Macy's Customer Service
Rated 1.91 of 5 Stars
Based on 164 Complaints

Contact Macy's Corporate

Toll free phone number: 513-579-7000

Macy’s Department Store calls itself “one of the nation’s premier omnichannel retailers”. The number of stores reported in April 2015 was 900 in 45 states primarily under the names Macy’s and Bloomingdale. Stores are located in Guam and Puerto Rico. In fiscal year 2014 sales were US 28 billion and employees numbering 166,000. Macy’s is traded on the NYSE:M.

If you need to contact Macy’s for customer service 24/7 your first call is to 1-800-BUY-MACY (1-800-289-6229). You may also call 513-398-5221 for Credit and Customer Service. If you would like to reach Macy’s CEO, Terry J. Lundgren by postal mail use address, Macy’s Corporate Headquarters, 151 West 34th St., New York, NY 10001.

The New York corporate phone number is 214-494-3000. The website lists many department addresses/phone numbers on one contact page. Sometimes called America’s department store, Macy’s colorful history began in 1858 as a small dry goods store specializing in fancy products. First day sales were $11.06 and first year gross sales were $85,000. Prior to being called Macy’s the chain was known as Federated Department Stores.

A Macy’s operates in Dubia under unique business management. Macy’s presence in social media includes Facebook, and Twitter. The annual Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade is tradition in many US households.


Experienced poor service? File a complaint here!

Macy's Contact Information

Report complaints to corporate and get satisfaction

  • Macy's headquarters address

    • 7 West 7th Street
    • Cincinnati
    • OH 45202
    • United States
  • Company website

  • 1-800 phone number

    513-579-7000
  • Better Business Bureau rating

    A+

  • Customer service hours

    24 hours a day

Browse reviews of other Department Stores



  • Walmart
    (666 reviews)
    39.60960960961
  • Sears
    (352 reviews)
    39.715909090909
  • Target
    (288 reviews)
    40.069444444444
  • J.C. Penney
    (303 reviews)
    39.405940594059
  • Costco
    (130 reviews)
    42.153846153846
  • HEB
    (29 reviews)
    32.413793103448

Top Macy's Complaints

Browse more than 164 reviews submitted so far

40

I am frustrated and disappointed. We ordered on thanksgiving evening 11/24/16 order number 1305910011, a silver Kitchenaid 5qt professional stand mixer (Kv25gox) in front of my mother in law for her one Christmas wish item she really wanted. It was one sale for $199.99 discounted down from originally over $400. She is the matriarch of our family and does all the cooking and baking every Sunday we get together for family meals including holidays. She's the best cook and baker ever and does so much if it is why she felt she needed a higher powered and tech mixer to make things easier on her prep, cook and bake times.

The online site while ordering wouldn't accept the 20% discount code as we tried multiple times for this item. So as to not miss out, we ordered it at the full sale price of $199.99 plus tax totaling $211.99. My mom in law was ecstatic! I received the email confirmation from macys.com and they deducted full payment from my mastercard. Two days later on Sat morning between 7:30 and 8:00 EST I decided to call Macy's to ask a rep for help about adding on the 20% discount to my already existing order because i had received in my email Friday and now Saturday, Macy's promos in my email of sales going on which again stated the 20% off of most online orders.

When i got the rep he stated he didn't see my order and it was cancelled! Surely this couldn't be true when i have email confirmation of my payment for this item! 15+ minutes later, with the rep constantly putting me on hold and saying nothing as he tried to figure things out I asked to speak to a manager and upon transferring me to that different department we were disconnected. I has to call back and the new rep said they did see my order but again it was cancelled because there weren't enough to fill the request. I asked for a manager because this still is not making sense...they took my money and sent a confirmation of my order, it's two days later.

All the other companies that also had this same exact item on sale for the same price such as target and best buy are also now sold out when I could have ordered from them to start off with and not be dealing with this nightmare! I asked this rep what compensated he could offer for my inconvenience and he offered $20 gift card but I told him this was unacceptable and I wanted a manger.

He put a specialist on the phone whom I was disappointed in how she handled this delicate matter. She explained there weren't enough of this item from Kitchenaid to fill my order, the computer shouldn't have accepted but did, she would refund the money, there's a back order on this item due in the 1st week of December and that I would have to keep calling Macys.con back to check on availability and she would put a note in my file to honor original sales price with the reflected 20% online discount on it.

I asked her why should I as the customer who's already placed a confirmed order, and Macys cancelled without notifying me, (if it wasn't for me calling this morning to see if a rep could help add on the 20% discount, I wouldn't have found out my order was cancelled), be the one calling calling and, hoping and guessing each day of the first week of December to see if an item I've already been promised is back in stock. She tells me she's too busy, it's too many other customers they have to answer calls for, what if she forgets or it goes to my voicemail when she calls then I would still have to call Macy's back anyways right.

I'm appalled at her lack of concern for my frustration. After asking her a few more time how she would guarantee thus item is coming in that week and that I would be one of the first to get one due to Macys error she still didn't make me feel reassured and said the best she could say is call Dec 5. Really Macy's? When i told here the rep that transferred me to here offered a $20 gift card for consolation she said she could not and he should not have, all she could do if I'm able to replace an order on the 5th or whenever they may or may not receive this back order is receive free expedited shipping guaranteeing it will come before Xmas..unacceptable.

So I'm writing now to see is there anyone else who can show some empathy and endure a call to me when the item becomes available again( if ever) so I'm not wasting my valuable time as a customer playing the guessing as to "did it arrive today" when clearly you guys should being calling me once you see on your end that it has arrived!! Also how do you not honor a gift card offer that one if your reps already offered? Macy's is not losing money by giving this gift card, which i felt was not enough, to show empathy to a customer and retain their business. Jessica said an email if the cancelled product was sent to me at 9:03.

I told her I hadn't seen it before I called and had no knowledge that I wasn't getting the product. Mind you this shows how long I've been on the phone with them arguing about this situation cause I originally called before 8am. What can be done to guarantee I get this item? No other companies now have it for me to rebuy it from them because I lost out on those options when I ordered from you. My email is elizabethkaye1@hotmail.com. Thanks for your time.

20

I spent 30 minutes on the phone with customer service trying to use my Macy's money. She did not understand what I was talking about. I don't know how many times I explained to her. She kept putting me on hold. She tried to place the order but still couldn't figure out the Macy's money. I ended up placing the order myself and using my Macy's charge I will go into the store and take care of the Macy's money myself. I am sorry to say this but you need to have English speaking agents. They are difficult to understand and have to spend too much time explaining. This has happened more than once. Spending 30 minutes is unacceptable especially with no resolve.

40

I bought Glenmore 320 three count 6-pic icing sheet set navy for $29.58, the worst set ever bought that bled thru to my mattress and pillows. It got into my nails and pajamas and turned everything purple. This is not a good set and should be discontinued. I tried to take it back but they need the wrapping it came in so I couldn't take it back, with the receipt. What a waste of time and money. Please don't buy.

60

I have furnished my entire house with Macy's furniture and although they claim to have great quality and service my experience has been the complete opposite. My mattress is not even 6 months old and it is already defected. I spoke to a supervisor who was very rude and was not helpful. Although this mattress is clearly defective on their part the most they can do is charge me to collect their poor quality mattress in order to swap it, and that was him trying to "help" me. To charge me for their poor quality products. I will no longer be purchasing anything from Macy's, you're better off shopping at a thrift shop.

40

Dear Macy's headquarters. I just received today, September 27, 2016, an advertising Clinique flyer with a gift offer. However, the Gift Offer is stated being valid Friday, September 23, 2016 through Monday, September 26, 2016 which is the weekend just past. Not sure how I'm supposed to take advantage of this offer if the mailer arrives late? Kind of disappointed I have missed this offer and in Macy's advertising department.

60

I love shopping at Macy's and using my star pass. Because of the new system whereby we cannot use our star pass down stairs at the clearance department made my shopping experience not encouraging. I think that system should be revised because not everyone can shop regular price items.

20

I have a gift card that is old and never used. I went to use it and was told that the card was invalid. I was told by sales rep it would need to get it re-issued. I went the the office and no one came to the door. I went back to the store and spoke to another sales rep and she suggested to call customer service. I did. Customer service rep said the number in the card is invalid and not in the system. So how can I get this card re-issued? Also the receipt is on wax paper and is fading. The irony is that Macy's gift cards don't expire. But I am yet to cash it and/or spend it because of all the run around that I've encountered.

20

It was suggested by an e-mail I sent to Macy's customer service that I contact customer service again about a removing an old credit card number that was attached to my account. Subsequently customer service deleted my current account and then kept me on the phone for almost an hour trying to get the information back in again. Turned it over to technical support which insisted I couldn't input in the information because my browser was at fault. I never asked them to cancel my card just to remove the old card number that they kept insisting was linked to my new number. I ended up cutting up my current card and now you have lost me as a customer after many, many years. I will never shop at Macy's ever again.

20

My bill was late in July and I asked as a courtesy that Macy take the late fee off the bill. They did, or so I thought. Now, I got a bill with a bunch of late fees and interest charges. My bill went from 90 bucks (for years) to 142. I love Macy's, but I am closing my credit card and will not be back. The amount of time that I have spent on the phone trying to figure this out is crazy. I keep getting a person that speaks another language and is very hard to understand. I am respectful and patient as she puts me on hold numerous times for over 30 minutes. I have been a Macy customer for years and I enjoy the store, but it is too stressful to deal with this anymore! It is a shame that you outsource your customer service lines to people that cannot help when you need it. So unfortunate.

40

The date of my visit was Sept 5, 2016 (Labor Day). I was shopping in the Women's Dept. on the lower level. As I had numerous items in My hands, I asked if I could Hang them on a rack until I went into a fitting room. Of course, they were understaffed, which caused the salesgirl to roll her eyes at me and give me attitude. I am handicapped(which I mentioned to her). So I went into the textile dept. and asked the saleswoman there to call a manager. The manager was Raul. I was disappointed that he was not helping his employees.

Okay, so then I went into the fitting rooms and it looked like a tornado had struck. The handicapped room had an Out of Order sign on it. I opened the door and it was piled high with clothing. I went to Raul and asked him if he had seen the fitting rooms( he had not) and then asked him if he knew the handicapped room was closed. He said that a child had an accident in there. I asked him, with all those clothes in there? Disgusting.

Then I went to the children's dept. and found two outfits but the check out line was 10 people deep ( I counted). Looked around for another register and came upon the same saleswoman when I asked for a manager, she approached me, and she asked if the manager helped me. She then went out of her way to ring my sales. Her name is Razi, a 18 year employee of Fields and Macy's, from the bedding dept. She is a gem.

All of this made me wonder if this is a store that Macy's is closing. I shop at the OakBrook store and they make me feel that they are glad I am shopping with them. The fitting rooms are never disaster zones. The salespeople approach me and ask if they can hold my clothes. Very sad that Woodfield has tarnished Field's reputation so badly.

40

I need a refund as soon as possible for $27.99 on the order number 1221497742. Also, demanding the better customer service support from Macy’s. I ordered two golf shorts 8/5/2016. Got the email to notified me that order had been shipped, but there was no tracking number on the email. I was waiting for awhile and I did not receive any golf shorts. I have to file a complaint on the customer service persons. I called and talked to 5 customers service persons from Macy and spent hours to talk to them (you should know the names of those by tracing back to the order number 1221497742 every time I made a call to them).

I get hung up many times by Macy's customer service person who cannot resolve the issue and when I asked to talk to the supervisor, they hang up the phone on me. I got a partial refund for $27.99 back to my checking account, but another $27.99 has not being refunded. Therefore, I call again today 8/24/2016 and asking for a customer service supervisor (Alexandra) who helped me to process the refund of $27.99 to deposit back to my account. She said that she will process it, and I am waiting patiently to see it happen soon.

I am a good online and in-store customer for Macy. My wife and I love Macy products and we bought many of them already. Hopefully, will do it again. I hope your company will train those customer service persons who I talked to. I really feel frustrated because they did not help me and just wasted my time.

40

There was recently an issue with a refund applied to the incorrect account. They were excellent at making sure the error was taken care of in a timely manor I am very happy with there customer service skills.

40

I place an online order with Macy's 8/5 buy one pair of shoes and get the 2nd pair free. When placed the order it did not give me a free pair of shoes so I call Macy's customer service and told John (representative for Macy's) my order is wrong because I didn't get my free pair of shoes. John said that his manager told him he would need to cancel the order and redo the order. John told me he would give me a call back in 2 hours. Three hours has pass and no call back so I called back and ask to speak with John manager and told him this is poor customer service and I didn't get a call back.

The manager said that they did not cancel the order and the shoes that I brought did qualify for a free pair of shoes you had to buy the same style of shoes. I told John manger that isn't what the sale paper or the internet stated I had two pair of shoes name XOXO Sybil, also the other 2 pair of shoes I had was the same price 44.99. I brought 4 pairs of shoes a total of 168.35 and I know I should have at least got a buy one get one free pair of shoes are even give an discount on the shoes. I have been a long time shopper with Macy's and this was not an good experience and got rip off. I try to upload the document but it would not upload so I had to paste the information in.

20

I submitted a rebate form to Macy's Rebate Center in May, 2016. I received notice that my rebate request had been received and processed. Then, NOTHING. I tracked the rebate and it said the rebate had been approved. I contacted the rebate center by phone and the agent was so hard to understand I finally had to hang up. I tried contacting the chat line on the internet and only got promises that the check would be sent. The most recent contact indicated the check was issued on May 26 and I would be receiving it in the form of a post card, but give it an additional 15 days to arrive.

When I asked the agent (Penson R,) who I could contact that monitors the rebate center, the agent said "not authorized the give that information". And then, Penson R. ended the chat/cut me off. How rude. Macy's should be ashamed of the awful service they provide issuing rebate checks. The amount is not very much and I think the delaying tactics are to make me forget about the rebate. I am determined to get some results just because the customer care Macy's offers is so dismal and dishonest.

40

I am one of your most valuable customers, whereas even holding a Macy's credit card. I was at the Macy's in Oakbrook, Illinois in the shoe department. I had an excellent sales lady, however, she was swamped with other customers. So I asked one sales lady if she could get another shoe for me and she stated NO, I had to go to the lady who was waiting on me. So, I over looked that and went back to the sales lady who was attentive to my needs. But at the end of me making my choices of shoes, I noticed one of the shoes I needed a larger size.

Of course the lady who was helping me was with other customers, and attempting to ring some out too. So, another sales person was standing there doing nothing and I asked if she could get the shoe for me, and she stated NO you have to deal with the person who was helping you. I told her that was ludicrous because the lady who was helping me was swamped with customers and I could not see why I had to wait and she was doing nothing. I was informed it is a commission thing. Well, I told them I don't think Mr. Macy's would like that because this method they have adapted will stop customers from coming to the store. I told them I am spending money and should not have to be apart of their commission game.

This is very upsetting and normally when incidents like this happen I leave without buying anything and never shop the store again. But the lady who was helping me was so polite and seemed to working so hard I decided to purchase the shoes. No to return to the store I am not sure. I shop at all the high end stores because of the service that I receive, because I am a firm believer that when I spend my money I should be treated accordingly. Please look into this and have this policy changed, and make sure the staff know they are to help any client who needs help regardless if they receive commission or not.

40

On July 20th I made a purchase at Macys online and when trying to pay my card was rejected. I called the people at Chase bank and immediately got the problem solved and they approved the order and the order was processed by Macys. I noted to Macys this was a gift. I wanted to surprise my wife but the same night Macys fraud department left a message on my phone and then actually made another call and my wife answered. So goes the surprise. My concern is that Macy's fraud dept shouldn't even have been involved period.

I got the order approved through my bank so My bank knew it was ME making the order or THEY wouldn't have approved it. So where does Macys fraud dept come into play. They had bank approval to process the order so Chase knew it was a proper order and funds to Macys had been approved for the order. I then the next day called the Macys fraud dept and got some foreigner on the phone that I couldn't understand very well and got the old run around for why they had to act on this order...which was pure BS. Their apology isn't enough in this case. They need to keep out of others business when others get the problems taken care of without their help. What a surprise for my wife.

20

In June 2015 I purchased a bathing suit for my wife and before the summer was over the bathing suit had deteriorated and I would like reimbursement of the $75.00 I spent on my Macy's credit card I used to purchase it. My wife did not overuse the bathing suit and she hardly used it all and the suit never made it out of one whole summer. We do not know the brand of the bathing suit and she has since thrown the suit away and went to a competitor for another this year. Bathing suits especially from Macy's should last more than one brief summer. I enjoy Macy's as well as my wife and do intent on continuing to shop there, however, this issue really did upset us as we never had this type of problem before.

20

Purchased a pair of Charter Club earrings 6 months ago, can't wear because the stem is too short. Asked for refund. The manager and the salesclerk belittled me by going around the counter and having a private conference and then the snooty associate and the very rude manager said, can't refund because six months ago. I can't wear the rings and I still have them on them on the sales package. This is not the head manager, it's the assistant manager and he needs counseling.

I have had my account longer than he and she have been employed by Macy's. I told him, put a sign up and state, if purchased more than 6 months, no returns. He walked. I used no profanity because I was talking to an idiot and the clerk gave such a nasty look. I told both of them, I shall report you to the head office because you are not professional at all. If you need a picture of the ring, I'll take a picture with my tablet and send to you, the stem is just too short. In all of my years with Macy's I have never, never received such rudeness and this is not a good thing for Macy's.

20

I don't even want to rate Macy's. I placed an online order from your company and it was delivered UPS yesterday. The shoes that were delivered to me obviously had been worn. The shoes were Unlimited, Kenneth Cole Production. Never in my life have I ever been to disappointed. I order these from one of your advertisement pop-ups from Facebook. As I mentioned before these looked as though that had been worn. The white soles on the shoes were dirty with marks, the bottoms of the shoes indicated the wear as well as, along with the discolored worn strings that were in the shoes. I hope that this is not one of advertising scams via Facebook. I will never visit or ever order another item from your company. I will not waste my time to upload a picture to this response, because you are getting these shoes back and you can view them at your leisure.

20

My billing due on April 26, 2016 was delivered in the mail on Saturday May 1st, 2016. Called in the payment today and they would not reverse the late charge because I had another late charge waived because when they changed to American Express the payment was credited to the wrong account. I have had the account for twenty one years, and they kept me on hold twice for 20 minutes and hung up, the third time I called they would not let me speak to a supervisor and asked me if I was sure I wanted to close it out. I did can't go through this again, even though I used to like to shop there.

20

I am 73 years old and have lived in this area over 60 years. This Macy's escalator is broken and has not worked for several weeks. Now the elevator is also broken for several weeks and the only way to get to the second floor, have to walk to the back of the store to take the freight elevator. This elevator is funky and dirty b I am unable to walk on the escalator steps to the second floor because I don't want to fall on the slippery steps.

Macy's seems to not care about the customers who regularly shop at this store as well as the. Oasis Sr Citizen Center located in this store. Your management doesn't care about us since we are blacks and Latinos. You guys sure wouldn't let this problem linger in a white neighborhood. I am a preferred shopper over the years at Macy's and at this time prefer to cease giving you my business. You are making money off of us to only provide lousy service to us.

60

Last week on a visit to Tampa I was asked by my Daughter to purchase a Cinique product under the gift promotion. I went to Macy's University Mall counter who had the gift program running spend $27 to obtain gift I requested the moisture surge product for my daughter and after purchase notice my bill was $52 and asked if this was correct I was informed by the assistant that it was and there was an upgrade to the gift if I spent $55 I would qualify. I did this with purchase of the face soap which I knew she used. On returning home she was horrified at the costs the assistant had given me a larger size of the original product $52 instead of the $39 size that would have still qualified for the gift and also negating even contemplating the up grade. I feel this was underhanded exploitation.

20

March 5, 2016, I forgot my password so tried to reset. Since the response to the verification question could be written in a number of different ways, I ended up being locked out of my account. When I contacted customer service to get it unlocked, the first representative told me he was unable to either send me a link to reset or send me my old password and told me it would be about two weeks before it could be reset. A second representative verified internal problems. This is not a new experience with the Macy's on line account technology and is unacceptable. Other entities are able to immediately send a link to reset a password. Why is Macy's unable to do so?

20

I purchased a dining set in October 2015. The side of the table has a scratch/scrape on the side. My granddaughter sent an email along with the receipt/date of purchase/and a image of the scratch. This was sent at least four times and no one acknowledged it. I wanted to know what can be used to cover this scratch/scrape. I'm at work at the moment and don't have the above receptor a photo of the image with me. I wanted to know what can be used to conceal the scratch; if anything. It was purchased in good faith and I would like a response in good faith also.

20

I placed an order online that was confirmed and waited patiently. Placed on the 17th. I waited until the 29th to inquire. I was treated rudely with ignorance towards my time and the supervisor added zero. There is no reason for her to have her job.she has absolutely no customer skills nor did she have a bit of empathy. She did not try to resolve the problem. If you have had a similar experience please let me know.

60

I was at Macy,s with my wife, at the Huntington Station, NY store, in the Walt Whitman Mall. I was there to buy a certain color men's dress shirt. After I found what I came for, my wife and I got on line at the cashier, near the men's dress shirts. There were 2 cashiers there, a man and a woman, we were taken by the man. The woman, who was at the other register seemed to be annoyed that I was asking our cashier about which discounts I should be getting. At one point, she gave me an extremely unpleasant look when I was asking about a discount if I use my Macy's credit card.

I have been buying at this Macy's for many many years and have never had any unpleasant employee before. Everyone who works has to be nice and kind with their clients, so why is this cashier excused from this? I believe I have every wright to ask anyone I am paying anything I want about the discounts or the price. By the way, this woman seemed very cold and somewhat bossy with her own customers. This took place around 5:29 pm

40

I have applied for my Macy's card (Account number - 6035-3400-0563-4064) on October 2015 from Mall Of America (Bloomington, MN) store. But before getting the actual card on my hand, I got a statement letter from Macy's, saying that I have an outstanding bill of $642 and I found that the entire amount was a fraudulent activity. I immediately spoke to customer care and they convinced me that they are going to investigate the entire thing and for that I have to fill up a form and I have to submit to them.

I got the form, filled and submitted. Till then nothing has happened from their side. On next month I got another statement asking for late fees. I again spoke to customer care and they waived off the late fees. They also confirmed me that they are going to block my number so that I won't get call from collection department. But everything was false statement and I am still getting collection calls. My credit history has been totally ruined. I am really pissed off by Macy's card and their customer care. I would not recommend anybody to have Macy's card.

40

I went to buy Shoes (two pairs) and when I asked the Customer Service person at the shoe department, i had to wait for her to stop talking to her co-worker. Finally, she asked me if she could help me. I told her what I wanted and in what size and she said, sit down, i will get them but continued to talk to her co-worker for about 10 minutes! finally , she went to the back and came back with only one pair because she couldn't find the other.

I tried it on and it was perfect but she said , it looks small, I replied, no, it fits fine. She repeated a couple of times that it didn't look like it was the right size. Frustrated, I said, I am taking this. She took the box and started to help me when another customer came and said, I am taking these and the other lady said you can help me. I felt insulted! I have never experience such a bad customer service at Macys before. I am very disappointed! this are the ticket number on the receipt.

Customers should be treated with respect. I didn't even had a chance to see a second pair because she was so busy in a personal conversation!

20

In December I purchased two bottles of juicy couture for a gift for my daughters. The did not like it so we returned them on December 30th. For the one I purchased a Light Blue set and for the another I purchased another scent of juicy couture that you did not have in the store but ordered for me.

When I received my bill I had a credit for the one juicy couture and a charge for the light blue. The other one the gentleman at the store was doing a one for one exchange but on my bill I did not get a credit but I did get a charge for the one I ordered. Instead of being a one for one exchange I did not get a credit and I got a charge. So now I am paying for 3 when I only purchased two. The customer service staff were rude and incompetent when I tried to have a conversation.

After about a half hour they got a supervisor on the line only to end up cutting me off when they transferred me. I am going to file deceptive billing practices in regards to this not because a mistake happened because they do and I understand that but because no one wants to listen to make it right.

60

I placed an order today and immediately got a "cancelled" notice. Order #: 1180633488. Order date: 01/28/2016. Something about fraud--so glad you are looking out for the consumer---however this has gapped every time i place an order. then i go through the 20 minute telephone hold--then you i have to listen to someone who can barely speak English and then the phone goes dead. If i actually do get to a person the standard mantra: "sorry sir, i can't divulge that information" and no--there is no one you can talk to--order cancelled.

I just want to throw money at you, but you do not have reasonably efficient customer sales process for placing orders. How you have manage to keep the doors open for more than a century is beyond belief--but hey--you all have nice parade! And i will bet you no one will respond to this complaint either.

80

Submitted Christmas rebates per directions. purchases were made within the required dates. Each rebate was initially denied as invalid due to the purchase date being entered incorrectly at the rebate center. I was not advised by the rebate center in any way. I discovered this error by checking on the rebate about 2 weeks later when i never heard anything at all. Two out of three rebates were adjusted. The third was not even researched. I have responded to the email and advised the purchase date was entered into their system incorrectly and referred to the tracking numbers of the rebates that were adjusted and checks were supposed to have been issued on.

This has been the most frustrating experience I have ever had with Macy's. I have never experienced anything like this in all the years I have shopped with Macy's. I strongly suggest they use a different rebate center the next time they do rebates. If this rebate center is part of Macy's they need to do some extensive retraining on some of their Customer Services Associates. I would like to complement Christie, Jack, & Eugenia on the rebates they worked. These three researched the issue and replied promptly with the solution. They were very good and represented Macy's well.

60

I bought a pair of sapphire earrings that after the purchase I was informed that I can pick them up on 1/31/16. I used my Macy's gift card. my plenti points and my Macy's card to pay for these earrings. Since I cant have them today, refund my purchase. The purchase could not be voided because I used my plenti points. I earned every single point on that Plenti card at that Macys. This happened today 1/22/16. The poor young girl behind the counter had no idea how to even ring the sale using my Plenti card. T

he manager, Sarah, came over to jewelry to explain to me that my gift card is tied up until the 31st, my plenti points are tied up, and that she couldn't let her earrings leave the store until the 31st. She can keep her earrings and Macy's can have my Macy card. The reason I had a gift card is because friends know its my favorite store. Thats over! The store Westfield Sarasota Square. Sarah tried to give me a $25 Macy Money. Why would I take that, she acted like she didn't even know what Plenti points were. I wouldn't take those earrings now if they were free. Macy's and I are no longer friends.

60

I bought a twin bed from your Eastland furniture center, Columbus, ohio this past Sat. salescheck #26236658, associate 71624701 who did explain there were no returns. We set it up last night and unfortunately there were several cracks in the sideboards. The reason I did not see this when I purchased it is that they were wrapped in heavy plastic and I could not see the cracks. I understand the "no return" policy but I do believe I should be credited dollars for the damage to this bed. It was the only one in the store. I do not give my phone # as I am hearing disabled and do not take calls. Thank you for your attention to this matter.

20

I ordered a blazer on line. Love it, fits perfect and looks great. My biggest disappointment is it reeks of perfume. I am allergic to most perfumes. They give me a terrible headache. There is no reason that the blazer should have perfume on it unless it was used by someone else or put on purposely. I am going to try airing out doors but if it doesn't work I will return it. The packing ID is 71392 503. I would try to exchange it but would be concerned that they would send me another one with perfume on it. Very unhappy about this.

40

Black Friday Sale had "$7.99" Crockpots with $12 rebate. So my sister and i gladly paid the $19.99 (two separate transactions) and submitted the rebate form. Nowhere on the form did it say there was a limit per person, so we just sent both receipts (hers cash, mine credit) And UPC's with one form. I received $12. I was told only limit of one per person. They need to state that, as it wasn't in the fine print, I read over it carefully, or I would have happily sent in two envelopes separate for us. Be very cautious when purchasing from Macy's offering "rebate" like sales.

20

I am upset that when shopping at the Chapel Hill Macy's which is due to close, I spent over $250.00 and was unable to earn any plenti points or Thanks for sharing. I used my Macy's card and I expected to receive Thanks for sharing and plenti points as that was the reason to sign up for both as an incentive for using my Macy Card. I was unable to return anything to take my business to another Macy's so I am asking for reconsideration on this as a loyal Macy's customer for over 15 years.

40

I have received a finance charge on my last two bills without an explanation. I always pay my monthly charge in full so there should be no finance charge. Today (1/11/16) when I tried to contact Macy's by telephone I found that they only have an automated phone system that continually routes you in an endless loop. To my knowledge there is no way to reach any customer service to remedy the issue.

20

My grandson went to the Macy's at Governor's Square Mall in Tallahassee, FL to get the security bar taken off jackets that I had given him and his brother for Christmas. He had the receipts with him. He was told that the items were not on the receipt and that their machine to take the security bar off was different and would not work on the security bar on the jackets. My daughter mailed the jackets to me from Tallahassee, FL. Upon receipt of the jackets, I took them back to The Falls in Miami where Mr. Thomas Meyer apologized for all of my inconveniences. He checked the receipt, took the security bar off, and sent the jackets back to my daughter in Tallahassee.I want to commend Mr. Meyer for his handling of the problem, however, I am throughly disappointed and upset that we had to go through the aggravation of this problem after we spent over $500 at Macy's buying Christmas gifts.

20

I bought my son jeans on line for Christmas. They were not the correct ones and I had to return them. I just paid my bill in full and mailed the payment Monday, January 4, 2016. When I went to return them I was not offered cash back, but a credit on my account or a gift card. I no longer shop Macy's is I can help it, due to the fact your coupons are worthless and your return policies. I now have to come up with another $ 83.36 to give to my son to replace his gift and have a gift card which will take me forever to use in your store, if I don't lose it first. I would like to have my money back. As it is now, I will be forced to spend a total of $166.72 at your store. This not fair. My husband is on a fixed income. You have now given me another reason to not step foot in your store. I love your store but your policies do keep me out of it. I have taken my business to Kohl's. Yes I know their quality is not up to yours, but I can live with their polices.

40

Macy's allowed my ex-wife to use my Macy's credit card card and take over the limit of $1500 to $6200. I filed 2 complaints and your fraud agents is still telling me I'm responsible for 2 years. I've been asking them not to allow her to use my card they but a security hold on it with only the card holder to use and still they allow her to use it. If I'm always recorded when I call why has this still been going on.

I have received 3 new cards I this time she was still able to use it. I never called to request a limit change , and Macy's should of never allowed a change without my permission please look into this case and contact me on this matter.

20

I ordered six items from the online store which were to be Christmas gifts for family. A delivery was made 2 days later - wow! Fast service. I opened the package - NOTHING I ordered was in it! Had the right packing slip with all the items I ordered listed, but I received four items I never ordered. I called the toll free number and was assured they would ship my order out right away and send a return label via email for the wrong items. Before hanging up, the rep said "Oh, wait - I see two of the items you ordered are unavailable" - the two most important items!! So I requested cancellation of the entire order, asked for a full refund to my PayPal account and the return label for the wrong items.

Several days later: still no return label, and no refund to my account. I called once again - different representative, of course. Confirmed my order number, etc. and very politely apologized and assured me my refund was in process. However, he could not generate a return label as I didn't have the order number or transit number for the incorrect items. How could I have those when the correct packing list for my order was provided - not the info for the items I didn't order. He said I could just take them to the nearest Macy's store and return them. I informed him I live nearly two hours from the nearest store and would not be in that area til probably next spring. I told him I would find someone going that way to return them.

On the 21st of December I STILL had no refund that I had been assured twice that I would be receiving! I was told it would take 7-10 business days to process and was PROMISED a refund would be in my PayPal account on Dec. 23rd. Of course, that didn't happen....soooo, today, December 28th I called once again. (Gave them benefit of the holiday time). I was told yet again it was in process. That was when I had enough - and told her I want the money in my PapPal Account TODAY, that I was very unhappy with Macy's service, and several other things - I won't bore you any longer with the details.

Lo and behold, I received an e-mail from PayPal within 10 minutes that my account had been credited! Now, why couldn't that have been done with the other two reps? I declined to participate in the survey - as I told the rep, she didn't want to know what I thought of Macys right then!

60

Several weeks before Christmas I ordered 2 white towel monogrammed in Silver for my son's fiancee. When they arrived the week before Christmas, even though the packing slip said white towel with silver monogram, they were ivory towels with a garish gold monogram so whomever filled the order did not take the time to do it correctly or just stuck something in the package and hoped it would work. They did get the monogram right but in the wrong towel color and wrong monogram color. I immediately called Macy's who apologized and said they would expedite my gift with the correct towels and I should get it on the 22nd. The sales rep guaranteed the package would be here by the 22nd and I has asked her several times to confirm.

She was very confident because she had checked to make sure the item was in stock and that Macy's would handle the expediated shipment. When the package had not arrived on the 24th, hours before our Christmas celebration was to begin, I was told by customer service that no shipment had occurred as the order could not be fulfilled . I was SHOCKED not only because they told me it would be fulfilled and my gift would arrive by Christmas when I spoke to them last week, BUT BECAUSE NO ONE called to tell me the shipment could not be fulfilled. That is a complete lack of customer service and customer care. When you call Macy's everyone has a foreign accent so it is hard to communicate with the sales reps. Three times I asked to speak with a manager.

First, I was disconnected, the 2nd time I was on hold for 22 minutes and the 2nd time, 15 minutes and I have yet to speak two a manager. The non-caring sales rep I first spoke to asked would you like us to refund your money. Really???? What about no Christmas package arriving as promised? I would have expected much more from Macy's. At this point I don't know how to return the wrong package and how do I at the last minute have a nice Christmas present for my son's fiancee? I would like better service and at least a professional response from Macy's as to how they let this happen.

40

I had called in to make a payment on my wife's card. The gentleman that answered said he couldn't tell me the payment amount but said if I guessed it he could confirm it. After I guessed it he informed me they didn't take cards over the phone. Then I asked to speak to his supervisor Cheryl # 9103553 answered the phone and went thru her speech. I asked to speak to her boss , she put me on hold for only a few minutes then came back and said he was in a meeting.

I told her I would hold, that's when she raised her voice and said ok fine the hung up. I will drive the 25 miles to store tomorrow and make the final payment on the card and close the account. And that will be the last time I will walk thru a Macy's door. If I can't make a payment then we have to pay a late fee. Then why don't you make it easier to make a damn payment and train your employees how to talk to customers ( the people who shop so they have a job. I'll let others know about my experience of trying to pay a bill.

20

On the 16th of Dec. I made an on-line purchase at Macy for $115 and received an email with $20 Macy money. I thought: YEAH! Not so fast. I have been unable to access the money either to use for another on-line purchase or to print it up. After I had so much trouble with trying to place the order I decide it would be better to print it and go to the store. It wouldn't give me the code.

I called Macy's customer service department twice this morning and have been on the computer for a good part of the day trying to redeem this. I'm making a complaint now because I'm past annoyed. After finally getting someone on the phone who asked me to hold on for a couple of minutes, I finally hung up after holding on for almost an hour.

The darn money expires on the 23rd. And probably6 by then the mini food processor that is on sale will no longer be. This is very poor customer service. I understand that they keep saying how busy they are. But guess what, so are there customers. Right now they don't even deserve the one star for such poor customer service.

40

I ordered a king size down comforter. Because of the size, I had it gift wrapped for $10.00. The wrapping job was disgraceful and it will have to be re-wrapped. I would like a credit for this service which brings Macy's down a few pegs in my eyes. Will have a hard time shopping at Macy's again.

40

12-19-15 Went with my fiancé to Macys today as he wanted to purchase a xmas gift for me. Selected a Michael Kors crystal pave bangle braclet. The retail ticket price was $125.00. On top of the display was a sale sign that said 50% off. Asked if it was on sale and clerk checked and said no full price $125.00. My fiance said was ok as we had six different coupons for Macys and could use one towards purchase. The clerk tried all of the coupons which were not expired and said none of them applied a discount.

I checked all of the coupons and read the exclusions and they did not indicate the Michael Kors was excluded on any of the coupons. I can see that all coupons might not be applicable but when you have six and can use NONE this is not acceptable. Why does Macy's print coupons that are not usable? Also why would all jewelry be on sale in the jewelry dept. EXCEPT Michael Kors? The coupons are false advertisement used to get customer's in the store but then they find out their worthless. Feel free to email me to resolve this negative customer experience with your store. I thought Macy's was better than this.

40

Tried to log on to my Macy's Profile. My password did not work. Locked me out. Ok fine-So I call Macy's Customer Service and after a very very long wait- get transferred to Tech support. The rep had such a thick foreign accent that I could not understand her. After multiple attempts explaining my problem with Log In; she told me the computer system for re-setting passwords was down and to call back in 48 hours. Are you kidding me? A system upgrade during Holiday Season- what IT moron would do this? So I guess I am going over to Amazon.com- they don't have problems like this. Very poor IT service from Macys. Very disappointed.

40

I have been trying to get my Macy's plenti point to work. every time I call customer service whatever they say there doing dose not work. I have called many times about this problem. My Macy's card won't link up with plenti points. I get the point but Macy will not allow me to use them when I check out. My Macy card is a different # online then the one I have. I have stated this many times.I've been to plenti many of times They can't seem to fix it. Either can Macy's.

Your customers service people are very rude and they don't even understand when I say my name. I can't understand them either. It very frustrating. I've spent two hours on the phone just today. Any there has been many more times. I use to like shopping at Macy and I shop a lot there but I may not any more because you customers service is so bad now.

20

I ordered a sweater at Macy's Online. The sweater is to big I want to return it but it came without a label. I called customer service and asked for a label to be emailed to me; the young man who I really could not understand his accent finally after many questions if I really wanted to return it said he would email me one. Next day no email I went through the process again with another young man I could barely understand; he said he would send the email. Still no email. It should not be this hard to return an item. Why is there no address on the website, why no return label with package?

40

In my last bill I received a past due amount $27.00. I immediately contact Macy's credit department to correct this problem. I always sent Macy's twice the amount own. My bank show the amount of $50.00 dollars paid and cashed as of 12/1/20015. The first person I talked too finally acknowledged the payment and ask for a $8.22 balance, I gave it to him. I asked for update and when the next payment was due. He said it was up to date but did not know when the next payment was due. This did not sound right. An hour later I called for clarification.

The next person first stated I own the whole amount. When explained I just paid, she acknowledged the payment of 8.22 was just paid. The $50.00 was mark paid by my bank who takes out the money from my account before sending the check ( registrar check). The check was received on 12/1. I asked to speak with a supervisor and was put on hold for 20 minutes, I finally hung up. My experience with Macy's has always been good. The two agents I talked too were not very honest and very confusing and cold hearted.

40

On Sunday 11-29-29 at 3:30pm I was at the Macy's Plaza Bonita store in San Diego, CA. I was standing in line at the check stand with my daughter to purchase a sterling silver necklace finished jewelry and I was the 2nd customer in line. After the female Hispanic clerk rang up the order of the customer in front of me, the clerk walked away from the register and told me, "someone else will help you". She then walked away from the checkout area. I was VERY UPSET because I was standing in line for 15 min. No one else came to help us. I then turned around and saw a female clerk standing next to a register and I asked, Could you help us please? and the clerk replied, "Yes". I walked up towards her and put the necklace on the counter and the clerk turned towards another customer and started to help that customer!

I got UPSET AGAIN and told my daughter, Nobody wants to help us. I got so angry and told the clerks, you people are rude. At this point a female clerk said out loud sarcastically, "Have a nice day sir, ha ha!!" The clerks were all laughing at me and my daughter! I called the Macy's corporate office and then the store 10 min later and complained to the Assistant Mgr. Maricela and told her what happened and she said, she will addressed the problem. WOW I was Shocked! she should have addressed the problem immediately to prevent any other problems with customers! No wonder the employees are RUDE to customers.

20

I would really like to speak to someone in Mr. Terry J. Lundgren's office about my complaint, the CEO of Macy's. My problem is with HR office in Manhasset, N.Y. I have tried to speak with her for several month s without getting through. First she is on the phone, then she is with a manager, then she is on a conference call, then the door is closed. I think I could speak to the president before I could speak with her first. I have been a Macy's customer for over 30 years and never have had to deal with this before. I would really like to speak to someone who can help me with this.

20

I placed an order through Macy's online (order no 1158975443) on 19th November, Stacy Adams Brayden Cap Toe Oxfords shoes size 8M using 15% discount in offer (SUPER). Later I realized I put in the wrong shoe size. So, I called in on 20th afternoon to Macy's customer service center. Before that, I checked online and the order was yet to be activated. I talked to a lady representative and explained the mix up with the shoe size and requested her to change the size to 8.5M. She said she took care of it and it would take 24 hours to show the updated info. Next day which is today, I get an email saying that part of my order is on the way. So, I got curious with the phrase "part of my order".

So, I go online and realized that the Macy's customer service representative has placed another order for size 8.5M instead of cancelling the original size 8M order. So, now size 8M order is in the transit while the new order of size 8.5M is in queue. To add injury to insult, the new order has been charged at the original price without the discount. So, I called in again. Now they tell me "we are so sorry, but there is nothing we can do. You can return the item once it is delivered and call us for refund." I must say this is the worst customer care experience I had in my entire life and there is no way am I going to do shopping from Macy's again. And I will make it my moral obligation to inform everyone I know about this horrendous experience.

20

The Macy's 1800-511-3207 phone number rings 2x then hangs up, if you do get through it says hold on for the next avail. person after waiting 5 min it hangs up. I finally got through and the person said let me put you on hold to check out the problem and she never came back to the phone. I was put on hold for over 10 min and then the phone disconnected! Macy's customer service if beyond terrible. I was shopping in your store and they said my credit card expired but they could send me a new one I did not see that you gave me a new acct number so when my e bill came it said -47.00. I did not get a bill for the new credit card number and they want to charge me 27.00 late fee and 8.00 interest fee. If Macy's sends me a new card it should be connected to my expired card don't you think? I do not think I should be charge a late fee since I did not know you open a new account for me that I did not know about.

40

I sent this to customersupport@macys.com: What "Document Center"? - I wasted precious time clicking the button above and then hunting around for some "important document". I followed your instructions: "•Sign in to your online account at https://www.macys.com/mymacyscard." [Nice typo, by the way.] Nothing to be found anywhere, in the Macy's account and the Department Stores National Bank (DSNB) website managed by Citibank, N.A. DSNB aka My Macy's Credit Card Account. Tell your marketing/customer retention department that I said Macy's sucks. Glad I paid off your predatory card, and I will keep it open just to help my excellent credit score.

40

I sent a check for total amount due of $601.33 (check #1995, PNC Bank) on 10/06/15. But the bank transaction showed Macy's requested to drew $60.33 instead on 10/8/15. And the most recent bill statement showed interest of $11.71 because you made mistake. I asked one of your representative today to get $11.71 interest forgiven with no avail. Therefore, I asked to close my account right then because I and my family won't shop at Macy's any more. If you are willing to lose a long time customer due to your mistake for meager $11.71. I will send a check for total amount including $11.71. interest of $602.94. I think other company might have excused me for $11.71 based on my track record. Unfortunately, You have my check somewhere and I lost the carbon copy of the check so that I can't prove it.

60

Getting a hold of anyone in customer service is impossible. I have been on the phone off and on for over 1-1/2 hours trying to get a person. I am currently holding for tech support for not being able to access my account online. Going on 20 minutes. Inexcusable for a company of this size really.

60

I received a $29.00 penalty for late payment of my last bill. Please note that I live in Canada. I just received notice of the charge today, November 9th. I have sent a money order today November 9th. The due date is November 12th to an address in Phoenix, Arizona. It takes 5 to 7 days for mail to reach there from here in Canada. No doubt that is why my last payment was considered late. Furthermore, you have sent me my bill via the Royal Mail in Great Britain. What is that all about. The date of billing was October 16th and I don't receive it until November 9th because you send a bill to me in Canada via Great Britain. That borders on complete incompetence. In short.

1. I want a cheque from Macy's for the $29.00 late fee.
2. I want an apology from Macy's administration
3. I want my account at Macy's canceled forthwith. Ac No 47-038-680-028-0

I will also call your 1-866-593-2543 number to register this complaint.

60

All I want is a Macys phone number where I can talk to a 'real live' person about my bill. I am not going to go all into what happened, but I think a 40 year Macys customer, with excellent credit, who has spend thousands and thousands of dollars should be granted this one request. After 7 phone calls and two days of calling, I got a women with a very heavy accent. Not sure if she helped me or not, plus she told me the birth date I gave her was wrong. I think I know my birthday! I have written to the president in Cincinnati and got a letter back from someone who said someone from Macys would look into my account. I called this woman on Nov 3, got voice mail; left a response and have not heard a peep from anyone. If this is really a Macy's account page, then please e-mail me...

60

I placed order #1150410521 on 10/28. The email I received from Macy's indicated the items would be delivered on November 5th. On November 5th I checked the status to find out the order was delivered by UPS, in which they made three attempts and returned the items back to Macy's. I live in a house with a gate, UPS should have left the package on my front porch, in which, has been done on the past with items I've purchased from Macy's. When I contacted Macy's to have the items returned I unfortunately was informed one of items was not available.

This is unacceptable. I purchased an item, I read the information carefully on the email sent to me regarding the date I was to relieve the item. It's not my fault the items were delivered earlier. Macy's should not include a delivery date for it is misleading. The customer service call center located in Asia is a joke and Macy's should be ashamed of themselves. Macy's agents cannot resolve problems and they have no critical thinking skills. Horrid and horrible! I would like all of the items I purchased resent to the Macy's on State Street or Michigan Avenue in Chicago for me to pick up. I don't want to be told an item is not available.

60

We brought a sofa from you in October and was trying to pay it off at a nearby Macy's. I tried to pay off the sofa, but the your Philippines customer service representative over the phone would not accept our payment, she said we had to pay our other bill first of 41.35 which was not due yet until nov20.She was rude and I couldn't understand her and she use a threaten tone with me that we had sign a contact. After 45 minutes finally called another person who would try to help . the reason I went into the store was the problems my husband was having on line paying our bill. He thought he was making payment on line for six months but it was going to our other account. then he called to find out that he had to call you every time and wait over 15 minutes to do this.its been a nightmare dealing with you on this. We have been a loyal customer to you, buying our Christmas ,daughter-in law register with their weddings, birthday and my new granddaughter gifts. My question to you is where is your FIVE star treatment and what does it matter.

60

To whom it may concern: On September 17, my credit union mailed a check for $2148 on my behalf to Macy’s to pay down my credit card balance and till date the payment hasn’t been applied. The check cleared on 9/28/15. On October 2nd, I faxed a copy of the cancel check to 1-866-903-7463 and was told they never received the cancel check. I faxed another copy again today November 5, and called after 1 hour and I was still told that the fax wasn't received; I should wait another 2 business days.

Meanwhile, I am getting harassing phone calls from Macy's telling me that I have outstanding payment. I am frustrated. Every time I call Macy's customer support, they tell me to wait one to two billing cycle, it’s been almost 2 months. They payment wasn't returned by Macy's and yet the payment wasn't applied. I just hope that this negligence on your part will not be reflected on my credit report. Please, I implore you to help resolve this issue as quickly as possible as I keep getting calls from Macys indicating that I haven’t made any payment and I do not want this to affect my credit as a late payment. I have good paying record and will not want this issue to ruin that.

40

Macy's is leaving Roseburg, OR. Hard to believe this mainstay of our community has decided to leave. I've supported this store, often paying more, to support Macy's. I don't buy my clothes online, so will now have drive 140 miles round trip to shop at Macy's. Our community is full of older adults who won't be able to make that round trip. You will lose many faithful customers. Please reconsider the closure of your Roseburg store!

60

Please don't close our Roseburg, Or Macy's. We all love Macy's and it's all we have. Please open in a new location and give this town some good news! I am furious that Macy's has made the decision to close the Roseburg store. I understand that the mall wants to go in a different direction but open another store in a different location in Roseburg, Oregon. I buy everything at this store. I have tried contacting the Roseburg Valley Mall where it's located but nobody will respond. Why is this happening? We have only one other department store to shop at so now I will have to travel over an hour to go to Macy's. I prefer an actual location to shop at and this seriously stinks! There are other buildings in our town that hopefully Macy's will move in to.

60

Please reconsider closing your Roseburg Oregon store. It is needed in this community and I am sure it is profitable. Maybe a new location so you do not need to deal with the mall. Downtown has some nice locations and you could go back to your roots and set up downtown.

80

I live in Roseburg, Oregon. I shop at Macys all the time. It is the largest department store in our town. Macys is closing in our mall. I heard some kind of dispute. This means I have to travel 70 miles north to shop in Macys. Everyone I have talked to about this matter is upset by this. Is there any way Macys can go to another location in our City?

60

We are from Ontario, Canada and came over the border for a day trip. We paid $450.00 on the Macy's credit card, but when we went to make a purchase, it came back unapproved because they are not able to process the payment right away. We had to stand at the counter for 45 minutes waiting to get a verification code. To make matters worse the store was understaffed and although the poor assistant called for help, they were all on lunch break. Apparently if you make a payment to lower your balance and you wanted to use this amount to make a purchase, you cannot purchase anything for a few days until the payment has been processed. This would mean we would have to stay overnight in the U.S. just to make a purchase. This seems crazy to me. Additionally the amount we paid was greater than our credit balance. I called Macy's credit department today to make a complaint today and the credit card attendant just blew me off.

40

My bank payed my bill electronically and has sent Macy's the proof. I have spoken to Macy's several times, both through e-mail and phone and no one will help. They keep saying have your bank contact us. My bank, Anheuser Busch, did contact them and was told it would be taken care of. There has been interest and late fees applied and it will probably go against my credit. I can't believe that a company as big as Macy's has such terrible customer service.

40

I had been looking for dining room chairs forever and found what I wanted at Macy's. The chairs, originally $169 were on closeout for $44.10 each! I was SO excited. I called and ordered 4 which came to $176.40. Then I found out there was a $200 delivery charge plus $20 because I lived in a "remote" location! I understand delivery charges but absolutely no where on the webpage did it mention a Delivery charge. There was all kinds of information on the actual order page about shipping (I read all the fine print), and in red at the top of the page, "Free Shipping on orders of $99".

I was not able to ship to the store and pickup, I was not able to go to a Macy's furniture gallery to get my chairs, I was not able to go to their warehouse to pick up the chairs, and I was told "well, chairs aren't shipped, they are delivered"…it was 5-star, white glove delivery or nothing. There's a ton of websites where you can order furniture and have it shipped so don't tell me you can't ship chairs. I ultimately got my shipping down to $160 and paid it since the chairs still came in less than anywhere else and it was what I really wanted, but this is definitely misleading advertising and will lead to more Macy's complaints in the future if it is not corrected.

I paid as much for delivery as I did the chairs! (I must be a lunatic!) If furniture requires a delivery charge, they need to state it up front on the website - on each item page - so there's no question or confusion. This was very misleading and HIDDEN information which needs to change.

60

On 10/23/15 I tried for about an hour to place an order online but the website keep saying they were having technical difficulties (this is not the first time this has happened to me). I then proceeded to call customer service to place my order. After 46 minutes of answering repeated questions I was told to place my order online because the customer service rep was having difficulties ( that's what I did 46 minutes ago). I was very disappointed because I missed out on a few expensive sale items for my new home and was unable to check the status on some bedding that has been on back order for 2 months (I have spent well over 14,000 dollars on Macy's home decor). I have been a loyal Macy's customer for over 23 years. This was a huge disappointment to me having to write more Macy's complaints and I am currently reconsidering shopping for my new home at Macy's.

40

While I was in Las Vegas on 11th of this month we purchased a black Armani jeans shirt as a gift. On our return to UK we noticed holes in the shirt where the security tag would have been. It was very disappointing to find this as we are not in a position to take this back to the store. I can provide Macy's the proof of purchase and I would be grateful if you could refund the money on to my credit card.

20

Well, I'm on my second pair of gold hoops in the last year in a half? very upset and was a nightmare getting the first pair that broke replaced. My husband bought them as a Christmas gift a couple of years ago. I did contact your corporate office and got them replaced. Two weeks ago I was just sitting around and some one said what do you have in your ear? Well I had one hoop and the other hoop had broken off and left the wire that hold them together in my ear!! I have short hair so it was very noticeable. Come on twice in two years, my husband bought be a gold chain last Christmas from Macy's and both earrings and necklace were expensive, this shouldn't happen. I hate to return them because it was such a hassle with the last ones. Maybe shop elsewhere next time.

40

I placed an order online provided all my details. Next day I reached an email saying to call to verify my identity. Because they called another number that I have no clue who they were or what number it was. So I did then she cancels my order stating that I'm not giving her my correct telephone number. Then I place the order over the phone. The rep. asked if I wanted to complete a survey. I said oh yes I'm very unhappy. Instead of transferring me to the survey she hanged up on me. My gift will not arrive on time. And they were extremely unprofessional. Will not do business with Macy's online or over the phone ever again.

40

To get 25% discount, I had to fill out 25 minutes of info at the register In Lennox square. Atlanta, GA because my account had not been used in 3 1/2 years. I set up account with online billing; supplying them my email and all other info. This was 07/08/2015. I did not get back to my home in Florida until 8/5/2015. I had tried while in Atlanta in July and again when I got home to pay the account online. Account said closed and had my old card number in it with a zero balance. I received tons of promotional stuff in my email account during July and August, but still no billing statements online as I requested.

I had to go out of town 08/06/15 and returned 08/24/2015. I finally checked my snail-mail when I returned. I had a new card from Macy's and 2 billing statements via mail. 1st one had a due date to be paid by 08/09/2015 or 31 days after I originally made the charge on 07/08/2015. The 2nd one with 09/09/2015 due date had a $25.00 late fee added into my unpaid balance. I still tried to straighten out online, No luck. I tried to add new card after I got it in mail online. Still no luck. Macy's online customer service is truly illogical and completely NOT user-friendly, but basically just DOES NOT WORK. I finally got in touch and paid account via phone on 08/29/2015.

I finally got to Citibank screen, answered 4 security questions only to have screen refuse to add my new account number. Sorry we could not process this. There is even a message of the 6 endless messages via phone that says that if you are called about online problems, call 4 I believe. I called today 08/31/2015 and cancelled card after trying to add my new card repeatedly. They did NOT refund my late fee which was caused by their inability to provide what I signed up for. I have wasted 3 hours of my life and had one of the most frustrating and worst online experiences EVER! All for $25.16 discount upon which I had to pay $25.00 late fees. So $.16 ahead, but 3 hours wasted.

Thanks, Macys. NOTE: fire the guy that approved your new online software for he is truly incompetent if he let that mess be implemented!

60

You cancelled Donald Trump's contracts(?) because of what he said concerning illegal immigrants. Since i believe that the United States should protect it's borders, I do not wish to do any more business with you. Shame on you. Freedom of speech means nothing to you?

20

I would just like to tell you that I feel Macy's has gone down hill. It use to be a store of pride. Every time I come to your store it looks like a tornado hit it. When I go in to a Kohls, Target or even Walmart. Their stores are always so neat. It's like you just don't care what your store looks like and me being a customer. I find it awful that Macy's has gone down hill so fast. I get great customer service and I love your coupons. But I would like to see you take more pride in Macy's and hire more to keep it neater so when I walk in I can find what I want and not have to look through a mess of clothes that have been thrown around or just fell on the floor on the racks. Oh My God it is so bad the clothes on the floor.

20

I recently purchased a sectional for $3000+ from Macy's. I was shocked when the sales person told me the delivery fee was $200 and of course they don't post those charges by the sale price. Most reputable furniture companies would waive the fee given the amount purchased. Today, I called to order one additional armless section and they wanted to charge me another $100 to delivery it. No thanks. I'll take my business elsewhere.

40

I place an order online, and when i got the items at home i noticed that the item was defected so i call macy's customer service again, when i first place the order the item was 25% off discount, and i asked for them to honor the price that i payed the first time, it was not my fault that the item came defected from the wear-house, I waited for like 20 minutes to speak to a manger, I basically got no help from the first person, or anyone and it seemed almost like everyone I talked to was reading from a script. Speaking with the manager was the worst experience ever, she was very nasty and rude and ended up hanging up the phone. Macy's need to do something about their customer service help phone number.

20

On 5/24/14 at Macy’s Fashion Valley San Diego I purchased clothing. The customer service staff asked my cousin—who came with us— to open a Macy’s card and put it on our purchase so we could get a discount. AND at the same time we paid cash $206.36 (total of our purchase after discount therefore in the Macy’s original receipt trans ID 544-0058-0062 dated 5/21/14 it showed my cousin's Macy’s Card while we actually paid $206.36 cash.

I purchased YM’s Levis for our son and the Macy’s customer service staff assured me that if I had got back to Australia and found that it was not his size, I needed to hold on to the original receipt and the YM’s Levis to be able to get an exchange or refund when my family/ I are in USA again.

On 3/18/2015 my daughter was in New York and took the original receipt and the YM’s levis jeans in the original condition to Macy’s Herald Square New York to exchange a larger size but the Macy’s staff refused to exchange but insisted to refund the cost back into the Macy’s card of my cousin despite the fact that my daughter told the Macy’s Herald Square New York’s staff that we paid cash on the date of purchase and also the Macy’s Card xxxxxx2120 of my cousin was cancelled. However, Macy’s Herald Square New York’s staff told my daughter to give our contact details and wait for Macy’s credit department to contact us.

Until today 5/4/2015 it has been over 2 month since my daughter has returned the YM’s levis jean in the original condition with the original receipt to Macy’s Herald Square New York, but I have not received any response nor a refund from Macy’s credit department. I tried to send several emails to Macy's customer services, but received no response whatsoever. This is absolutely unfair!!

20

Two stores that are close to me no longer carry petite sportswear. Please put petite sportswear back in the Chesapeake Square Mall store and the Hampton Towne Center Store. I now have to drive to the Patrick Henry Mall store which is in an area that is very congested.

What was the reason for taking the petite dept. from those stores??? It is discriminating !

20

I am writing to complain about your Chicago store, most specifically the Water Tower Place, Michigan Avenue location (however the State Street Store is an veritable abomination, too). I blame Macy's, almost single-handedly, for the degradation of Michigan Avenue, once appropriately termed the "Magnificent Mile." Has top management failed to experience this store on weekends?

The blasting of hip-hop music, first floor, and the wild carnival atmosphere creates nothing more than a low-brow (dare I say "ghetto") magnate, drawing the most out-of-control, raucous, nasty-looking assortment of people. Is Macy's really shooting for the low, low end of the retail spectrum? What a pathetically sad turn of events for Chicago!

Everybody I know who lives in the neighborhood and shops in the area won't go near Macy's. You have successfully alienated us. The Water Tower Place Mall has been nicknamed "Trash Mall." How unfortunate for this city and for the community at large!

20

I am writing to express frustration at the customer service at the Macy's store in Cottonwood, Utah. I had gone today to purchase 2 pairs of shoes. I waited several minutes in the shoe area without any acknowledgement, even though 2 associates walked directly past me. I, consequently, went to the POS in men's furnishing to see if someone might assist me there. The associate there said that he could not help in shoes. I went to another POS. Same story.

So I went back to the POS in shoes. I waited for another 10 minutes. The associate there walked past me 4 times, but didn't make eye contact, didn't say she would be with me, didn't say that she was assisting another customer. In the meantime, another customer came up to the POS, and she finally, in exasperation, left without making her purchase. I waited 10 more minutes and saw at least 3 POS areas with associates doing absolutely nothing but looking bored.

Finally, another associate came from the back room in shoes. However, rather than asking who was next or in line, she proceeded to another customer. I resorted to being rude and said that I had been waiting for over 30 minutes. To her credit, this associate apologized and helped me. She apologized again and thanked me, but - trust me - I was not a happy customer.

It would seem to me (especially in a low volume store) that cross-training or employee courtesy would be the norm. I can also tell you that there were at least as many associates in the store as there were customers from my observation. As a side note, I managed a staff of 575 FTEs prior to my retirement, and they were well-versed in customer service. They all knew to acknowledge customers, apologize if they couldn't respond immediately, and when to call for back-up.

20

4/20/2015 , I ordered a $115 dollar fragrance from your Mother's Day fragrance catalog. I was expecting to receive a Tote Bag #1936098 as stated in the catalog (any women's fragrance purchase of $85 or more receive the Tote Bag). I was sent an expired coupon with the dates WED, Nov12- Thurs, Jan1,2015 to take 20% off of various items. I was very disappointed and dishearten with my online order.

20

I was shopping for a gift for my friend's son in the children's department. It was Friends and Family day, but I had forgotten my flyer at home. When we walked into the store, we asked a salesman at the front of the store whether they were giving the F&F discount even if you didn't bring a flyer. We went up to the department. It took quite a while to find his size, but when I did I went to the register and there was nobody there. My husband found the 3 women who had previously been at the register chatting it up in the other dept. He asked whether they worked at the store, and they reluctantly said, "yes." Lisa, the girl who finally meandered over to the register as slowly as her legs could carry her, said she had no flyers. I asked her name, and she told me with a bored expression on her face. What kind of customer service is that? They're more helpful at TJ Maxx.

20

I purchased 4 pairs of boots from Macys.com in December 2014, and used my Macy's credit card for the purchase. In January, I returned 2 pairs and was sent gift cards as a form of reimbursement. After calling numerous times to have the credit converted to my original form of payment (Macy's credit card) I still have not received credit.

Today (April 23, 2015) marks the third attempt, and I was told to expect a credit within 10-15 day (THIRD TIME). This experience has been the WORST ever! Today I spoke with Ron who is a senior specialist in the Philippines for Macys.com and was very nice on the phone; however, he was not able to contact anyone in the "back line department" to assure me this matter would be handled today. He was not even able to contact his superior and make them aware of the situation. It is a sad day when losing a good customer doesn't seem to be a big deal..... NO MORE MACY'S!!!

60

I made an error, and didn't make my monthly payment this month (and even though I have a due date, the month is not even out). I have been receiving numerous phone calls about my payment not being made. I really don't appreciate the harassment that I am receiving. It is my responsibility to make sure that my monthly bills are paid, but being harassed like this is very annoying. The way I am being harassed, you would think I owe thousands of dollars. Can you rectify this situation on how your staff handles these types of situations.

60

I have two complaints. I think it is unfair NOT to give a person 20 per cent off just because one lives debt free and chooses not to get a Macy's credit card. Why is that? Also - And I know employees asked me to say something - at the Lloyd Center location - the paper towels have been removed from the ladies' restrooms and hand dryers have been installed. Most people would like paper towels put back - two huge reasons for this - - most people like to turn off faucets and open the doors with a paper towel (hygiene reasons) AND hand dryers are a huge source of spreading germs - and this can be confirmed by the numerous medical research articles! I hope some satisfaction will be given to me regarding both of these issues. On the positive side - your employees are friendly!

40

I placed an online order with you guys while the promotion was going on. The first time the company I bought from was Estée with the free items. I bought it online but what I received were only products I bought and didn't include my free gifts. That experience was okay because when I called you guys and you said you'll ship it to me and I was happy with that. But then again I bought more items from you guys during a promotion but this time is from Clinque. I was told if I spent a certain amount I get my free gifts but I never received it. I called customer service and was told the free items are limited to supply so as soon as it runs out, you don't give it to customers anymore. Let me just say, that is a scam! A huge scam! Cause when I went on the website your promotion was still going on. Why is that? I will never be buying for this department ever again. This is by far the worst experience I've ever had! I wanted to return all my items but since your recipt says you gave me free items which I NEVER RECEIVED! I called many times to get help and went to the Macy depart itself and all your associates has a attitude and was very disrespectful. The lady on the phone told me when you got the free item in stock I would receive a email confirmation saying its shipped. It's been weeks and I still haven't received anything. I am very disappointed in your whole department and crew. Will not be returning!

40

On 7 April I purchased a Lauren dress 889041413488 for $159.26. I received a 10 percent discount for being a visitor. The receipt no is R5097466011116847103.
I paid using my prepaid MasterCard. Two days later when I checked my balance online I noticed that I had been charged twice. I have tried to call but always closed - says Eastern standard time. You should have enough information to rectify this as a matter of urgency. I am leaving Hawaii on Saturday night and still have gifts to buy. I have my US mobile off most of the time but if you email me I will switch on. This was unprofessional and needs to be rectified immediately please.

20

About a month ago i applied for a Macys card and i was denied. A week or so later i received a letter stating i was denied for an old delinquent account. So I decided to check my credit report to see if I had an account on there. Which nothing showed up for macys. Over the last three days I have contacted your company to figure out what’s going on and where this other account is coming from. I had no luck with no one in the credit department or in your general customer care. So today 4/8/15 I decided to do an online chat with your company for assistance. That got me nowhere. I do not feel that none of your agents were there to assist me, nor were they concerned about what my issue was. I am rebuilding my credit and if I have some account that I am unaware of I think your company should be able to assist me.

60

I have wanted to express this for a long time. I am about 5 min. from Southdale Center in Minneapolis,MN I go to your Macy's store located there. I can only wear Petite clothing. I go to your store frequently and I am constantly upset with your Petite Department for women. This department does not carry current, up to date fashion for women my size. Also, the clothing is not of high quality. I have seen this department move around from its own store to now a small area. If I ever want to find anything in this department, it is totally impossible. First of all it is a mess. There are always racks of clothing in total disarray. Who wants to shop in this department when it is not only a mess but the quality of clothing is very, very cheap. Don't you understand that there are those of us who want higher end petite clothing and also more fashionable clothing? The petite clothing that you carry is for women who probably don't care who they are or what age they are. BUT, there are many of us who do care. I finally mentioned my concerns to a salesperson - who I ran into. She was kind enough to listen to me. It's amazing I saw a salesperson in Macy's - there are very few and the shopper has to find them. Customer service does not exist in Macy's anymore. It is absolutely disgusting.

I frequently order home items and clothing on line. I am able to return things that I do not want to this Macy's. But when I return items to the store, the clerks rarely want to help with returns. Many of them say that I am to take the items back to the specific department where they are in the store. This defeats the convenience of ordering on line if you have to face this barrier when making returns in person. I would truly hope that you send me an email back. At least I would know that someone read this.

40

I order a pair of of Slyle&Co Miloe Black dress shoes size 7M , I received 2 left shoes instead of a correct pair of shoes (right and left). This has happen numerous of times. I called and informed the young lady about it, she apologize about it and said she would reshipped another of the same pair of shoes. I notice in one of the shoe their is a label price of $29.50, and I paid $38.26 for this shoe, why is that? After all of the inconvenience of getting 2 left shoes and gas burning to the UPS store to delivered package, I should received some kind of discount or some kind of compensate. Please respond soon regarding this complaint.

20

I purchase a Phillips Norelco Aquatec razor and have never received my rebate. I had also purchased a Black and Decker coffe pot on another shopping trip. Both were purchased before Christmas 2014. I called the rebate center and finally got the rebate for the coffee pot on Friday. The person on the phone said it was put in the system wrong and had the wrong address. I ask about both rebates but only received the one for coffe pot. I have a Macy's Credit Card so you can verify the purchase of the razor. I sent both rebate offers on the same day. Please process my rebate for the razor and send asap. This is very inconvenient for me first calling and now sending this email. My address is 2733 South 140th East Ave, Tulsa, OK. 74134. Both were purchased at the Macy's at Woodland Hills Mall, Tulsa, OK

20

I purchase a Phillips Norelco Aquatec razor and have never received my rebate. I had also purchased a Black and Decker coffe pot on another shopping trip. Both were purchased before Christmas 2014. I called the rebate center and finally got the rebate for the coffee pot on Friday. The person on the phone said it was put in the system wrong and had the wrong address. I ask about both rebates but only received the one for coffe pot. I have a Macy's Credit Card so you can verify the purchase of the razor. I sent both rebate offers on the same day. Please process my rebate for the razor and send asap. This is very inconvenient for me first calling and now sending this email. My address is 2733 South 140th East Ave, Tulsa, OK. 74134. Both were purchased at the Macy's at Woodland Hills Mall, Tulsa, OK

40

I enjoy shopping at Macy"s in Savannah. I don't shop often, but when I do, It so HOT upstairs, in the women's department. I refuse to try on the clothes there. I ask the sales person, about the air, they don't seem to know. I can shop any other store in the mall and it is so comfortable and cool. It should be like that in your store. PLEASE GET AIR CONDITIONING AT YOUR STORE!!! Someone is going to pass out. :{

40

On Sunday March 29th I returned to Macy's with my cousin to exchange some products we had received from Lancôme. I went to Lancôme the night before for my make-up it was my birthday. It took forever for someone from Fashion Fair to help me. Actually the young lady at the time did not assist me, but the young lady from Lancôme did. I enjoyed my make-up more then I do Mac so I looked forward to spending a lot of money with Lancôme. However, I wanted to exchange one of my purchases for two gloss's instead of the eye lash primer. My cousin wanted to exchange her stuff the red lip stick I brought she loved. We went over to the counter and no one was there. We stood there for 10 min and then I asked a young lady from Este de lauder to help me and she said sure but decided to start on a customer make-up. Yes! This is after I had already asked for help.

We continued to set for 10min. I asked the lady older ( white women with a ponytail who where glass's) for help and she stated " it's only two of them and someone will be there when they can." I stated " isn't it policy for the counter to be worked over doing a face.? She stated no! Then proceeded to assist other people who walked up. At this time we had been in this store now over 20mins with no help but a lot of attitude. I noticed that on that Sat 03/28/2015 the same booth's had issues with assisting Lancôme and fashion fair. However I called corporate and they got a sup visor over to help us after 40 mins of being there. At point I was disappointed in the service I had been given and made the choice to just get my money back.

spend good money with Macy NOT TO MENTION MY MOTHER Karen White IS CARD HOLDER AND WE SHOP often with you all. I expressed to the supervisor I was unhappy and she didn't offer anything for our inconveniences. I shop at Macy's and Nordstrom mainly for the customer service. If I wanted half service I would shop at the local Rainbow. I expect more that is why I pay more to shop at your store. River oaks in my mind only acted in such a way because we were young African American girls. Whom they assume didn't have much money. Whatever they thoughts were, there actions were unprofessional and very offensive.

40

I called your store in Troy Mi. Somerset collection and had to call twice to get someone to answer which was FINALLY the operator which trafered me to the Toddlers department to have them check to see if they had a couple of outfits in store from the Mudd Pie Co.,that I may purchase for my granddaughters birthday , the sales associate put me on hold and never did come back to take my call. Mudd Pie Co., is rather pricey for childern clothing and the sales people obviously don't care if they make a sale for your company or not. They have the same things I want on Amazon.com but I was going to come into your store to purchase them . Money lost to Macy's is all I can say. Not real excited to go back and shop at your store ,the sales associates are not the most helpful ... Either in the store on on the phone

20

Any stars would be too good of service for this group. The service has been atrocious. I have been trying to pay them since December. it has been a disaster to say the least. They keep sending back my cheques- one a valid reason but the other was not. Everytime they add $25 charge. If you are from Canada they are not easy to deal with as the bills come late, you cant pay except by cheque and then if they DECIDE they can't match it down to the penny or really they cant read, they send it back and add another $25. Canadians beware before you get a Macy's account. I REALLY REALLY urge you not too as they do not have a user friendly payment system.

40

I was charged 3 times for the same purchase at Lenox Mall .When I saw the receipt in the Internet I tried to contact Macys customer service,and I have being trying to call them over 2 hours. When I got an answer, they put me on hold and hanged the phone. Tomorrow I will try the store.

40

I wanted to purchase a handbag, there was no at the register nearest the display. I went a counter and asked if the clerk could check me out, she said "I don't have any bags large enough try over there" directing me to another counter, at that counter, I was again directed to go to another counter. I then told the clerk that I did not believe that I as the customer should have to wander around the store to find a place to pay for a purchase. That clerk did check my out. I find this level of customer service to be unworthy of Macy's, perhaps at WalMart.

Have feedback for Macy's?

Thanks for your feedback!

Sorry. Please try again later!