Safeway Customer Service
Rated 1.39 of 5 Stars
Based on 51 Complaints

Contact Safeway Corporate

Toll free phone number: 925-467-3000

Safeway www.safeway.com is an American supermarket chain. It is privately held although throughout its long history has been part of many takeovers and sell offs by publicly held companies. In 2013 revenues were reported as US 36 billion. With 1,300 stores in 19 states, Safeway employs over 265,000.

If you have a problem with service or Safeway products you may call 1-877-258-2799. You may also contact Customer Service here. Use the following address if you would like to send a letter to Safeway CEO, Robert L. Lewis, 5918 Stoneridge Mall Rd. Pleasanton, CA 94588. The corporate office phone number is 925-467-3000.  Using Customer Service Mail, Safeway, Inc. M/S 10501, P.O. Box 29093, Phoenix, AZ 85038 is another offered postal mail support.

In 1915 MB Skaggs purchased a tiny grocery store from his father. In 1926 he owned 428 stores in 10 states. That same year Skaggs merged with Safeway. Some of the “firsts” that Skaggs implemented were: sell by dates; parking lots and price by the pound. In 2015 Albertsons purchased Safeway. Social presence is found on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and Instagram.


Experienced poor service? File a complaint here!

Safeway Contact Information

Report complaints to corporate and get satisfaction

  • Safeway headquarters address

    • 5918 Stoneridge Mall Road
    • Pleasanton
    • CA 94588
    • United States
  • Company website

  • 1-800 phone number

    925-467-3000
  • Better Business Bureau rating

    A+

  • Customer service hours

    24 hours a day

Browse reviews of other Supermarkets



Top Safeway Complaints

Browse more than 51 reviews submitted so far

20

My complaint is about the way safeway in bullhead City Arizona meat dept. Really its a joke how that dept is ran and i think its ridiculous how you have meat cutters you pay $20 or more an hour act as though a customer request us an inconvenience to them i also think its ridiculous the way Safeway is treating one the best employees Safeway has ever had and that dept is overworking him and severely under paying him and i wouldnt be surprised if he did find a different job .......also he was employee of the month and has still. Not received the gold name badge ......

20

I’m not sure if the current condition started with the consolidation with Albertsons or when the latest manager started at the Ukiah store, but customer service (specifically the number of checkers available at any given time) is very bad and getting worse. Most of the employees are excellent and the complaint concerns the lack of checkers available to serve the customer. I have stood in line with no less than 6 other individuals the last 4 times I have shopped at the Ukiah store. There are at least 8 checkout lanes yet there are never more than 3 checkers available. What is the matter with you? I have shopped at this store since 1979 and this situation is terrible!!! If you can’t make positive changes expect to lose me as well as many other customers. We talk with each other quite extensively while we wait in line to pay for our groceries. The last 9 years I have used my wife’s phone number and name for purchases so if I don’t show up on your database you can check under Judi Walsh (judiwalsh77@gmail.com) - she’s disgusted also. Hope you get smart and make improvements or there won’t be a Safeway store much longer, people will go to Raleys or Luckys or the Coop.

Tom McDonough

20

Went into our nearest Safeway today with my son to go grocery shopping and came back outside to find damage on my vehicle. We were parked pretty close to the entrance, and I've gone to this location a million times and have never had any issues, much less so any like this. When I inquired within, the person behind the customer service counter said if there were video of the parking lot I'd have to obtain a police report. I'm livid. This happened at the 5060 N academy location. The manager was very much so not concerned with my issue once addressed.

20

To whom it may concern:
I am still terribly upset by the rude conduct of Pharmacist Shannon Herman in the Antioch Osco! On April 17,2019, I had called in my prescription for Irbasartin, I always had gotten a 3 month supply. Shannon Herman gets on the phone with me and starts berating me about how this drug has been recalled for the last 4 months! I had told this woman I had no idea this was the case as Osco never informed me or my doctor with this serious information. I told her I was just in to see my doctor and she never said a word about it! I said to Shannon I really needed my medicine as I was just about out. She starts yelling at me that she only has 10 pills and that won't help me and that I need to call my doctor and have her call the pharmacy. So I asked her if she thought maybe another Osco would have them? Shannon told me she had no idea and that she could not help me!!!!!!!
So I hung up with her and called my old Osco in Spring Grove. It was like night and day . (First of all when I lived in Richmond, the staff at the Spring Grove Osco were like wonderful friends .Pharmacist Natalie Johnson and the whole pharmacy staff always looked out for me!!) Well I talked to Natalie Johnson and conveyed to her what had transpired at the Antioch Osco with Shannon Herman. Natalie calmed me down and said she would get a hold of my doctor and see if she could get the medicine changed to something different. Natalie said as soon as she hears back she will call me and she would send them to the Antioch Osco. Please give this wonderful woman Natalie Johnson a commendation for her great customer service!!!
Because I live in Antioch and not in Richmond anymore I have decided to do my business at CVS Pharmacy! I will never do business with Osco Drug ever again!!!! And you can bet I let everyone on the internet know what happened to me!!

20

Boy have you ever screwed up the online just for u. It is now totally useless. It used to be OK but now it's not!

20

I angel Luckett brought a bucket of chicken from the Safeway deli on the 15th of April I didn't eat anything all that day and I only had a peace of toast the day before .I went home and started eating the chicken that I bought and then I layed down and when I got up the next morning I started feeling chills cramps and I was throwing up and had the runs bad every five to ten minutes I was running with the runs and throwing up St the same time I tried to ignore it by drinking lots of water but I still was really sick so my friend drove me to the emergency we're they out a iv in me because I was dehydrated and my blood pressure was way over the amount it should of been so the doctor told me it was food poison are a bacteria from the chicken now I contacted s lady named Karen kehr and she's taking my case at this time I faxed her my doctor info and the receipt from the day I bought the chicken I live in Seattle WA and this has never happened to me before and the lady Karen has been very rude towards me and I don't think it's fair when I'm the victim here so I told her I would have a lawyer get a hold of her are the Safeway corpate she's trying to debate with me that my doctor's papers is not saying but it is saying it saying that I had diarrhea and my blood pressure was very high I didn't eat anything besides that chicken all day and I have a whitness my friend that was with me all day she's the same one who took me to the emergency my blood pressure was so high I could of died I'm very disappointed with Safeway and it's no way to treat a customer I have been shopping at Safeway for many years I don't deserve to get treated the way Karen kher is treating me she stated that she wants the bill I talked with swedish hospital and they are mailing the bill and the balance is 943.00 as soon as it comes I will be faxing that over also I'm trying to avoid getting a lawyer I just want to be treated fair I was sick for almost a week my suffering and pain was very stressful my phone number is 206)698-0572 thanks and I hope to here from someone soon ASAP

20

My husband was with me when I Called up on a call a day prior that I needed more Diabetic Test Strips they they did not work consistantly. [Acu-check] I needed help. it was NOT their job! sHE ONLY SAID At the time there was one gentlement infront of us and we gave him ample room but yelling and rude we could still hear them. He was upset about an order called in and not filled on time. My turn, my husband and I stepped up. and I explained what was wrong. The tech only rudely yelled at me for using up my aloted new Diabetic Strips [100 2 vial all but 9 worked and the 2nd vial did not work with a E-9 error since purchacing 3/18/19] I know how to fix Meters having used them since 2007. She scrampled to retrack.!. I tried to explain but instead We and the other 4 persons behind us heard the tech rudely and very loudly like a Military drill sargent, Did not see her name tag but she was dark haired and approximately a size !9-20 Womans.moving her hands from her body screaming 'privacy, we have to have strinct privacy here! This is a new policy and I have to enforce it! Scared the 4 patrons half out of their witts and jumped back in fear, I said as I looked back there is privacy and ample toom! She screamed again. One woman left. I said I have not had my blood sugar taken in 2 days and was very concerned. That was not her concern and I made a mistake and must pay for it! I was told to call my MD because I used more than one strip a day. I told her mer it was why the strips didn't work correctly and my Blood sugar was 157 and 163. I tried to explain to no avail It was my FAULT.. I had changed the batteries, cleaned it to no help,etc.. mY USBAND FINALLY TRIED AND FOUND THE BATTERY DID NOT PRESS DOWN ALL THE WAY. I was verbally pushed out. my husband and I have been going there there ON A REFERAL, for 12 years.I knew the new crew was in and should have known when no regulars were there, no friendly hello, WE WILL NEVER GO THERE AGAIN. i AM AN LPN AND ALSO WAS A PHARMACT ASS'T LEVEL A AND NEVER IN MY CAREER WOULD i EVER TREAT A PERSON LIKE A BIMBO! You have lost two faithful patrons. i KNOW MANY WHO GO THERE AND THEY HAVE ALREADY TALKINGABOUT THEIR TREATMENT. Good bye!

20

My husband was with me when I Called up on a call a day prior that I needed more Diabetic Test Strips they they did not work consistantly. [Acu-check] I needed help. it was NOT their job! sHE ONLY SAID At the time there was one gentlement infront of us and we gave him ample room but yelling and rude we could still hear them. He was upset about an order called in and not filled on time. My turn, my husband and I stepped up. and I explained what was wrong. The tech only rudely yelled at me for using up my aloted new Diabetic Strips [100 2 vial all but 9 worked and the 2nd vial did not work with a E-9 error since purchacing 3/18/19] I know how to fix Meters having used them since 2007. She scrampled to retrack.!. I tried to explain but instead We and the other 4 persons behind us heard the tech rudely and very loudly like a Military drill sargent, Did not see her name tag but she was dark haired and approximately a size !9-20 Womans.moving her hands from her body screaming 'privacy, we have to have strinct privacy here! This is a new policy and I have to enforce it! Scared the 4 patrons half out of their witts and jumped back in fear, I said as I looked back there is privacy and ample toom! She screamed again. One woman left. I said I have not had my blood sugar taken in 2 days and was very concerned. That was not her concern and I made a mistake and must pay for it! I was told to call my MD because I used more than one strip a day. I told her mer it was why the strips didn't work correctly and my Blood sugar was 157 and 163. I tried to explain to no avail It was my FAULT.. I had changed the batteries, cleaned it to no help,etc.. mY USBAND FINALLY TRIED AND FOUND THE BATTERY DID NOT PRESS DOWN ALL THE WAY. I was verbally pushed out. my husband and I have been going there there ON A REFERAL, for 12 years.I knew the new crew was in and should have known when no regulars were there, no friendly hello, WE WILL NEVER GO THERE AGAIN. i AM AN LPN AND ALSO WAS A PHARMACT ASS'T LEVEL A AND NEVER IN MY CAREER WOULD i EVER TREAT A PERSON LIKE A BIMBO! You have lost two faithful patrons. i KNOW MANY WHO GO THERE AND THEY HAVE ALREADY TALKINGABOUT THEIR TREATMENT. Good bye!

20

There is a man everyone at the store knows as Michael. He stands in front of the entrance all day smoking, spitting, cussing and asking for money. I have complained to numerous employees many times, as have other customers. When he is asked to leave, he just keeps coming back. He uses the money he gets for scratch cards and if he loses throws a fit. Today I came to my breaking point. He stood close behind me as I was getting scratch cards and was looking at how much I had put in. He got irate and started cursing. He was way to close to me also. Please have this man not allowed on the premises to harass me and my children when all we want to do is shop.

20

I was aware of how courteous the cashier was with the customer ahead of me, thanking the customer at the end of their transaction. During my checkout I noticed the cashiers facial expression and attitude totally change. After giving me my change from my transaction, I thank her. While walking away I remembered that she did not give me my monopoly tickets and turned back to her and said, "excuse me madam, you didn't give my monopoly tickets. In an agitated response, she replied, " we're all out!!!!!! I then told her I was going to report her attitude to the store manager. She then handed me 8 ticktes!!!!!!!!!! I did speak to the store manager about the incident. He said he would take of it. I was upset leaving the store and felt as if I had come face to face with a " pit viper".

20

For the second time in a year the Safeway on Balfour in Brentwood CA has no crab on sale. Safeway ran an ad for 3 day sale of crab and when I went to the store to buy they had no crab and did not know if they would get any. I talked to the asst. manager and was told it was subject to availability and they could not get it but the ad ran anyway. Now, here is the kicker-- The Livermore Safeway has plenty of sale crab so it is available. This tells me there is something wrong in the Balfour Safeway as this is the second time this has happened. Someone is not ordering when ads run or does not know what they are doing. Availability is not the issue but running the seafood dept. and management is the issue. Don't run ads that
ALL your stores cannot fulfill and pass it off as availability. I will no longer shop at this safeway

20

I live in Lakeside, AZ and shop at the local Safeway store for grocery and pharmacy items. This store is very poorly managed. We have had higher than average snowfall and when we went to the store to pick up a prescription, the parking lot was not plowed and extremely dangerous. I confronted the manager Dave something, he had a lame excuse that because there were cars in the parking lot, nothing could be done. Really? He and some other employees could have been working snow shovels because the store wasn't very busy at all. He has NO compassion for the people that frequent that particular store. If they can't afford to address the parking lot, close them down until a new manager has a realistic plan.

I would appreciate an answer to this problem.

20

we went to our local safeway at 7340 35th ave ne seattle to purchase some things one of which was crown we pushed the service button there where 6 of us waiting the lady that came to help all of us told us lets get this over with I don't have time for this I said excuse me. and asked her her name and she said rachell .I called store manager right away to complain ass a paying customer I don't expect to be talked to like that.

20

The personnel at the woodland Washington Safeway pharmacy are the rudest most unprofessional folks I have ever had to do business with. I feel they should have to answer to a supervisor or something, I really feel Safeway corporate should address some of the issues with their woodland Washington pharmacy employees, they can do a lot better job.

20

1018 Casitas Pass Rd Carpinteria Ca. 93013

Yesterday around 5:00 pm I unloaded my groceries and returned the cart. There was a girl that was going to follow me to my house cause she had never been there before. I backed out of my parking spot and was still going backwards for 2 more car stalls and then I backed in a parking stall. With no car on either side for at least 3 stalls. A male employee that was collecting carts walks up to me and says that was a stupid thing to do! You don’t pull in a car stall backwards your lucky you didn’t hit anyone. He was pretty angry. I was surprised he said that since there was no one around where I was. The girl in the car right across from me witnessed the whole thing. I apologized to him and thought he maybe saw something that I didn’t. So I said said did I hit anything?! He said no. I said ok thanks. And he started yelling profanities at me and as I was driving away he even threatened me to beat me up. I’m a pretty big guy but also a mellow one. I laughed it off and I’m also very hard to intimidate. But for how rude, and all the profanity, and making threats to me, I wondered how many other customers is this guy doing this to. Definitely not giving Albertsons a good reputation in our small town of Carpinteria.
Sincerely, Ty Patton

20

I hear your company is in trouble. I believe I have discovered the reason. I shop at your store in Clackamas,Or on Webster Rd. My experience is that if 3 checker are needed your co. has one on duty, with lines reaching out into the isles. However my main complaint is you no good 2nd rate pharmacy. I have had to make multiple trips back over the last couple of years to get a prescription filled, always an excuse of no physician response. I have a new Dr. 12 days ago, I ordered 5 Prescriptions. 2 were out of date. 4 days later, no medications. By 4th trip, no medications. Asked to see if they had been ordered & no record of ordering was found, plus no medications. Promised it would be done. After 3 days returned, & some of the medications were in. However, was advised I would have to return in unknow hrs. as they had no personnel available to release the medications. Here I am 12 days after ordering meds. 3 to 4 days goings without needed diabetic medications, & your 3rd world pharmacy is too cheap, too disorganize, too inept to provide medications in any timely manor or have employee capable of dispensing dedications ? I definitely will look elsewhere for future meds, groceries or whatever your stores tries to sell. If your companies cease to exist, I don't think you will be missed.

20

I am an avid shopper at Safeway in Gilroy & have been there to many times lately that someone is walking out of the store with groceries Alcohol, baby formula & the checker says there isnt anything we can do. Well I suggest you have someone at the doors checking their receipts like Walmart & Costco. I will quit shopping there until you do something about this stealing. That only ups the price of groceries. so I will be going to walmart until I hear you have solved this problem. Thank you!!!! Kay Carlson

20

Yesterday I shopped at Safeway to pick up 8 pieces of chicken, the only purchase I made. I waited in line behind a man who also had one item. When the cashier finished checking him out he told me to go to another check out line. Why? I had one item, no one was behind me either since the store was not busy at that time. (11;30 am). I felt that was very rude not to check me out. I called customer service when I got home, got a manager who listened to me and then, without putting me on hold, talked/took care of another customer complaint. Very, very poor customer service all around. I may not shop at Safeway again, but if I do, I will certainly not shop at that store again!!

20

Store #4833-Canada- purchased a Danone yogurt on Friday, December 28, 2018- sticker said 50% off- new clerk never saw it- any way- never gave the discount. MY offers site was temporary down on that day- so couldn't download offers to my Air-miles card- spoke to the assistant manager- was told to bring my receipt in at a later date and would receive my air miles. On December 31 went in to shop- went to customer service and got the manager-Dale ????- had the lid from the yogurt, my receipt- he said I could have brought in a lid from an old product, already got the discount-, needed the whole container- so he could get the UPC code, asked if he couldn't look at another yogurt- no needed the whole container- - so set it aside- talked him about the air miles- said my print out could have been from any old outdated offers- so unless I could prove when the offers were available- he couldn't do anything- was so mad grabbed my things- told him I'd never shop in that store again.
Now I have to suck it up- if I want air miles and shop in this store -I have shopped in Safeway for over 50 years, did Demos for them, to be called a crook !!!!!! Was only asking for what I was in titled to. This is not the first time that he has been nasty- asked him about Puffed Wheat once and he jumped down my throat.
I want to be able to shop in comfort at this store- no hassle from the manager !

20

Someone digitally stole a Safeway gift card from me last summer. The card was for $50. When my daughter I bought the card for tried to use it, she told me there was zero balance on the card. I went to the Safeway customer service desk to complain. I showed the clerk my receipt for the card. The Safeway customer service clerk gave me a number to call, which I did. The call taker got all of my information, and gave me a case number. Apparently, someone had stolen the numbers on the card, then spent all of it. That happened back in last July. Now, 4 months later, I have heard nothing from Safeway, and I feel that I have been lied to by them, and I have decided to NEVER again buy a Safeway gift card, because they are not secure. I wish I could give the experience I had "zero" stars.

20

This store in Willcox is the worst. They finally got rid of the manager, but 90% of the employees are rude. The products are out dated you have to check the date on every thing we buy. Today I had my Just For U List. They had nothing... I asked a produce guy if they changed things, his response was " I DON"T KNOW". The cashier told me they had trouble ordering.. Safeway is lucky we have no other store in Willcox or they would be out of buissness. But the people of Willcox are trying to get a STORE We hope something will be done..

80

I was in the store on 10/22/2018 4:15 pm I went to the hot food bar to get dinner and discover that a vegetable item ( corn) needed to be replaced on the serving table I ask a lady attendant do they have corn available she said that she would the gentleman in charge of that counter when she ask him about the corn he said no without saying why the vegetable cannot be replaced at 4:15 in the evening the food bar closes at 7:00 there was plenty of time for the vegetable to be replaced I was VERY INSULTED ABOUT THIS I went to the customer service department to the manager Mr Simon and he handle my problem that I had very quickly and I was VERY HAPPY HOW THIS PROBLEM WAS TAKEN CARE OF Mr Simon is a very professional manager at store 2737 in Washington DC Mr Simon takes his manager's postion VERY SERIOUSLY I gave 4 stars because of Mr Simon being such an outstanding Manager at that store

20

I was in Safeway in Quesnel Yesterday Im not Happy the door is still broken as someone was coming out I was hit by the door opening very quickly hit me hard Im dissabled almost fell Its taking alon time to fix but its becoming dangerous. On a second note I was buy groceries got to the Check out to get a rain check to every flavor of KD is on sale but you were out of the sharp chedder I was told no rain check if its not in the flyer If you want to knock me down and not let me buy your groceries I can surely take my business else where 250-249-5757

20

For years I've been a big fan of the fried chicken at the Eastgate Albertson's store. For some time after the transition to Safeway, the fried chicken at the deli remained consistently good. However, the last two times it has just been terrible, and the same problems: 1) Completely full trays of fried chicken, but it's all breasts and 2) it's either overcooked in the first place or kept under the heating lights for so long that it is completely dried out.
The 8-pack of dark that we bought tonight abut 6:30 was just ridiculous. First, she's got two full trays of fried chicken - but it was all white breast pieces. She ended up putting one thigh, 6 wings and one breast in the bag (there were no legs in the tray at all). When we got home, we found the chicken was so dry it was virtually inedible. The wings were so overcooked they literally shattered when I bit into one. Not sure if it's the deli staff or a manager who's making poor decisions on how much to cook, what pieces to cook, or how long to hold it in the trays, but it's really bad.
You've raised the price from $5.99 to $7.49 and the quality has gone down. How do you think your customers are going to react? We could live with the higher price if it was the same as we bought for years from Albertsons's. My wife swears the recipe changed as well, but I can't tell, it' so dry.
You need to fix this if you want to keep your customers.

40

Having lived in this area for 30 plus years and having shopped there the entire time, I am now 70 years old and fairly handicapped, with Arthritis, leg vein issues and more. I use the electric cart to shop, as I can only do a little walking with a cart.
There is just one electric cart, which makes it difficult with this area having a large senior population.
For the past 2 1/2 weeks this cart has been out of service. I have inquired several times as to when it would be fixed.
The 1st. time I was told, it won't be long, the 2nd time I called and the customer service person said IDK I didn't even know it wasn't working and finely a few days ago I ask the manager in person, he said oh it's hard to tell, they will stop by next time they are in the area. WOW, I guess this is how much this Safeway cares about their handicapped and elderly citizens.
This store serves a number of communities and needs to have at least two electric carts, regularly maintained.
They should also be parked in a convenient location, instead of halfway down a ramp, that does get wet and slippery.
This stores management needs to show us some compassion and value as customers and people.

20

Unbelievably pompous and rude customer service from Charles at the Safeway pharmacy on 7/12/18 at the store on Pioneer Parkway in Springfield OR. I will now write to your CEO and tell him all about itin detail. I will no longer fill my prescriptions there and will look for other stores for my grocery shopping.

20

I am very upset and angry with attitude I got at the store. I wanted to use Safeway station to fill up my car, however I wanted to use safeway gift card for that. My card had $22 on it which was not enough for fill up. I came to Safeway #705 and tried to get another Safeway card and pay for it with existing safeway and add additional money, for the total of $75. I not only wasn't allowed doing that but while I tried to resolve issue with the cashier, I was told (by cashier) that I was holding off the line and I need to move away.
This is very frustrating. It is not the first time I have issue of purchasing Safeway gift card. Sometimes I have e-gift card that can't be scanned at your gas station and that needs to be transferred to physical card, sometimes card demagnetizes and needs to be replaced, but ALWAYS I face with issues of exchanging your own Safeway gift cards to your own Safeway cards.
Please help me resolve this issue once and for all.

Kindly,
Bella

20

Tonight at the Green Valley, Az. Store located at 1305 W. Duval Mine Rd. only the 20 item lane was open. I had 29 items. As I was placing my items on the checkout counter, the cashier Noah was eating and drinking. I said to him did you not get a break? His reply was not enough time. I asked the gal bagging the items that I would like to be helped to my car as I purchased some heavy items. She then proceeded to walk toward the door about 20 feet ahead of me without the cart. I said to Noah what's going on and he called her and she hestitantly started walking back towards us. I pushed my cart to exit and told her that I plan to report her. She was totally disconnected with what was happening. She appeared to be on drugs or something. I believe her name was Hailie.

20

I went to return back my propane gas cylinder (Amerigas) since I was moving. I had previously purchased it from this Safeway location. The representative at customer service told me that they don't return it back (they only sell it or exchange it). They told me that I should contact Amerigas for refund. They told me it was ok to leave the cylinder outside with the Amerigas station so we left the cylinder there.

Following is the Safeway address:
950 W Hamilton Ave, Campbell, CA 95008

The customer service representative basically told us that we need to contact Amerigas for refund even though I paid it Safeway when I purchased it.

I will appreciate if you please help us get a refund since we returned the cylinder? Also, we are concerned about the safety since we had to leave it outside and think it should be processed by Safeway as a return asap.

Sincerely,

Asif

20

Back in February 17th of this year my wife complained about the coffee I had made; it just didn't taste right. It tasted so bad that she said she couldn't drink her coffee! Upon investigation we discovered that the problem was not the coffee, per se, but the half and half she had added to the coffee -- the LUCERNE Fat Free Half & Half.

It turns out that it's loaded with chemicals we cannot even pronounce along with 2 forms of SUGAR. I sent you my complaint back then (February 17th) but never heard from you. Now you advertise that this product carries a 100% guarantee and we paid about $4.00 for it. Can you make good on your guarantee?

Or is your guarantee worthless?

Here are the numbers you may want:
A2 06-499
Bar code # 21130 07094

20

I have been shopping at the safeway store in Anderson California for over 20 years, and have frequently spent over 600 dollars per week there. I am writing to let you know that I will no longer be a safeway customer at this or any other safeway store. I have had poor experiences with the pharmacy there off and on for quite some time. Delays in filling prescriptions, poor customer service and drugs that are out of stock. My most recent experience involved dropping off several prescriptions to be filled. My upon returning to pick them up, the male pharmacist informed me that a generic equivilent for one was available at substantial savings. He said they did not have it but could get it and have it ready the next day. I appreciated the suggestion and agreed. I sent my daughter back two days later to pick up the generic drug and the female pharmacist on duty said there was nothing for me. My daughter proceeded to call me from there and ask what it was. At some point, the pharmacist actually got on the phone to find out what the drug was and when it was ordered. When I explained to her what the brand was and that they were supposed to get me a geneeric, she proceeded to treat me like a 6 year old. She said there was no generic and that she was the pharmacist and she obviously knew more that I did. Then, she proceeded to read me a list of my medications over the phone and asked me to " pick one that you think is the generic for this since you know so much more that I do" . Not only did she raise her voice and talk to me like I was an idiot, she also found it appropriate to loudly start reading off medications that I take in front of my daughter and other customers. I have never encountered any employee in any business that was so openly and loundly rude and condiscending in my life. At the end of her rant, she just roughly stuffed my daughters phone back into her hands and walked away, dismissing me, my daughter and the situation. I have already transferred my prescriptions to another facility, and I will now be driving an additional 24 miles round trip to purchase my groceries and other items from a competing retailer. In a small town with various stages of unemployment and depressed financial situations, it surprises me that your company would tolerate such an employee. You can check the records in your store to verify both my spending habits, as well as the event that took place in the pharmacy using your very own recores of items I received in the past month from there. Perhaps you can persuade other customers from leaving based upon the poorest customer service I have ever encountered.

Cordially,

Deborah Jackson
530-365-5172

20

Today I went through the self help line at the westlake safeway. The checker had to come help me 3 times because of the lame prompts by the computer. Then when I completed my transaction I checked the receipt and found the computer charged me 3.99 for each artichoke when the sign at the produce section said 2 for $5.00. When I told the checker and she told me to go to the customer service center which about 7 people in line already. Is this your idea of customer service? This is not the first time I have encountered customer service problems at this establishment. Your managers should be ashamed at their inability to keep customers happy. You are nothing without loyal customers and your employees suffer the consequences of not keeping customers happy. Trader Joe's is sounding more and more like a place I should take my business. Let me know what you think!!!

20

I have been to a number of Safeway stores up and down the West Coast and all have a terrible checkout process.
Wait times are long and long lines exist no matter what time of day you go in. Don't know if they are trying to save money, or just don't care about their customers. I have stopped going to Safeway, and have been going to Winco and Wal-Mart, where there is self checkout and few lines.

20

Purchased a cake from the bakery of your molalla oregon store on 10/10/2017. Beautiful cake. Had leaves ect on it. Thinking that the leaves ect are fondant served the cake. child chewed up one of the leaves and there was a piece of wire in it. Nowhere on the box or label does it say that the leaves ect are not fondant!!!! This could of been a very serious problem if child would of swallowed the wire. This could of killed my child!!!! This is not the first time i have had issues with this store! The decorations look like fondant!! Not once when cake was purchased did anyone say they were not! I do have a picture of the cake and the wire but im sending this from my laptop and do not have them downloaded on here. I will be keeping the box with the labeling ect. I will expect a response from you asap!! I want response to be emailed to me so i have proof!!I am not going to take this lightly it could of killed my child!!

A very pissed mom!!

April waters

20

No customer service. I purchased a whole rib eye roast for Christmas and the meat department refused to cut it for me without charging me .28 per pound more than their sales price! I purchase 400.00-500.00 of groceries there per week but I'm certain king soopers will love my business I called them and if I buy their meats they will cut it how I want it at no additional charge. I will never spend another cent at Safeway.

I have a good mind to take their prime rib roast back! You'd think if you're spending 120.00 on a roast they'd cut it however you want... we'll get ready to loose my business! I want customer service and Safeway has obviously cut that part Out of they're business standard.

40

Aloha, my name is Ramon, I mostly shop at the Safeway Kahului store on Maui. I am not a complaining person, however, what happened to me twice in the same store (Safeway, Kahului) drove me to this written complaint. It was 6:30 pm on 9/29/16, when I went to the Deli to get a sandwich (I love Safeway sandwiches). The woman behind the counter just got through serving a customer. When I asked her I wanted to get a sandwich, she refused to make it. Her reasoning was, she was the only one in the Deli and she had to clean up before closing.

I found out her shift ended at 9:00 pm. This was the second time this happened to me in the same store by two different clerks. I wanted to complain to the night manager (Sheryl), however, she was on dinner break. I was upset enough, I left my grocery cart full of groceries and walked out. I know this is not Safeways reputation and I like the quality of your foods and fruits, however, it will be a while before I walk into another Safeway store. Thank you for letting me vent.

20

On 9/25/16 at 6:25pm was at Safeway in Clatskanie or I went down soda isle was spill on floor. I slipped and fell and hurt my elbow and knee after falling went to tell cashier and there was nothing they could do for me right now and they were short handed and can't clean up right now. I told them I hurt my elbow pretty bad and they told me again they were sorry but nothing they could do. I don't know but this isn't right and I will be contacting my lawyer in morning.

20

The manager at the liquor store accused me of drinking because I was asking him why I am being charged for the same price for a smaller bottle when buying six of the larger bottles of a particular brand.

20

The bakery department at the store on Powell and 181st in Gresham consistently overlooks the cinnamon/raisin bagels. This has been going on for years and each time I mention it, I get a different excuse. Maybe the cook is taking too many breaks?

40

We live in byron california. In november 2015 an ordinance was passed which restricted the trucks allowed on camino diablo in byron because the trucks are shaking our houses apart and making our water wells fail. The road is not built for these trucks. our problem is that some of your drivers can't read because there are multiple signs at hwy j4, camino diablo, marsh creek road and the bypass at vasco road. Could someone please stop these drivers as we call the california highway patrol every chance we get to get all the errant truckers off of this road. One of these days your drivers will be caught and ticketed. We would appreciate a call from you with your plan to take care of this problem. Please do not ignore this complaint because we are going to call the tv channels next. Thank you in advance for your help with this problem.

40

I shop at the safeway store in Payson, Az and I noticed a difference in the quality of the beef products between this store and the store in Apache Junction AZ. I think u should possibly look into buying beef from a different source.

80

I was driving near Walmart on Rainer Ave S. on 3-2-2016 at 1:50pm, and I was stopped at a light next to a Safeway delivery truck. The driver of the truck was staring at me very strangely, like trying to start something with me, and then he put up a gang sign. The truck number was #15974, and the license plate number was C23451D. I just thought that was very unprofessional for a Safeway employee to be acting while at work. Also I have a picture of the truck after the light changed, I will try to send it following this email.

20

I've been a customer at store 1954 in Redding Ca. for more than 30 years. I always like the selection and the employees. Service was very good. Lately service has been very poor. Long lines at the check-out in direct contradiction to the large banner over the check-out proclaiming there will be no wait. On two recent shopping trips I left the store, once having to re-shelf the contents of my cart. I attempted to phone Safeway ( the bottom of the receipt says Safeway would like to hear from the customers). After being on hold for 15 minutes on two occasions I gave up. One can only conclude that Safeway's primary interest is not customer service.

Suggestion: Remove the banner and the note on the receipt, forget the bingo game (which slows done check-out), convert your marketing folks to baggers and get your customers through the line. After all, by the time the customer is at check-out the only thing left to be done is to take the customer's money. Why make that difficult?

20

Safeway pharmacy here in the 95531 has a very bad customer service problem, when getting your scripts they have a very bad habit of telling you your script is ready and so when you go there to pick it up its never filled!! to begin with. There is a really bad problem of them telling you can pick your script up on a certain day and then well its not there? I am bring this up to you because i have met several others that are not happy as well? This has become upsetting to my wife and i because my wife has terminal cancer, and it has become a real problem on getting her meds like she is supposed too? We are hoping that you could please look into how they are treating their customers? Also please take note that just before 2014 we never had any problems with your pharmacy.

40

Using click it or clip ticket to purchase Kellogg's Special K , I selected one original and two with red berries. These coupons said $2.49 each and showed a picture which included Spec K Otherwise it said "selected varieties' 16.7 to maybe 26 ounces. I'm uncertain as to the size markings but they were the larger ones. When I looked at my receipt I saw I was charged $249 for the one box of original but $349 for each of the two having berries.

So I stopped at customer service to ask why I was charged more for the two and the lady said red berries are always more. I asked what about selected varieties and she looked at a coupon in her possession and said I'll have to look at the shelf listing. And so she did. and came back and said it didn't apply to the red berries.

My question, if I cut a coupon from the paper and go in and buy the item, I don't expect to have to check something on the shelf. It should be self evident. WHY do your CS people appear mostly defensive rather than may I help you or explain something. She offered to give me a number to call and complain. I said "no" , it is better to shop elsewhere. On reflection I decided to express myself. Hope you listen before you're gone.

60

I called Safeway customer service from Monday to Friday 11/2 to 11/ 6 and still no answer. I’m waiting since December 2014 that my case finally edited. You have all paperwork (Hospital, Work etc.) It just goes from one desk to another and no one is calling me back or sending me an email. I’m tired of waiting to hear from someone! Please make sure that I receive a note from anyone who is finally working on my case. Here it the latest email from customer service below.

From: business.ethics@safeway.com [mailto:business.ethics@customerservice.safeway.com] Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding the incident that occurred at your local Safeway store. Please contact Sedgewick CMS. They can be reached at 1-855-692-8987. Their mailing address is 11000 Eden Prairie Lakes Dr. Suite 200 Eden Prairie, MN 55344. They will be able to assist you with the status of your claim. We apologize for the inconvenience. Teresa McDaniel Customer Support Center Contact ID: 30790147

40

Approximately 90 days ago, my son purchased some fuel from one of the Safeway filling stations in the Denver Metro Area. He dispensed his fuel got his receipt and drove off. Now his bank tells him he had a $200 charge on top of the fuel for a gift card. He never purchased a gift card and would like his money back. He was told by the store that they do not keep records after 90 days. How can I get this resolved.

40

You have an Arrogant, non customer service Safeway assistant Manager here in Northern Virginia store (Kingstown) whom I think should be removed. He seems to think he is to good to work the customer service counter(a joke of a name when the customer has to look for service) when there is no one there. I have also brought this type of attitude to the store Manager obviously to no avail. This has become a problem of horrific magnitude.

60

I bought a 2 layered chocolate cake for my birthday on October 26, 2015 at Safeway in San Ramon California. Brought it home, put it in the refrigerator and cut it up for desert that night. We all thought it tasted funny (as if the icing was made with milk that had soured). I never took it back to tell them because we through it out (not much left). We weren't going to take it back after taking a bite out of so many pieces. I went to Safeway in Castro Valley California on November 5, 2015 and bought a single layer cake, which tasted similar to the other cake. I figured the chocolate icing on Safeway's cakes are made of something that tastes sour. I just want you to know that I will not be purchasing anymore bakery goods from any of your stores. I also will be advising other people not to buy from Safeway.

60

Claim Number: L1379219. I'm waiting since December 2014 that my case finally edited. I have emailed customer service multiple times with my complaint. You have all paperwork (Hospital, Work etc) it just goes from one desk to another and no one is calling me back or sending me an email. I'm tired of waiting to hear from someone at corporate. Please make sure that I receive a note from anyone who is finally working on my case. This is truly a bad mark for Safeway complaints in my opinion.

40

Beware Safeway grocery store #1438 in Aztec, N.M., managed by Chris Davison. After about 3-4 months of finding errors on my receipts after getting home, I decided to tally my purchases in-store prior to going to cashier for the entire month of April in 2015. Apparently, the onus is on the consumer, leaving one only to return to the cashier, who is now occupied with the next cart, or waiting for someone at the Service Desk. Three of 4 weekly purchase totals were wrong! Of approximately $110 total for all 3 overcharged visits, I was charged in excess over $11! That's an average of 10%. Safeway has been sued numerous times by the states attorneys general of California, Oregon, as well as their problems in Arizona. And now, here in New Mexico, the practice continues. Apparently, it's more profitable to pay the catch-me-if-you-can penalties awarded in court, than to eliminate these practices.

Have feedback for Safeway?

Thanks for your feedback!

Sorry. Please try again later!