Checkers Customer Service
Rated 1.38 of 5 Stars
Based on 37 Complaints

Contact Checkers Corporate

Toll free phone number: 785-843-0023

Checkers Foods www.checkersfoods.com is a locally owned and operated grocery store located in Lawrence, KS. It employs 120 people, some of whom have been at the store since it opened in 1987.

If you need to contact Checkers Foods about your shopping experience or a product you may call them at 785-843-0023. If you want to send postal correspondence to owner, Jim Lewis, address your letter: Checkers Foods, 2300 Louisiana Street, Laurence, KS 66048, Attn: Jim Lewis.

Checkers Foods has a Sunflower Natural Foods department, fresh cut meat, farm fresh produce, recipe box and online coupons. Social presence for Checkers Foods is found on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and Instagram.


Experienced poor service? File a complaint here!

Checkers Contact Information

Report complaints to corporate and get satisfaction

  • Checkers headquarters address

    • 2300 Louisiana Street
    • Laurence
    • KS 66048
  • Company website

  • 1-800 phone number

    785-843-0023
  • Better Business Bureau rating

    A+

  • Customer service hours

    24 hours a day

Browse reviews of other Supermarkets



Top Checkers Complaints

Browse more than 37 reviews submitted so far

20

service was fine . the chicken nuggets i received were horrible. i enclosed a picture too show what you are trying to feed peopkle

20

Hi, a couple of months ago I complain about food products with food mite and weefels, I explain to your people that I had to empty my grocerie cuboard worth r3000.00, I clean and did what human possible to clear all mite, weefels end eggs, even place bay leave and candles in cupboard, well I restock my cuboard and purchase every week from checkers parklands again after your respond that the probleme will be taken care off and I sow for about a month they cleaned the selfs 1st a week, well to my surprise (look at photos) I open a pack of whole whear and my g@d I couldn't believe my eyes, when trough all my groceries and as sure as can be every thing full of food mite weefels and a strange insect, all of my flour, mielie meel, pasta, flour, pan cake and assorted mix, cereals, rice, you name it, it had signs of mite, Now I ones again have to suffer the lost of my groceries !!! Do you think this is fare !!!! CLOSE THE STORE AND SORT IT OUT !!! I HAD ENOUGHT, I WILL TAKE FURTHER ACTION, I DONT SEE WHY MY HARD EARNING MUST BE WASTE LIKE THIS, PLEASE RESPOND !!

20

a very bad and ill disciplined behaviour from a lady at the bakery and even after informing their Line manager Mr Beukes the behaviour still persisted

20

Yoh Checkars Kimberley CBD, we bought a meal on Sunday 21 October 2018. that was the only meal we had since we were from church, me , my mom and 4 year old son have spent the whole night with stomach cramps until morning. No wonder the chicken was so much for R24, never buying any food from there again.

20

No professional greeting. Imyia the cashier closed the window on me while I was trying to ask for something. When I requested the presence of the manager she came to the window with her hands folded and never gave a proper "may I help you ma'am.". She stood there with a attitude. .Poor and unsatisfied servive

20

5801 Buford hwy Doraville Ga. 30340
This was the absolute worst service I've ever had in my life, and I'm 35 yrs old. I waited for 35 mins. at the pull up window. Then I was greeted with an attitude and mean stares like I had been the problem. They were rude and very unprofessional. I asked for a receipt they told me they don't have receipt paper and the machines were down (all of them). After all of that once I got back to my office with my lunch being over, I had to "wolf" down my food, only to find they had not even given me anything close to what I ordered. I returned for a refund to wait another 15 to 20 before anyone would come to the window to refund me. Luckily since I was there so long I was able to turn around about 3 - 4 customers letting them know this was not the place to dine for breakfast, lunch, or dinner, they agreed and left. I will never and I mean never spend my hard earned money at this location again and I'm contemplating giving up Checker/Rallys all the way around. Ridiculous...…….

20

Checkers advertise Jacobs Coffee 200gr for R69.99 on TV commercial 12 and 13/10/2018 at ALL Checkers and Checkers hypers.The Checkers branch (on the corner of Arrarat str and Stateway) denies this. The manager on duty says it"s not true, and they are excluded from this special. How can that be????

80

Hoekom is Virginia FS se Checkers so goed, en Welkom Mall se Checkers so swak? Kon gister nie eers spirits (om vensters te was) daar kry nie. Personeel uiters swak. Net nie gehelp nie. "Dis op." was al antwoord. Hoekom is daar ook soveel personeel wat rondstaan en gesels?

20

My shopping was about to be scanned after i waited my turn.One of the other staff members just came with a client and instructed the cashier to held other client before me which i found to be very unproffesional.I asked for a manager but the one that came up did not have a clue what was going on.Who needs services like that.Bye Checkers Knysna

20

2nd time I'm buying stale food from checkers doonheits amanzimtoti , first it was fish, now its a cheese Russian, I don't that I Will ever buy from their fast foods again, I almost vomited.

20

I went to checkers today and the cashier Torrie gave me poor service. She wouldn't give me back my change, I had to request for her to give me back my money. Then, I commented on her service stating that my money is paying her for serving me properly and she said it's checkers money. She alluded that she wasn't being paid by checkers at all. She had an attitude with me and was unpleasant. I really don't want to return to that location again. Store #6320 (352)373-2069

20

It is shocking that it takes 50 minutes to book 3 tickets for a show at your store. Will never go there again.!

20

We shop regularly at this store,but lately the customer service is really bad. You stand and wait for services at the counters [Deli;Bakery and every where],even if there is no other customers. You look for stock but there is no stock. Two three days later,you look for the same thing,but still no stock in the shop. If it go on like this,you can just as well close the place. YOU NEED SOMEONE TO RUN IT PROPERLY ANDF MORE STAFF TO SERVICE CLIENTS.

20

The fries were cold and hard!

20

I was very disappointed with Checkers Staff Watercrest mall, they have an "I don't care attitude" towards their customers. Went shopping with my 5 year old and 7 months old a few weeks back and there were no trolleys with baby car seat and the security and trolley guy could not help and I had to run around go back to the car to take the car seat, put baby it the trolley and then when I continued with my shopping I realized that the car seat was taking up too much space and I went back to the security guard that was on duty and demanded to speak to the manager - the manager did not even come to see me. After all these another security guard came with a trolley that I needed and he was apologetic. I then finished shopping and went back to my car only to find that there are trolleys with car seats locked up in chains in the parking lot. I don't see my self going back to Checkers any time soon.

Thank you

20

3 issues.
1. I went there with grandchild. We have documentation from Checkers which states their fries are one dollar. And there are billboards everywhere that say they are 1 dollar. Well, they charged me the regular price for large fries.
2. Went there on a few other occasions with coupons, they do not know how to handle coupons.
3. They are so slowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

20

I visited Checkers - Mokopane yesterday for my monthly groceries.

The guy at the bakery was using his bare hands without any gloves to fill the cupcake holders!!!!!!. It was disgusting to watch to say the least. and surely not acceptable!!!!

I asked him if this is allowed and he said to me that there is no other way to do it.

I also reported it to one of the Managers.

I am surely hoped that you solve this matter a.s.a.p.

With numerous diseases spreading all over the country I think you must take the necessary steps to improve the hygiene in the kitchens and bakeries please!!

Regards
TRIX VAN NIEKERK

20

I refuse to go to any Checkers store ever again, the quality of service at the Sunvalley branch is appaling, staff are not trained and stand around in groups and when they are called over to assist it is slow and unprofessional. Till staff are casuals who have no clue and almost seem unwilling to assist, just cannot shop there anymore. On two occasions I almost bought chicken fillets that were off and the lettuce is brown but still packed out. U need to up your game Checkers !

20

The service I got from the till operator named Busi Vilakazi at Festival mall it was not pleasing the attitude she has towards customers is unacceptable im please teach her how to treat cutomers.

20

I visited checkers stateway welkom on 1 February 2018 between 4pm and 5pm . I was never so disappointed before . The selfves was empty I took pictures of the selves as proof . no chicken snizels pieces fresh no fresh meat sosaties t-bone no whole roast chicken . pies was old and crumbling , I wanted a steak and kidney pie they did have it I ask for a saugage roll when I held it in my hands it was rock hard !! I ordered chicken strips instead .when I got home it was rock hard and tasted funny I gave it to my animals at home. I was left having to eat bread tonight . I was never so disappointed and angry . I am going to spread the word and take it further tell friends family.

20

first she was rude coundnt get the order rite I waited at least 10 mins or so for food it wasn't rite and I got out of my car went to window in the cold waited 5 or 6 mins for her to ask wat I wanted now I said I didn't order these burgers plain she said yes u did u got them the way u ordered them no I didn't but she refuse to fix my 35 dollars order even tho she missed it up

20

we moved to centerline Michigan a week ago from south Carolina and we went to the checkers on Vandyke and 9 mile in centerline I believe the store number is 6249 we went at 1:46pm on sept. 6, 2017 we went to the drive thru and the employee at the window was very rude I believe her last name is king because the receipt says king, c the phone # there is (586) 754-6444 she was arguing with another employee when we pulled up to the window she had an attitude and than slammed our bag of food in my husbands hand and than slammed the window shut people like that should not be working there it is not good for business I will not attend this checkers any more I will try to find another one

20

I bought an electric kettle on the 27th of November 2015, Russell Hobbs from Checkers Queenstown in the Eastern cape. On Tuesday the 22nd of November 2016 i noticed that it is not working. Unfortunately i had to go to work. On Thursday the 24th i took it back to Checkers as according to my understanding it was still within the 1 year warranty and i was told that i'm not getting a new one it is not within the warranty. I am very disappointed by the attitude that i got and was told that there was also another customer who came yesterday and was not given the new one.

40

Today I went to the branch checkers centre at polokwane by biccard street / Hans van rensburg street. Your store opens at 8 am so they opened at 8:04 am and as you can see on the pic attached by 8:09 am there was no cashier and no float in the till, these are the facts.

What concerns me is that there is simply a no care attitude from staff as no one bothers to inform you what is going on, is it not my right to know as I am spending money at your establishment. and that reflects directly to top management from store management to ops and HQ as it seems that specific store is getting worse and worse instead of Better and Better?

I would like to have a meeting with an ops manager for that branch in polokwane as I am sure that the lack of service and professionalism from that branch is effecting my business at my store in that same centre. It seems as if no one is holding the branch accountable which is simply unexceptional.

40

On the 14th October I was shopping in Checkers Hyper Vanderbijlpark and bought a roll of 20 meters of heavyweight aluminium foil when open to use there was a rip completely down the middle. Also while at till paying the cashier did not request if I had any online coupons when I ask cashier said it was to late surely this should be a standard question when anybody approaches the tills. Maybe a training session should be given to all cashiers regarding the online coupons.

40

Amber at store 3309. Is the rudest person I've encountered in the fast food chain. Eating food while speaking to us, when we told her our order was wrong she started rolling her eyes and chomping her gum. Plus she charged us twice for apple pies, I told we need other pies. She began to argue that she didn't when we have the two different receipts. They just handed us food out the window without bag. I told the manager his employee was being an ass hole to me, he got defensive. I never got an apology. I wish I could have recorded it, to show the world the service checkers offers. I want someone other than that manager to call and explain how there customer service works.

40

My family and I were at the Newcastle mall. We had just come out of Vodacom store when an employee of Checkers pushing a row of trollies hit my son on his back. When my husband asked him to apologize he jus looked at us and glumly said "sorry" to which my husband replied that why should we have to ask him to apologize since he was at fault. Sibusio than replied "f you". I was really pissed of my this and headed to the store to report this matter. He has no right to swear at customers and we were standing out of his way. Sibusiso intentionally pushed his trolley between my husband and myself where my son was standing. He could have seen him from far before he hit into him. He could have continued his task besides not between people.

40

Went to Checkers and gave them my order I will and I was told to wait. They got back on the speaker 5 minutes later trying to take my order again. Took 20 minutes to get my food forgot my soda and I received no sauce. It was a horrible experience.

40

This is the second time that checkers wont give the little shop toys out because of R4 short, but anyway this is the last time i got into checkers. As your foods has gone up so much, the cheese is meant to be cheaper at checker my goodness what are selling golden cheese. I have found a shop that i a third of the price, so this does not make sense.

40

Bad service from a Money market cashier- Nobuhle who was assisting me when I went to check prices for the bus for Thursday, the cashier whom had such an attitude towards me when I asked her to check for a return ticket to graaff-reinet (Thursday-Sunday). the cashier asked me for a date for Sunday which was a bit inappropriate for her to ask me as she should have had a calendar next to her or checked on the PC she was using. she was a bit cheeky and I did not appreciate the way she attended to me I even asked her to print me out the info and she advised she won't be able to do so which was not a problem for me.

I had to ask for a piece of paper where as she was in a position of offering that to me as I wanted a print out. I never had such a bad service at Bayside Checkers sore like today, I reported the matter to the Customer services lady who promised me to resolve the attitude from Nobuhle. I wish the cashiers can have a way of communicating with clients as they are the faces of the company.

80

A few months ago the machine for slicing cold meat broke down. After two weeks I complained to the Manager, and only two weeks later the repaired machine emerged. For a month we had to be content with the cold meat being cut at Shoprite, and carried to checkers, where it became dry as the day progressed. Three weeks ago the same machine broke again, and for the past three weeks its the same as the previous occasion - no sliced cold meat, or dried out cold meat!

We are in a rural area, and I was just wondering: is this corporate policy throughout the country? In Tyger Valley I saw three such machines in operation in a checkers store - are those customers more important to checkers than us in west? We in the Karroo are known for our good nature and humorous outlook on life, but we do demand to be treated like customers, irrespective of the location. I hope to hear your explanation soon, because time is of the essence.

20

A week ago I bought Huggies from checkers and the nappies was so thin my daughter only pie twice and then the nappie was wet. Also there is no elastic on the nappie. I would understand if there is one or two but the whole packed is like that. I would have taken it back we were not near a checker so I've used it till we came back home and then the shop didn't want to take it back because I've already used a lot of nappies. I was so angry because I love Huggies and know I'm sitting with half a pack that I cant use.

20

We live at Emfuleni Golf Estate in Vanderbijlpark. We share a wall with checkers and over this whole holiday couldn't even enjoy our pool because Checkers dumps all their trash at the back and its rotten it stinks so much that we couldn't even go out of our house. I've took pictures and will send it to the department of health.

It is unacceptable as it is a residential area and also no closed containers. The trash is in trollies lying everywhere. It is Chekers in Umfuleni. This is a food store that operates like that. Disgusted is an understatement.

20

I brought Mamas pies ( Cornish) on Sunday 13, December 2015. I only noticed when I got home the box had been resealed. The contents had defrosted and frozen again. It was stuck together and was definitely not fresh. The price was R59.95. Please advise, do I return it and complain to get a refund?

40

Our family went grocery shopping today (26 Sep). When we got there, we had to clean the trolley - AGAIN! I complained about this several times VIA CUSTOMER SERVICES, but all I get is sorry ma'm we will talk to the cleaning services. This is ridiculous!!! Nothing is being done about this. The shop's floor was so dirty I couldn't believe it, gruesome!!! Ag no man, the place was a nightmare. Some of the products on the shelves were dirty as well, like the Lemon juice. Earlier in the week the place stank, someone said maybe it was a dead person. And no, I don't feel like talking to a manager there, because I tried that once and got the cold shoulder. How many times should one complain about your dirty trolleys and shop? I think I'm going to Pick & Pay from now on, because nothing is being done to resolve the dirty-trolley problem since last year. I just wish more people have the guts to put their complaining to paper, because lots of people feel the same as I do.

20

I have a problem with Cherckers at Hans Van Rensburg Steet in Polokwane. The tills are not working and everyday we get service from only four to five tills which is consuming our time and this is a poor service that should be reported to customer support. Help me and contact them too so they know customers are not happy!

20

I always prefer crispy and yummy snacks for my evening snacks and I always get the crazy good food only in Checkers. Checkers has a large menu with delicious Burgers, chicken fries, cold creations,monstrella stix,hot dogs,icecreams and many other spicy foods. Starting at a dollar, you can mix and match any two for low price. For perfect dining or weekend treats, Checkers is the best place to step in for it's excellent hygienic food and attractive offers. I suggest you all to try checkers if you want to make your friends happy for a worthful treat.

Have feedback for Checkers?

Thanks for your feedback!

Sorry. Please try again later!