Howard Johnson Customer Service
Rated 1.23 of 5 Stars
Based on 77 Complaints

Contact Howard Johnson Corporate

Toll free phone number: 1-800-221-5801

Howard Johnson is a subsidiary of Wyndham Worldwide Group and has 393 locations worldwide including China and Mexico

To reach Guest Relations call 1-800-221-5801 or click here. You may write to Wyndham CEO, Stephen P. Holmes by addressing your envelop with Wyndham Worldwide Group, 22 Sylvan Way, Parsippany-Troy, NJ 07054, USA.

The Wyndham Rewards are extended to Howard Johnson guests and the ‘sleepover makeover’ of HoJo rooms and suites include the signature “orange roof” theme from Niagara Falls to Vero Beach to Scottsdale, AZ. Social presence is found on Facebook and Instagram.


Experienced poor service? File a complaint here!

Howard Johnson Contact Information

Report complaints to corporate and get satisfaction

  • Howard Johnson headquarters address

    • 22 Sylvan Way, Parsippany-Troy, NJ 07054
  • Company website

  • 1-800 phone number

    1-800-221-5801
  • Better Business Bureau rating

    A
  • Customer service hours

    Monday-Friday, 8am-6pm

Browse reviews of other Hotels



Top Howard Johnson Complaints

Browse more than 77 reviews submitted so far

20

First of all my room had bed bugs and was pretty disgusting, secondly I was charged more then quote received by email, lastly I tried emailing the hotel manager directly on 6/11 to discuss not only the overcharge but also I feel I should not pay or at least given a large discount for the 2 out of 5 nights I stayed in the bed bug room! I have several other pictures I can show you of the multiple bites I received and the condition of the room.

20

Member # 164669056H
Member name: Vivian Boatwright
Never in my life have I been made to feel so unwelcome and treated so rudely. I have three people in my room and I went to make plates for each person at breakfast. When exiting with the plates Linda a black lady at the front desk gave me a horrible look and said who is all that for. I told her 3 people and she proceeded to act like I was lying about even staying there and wanted my room number. Never have I been so embarrassed in my life and there was two other couple in the lobby that heard this. I was so embarrassed I didn't even go back to make my plate and I only had two plates for the two other people in my room.. I have attached a picture showing exactly the amount of food that I had that she flipped out on me about. That's for three people! That is not hardly anything for three people! I am so angry and furious that this is how I have been treated after being a loyal customer here. I am a platinum member and have spent a lot of money at this hotel, but that ends today. Never will I step foot back into this hotel. I am supposed to be a guest and treated like one not a criminal.

20

A stay at your hotel location on 42nd st and vanburen in phoenix arizona and my speaker was stolen from my room upon me leaving thw room for it to be cleaned. When i went to the front desk to ask who had cleaned the room the rep was VERY. rude and condescending twlling me it was my fault it was stolen because i left the room. But i left UPON THEIR request so thw room could be serviced. It was right on the nightstand and when i went back it was gone. We are rewards members and have stayed at many hj hotels in the past and have never had any type of issues. This person you have representing your company is a theif and more than likely a drug addict. I fully expect to either have my speaker given back or we will be filing theft charges against whomever was in that room as well as calling news channel 3. They love doing stories like this.

20

I waited all most 2hrs for my room the man had charge my card to the wrong room and person. And the rooms need to be updated our beds where on the floor.

20

I have been staying at the Howard Johnson Collegepark ga Phoenix Blvd may stay was great UNTIL yesterday!!!!!!! A friend of mine paid my reservation at the front desk for me then 5 hours laters decided to go back to the front desk and demand his money be put back on his card. He didnt know what room i was in so he had the front desk to call me twice to come down. I came down and a MANAGER named DEE told me that she was giving him a refund and i had to pay or leave the room. I explained that we had an agreement and part that was for him to pay for my room. My "friend" was there saying as loud as a he could I want her out I dont care. DEE THE MANAGER said basically just as loud pay him or pay me or you have to check out By 6 because we are really busy tonight and can clean and rent that room. I told her we had an agreement once again then my boyfriend tried to reason with her on the phone. She still refused. Finally she called a co worker over after my " friend" had everyone's attention amd explained it just as loud what room i was in , what room he was in and our issue. The co worker explained that I And my "friend" problems was not Howard Johnsons. DEE THE MANAGER agreed and i went back to my room. About a hour later my " friend" and his girlfriend was banging on my door. He has never been to my room. I had to scream thru the door to stop harasseing me. I told him i would call the cops if he came back. 15 min later the. Cops are knocking. I talk to the cops we went downstairs again. The cops explained for hin to cut it out or go to jail ( he was drunk) that the problem was between the two of us. I stayed up all night fearful that i would be thrown out in a rain storm with my kids by THE MANAGER DEE. the next day i went down to pay because of the rain storm and my car being broken down and once again DEE THE MANAGER is harassing me about did i pay my " freind" back his money. I politely told her the cops handled the situation the day before. My "friend" and his girlfriend once again in the lobby. When i told DEE THE MANAGER the cops handled it she then said well you owe $50 dollars extra becase the first day you check in you never paid a deposit. I asked her why am i just being charged a deposit she said because the person who checked me in was new and i owe $50 extra to stay. So long story short i gave her the extra 50 amd felt humiliated once again because other people was there listening again. She grabbed the sign beside her and said see it says it here. I was having a good stay until someone let their personal feeling get involved in something that absolutely nothing to do with them get in the way of me staying comfortably and the hotel making money. I feel stupid for being here as long as i have and dont even want to go down for breakfast in the morning. I cant wait until my car is fixed because i am ready to go. I am choice hotel member and can easily check back in with them. Im not happy at this point and dread the moment i have to go back down and pay again tomorrow because i know DEE THE MANAGER will make me uncomfortable once again.

20

My stay (May 22 2019) at Howard Johnson s in Lubbock Tx 5108 I-27 was disappointing
The place is filthy dirty from the parking lot
( cigarette butts ,cans , bottles, trash ) to the inside of each room ...the toilets & bath tubs have not been cleaned ..room stinks like mildew & floors needed vacuuming
Swimming pool was closed & very filthy not fit for a desperate homeless bath
The place NEEDS INSPECTIONS
I WAS BIT BY A DAMN BED BUG
I TOOK A Pic & ran down stairs to the desk to show ‘& complained I needed a full refund
The night desk auditor refused to hear my complaint & said that’s the chance I take when you book rooms here
If that’s the ATTITUDE FOR CUSTOMER COMPLAINTS... the place needs shut down
I will Not ever stay at Howard Johnson’s again
They refused to solve the complaint or give a full refund & I left as a very dissatisfied customer & I will let others know about the whole situation
Bed bugs are a BIG NO NO IN MY STAY of Hotels/ Motels
I might could have tolerated other stuff but not BED BUGS !!!!!!
Corporate NEEDS TO GO CHECK OUT THAT HOTEL FOR THEMSELVES & MAKE SURE TO CHECK FOR BED BUGS IN ROOM # 317 & enforce CLEANLINESS & pass inspections
Unsatisfactory on Howard Johnson’s part
I sure hope I didn’t carry NO HITCHHIKERS HOME
DISAPPOINTED CUSTOMER
T .LAMBORN

20

I began staying at the Howard Johnson hotel, room #205 in Wheat Ridge, Colorado on April 15 paying a monthly rate. Everything was fine until a week ago when I noticed 3 different bed bugs crawling near me as I sat on the bed at different times Saturday May 18, 2019. I verbally informed the management at the front desk the next day on Sunday May 19, 2019. They spoke of making a room inspection, but such never occurred. I brought in my own vacuum cleaner and have been vacuuming daily. Didn't see and more bugs all last week and was happy thinking maybe it was just last remaining few from next door room #207 which they had brought in a heater system for 3 days in that unit. Unfortunately, last night (Sunday May 26, 2019 I witnessed 2 different bed bugs and a tiny baby one. I sent management here an email this morning alerting them to the situation and requesting a new room. I have yet to recieve a response or any form of communication. I simply want a different room being I prepaid for a month which expires June 10, 2019. Not only am I shocked at the lack of customer service and care, but also that there doesn't seem to be any concern by the management about being made aware that one of their rooms has bedbugs and maybe an infestation is beginning. This could become a nightmare for the owners and the corporate name. Maybe the lack of urgency is because there already is an entire building infestation.
Thanks,
Jeff Rickstrew

20

Stayed at Howard Johnson in Daleville VA twice in last 3 weeks. We have stayed here numerous times over the years. Like location and though prices have raised, still comparable. Motel has declined in quality:
1. Grass a foot tall
2. Showers only hot or cold.
3. Very moldy shower curtain and dirty bathroom and bathtub.
4. Sink stopped up.
5. Carpet smelled.
Buildings in disrepair, paint chipping.
6. Breakfast not nearly as good as a year ago.
7. Prices higher
8. Dirty pillow covers and bed sheets.
8. Manager said he took over in May, housekeeper quit then, so doesn't have good help.
9. Overall this place has become a health hazard. I'm surprised city did not close it down.
I suggest Wyndam inspect it

20

I was lied to when making reservation. I was told there would be a microwave, refrigerator, WiFi and hot tub. I ended up having spoiled food. The outlets were all broken in the room. No refrigerator, no microwave, WiFi did not work. Front desk clerk was zero help. Told me it's too bad. This ruined my plans for my special occasion. And there was no blanket or towels. Honestly feel like I was taken in for a scam. I paid good money and got nothing but a bad stay with zero amenities. I plan to leave reviews so others do not have their special night ruined either. If your hotel offers no amenities then be honest about it before some one makes the long trip for nothing.

20

I was lied to when making reservation. I was told there would be a microwave, refrigerator, WiFi and hot tub. I ended up having spoiled food. The outlets were all broken in the room. No refrigerator, no microwave, WiFi did not work. Front desk clerk was zero help. Told me it's too bad. This ruined my plans for my special occasion. And there was no blanket or towels. Honestly feel like I was taken in for a scam. I paid good money and got nothing but a bad stay with zero amenities. I plan to leave reviews so others do not have their special night ruined either. If your hotel offers no amenities then be honest about it before some one makes the long trip for nothing.

20

My husband and i stayed at the hotel often. Last night they gave me a key to someones else's room. I walked in on them being intimate. That was not ok. It could have went really bad. It was humiliating. I had to go back to office and wait and it took another 15 min to get straighted out. Very upsetting and professional.

20

Adressing:900 medical arts, Albuquerque, NM. I have emailed the manager and he hasn't gotten back to me. Manager name is Jerry. My complain is about the three front desk ladies whom we're very rude. And did not want to cooperate... I accidentally booked two rooms and they did not want to give me a refund for one of the rooms. The next morning I woke up and had bug bites all on my back left arm... Woke up in discomfort, inflammation, and itching... This is from room 114. Which the windows to the room seemed not to be sealed properly.the room service lady was going to give a refund for this room but the front desk lady whom was working morning shift 05/04 said that there was no proper reason for a refund after being bitten by so many bugs in your hotel
If you could close the hotel cause I have only seen bad reviews for this hotel. Not to say but the worst experience in my life. I will gladly report you if this is not resolved properly.

20

First of all I paid for a week I'm a Wyndham Rewards Diamond member I've stayed at the same Hotel on 44th and Ward Road on and off for 4 years I have two service animals what are very famous been all over the TV and the news I was put into a room with bed bugs I was at I asked to move they put me in another room with bed bugs very rude very nasty made me leave two days early without giving me a refund of my deposit or the two days that I paid for I'm very very upset and I want my money back for the whole week

20

I booked a room at Howard Johnson in Norco CA on May 1, 2019. I went out to the store around 12pm and came back around 1am to find my room key had been demagnitized by my cell phone. Martha, the clerk on duty refused to remagnitize my key even though she verified that it was in fact the key for my room. The room was in my girlfreinda name who was fast asleep in Eastvale and not answering her phone. The clerk Martha left me out in the cold all night and refused to contact of bosses or supervisors and the next day the GM refused to give me a refund

20

Hello,
My name is Kim Dawkins, I was a guest at the Howard Johnson by Wyndham Mystic, Mystic CT from
Apr 12, 2019 - Apr 16, 2019 which was an anniversary stay for my husband and I. Check in was pleasant and the front desk personnel was very friendly and accomodating, i ecspecially liked the young man Jacob. when entering the corridor to get to our room the hallway we were immediately met by the smell of marijuana. We overlooked the odor because once we entered our room we could not smell the aroma any longer. We later attempted to take a jacuzzi bath at which time we found long black hair in the tub. I had no problem cleaning the tub to take a bath, so I did. The next day my husband and I decided to do some site seeing and went to the casinos. Upon our return I found that the bed had been spread up and that one of my own personal blankets were missing ( I arrived with 2 of my own personal blankets) and the remote control was missing. I called to the front desk to advise them that my blanket had been taken from my room. I spoke to a young lady who told me that it was no problem and that she would locate my blanket and bring it to my room. I advised her that we would be going out and that she could just leave the blanket in the room. Upon my arrival, no blanket. I called to the front desk and spk to a young lady who apologized for no one following thru and assured me that she would go to the laundry room and get the blanket for me. I thanked her. I heard nothing back from her the remainder of the evening. We eventually fell asleep. The next evening I spoke to the gentleman (Jacob) who was the young man that checked me in upon my initial arrival. He was very nice and I really liked him. He said that he is not sure what is going on but, he had heard about my blanket being taken from my room and would go to the laundry room himself to try and locate my blanket. He said that there were some issues with things being taken. I told him that there were several requests and several people had already told me they would locate my blanket and NEVER got back to me. He then told me that would not happen again and that he would call me and let me know what the issue was. I thanked him and went to my room. I woke up the next morning a little upset because the blanket had sentimental value to me. I immediately went to the front desk and spoke to a gentleman who advised me that Josh quit the job! I was astonished. I could not figure what was going on. Nevertheless, I had not had my room cleaned in 2 days and the jacuzzi had a black ring around it that was due to a black film coming from the jets. I then saw a lady come from the back office because she heard me explaning my blanket situation. She told me that she is sorry for the matter of the room/bathroom not being cleaned for several days and that she is the General Manager and she had been out of town and that she has also been short of staff. She said that this is not the way the hotel is normally run. So, at that point she agreed to PERSONALLY go to the laundry and locate the blanket herself. Meanwhile, she sent a young lady to clean the room who arrived and then with her sneakers on, she stood in the tub with a dry rag and sprayed a liquid on the rag and wiped the inside ring in the tub. She then got out of the tub and said that she was done. She never used any water or washed the part of the tub that she stood in with her sneakers on....needless to say she never attempted to make any beds or change any linen after we had been there for 3 days at that point. Oh my goodness, by now I was ready to go.....We had one more night so, since I didn't hear back from the GM who swore that she would NOT be like her staff and not respond to me after searching for my blanket.....I still for the 4th time NEVER. heard back from anyone whoever said that they would look for my blanket. Luckily, upon my checkout the next morning the GM was the person at the front desk. Immediately upon seeing me approach she began apologizing for not getting back to me yesterday and attempted to give me a false apology that I could see through. She said that she would email me a discounted room rate which of course she NEVER did! I never received my blanket Unacceptable!
I am writing you to let you know that this was NOT a great stay and that it would be my suggestion that someone from corporate go to this property and check it out. I'm sure this is not the experience that corporate would like for their patrons to experience.

20

I had sent another email with address dorthypayne@bell.net, it has been changed to paynedorothy72@gmail.com.
This complaint is in regards to a booking 3/27/2019 at the Beckley Howard Johnson. I had booked online and was informed a therapy dog was not required to pay the $20.00. I had my documentation to offer front desk and was informed I still was expected to cover the $20.00. I am hopeful I can be reimbursed this US amount. Please reply Dorothy Payne

20

I recently stayed at the Howard Johnson hotel in Perry, Georgia. The issue I had was with the front desk and the billing. I was charged for my stayed more than once. I am currently in the process of disputing the charges with my bank but this is fraud. The front desk people will run your card and tell you it is denied "by their system", then run it again and each time it is run you are being charged in reality. I have had to spend more time on trying to get my money back over the numerous times they ran my card than I should. This hotel could be independently owned however, it is ruining your name and reputation. Before I go to slamming Howard Johnson on social media, I would appreciate an email acknowledging my problem.

v/r

John Sutton

20

I Tonne Miessek, made a reservation at Howard Johnsons on Tropicana on 04/07/2019. When I arrived they stated the room wouldnt be ready until 3pm. I left and came back at 3pm. Upon arrival the manager Tanya Lopez stated that I was on the DO NOT RENT list. When I asked why she stated that my dog made a mess. NOTE: I was not even the registered to this room. I know without a shadow of a doubt that when I was at howard Johnsons with Theresa Brassfield that I picked up and cleaned the room. I feel that the women here are discriminating which is illega according to a court of law. I also know that some of your employees working here are evil and are affiliared with the devil.

20

My question to Howard Johnson is in regard to a booking on Mar 27, 2019 at the Howard Johnson in Beckley WV. I made the booking with the knowledge of having a pet therapy dog with me there would be no $20.00 service fee. I had the information documented on my reservation. Upon arrival at the HJ in Beckley and registering, I was informed there would be a $20.00 service fee. I had my documentation for my service dog, but was told it wasn't required and all pets had there service fee. My confirmation #84874EC009296 - Acct # 083-919839. My receipt indicates I used and Amex Express card to book which is incorrect. Please advise if I am to access HJ in the future. Dorothy Payne

20

We stayed at the Howard Johnson in Burlington, Iowa on October 12, 2018. Complete disaster. Very dirty and cold with no heat. Complained to the front desk and they said nothing. So, we emailed assistant manager, Karen Sawyer and she replied back on October 19. 2018 and said she was going to credit our Mastercard 25% refund. Still have not seen that credit. So emailed again on March 22, 2019 and told her it has not been done. She has yet to respond with that email. Thanks for you time.

Bruce and Sue Wunder.

Should give that hotel a -rating.

40

We are staying in Victoria Canada at the HOJO 310 Gorge rd. E, Victoria Canada
i first want to say i have never filed a complaint but this needs to be addressed asap.
1st the pool area woman showers don't work, bandaid on the floor in the hallway mens bathroom has one toilet that is Full with waste.
the workout area is real bad and the small window ism broke and hanging on plus I'm not okay with a deadbolt on the entrance door that has a key on the outside and knob on the inside meaning a creep could lock his self in the pool area with a deadbolt and your trapped. i domino feel safe and especially my wife and daughter.
please do something with this place it has your name and isn't closer to what I've seen from your properties. if you want pics email me back i check out in the morning around 10:30 PT

20

I am here at the Howard Johnson hotel 407 Reisterstown rd Pikesville Maryland. I was here between 3/28/2019-4/5/2019 and have complaints: (1) no complimentary breakfast Was served as advertised -instead we (me and a friend) were given a $5.00 gift card for breakfast at McDonald’s (one $5.00 gift card for the two of us). The gift cards were rejected at the McDonald’s at least 2x and we were told that the cards had no money on them. (2) the toilets are too low in these bathrooms. I am a handicapped wheel chair bound individual with an oxygen tank. I could definitely use a higher toilet. And in my opinion I think we deserve reimbursement for this phony advertisement for breakfast that was suppose to be included in our stay. I will circulate this message and talk about these issues involving this hotel and will warn others so they won’t have To go through this.

20

I stayed at HOJO in Greensboro NC on Saturday 3/23/19, I was checking out Sunday morning as I was going to my car at 10:41 checkout is 11 room service went to clean my room so I left. When I get home I realized I left my necklace at the room (115) I called they said no one turned it in I'll have to call in the morning and speak to Latoya or Latanya, no she said she has to check with room service and they are not there yet, 4 calls later still no necklace. This may seem like a little trinket to the person that took it but it had VERY sentimental value to me, it was a bday gift from my twin sister, with inscription on the baclock "Wonder twin forever" she, the ring that was on the necklace from my grand mother who us no longer with us. All I want is my necklace back, I know they have it, it's where I left it, the man that went into the room didn't come out but the front desk said they don't know if the room was cleaned yet, but then I call again and they say the room has been occupied the whole time, why different stories? I just want my necklace PLEASE, room service should not be allowed to keep personal property PERIOD

20

Left three items at the Howard Johnson, Yuma on the weekend of February 9/10, 2019. Phoned and a receptionist confirmed the lost items:
toy red fox with red bow, cds and earphones. Asked her to check with manager to see if they could be shipped free or that I arrange to pay.

Placed another customer service call - they were to phone back. 1-705-444-0816 (my home number) No phone call.
Emailed twice.

20

I reserved a room at the Howard Johnson's Motel on Van Buren St, Phoenix for Sat, 3/23/19 for my brother-in-law, Joseph Gendron. Unfortunately, it was a necessitated last minute reservation, so I had no previous knowledge of the motel. My brother-in-law is handicapped and elderly and stayed there with his grandson. I hated to leave them there, but being last minute and needing to get a shuttle early the next morning, we had no other option. The door's hinges were coming right out of the door frame! In addition, the inside latch was ALSO extremely loose, attached to another piece of wood, between the latch and the door, itself AND even then, it was not securely attached to the door. The latch was attached by loose screws which left the latch about a half inch to an inch away from the door. With the door coming off its hinges, my brother-in-law's grandson had to slam his shoulder into the door to open it. The entire motel looked to be in the same dis-repair, so we did not go back to ask for a different room, as my brother-in-law could not walk upstairs and needed to be on the ground floor. The room number was #123. Not only do I think my brother-in-law should be refunded his money, I think the motel should be closed.
Thank you for your consideration.

20

Customer service so unprofessional not phone ettiquette at all your employees when asked a question not helpful like they don't care!!

20

I have been staying here at the hotel since the 27th of February and when I booked online it stated it allows pets. When I got here I was then told not cats. If I had a cat they would fine me $500. Well today I got to my room and hotel staff was in my room and locked me out and are refusing to give me my belongings. I am paid until tomorrow morning and I just want my things so I can leave. I don’t even have my cats food or a change of clothes. They can charge me and sue me for the $500 fine. Now they want $50 PER day for storage & $200 for packing up my belongings. I think they are trying to strong arm me into paying them for outrageous fines and charges!!!! Stay away from this hotel

20

I’ve been a on and off guest of Howard Johnsons for over 7 years the one located on 5173 shore drive Virginia Beach Virginia, And i’ve Never been treated so bad in my life the general manager is beyond rude and nasty she act like she doesn’t Care and talked to her employees and guest as if they are not people. After getting my breakfast this morning i walked up to pay for another week and she and another employee were talking so i waited very patiently till they were finished in the mist of waiting the gm was screaming at the young lady and threatening her job and i was so confused because I’ve never heard her talk to anyone like this in my time of coming to this hotel, after the young lady left i was still waiting to be help i politely said excuse me i would like to pay for another week and the manger turned around and said don’t you see me talking to someone you will have to wait and remind you she was on HER cell phone so i waited after 15 mins she walks back to the front and said very rude now what are you here for again as if she didn’t hear me the first time or like it wasn’t important the time that i told her so she asked me my room number and i told her in the process of her extended my stay i asked for her name because i seen no name tag i asked her what was her name and she ignored me i politely asked again and she said April very very nasty as if it was a problem i was asking for her name. As a guest a general manager she/he are supposed to set high standards for their employees and she has non nor does she set a good example for her staff , i told her i had changed my mind about extending my stay that i would just check out today and she returned with the comment well that’s fine you can check out right now. I’m highly disgusted in the way i was treated and talked to and very surprised that she treats her employees the same as a general manager your supposed to set high standards followed with leadership and she show non of the above, after today she gave me a reason to find another local hotel stay at when i travel i will not be treated anyway because a staff members/employee/GM can’t or act like they don’t want to do their job or woke up on the wrong side of the bed and have it be tooken out on me

20

If I could do a negative star that’d be what they deserve! I had a reservation a week in advance for 2 rooms (side by side) on bottom floor for an 11 year old bday party. They put me in the 2 nastiest rooms, upstairs, in smoking, outside on back of the building. I complained, tried 2 more sets of rooms and they charged me for all 6 rooms and the charges were pending for 3 days! Also my 11 year old and her friends found a crack pipe in the dresser! I took it up with the staff and they were terribly rude and refused to give me my money back!!

20

Front desk threatening to put me out due a co worker dropping keys off to me! Said I wasn’t allowed to have guests after 10pm and if she’s not gone within 5 minutes he will have me removed with no refund! I had my son sleeping in the room and he was extremely rude and unprofessional. I paid to be here and this place is filled with cockroaches.! It’s seriously disgusting and I will never book here again! Horrible service, rude employees, and filthy rooms!

20

We had stayed there two times in the last week both times wer displeasing both the conduct of the management as well as the behavior of the employees we are very displeased and would like a refund we figured to give the benefit of the doubt on the second time and the room that they set us up with smelled to high heaven the stench of feces was terribly strong replace the complaint they put us in a different room and that room had a smell of mold was excessively strong the experience we had with check out both times was rude at 11 a woman opens the door with a clipboard and proceeded to antagonize us with verbal conflict the last time we stayed there it was a hassle just to get our our deposit back the way she handled business was both unprofessional and abusive the Wheat Ridge Hotel that you guys have is not longer a place will ever consider to stay again or refer for anyone if anything we will make sure that people understand the type of behavior that you guys allowed to take place in your hotels and the conditions in which they are in we would like a full refund on both nightstands a sincerely Chris Goble family

20

Called reservations got this great lady named Opal, she gave me a great rate explained everything well, made her pitch for the rewards program etc. I had to call back since I needed the company approval to book the room so I did. Got a lady on the phone who did not know where Portland OR was, asked if it was in Australia, then got disconnected while she put me on hold to "find the hotel". Then I called and got a very feminine gentleman on the line who placed the call on hold without answering it first, picked up the line and abruptly saying "how can I help you" I asked him if there was an Opal working there, he says, "what, do I have a what" again, I said "is this the front desk, is their an lady named Opal working there?" he says "yes, no, DO YOU WANT TO MAKE A RESERVATION OR NOT?" Now....I know all too well about having a bad day, being stressed, being overwhelmed with work etc etc, after all I am old and and experienced a lot of days; but raising your voice to a customer and being so rude and unprofessional is beyond unacceptable. I of course hung up, I dont need to be treated that way by anyone. I did call back and get another guy by the name of lauren on the line who was awesome, got a great rate, was a pleasure to do business with.
Now for the obvious. If your reservation agents do not know where Oregon is then perhaps you should offer a class in geography or at least provide some type of map and educational material so they can learn on their own time. For the rude dude who raised his voice and got belligerent and disrespectful with me.....no room at company for that type of behavior. Perhaps some counseling on customer service skills can help him. I am very unhappy with these two people from your company and very happy with the other two.

20

We live about an hour and 20 minutes from the hotel we were supposed to spend the weekend at in Conway Arkansas. We chose this hotel bc the pictures looked very nice and it offered an indoor pool & jacuzzi. My husband and I were just trying to take our children (8, 6, 5, 4 & 11 months) on a relaxing weekend getaway. When we arrived we noticed how run down the place looked, but decided to check in and give it a try since we had already paid. We soon found out we should have drove in the parking lot and drove straight back out!! There were groups of people standing in every corner of the hotel (not sure exactly what they were doing, but it definitely looked suspicious and made us uncomfortable), our room smelled SO bad, the walls in the room were literally falling apart, the pool was cold, the hot tub was FREEZING, breakfast was horrible, around 9PM the noise level went from 0-10 QUICK. We had people running past our doors screaming and cussing and the people above us were obviously having a lot more fun than us because they were jamming to some explicit music and what sounded like beating in the floor. My kids barely slept. We ended up leaving around 615AM on Saturday when we planned on staying until Sunday afternoon. My 11 month old is not so snotty and having trouble breathing since we were stuck in a musty/moldy room. This is absolutely ridiculous and we will NEVER be back here. I am so disappointed in HoJo, but I am more disappointed for my kids as they were really excited to go spend a fun weekend away. I seriously would sleep in a cardboard box before I EVER stepped foot back on this property.

100

We stayed in your motel in Houston tx area as our son was a patient in the Houston Methodist hospital. He was in ICU and in serious condition. My wife and myself drove down from North Texas and our Daughter flew in from Virginia. She is disabled and she had a accident (wet bed) one night. The manager of your motel screamed at our Daughter and said he was going to add a $400 charge on our credit card because of the accident. We stayed a week at your motel and I think another way to handle that was in order.
Waiting to see how you handle this before we seek other action.
Thank you for your time and am awaiting your reply.
HW Shelton

20

I stayed at the ROACH MOTEL Howard Johnsons at 16644 Snow Rd. For 2 miserable weeks!!! The owner is a SLUM LORD if you will, the manager Ashley Jarred was useless and LAZY!!! DO NOT EVER GO THERE!!! THEY HAVE BED BUGS AND ROACHES!! THE PLACE IS EXTREMELY DIRTY AND UNCARED FOR. WAY TOO MANY Bad situations going on there...its a wonder they are still open.....YUK!!!

20

What is a room if you do not have time to sleep. The room was cold, curtains did not cover the windows.

20

I checked in at about 1am and the desk attendant came out of a van with a crying baby with her. I should have known this was not the hotel for us. But beacause it was late, we checked in. When we get into room, the room smelled musty, mildew, my husband pulled the cover off the bed and there were bugs in the sheets and sheets were all stained.
I went to attendant and told her room was unacceptable and to cancel our 2 night reservations and she took the keys and walked away. They refunded me only one day. I paid for 2 nights. How does a company with your name have such a disgusting and dirty hotel? The hotel was Howard Johnson 2726 N. Monroe St Tallahasse, Fl
Thank you for reading my complaints and look forward to hearing from you.
Rita Zegarelli

20

Reservation 84776EC007641

I made this reservation Aug 19, 2018 directly with the Howard Johnson desk in Lakeland, Florida.
I was quoted a rate that I thought was too much money. I then asked for a lower rate. The lady I spoke to then said she could give me a rack rate of $55.00+. I said OK. I received an Email confirming the reservation. See attached.
Last week I tried to call Howard Johnson at Lakeland Florida to ask for a lower level room as I develop knee problems and could not climb stair without pain. For some reason the 800-333-9878 number would not connect all day.
The next day after trying the 800 number again to no avail, I called the Wyndham reservation number.
I spoke to a lady Whose email address of mraniya33@gmail.com
I advised this lady of my request for a lower level room.
She said she would contact the property and advise them via email of my request and would send a copy to me. She assured me that the nightly rate would be the same.
The copy to me came back with a different nightly rate. I immediately sent an email to mraniya33@gmail.com and told her of the nightly rate error, and asked her to correct it and send me a copy.
I never heard back from mraniya33@gmail.com
I resent her the email next day.Still no response.
I then called the direct line for the property given to me by Wyndham for Howard Johnson Lakeland, Florida. I spoke to the front desk clerk.
Their response was that the original reservation (attached) was an obvious error and that they could not honor the original reservation as they have remodeling costs. The $55 was the 2018 rate.
I was told a lie as the published rate today for the room I wanted is $55.00.
Obviously a seasonal supply and demand rate rather than remodeling cost.

Howard Johnson Lakeland Florida will not honor this reservation. After increasing rate to $87.50 per night, I cancelled.
I request that in good faith my original reservation be honored and reinstated.

Thank You
Joseph Andryshak

20

This hotel is extremely filthy! The rooms online look completely different than in person. The smell is horrendous from the lobby to the room. I can’t convey how soiled this hotel is everywhere. The room had water spots all over the ceiling, with peeling paint on the walls. The curtains have little black spots that looks like mildew all over them with stains. The bathroom has cracked tiles, rusted door edges, and black spots that look like mildew everywhere. The walls, door, bed throw, lamps, furniture all are dirty. It’s great they offer complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport but this place needs an extreme makeover. Newark, New Jersey airport location.

20

We spent 3 nights (10/18-20/21) in Newburgh, NY. We made a last minute decision to attend Family Weekend at West Point but our usual hotel was sold out! There were not many options but I checked Expedia & Trip Advisor for information! There were mixed reviews, many bad but mgmt. response was that they were renovating! I even called & asked how the renovations were progressing! The Wyndham name should not be associated with this property! It is old, smelly, shabby & reflected NO improvements! Painting over obvious defects with no attempt to repair is misleading! Long past its prime & possibly beyond bringing up to an acceptable standard, it is a great disservice to mislead the public in booking a room that is far from acceptable! The attached photos show the drapery with the foam backing worn away in sections. The other is the chair which I would not even sit in! To their credit, the breakfast was appealing, clean & offered a nice variety! Please resolve this or I will be posting on the West Point Parents blog to avoid this hotel! I hope to receive a response! I was unable to post a review on Expedia because I never received the link?!

20

My gf and I are victims of Hurricane Michael. We were left homeless because of the storm. Upon arriving to our room in Dothan, AL, we realized there was no handle on the door. We called the front desk and we were told someone would be up to fix it. This was at 5pm. Someone FINALLY came to our door at 12 MIDNIGHT after we repeatedly called the front desk because we couldn't get out of our room. The manager HANDED me a door handle and said "Put it on. Problem solved" Then proceded to walk away. I was furious at this point and told him I wanted a refund because of this (along with 2 roaches, 3 spiders, and bedbugs) He told me to "File a lawsuit and take it up with an attorney" I paid $90 that I could not afford to try to have one night of relaxation and instead was basically slapped in the face because of negligence on the manager's part. I hope this is not how all of your hotels are run.

20

Lighting fixtures on wall didn't work. No bulb in the desk lamp. No bag to put dirty towels in. No ice bucket or plastic cups in the room.

The Owner is totally incompetent. As the line grew longer, she was gone from the desk about 15 times over a 40 min period. When she left the desk, she went to the parking lot to use her cell phone. Meanwhile, her assistant didn't know enough about entering computer details, so everything stopped and the customers got more frustrated. It took me 45 minutes to to get to the registration desk and another 30 minutes to oget our room key. She bickered with us about the confirmed price of the room we reserved online. She was screaming at other customers. One customer came in and his room was flooded. She castigated the assistant for giving him a new room at the same price!!!!!!

I will never, never go to Howard Johnson's again!

20

Conf. # R1186597416
I was looking for a total charges including tax and services and it got confirmed by mistake. I did cancel it immediately but did not realize that it was nonrefundable charges. Would very much appreciate a refund.
Thanks
Lakshmi

20

On the 12th of July 2018, I arrived at the hotel. The first thing we notice was that the bathtub was filthy dirty and it had pubic hair on the wall near the soap dish and that same night my son's dad stayed while I went out and he indicated that he killed a roach. My pajama pants were black, when I got out of and remove the sheet I found a long gray hair (mind you I have short hair). I went out and bought cleaning supplies to clean it. There was a strong smell on the hallway we had to rush ourselves to the room because the smell was bad. I guess the hallway rug was damp. Another thing that I almost forgot to mention is that in the bathtub is a rubber mat that mildew (which could lead to bacteria) as if they don't remove it to wash under. The wash towel inside that bathtub had mildew (also unsanitary may have bacteria) stains at the end of the bar. I stayed because I wanted so bad to see my son at his graduation from bootcamp after an 8 week training and I traveled from Puerto Rico.

20

To whom this may concern (General Manager, Regional Manager, or Corporate Headquarters),

My name is Yadira Alvarez. Back in March, 2018 I planned our yearly family vacation with my mother, my children, my sister, and my little nephew. This year, since my fiancé is serving in Iraq, we decided not to travel too far, so we decided to go to Hershey Theme Park. We planned our trip for June, right when school was out, but made our reservation with your hotel in May. So, in the morning of June 28th, at 6:00 am, my family and I made the 8-hour road trip (including a 2-hour traffic), for our yearly vacation from Boston, Massachusetts, to the Howard Johnson hotel located at 473 Eisenhower Blvd., Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, 17111.

During the planning of our vacation, I searched and called around for different hotels until I found the right hotel (so I thought) for my family and I. Apparently, it had exactly what we were looking for. I called and made reservations in May, early in advance so that there would not be any problems with booking the connecting rooms. When I booked the reservation throw Booking.com I requesting connecting rooms. I also called the morning of our arrival on June 28th to make sure that our family had the connecting rooms that we requested. I spoke with a lady. She told me over the phone that she would make sure she'd put us in a connecting room since they had not cleaned the rooms yet. When we finally arrived 8 hours later, a gentleman by the name of Ross greeted us at the front desk and after checking us in, he says, "Ok, here is the key to your connecting rooms, enjoy your stay". My family and I grabbed all of our luggage and headed upstairs to our rooms.

When we get to the room, the room(s) were NOT connecting rooms at all. I go back to the front desk and explain to the gentleman that our rooms were not connecting rooms. Not only were they not connecting rooms, BUT THE ROOM HE GAVE US WAS QUITE DIRTY INDEED. The rug had not been vacuumed, the table was dirty with some sort of crumbs on it and what appeared to be a stain of dried/sticky juice, the microwave was dirty and also had crumbs inside, the coffee maker had not been cleaned from use, the ice bucket had a bug in it and was very dirty, the bathroom was dirty, and outside on the porch was a cup of soda with some liquid inside it. We were moved to a newer (non connecting) room on the first floor, so again we moved all of our luggage to a different room. This "newer room" although was pretty, had a very stinky smell to it, so we were sent back up to the second floor to the same room that was dirty but we made them clean the mess. At this time, it became very embarrassing as there were on-lookers wondering what was going on.

On Friday June 29th, I took my family to Hershey Park and stayed there till closing. We then drove an hour to pick up my mother at Sight & Sound Theatres located at 300 Hartman Bridge Road Ronks, PA 17572. When we returned to our room at 1:00 at 1 AM, after some hours, our air conditioner stopped working. I understand things happen but...does your staff know what's going on in the rooms and, does your hotel have a preventive maintenance program to avoid these (bad experiences)? Our family of 7 at almost 1 in the morning of Saturday, June 30, had to change rooms a third time bc of the AC. We were not happy and having to move all of our stuff out to a new room AGAIN, so late in thd night.....i mean, this is not what we paid for. The third room was not cleaned either. Food was on the floor, the toilet in bathroom was not cleaned, and we were dead-beat TIRED. They were supposed to call us early that morning to they repair/fix the AC before we left and it was around 10:30am and no one had come to repair/fix our AC. We did not want to go to Hershey Park knowing our AC hadn't been repaired/fixed and our personal belongings in the room without one of us there. I got a call from Ross saying that the AC in the room was not repairable and that he would move the 2 cot beds to the other room and we would have to move all of our stuff when we got back. So we were not happy about that since this would be our fourth time having to move AGAIN and our 2nd time having to move everything out of the room at 1 in the morning. We had small children with us. We returned late from Hershey Park after closing (around 12 AM, since we are 30 min away and the Hershey closes at 1). So when we got back to our room around 12 AM, we noticed that they took out the AC and left it on the floor. There was A HOLE from where they took out the AC and they also left the porch door wide open.....AND OUR BELONGINGS WERE IN OUR ROO. THE ENTIRE TIME!! Bugs were flying around the room, on the pillows were bugs, the bed had bugs, and my children's personal pillows had bugs. The maintenance technician that went into our room KNEW our our belongings were in the room.... why would they leave the porch door open and not put the AC back but instead leave a whole on the window were the AC goes????? We were trying to rush a fast as we could since these bugs were getting on our food.

Our stay was not great with all this happening. We had to go throw away our food, and Ross was not helpful at all. We wanted to speak with the General Manager but Ross said I could ONLY speak with him. He said the Hotel owner doesn't speak with people about these problems and would not give me his number or anything and the only thing that they could do for us was give us 20% off the bill that was $232.66 + 14 something for the cot. The total stay price with the 20% off was $196.12. I am not happy about that price being everything we had to go through since the first day we arrived, till the last day. Also, they even charged us for 1 cot which I was not aware of since it was not my fault that they didn't have the connecting rooms that I requested since May and I called that morning of our stay and Ross even handed us our key and said, "here is your room key to the connecting rooms".

My intentions are not to give you a bad review and/or lower your hotel scores and rating. These are NOT my intentions and I would like to believe that the staff at this particular hotel work hard to maintain and keep customer satisfaction at a high. I do ask however, that you put yourselves in my situation and tell me:

1) What could you do to fix this matter and,

2) How would you have taken care of our unpleasant experience?

Thank you in advance for your time in this matter.

Yadira Alvarez
508-250-9848
yadiraa2009@yahoo.com

20

D Hotel doesn't have any Internet that we could use it from our room our own service one work on our phone and we pay for unlimited internet even the phone wouldn't work housekeeping barely came in to take care of her unit they didn't vacuum every day they barely made the bad every day they didn't vacuum every day couldn't clean the bathroom everyday the key cards won't work in the room don't walls are peeling wallpaper and you can see the wall they're just a bunch of terrible people that own this place and a very bad thing for the Howard Johnson name and logo they were willing to give me a 50% discount if I came back to that hotel unfortunately I live in any reason and now I think you guys should give me something because of the experience I had

20

The Howard Johnson's by Wyndham in Moncton are frauds and liars. We booked a room here via Booking.com and after paying for our room went to settle in. When we entered the room it looked like something that should have been rented out by the hour. The sheets looked grey...dirty and wrinkled as if they had not been changed. The rug smelled and looked like it had never been cleaned. The so called white walls had so much dirt on them that I could barely tell it was white....at one time. The toilet actually still had excrement in it. After they showed us a room which was not any better we asked them to cancel our reservation and give us a refund. They refunded us for our dog and told us we had to get the remainder of the refund from booking.com. We have been back and forth for weeks now with booking and the hotel. First the hotel told booking.com that we actually stayed there AND they offered us a 15% discount on our next stay...WE DIDN'T EVEN HAVE A FIRST STAY!!! We left and booked at another hotel for our stay in Moncton! After producing receipts to booking for our other hotel...Howard Johnson's are now claiming that we never canceled which is ANOTHER LIE! My husband said he had heard the desk girl calling someone to take the charge of our room immediately....now we know why.....they have obviously been through this before. I am going to formally lodge complaints with the better business bureau and contact the news media....all stations near and wide...including the Moncton news stations. I will also contact and any other form of business and social media that I can to relay our experience and to warn others about Booking.com and the Howard Johnson's. This experience is the worst we have ever gone though for a hotel!!!!!!!!!!!! At the end of weeks of being on the phone....Booking.com offered us $25.00 for our troubles and that was probably off of our next booking though them.....WE WILL NEVER book through them or book at a Howard Johnson's EVER again!!!! They are fraudulently taking our hard earned money on lies and deception.

20

Please see photo attached

20

I booked a room at Hoard Johnson in Salinas for July 1 to July 2, 2018. As I arrived at the hotel with my family a party of 4. I noticed a swarm of flies right by the Hotel entrance lobby and bud smell around the parking lot. I got my keys to the room and as we headed to the third floor I noticed the same smell of rotten fish around the rooms in every location. while in he room my wife sensed a very strong smell covered with some strong cleaner. I contacted the front desk to see about getting a refund based on nuisances of irreconcilable nature. Front desk clerk was not able to help and said that I needed to contact hotel manager Cynthia. I corporate office and stated my complaint and I was given incident number 4049122. On July 3, I contacted Manager Cynthia to request the refund and her the bad experience the hotel had given us. Cynthia told me she would call me back by 5 p.m to respond to my request. No response was received and I called July 4 and she told me they would not provide the refund because I spend two hour in the hotel and I did not tell them of my disagreements sooner. I explained to her that most of the time I was in the hotel I spend it trying to see if I was going to get a refund and booking another hotel room to spend the approaching night. Other reasons hotel was not disappointment were leaky shower, smaller bed than expected and the cleanliness of the hotel, accommodation in the lobby, the size of the complimentary breakfast room. Thank you in advance for attention to my request.

40

My stay was not horrible at the va beach location. Until an incident occurred on 6/22 ruining our last night no reports were filed and no issues were resolved... I was given a business card with the front desk phone number on it. I called corporate waited the 7days for a call that disnt come. So I sought help online I received an email sending me the same unhelpful phone number to the unprofessional managers. How do your employees drop a broom 5 floors on my vehicle and no incident report is filed or manger available for assistance at 3 on a friday. Its this how you handle complaints passing people around. 8563927820

20

Had wedding guests stay in 5 rooms at your Saugerties NY hotel, they all paid for their own rooms and they are charging me $713 for those rooms , you are getting double payment. manager I spoke to Jacob was very rude and told me I could not get my money returned, because “he” is the one to make that decision.... told me good luck trying... this is very poor business. I am prepared to go as far as I need to , to be refunded the money that was taken from me. I never signed anything with anyone, I never asked anyone to hold or reserve any rooms for me. I would greatly appreciate this matter being taken care of ASAP....

20

Charged me 300$ for smoking in a room now there trying to charge my card 150$ more. Breakfast was not once ready at 6. If manager is getting it ready it will be past 7. They searched my room went threw my personal belongings. Place i teams on my bed. And attempted to black mail me. 27 years of hotels this was the worse. Management here is totally racist on white people. I have many videos to prove all my facts.

20

Woke up to power in hotel all morning even through check out would not give refund, never again

20

I am staying at a Howard Johnson hotel in Harrisburg on Eisenhower Blvd. The front desk gave me the key to room 213 I walked into the room it was not cleaned. Bed not made and trash on the tables. I went to the front desk and they gave me room 109. Open the door. Room is clean but door is off hindge. Manager came and said I just have to lift the door when I close it. I asked for another room and he said this is the last room. This is very bad customer service. I am with a group from Philadelphia here for a bowling tournament and we have many rooms booked with many complaints. I would appreciate if someone would address my situation. Margaret Sherman and Kevin Washington. June 23 into June 24, 2018.

20

My family and I stayed at the Howard Johnson at 1300 Tonnelle Ave. in Jersey City. This was the worse Hotel I ever book to rent. My children arrived at the Hotel and the room smelled of cat urine. We opened the windows up and that didn't help. The carpet was so smelly and moldy. I started to vomit and the smell made me so sick. I am Travel influencer and I would give this Hotel a -0. I would never advise anyone to stay at this Hotel. I am also sending a complaint to BBB about this Hotel as no customer should ever have to endure this.

20

I was 2 1/2 hour early to check in, they told me I would have to pay 20.00 for checking in early.???? Never heard of such a thing...Also the rooms were dirty, trash all over the place..Customer service was terrible.!!! This was in Kissimmee Florida....I have pictures of the dirt, trash, etc....please contact me and I will inform you of more than YOU want to know about your MOtel the Tropical Palms Inn in Kissimmee.!!!! JoJo53@aol.com

20

I reserved 3 rooms or March 10 - 11th for my husband and I and two other couples. My husband and I had to cancel our room, which we did in plenty of time to still get our money back for our room. I have the cancellation confirmation to prove it. They said we didn't cancel in time and won''t give my money back! This is BS! The other two couples who still needed their rooms said the internet pictures were very misleading and people behind the desk didn't know what they were doing and didn't even know how to use the credit card machine. I want my money back and will never be using or recommending Howard Johnson again!!

I sent the below email to the email address the guy told me to and haven't heard back yet.

20

hello we payed 900 for a month stay here at 530 Columbia st Kamloops bc we where here one week and our key card to get in our room we told front desk right away and after many attempts to fix the problem we where told to only lev our room one at a time well this worked for a day or two the hotel master key worked but instead of moving us we where told to use the window witch we did for two weeks till the day came we had forgot to unlock window and I had went to our storage and came back with many bags to sort out on eve I went to front desk and asked to be let in they gave me a card key and pls keep in mind there is always the same worker who lives here and sometimes the owner anyway ov course it dident work as to the fact the lock was still apart so worker came up and tried his master key now this was not working care taker then came up tried keys nothing he left and returned with tools he tried to pryv the window and door work then said he must call owner he did and returned with a key to 109 he told me to stay in there for night keep in mind I just hauled ten bags myself uo stairs to my room door I said no this is not so care taker and another tenant continued to help me and they forsed the door in now they are trying to kick me out with phone calls every day adding to my stress also ther was a leek behind the wall witch was leeking down into another unit we where told to have baths not to shower now in Kamloops there is a shortage of affordable housing due to this many people end up like us in the motels never the less I have been taken advantage of and made to feel very worried about whats next now im from sault ste marie ont and worked at a hj motel for a very long time I know this is not up to standards by far I feel I should get at the very least my cash back from thease people for making my stay here very uncomfortable and upsetting

20

We checked into 2 rooms at the Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Toronto East 22 Metropolitan Rd. Our rooms are absolutely disgusting and do not resemble the pictures on line whatsoever. We have food splatter on the walls, there are stains everywhere mould in the bathrooms. The hallways smell like marijuana and rooms smell like smoke. Hotel staff will do nothing for us when we put in the complaint

20

When checking in our room keys did not work. Our rooms r full of mould and ceilings peiling... Our room for a NON SMOKER is full of mauraua(smoke) the beds r not queens like we ordered. We did not get pull out couches and the pictures advertised is NO where near what our room is.... I would like a refund of my room and free stay at another location...
Please email me back.

20

I stayed at the Howard Johnson in Bakersfield I believe 4 timers. The first 3 were awesome and the staff was amazing. This last trip was absolutely awful. When I got there they stuck me in a room that was absolutely disgusting. So I asked to be changed rooms it was earlier in the evening no problem we’ll they put me in another room that when it got dark mass amounts of cockroaches started coming out of their homes. Not little ones these ones were huge and no they weren’t water bugs straight cockroaches. I called staff at around 1 am she said she’ll move my room I tell her my 6 year old is asleep she tells me she’ll notify management so in the morning I go tak to management she says she’ll have someone come deal with it. Mind you this is early morning didn’t hear nothing from her I asked the maid as she walked by about the roaches and she acts totally shocked to hear about them. So I call the office at 5 and say to management hey what’s up with sending someone down here for these roaches she calls someone and low and behold it’s the maid . She knows exactly where to spray she knows that there is a problem here with them. Mind you I told management that my items were now infested that’s how many roaches there were. So this is after 5 pm I was notified to leave the room so they could spray blah blah blah so I had to sit outside of a room I paid for so it could get sprayed. I go back in around 6 give son a bath get him ready for bed and low and behold the roaches are coming out again so I’m killing them in the walls and then I realize hey this is not acceptable I call the office it’s now after 9 pm and tell them I’m leaving . She says I have to talk to a manager about any type of refund because lord knows they were notified about these huge roaches( not water bugs) so I pack my things and drive back to Pomona before my scheduled departure. Call the next morning manager gives me the run around about some type of discount i then let her no I no exactly what her job is and she’s gonna have to understand my point if view. Now mind you these people were awesome in all my previous stays. I mean amazing. She then gives me the run around about getting back to me after she talks to someone else higher up. I tell her you no I’ll be back I think you guys are awesome because they really were. Well it’s time for my visit to Bakersfield once again and I call the office just to see what was on my memo because I knew it was some reason I wasn’t contacted by management. The woman tells me I’m on the do not rent list. Imagine my surprise that just because I complained about a massive roach infestation I.D be put on the do not rent list. O yeah please keep in mind I had a rental car and like I said my things were infested so that being said the rental had cockroaches also. Absolutely disgusting stay at the Howard Johnson in Bakersfield ca. The managers are the 2 sisters. The surveillance cameras can be looked at just to verify that all this happened. To be out on the do not rent list ... wow

20

Requested 1 night was charged for entire week 454.86 plus she charged card again without my authorization another 105 and 2 dollars filed fraud against them They hang up on me when I call gonna call news station on them scammers

20

Dear Customer Service,
I'd recently stayed at the Howard Johnson Florida in Buenos Aires, Argentina. I was so disappointed and unconfortable at the hotel that my family and I decided not to stay there anymore. The hotel was full and the service was terrible. We arrived on a Saturday and we booked two rooms through booking.com. We wanted to be honest and talk to the person in charge but the person at the reception had no idea of how to solve our situation. No manager present, which surprised us very much since, how I mentioned before the hotel had no rooms left. We were aware that we couldn't cancel our reservation since we already checked in and we had to stay for two nights but we had another reservation after a night staying in Uruguay. We wanted to cancel those two other nights but the manager refused to talk to us after we waited for him to arrive to the hotel around 10:00 am Monday morning. After insisting he decided to come out and said to us that although he had the power to cancel our reservation he chose not to do it. He said he was his will due to our complaints. We accept your terms and conditions of your cancellation policies but we feel we were unheard and we found a very hostil service. We were even threatened by the house keeper. We were upset because they didn't change the bed linens and she said that we were going to be charged if we had stained them. That didn't make sense to us at all. We had insist to get new bed covers, when she said she had none and we had to sleep only with blankets.
We decided not to stay there even if we're going to have our credit card charged. It's really sad the experience we had at your hotel. Just wanted you to know that this is happening in Argentina. We had stayed at your hotels before and had wonderful experiences but not there.
Best Regards,
Angela García

20

On Friday 8/25/2017 I went on Expedia and purchased a suite at the Howard Johnson in Seaside CA address 1893 Fremont Blvd. My reservations were for 08/26/17 to 08/27/17. Originally I intended to purchase the Hotel in Santa Cruz. When the Hotel was booked I realized I made a mistake right away and attempted to cancel the Hotel and obtain a refund. I talked to Taje at the Hotel where he stated he had no authority to put in refund and his manager will tell me the same thing. He advised me to call Expedia.

So I called Expedia and they told me they had to call the Hotel and request a refund on my behalf since the Hotel had a no refund policy. Expedia was unsuccessful with the refund after talking to Taje so I just told Expedia that I would just deal with the mistake I made and stay at the hotel. Upon arriving at the Hotel at 1030pm after driving 45 minutes from Santa Cruz Taje informs me that he cancelled the room on behalf of Expedia.

I was furious! I had my family in the car traveling with 2 small kids and my wife, and Taje tells me that he resold the room I prepaid for while attempting to charge me in addition! Taje flat out blamed Expedia for him cancelling it so I called Expedia in front of him. They noted from my previous calls to them and showed the reservation still active and no requests of cancellation on their part. All of a sudden Taje had the authority to issue a refund... go figure! He also offered me a standard room from another location when I paid for a suite. However, it was one or the other... I could either take the refund or a substandard room. So I took the refund, but Taje should have offered me both given the fact that I had 2 small kids with me, close to midnight, and home was a 2 and a half hour drive.

It was clear to me that Taje was hoping that I wouldn't show up for my reservation in expectation of getting double money for a room. However, Taje was acting on behalf of Howard Johnson... and getting over on customers is not a good business practice that I expect Howard Johnson to make right by me putting me in a dangerous situation with 2 small kids on the road on a Saturday night. All because Howard Johnson had a incompetent employee with bad customer service skills and bad judgment.

What I want out of this is for that employee who gave me the run around, and initially refused my refund request then honored it forcefully to be reprimanded and a apology from Howard Johnson in some kind of monetary action. I hope this makes it to the right person. I can be reached by email but I can also be called at 707-580-2935.

20

Last weekend I stayed at the Howard Johnson on i95 in Saint Augustine I previously wrote an email explaining the:

- broken refrigerator (I specifically needed)
- no working outlets
- No hot water
- Stained sheets
- Cigarette holes in the sheets
- Dirty room
- Broken curtains
- and extremely rude manager to myself and another woman checking out with no working outlets and unhappy stay.

The manager at the time told me "no manager was available and he was the one to refund me and or talk to me. He then gave me an email. I wrote and got no response. I then called and called and finally got someone this morning "Viny".

He says he's the manager and he was the only one working that day and he "Can't help me bc I didn't talk to him when I checked out." I believe it was the same man all along just not wanting to deal with upset customers. At 145.00 I feel I was incredibly ripped off. I got in so late bc of the competition I was in town for I addressed it at the earliest time I could. I have pictures if those will be helpful to you. I just wanted to speak with someone of intelligence and with some business sense.

20

Hotel was dirty ice machine was in bad condition. We complained several times towels were not replaced trash was not taken out owner would not do anything as far as refunding our money. We were very disappointed.

20

Filthy rooms. Hair on floor and tub. The room stank of cigarette smoke and made it hard to breathe. Bedding has burn holes. Blanket was old and nappy. The side door was propped open with a rock providing little or no security. No hot water. I have pictures of hair,bugs, blankets, and overall disrepair and filthy conditions.

20

The hotel in Bartonsville, PA was the worse experience ever. The harsh mold smell that hits you when you walk into your room. The customer service sucked, the toilet flooded in the room and when I went to the front desk the questioned how many times did the child flushed. A worker name Frances suggested I take the plunger to the room to handle the toilet. Excuse me no i am a guest that's not my job, I demanded another room. I felt very offended that he suggested I do their maintenance work. I will never stay at another Howard Johnson hotel.

20

I was informed on check out my deposit of $60 would be mailed to me but guess what no check and it's been over a week. Liars. Thieves. Deplorable room conditions. Howard Johnson in wheatfield co is nasty. I want my deposit refunded as well as a full refund.

40

Howard Johnson west Denver 12100 W 44th Ave. Wheat Ridge, CO was a horrible experience. They charged me $60 for a $50 deposit. I was put in a room that was unsanitary and violated multiple health code violations. No lock on the door. Old food left in a dirty fridge Blood smear on the wall and broken furniture. Dirty and stained bed linens. Mold on floor and walls from a wet carpet. Tried to contact the front desk person for two hours and no response because the phone was Off and he was nowhere to be found.

Front desk attendant also threatened to charge my card if the " towels were missing"! What towels...the room didn't even have towels! Finally got moved to a different room and was notified by the Vietnamese owner I would not be getting my deposit back because "the other room was used". Yes she's referring to the nasty original room they put me in that was a health hazard...where I barely sat on the bed. Because I was afraid to touch anything.

20

Filthy room. We had to leave it was infested with spiders, some beetle looking bug, dirty walls, toilet, table, phone. Not just old looking, seriously filthy dirty. I have never had such an experience. We did not end up staying, we had to pay again for another hotel. We booked through Hotwire.com ( we have used this in past) non refundable. Howard Johnson management has definitely lowered there standards. It's a big rip off now! Sorry pictures didn't capture very well.

40

I reserved a reservation in the wrong city. When I asked if I could just have my money refunded and switch a reservation to another Howard Johnson. The lady working the front seat told me know. This is definitely something that will keep me from doing business with this chain for future travels.

40

The owner and GM of the Howard Johnson is a very low down coward. My mother was in a head on crash the same day we check into the motel so he gave us the room for a week possibly six and seven been up for three days we do not have AC and award icebox nor Mike White work and still does not work.

Then he accuse mod disabled mother that can't even breathe the smoke emergent wanna in the room, and your multiple staff to say they smelled marijuana coming from the room when in fact they never did and I have confirmed all this with each and every member that works here. So you try to have a guy named Billy call me up to the front office and told me all of them $100 for smoking in the room which we never smoke in the room cigarettes. He was going to lock us out of the room well that didn't work for Michael called him and he still didn't want to do it so my recommendation is to never ever.

Howard Johnson is going to work Six Flags fiesta Texas it is not work it is not worth the money for the headaches and will go through the out of country gotten there is only one thing in mind is making money and not paying taxes back on the money they borrowed to start these businesses that's why they switch it into a different families names of names every 10 years 0% interest rate on it it is also a drug invested and he runs prostitution ring out here also.

40

My wife and I recently stayed at the Scott La. location: May 10th. We were looking forward to a relaxing dip in the pool, (as advertised), after a long travel day. The pool filter was in pieces laying in mud, the pool gate was chained closed with a dead mouse and debris floating on it. To make matters worse, we were a couple rooms in from the entrance; opposite the main entrance. The bldg. door which should have taken a key to access, looked as if it had been opened with a crow bar. All moving parts and locking mechanisms missing, hinges were sprung so it would not close flush. No security what so ever. We were extremely disappointed and would like compensated!

40

We checked into a Howard Johnson in Addison. Being a familiar name hotel, we were going to stay several nights due to I was on crutches and couldn't get to my 3rd floor apartment. We checked in late but found ants on the floor in the bathroom in the middle of the night and when I seen a bedbug we decided to check out, as I was checking out another couple with children had the same problem. The lady told me there was no manager on site and then proceeded to ask for the corporate phone number, which the referred to not having one. Howard Johnson is a well known name, and I called the health department to find out Howard Johnson is on the list for the county being reviewed.

There wasn't a apology, discount, or even a concern with this problem that was brought to Howard Johnson's attention. I have stayed at Howard Johnson's before and never came across being unsatisfied like I was today. I suggest taking care of this problem before Howard Johnson's name is ruined.

100

If I can help it I usually stay at a Howard Johnson motel. They tend to be cleaner than most and well managed. No complaints here, the customer service it top notch.

80

Planning a trip and have a low budget !! Well not to worry when Howard Johnsons have the right planning. Here you get some amazing deals like we did. We had got discounts on the bookings done through them. The hotels were neat and tidy. Service was really excellent and worth every penny. My family loved the vacation stay and we planned to go through Howard Johnson in the near future too.

Have feedback for Howard Johnson?

Thanks for your feedback!

Sorry. Please try again later!