Fifth Third Bank Customer Service
Rated 1.13 of 5 Stars
Based on 31 Complaints

Contact Fifth Third Bank Corporate

Toll free phone number: 1-866-671-5353

Fifth Third Bank is a United States regional banking corporation headquartered in Cincinnati, Ohio and is principal subsidiary of holding company Fifth Third Bancorp. Fifth Third is traded on the NASDAQ:FITB. There are over 1300 full service locations employing over 21,000 associates. Revenues in 2015 were reported as over US 7.2 billion.

If you have a problem with your Fifth Third account or service the main Customer Support telephone number is 1-866-671-5353. There are three separate phone numbers assisting with Personal, Business or Commercial banking. Those numbers are found here. If you would like to send a US Postal correspondence to CEO, Greg D. Carmichael you may address you letter, Fifth Third Center, 38 Fountain Square Plaza, Cincinnati, Ohio 45263.

Founded in 1858 as The Bank of Ohio Valley, the Fifth Third Bank received its current name after the Third National Bank and the Fifth National Bank merged in 1908. It was so close to prohibition that ‘Fifth’ was placed first, not appearing as reference to a ‘fifth of whiskey’. Social presence may be found on Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn.


Experienced poor service? File a complaint here!

Fifth Third Bank Contact Information

Report complaints to corporate and get satisfaction

  • Fifth Third Bank headquarters address

    • 38 Fountain Sq. Plaza
    • Cincinnati
    • OH 45263
  • Company website

  • 1-800 phone number

    1-866-671-5353
  • Better Business Bureau rating

    B-
  • Customer service hours

    Monday-Friday, 8am-6pm CST

Browse reviews of other Banks



Top Fifth Third Bank Complaints

Browse more than 31 reviews submitted so far

20

I’ve made an overpayment. I’ve called customer service and requested money to be moved around. I had a credit and was told to call when I made a payment. The credit was going to be applied towards the monthly payment. I’ve called several times and received letters stating my request. However, my new statement was available and I have a missing payment and a late fee. Also, my account was sent to collections. I called and the representative kept telling me when the last payment I’ve made, I kept telling her about the funds.... She didn’t attempt to look over my account (previous notes). I requested to speak to a manager. However, she transferred me to collections.. I was asked a thousand incorrect questions. I’m very upset, frustrated and it’s so unprofessional of your representatives to not have my account correct/updated. I finally spoke to to a manager and hopefully it can finally be corrected. I don’t understand how I’ve spoken to so many people and my account still isn’t accurate. Please explain to me the reason being?? I made a payment for 2 months. After the payment, the analysis was available. I requested 1 month of the mortgage to be paid and I made a payment for the escrow. I was left with a credit. I requested that credit to be applied to July payment. I made a payment on June 25( for July). I called and had the credit to be applied with the payment I made. However, nothing was done correctly. No I shouldn’t have a missed payment, no I shouldn’t have a late fee and No my account shouldn’t been turned over to collections!

20

I am filing a complaint about my account at the Fifth Third bank account in=
Newark Ohio.routing # 044002161, account # 7283589534.I made a deposit to my account on July 15th in the amount of $1849.50. $100 posted to my
account .and I was told the rest would be available the next day I called when it wasn't there and then was told it was being held until the 24th.The check is from Blue Cross and Blue Shield which is a reputable company the check is for an ambulance ride the took me from one hospital to another. I have deposited other checks like this before with=
no problem having it post the day after I depositedI have been a customer =
with Fifth Third for many years and am very disappointed because of this. I
am told no one can override the hold.I will be shopping for another=
bank of the money isn't posted to my account and I will be contacting BBB.=
Also I will be contacting Blue Cross and Blue Shield with this matter.

Thank you
Elizabeth Fuller

20

Withdrawal your money from Fifth Third and put it in another BANK. Can not get them to look into money taken out of my account unauthorized.

20

I received my new auto payment book after the late date. I tried for 3 hours to contact someone at 53 bank to setup an online account to pay amount due. they would give me a temp acc ID, then would transfer me to another line to create a temp password. this would put me on hold for 20 min then phone line would disconnect. tried this 8 times. no other option to contact anyone that could help. I had to pay $15 extra to pay amount due by phone. very poor service.

20

Was on hold for 30+ minutes every time i call, passed around 20 times and still no answer cannot get anyone to help

I have had a mortgage for 15 years and the one month you take it over now you are not paying the insurance and the account has become delinquent

The insurance company (citizens) says you refuse to help them

Whats your problem
321-863-9846

20

This is by far the worst bank I’ve ever had, they deducted money from my account and for some reason they are unable to see the image of the check. What doesn’t make sense is the fact that I never had checks or used checks with them. Every time I call they tell me to give them an extension 2-3 business days. I’ve been very patient but don’t give me your word and tell me it’s going to be resolved this day and still not have an answer these calls are being recorded so I’m sure they know they are giving false information to the customer. It’s been a month and I still don’t have an answer or my money back!

20

CANT WAIT TO MOVE MY CAR LOAN ASAP! I HAVE OVER A 750 CREDIT SCORE. THE POOR SERVICE AND LACK THERE OF IS RIDICOULOUS! ITS NEARLY 2020 AND THEY CANT GET THERE SHIT TOGETHER. OTHER BANKS HAVE ONLINE BANKING AND AUTO PAY PROCESS IN PLACE THAT IS EASY AND NO HASSLE. YOU HAVE TO GIVE AN ARM AND A LEG JUST TO SET UP AUTO PAY WHICH WE DID. RECEIVED A CONFIRMATION LETTER BACK STATING THAT AUTO PAY WOULD TAKE AFFECT JUNE 1 OR 2ND. IT DID NOT HAPPEN. FINALLY, WE CALL ON 06/14 AND THEY STATE IT WAS A MISTAKE ON THEIR PART. WE REQUESTED A SKIP PAY SINCE IT IS THERE FAULT AND TO RESUME ON 07/01. THEY SAY THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO. DO NOT TAKE A LOAN THROUGH THIS BANK YOU WILL BE SORRY. TRY TO MAKE YOUR PAYMENTS ON TIME BUT THEY MAKE IT VERY HARD TO DO SO. GET WITH THE TIMES OR GO BANKRUPT! HATE, HATE, HATE THIS BANK!!! SERIOUSLY, THINK TWICE ABOUT DOING ANY BUSINESS WITH THIS BANK.....BUNCH OF SORRY ASSES!

20

I have overdraft cprotection and my check is direct deposit on the first and they wouldn’t honor a $2 overdraft. Why do I have overdraft protection?

20

You are the worst bank I have ever dealt with. My mortgage was with mb financial. I went online with them to set up my mortgage payment for 4/30/19 for the 5/1/19 due date. It did not work. I called MB financial and was told my mortgage was sold to you, AND that you and both merging together. I called your bank to pay my mortgage on 4/24 and 4/30. Both times I was told I can not pay it yet because you did not put me into your system. I was told to call back on Monday May 6th to pay my mortgage. I have been trying for almost two hours to pay it.
I will be contacting the NY Dept of Financial services. You are horrible at what you do.
You have now prevented me from paying my mortgage and paying it on time.
You have harmed my credit score and my track record of consistent on time. Most of all you had treated me with great disrespect and therefore deserve to be treated with great disrespect.

20

I have never had a worse experience in my life! I will be contacting my lawyer! My story is a long one and after multiple requests to talk to someone in corporate nothing happens. I have never witnessed such incompetence in my life not to mention being intimidated by a 53rd employee because he was mad that we didn’t go with his branch! Two days ago they made us get a 400.00 engineering report when they had no intention of closing this loan! Making us transfer a 162,000 annuity to 53rd knowing they had no intentions of closing this loan! I believe that constitutes fraud! This is just the tip of the iceberg! My lawyer will get the rest! Loan number0320414824

Vicky Snyder
1-231-375-9833

20

Fifth Third Bank has inflicted serious financial damage to me by charging me 7% interest for going on 12 years now, I jncurred a mortgage through no fault of my own and Fifth Third has done absolutely nothing to help me out. I despise Fifth Third and I understand fully why they get a one star review

20

My boyfriend and I went to fifth third bank 15 minutes before closing to deposit money into our checking account. We deposited $400. They were very rude I think because we came in close to closing. Come to find out they deposited the money into the wrong account. Not even our account! We go back to fifth third at 5:02 and knock on the door. The lady is shaking her head no and another woman opens the door to see what we want. They fix our problem without apologizing. Someone else could’ve spent that 400! They didn’t even care they only cared about leaving.

20

I was told by my car dealership that there was lien against the vehicle I was trading in placed by Fifth Third. The loan on this vehicle was from Chase, never had any dealing with Fifth Third. Called 877-534-2264 and reached a woman named Madison, who was very helpful when I explained the situation and transferred me to another person named Tamicka. My entire conversation with her centered around her complaining about how my phone sounded and not being very helpful. She did look up information in my name and then she needed my husband to come to the phone so she could speak to him about his information. Unfortunately he was in the bathroom taking care of business and I was told, "Well, if he isn't done in 2 minutes, I am hanging up" Screw mother nature, screw customer service, her agenda is the only one that takes preference, not the customers. Apparently they don't want customers, because I personally will never have any dealings with them, based on this episode. In the end Miss Tamicka hung up on us anyway without resolving anything.

20

I Cant use Zell because I don't qualify for over $1,000? - Was told that I could use your other option (Direct Pay) and that has turned out to be a nightmare! Please, Disconnect me from that auto transaction because it doesn't work (to detailed to explain) I Physically went in to the Bank on more than one occasion (2 Locations) to have this taken care of and still ... The same thing, I Have never had any problems Banking with Fifth Third until now, last thing was I was denied early access and don't understand and really don't care at this point, I hope this can be worked out because even I Am forced to leave F.T.B. I will still contact Headquarters (Ohio?)

Thank You,
Brandt Cotton

20

Fifth third bank issued me 2 credit card with good credit limits almost 2 years ago. I use them but not to excess and I pay my balances off in full. I have 3 checking accounts with this bank and a auto loan and a savings. SO A YEARLY RANDOM automated check on accounts history etc., was done on February 22nd of 2019 was done and there was no prior notification that one of my Bank Credit cards was reduced to a low credit limit.

I noticed it when I went to make my payment on the card. I went into the bank to have my personal banker find out WHY, and got no answers and also again called the bank again on the 28th why this was done and was told about the random check on accounts, etc., Then told I should receive a letter as to why this was done! I have no late payments on anything, I have no outstanding balances, no late payment history, and my score is good.

I'm sure all banks do this. But now Im done with this bank, I will refinance my car else where, I will used my other credit cards, and I will only keep one account open. I don't need them, they need us as consumers.

IM DONE WITH 5TH THIRD BANK.

20

We bank at Fifth third Bank in Mount Pleasant NC 28025. We have been customers for approx. 5 years. All has been good until the last 8 months. The staff you still have there are very good but I believe they are over loaded and are not getting enough help to service your customers. NO MANAGER!! not enough staff. In the last month we have been turned away by long lines in the drive up, they do not answer the phones, after waiting on line inside the bank for 20 min. I was told to sit down & wait some more. I could go on & on I have placed a complaint by phone & told that the manager will call me back & 3 days no call?? You need staff & a good manager there. We are good customers and hope you address this problem. The tellers are great but overwhelmed!!! Oh there have been problems with the building & could use some up grades.

20

I cannot contact customer service at Fifth Third. I have been a customer since 1965. In Aug. 2018. I wanted to withdraw my IRA and put it in Kemba Credit Union paying 31/4%. I received a letter I got a penalty of 10%. I was never notified by customer service that this would happen. I am 74 years old I thought after 591/2 no problem. What has happened to we take care of our customers? I am really disappointed in Fifth Third what a shame I have given you nothing but the best bank to do business with.

20

My vehicle was involved in an accident Allstate settled the claim and submitted the full payment 12/06/2018 and to date the check hasn't been cashed, I've been contacting Fifth Third for the pass month and a half with and haven't able to get thru to anyone at the number that was provided. This has caused my credit score to decrease severely and I'm at wits end, my next step is to contact the attorney general, BBB and credit bureaus regarding this matter. If someone could please contact me at 215-548-1462 or 980-253-7109.. I'd really appreciate your prompted attention. Thank you in advance

20

Fifth Third Bank has gotten horrible with there customer service, their location is 2915 Colonial Blvd, Fort Myers, Fl 33912. I had the worst experience this afternoon.

The manager Cheryl is one prejudice lady that i will never bank at that location ever again.

20

I’m long-time loyal preferred customer 5/3 Bank, which also in this bank I have all my money.For many years I send money by wire transfer to Europe. In this branch once translation pass successfully, once not.
I note, that I always send this money to the same person and to the same invariable bank account. When transaction do not occur I noticed I don’t receive a refund of the entire sum. I asked the manager Ms.Melanie L. Johnston to compensate me and the amount that was deducted from me. She ansfered me, that isn’t their fault,that same where onother bank charged.It’s not my fault, that te banks can’t cooperate with each other. When I rightly reminded of my own, it’s treated me badly and ignored me, and the same version confirmed Ms.Shaena Coen. I feel uncomfortable, because I have a language barrier, I cannot defend myself. I just asking for my money back. When I enter the bank, I am afraid that an unpleasant conversation happens again for my own money.
I asking for intervention in this matter, otherwise I forced to change the bank.

20

Poor costumer service representative at your bank in peebles Ohio. Older lady with dark brown graying hair wouldn’t even help us cash or deposit money into our account even though she had our ID and made fun of us when she was requiring us to fill outs deposit slips ourselves. Our bank in lucasville assist us with this or we bank online. We just took our checks back . Honestly between there attitude and the issue we had with ur app bank security change over where we call customer service 3 times and still couldn’t get in were ready to leave u all
Together. We been loyal customer for 23 years and we are feed up yours service people our very poor and we dissatisfied

20

Very unhappy about dealing with a refi mortgage on existing mortgage. The bankers I'm dealing with take days to answer my email questions, send me requests without clarification, don't call when they say they will. When I do make contact they state they are overworked and will give my case full attention, then I don't hear from them for another week. Thinking of switching to another mortgage company soon!

20

On 10/19/2018 put my insurance check for $5430 dated 3/27/2018 and reads 'Void 1 year from the date on check' into the ATM machine at branch located at Telegraph Rd and 7 Mile Rd. Detroit/Redford MI. The ATM read the date being over 6 mo, so instead of it giving back the check, it kept it the branch tell me I have to wait for a copy of the check to come to me in the mail and then bring it in to cash. I was suppose to close on my brand new house 10/23/2018, now it's a real possibility that I can loose the deal, all because of 53rd. I will bring a law suit against this if this happens, for all I'm out and the value of the house $200k.

20

My husband and I secured an equity flex line of credit. Signed the paperwork to establish the account on October 15. I had a couple of follow-up questions, and have been trying to contact the two individuals (Deepak V.) from 5/3 4th Street, and Lynn C. (Cinn. Consumer Loan Specialist) that were involved in processing our application. They both seemed to have disappeared and despite several attempts to make contact via e-mail and telephone messages over this past week, I've had no response from either. This is "TERRIBLE" customer service! Once they got our signatures, they dumped us! We currently have our Checking, Savings, Credit Card, & Mortgage with 5/3. So, obviously we do a lot of business with 5/3 and if it wasn't for the costly inconvenience, we would close all our accounts and secure another lending institution. Given this experience, I would not recommend 5/3 Bank. Shame on 5/3 Bank! I will be most surprised if I receive a response, or a call back as a result of this complaint. If you wish to reach me, my office # is 502 852 6472.

20

Applied for a refinance of my home loan . Since May every 2 weeks they keep on asking for more info and documents. It seems never ending. I think it's either age discrimination or they have no idea what they are doing. Trying to get ahold of lawyers with AARP now. Even my son has said it's more abuse than I should be taking. I don't have application number handy but will. Call me at 708 945-5335

20

Hello,
I would like to file an official complaint about an interaction I had today with my local branch at 53rd Ave. in Bradenton FL.
I called to get information to do a wire transfer deposit for $91,000 + into my account for a real estate closing this week.
The teller I spoke with was very rude and actually hung up on me. Because I am not a speed writer and asked to repeat the information she got huffy and said “I have to go I have 5 people in front of me”
I latterly live 3 minutes away from the branch and quickly drove there to find know one in the lobby. All the banker offices had the lights out and know one there as well.

I did make a phone call to file the complaint and wanted to follow up about this. I now know why the Real Estate Attorney cringed when he found out it is Fifth Third making the loan for the buyer.
The closing is now set back 4 days because this bank did not follow through in a timely manner getting things done.
Customer Service? HA.

40

They called me 8 times yesterday and I have never had an account with them. They call me every day including Sundays and I have told them that I don't have an account with them, wrong number. They've called twice today already. Tho is straight up pure total harassment. They have the correct numbers for whose account they are calling about and have been told by them to stop calling my number and now they call me even more times per day. I am sick of this harassment by 5th Third Bank and will now start calling lawyers to sue.

20

Employees at Fifth Third Bank call me every day when I've told them a million times that I've never had an account with them and to please remove my number from their harassment call. They don't and they can't and then just leave me on hold forever when I ask to let me talk to someone who can. This has been going on for 5 years mind you! So now they call me and I text em back with very vulgar language after explaining again that I have never had an account with them that this is a wrong number and to remove my number from their call list. I now understand why people are upset.

40

I opened a checking account at 5/3 bank on 6/29/2016, signed paperwork to receive card in 7-10 days. Which at the latest would be 7/07/2016. The card did not show up. Made a second trip to the bank and talk to your rep, he initiated another request. Again it was to be here in 7-10 days and again on 7/26/2016 and no card. This time i went to the bank same rep. i told him he needed to call where they disperse cards. if i have to make another trip it will be to withdraw my money completely from Fifth Third Bank. I have serious misgivings about the quality of your service.

20

When you print out a statement of transactions from your account, and a yearly fee is taken out for an equity line, make sure to keep that printed copy of those transactions. I swear a month ago, I noticed 5/3 taking out the annual fee, and now, I'm seeing the fee taken out what seems to be a second time. If I was billed but not charged a month ago, why did it show up on my statement a month ago? I swear that fee WAS taken out then.

When I look up current transactions and 1 previous, and 2 previous, a chunk of dates don't even appear (assuming no transactions took place during those dates) I want to see ALL DATES regardless. What's keeping a bank from changing (even if just a little) information in your account from month to month? Why is it that on-line banking with other banks is clear and with Fifth Third it's so confusing? It doesn't seem it should have to be that way, and I should not have to constantly be on top of what's going on with Fifth Third and confused about it-- talking to yet another stranger. It's been continuously frustrating.

60

Fifth Third Bank is the perfect organization to manage your accounts securely anywhere and anytime. Online banking with Fifth Third Bank is helping me to pay Phone bills, Insurance premiums, Bike loan wherever I go at any time. It helped me in getting my Personal loan with easy documentation within a short time and customer support has given me complete details in explaining the plan details, rates and payment modes. It also has Housing Loans, Investment Policies, Personal loans with easy documentation and in less time. I really appreciate the awesome customer support and it is really amazing service from Fifth Third Bank.

Have feedback for Fifth Third Bank?

Thanks for your feedback!

Sorry. Please try again later!