Trader Joes Customer Service
Rated 2.06 of 5 Stars
Based on 47 Complaints

Contact Trader Joes Corporate

Toll free phone number: 626-599-3700

Have a complaint to file against Trader Joes? Join more a dozen customers who have already registered their feedback against the company on our website. Trader Joes has more tha 457 stores nationwide (half in CA—mostly So Cal). With 20,000 employees, this privately owned supermarket grossed more than $11 billion in sales 2011.

If you have had a problem, look no further than the corporate contact page on their website. Although it is not easy to find basic info on that page. The best number for the complaint line is by calling 626-599-3700. You can also write a letter to their headquarters at 800 S. Shamrock Ave, Monrovia, CA 91016. If you would like you can address it to the Founder Joe Coulombe or the CEO of Trader Joe's Dan Bane.

Originally called Pronto Markets in 1958, “Joe” renamed after himself in 1967 with first store in Pasedena, CA. The website has an extensive Q&A, extensive Product Info, extensive by-year timeline, and 27 pages of store addresses and phone numbers. A TJ’s newsletter is available to receive by email. Historically, Trader Joes has been notoriously secretive and has no social media presence. They rely on fan generated pages, so do not try to contact customer service on Twitter or Facebook. The website has only email forms available, but no address, for contacting the company.

Most common Trade Joes complaints include:

  • Food items out of stock
  • Rude employees
  • Misleading advertising
  • Fales advertising
  • Food allergies
  • Spoiled or expired products

Experienced poor service? File a complaint here!

Trader Joes Contact Information

Report complaints to corporate and get satisfaction

  • Trader Joes headquarters address

    • 800 S. Shamrock Ave.
    • Monrovia
    • CA 91016
  • Company website

  • 1-800 phone number

    626-599-3700
  • Better Business Bureau rating

    A+

  • Customer service hours

    24 hours a day

Browse reviews of other Supermarkets



Top Trader Joes Complaints

Browse more than 47 reviews submitted so far

20

I came from a unusually stressed week and decided to get a few items on my way home. (about 8:15 PM 8/31/18) Got my items and was in line through the cashier. He was new and made a few minor mistakes and I teased him a little and he knew I wasn't showing any animosity toward him. Perhaps I was a little louder than I should have been but then the bearded manager came up to me and loudly and firmly stated that I don't want you saying those comments in my store again. Not that I said anything vile or obscene. What was said is not important but I am a manager in Biotech and even I faced something like that at work, management will never aggressively antagonize a person. As I was trying to explain to the manager, both I and the cashier knew all of this was in jest, he threatened if he ever finds me making those statements again, he will have me permanently banned from this location. Honestly, I think he had a chip on his shoulder and think he wanted an apology for him and his cashier. I said I understand what he stated and I will take that to heart, but he was not satisfied (waiting for that apology I guess) Had he been a little less consumed in treating this as a face-off and just said, "I don't appreciate how you are talking to my cashier and please tone it down", I would have agreed and thank him for his advice. The problem is what if this had happened to someone who was more ticked off than him. I have worked with people that had violent tempers and could still calm them down even when they were ready to start a fight.
I rarely have a poor shopping experience at Trader Joe's and I come there about 3 days a week to pick up things for the people under my management. my employees have a 30 minute lunch so I do this out of respect for them. I was very annoyed driving home. (I have a 40 minute freeway drive) It took 20 minutes to realize that I was a bit taller than he and have over 50 lbs on him. An angry man would have made it a very bad day for him. So I will put in prayers for him that he gets that anger thing under control.

Last year two people at my workplace got into a fight and one had a gun. The other was shot in the jaw and the doctors could not remove the bullet. Our company put in all kinds of new policies to prevent that in the future. So you can see why I will never let anger ever take control and let rash actions prevail.

I wrote a check there and a few of the machines get checks stuck, but I appreciate that good spirit the young cashier who handled my teasing with warm smile. I hope my next experience at that Trader Joe's will not be threatening by that manager. I do mean that I will say a prayer for him. I have shopped at many of the locations in several states and usually have a 4 or 5 star rating.

20

TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN,
I CONSTANTLY PROMOTE THE TRADER JOES PRODUCTS TO THE SENATORS IN THE BRONX+ OTHERS. I NEVER STOLE FROM YOUR STORES, BUT WHEN DOES EXCHANGING FOOD FOR FOOD=STEALING? SINCE THERE AREN'T ANY TJ BRONX LOCATIONS, I ROUTINELY COMMUTE TO VARIOUS MANHATTAN LOCATIONS TO DO ALL MY SHOPPING FROM THE NEIGHBORING STORES NEXT TO TRADER JOES + I SPEND $160-$200/ EACH VISIT EVERY 2WKS. IT'S VERY DIFFICULT+ PAINFUL FOR ME TO COMMUTE WITH ALL THE SHOPPING BACK TO THE BRONX, BC I'M PHYSICALLY DISABLED + ON CRUTCHES + I PHYSICALLY CARRY EVERYTHING IN MY GREGORY 75 L BACKPACK. I ONLY EXCHANGE THE FOOD THAT I'M PHYSICALLY ALLERGIC TO. IT'S VERY DIFFICULT FOR ME TO RETURN THESE ITEMS BACK TO THE STORE BC IT'S PAINFUL TO WALK CARRYING THESE LIADS WITH MY DISABILITY FROM IMPROPERLY TAMPERING + LABELED FOODS, the Store managers @ the Union Sq NYC 10001, 21st +6th Ave NYC 10001, + 72nd st+ Bway+ 32nd st + 3rd ave THEY ALL DENY ME EVERY TIME TO EXCHANGE BOTH UNOPENED + OPENED FOOD BC OF ALLERGIES EVEN THOUGH IT'S FROM ANOTHER LOCATION. THEY INSIST FOR ME TO TRAVEL BACK TO THE SAME STORE I PURCHASED THE FOOD FROM, WHICH IT'S INSANE. I DO ALL MY SHOPPING FROM ALL THE STORES IN THE AREA AT THE SAME AVAILABLE TIME FRAME. THESE MANAGERS ARE RUDE, NASTY + EVIL BY SYSTEMATICALLY DISCRIMINATING WITH PREJUDICE AGAINST ME. THEY'RE VERY UNPROFESSIONAL WITH THE DISABLED ESP IF YOU NEED TO EXCHANGE + RETURN.
IN ADDITION, THEY'RE SNEAKING GMO PRODUCTS IN THEIR FOODS =ALL PRODUCTS CONTAINING WHEAT, OATS, CORN, FLOUR, GLUTEN FREE IS CORN, CORN, FRUCTUSE ,GLYCERINE, CANOLA OIL, HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP, UNLABELED INGREDIENTS + HIDDEN INGREDIENTS, FLOURIDE IN ARTESIAN WATER,MILK + JUICES CONTAINING WATER, SPOILED FOOD, SALMONELA IN CHICKEN FRIED RICE, CHILLI LIME CHICKEN BURGERS, ETC TAMPERING WITH THE APPLES- BC THEY'VE GOT MANY INJECTIONS ON THEM. MOST OF THE ENVY APPLES + HONEY CRISP ARE OVERCHARGED + SPOILED INSIDE OR THEY TASTE LIKE PETROLEUM. IT'S REALLY DISGUSTING..
I ALREADY FILED A COMPLAINT WITH CONSUMER AFFAIRS LAST YEAR.
THERE'S TOO MUCH PAIN + SUFFERING WASTING MY PRECIOUS TIME, ENERGY + $$$$$ JUST TO BE DENIED MY BASIC RIGHTS TO EXCHANGE THE FOOD. THERE'S NO LIMITATION ON HOW MANY TIMES A PERSON CAN EXCHANGE THE FOOD /YEAR OR LIFETIME. IF THE OTHER PEOPLE HAVE WAIVED THEIR RIGHTS TO EXERCISE THEIR FREEDOMS TO EXCHANGE THEIR FOOD, BC THEY'RE NOT ON A LIMITED BUDGET LIKE I AM,+ ENJOY BLOWING $$$$ IN THE WIND OR TOO DAMN STUPID + LAZY THEN THAT'S THEIR RIGHT. BUT BEING DENIED TO EXERCISE MY RIGHT YO EXCHANGE THE FOOD, BC OF THE STATUS QUO OF THE ZOMBIES WITH BENEFITS IS DISCRIMINATION WITH PREJUDICE. TJ THROWS HUNDRED OF DOLLARS OF UNOPENED UNEXPIRED FOODS EVERY OTHER DAY A NEW SHIPMENT OF FOOD IS DELIVERED TO THEIR STORES, WHICH THEY DON'T HAVE ANY PROBLEMS THROWING OUT, BUT IF I WANT TO EXCHANGE IT, THEY AUTOMATICALLY INSULT ME IN FRONT OF CUSTOMERS, SNEER AT ME, MAKE DISGUISTING FACES, LIE TO ME, + DENY TO EXCHANGE ALL FOOD FOR OTHER FOOD EVEN WITH A RECEIPT + WITH UNOPENED FOODS= DISCRIMINATION WITH GREAT PREJUDICE + AGGREVATED HARASSMENT.
THERE'S A FEW MILLIONS DOLLARS OF PAIN + SUFFERING HERE AGAINST YOUR STUPID STORE MANAGERS STORES.
NEXT STEP IS LAWSUIT.
MONSATO BOUGHT TRADER JOES + WHOLE FOODS, WHICH EXPLAINS WHY THE MANAGERS OF ALL THESE NYC TRADER JOES LOCATIONS ACT AS IF YOU ROBBED THEM EVERY TIME YOU WANT TO EXERCISE YOUR FREEDOM TO EXCHANGE THE FOODS THAT YOU AS A CONSUMER ARE ALLERGIC TO+ DO NOT LIKE IT. THIS IS FRAUD, DISCRIMINATION+ AGGREVATED HARASSMENT, BUT NOT LIMITED TO THE ABOVE.
IF I WERE THE REGIONAL MANAGER OF THESE STORES, I WOULD REQUIRE THAT THESE MANAGERS BE PSYCHIATRICALLY EVALUATED WITH MANDATORY THERAPY FOR 6 MONTHS BEFORE RETURNING BACK TO WORK, BC THE STRESS IS CREATING PROBLEMS FOR PEOPLE+ IS HARMING THE COMMUNITY. I WOULD FIRE THEM IF THEIR BEHAVIOR DOESN'T IMPROVE.
IT'S A DAMN SHAME THAT TJ ALLOWS + HIRES THESE LOW LIVES TO WORK IN THE MANAGERS POSITION, BC IT REFLECTS VERY POORLY ON THE STORE+ THE COMMUNITY.
I REQUEST THAT A $6,666.00 STORE CREDIT CHECK FOR THE PAIN + SUFFERING BE EMAILED TO ME AT eamelektaus666@mail.com TO BE USED IN THE STORES TO AVOID THE LAWSUIT.
Thank you for your cooperation regarding the above.
Sincerely,
EANKI K.

20

june 27, store #540checked out 10:49:12 for home delivery. at 3:40p.m. no delivery; called store; told delivered;; opened my doorfor other reason to find delivery at 1:27 p.m. no door bell ,knock on door, or phone. three items ruined,24 bottle waster impossible to carry. numerous PHONE CALLS TO MANAGER ,Frederick and dispatcher; finally picked up discarded items at 5:30 p.m.;brought in water from door; not repolaced items until 6::40 p./m. Am simplifying runaround for all hours of numerous calls and aggravation it has caused me. have not ordered food delivery since

20

I arrived at Trader Joe’s in Sandy Springs, GA at 850pm and one of the employees stopped me at the door and said they we close at 9pm but it was still 10 minutes left. Another customer was let in right before I got out of my car. If you close at 9pm then you should keep your doors open until then and not close early to accommodate the workers wanting to go home. I realize you want to get off on time but sometimes you can’t. I was frustrated and had to go to Publix who would have let me in even if it was 8:59pm. Very disappointed customer.

20

I've been trying to buy the Pear Tarte and the almond biscotti for months now and have tried several stores in vain. Please bring them back if they have been discontinued.

20

I went into Trader Joes's today to purchase a cucumber and rarely do I go there for one item, I selected to cucumber and proceeded to the register to make my purchase, The cashier said that the price was two dollars plus change, I asked her what was the price of the cucumber and she stated more than what the shelf tag was. I told her I would go over and check the tag again. At that time I saw one of the managers and told him about the register price and the shelf price. He walked over to the produce section with me and checked the shelf price and looked at the other area where the organic cucumbers were and said that the cucumber was in the wrong section. He left me standing there and walked over to a stock person and said something to him then proceeded to the register and entered something in and lyelled to me it's $1.69. Not really knowing what was going on I proceeded back to the register where I had to stand in a lengthy line and was told by the cashier that the cucumber was organic (I didn't notice that the cucumber was organic because I was not in the organic section) and was a higher price. I saw the same manager (a tall Irishmen) and told him I have the same problem with the price. He walked me back to produce and started going through that stack of $1.69 cucumbers and said these are organic and in the wrong place. I told him the sign said $1.69 and why should I have to pay the higher price if they made the mistake. He did not say anything to me or even make eye contact with me. He went over to the same stock person and told him something. That person immediately came over and started moving the cucumbers around. I let him know my frustration with going back and forth with a simple cucumber and he didn't seem to care. As I walked back to the front I asked another person if he was a manager and he said they are all managers. I started talking to him about my situation and at some point a female manager walked up and heard the conversation and said just take the cucumber in a pleasant voice. Finally someone understood that the customer should not be sent back and forth and made to pay for an in house error.
This was totally unprofessional among other thing and I could not let this go by without reaching out to make sure no one else or myself has to deal with management who are not customer friendly

80

Dear Whomever,

I do not want the REDUCED GUILT POPCORN REMOVED FROM my ESSENTIAL shopping list i.,e., Menu @ Trader Joes!!
Additionally, RETURN: CHICKENLESS CRISPY TENDERS, TO SANTA FE STORE!!
Don't know why & what you are thinking????

PLEASE RETURN THESE IMPORTANT ITEMS

40

i was robbed today 11-12-16 at Trader Joe's in El Cerrito Plaza of my I phone 6S as I was looking at flowers, my purse was in the food basket near the front of the basket. The area was very small on the right hand corner of the store where the Orchids were located, and as a result I was unable to get my basket close to where i was looking at flowers, and that is where my phone was lifted from my purse. I didn't become aware of the thief for about an hour later when I had to make a phone call.

I was at the check stand at 14:24 I called the store and asked if security cameras were available to try and spot the thief, and also drove back to the store and was told the camera wasn't able to see in that area. I shop a lot at my Trader Joe's and really fell very badly that something like that could happen to a senior lady. Two of your employees were very helpful to me and gave me information on how to try and find my phone via apple but the phone is gone, and all my information, I'm a very sad senior lady tonight. wanted you to know so that maybe someone could watch over us to keep this from happening again.

40

Several years ago when I found out that I had a wheat intolerance, I checked all my local grocery stores and bakeries but could not find a bread that I could stomach. A friend suggested Trader Joe's Gluten Free Multigrain Brown Rice Bread (purple label, not turquoise), and I was saved.

Today, I went to TJ's to buy my week's supply of Rice Bread. It was gone. When I inquired, I was told that it was no longer available--it was discontinued. Over the years I have lost various of my favorite products from the TJ shelves, but rice bread? This is impossible! It's bread for God's sake--not some specialty food! What's next, milk and eggs??

I am hugely disappointed in your choices, Management! I understand that the customer is not the most important target in your decision-making. The profit factor is, of course. But in this case, it won't be only the bread that's discontinued. You can add me to the discontinued list.

40

I've been a Trader Joe's customer since 1980. In the last 8 years or so, I've been more and more disappointed in their business practices. Specifically, I now always run into items that are either discontinued or out-of-stock. It used to be "never" and now it's "always". Discontinued items are the direct consequence of Trader Joe's buyers bleeding suppliers to death. They would rather discontinue a product than pay the manufacturers a reasonable price. Potato bread didn't disappear from TJ's shelves because the world ran out of potatoes.

Everybody agrees it was a hot-selling product, but there wasn't enough profit in it. I enjoyed TJ's pear tart for many years, until it was discontinued. It so happens that I know the French supplier (Panem Ile-de-France) and had an enlightening discussion with them. Basically, Trader Joe's wanted them to supply the product at a loss, so they could increase their profit margin even more. The result? No more pear tart. This example is repeated hundreds of times every year and the customer is always the victim.

As for running out of stock, consider your neighborhood supermarket carries an average of 50,000 SKU numbers, vs. Trader Joe's 5,000. And yet, Trader Joe's is the one who is increasingly "out-of-stock" on more and more items. Why? Because they stock their warehouses to a bare minimum, again pressuring their vendors to deliver "just-in-time" as a way to increase profits even further. When you take the time to drive to Trader Joe's, find a parking spot, squeeze your way though crowded aisles and wait through increasingly long check-out lines, the least you can expect is to walk out with what you need.

Today they were out of orange juice. And grapefruit juice. And most salads. And pecan pie (a buyer decided this was now a "seasonal" item) and three other items, out of 12 on my list. I'm fed up. Thankfully, a Sprouts market will open next month, two blocks away. Woo-hoo!

40

I am so upset that the company has decided to stop selling the "Chipotle Flat Iron Steak". I was counting on it for my annual 4th of July party. I went to two stores and both managers informed me that the company has stopped selling the product. They also said they don't know why it was discontinued since it was a very popular item (SKW#091474) and that it was hard to keep on the shelves. I know this to be true since i would always have my wife take whatever was on the shelf. I hope the company will reconsider this "terrible decision" and reinstate this product. Until then you have lost this customer. I will try to locate where this steak is being sold and change my shopping habits. If you should start selling this product again please contact me at my e-mail address.

40

We want to complain on the cashier who was very Disrespectful and extremely Rude. He overcharged the bill and when I told him was missing change,instead to said excuse me. He gave me a nasty face and a careless attitude ,like "go to hell" with his hand and plus wanted to make me do the line twice to give us the change,We spend a lot of money weekly at the Trader Joe's, after this unpleasant situation. I don't think we will came back again.

40

Went to Trader Joes around 7pm - Plano, TX location - I don't live near here - its a special trip for me and with my schedule it's only about twice a month. I didn't buy a huge amount of items - I bought 11 items - nothing bulky everything would have fit in one bag... this was the end of the day for me - I had been super busy all day ... I was given my one sack in my cart - told thank you have a good day and left... the cashier ran out to my car and brought me by bottle of water - he said here you forgot your water... it wasn't in my bag it wasn't in the cart - I hadn't seen it ... I said thank you - my mistake at that point was thinking that was all I was missing! I got home - a 25 minute drive and realize I am missing half of my items!

I called the store - am I on my way back up there.. not it's late and it's a long drive! I asked for my charge to be reversed on my card - they can't do that but he will give me a refund when I come into the store next - well that will be about 2-3 weeks so what do I do in the mean time - some of the items I needed and had to go out and buy elsewhere! I call the corp office - I explain the situation - no one apologizes at this company - no one has told me they were sorry for not giving me all of my products! All she said was no we are not set up to refund or reverse on our credit card machines - ok how about the guy that I talked do did not want to write down my last name - all he wanted was my first name - how will you know its actually me and how am I supposed to really believe that I will get my refund now for the trip I have to make to this location regardless!

Oh the lady at the corp office said oh I am sure he will know you - we normally know our customers - ok I am hardly ever in this store in fact I can count the # of times I am in this store - that's crap too! Did anyone hear of the mail? If you can't refund my money on my card how about your mail me a gift card to the freaking store and put in the mail - mail gets across dfw within one day normally instead of waiting the 2 weeks when I can get over there or me having to re-arrange my schedule to now make a special trip to get back over there?! I am very upset at how this was handled and if wasn't for needed my refund I would not go back to this location! So make certain you have all of your items because if you drive away good luck on getting a refund for items you did not get!

40

Every time I look for something, it has been discontinued. Last one was Soy and Flaxseed Spicy Chips. Veggie, Corn and Nacho are there, I found out spicy were discontinued. 2 other products ( one w/ strawberries and one with 5 layers) have also been discontinued. No mention in Fearless Flyer. People in the store then say, " That has been discontinued." Why and what gives?

60

On Sunday, 3.20.2016, between 6pm. - 6:10 pm. I had planned to shop Trader Joe's@72nd street. There was a long line of folks waiting. I came directly to the front to speak with the Trader Joe (female) employer who was in charge of the line. I'm wearing a medical (Podiatrist direction) walking boot due to a broken metertorsal bone on my left foot and asked if I can come in and not wait on line? I'm consided temporarily Handycap. She said to me "No I'm sorry, I can't let you in". This was extremely upsetting! I phoned my husband/car to pick me up. Please know i am a very good customer and shop Trader Joe's, on a regularly on weekly basis. - "l'm familiar with most of your staff and they're all the best, with one exception".

60

Apparently looking at spices and seasonings at Trader Joe's is considered to be 'suspicious' activity, as it is the second time I was under surveillance for doing just that. At the Trader Joe's in Sunnyvale, CA, I was looking at the various spices and seasonings, reading the ingredients because it is necessary to purchase a low/no sodium product. I became aware of a Trader Joe's employee keeping his eye on me as I did so, and subsequently left the aisle. When I returned a minute or two later, the same employee was standing exactly where I had just been, studying the rows of spices and seasonings. This is now is the SECOND time this has happened to me, when looking at spices and seasonings!

It's amazing that Trader Joe's doesn't realize that this sort of thing puts someone off shopping at their store. Complaining to the manager or the company does no good; it usually results in the stock "He was just doing his job" response. If it happens again, that will be the LAST time I shop at Trader Joe's.

40

I opened my Five Spice Chicken and Asian Style Noodle Salad, took the nut packet out, and noticed a long black hair curled up on the wet dressing packet. Unfortunately, I was eating this salad for lunch. I am a social worker and have minimal time to eat. I was forced to throw away the salad and had to go hungry for the remainder of the day until I was off from work. As a social worker I am to be present with my clients however I was unable to do so with a splitting head ache from being so hungry. The item number for the salad is 61604702. I hope with me telling you about this hairy problem, others wont be subjected to similar circumstances.

20

This rating is for the way the corporate headquarters treats their most devoted customers. I have been through a lot with them. I gave them all my money for years. This company is very secretive, it is notoriously impossible (and was for me) to get help with any problems. My issue is not with the stores but the corporate headquarters. I don't trust them enough to shop their all the time anymore. Only in emergencies. People should know this in case they ever have a problem..do not expect even the tiniest modicum of respect or help from the corporate headquarters.

40

I was at 142E 14th Street, New York, NY 10003 on January 30, 2016 between 4:15PM And 4:30PM and one of your employee's was very nasty br saving how he hated F..cling customer and he would be glad when his tour was over. He was African American about 5'6" and he standing by the entrance directing people to the line he continued to use the F word. My cashier S. Andre was so nice and concern and ask me to point who it was and I did.

I am a senior citizen and that behavior is unacceptable. I spend money in your store at least twice a week and I tell relatives in other states to shop there. I purchased 12 items that day. Please retrain or suspend. I don't want him to be fired but he should be suspended , it is the customer pay's his salary. Most of your employee are well train but not this and he was wearing glasses. I did not ask him for help, I just trying to get in line.

20

Thank you for taking the time to read my complaint. I am writing this letter because I am appalled by the quality of your frozen cherries. The pits that are inside of these bags are beyond dangerous. You MUST discontinue this product if you cannot figure a way to safely and effectively remove these pits from each and every bag. I add the cherries to smoothies and I have a Vitamix and I still have sharp fragments of the pits.

Super dangerous! I have chomped down on these suckers and really, really hurt my teeth. I am now buying my frozen cherries from Whole Foods (I'm on my 6th bag from them) and I haven't came across a single pit. Please fix this issue or PULL THEM OFF YOUR SHELVES. It's freaking dangerous guys! Come on!

40

On 12/14/15 I went to the store in Catherdral City. I go there at least once a month so I am very familiar with the store and friendly staff. On this evening I had the rudest treatment from their store Manager named Aaron. It was extremely inappropriate and only got worse as I repeatedly tried to help the Manager with issue as did 2 other employees.

It held up the line for over 15 minutes. He humiliated me in public because he blamed the problem on my EBT card which was not the case at all. This is serious discrimination. Furthermore after finally leaving the store and being in quite a rush as this rude/inappropriate/discriminating stunt this unprofessional manager pulled cost me to run about a half hour behind. The cashier who originally made the mistake and kindly helped me in a hurry to load my groceries- have no issues with him he is always great/we all make mistakes.

Without a witness the Store Manager appeared outside my car at night when I was alone (cashier employee had already left) and he proceed to approach me with anger and more paperwork he never gave me. I took the paperwork and tried to move on only to find him extremely hostile and still arguing he was right. Unbelievable.

I finally just started me car and drove away at which point he suddenly played the victim and threatened to call the cops. Seriously this guy is unstable and I'm so shocked at his behavior. This employee who somehow was given a Managers Position will end up hurting someone, threating the wrong person and end up costing this company a big law suit. I'll assume he has already been removed. I feel sorry for his co-working as this man is abusive.

40

I had recently purchased 3 jars of coconut oil and was very dissapointed to come home and find out they all had mold in them. The mold was in the bottom and middle part of the jars and all three had some form of it ranging from mild to moderate. Still this is not okay because this is consumed in my household. I visited the orange Milford CT location and was very dissapointed. If their is anything you can do to reconsider my loyalty to trader joes it will be greatly appreciated.

40

Purchased 2 Trader Joe's Butter Chicken. Was not Butter Chicken. It was Chicken Masala and it was spicy. I know my Indian food quite well. Could not eat this. Packaging does not list any ingredients that would be hot/spicy. Was at the limit of heat my husband could tolerate. That's why I bought Butter Chicken (Makhani) and not Masala.

60

Took down 2 stars, specifically because of the green apples. I've frequented 3 different Trader Joe's, and for some unknown reason, the granny smith apples are always bruised. Almost every apple is bruised, and the size of the bruise almost always covers a large portion of the apple. To me it's not negligible, and causes me to spend extra time, picking and disorganizing the inventory in order to find apples that are up to my standards (i.e., doesn't have bruises that are larger than my thumbprint). It seems like Trader Joes and sometimes Whole Foods are the only grocery stores that has this problem, and I want to bring this problem to your attention, because it should be an easy fix.

It's truly a shame that a grocery store that prides itself on quality, would be so negligent about the care of produce, it's also a shame to see the pile of unwanted apples sitting in the inventory and likely to be thrown away or baked into apple pies. Trader Joes corporate office and the local management needs to do something about this, please take more care and consideration into how you are handling produces, it takes a lot of energy/labor for these apples to be produced and transported all the way to the grocery store, and just a few minutes of carelessness in handling turn all of that energy/labor into a waste of time.

40

I love Trader Joes and am a loyal customer. Tonight, we cooked the Chicken Parmesan Lollipops and threw them out. They were a pile of "matter" on a stick. Gooey, no chicken. What a sad excuse for the normally wonderful products we expect from Trader Joe. Please rethink this one!

40

The day before Thanksgiving and there is a long line at the express checkout. Everything was moving until they switched checkers and the new woman was busy chatting it up with a customer while we were all waiting. When I went to the manager to complain he was very rude. Instead of apologizing and look into it he blamed it on the credit card chip reader. I would appreciate a personal apology from him. He needs better customer training.

40

I looked carefully through the selections of nut butters on a recent visit to Trader Joe's in Everett, WA. I am sensitive to peanut butter and am allergic to roasted almond butter. I usually buy Trader Joe's sunflower butter, but they did not have any. So I saw Cashew Butter. I looked at it, no mention of any other nuts on the front at all. So I bought it, even though it was a bit pricey, since I can eat cashew butter. When I got it home, though, I saw on the back of the label, in tiny lettering, that it contained roasted almonds. Should it not then have been called "Cashew and Almond" butter? I told the local Trader Joe's about this but they did not seem to care. Some people who are allergic to roasted almonds (a chemical change happens in the almond skin when they are roasted) can have severe reactions similar to peanut butter. This is a potentially dangerous labeling issue. I feel the almond ingredient needs to be prominently displayed on the front label.

60

Bag of chicken nuggets, there was one huge nugget amongst the bag which I was different, when I cooked it the end result was a big glob of powdery mush. I took pictures and emailed Trader Joes three days ago. They don't appear to respond to complaints!

60

Bought a TJ's Apple Pie. Said "no preservatives" and "no artificial colors or flavors." It looked and sounded wholesome and tasty. Wrong! The ingredients probably were OK but the pie filling had been heavily thickened with corn starch or some other thickener.

So instead of getting a natural fruit pie, which I fully expected, I ended up with a heavily-processed, gooey pie. Unless TJ revamps its recipe for this Apple Pie, which should be an American classic, there's no way I will buy another one.

In fact, given the gooey, unnatural consistency of the pie filling, I will not be buying any other TJ's pies and advise other consumers to steer clear of them. A pie that is much tastier, loaded with berries, and not heavily thickened is Claim Jumper's berry (Razzleberry or Marion berry) pie. A much better choice than TJ's over-thickened, under-fruited junk.

40

You folks no longer offer "Original Hummus", a hummus that did not have tahini as an ingredient. My dear wife enjoyed your "Original Hummus" and asked two employees why it was not available and received two totally different excuses.We both appreciate what "Trader Joe's" uniquely provides and are surprised that you folks may not be aware of a negative perception as to how you do business, not just on our part but amongst our friends. We feel you make management decisions based on your convenience and perceptions first and our convenience second. You have many positive attributes including a very helpful and nice staff working in your stores. How about returning "Original Hummus" and make my wife happy again?

40

I’m reporting a very bad experience about your customer service at Montrose location in California. I was at Trader Joe’s on Friday 07/24/2015 with my four year old son. After shopping we were at register in order to pay for our groceries. My son is a very shy kid and wanted to have some stickers so I asked the cashier to hand him some stickers very politely. The cashier handed my son some stickers but seemed that my son wanted the famous flag stickers from Trader Joe’s and I said to cashier, I’m sorry can you please hand him some flag ones.

At that point the cashier told me, is this the way your son speaks and he said, you need to teach him how to say “please” and “thank you”. At first I didn’t even understand what he meant but in less than 5 seconds I got it and I was very embarrassed front of all other customers how your store’s cashier humiliated me and my four year old son. The cashier’s name on name tag was Travis but on my receipt is written Robert, M. First of all he was questioning my parenting which he had no right to do that.

Second of all, He was very mean and unprofessional to speak about a four year old kid. I didn’t want to have more conversation with your cashier front of my son otherwise I would explain him that he had no right to speak to a customer like that. Apparently Trader Joe’s did not train their cashiers well enough. He was the rudest and meanest cashier I have ever seen. I spent almost $600 every month at your store and I should start finding another place to do my shopping since your cashiers don’t know how to speak.

60

Went to Trader Joes to get a chicken salad and drink...waited in line for a customer to be processed, a second cart was behind hers and no one there, customer had left to get something else...instead of ringing my two items the cashier started with the cart even though the person was not there. I took my two items to customer service desk and they said I could only get processed at the cashier stations, I left my stuff and won't be back.

40

Since we live in the San Francisco bay area, we visit 4 stores regularly: Millbrae, South San Francisco, Daly City and Stonestown (SF). A month ago the managers told us this product that the one L balsamic vinegar of Modena, was to be restocked, as we could find it in none of the stores. Lately they are saying we have to buy the smaller bottle, and this product is watery and of not the same quality. We are thinking of taking our business back to Safeway, as the prices have just gone way up, like with wild salmon and Cambozola cheese (spikes of several dollars in a matter of days) and quality of all the TJ's we go to are in the wrong direction.

40

I was shopping in one of the Irvine,ca stores when I saw one of the asst mgrs. racial profiling P. Hernandez is his name. Now I've been shopping at all of the trader joe stores since they have been around and this SHOULD NOT BE. I've lived in the area for 34yrs and why should anyone living in the area that shops weekly be troubled with that sort of low life thinking. It brings down the store atmosphere and lowers its appeal. I came to Irvine when that behavior was hidden and acceptable but Irvine has changed and in case you haven't notice its much more diverse.

Anyone living in that area are either well educated and financially able to afford a trader joes grocer. The fact that this person chooses to bring down the quality of the store says a lot about those hired and the mentality of its management. The products are great and the service APPEARS GOOD but, it is clear that the subtle current standards will see a loss in faith by all people, if you continue this practice.

100

We travel a lot and shop trader Joe's. Why is the chicken Marsallas not the same quality in oregon as those in California? Do you have a different supplier in each state?

40

Your product called Taos Joe's Southwest Chicken Quesadillas with season vegetables is horrible- Please take this out of your store as you are selling something that has no taste. Plus being made in Mexico. Do yourself a favor and quit stocking your store with it.

40

The spicy beef and broccoli I purchase had maybe 6 ounces of beef and the rest was broccoli. Very misleading and frustrating for when you are trying to cook a dinner for two and the portion is barely for one.

20

I purchased Trader Joes "Organic Heavy Whipping Cream" and froze it for use when I am unable to go to the store. When I defrosted it, it was mostly a glob that looked as though i had already whipped it. In fact, that does not happen to pure cream, only when it has carageean added, an additive that has a deleterious effect on mammalian health. I wanted it to put in my coffee! I will no longer purchase any product with carageean in it, which means that I will not purchase any TJ brand dairy products without reading the label.

20

No customer can continue to shop at a store where they get up to the line, and they have to worry if the clerk going to let them buy the groceries. This is exactly what happened to me at Trader Joe's the other day. The clerk rang up half my order before stepping away to assist another customer. When she came back to continue MY transaction, she rang up about three items before stepping aside to ring up ANOTHER customer's items. I had to wait there until the person BEHIND me finished their transaction before the clerk focused on my own. If you don't want to sell groceries, if you really don't want to let people buy groceries, then why do you have a grocery store or a manager like the one described above!?!?!? Cause, yes, the lady checking me out, the clerk that ignored me, that was the manager!!!

60

I got a plastic piece in chocolate pistachio toffee. I am not sure where to make complaint about this, i am very disappointed as i love those toffees .

40

False advertising - The pictures of food on your frozen foods do not accurately reflect what you get. For example, the Paneer Tikka Masala shows approximately 15 pieces of paneer in the picture, when in fact there are only 6-7 pieces. Advertising laws ensure the consumer is given the undeniable and innate right to know what product or service they are purchasing. Although the package indicates 9 oz,, if a consumer doesn't open the package, it could be construed by the picture that 15 pieces + rice weigh 9 oz.. This negates ‘truth in labeling,’ which is the accurate and fair delivery of necessary information to a prospective consumer. Be careful with this.

20

I was shopping in the Templeton store last Saturday, and walked right into a pit bull on a leash. This was not a service dog in a store, just an aggressive dog that Trader Joe's allows. If they do not stop this practice I will go somewhere else!

 

40

Today I took the 40 minute drive to my nearest Trader Joe’s in St. Paul, Mn. Among many other things I purchased a bottle of balsamic vinaigrette. (We have eaten MANY bottles of it.) The bottle WAS NOT jostled on the way home. It was packed upright in a bag and removed at home. Before dinner, I removed the hard plastic around the neck of the bottle and began to shake the separated mixture. The top was COMPLETELY off of the bottle and merely resting on top. The vin. flew all over my chair, my floor,the sliding glass door, my sweater, and worst of all-all over my beautiful wool area rug. We not only didn’t get our dressing for dinner, but we spent most of our evening cleaning and scrubbing the stubborn greasy stuff. Worst of all , my wool rug will never be the same. Their is no way to get all of that oil out! I am over 50 years old and have NEVER seen a bottle that had a completely unattached bottle top. I am NOT a happy Tr. Joe’s customer tonight. Sincerely, P.J. Rutten

60

I have a complaint about 2 products I bought 2 weeks ago: Stilton cheese w/apricots – sounded good to me, but when I served it, it crumbled to breadcrumb size even after letting it warm to room temperature. There was no way to cut off large chunks, small chunks, any size cheese. I ended up throwing the entire wedge away. Crunchy unsalted peanut butter from unblanched peanuts – good taste but has the consistency of hot fudge (even after being stirred and refrigerated). This was my first experience with Trader Joe’s; not sure I’d make a special trip for its products!

 

40

I have been shopping at Trader Joes for the past 5 years and they have lost my busines. Last week I went to the Orland Park Store for which I was followed by at least 5 employees throughout the store when I had 2 carts of food that I was purchasing at the time. I spent $500.00 in groceries, and I had to bag my own groceries when management stood in their little huddles at the customer service booth and offer no baggers. It was not until I insisted the cashier to call for help when a woman arrived to help bag the groceries with me and a women help me to my car, while the men told by and watched it all.

Tha management team clearly have no customer service background and clearly are bias towards certain customers. Trader Joes has lost not only my business but my family and friends as well, and this is a whole lot of business. Very disappointed at Trader Joes particularly this store, because this is not the first time that this has happened, but this is the last time for me.

60

Hey – I’ve been shopping at Trader Joe’s for a long time. I started buying their nonfat greek yogurt in the 16 ounce container, but when I measured it out I barely got 2 cups. I was shocked the first time it happend, but the next time was the same way too. I like shopping at Trader Joe’s and don’t usually have customer complaints like this. However, after seeing that the actual size is not what is printed, it made me think. Obviously sold by weight not volume! This is a problem for me and think people need to know it. They should mark items clearly, accurate, not like this. Sincerely, long time Trader Joe’s shopper and concerned customer. Make this right please…

40

Rude customer service. This Trader Joes store has to have the most adversarial clerks I have ever encountered. I was in the store today and got a cup of coffee. Upon realizing I didn’t like it, I asked the clerk whether I should throw a cup hot liquid in the trash can (didn’t want to create a mess) or give it to him to dump in the sink. Seems simple. He frowned at me and said, “Why are you giving this to me? I can’t reuse it.” Crazy. Who in their right mind assumes I want him to recycle the coffee. A simple, “Here, let me take care of that for you” or a “Please toss it in the trash” would have sufficed. Typical of Trader Joes. I could cite at least 5 other incidences when a simple question was met with over-the-top hostility and communication.

Have feedback for Trader Joes?

Thanks for your feedback!

Sorry. Please try again later!