Safelite Customer Service
Rated 1.18 of 5 Stars
Based on 39 Complaints

Contact Safelite Corporate

Toll free phone number: 877-664-8931

Welcome to the Safelite complaints department brought to you by HissingKitty. Experienced poor customer service? We make it easy to file a formal complaint against Safelite online. Simply use our free form and your feedback will be instantly forwarded for review. Need to contact the Safelite corporate office? We have the mailing address, phone number, and email address listed below.

Experienced poor service? File a complaint here!

Safelite Contact Information

Report complaints to corporate and get satisfaction

  • Safelite headquarters address

    • 7400 Safelite Way, Columbus, OH 43235
  • Company website

  • 1-800 phone number

    877-664-8931
  • Better Business Bureau rating

    A+

  • Customer service hours

    24 hours a day

Browse reviews of other Auto Repair



Top Safelite Complaints

Browse more than 39 reviews submitted so far

20

I had appointment with safelite today Tuesday, 10-8-19, hours 1-6pm. I have been waiting all afternoon. No one showed, no called, it's after 6pm and I;m unable to reach ANYONE. There is not a 24 hour number, every number telling me office are closed and called back in the morning
WO# 01812-860204
I am stuck at home, unable to drive my car because i'm afraid I will get a ticket for broken windshield on driver's side. I WILL NOT SIT AT HOME ALL DAY TOMORROW. THAT IS POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE. I AM UPSET

20

Had my wife take my care to be repaired at store 10th st topeka ks., because it had been vandilaized oct 31.
Upon reciving the car back it was parked due tonit being an collector item. When nove 4 came i went to deive car and noted white substance smeard on my black door panel. And rhen noticed door panel was not installed properly and could not be open from the inside. At that time i had my wife Malinda pagels call the xompany and report the issue. The ask ro have car brought back for inspection. At rhat rime they tried to denie the problem. And then she brought car home. And at that time we notified our insurance company if the problem well after weeks and weeks of back and forth. They asked to renspect the car and rhen took pictures saying they were from our first getting windows fixed. The pictures they tried to.past off were dated way past when rhe auto was initially brought down. And i had had pictures prio to rhat to submit to.our insurance company beforehand that clearly showed the car had 0 damage at that time. Well another 3 months had passed and still no response
.finally its here middle of july almost 6 mths later and previous manger was terminated or discharged. I havent a flue of the logistics of his removal
The new manger asked to get appraisals and the bring car backnto have new photos taken. So.we compiled . Now when at store the employee who worked on the car basically called me a liar and stated that pepole would do anything to make a dollar at that time i responded rudely
Already angry that it had been 6 mths
I rhen stated that im a newly retied us marine Corp recon staff Nco and had served 4 tours of combat overseas and did not appreciate being called a lia rand a theif, and i then stated that. Rhat my wife held a master degree in business adminstration and that i also had achieved a high education and that financial we were more than able to afford not only the vehicle which is a 2001 Mercedes benz slk 320 but i wouldn not olerate anymore disrespect. And that that car was the first year if its color and the the first year Mercedes had used the 6 speed manuel transmission. My main point is rhis should have been handled months ago .and i shouldnt have ro be calked a liar and a theft to my face. By anyone providing a service to the public
If no response to this complaint i.wil keep foing higher and higher till someone responds to this issues and i will.insure that every veteran i xome in contact with at our post and other pist here in Topeka Kansas hears about the war i was treated especially being a purple heart recipient
Thank you for your time
The car is 2001 Mercedes Benz slk 320 serviced at the safelite store in topeka ks on 104h ave under the name of malinda pagels 1549 sw23rd park topeka ks can be contacted at 785 224 9357

20

wrong part was put on my car without my permission; this casused the sensors to break; they refuse to refund me so i can use the money to go elsewhere to have it done correctly.

20

End Chat
Chat started at 3:45 PM
Thank you for choosing Safelite, my name is James. How can I help you today?
James L
3:45 PM
LOL...I just sent a note in through your contact area to tell you I am breaking up with Safelite for our company fleet vehicles. I waited over 20 minutes to schedule an appointment, until you, no chat people were available, and online it looked like over 2 weeks to have a mobile appintment.
3:47 PM
Seems Safelite spends a lot of money on advertising, but aren't backing it up with staff.
I am sorry to hear about your damage, but would be happy to provide you with information on this.
3:48 PM
Did you have a question while navigating through our online quote process?
James L
Seriously laughing. Your customer service is a JOKE!!! Did you even read what my comment was????????
I am copying our conversation and sending it in to your corporate office.
3:49 PM
Our system provides the most updated representation of both in-shop and mobile appointments, calculated by technician and part availability in your area. If you do not see any appointments in your desired time frame, you may check another zip code for either mobile service or in-shop appointments.
James L

You should reevaluate even having a chat option!!!

20

I had a appointment today between 8-12 and was told he was in Jamestown NY and it looked like rain my father lives in Jamestown and said it's very sunny out no cloud in the sky and I live in Fredonia by and he would have to get to my mother's windshield next week !! This is inexcusable by all means I took time off from my job to be here to have the window fixed and now I'm getting the run around !! If he doesn't want to do the job maybe he should look for different employment

20

They did a horrible job on my windsheild replacement. Parts removed from my car, not replaced. Poor workmanship. I had an independent body shop inspect the car. They agreed that the windshield was very poorly installed. I then drove the car to the Safelite shop and had the manager inspect the workmanship. He noted the poor workmanship, but completely tap danced about fixing it correctly How do I contact corporate headquarters about this? I definitely am not going to let this matter drop. I do not want this Safelite location doing any further repairs . I want an independent installer or another Safelite. I certainly don't appreciate the brush off attitude of the manager.

20

I submitted my complaint via online early this morning and have not heard back. This morning, June 6th, 2019 between 8:15 a.m and 8:45 a.m., as I was traveling to work, I first encountered one of your vans (#18224) driven by a driver whom I strongly suggest you have tested for alcohol and/or illicit drug consumption. This driver was driving on the twin span in Slidell, LA at an extreme high rate of speed, causing other drivers to immediately switch lanes in order to avoid collisions. The twin span is over a large body of water. As a result, by the grace of God, this driver, who was driving erratically, as though he was impaired, could have easily caused others to land in the lake. Moreover, he continued from there to 510 driving erratically at high rates of speed. As he headed in the direction toward Chalmette, LA, he immediately slowed down, thereby, almost causing several other collisions. I can be reached at 504-427-9256. Thank you.

20

I went in to Safelite to have one chip repaired. The repair person saw another small chip that was not splintered and decided to fix it too. The finished product of making the small chip splinter and the original chip was a crappy job as well. When I called back to complain and to have it fixed I was told there was noting more they could do I would have to replace the windshield completely. Is safelite going to pay for a new windshield? It was just poor workmanship and I didn't even asked to have the small chip repaired. It's right in my vision line so now I'm worse off then before. If the repair person can't do it right then e should have said so. The small chip is now splintered and it wasn't before. I want this fixed.

20

Someone from your facility had my car towed from your facility located at 1306 s. University Little Rock Arkansas on May 24th and I feel it was unjustified. I had my dodge pickup truck towed there on May 12th because it needed a back window put in and I was told that they would look at it and order the window and give me a call. I received a call from someone there letting me know that my truck was blocking two lanes and i needed to come up there and correct it. When I went to move it a few days later i found out they had it towed. I do alot of business with your company as well as refer alot of customers to your business. I have never experienced anything like this from them before and I'm very upset. This issue has cost me 600.00 plus dollars just to retrieve my vehicle from the impound lot. I would like to know if you can help me with this issue. Would someone get back with me as soon as possible. I can also be reached at 501-838-3676.

Thank you,

Ray Lily

20

They fixed a ding in my windsheild in my new equinox and then it cracked due to poor repair job by the technician
They did not offer any kind of discount or offer to wave the deductible because of their poor workmanship
Will not use them again and will never recommend them to anyone
Bad company and bad service don't waste your time or money they r a horrible company

20

Been trying to have a window replaced since 4-26-19. I can handle the window not being able to be found by Safelite bc you only allow to go to certain vendors but I cant stand being drug around and miscommunication. I was told on 5/30/19 that my window was in transit and today being told they couldn’t find a window. This has been going in for 5 weeks. The wrong window/wrong tint was delivered at week 1 then rescheduled only to be cancelled on. Your customer service stinks and I will never use your company again!!

20

After a turkey tookout my windshield - car undriveable, on Fri 19th Apr, was told that a new windshield could not be replaced until Mon due to the holiday weekend. [2016 Ram 1500]
Monday at 3:30 pm still hadn't heard from Safelite, so I called the local office. "The guy called in, so won't be coming - will Friday the (26th) work?" After I complained that this was my work truck, and I had already lost 3 days work, the lady told me she would try get the other guy to come out.... No more call received.
Called Safelite Executive Services to complain. They said that an email had been sent stating my windshield would be fixed on Mon 29th. I said that that was unacceptable and I would have never have agreed to that, at the time of the first claim call, Fri 19th. After the agent talked to a supervisor, I was then told that my windshield would have to be an OEM replacement and they were out - implying RamTrucks! I questioned that that information was probably available to the very first agent after they processed my vin number and optional features of my truck, relating to windshield associated sensors etc., yet was only then finding about the supply issue, which I question as legitimate.
I was promised a review of the taped conversation and a reply, especially as I wanted to make a loss of income claim ...…. Mon 29th, still nothing.

20

My insurance company is USAA. They told me I had to call safelight for a windshield replacement. I called safelight and was transferred three times. Then when I reached the USAA claims service the lady was EXTREMELY rude. She told me...How can you have a claim number when you haven't even called us yet? She continued to be condescending and rude until I finally hung up and called USAA to say I will never deal with them again!!! Unbelievable!!! The time/date of the call was 4/12/19 a little after 9:10am CST. PLEASE listen to the recording of that call Safelight Corporate. It was with the USAA department.

20

I had an appointment window between noon and 5pm today. I was told the technician would give me a call around noon with a more specific time. I did not get a call so I ended up calling at 4:40pm. I was told the technician's work phone was not working so they were going to reach out to the technician's manager so they could call the technician on her personal cell phone.
I ended up getting a call from the technician on her personal phone about ten minutes later saying she was just made aware of my order a few minutes ago and that it would take her about 40 minutes to get to me. (Mind you that would put her at my house around 5:30.

I've been waiting around all day on my only day off to get things done with no communication from anybody at Safelite. I'm very disappointed with Satellite and their communication skills.

20

a. Poor Workmanship
b. Botched Up Job
c. Poor Scheduling
d. Lack of Expertise
e. No Man Power
f. Wrong Part Purchase
Referral # 929655 - (January 2018) Broken Front Windshield broken. Filed Claim. Windshield replaced at residence.

Referral 673520 - (January 20190 Broken Front Windshiled Again. Filed Claim. Technician came out to replace. Replaced windshield. Brought to our attention the botched job from 2018. Took pictures. Consulted Manager (Benjamin West - Midlothian Store. Apt scheduled to take care of problem. Went into store for scheduled appt. Told by Terrence (Midlothian Store) unable to fix the windshield. Needed part would have to get approval for purchase of part. Waited on call from Terrence. Week later received call from Terremce had part was leaving Subaru Parts Shop - could schedule appt at home or bring car into shop. Chose to bring car into shop. Took car into shop - told no technician was avaiable. Talked with Benjamin. Reminded him that mileage one way to shop is 17 miles/round trip 34.. Assured us and have written signature that within 6 weeks we would received a check for $50 and our car would be fixed. Took the car to the shop (03/07-2019 ). Told that the wrong part had been purchased. Wait on call from Benjamin. To date no call from Benjamin. Called Benjamin this morning (03-11-19) Did a recap. Told him that I refuse to bring the car back to the shop again. Believe that I have given them ample opporturnity to fix the car. I will only take my car to the dealership for installation of the part. This month I need to take the car to the Subaru Dealership for my service, for a notified factory recall, and for my Virginia Inspection. Because my windshield has not been propertly repaired, an improper inspection decal will be placed on my vehicle. This will result as a result of the poor service that I have received. I solicit your help in helping me to get this matter resolved. Thank you in adavance. Sincerely, Margaret Thompson

20

Windshield replacement not installed properly. Destroyed NY state annual inspection sticker (3 previous vehicles stickers not destroyed) . Argumentative staff and unwilling to make things right! Never again will I use this company!!!!

20

Windshield replacement not installed properly. Destroyed NY state annual inspection sticker (3 previous vehicles stickers not destroyed) . Argumentative staff and unwilling to make things right! Never again will I use this company!!!!

20

Windshield replacement not installed properly. Destroyed NY state annual inspection sticker (3 previous vehicles stickers not destroyed) . Argumentative staff and unwilling to make things right! Never again will I use this company!!!!

100

yep geico referred me to safelite mini coop tech nasty even tipped been raining in my car since then so much for lifetime guarantee now my car after 3 years of debating the issue my car is covered with black trash bags and silver duct tape beware

20

Tried to call local service 2 times and was put on hold 1st time 4 minutes and 2nd time over 5 minutes. That what I call lousy customer service and won't be calling back on your company.

20

I have all state insurance your Murrieta store in California did a horrible job and it's not acceptable I talk to the manager and he promised to call me back and it's been more than 4 hours or more when he stated he would call me in 5 minutes to take care of my issue I would like someone from management company to contact me please store number is two six three nine four eight

20

I took my 2012 Toyota FJ cruiser to Safelite in Williamsburg, Va on December 4th to have a new windshield installed. I had to have this done in their shop because the top molding has to be replaced with the windshield. I was there approximately 2 hours, and part of the time was to do a walk around the vehicle to inspect for any kind of damage. The technician noted that the rubber seal on the bottom of the radio antenna was a little dry rotted. I work rotating shift and was starting midnight shift that night, so when the windshield was done I paid for it and left to go and get some sleep. I don't drive this vehicle as a daily driver, it has only 42,000 miles on it and I purchased it new. After working 9 straight midnight shifts, and in the meantime we had 6" of snow I noticed that the trim they installed was crooked, scratched, and not lined up at all. I started checking the entire area around the windshield and noticed scratches on both sides of the roof. I took the vehicle back and told the manager I needed him to come and look at it. Meanwhile a technician if that is what you would call him spoke up and said the molding wasn't supposed to line up with the roof line. After informing him that he didn't have a clue what he was talking about the manager took over. I told him that this was my 2nd FJ cruiser and I had a windshield replaced in my other one with no problems at all ( not by Safelite though). He scheduled me to come in today December 15th to replace the windshield, and was going to schedule a vendor to come and repair the scratches. I showed up today and I'm sitting there it's 9 and nothing has been done to my vehicle, still sitting where I parked it. Then a guy showed up and the woman behind the counter talked to him, then she came to get me and said this was the guy who was going to be fixing the scratches. After he finishes, and he did a great job, the woman comes out to tell me that they won't be able to fix the windshield today and she would call me when they got the new molding in. So the next trip to maybe get my windshield fixed will be the 4th trip, approximately 50 miles round-trip. Needless to say this will be the last time I'll ever deal with this company. I'm going to attach the pictures of the scratches, and the shoddy work on the molding. And on top of the whole situation, not even an apology. Sad !!

20

I scheduled appointment for Wednesday 11/21/18 and the Safelite guy called At 11:07 to tell me he would be there after 5:00 pm to replace windshield knowing I don’t have a garage or lighted place to put car. So he call me again at 545 pm to ask me if I had a lighted place to put car and unless he doesn’t know we have to put that on the report to get window fixed???? So he apologized and asked me what would be a good day to come back and I said anytime Friday and he said ok. Then he called me back at 552 and said that wasn’t going to work they were booked and ask me for another day and I didn’t have another day because my daughter was going back to college with car! I feel I should have been 1st on the Friday list seeing he put me off, very upset and won’t ever use Safelite again!!!!!

20

I had the windshield on my 2016 Subaru Outback replaced on August 27, 2018. Since then when the windshield is wet and I use the wipers there is a disturbing "design" remaining on the windshield that is quite annoying when driving after dark. The local Safelite shop here in Butler, PA tells me that it is residue from the car wash. I have a problem with that diagnosis. Why doesn't it appear on my other windows and why did this not happen to the windshield that was replaced and why did this never happen to any of the other 5 or 6 vehicles I have owned and run through the car wash. The Safelite shop here in Butler scraped some of whatever it is but that did not solve the problem 100%. I find it hard to believe that the warranty does not cover what seems to be a flaw in the glass. Your corporate headquarters told me I could talk to my insurance company and have them send out an adjuster and Safelite would go with their determination. My agent did speak to the people at the local shop and they say it is from the car wash and it is not due to their workmanship or installation. I get the car wash thing but if that is the case then thousands of customers would be griping along with ,myself. I still maintain it is a flaw in the glass.
June Naugle, 880 Bullcreek Road, Butler, PA 724-287-8404, 724-496-1365

20

Fixed my windshield, damaged by truck by accident, now they disappeared. I work in the insurance industry, dont recommend them.

60

I had a glass replaced by Safelite in Concord ,N.C. and my windshield wipers weren't replaced properly. I was in the middle of a rainstorm, wiper flew off and assembly was properly tightened . I would never use their service again.

20

I am have a disability. The lady Cynthia at the Satellite location at 20th Drive was not welcome. She was very rude to me. She was not willing to assist at first. She so rude to me for no reason. I had an appointment. She said it was not in there system. I was on time. The mess up on my appointment. Be careful they are not nice to people with disability.

20

The technician who contacted me the day of my appointment spoke to me in a verbally aggressive and rude manner. I tried to salvage the conversation twice and I finally said this isn’t working and I need to speak with someone else. He then hung up on me. When my husband called to file a complaint, he was asked if he wanted to complain or reschedule. I will never ever financially support a company that treats its consumers with such poor customer service. We are in the process of filing as many complaints as possible because the issue is clearly systemic and customer service is not a priority.

20

Regarding Safelite/Richardson Auto Glass, Decatur, TX.

These people are a scam. The owner will lie to you and slow walk you. They damaged a vehicle I had them work on and they first refused to acknowledge that I was dissatisfied but then tried to lay the blame on me and FINALLY agreed to send someone out to assess and repair the problem. Well, well. The day of the return appointment a man called, said he was finishing a job near me and would be over shortly. Needless to say, and in accord with the shoddy service this place purveys, the repairman never appeared. To add insult to injury, they never called me back after this terribly irresponsible action to this date and my vehicle is still damaged.

I am stopping the credit card payment to these people and am speaking with an attorney about small claims or the possibility of litigation against the parent company Safelite Auto Glass . They are also being listed on rip-off reports and the BBB. I will NEVER do business with this company again.

From me to you BEWARE!!!! This is a scam company that has a rude and lying owner. DO NOT have your windshield repaired by this jerk.

20

I have had 2 appointments with safelite on the same claim and both appointments were cancelled at last minute on a Saturday for the same reason. Could not find a claim number. Me and the Insurance have given ya'll the claim number three times.
I waited 1 month in between each appointment and they cancel again last minute BOTH TIMES. Why the hell arent ya'll accepting the number given? and if theres a problem, it should have solved before the day of service call!!!

The Insurance Berkshire has also contacted you. This windshield has a crack all the way across now with another forming vertically. If it breaks and causes an accident, We will certainly be contacting an Attorney to go after you and the Insurance for not addressing this problem.

Amy Thomas
9043900907

20

On Thursday Sept 2 one of your techs decided to use one ofy carwash bays to do an install . He never contacted me nor tried I called safe light and got a ride asses man . I want someone to answer my questions

20

Contacted my Insurance company to replace damaged window which I was provided Safelite as the company which was going to replace my windshield Set up appointment which they came out to my house at 25282 Eldorado Hills, Ca,91302 with the wrong Windshield I was advised it was going to be a few more days to get the right windshield which was putting my vehicle from driving on road again for few more days, while waiting the time they did arrive but with the wrong windshield again and I was told it would be even more days. You can see my frustration in where I could drive my car which I had to get around in for over a week. Someone needs to know that the person in charge of my order needs to be reprimanded. Please respond at your earliest convenience.

20

call me 9099360536 i am pissed off

20

On July 23 my window got a chip from a stone. I notified my insurance the next 24 th day to get it fixed while it was free. I made appointment with safelite on west street in Annapolis and told them I will be home at 4/430. I waited and waited no one showed. I called at 5 and the office was closed. The 25th i came outside after work and the chip spread past the dollar repair zone. I called my insurance back and told them I spoke with someone from safelite and was quoted 199. To replace my window, they took it down more and said 141 with new wipers.. I get to my appointments on 26 and I was told they quoted me wrong and that they don’t have a windshield it should have been put in as a replacement. I explained that that’s what I was waited and if someone would have came when it was free (chip) I wouldn’t need to pay anything. So I called again after being transferred to 3 different people and 3 diffent qouts I’m not very happy and feel something should be done for your person not showing up when they said and then called two days later saying they were on the way to fix my window.i feel I should be met half way on this matter and the lack of communication on your part has caused me 500 that I don’t have right now. The original price quoted was ok but had they came when they should have it notified me to let me know they wasn’t coming, I would have taken my car in and got it fixed for free. I have used safelite on three different occasions and this one has been by far the worst. At the least if it can’t be done for free because of negligence on your company’s part then do it for the first price quoted

20

A driver called my job said he had to come here to replace a windshield on a RV van. I am the receptionist, he was very rude and unclear at first on what the nature of his call was about and his message was all scrambled. As I tried to get out of him what he was trying to say he even got louder screaming at me and hung up on me.
He was very rude and unprofessional. Several hours later 2 Safelite trucks pulled in sat a few minutes. At that point I knew who the company was because before that due to his demeanor of his conversation I could not even make it out. The repaired the van and left.
I wish the punk came into my job so I could have confronted him on his behavior and how it reflected the company.

20

I own a 2001 Ford F250. Four+ years ago I had Safelite replace a cracked windshield at my home in Hopkins MN. Recently I had Safelite come out to my home now in Emily MN to replace the previously Satellite replaced windshield that had a crack going down the middle. While the installer was removing the windshield, I happened to mention that I was experiencing electrical problems and batteries draining but no one could locate the problem. After removing the windshield the installer noticed a rust hole about the size of a pea in the lower driver's side corner. He attempted to cover it over with the adhesive but called his office to provide guidance. His supervisor told him to not only not install the new windshield but refused to allow the old windshield to be placed. So here I am stuck with a vehicle with no windshield. Apparently there was no problem when the previous windshield was replaced by the Satellite installer but somehow after that installation this situation happened. Terrible way to leave a customer who has relied on your services!

20

4990 suite 900 hamburg ny i purchased running boards for my truck that i bought from a local dealer made of composite material. I watched for over an hour and a half 2 giys walk up and down the running boards and watching them bend under their feet.
I went outside to watch better and i asked one of the guys if he could feel them bending and he said no. I asked him instead of using my truck as a ladder dont they use step stool or ladders and he said no. So if my running boards were to crack and get damaged and i didnt see or watch them bend they would have told me it wasnt them. YOU HAVE TO BE KIDDING! I have used othe glass companies in the past and your vehicle was never the lasdwr to brace a 200+ man as a ladder. I am NOT suprised at the low rating . I WILL NOT EVER RECOMMEND OR USE SAFELITE AGAIN! Extremely dissatisfied customer . Not only with the running boards i purchased which was not them of course but on the care and lack of care used to put in the windshield ,using my car as the ladder and step stool .

20

had an appointment Monday 6/11/2018, wrong windshield. New appointment fo Friday 6/15/2018. Installer called said he would be here between 1:00 and 3:00 pm. No show. Called office at about3:40 office couldn't reach him. called 5:13 office closed. So what am I suppose to do now? Give them a third chance? very POOR CUSTOMER SURVICE.

40

I own a 2017 Kia Sportage with a broken windshield from 09/16/2016. A rock from a passing car cracked it and has sense spread across the windshield. Safelite auto glass says they are on back order. Kia says they will look into it, where are these windshields? Why are there no replacements in the U.S.? I ordered a car with Safelite because I heard it was better quality and would not break.

Have feedback for Safelite?

Thanks for your feedback!

Sorry. Please try again later!