replied to me very rudely, that the CC has a chip and this is the only way to do it, and she tried to call MOD, without any luck, I asked her again to just try it as the machine says, but again in a very aggressive, confronting rude tone she said no, these are the rules and I have to follow them, and then she tried to call MOD again. She kept me for 15 minutes till she was able to reach MOD, who advised her to swipe the card.

So she did and completed the refund. I told her that I have been asking you to try it for the last 15 minutes, her response to me that I always have issues with return. I asked her what do you me, I have my item (unopened) I have my receipt, she didn’t reply and hand my the refund receipt very rudely with out an apology for the wait, her mistake or her nasty attitude. I am not sure how you hire such people in front line. I need a response from you management regarding this experience and someone needs to speak with her.

20

I am very discouraged by the J.C. Penney black friday promotion this year. I was fortunate enough to receive one of these coupons and attempted to use it online per instructions. I used the chat feature on your website and they told me I could not use the coupon online and needed to wait until after 5p to use in store. That is not what the coupon states as you can see. Very frustrated by poor customer service.

40

I am so disappointed. On their page they have a picture of a hutch for sale and that picture includes a changing table. However the changing table was not included. When the hutch came I was very disappointed to discover this. I looked to see if I could buy the changing table and what do you know, they don't sell it anymore, even though they keep a picture of it up. So when I asked to return it I was told I had to pay $75 dollars on top of the $75 delivery fee. So in order to get it returned I had to take a $150 loss. The hutch was $160. I am so mad and upset about this, I don't know if I will ever shop at JCP again. Also, the lady I talked to at JCP online was so rude.

20

On Sunday November 13, 2016 I was in the Woodfield, Schaumburg, IL J.C. Penney store. I found in your store an a.n.a black jacket while walking to the shoe department. The jacket caught my eye and the price was very appealing because of the sale sign stating that it was $24.99. It said "Juniors' Pleather Jackets" and the whole rack was filled with both black and camel colored ones of the same style. Not even thinking, I tried it on and thought the jacket fit well and the price was good. At check out the jacket rang up for $69.99. I told the cashier that the sign said $24.99. Because the store was busy she asked her department manager, Patti, for direction.

Patti told me the price was $69.99 and walked off looking for the sign. I followed her and showed her the rack and sign. She pointed out that the $24.99 price was only for the jackets that were originally $52.00. She checked the rack, and didn't see any $52.00 jackets and started checking all the racks in the vicinity looking for the $52.00 jackets. She came back to the original rack and found found two intermixed with the $120.00 jackets. As I was standing there she didn't say a word, showed me the two $52.00 jackets that were on the rack intermixed with the $120.00 jackets. I asked her why the sign said $24.99 and the rack was full of $120.00 jackets.

She said that only the Juniors jackets were marked down and the a.n.a jackets were not Juniors, I asked how was anyone to know which jackets were juniors and which were not by the brand name. I did not receive and answer so I returned to the register to pay for my purchases. As I was standing at the register I happened to see Patti come back with the sale sign that she had taken off the rack of jackets. As a department manager Patti was unprofessional and huffy and was not interested in this at all, her J.C. Penney department made a pricing mistake and she was not willing to make it good. Her attitude was: it's not $24.99 and that's the bottom line.

The end result should have been that I got the jacket for $24.99 and the sign taken down. This seems from shopping at J.C. Penney's that it is normal for them to have the sale sign on the wrong item. I find this to be a bad business practice and will have to think twice before shopping there again. Please see the attached pictures to prove my point.

20

I placed an order for a pair of boots on jcp.com and had them shipped to the store. I was told they would be ready in 4-7 days 15 days later the store can't find my order called customer service no one can seem to track the shipment and on top of all that I have to wait 3-5 business days to hear from someone about a refund. This is the worst service I've ever had and very annoying. I will never order from them again!

20

I was in the J.C. Penney store #0766 331 Brandon Town Center Brandon Fl 33511 on 10/0/16 @ 19:00 I went to the Jewelry dept. because I needed a battery for my watch. There was 3 cashier's working one Asian lady at one counter with a customer and 1 Asian, l white lady at the other counter with one J.C. Penney customer. I proceeded to the counter with 2 cashiers patiently waiting the white lady looked me in the face and didn't acknowledge me. So I went to the other counter and waited a gentle man with a beeper and wearing a red shirt came through the store and stood exactly where I stood. She was laughing with him.

She left that counter and went to another count still not acknowledging me. So I asked him if it was someone who could help me at the repair counter and he said sure and called her over. She came over to the counter and I told her that I wanted to get a battery for my watch. She went on, & on about I didn't get the watch from penny's, wanted to know where the back was I told her that I did, She really argued with me about my watch. Then she said that penny's only did that during the week. I told her I was traveling and just needed a battery.

She then told me that she didn't have one. I have never felt racism like I felt that day. I told her that I wanted to talk to management because she was very rude, she came from behind the counter and followed me to the other counter where I went to talk to the other cashier she came up on me I put my hand up and told her to give me 50 feet, she ask me not to put my hand up in her face, and I told her that she was in my space. Jocelyn came and I told her what I needed she check my watch, and replace the battery. She gave me the poor J.C. Penney customer service that I deserved.

I'm sure that you guy's have this on camera footage. This woman does not need to be working in customer service. She argued, with me about where I got my watch from as if I stole it, you may not have it then but you had it at 1 time. Then on top of all that she lied to me said that Penney's didn't have a battery. I have never been treated like that before.

20

My complaint is that I was in line for the cards your store was giving out and the woman in front of me took my card and she started screaming it was my 100 off 100. I thought you were only allowed one card. At the end I received none because it was the last one. I don't know if the employee knew her but that was the worst experience ever.

40

On August 6, 2016 I dropped off my Seiko Solar watch for a "clasp repair, since it was having a repair I opted to have the watch cleaned too. I was called in a day or two and informed the cost would be $34.00 to be serviced. I agreed to the cost and servicing. Estimated completion date, as per my Repair Claim Ticket was 9/3/2016. To date, and 6 calls to JC Penney's, my watch is not completed, speaking to 3 associates who are not sure "what is going on with the repair order, I am totally frustrated and worried my watch is not safe, returnable or repaired. I did not receive any call backs from the associate's, I had to do the follow-up back to the associates.

Two days ago, , I spoke to an associate who informed me she would be calling the company they sent the watch out for repair, and she would "call me back within an hour, no later than late in the afternoon. I spoke with her at 10:00 am. Well, here we go again. This is the 3rd day and no reply from associate. When I spoke to the associate 3 days ago, I stated to her, "this situation is unacceptable, and I want a new watch to replace the watch the store associate sent out for repair on 8/6/16.

No if's or but's. I have been patient, more than understanding since I had to call associates back after I was told they would call me. It is now Oct. 19, 2016 going into Nov. 2016. Service has been very poor, associates responses very poor, and the time frame of 8/6/16 to promised 9/2016 is way, way past over. And no one knows the status or whereabouts of my watch. This is very poor business for a very loyal and courteous customer with JC Penney.

Info on store is: JCPenny, Store # 2768, phone number: 609 889 7700 option #3 for Jewelry. My Repair Claim Ticket states: " In the event of damage or loss, the JCPenny Company will repair or replace the item at your option." Since I do not know if it is damaged, loss or "my watch" being returned, my option is to have my watch replaced with a new watch of same. I don't want "whatever they are going to give me at this point; too much time has been lost to know if it is my watch, someone else, or a used old watch lying around and be passed off to me!

I don't feel this is an unreasonable request due to the circumstances. I would like to pick up a new watch within 2 days at this store location. They do have them in the glass case. At this point, this is the only resolution I will accept. The service was a horrible experience, and I am very upset of the circumstances. Kindly inform the store, department, and associate of my request, and the ok to perform the transaction from J.C. Penney.

20

I'm extremely upset with this JC Penney's company support, just had to call over ten times due to the call not transferring. Then they tell me I missed a credit card payment, when in fact I payed my payment. They raised my mind payment & I was unaware of the change. They charged me with a late fee. I'm taking my services else where asap. No wonder nobody pays attention to their products anymore.

20

We received the wrong size of vertical blinds. It was ordered with the wrong size. I didn't notice it. Whether my husband wrote down the wrong size of whether numbers got transposed, I do not know. I called when we received this and was told as per the information stated in the box it was returnable, either by UPS or at the store. So, with the help of my 29 year old son and a borrowed SUV, we brought the vertical blinds back into the store. The lady who was called to the desk, Theresa was very rude.

She said the item was not returnable, they were all on a conference call..she didn't know how long it would last and I could wait if I wanted. After 40 minutes, we left. She said someone would call me. No one called. I asked her if I could buy the horizontal piece ( the one with the incorrect size) alone. She quote a price more than $100 more than my total purchase. This was after she originally said no, it couldn't be done. My son said this was the worst customer service that he ever experienced such poor customer service. We left.

I then went on line to write a complaint to JC Penny complain department but was told my order number was incorrect so it would not send the email. The order number was exactly what was printed on the order and listed as order number. I am upset upset.

40

I made a purchase today at JCP store at your store in Brandon, Fl. I went to pay for purchase and I was shocked to see one of your clerks dressed in total black clothing from head to toe. I got out of line and went to another register to pay. I could not believe that Penny's would hire someone dressed like that . I think there are plenty of Americans that would love to have that job. I'm sure that I am not the only customer that noticed it. If they live here they should dress as we do, this is a slap in our face.

40

Made a payment of $ 200.00 at the Hagerstown JC Penney on May 12, 2016. Got my statement today, May 31, 2016 and forum that the $200.00 payment had not been applied to my account and they charged me a late fee. Called customer service and gave them this info and the payment receipt info. Also told them the check cleared my account on May 17, 2016. Advised me that they see the payment but they could not apply? Gave me to another customer service person and things got worse.

They implied that we needed to send several documents to a given address before the payment could be applied even though JC Penney cashed our check. Total frustration trying to understand the customer service person communication so I abruptly hung up. Will take my frustration to the Hagerstown store where the payment was entered. Have been a customer for a long time ,but this incident has caused me to rethink my relationship with JC Penny.

20

I called jcpenny corporate customer relations. A female by the name of Tiffany answered. I gave Tiffany the information that i was calling about and she continued to ask me the same questions over and over as if she didn’t know how to help or maybe she didn’t want to help. I asked to speak with someone higher and she told me that their was no one higher and that i was speaking to corporate. I asked Tiffany if she was the only one working in that area at that time and she danced around the question and told me once again that this was jcpenny corporate office that i was speaking with. I told Tiffany that i was going to hang up and try back to get someone else.

I called back Tiffany answered once again i then asked her if she was the only one working and she said once again this is corporate. I started talking to her letting her know that i needed someone higher up because she kept making me repeat my self. Tiffany push the music button on me, i told her that was rude and that i was going to ask someone higher to pull the call…strangely a supervisor named Shirley became available. Shirley took care of my needs; however, i am still reporting Tiffany. Beware of Tiffany at jcpenny corporate customer relations. This call between Tiffany and i took place at 4:43 pm on this day of January 30, 2016. I called back again at 4:46 pm please pull the calls.

40

I bought a mattress on line and it did not fit the need of my wife to flat not good ask them to come and pick it up it took two month for them to come and it is 2016 and have not receive a refund as of yet spoke with different one's about it this happen in Sept. 2015 and this is 2016 need help this very, very poor service. They want me to paid $139.00 for restocking this item they need to price me I am still getting the run around help. It was sitting in my living room for almost 2 month I could not use this room.

40

My husband ordered me a jewelry item and was told it would be in by Christmas. It wasn't. The customer service at Barton creek in the jewelry dept has been negative. They just said another customer is having to wait. No apologies no care. My husband had to go in person to check. It has been over. 2 weeks since it was supposed to be delivered. Never had a problem with J.C. Penney customer service in the past. This is our last purchase there.

40

While shopping at the JCP at Barton Creek Square Mall in Austin, TX, I was harassed by an employee in the Men's department. I'm not sure of the name of this employee, he was an average height with wild curly hair. Employees and their managers should not be allowed to harass customers. I want action taken against this employee. I know many people who shop here, I will spread the word and let them know to no longer shop here or they will run the risk of being harassed by your employees. This complaint should be forwarded to the J.C. Penney corporate offices for review by management!

40

At your Avenues Mall location, Jacksonville, FL, I was treated extremely rude by two associates: one reluctantly answered a question, the other totally contradicted the first and raised her voice at me. I had over $500 worth of merchandise, which I left at the second employees register. Train your employees with some customer curiosity. I'll never shop at Penny's again!

40

I ordered a monogramed/personalized hand towel on line. I ordered the name in all capital letters and the color of the monogram to be black. I picked my item up from the store and discovered it was not monogramed as I had ordered. The monogram color was white and the name was wrong as Pastor, not capitalized as I ordered. I was also charged for shipping and handling even though this was a ship to store order. JC Penny took it upon their self to send what they wanted and not what I ordered, I should be credited in full and compensated with the correct merchandise as ordered. The mistake made was at the fault of JC Penny.

40

On 1/23/15 I mailed a box of vacation clothes for my husband to Lehigh Acres FL $28.00 My husband arrived in FL on 1/28/15 calls me to let me know he did not receive the pkg. I call the FL PO and the tell me that they still have the pkg and they will deliver it today 29th husband calls no pkg I call the PO and they tell me I need to talk to the carrier I say okay they say he's out sick for a week and I should call back then I call back then and he tells me he wasn't working the day of the delivery I say let me talk to the person who did work that day she's not on till Saturday Now I call back and get a supervisor that can't understand why my pkg says it was delivered at 10:04 am because the carriers do not leave for delivery till at least 11:00am.

I try calling a couple more times with no answers fast forward My brother in law calls and tells me he received the pkg I call the FL PO office and talk to a supervisor and I tell her that the pkg somehow appeared and she said that she found it in the supply room and that it was scanned on 1/27/15 as POSTAL SUPPLIES and that when she was putting things away in the back room that she came across it and since she had just talked to me she knew to get it delivered . I was instructed to have him bring the pkg to the PO and reject delivery The supervisor in FL told me this was the fastest way of getting the pkg back I asked if she could handle the transaction in FL and she said No she was on her way to a doctors appt but she would talk to the post master (Jackie) and let her know what was going on.

My brother in law goes there and asks for Jackie and she has no idea what he was talking about he rejects delivery on the 2/17 I was told it would go out that day they try delivering it back to my brother in law TWO more time finally I ask my PO in MN to call down there and please have them get me my damn package she does and I see it a week later I call the complaint department which was a total waste of my time They know and admit that this whole transaction was a total FIASCO but there is nothing they can do but apologize It was scanned as postal supplies with the postal supply scanner and I get an " I'm sorry" Well la di da 44 days 18 phone calls 5 different individuals I'm the SORRY one Thanks for nothn'

40

I have been to JCP several times this holiday season and like everyone else in my family have been entering the buttons everyday....i have gotten several buttons that the 7-digit code came back invalid and a couple of buttons had two "china" stickers on them.

I went to JCP last night to try and trade them in and would only give one button with purchase....tried to explain that i have made purchases, that's how i got the buttons in the first place, only wanted to trade them in for valid codes!! I am very disappointed in how i was treated and that so many buttons had invalid codes!! How is JCP going to rectify this situation??

I entered your button code, and I got the message that my button had already been used. While I am not a frequent shopper, I do spend a good portion of my Christmas budget in JCP.

I had just went to the store, to pick up a few buttons after I was told about all of the great prizes being given out. First of all my mother nearly got yelled at, by a boy who refused to give her a button because she did not make a purchase, to the point where she wouldn't go to the same register to pay for items trying to avoid this boy.

Also I received two button, a friend of mine received two, and my mother received two. When we arrived home to check them one of the codes was already in use and the others said that the code was invalid. After this I looked up a few reviews on the program with similar problems.

I was wondering if there were in working codes, we could possibly went sent? After all we drove about 45 minutes out of the way and waited in a line only to receive poor service (not from everyone mind you, just one boy) and malfunctioning buttons. I have never been disappointed with JCPenny's until now.

40

I have been playing JCP holiday button game and have won several times. I have received most of the certificates that I have won but three of them, won on 11/26 and 11/27. I emailed the contact provided on the site several times in several reworded ways but get the same generic email to check my spam and that the emails might be coming in slow due to the provider you have.

They are not in my spam and I have received every other message from them before and after. I then called JCP and got an email address to contact, it did not work. Next I emailed the contact address from the JCP site and have not gotten any reply or acknowledgement . Very frustrating .

When I buy at JC Penny they told me that every button they give always have a gift. When I went to chistmas button code it said that my button is not the luck winner. I feel cheated. If they said for the people to keep buying that is not the way to do it. I am very disapointed.

60

Your JCPenney store sales practices are not cost effective and take cosumer's time for granted. You store no longer has weekly or monthly advertised sales, so customers are expected to visit the store and hope to stumble on a sale of items they might need. You do however, send picture magazines depicting items that can be seen at the store or internet. This week I recieved two magazines. Each was presented differently, but contained the same items. This is redundant, a poor use of advertisemnt investment, and not ecologically friendly. I would have benefited more from one flyer adverstising a JCPenney sale I might have been interested in. Your stores have signs advertising price ranges such as "10.00 and up" However, her is seldom anything at the lower price. So, customers are foreced to spend time looking through racks. This is not customer friendly to older clients who can't stand for long periods of time. It also keeps non buyers in your store. Gas is expensive and time is valuable. Our economy is in crisis. Who's dome idea is it not to advertise sales? Is this your idea of accomodating clients? It seems to me that advertisement has always been JCP's down fall. Two yrs. ago you over advertised with expensive commercials and flyers. Now you misalocate advertismnt money by producing magazines that depict merchandise and never notify clients of sales. I learned that when you have advertised sales like the one on JCPenney black friday, many if not most advertised items were not available. You need new managment.

60

For one Christmas button I entered on line, your msg said that it was a winner and I must claim it in 48 hrs. It said nothing else. I phoned the store that gave me the button and No One had a clue as to what I might do to claim my winning prize. The experience has given me a sour taste in my mouth as to the waste of time I have spent. Also, I need to let u know that you have probably lost a lot of catalog sales due to a lack of work staff taking orders. It took about 15 min. Holding before I got a sales rep. In the past I have never waited like that and will have to reconsider when ordering items thru catalog. You will turn a better profit in hiring enough workers rather than sending out merchandise magazines that are quickly tossed. Also, know people like the idea they are getting a good sale. Your new strategy of reasonable pricing might just backfire. For sure, your christmas button promotion is pretty much a hoax. Please use wisdom and keep your stores in business.

40

Every salon in the USA opens at 8 o'clock or earlier but now your salon will open at ten what the heck are you thinking. I take my wife and her sister at 8.00 and the salon is busy.This is what a lot of elderly people do go early to everything including doctors, dentist etc.what are people going to do when they have weddings or functions early on Saturdays use your heads your salon is a money maker for you. Please rethink this option before you lose even more customers.Like I said earlier there are a lot of salons that open before 10.00 please let me no who made this bright choice.

20

Please bring back the old jc penny all departments always bought all housewares yhere it has become horrible Very few places to buy country quilts you always had a great selection at fair prices they have all disappeared. many people have country decorated homes you are missing out,as there are few places to purchase them.. hope to see a big change here. sincerely J.Van Dyke

60

I purchased 6 pair of pants at J.C. Penney store in the Big Flats N.Y. Mall, the service at the time of sale was outstanding, two sales associates went out of their way to assist me with purchasing and ordering 4 pair of pants that were not in stock. This was on 10/22/12, I was told that the pants would be shipped out by 10/24/12, I did not recieve any shipment to my home but did get a response card in the mail that the pants would be shipped out on 11/1/12. I waited and finally got 2 of the 4 pair of pants, the enclosed invoice then said that the other pants were on back order, I went to the store and asked how long I would have to wait they said they would not be shipped until 11/29/12. I then called customer service on 11/13/12 and stated that I was not happy with the delay in delivery of my pants and asked to have my order cancelled. I have not shopped at J.C. Penny for about 2 years other then on 10/22/12, this was the first time I had been in the store since then, I really like the new set up with smaller stores within a large Department store, however my experience with service after the sale was not good. Waiting 5 or 6 weeks for a delivery is not acceptible. I also did not feel that Customer service at the store or on the phone was helpful and I felt I was just another number.

Sincerely,
Matthew J. Leszyk

60

As a Christian woman, I want to tell you how offended I am over your endorsement of a disgusting skit on SNL last Saturday night. I'm telling my friends and family about this incident, and hopefully they will not shop with you either. God bless you.

40

I spent just over $250 online during your black Friday sales. I received a called the next day, and was told most of the items I specifcially went to JCP to buy had been back ordered then canceled, and the only solution you could offer me was a coupon. It was upsetting since I could have picked those items up somewhere on black Friday, and I now have to pay full price for them. Even so, I had still gotten some good deals, and just figured I would pick up some last minutes presents somewhere else to replace the canceled items. After almost 2 weeks I decided to see when the rest of my order would arrive. I log onto your website and to my suprise you have canceled even more of my items good deals. I received no phone call and no email, and I'm sure I will receive no other satisfactory solution other than a coupon if I do. I have no adequate words to describe the outrage and annoyance I feel torwards your company right now. I'm not sure what your company could even do to make this all right, but I am sure no one is going to care too much about my complaints for it to even matter. I would have never bought from your company had I known it would be such an inconvience, and after the service I recieved and the aggravation and resentment it has caused me to feel torwards your company I highly doubt I will EVER shop there again.

60

On or around August 2 2013 about 4:00 pm I was shopping at your mens department at south hill mall in Puyallup wa. As I was walking I stepped on the edging separating your tile from the carpet and my ankle was pushed outward causing a loud pop so much so I could feel it all the way to my head !My ankle now still has a feeling of something (like a torn tendon )slipping back and forth causing discomfort when I walk ( and my daily exercise is out of question ). I have not gone to the doctor as of yet I was hopping it would heel on its own ,but it has not ! I'm going to contact my doctor for an appointment . You should really take a look at your flooring before someone gets an even grater injury ! Thank you Mary Sebastian A

40

I was at the Jcpenny store (4/12/13) in Aberdeen SD at around 7pm this evening shopping with a male friend who wanted to buy some hello kitty shoes for his niece that he saw in the weekly add. There were two ladies working at the shoe department. One older blond lady and a younger lady with black hair and glasses! After about 10 minutes of searching for the shoes that we never found we finally dicieded to ask one of the two ladies since niether one of them asked if we needed some assistance which I thought was costomary for them to do anyway!

My male friend asked if they had the hello kitty high top shoes that were in the weekly add! The younger lady with black hair and glasses said, "well we're a smaller store so we don't always have everything that is in that add".

Ok, fine so my male friend said that it would be nice if the add only advertise what was in this store! Then the older blond lady inturupted and said "well it says on the bottom that some items are not available at all store locations".

Ok fine so we walked away and when we were in the mens department we could hear the younger lady with black hair and glasses say sarcastically and very loud "well it is not my fault don't be mad at me I don't print the add". Then the older blond lady began to laugh and say "yeah". I thought this was very unprofessional and rude! She did not have to say anything!

My male friend then responded "if you are going to talk about me make sure I'm standing in front of you and not wait until we start walking away! This unpleasant expierence just made us never to return to this Jcpenny again! I do not care if this is the only one in the area! I will shop some where else! Teach your rude employees to not talk about customers when they are walking away!

20

On Tuesday Sept 27th I placed an jcpenny order (#2011270581551407) and the call service I received was very willing to go well beyond their fundamental call service. Unfortunately I did not get their names but it was approximately 8:30pm Eastern time zone. The first jcpenny person I spoke to stated she would have to have manager call me back...bottom line they were open to helping the customer.

Basic issue was that I wanted a 5piece outdoor furniture set that was at a discounted jcpenny price online it stated it was unavailable but all the individual pieces were available but cost more than the complete set price but after working approximately 1 hour cause that was when I got the return call from the manager they were able to get the set at the cheaper price. They tried-that is the bottom line. After researching I found that local stores had the chairs at even a cheaper price I decided to cancel the order for the tacle set pieces.

But I had also ordered a cover for this set which jcpenny online stated was no longer available but keep in mind it was available the night prior when the order was placed. Nancy and Barb (Barbara) out of Pittsburgh, PA. Stated their was nothing they could do for me to get this cover other they watching the website to see if I could catch when it is put back as available-who has that kind of time.

Bottom line is that they were not open to even trying and now I can not get that cover so I know it may not be much but this is a lost sale and keep in mind that if the topic of jcpenny comes up in conversation with friends and co-workers this lack of a sense to try and help the customer can be discussed. I just hate that I am out of a product that I had less than 24hours ago that I really wanted. Thank you for your time and have a nice day.

60

I had one JCP button that said it was already used and I had 2 $5.00 buttons that were winners and said I'd receive the certificate in 48 hrs. It's been 6 or 7 days and I've gotten nothing. If you ask me which ones they were, I don't know exactly, because I've put them all together, but I did save them. I just don't know the exact codes for those 3 that didn't work.

I've already submitted my complaint, but I just wanted to add one more thing. If you validate my 3 buttons, or whatever you do to make this right, your certificates expire on the Jan. 1st and for people like me who have had a recent problem with your buttons, I feel that you should extend the expiration date.

I would've contacted you sooner about this, but it took me a little while to find out exactly where and who to send the complaint to. Thanks.

20

I placed an order on Dec 12, 2012. I received an email telling me that my order would be available to be picked up at the JC Penny on Davis Hwy in 4-7 business days. I called 7 business later to make sure it was in fact there, they had no record of the order. They gave me a 1800 to call where the lady I spoke with informed me the item I purchased was on back order.

This is a Christmas gift that would not even be here for Christmas! I never received an email, phone call, nothing letting me know it was on back order...nor did it tell me when I placed the order that this was the case. The ONLY email I received told me I could pick up my order in 4-7 business days!

I think it's ridiculous a courtesy email was not even sent, and the lady I spoke with told me the item was on back order when I ordered it...but that is NOT what it showed online..cleArly I got an email stating I could pick it up at the store in 4-7 days! So now I am left with no gift, and I was not even going to get a phone call?

I will NEVER purchase anything in store or online again...that is NOT how you do business and I will make sure everyone I know realized just how little you value your customers, cause had I not called...I would have showed up to pick a gift up that wasn't even there!

60

On Oct 13th I went into the eye care center (Concord,NC) for glasses, the person working behind the desk was not very professionel looking as she had very low cut blouse and very unprofessional accessories, once I saw the Lady I had second thoughts immediately but trusting JC Penny's I continued my business, the lady did not appear to want to hear any questions or comments that I had, once I met the Docter, which was a plus in the experience being very neat/clean and professionally dressed, I felt better.

The Customer Service/Desk person never explained that the glasses would be 2 weeks coming back,after not hearing from anyone for 1 and 1 hafe weeks I went back to the optical center , I was greeted by a man that had 3 earrings down both ears, tattoos around both wrist and he explained the glasses should be back within a couple days and I walked away with that in mind , I later called and was told by the first person that answered they were not back, the lady then got on the phone saying the glasses were there but the quality wasn't first class and they were sending the glasses back to the lab because they would not accept anything but first glass quality,which would possibly be another 2 weeks and with the recent storms could be longer.

I have a very hard time seeing after dark and my commute to and from work, once the time rolls back , puts me driving in the dark both to and from work. I , to say the least , have been very disappointed with this experience, I sent my husband to the store to pick my glasses up and my percription, the glasses lenses were not in them anylonger, the lenses that were in them when I dropped them off, I could have used them for my safety as my vision is very blurry in dark and rain.

I am and was very surprised at the choices for professional representation that someone choose to represent your optical department and don't think your business will be helped with this kind of representation. Please know that I have been a loyal customer of Penny's for many years but this really surprised me, If I walked into another business, especially a health care business, with the representation that I saw I would walk away, I didn't in this case because I was in JC Penny's.

60

I have 4 buttons and inputted them - got the response from 2 of them that the numbers had already been used. The other 2 were accepted and I never received an email telling me whether I won or lost. What a terrible promotion!!! Better to just sent out coupons like the past. In addition, just button signs as holiday decorations in the store were not festive at all. JCP is very disappointing this year.

The numbers are:
tw5b2st
d2fjuyc
e4sfhff
cyh5ezy

On December 19, 2012, I was shopping at JC Penny in gretna Louisiana at the Oakwood Mall. The cashier gave me a total of six buttons at different registers at different times. On Thursday, December 20, 2012 I tried to enter the buttons codes. It said button code had been used . I entered another button code, it said that button code was used also.

I then entered another, and another until all six had been entered. All six button had been used before, I thought this must be reported. Why did the cashiers at Penny Oakwood mall give me used button. I need to call the customer service and report this time of action.

I entered two codes off of my button today & got buttons had been used. I called the 1880 # & they referred me to a website picked the complaint portion as i am really teed off. I've been a customer for ten years or so & never participated in any of these silly promotions just for this reason. the button #'s areubbtanz & gekfdjh. let me know what to do?

I have about 23 buttons that are not working. I have done alot of Christmas shopping just for the fun of trying to win something on this promotion and because Ellen was a part of this. However I an getting invalid code or already been used when I submit the code ##'s. This has been very disappointing and might I say looks like a scam as far as pennys is concerned.

I love shopping at jc penny for I have always been able to find what I want. But to have a promotion that is turning out to be a scam is not cool I have heard this complaint from other customers in the store so I know it just isn't me. Please tell me what I should do with 23 buttons that don't work.

40

December 2012 button promotion. I used a button certificate that was 5.00$ YES $5.00 I was fired. In almost 7 years of employment I had never been written up or talked to or warned about bad behavior or something I had done, I had a great employee record. I took great pride in my job if I had known I could not use this certificate I wouldn't have messed up 7 years of employment for YES again $5.00 But for $ 5.00 I was fired from JCPENNEY. When I found out employees or family members could not use them, I was told don't worry it was a mistake you have never been in trouble, you have a good work history(I was told this by a manager and security which I am sure is because they also thought the company wouldn't be so harsh. But an assistant supervisor fired me 3 weeks later in the middle of my shift. I am so hurt that JCPENNY could be so horrible. 100's of people were let go for the button promotion so obviously I wasn't the only one who didn't know. Like other company's maybe the sheet that went with the buttons could have said no participation by employees or family members instead of having to search something like that out. Like it was a secret.

40

I ordered glasses on a promo at JCpennys at my local mall in Kennnewick WA 99336 10-26-2012. When notified of arrival I sent my husband to pick up I was sick that night. I immediately did not like. Both frame and no-line bifocal I was totaly nausiated sick. I went in on Monday morn. 11-12-2012. I simply told the same sales lady I did not want or like. She insisted I needed to continue with glasses and give a chance I agreed. We spoke of a comment my husband made to reference they were old lady glasses and I mentioned that that was exatctly what my daughter had instructed me not to get. I returned with my daughter the following week and I had to plea with another sales lady to please allow me to change the glasses.

My daughter was standing behind her looking at frames and noties what was on thier computer screen and said you need to see all these nasty notes which were lies. All fabricated lies. Laurie had put that I returned on Mon. 11-12-2012 ackting Irrate, and said that my husband and daughter were opinionated and other detailes that were exaturated. We were shocked and asked for the notes but Melody said it was thier propery we mentioned Hipa laws and she still maintained we needed upper approval. We continued to select another frame and this time bi-focal lenses I ended up having to buy a protection plan and extra for lenses so they would not look like magnifiers. I had no money my daughter paid the differance.

So I picked up new pair yesterday 11-27-12 frame color is darker than display and bifocal part is not even on lenses. one is centered the other begins at the inner part of frame. I do not even want to go speak with these ladys any more. Laurie made me feel dirty when she got a new hand tissue to remove a papertowel I used to dry my hands after washing hands to remove my contact lenses. This may seem petty to you but the treatment has left quite a sour taste in my mouth. And who ever grinds lenses should not have OKed then if not exactly the same.

40

I called your customer service center in regards to my balance. I had paid off my balance for the month of September and was not expecting a bill. I received a bill on the fourth of November for not paying all of my bill for September. When I called to ask why I was receiving a bill the representative said that I had made purchases in September that was not paid in my previous payment of my card. I asked repeatedly why those purchases, which were within the billing cycle of September, were not added into my bill he could not answer my question.

I had been charged interest for something that would have been paid for if it had been on my previous bill. I asked him again why I did not receive a correct bill, all he said was that his computer told me that my card was not paid off. I asked him then if I could pay the balance for the items I had purchased and not pay the interest, due to the fact that because the charge was not on my previous statement I did not believe I should have to pay it, he refused and said that he would not authorize that.

I asked him to let me speak to his manager, he once again refused. After doing so I hung up, realizing that I would not get anywhere with the person I was calling or receive any explanation as to why my bill didn't include the purchases that I made. I love JcPenney and have bought clothes there for years. The quality has always been good and I've never had a problem with any representatives or the staff until now. I was on the phone for nearly an hour trying to get answers to my questions and find out what I needed to pay. The customer service was very poor and he was rude when I tried to ask him what had happened. This does effect how I will shop in the future. Because if I were to run into this problem again, I do not want to be on the phone for nearly an hour only to become frustrated and upset because of someone refusing to assist me or even listen to what I have to say.

20

I am an 18 year old male. My girlfriends mother, myself and her daughter we out trying to figure out what kind of clothes for her mother (my girlfriends mother) to wear. We were in an unlabeled (didn't say men or women on it) dressing room. After about 10 minutes of being in there, one of the employees, a woman, came in and rudly told me to get out because I wasn't supposed to be in there. There was no sign and there was nobody else in the dressing rooms. I was floored and she should be fired, especially for how she handled it.

40

I was happy to see the roller shades that I had been considering on sale for Cyber Monday. Instead of being $12 apiece for 3 shades , they were $8 apiece and free shipping. I attempted to order them from Sunday afternoon until Monday night. I was never able to place the order, apparently because of how busy your connection was. When I attempted again Tues. morning, I could get straight through, but they were no longer on sale. When I contacted your representative by phone, she said that they were no longer honoring the prices or free shipping. She said that I should have called to place my order on Monday.

40

I have been buying Jcpenney arizona jeans here for a longtime and in the last year they have changed. They are too tight. The bootcut aren't bootcut. I have to cut them to fit around my boots. They are all pretty much slim fit. I am very dissatisfied and will no longer shop Jcpenney if they aren't correct soon.

20

I was shopping in a JCPenney store the other day with my young daughter when I heard a song playing "stone hard machine guns, fire at the ones who run. Fire away, fire away..." Were the lyrics. The next song had the following lyrics "dance until I'm not drunk anymore" I am very upset that those particular songs were being played at a 'family' store. Especially with everything that has recently happened in Sandy Hook. I will absolutely not be shopping at any JCPenney stores, due to the type of music being played.

60

About a month ago I bought a rug and used my JC penny rewads of 10.00. The rug was to small, so I went back to the store to get a larger one. The sales girl only gave me credit for the price I ended up paying after my rewards were taken off. She said my rewards were just gone. Today I took my granddaughter to buy her a coat. Number 1, I couldn[t believe how the coats are priced. They were a 125.00 with 40% off. What a rip off. To add insult to injury I had a 19.09 credit on a gift card.

Also you were supposed to get 15% off, if you used your JC Penny credit card. I used the card and the sales girl said I could either use the 19.09 gift card or take the 15% off. But not do both. I can tell you JC Penny has just lost a good customer. Your prices used to be so good and the quality was great. I believe JC will go down the tubes like so many stores are doing now. It is no loner a place to shop where you get quality for a good price.

40

Unable to claim small gifts won by entering gift button codes. I think if you won and they have notified you by mail they should then follow up by sending you a gift coupon thur the winner's e-mail. Many people I've talked with feel the same way that this gift promotion by JCPenney is way too confusing.. I shopped more often than usual at JC Penney in order to receive the little buttons but have decided that I will no longer shop at JCPenney unless absolutely necessary. I have collected alot of buttons in the last week or so that will not go through. I did discover that the bad buttons all have an s in the code number. Those button codes are yrszss4 wwss93q 8saraqr 01szea2 ixssnrr fwssp1a f4ssp1d z1sze93 c4szs3n asss9s1. As far as everyone who has waited on me everyone has been very nice and very helpful. If there is anything I can do with these buttons I would like to know what to do. I do like the new look of the store but I would like the plus size girls department to come back.

Have feedback for J.C. Penney?

Thanks for your feedback!

Sorry. Please try again later!