Midas Customer Service
Rated 1.12 of 5 Stars
Based on 75 Complaints

Contact Midas Corporate

Toll free phone number: 1-800 621-8545

Midas, Inc. is a chain of automotive service, Midas also owns the SpeeDee Oil & Auto Service business. The chain was originally known as Midas Muffler as they specialized in the replacement of mufflers. The service centers are either licensed or franchised.

Nate H. Sherman the founder and CEO of Midas. The corporate headquarters is located in Itasca, Illinois although the companies website asks you to direct complaints to a different address in Florida at 823 Donald Ross Road, Juno Beach, FL 33408.

If you have a problem with Midas service you can register feedback by calling customer service at 1-800 621-8545. The best time to call is CST between 8am and 5pm. The hotline also offers coupons for your service which makes it even more valuable.

Midas shops are located across 13 countries, including 1,300 itself in the United States and Canada. Common issues result from performing most routine and common automobile service, including brakes, fluid changes, and suspensions. 


Experienced poor service? File a complaint here!

Midas Contact Information

Report complaints to corporate and get satisfaction

  • Midas headquarters address

    • 823 Donald Ross Road Juno Beach, FL 33408
  • Company website

  • 1-800 phone number

    1-800 621-8545
  • Better Business Bureau rating

    A
  • Customer service hours

    9am-5pm CST

Browse reviews of other Auto Repair



Top Midas Complaints

Browse more than 75 reviews submitted so far

20

Apparently,the only time I came into Midas was to get an oil change and rotation of tires. One of your employees stripped a couple of my screws that attach the tire to the car itself. Instead,

20

Apparently,the only time I came into Midas was to get an oil change and rotation of tires. Feb 15, 2019. One of your employees stripped a couple of my screws that attach the tire to the car itself. Instead, of letting someone of authority know what the person did. They hid it. Luckily, I was not hurt. But still am furious about this incident. I use only one company for car repairs and oil changes. There wasn’t a carx in the area so I used Midas. Because of your employees actions for not letting his supervisor know. I could have been killed and that doesn’t sit well with me at all!
Sincerely,
Tara Kinsella

20

Came for oil change to Midas on Albert Street Regina North. They broke the Cap for oil filter on my car and charged me $90 for that.

20

This isn't the first time I took my car there and in two weeks something went wrong with my car I don't believe in shit just happens because it was working before and just had got those done a month ago and they was working before you touch my car and they don't. go a ticket and change everything else its something they did and I'll spread the new I use to work on cars and heavy equipment and just because I'm a woman you won't get away with this. I did come to get help but no we didn't touch you lights but touch brakes.

20

On 4/11/19 I called Midas store k847 Quakertown Pa spoke with Dan Re:state inspection/safety check
Quoted $42+change set the date for 4/15/19
Had the service done and the bill was 81+change
In questioning this amount Dan said he did not remember our phone conversation,however he did say that phone conversations are recorded When I asked him to listen to our conversation he became very opiniated and disruptive
As a senior doing business with Midas 25years + I site my visit to Midas as bait and switch
Awaiting your reply
A Horjatschun

20

I purchased a Midas coupon card. The gentlemen who sold me this coupon card asked what kind of vehicle I had. I told him and he informed me that the oil change coupon will cover my car. I went into a Midas store and they told me my car required a different type of oil and that the coupon wouldn't cover. I told him was the salesman told me. The manager told me to call the number in the back to try and get my money back. I call the customer service number on the back and I could only leave a message. I tried calling Midas customer service number that I found on the website, I was waiting for someone to pick up for about 20 minutes. When someone finally picked up, they claimed they couldn't hear me and hung up. I can not believe a corporation like this does business the way.

20

I bought four new tyres last during Black Friday Novembrr 2017. Last year I had a flat tire and the tyres wa damaged beyond repairs,now again I had another tyres with a different tyres and I'm informed that the tyres is also beyond repairs. I wana know, why is it that when u get a flat tire with the tyres I bought from u,they become unrepairable?.. I had to spend R3000 ita not even two years and the tyres are damaged already?

20

I would like someone knowledgable on Midas part replacement protocols to call me, please? I would also like to check the price of parts and line item shop supply for invoice #0073346

mr. Mancuso
734-417-7110

20

Midas Eagle River Alaska, work is slow slow!!! Had brakes down and the next day the brake light came on!!! No fluid?? Leak??? What did they do?? New rear brake calipers, rotors and shoes were installed and told then to look at fronts! Then brought in to have four tires on rims installed, remover rims and tires from van and balance tires and install check air pressure light came on the next day?? Did they even check the tire pressure before balancing??? This customer will never have work done again at Midas

20

Your employee/representative of your company on Friday April 5,2019 at approx. 3:36pm passed on Milwaukee Ave/Nagle street corner in Chicago a Dunkin Dougnuts,Mr.Submarine and Hot Dog restaurant all having rest rooms and proceeded to come down my alley and behind my garage urinated and fondled himself in daylight while my 4yr old granddaughter is playing in my yard along with my wife. DISGUSTING! Would you want this PIG at your home with your family present. 3 restaurants 150 to 300 ft away he passed with restrooms and chose the alley. He should be arrested for fondling himself in public. I still may take these photos and video to the police. I downloaded photos of your representative and also have 2 videos of this action that your download won’t accept.

20

I've been waiting over 4 hours for break pads and rotors. I'm still not done. This is the worst service ever. They have the truck taken apart and claim they are waiting for pads from Milwaukee (20 minutes away).

20

I took my car into Midas at 2201 Euclid in Des Moines. I had to have car aligned and belt replaced. when I got out of my car I had to unlock the door ( it's a manual lock you have to pull up on ) it was fine, when I got in my car to leave I noticed the top of the lock was broke. I went in the store talked to the manager and he said they didn't do it cause that's what the mechanic said that worked on it. well it didn't break on it's own. and of course the mechanic isn't going to admit he broke it. So I told them I would never be back. I have always went there to get my car fixed and oil changed. I can't believe the manager acted like he would care less about loosing my business. I feel they should replace what they broke that's all I asked for. maybe a 5.00 part on line. yea that's worth loosing you business when I paid over $300.00 to get my car fixed that day. I sent a pic of broken one and one not broke. thank you please contact me at 515-689-1967 or email me at my moms email wndclover@aol.com

20

Stoped for a oil change no one was working man sitting in office doing nothing 2cars in bay one is a car that never moves told to come back tomorrow was told the same thing in Turnersville no ur people don’t won’t to change oil ur add is BS thanks

20

On Thursday March 28 2019 I had my vehicle serviced where I requested and paid for a full synthetic oil change and replacement of air filter. Today is Sunday and my car was inspected by Sears because they r installing 4 new tires. The air filter was never replaced yet I was charged for this item. I want to be reimbursed for both the oil change and air filter since I cant determine if an actual full synthetic oil change was done. I am very doubtful. I will never take my car to Midas again and further more I am contacting the Better Business Bureau.
Midas store located at 2936 N FL-7
Margate, FL 33063
My name is Jaime Walters and my email is jwal77@aol.com. please respond.

20

I took my truck for an INJECTORS REPLACE with WIRES in the carburator ....I asked them to keep the old parts
for me to take home after they fixed my carburator,not only they did not have the old parts to give me back but after I paid and drove the car it was running way worst than before I took it there.I don't think they replaced the $400 parts.I want my money back!!!

20

Hi! I have a Mida's complaint at the location of 2811 N St Joseph Ave, Evansville, IN 47720. I took my vehicle to this Mida's on February 6, 2019 for a simple Oil Change. I have never gone to this Mida's before, I usually take it to the other Mida's in my town but this one was closer to my home. About 1.5 weeks after that oil change, my check engine light came on. I took my vehicle to a local autozone to have the light checked out, and it came back as a camshaft issue regarding a maintenance piece for the engine/oil. I took this info back to the original Mida's that did my work and the clerk took my information down as well as a copy of the paperwork from autozone and said she would research the issue further and give me a call back. I never received a call back and had waited another week. Two days ago, I then took my vehicle to a different Mida's, and the technician there believed he had found my issue and expressed to me that the original shop changed my oil filter, but not my oil ring which was causing the check engine light and the leak that my car was having with oil since February 6th! I believed the issue had been fixed, but a day after taking my car to the second Mida's, my check engine light had come back on AND there's another oil leak that my vehicle is having. The second shop told me there was no damage and I'm not faulting them at all, I'm faulting the original shop for their laziness and lack of professionalism. I have taken my Car to the second Mida's shop in my town for YEARS with NO issues, and the moment I go to another one, the quality of service just vanishes. I will be taking my vehicle back to the original shop that I'm used to going to and hoping the issue can be fixed, but I would really REALLY like to be contacted regarding this issue and what could be a potentially expensive repair (that shouldn't be a thing in the first place) and see how this can be rectified. Thanks.

20

Hello,

I am so extremely upset at the service I received at your Hazelwood, MO location. In fact, it very well could’ve cost my life. I went there for an oil change and it turned into an almost 4 hour wait, hundreds of dollars spent, and possibly a major accident that could’ve cost my life. I brought my car there at 1:30pm for a 2 o’clock appointment. I then left with a friend and came back about 3:15 in which they were just then pulling my car in to do the oil change. It was discovered I needed rear brakes. Each time the manager came in it was something else I needed. He took me out to show me the rotors which would need replaced. Then later comes in and says I’ll need new calipers and how much that would be. Then they were waiting on parts because they forget to bring one of the parts to them so I was waiting what felt like forever. At this point the store was technically closed and they’re still working on my car. They finally get done and pulled my car up to the door. Which I should’ve known by how they were driving that there was a problem but I just thought they were driving like maniacs. Anyway I get into the car and start to pull forward to get to the busy road I need to get on to leave. I start to brake as I’m getting near the road and it felt like I had no brakes. I literally had to push it all the way down to the floor in order to get my car to stop and it barely did. My front end was nearly in the street and there were cars coming at a decent speed towards me! It was so scary because I barely stopped in time. I had to hurry and put it in reverse to back up cause I didn’t know how long I would be able to hold my foot down that hard. I had to bring it back in and tell them something was wrong. The one worker even stated that there might’ve been some air in the brake lines still because the lines were hanging there so long they probably got a lot of air in them. He said he didn’t hook it up to the machine cause it takes a long time so he must’ve done it another way. Then the manager came back in and said they would need to bleed out the front brakes cuz that happens sometimes when you’re only replacing the back ones. He said to give them about 10-15 minutes. It was definitely better after that, but that was a super scary situation. I already didn’t have much trust when another woman that was there had to have them take her car back in because when they brought it out it was leaking everywhere. I feel like I need some sort of major reimbursement on what it cost me for all that I went through because I was inches away from it being a major lawsuit rather than just a reimbursement.

Thanks
Julie

20

I have been going to the midas shop in Frasterville, Pa. for several years. I have spent thousands of dollars there. On March 15 I went there for repairs. I was there for over five hours. Of the many repairs I went there to have my power steering fixed. The cost was $804.95, it was still not working properly. The manager said it would correct itself. On Thursday March 21 I called the store and told them that my power steering was not working any better than when I brought it in. The person who answered the phone call said that the manager would call me back on Friday. I have still not heard from anyone. I need this problem solved immediately. I expect a response as soon as possible.

20

Had a starting problem with my 2004 Buick. Brought it into your Lewes Delaware shop. Paid for a diagnosis and installation of a new starter. A day later had to have it towed back because it wouldn't start. Was told it was a problem with these key, was told maybe the security chip was bad. Changed keys. Still had a problem. Was told them crank sensor was bad. Paid to have it replaced. Still had a problem. At that point I was told to bring it to a dealer. At that point I told them I had no intention of spending any more money they needed to fix them problem. They said UT was there ignition switch wich they replaced no charge. Right know my care sits in my driveway where I had it towed. Still with them same problem after I've paid Midas about $800.00. I was told this was your number one shop in their entire country. Yor number two shop must be a real nightmare. Not only will I never use Midas again but wiil let whoever I come in contact with to stay away.

20

I took my 2008 Pontiac g5 to Midas located at 5744 E Speedway Blvd Tucson AZ phone #520-777-5707 for an oil change. When I was there they talked me into the royal flush and got me approved for easy pay so I could make payments and they approved me for 1200 dollars. Which my service came to $ 1275.00. I at no time was told they were going to use every dollar which I was approved they called me one time and said I needed rear brake drums so I gave them permission to perform that service, which they charged $357.96 parts and labor. The parts they charged me was 88.99 x 2 for drums, brake shoes130.99 and brake hardware 29.99, auto zone drums 56.00 x 2, shoes 33.00 and brake kit 7.00 they didn't tell me how much it would cost. They also did the oil change and tire rotation which I approved. That they charged 14.99 which I approved. they went on to do a fuel filter which parts they changed me 70.84 and auto zone their price 18.00, Midas performed spark plug changed for parts 25.50 x 4, auto zone price 9.00 x 4, cabin filter 25.40, and Autozone 15.99, auto trans fluid 5.99 x 14 plus flush kit 39.99 auto zone 7.99 x 13, shocks Midas charged for parts 118.99 x 2, auto zone 33.99 and up. Midas for shock absorber charged for parts 118.99 x 2, AutoZone 33.99 up to 112.99. Plus they charged me for trans. Flush kit 39.99, coolant kit
39.99, fuel service kit 59.99, extended life coolant 29.99 and brake fluid 6.99 x 2, tune-up 102.00, and factory sched maint 297.79. For a total of parts 1,072.97 this is excessive on parts!!!, labor only107.59 for a grand total 1275.00 dollars

20

I made an appointment online for the MIDAS shop at 5105 E Bay Drive, Clearwater, FL and clearly stated it was for a new muffler and a tire rotation. I live an hour away in New Port Richey and that was the closest MIDAS to me. They called and confirmed the appointment. When I drove all that way to the shop, first I was told I didn’t need a new muffler, then when a second guy said I did, I was told they couldn’t do it because their welder was down. When asked why didn’t they call me to tell me that, so I wouldn’t have driven all that way, they said I never said I needed a muffler when I made the appointment. I most certainly DID.
Very unprofessional and rude. Not even a “sorry ma’am” Midas has gone way downhill and I will never recommend them to anyone.

20

On 3/14/19, went into the New Castle, DE location for an estimate for a maintenance tune up on my 2012 Lincoln MKZ; after making 2 calls for parts estimates, the man at the counter gave me outrageous quote of $908.86. No one had even looked at my car at this point. I thought I misheard him so I asked for a printout - I got it; my ears started ringing. I asked him did I look like a stupid woman and left. Never will return and will do my darndest to publicize my experience to my many friends and business associates.

20

I came for a diagnostic test in January because the heat wasn’t working in my car. I was recommended to change my radiator hose along with a slue of other things. The hose replacement went well for a month and a week or two. I’m driving on the highway yesterday another hose went. Got my car towed to Midas in Torrington ct same place I came before and they replaced a radiator hose. I drove on the highway yesterday my car starts over heating again. I come back this morning he takes it for a drive says there was air pockets in there it just needed to be flushed or whatever. I drive to the gas station to get gas before get on the highway there is a big puddle of antifreeze or coolant under my car I call them back they take me right in. Now my water hose needs to be replaced. I have been charged over 1000 dollars and some change on things that could have been avoided the first time I came when I asked them what needs to be done. Now once I pay this off you have lost a customer. They are not doing proper diagnostic tests here. I shouldn’t have to pay all of this money out for things that could have been avoided.

20

Hi,
My daughter took my car to our local Midas here in Great Falls Montana to have an oil pan gasket seal replaced. (They replaced it charged me $100.00 to fix) And told her if anything went wrong to bring it back in.
Over the next few weeks or so, it started going through oil like crazy, dumping it all over the ground faster then you could put it in.
She takes it back to them on Sat (2/23), come to find out it was leaking from where the timing chain is, so they fixed wrong thing the 1st time. They told her it would be ready on 2/26. 2/26 rolls around and car is not done because the parts are delayed due to bad weather. 2/27 will call when its done.
2/28 last part just got in, will not be done until 3/4 Now.
3/4 Roll around and car still is not done, and they say they sheared the cam shaft off, and they have to order a part, but that the car will be done today 3/9
Well the car still is not done*because the part just got in, and its an 8 hr job to fix, so now it will not be done until 3/11, because they are required to close early on Sat and are not allowed to work past that time.( he tells me today that hes been waiting on the part for 9 days, that he even said he would pay extra to have it overnighted, and it still tool this long . The math doesnt add up here, they sheared the cam shaft on Mon the 4th, today is Sat the 9th, its been 6 days ?
As of today they have had my car for 2 weeks, and its been one excuse after another why its not done, he also tell me he doesnt want my car there any longer then I do, and that it will finally be done Monday the 11th.
I am beyond angry here, Beyond..
They are supposed to have so far replaced the water pump, the cam sesls, replaced all belts, and adjusted the timing. My next question is hiw the heck did they manage to shear the cam shaft off ? Then the next question after that is whats going to be done about this fiasco ?
And mind you, during these last 2 weeks, its been anywhere from -0 to -20 during the day, and at night is been as low as -40, I have had to bum rides, walk, pay for taxies. Ive stopped short of renting a car, because by now I feel they should be paying for me something to drive. Thus is beyond frustrating, and I will never go to Midas again, and I will sure never reccomend them or have anything good to say about them.

20

I have Lexus es300 year 2002..and take it in for my strut. And links to be replaced and they got it done the same
The work was on 3/4/19 @9:35:55 am

They call 5 hrs later that it is done and ready to go..and i go pick it up around 6:30 pm same day..drive it home and i notice this weird noise coming from the
Rear right wheel and the next day call them and explain the noise and they want me to take it back to look at and fix the problem..and 3 hrs later they call me to come pick it up it's all done..and the next drive it to work with same noise until now 2 days later..and from my own safety the car is not safe for use..so can get some help to resolve this issue.This problem is in cedar rapids,Iowa on Williams blvd sw.

20

I went to get an oil change i had an engine light on for evaporative pressure sensor they said a new gas cap will fix it and up sold me $1000 with new brakes struts ect. My brakes were done incorrectly I had to go back the next day and my check engine light came back on. They said it was the evaporative pressure sensor .. and it was gonna be another $500 this is despicable buisness i just got my car 3 months ago Brad and Adam were non receptive and rude.. I will be contacting a lawyer regarding this matter they scammed me

20

This my second complaint on same issue I submitted a complaint 12/18/2018. I am still waiting on a answer from my complaint. I am very upset that I can get no one to help me on this complaint .
I had sent a complaint about buying tires Feb 2018 .
My tires were not even a year old and I picked up a screw and one of my tire has. A bubble on it . I took my car back in and they wouldnt even fix my tire. Sent me down the road . and when i asked about my tire with the bubble in it was told they could do nothing about it.
These tires were suppose to be good up to 40000 miles and free repair for a flat tire.
I was told I didnt get road hazzard and they couldnt be bothered but when I came in there to get my old tires rotated they wouldnt touch them . Because of the bubble in tire. So I bought 500 worth of tires.
And not even a year my tire goes flat and gets a bubble and noone wants to help me . I feel I was a woman and got screwed. Would really like someone to look at my complaint and do something. For me
I feel that I was lied to. I will never go to Midas again and will spread the word to all my friends and family never to use your service

Will be waiting for a response

Deborah Thomson

20

I went in for a full body throttle cleaning, end up having to pay for a head gasket, 6 new spark plugs, 1 engine coil. It took midas 3 days to get back to me about this issue. After darrell told me that i just needed the work done, then he tells me i need a timing chain after i told him i only had $600 to spend. They never did any of the work, couldnt show me any proof didn't have any of my old parts. So i end up still paying $568 after paying i drove my car from midas to another auto company because my car was driving even worst i couldn't not go over 5 mph so the new auto company tells me i have a cylinder 1 misfire, but midas was suppose had did this work already. I either want a refund or most of my money back i am fine with paying for the diagnosis check but not for the work midas claim they did and never did anything.

20

I am writing to tell of the disgraceful service I received on February 25th at my local Midas Oil Change store located at 24945 Telegraph Rd, Southfield, MI 48034. I have been going there for 5 years regularly for all services, every 3 months. On this particular date, I was in need of a rear right turn signal on my 2016 Kia Sedona. I arrived at 5:30, there were only 2 cars in the bay. I waited about 5 minutes and they signaled me to pull in. I saw my regular gentleman go down in the bay. There were two other gentlemen who I had not seen before, the older of the two came to the window and I informed him that I only needed the signal changed today. He proceeded to the rear and opened the hatch, inspected the light and was puzzled, I asked him if he needed my manual on how to change the light and he said no, he asked the younger guy to look at it. The younger guy felt around, looked more and I asked if he needed the manual and he said no. He walked away from the car and went to the older gentleman and said it was too much work then they both proceeded to work on the bay 2 vehicle and the older yelled across to me that it was too much to change and have a good day. I asked again can you just look in the manual and they said have a good day and would not come back over to me. the young one then opened the door for me too leave. I was astounded by the lack of concern and customer service. This is a safety issue for cars and as a woman they were condescending in not even taking the time to look at the manual. I googled it when I got home and saw that it would have took one simple tool to pop off the light unscrew the bulb, a whole 5 minutes of work. Guess what! I bought the bulb from auto zone and did it myself. This cost your company a faithful customer at about $40-$50 dollars every 3 months and rotations, bulb changes about $300 yearly from just me, but after I blasted on yelp and google review, I am sure much much more. I just though you should know.

20

Went to Midas on Rodney Parham, Little Rock, AR 7227 Monday 02/18/19 and told them I was hearing a loud noise on my driver side wheel and my ABS light came on while I was going to work. They looked at it and told me I needed a ball joint sleeve and it ended up costing me $500.00. When I got home and every time I drove it it would smell like something was burning real bad. I went to work Tuesday and heard little noises again but not enough to take it back just yet. Wednesday I drove it 20 miles to Jacksonville, AR went in to see the Dr. and came back out put it in park and OMG It was making the loudest noise and squeeling so I drove it 1 mile to Wal-mart parking lot and call Midas. They told me if it was the same thing they could call a wrecker to pick it up and fix it. I said well it's doing the same thing it was doing but just a lot worse. So I agreeded to let them call a wrecker. I sat there from 1:30p.m. till 6:00p.m. My son'n'law came down there took the wheel off and said it was my wheel bearings and he could fix it for $123.00.So I cancelled the wrecker from Midas. #1. They misdiagnoised the problem. Cost me $500.oo. #2. I waited for 41/2 hours in Wal-mart parking lot waiting on the wrecker they said they would have the wrecker driver call me ASAP and let me know how long it would be. Never called me.#3. The problem was so obvious I think they were lying just to get more money out of me. I'm very very disapointed and will never use them again.

20

I have been waiting for someone to contact me back for more then two weeks and this is the third complaint I have put in. I spoke to someone named Sandra st the office about three weeks ago and have tried to contact her please follow up as soon as possible.

20

I just had an oil change at your 3209 South Padre Island Dr, Corpus Christi, TX 78415, store.

I bought the 49.99 special oil change. When I got the bill I was charged for a filter because my 2017 VW Beetle Turbo with 7467 miles does not use a spin on.

I did not know that about my car and it was not explained before the service was performed. That made me pay $14.90 more than I anticipated.

The store invoice # is 0065988.

I also asked for the free tire rotation and was told it did not need it and the rotation was refused. That should be my decision, not an option for you to provide, when it is listed on your advertising and the invoice as service included. AT 7500 mies I wanted the free rotation, and I should not have been argued with and refused the service.

Because I was not told about my car's need of a cartridge instead of a spin on filter before service, and that it was an extra charge... I find the difference between the service I received and what was provided was mere semantics to an uninformed consumer. It Should have been explained.

The manager, Steve Gonzales was very nice but firm at the decision to charge me for the cartridge and I did not ask him again about the tire rotation after he referred me to the technician, who bluntly told me twice, "They don't need to be rotated."

I will simply have Discount Tire rotate them for free, but I do not appreciate you sale offer being in any way unfulfilled. I have no complaint with Mr. Gonzales, but will; report this to BBB.

I am writing you because you have this line, and it is far better than being frustrated at your store in front of other customers. I cam expecting to pay 59.99 (extra qt of oil at $10.00), plus tax. I ended up paying $74.98, plus tax. Please change your ads and coupons to show that ONLY spin on filters are included.

20

Last Friday one of my parent nightmares came true. My daughter 3 hours away at college called me to say she was having car trouble. She said suddenly her brakes weren’t working and she had to put the pedal to the floor to stop. Before I could research a shop, she took it to your North Illinois Street location in Indianapolis. There they did an inspection and I called and spoke to the guy who did it. He said there was an engine oil leak and the passenger front caliper was leaking. I told him not to fix the oil leak, but to replace the caliper. He quoted me at $342. They called her Saturday and told her it was ready. She was presented a $350 bill. She asked for an itemized list, and he then realized he didn’t deduct the brake inspection. He also gave her a manager’s discount, making it $298. I praised her for asking for the breakdown. About 20 minutes later she called me back and said that didn’t fix it. They guy told her it was a rubber hose and he was calling his manager. As he was on the phone, she overheard him say that the next "fix" should be free. I asked to speak with him. He immediately told me he called his manager and he needed to talk to him. It was then explained to me that the rubber hose was compressed and there was no way of knowing it. He said when his manager got there, he would look at it. I immediately called my mechanic. I told him the whole story and he said none of that made sense and if it was the hose, I shouldn’t have to pay for a caliper. He also said a caliper would leak slowly and not all at once drain out all the fluid. I called back and got the manager. He explained the brake inspection showed it was the front passenger caliper. When they fixed that, the leak went to the next weakest point which was the other front caliper. He said both hoses were compressed and ruined both front calipers. I told him I’d talked to my mechanic and he said that didn’t make sense. The manager told me to have my mechanic call him and he’d explain it. A few minutes later, my mechanic called me and said he’d been hung up on. He said he wasn’t being rude, but when he told the manager he’d never heard of anything like that in his 35 years of business, he kept asking questions the manager couldn’t answer. So? He hung up on him. I called back and was told he wasn’t going to be “verbally abused” so he hung up. After a long, heated discussion, he told me he could discount me the other side to (an additional) $204. I told him to fix it and he said he’d have it done by Saturday. We never heard back. Monday, around noon, my daughter called in but didn’t get an answer. She called 4 times total. Twice on the main line and twice on the line they had called her on. No answer. No voicemail. I didn’t find this out until late Monday night. I called in Tuesday morning first thing. The guy said he saw the car sitting there, but he didn’t work Monday so he would find out and call me back. He called me and said it was ready. When she went in to pick it up, she asked why no one had called her, and the guy rudely said, “I don’t know. I didn’t work yesterday. The owner did,” and then slammed her keys on the counter. This was my first and LAST experience with one of your shops. I feel we would have been overcharged $50 on the first bill if she didn’t ask for a breakdown. I also feel something was misdiagnosed or installed incorrectly and I was charged for it. At the very least, NOT calling us back and not answering the phone is totally unacceptable and very poor business practice. This was one of my worst nightmares. My daughter needed help, and I couldn’t be there for her. She found your shop, took it there, and as a result I felt trapped, helpless, and taken advantage of. It was every parent’s nightmare.

20

On Nov 21, 2018 I had my non-running vehicle towed to my local Midas to be repaired. Upon diagnosis, I was told I needed a new engine, but that Midas couldn't find one at a reasonable price. I purchased one on my own, and had it delivered to Midas on Dec 6. I was told, with ~2 days of labor, I should have my car back.

Every week after that, something would come up... an employee would be off... someone wouldn't show up... Christmas... and the date-of-completion would be pushed back. My vehicle sat in the same spot out on the Midas lot that I had it towed into through the whole of Dec... I would drive past and see it there, and also see all of the cars/customers who were being serviced in my stead.

I was called into Midas on Jan 3 to be told that my car had been broken into, ransacked, and the $600 radio stolen - but because 'it hadn't been pulled into the bay overnight, Midas insurance wouldn't cover it'.

Jan 8 I was told the engine was in, but that my car still wouldn't run, so they would replace the exhaust manifold.

Jan 10 I was told the manifold was installed, but the car still woudn't run, so they needed to replace the fuel pump.

Jan 11 I was told the car was ready to pick up so come in and settle up my tab to the tune of $3500.

Jan 12 I go in to discuss the situation with the store: I explained that, while I understood that bad luck happens sometimes and I had no hard feelings toward Midas, that I'd had to rent a vehicle for an extra 5 weeks solely because of Midas' issues and that I wasn't willing to pay twice, both the rental place AND Midas. In addition, because MY car repair was a low-priority job to them (their business, not my concern) that I wanted to just be made whole. I wanted for Midas to cover the repair bill and replace my missing radio.

I was told that I was being unreasonable, and that they couldn't stiff their mechanics, that they had brought someone in on a Sunday to work on my car, and that they assumed I had multiple cars to drive and so they didn't think they needed to fix my vehicle in a timely manner. So there was no way they would do more than take $1000 off of my bill.

When I told the owner Carl that this was unfortunately unacceptable and that I would have to escalate this issue (even though I didn't want to and I'd have much rather just handled this all in-house and leave Midas a great review stating that 'even though the experience left a lot to be desired, Midas cares about their customers and made it right', Carl told me he would get a mechanic's lien on my vehicle and get it impounded and 'you do what you have to do'.

tl:dr I am very disappointed in my recent ongoing Midas experience and am reaching out to legal counsel to start action.

20

Spent $410.23 for oil change, repair of three gas lines that were sliced in about 1 ft. each, a fuel filter, oil change & filter. Car was in shop for less than 1 hour, but got billed for $157.50. I then have to schedule another appointment as fuel line was leaking where they so called repaired it. I get there and they don't have a guy that can do the work. I then get sent down to other Midas location for service and told it would at least be a 2 hour wait as 12 cars were ahead of me. I don't mind paying for labor to be done, for 1 hour of work at a rate of $105.00 and then get billed for $231.04. I don't understand the math used, want to give 1 star but didn't have that option as it was required.

20

Always have issues when we take our vehicles to Midas...this time, they checked the green box that coolant was checked. A month later, my vehicle is overheating! Checked the coolant reservoir...EMPTY! I do not have a leak. It was never checked or filled. Called Midas - they want to charge for another inspection to check for leak and offer other repairs. No refund, no offer to make it right....just offers for more work to be done at a price. NO! It simply needs coolant....

20

Had them work on my 2010 Chrysler 300 2.7 L V6. The job was to replace a fuel injector. After getting the car back they informed me that I had a fouled plug that would need to be replaced which I then told him I would do myself. Roughly a week and a half later I changed the plugs which required me to remove the intake manifold which is what they had to remove to replace a fuel injector. When I moved the intake manifold I was very angry to discover that none of the intake gaskets had been changed and my PCV valve hose which is plastic on 1in had been cracked and wasn't hooked back up it was just hanging on the manifold. The next day I went back to Midas and inform them of the problems they told me that they would order a new hose for the PCV valve and I told him that I'd want compensated for the gaskets that I had to buy and I told him that I was expecting some labor money back for having to replace the gaskets which he agreed him being Chris Long which is the manager of the Riverside Ohio Midas on Airway Drive. The next day I showed up they gave me the hose and then tried to give me a free oil change in return for the money that I spent the time that I spent to go get the gaskets and my labor. Now Granite this job cost $352 when I had to work done with them they charge me roughly $105 for 2 hours labor to do the job I told them that I thought it would be fair to get up one hours labor back for happened to replace the gaskets and that would cover the cost of the gaskets in the labor of me having to do it they absolutely refused and said all they would do was give me a free oil change this is entirely unacceptable told me that I had to change the plugs anyway I had to take the manifold off anyway which is absolutely ridiculous if I didn't have to change the plugs I never would have known that they didn't change the intake manifold gaskets. I told him what if something would have happened later on down the road you would want to charge me another two hours later to take the intake manifold off again to fix the gasket problem that I would have never known that the gas cans were changed and he told me that the only thing that would have happened was I've had from vacuum leak can I get for gas mileage told him that was completely unacceptable and I said I would be out again because and not only just money but I'd be out time again for having my vehicle in the shop when it should have been replaced begin with you take the top half of a motor off it's mind-boggling that they didn't replace the intake manifold gaskets I just mind-boggling

20

I filed a complaint last week and have not heard back.

Please advise.

Jon Steimel

20

This morning (12/29/18) I had an appointment at Alma Michigan Midas to evaluate my oil and transmission fluids. I know I need to check my oil every 400 miles.
They took it in (for a very few minutes) and came out and said my oil was full and my transmission fluid was oil. I was suspicious so I had a second opinion. When the second opinion looked at the dip stick there was no oil touching the dipstick at all. The transmission fluid was indeed still full.
If the second opinion had not caught the error, I could have blown my engine.
I have been a frequent client at the Alma Midas but am not sure I will return. This was a major over site. My second opinion told me he no longer trusts Midas because of some errors made to his vehicle. The second opinion now uses Muffler Man.
I have not decided if I will return to Midas.
Thank you-
Jon Steimel

20

I broke down this morning on the Florida Turnpike when the Engine Cover Guard folded up under the car disabling my car. I called for a tow truck to take my car into the dealership since it is a 2018 Honda Civic. Road Ranger pulled the cover guard out from under the car. I proceeded to the dealership only to find out that the cost to replace the cover guard is $669.03 with parts and labor. This has happened to be twice already. The first time it broke after work on I-75 disabling me for over 2-1/2 hours before the tow truck arrived and took me to the dealership. They straightened it out and placed new clips in it. When I came back for my oil change this time as I drove off it fell and started scratching the road and was able to return to the store on Pembroke Road and Flamingo in Pembroke Pines, Florida. They claim they replaced the clips but there were only 3 of them on the cover. Obviously they didn't replace them all since it fell off again. I paid for the repairs the first time but this second time I do not feel I am responsible for those repairs. My car is being driven without the cover guard and it is a brand new vehicle 2018. If my car encounters further damage due to your neglect I will have to act accordingly. Please call me for further questions at 305-970-2386.

20

My complaint is I went in for an oil change yesterday December 26,2018. The person in the homewood Midas told me they were checking my tires, fluids and changing my filter as well as the oil change. Well my tires were still low on air and there was no windshield washer fluid added. Thank God m I have scar that tell me when my tires are low and fluids or I would have never known. I would like my money back which is $ 23.00 because the service was long and I had an appointment and I had to go back to get the service I paid for done. I will never go there or recommend Midas again to anyone.

20

I want someone to know that I will never buy anything from Middas again.
In February 2018 I brought my car to Middas in Madison Tn for a oil change and rotate my tires . The manager of the store would not rotate my tires cause there was a bubble in my tire . They talked me into 4 new tires for amount of 511. There was a warrenty for 40000 miles i picked up a nail and when I went there they wouldnt fix my tire I showed them there was a bubble on the tire they said wasnt there problem said i didnt purchase road. Hazzard warrenty . Told me couldnt fix my tire cause it was a screw sent me down the street to get my tire patched they also told me the tire was bad. So i bought these tires and it said 40000 miles on tires have had them since Feb. 2018. I feel because i was a woman i got screwed and i feel I was sold bad tires tires shouldnt go. Bad after 10 months . I just want you to know how I feel and I will never go to Middas again and I will make sure none of my friends or family go there either . I really think this is very shady deal I recieved and wanted someone to know how your customers are being treated .

Thank You for listening

Deborah Thomson

20

I brought my wife's hyundai santa fe in for an oil change. I brought the vehicle to the bald hill, Warwick Ri branch. Soon after, my wife began to smell fume leaks in the cabin. Thinking it was an exhaust issue, I sent the car in for a service check with Hyundai. It was then I was told it was an oil cap that was not closed properly. $300 later, your store manager reveals that we disagree on the matter. He did ask me what I wanted? He tells me I got a discount on an oil change. A discount? It cost me $300 to fix the mistake his employer made. I showed him a picture of oil sprayed all over the engine. He tells me that we agree to disagree. I told him I wasn't here to dispute a $28.00 discounted oil change. He didn't want to hear it at all. I just want you to know that this type of customer service is happening at your Warwick, Ri store. I guess I will go across the street and have Jiffy lube do it in the future. Call me anytime for further information.
Todd Keating
508-496-9340

20

Please see my letter listed below. I will await your reply.

December 8, 2018

MIDAS Corporate,

On August 17, 2019 my 19 year old son Noah Gordon went to MIDAS Automotive Repair in Pittsburg, CA. Noah told the customer service rep his brakes are grinding and thinks he needs new brakes. The customer service rep told Noah the cost would be $495.00. The customer service technician called me to let me know what was wrong with the brakes and the cost I agreed with the $495.00.
I received my American Express bill and discovered we were charged $795.35 I was shocked. I asked Noah what happened he said he didn’t know however the technician he spoke with at Midas told him the same dollar amount he stated to me over the telephone. Noah said the technician told him if he did not have the work done he could not drive the car it had to be towed home. I did not know this until I had the conversation with Noah about the invoice. I immediately telephoned American Express opened a dispute on the charges.
On November 27th Noah noticed his brakes were grinding again. On Saturday December 1st at 8am I took the car to MIDAS and met the store manager Scott. I explained to Scott my son brought his car in 90+ days ago because his brakes were grinding. The cost that you charged us we are experiencing the same problem what happened? Scott said the calipers that were recently installed were probably sticking. I’m not a mechanic and had no idea what he was talking about. I do know I am not a happy person having to return the car for the cost of the repair that was not properly performed. Scott went on to say leave the car here we take a look at it and will call you. I told I could wait; he insisted on calling me and had one of his employee’s drives me home.
I received a telephone from Scott around 1pm stating the car was ready he said as mentioned the clippers were sticking. My son and I went to pick-up the car. My son called me 1 hour later and said the car is worse than it was this morning. I telephoned Scott who said bring it back. At this point I am very upset not to mention I went on a test drive with the mechanic who said he repaired the brakes he mentioned it was not the brakes it was the wheel barring. He then pulled the car in and removed the left tire only. I was not sure what was taking place there were a lot of huddles with the manager, mechanic walking back and forth not telling me anything or working on the car. I then walked up to the manager and asked what is happening with the car. Scott said we want to take it across the street and have them take a look at it. I said no. I paid you MIDAS to fix the breaks. The brakes are the same as I brought it in on August 17th.
I told him to please have the mechanic put the wheel back on and write up the finding. He wrote he could not locate why the brakes were grinding and I refused to take it across the street. At this time the mechanic walked in the office and said it’s your transmission that’s making the noise. The manager asked him to be quiet I said to both of them I know the difference between brakes and a transmission. When the mechanic put the one tire back on the car he said he wanted to test drive the car again as which he did. When he returned he said the grinding is much better you can’t hear it as much he also said bring the car back on Monday and he will replace the calipers. I thought I misunderstood him so I repeated what he said you’re asking me to bring the car back on Monday so you can replace the calipers correct he said yes. Scott mentioned and the mechanic mentioned the calipers were replaced however the paperwork shows (1) caliper was replaced.
I feel totally taken advantage of. I feel the job performed was not honest and performed incorrectly. My son was taken advantage of and the charges were outrages. We were told one amount and charged a different amount. Less than 4 months later we are experiencing the same problem. I was then told it was the wheel barring making the grinding noise then I was told it was the transmission making the grinding noise. I was also told the calipers were replaced (not true) the paperwork says one was replaced the mechanic said bring it back he will replace them. What do I believe? I want MIDAS Corporate office to investigate these charges and credit my account according. There are too many inconsistencies in their stories and pulling at straws. No one should have to endure this type of customer service. I will await your reply. Please see attached documents and photos.

Sincerely,

Frederica Gordon
707-333-6971

20

On Friday i made an appointment for a 2003 Chevy Suburban. Between the hours of 3:30pm and 5:30pm my son who is 18 drives this vehicle regularly so i met him at the midas. First they did not show him or me the oil that was out into the suburban. And how it looked afterwards. Then he did not ask what kind of oil i wanted in the truck. As i had printed a coupon for $18.99 oil change. When he came back he told me that due to warranty purposes and dealership contracts he had to put synthetic oil and the charge would be $39.99. I told him i did not want synthetic oil nor did i ask for it. He said he had to put that oil in there. This was the store manager. When i told him i had a coupon without him even looking at it he said he could not accept it for synthetic oil but could take off $5 dollars. This manager seems to be crooked and lying to people about why hes doing things to peoples vehicles and honestly it took such a short time im not even sure if the oil change got done because it doesnt look like from the dip stick. Im very disappointed in his actions and clearly at 2003 is paid in full has no warranty and is not under any type of contract saying that he has to use specific oil (synthetic). The owners manual clearly states that i can use regular oil in my suburban. So im confused at why this man boldly lied to my face. There were other customers there and i did not want to make any one uncomfortable but this issue needs to be address. A

20

Took my car to Midas in San Antonio tx. They kept car for 51 days to fix what was initially to fix an overheating problem. Had multiple things done to car with no success. Had multiple mechanics work on car and had car towed to another location to have it worked on only to have it sit in parking lot. Had to finally reclaim vehicle and towed it at my expense to reputable dealer shop. Took the dealer 3 days to put car back together, repair what Midas did and fix what was really wrong with car which was just the radiator. Now trying to recoup some of the money spent on repairs with no luck! Being given run around by district manager as well as the people who answer the phones at corporate customer complaints. Tried to work with Midas to no avail!!! Apparently they do not care about the customer or there reputation! Need to put them out of business so this doesn't continue for other unsuspecting individuals who just want good work at a fair price.

20

matt@midasaz.com
http://www.autoleak.com/Oil/Car-Leaking-Oil-After-Oil-Change.php?topic=Oil
Matt,
We need to talk soon. I took my car to your Superstition Springs location for an oil change! I dealt with the fat Guy Mark, claims he was manager. After my oil change, I went home, the next morning, there was at least a quart of oil on the floor of my garage! I called corporate only because Mark is such a rude Midas interface. The next day I was told to get my car back and it would be fixed.
Dani was there, working there from your other store. She had them look at it and tighten up something. Apparently, the Einstein’s there notoriously known for being high on dope, still didn't get it right! My car leaked oil drops before this and now it's a seive, your southern and Power location is horrible. I believe that Mark upsells and breaks stuff as he goes, In contrast the shop on Broadway in Tempe with Mike and Keith is so different! TRULY! I went back there and Keith looked at my car wiped it down, nothing major and then said come back in a week. I was sick that weekend and my car sat, I returned in 2 weeks to have, KEITH KRAMER who wasn't even in the shops name is on my REPAIR ORDER 0411225, than the guy that looked at it said I had Oil Pan Gasket and Oil Filter housing that needed repair required! You guys screwed that up at the other shop and he added everything under the sun, Rear craft shaft oil leak, and Steering gear. 2854.89
Sir, you are scamming customers. I know you guys are robbing customers man. Keith said he saw nothing and the following 2 week all of this. Something is not right! My car sat. My car did not leak any oil Matt.
Today, my son from California went in for an oil change. He accidentally went to the WRONG location, ended up at Superstition, and I called there and TOLD Mark to get his car off the rack. Jake had an appointment at the Broadway location and Mike and Dani were waiting on him. Jake had no idea what was going ion until we talked after the fact. He does however, have the list of alleged issues your Superstition location says is wrong. I believe it is a clear case of fraud.
I don't know what to tell you other than my car is in a real shop, and I am waiting to see what else they can tell me before I get real formal with this situation. You have crack heads and dope fiends working for you, and it is not right! They come in hung over or high and break cars. Not legal, not normal and not right!
The Arizona Auto Repair Act is just the first stop for me later when I get off work.
This act, starting with the Automotive Repair Act in Chapter 20.3 of the Business and Professions code, outlines many of the rights and responsibilities of both the automotive repair dealer and Bureau of Automotive Repair – it can be helpful in giving valuable insight into both the BAR, its regulatory purpose, and limitations on their power. Whenever the BAR attempts to revoke, suspend, or restrict a technician’s professional license, the technician or service station has certain rights that the BAR must respect and grant based on adjudicatory and administrative procedures. Business & Professions Code 9880 9880.3

That is where I will start! My car should not have all this garbage wrong after a simple oil change Matt and your cooperate offices need to know what the tweakers you have hired do to customers cars. I can prove every word too!

During an Oil Change, two items are removed from the engine. One is the Oil Filter, which is replaced with a new Oil Filter. The other is the Drain Plug that goes into the Oil Pan. This Drain Plug is put back into the Oil Pan after all the old oil has been drained out. Initially a few hours after an Oil Change you may have a little bit of oil drip as some engines have the Oil Filter in such a way that Oil will spill onto the engine as the filter is being changed. After a few hours, you should no longer have any sign of oil dripping.

Drain Plug was not tightened all the way so it does not have a tight seal on the Oil Pan.

Regards,

Jay

Jay Guttentag
JayGuttentag@yahoo.com
(480) 584- 8755 cell
(801) 432- 2396 office

POST SCRIPT:

By the way, my son didn't have to show ID or anything. What kinda franchises are you running. Mark had the audacity to act like I was calling him, and had no idea what was wrong. Um, hello, he ruined my car essentially. What I can say is all of the things allegedly wrong with my car on that work order were NEVER, EVER identified by Keith, WHO I TRUST, at the Broadway shop, and even Mark didn't state any of those things were wrong. Check your own files.

My "boy" got a Landry list too. Fraud to the core.

I really thing an internal AUDIT of all your shops needs to occur. ESPECIALLY since Keith was not even there the day that invoice was created 11/17/2018. Keiths check depends on patrons paying. Why do you think that my car was all the sudden messed up the day Keith was gone! Midas BMW

During an Oil Change, two items are removed from the engine. One is the Oil Filter, which is replaced with a new Oil Filter. The other is the Drain Plug that goes into the Oil Pan. This Drain Plug is put back into the Oil Pan after all the old oil has been drained out. Initially a few hours after an Oil Change you may have a little bit of oil drip as some engines have the Oil Filter in such a way that Oil will spill onto the engine as the filter is being changed. After a few hours, you should no longer have any sign of oil dripping.

Regards,

Jay

20

I’m outside the Fayetteville office in Georgia and it is now 7:40a and I understand that you open at 7:30a. This happens often and as a loyal customer it is driving me to go elsewhere for all of my car service needs. Being a military brat, rime is of essence and I don’t understand why your employees are unable to show up to work on time to open at 7:30a instead of being across the way having breakfast at McDonalds. This is unacceptable

20

BADDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD BUSINESS!!! POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!!!! I WENT INTO MIDAS AT 797 W ALGONQUIN RD, ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL. STORE MANAGER STEVE HUBBELL WAS PLEASANT . I DROPPED MY CAR OFF TO BE CHECKED ON WHY I SEE RED OIL ANTIFREEZE ON THE GROUND. HOURS LATTER I RECEIVED CALL TELLING ME WHAT HE THOUGHT!! YES WHAT HE THOUGHT WAS WRONG!! OUTRAGEOUS STUFF AND TOTAL HE STATED. I TOLD HIM I HAVE TO TALK IT OVER WITH MY HUSBAND. I WENT TO PICK UP MY TRUCK. I ASKED STEVE AGAIN TO EXPLAIN TO ME WHAT WAS WRONG....OHHHHH WHY DID I ASKED THAT. HE BE CAME """ RUDE""" AND TOLD ME I EXPLAINED EVERYTHING TO YOU AND IT'S ON THE PAPER WHAT I EXPLAINED AND HAND ME MY KEY AND SAID MECHANIC WILL BE CAR AROUND!! NOW IF I HAD OF SPEND THAT $1600.00 HE QUOTED NO ATTITUDE AND RUDENESS I WOULD HAVE RECEIVED. I RECEIVED A CALL TODAY FROM ""RAY"" REGIONAL MANAGER. HE WAS RUDE AND DISRESPECTFUL. DID NOT APPOLOGIZE TO ME THE CUSTOMER HE BECAME VERYYYYY DEFENSIVE, ARGUING, BEING VERY CONDESENDING!!! OVER TALKING ME!! TELLING ME THEY HAVE AUDIO AND CAMERAS AND THAT STEVE WAS NOT MEAN OR RUDE. I SAID I KNOW HOW I FELT AND HE CAN NOT TELL ME HOW I FELT!!! I SAID A SIMPLE ""THANK YOU" OR APOLOGY FOR HOW I FELT COULD HAVE GONE ALONG WAY!! HE " RAY" TOLD ME DID I SAY THANK YOU I SID YES AND IM THE CUSTOMER IN YOUR BUSINESS!!! BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE ALL THE WAY AROUND.!!! I WILL BE CONTACTING BBS!!! I HATE BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE!!! FUTHERMORE, NOTHING WAS WRONG WITH MY RADIATOR AS HE SATED WAS WRONG!!!! SOMETHING TOTALLY DIFFERENT WAS WRONG AND THEY SUPPOSE TO BE THE CAR EXPERT!!! HOW ABOUT IT WAS MY "" CONDENSER"!!! DISSATIFIED CUSTOMER!!

20

I contacted Midas in Orlanda earlier this year about brake repairs I had done at the Hampton shop that was closed with no way for customers to return for problems with repairs. I paid 986.00 for brakes and now i need to have brakes repaired again. I contacted Midas in Orlando and their response was what do you want us to do. I'm on disability and forking out 900.00 isn't easy. So my car is in need of another brake job. Midas is jackleg and do not care about their customers
I fill the best way to let people know how they are is to post this on Facebook.

20

went in to Midas for fa ailed Delaware DMV emissions test and poor acceleration, told them the vehicle lost power on acceleration. I left with poor acceleration, and even lower power than when it came in. I also ailed state emissions test again. The exhaust pipe that was changed fixed noise exhaust I did not come in for. Was told it would fix emission issue. This repair was then not accepted by Delaware DMV as an emission related repair. So I was again the vehicle failed the emission test. Even worse than the first time. Even though I had spent the amount to be allowed an exception. The exhaust repair cost where deducted by the DMV for the required amount spent on emissions repair to qualify for an exemption. I paid for oil change that was not done; I had to go back in to get the oil changed. I asked that they use a made in USA Bosh O2 sensor, but they did not install it; service writer said they do not use Bosh sensors. They install another O2 one at higher cost. They also changed to adjust the timing even though the tech told me it was within the acceptable 2 degree range. The tech told me that my acceleration issue could be the fuel pressure regulator. I told the service writer I felt fuel delivery was my problem and I thought it may be the fuel pressure regulator, because it had a relatively new fuel pump, filter, and lines and fill neck. I told them there was a new fuel pressure regulator in the trucks to be installed. My bill was over 1,100, and really only thing done that they did that was needed was to change the Y pipe; and it was not the reason I want to the shop to begin with. They also changed the spark plugs; even though they were only 1 month old and had less than 20 miles on them. This is the worse auto repair experience of my life; and I am 61I waited 45 minutes for an oil change I paid for but they did not do. Not even an I apologize for having to come back in. I used to have respect for Midas; not anymore.

20

I wouldn't even give a 1 on a scale, Midas in Washington Pa, 15301, 09/08/18, scheduled car inspection on a Tuesday for inspection on Sat. at 10am, dropped my car off, called at 1:30 at my car has not even been looked at, went up and took car, got the same story, were really backed up, well how does that happen, taking to many, not my problem, 3 and a half hours.....got the same sob story 2 months ago when I made appointment for a oil change, people in line, manager asking for people to come back the next day, me too, went back next day after I already worked my 8 hours and it took a hour and half, Ive been going to Midas for 10 years and never experienced this, young manager trying to make a name for himself, I've bought my batteries there, tune ups, radiator changed and more, I will not be back and I hope I'm not the only one.

20

Mon 8-7-18 Phoned/ requested AC check, delivered vehicle next morning (Tues).
(I) phoned at 11:30 for info/ waited until 3:00 PM for update -(I) phoned then/ was told they would phone back -never did. I left vehicle overnight.
Next day (Wed) (I) phoned at 11:00 was told they would phone back w/ info -never did. (I) phoned at 3:00 PM, was told they would phone back -never did.
I came and picked up vehicle at 5:45

20

I am the owner of 2003 Mitsubishi Galant ,White Color.In the month of February, 2018, I got starting problem in mysaid car.I contacted and called Midas situated at 832 East Roosevelt Road,Lombard,Il 60148 at its phone no 630-627-6710. Mr. Jay Rajput picked my phone and asked me to Tow my car to the said place. Syed Atif is also, working with that guy.They had changed the Starter of my said car instead of changing the ignition.The had not properly fixed the problem of my said car and they charged me $458/- for changing the starter and for their labor. When, I pointed out the same the existence of the same problem in my said car.They asked me to bring the ignition in order to fix the problem but they were reluctant to fix it and giving me more times but the could not fix the problem in my car.In the meanwhile ,I caused more problems in my car due to the existence of the same problem of ignition and I had to get it fixed( the problem of ignition) from another Mechanic at Lake Street at Bloomingdale,Il and I had payed a lot of money for it. Your people who are owning the said Midas had created a lot of problems for me and they had wrongly taken my money and they had caused a lot of financial damages to me, for which they are liable to compensate me.

20

I've taken my vehicle to the Midas location: 16708 E IIiff Aurora, CO 80013, multiple times for a reoccurring issue only to be given the run around and accrue additional expenses.

On 2/13/18, I took my vehicle in due to a check engine light received and I was told that the 'Check Engine Light Diagnosis Smoke Test For Emissions' resulted in, "nothing leaking emissions wise and advised to replace the gas cap". Per the techs instructions, I replaced gap cap. On 3/8/18, I took my vehicle back to Midas due to 'Check Engine Light' and was told that the 'Check Engine Light Diagnosis Smoke Test For Emissions' resulted in, code P0455 and I gave the 'Ok' for the techs to do service 'remove and replace purge valve and canister vent solenoid, remove and replace canister valve. After repairs were done, the 'Check Engine Light' came on 24hrs later on 3/9/18. On 3/20/18, I took my vehicle back to Midas only to be told that it's a new issue, non-related which required new service and expenses. At that point I took my business elsewhere to a certified dealership (GMC), who was able to address the issue reported for less than 1/2 the price that was quoted by Midas. On 7/12/18, I took my vehicle back to the dealership due to a check engine light received and I had them do a diagnostic test 'Check Engine Light Diagnosis Smoke Test For Emissions' resulted in, "replace purge valve it will not seal all the way" but I declined service because the defective part (purge valve) is still under warranty by Midas. I contacted Midas to inform them of existing issue and scheduled a service for 7/26/18. At this point I've lost all trust in Midas and services they provide. Hence, I'd rather get refunded and take my business elsewhere

20

Went in for a brake job on Thursday evening. Was told needed 4 rotors and new pads for all tires. Then told caliper was bad on driver front. Then passenger front axle was leaking like crazy. My driveway was clean and only a small amount of grease splatter in wheel well.
That was Thursday evening. It took all day Friday, shop not crowded, and i left Friday as they were turning off lights at 7pm.
Immediately, i noticed marshmallow brakes, no emergency brake, and noise coming from rear brakes. All from poor workmanship on installing.
I brought it back at 730am Saturday. Its 1030am and it is still up on the lift.
Just awful!!!! i wish i went elsewhere and WIll NEVER BE BACK!!!!

20

I HAD MY OIL CHANGED AT THE MIDAS IN EVERETT WA THEY DID A GREAT JOB ON JUNE 29TH 2018 THEN MYSELF MY 16YR OLD SON AN MY 15 YR OLD GODSON LEFT FRIDAY MORNING JUNE 29TH ON OUR WAY TO SPOKANE WA FOR HOOPFEST WKND SO THE BOYS COULD PLAY IN THE 3ON3 BASKETBALL TOURN. SO MY BLK CHEVY HHR 2009 PURCHASED FROM CARHOP IN EVERETT STARTS SHAKING VERY BADLY IN VANTAGE WA SO I TALK BACK AN FORTH W/MIDAS IN EVERETT AN CARHOP AN AFTER TALKING W/MIDAS IN EVERETT I HAD MY CR TOWED $318 TO MIDAS IN MOSES LAKE WA THEY TOOK A LOOK SAID IT WAS NOTHING TO DO WITH MY OIL CHANGE PRIOR TO THE TRIP BUT SOMETHING WAS BROKEN IN MY TRANNY SO I CPOULDNT GET CAR TOWED THE MANAGER SAID CAR WAS FINE IT SAT IN THE 2ND SPACE FROM THE STREET INTRANCE SO CARHOP IN EVERETT MANAGER JAY HAD CALLED MIDAS IN MOSES LAKE ASKING ABOUT MY CAR THE OWNER AFTER 5 DAYS OF SAYING HE KNEW NOTHING OF MY CAR TOLD JAY HE HAD IT TOWED...JAY SAID AFTER I TRIED DOING BUSINESS W YOU TO GET MY CUSTOMER CAR FIXED! I AM SO ANGRY AT MIDAS IN MOSES LAKE I AM A SINGLE PARENT AN NOW I HAVE OVER $500 IN TOW FEES AN STILL NO CAR!! THAT MAN WAS VERY RUDE WOULD'NT GIVE ANY INFORMATION (HELPFUL) I WILL NO LONGER TELL ANYONE TO GO TO MIDAS FOR ANY OF THEIR CAR NEEDS!! I HAVE NO UNDERSTANDING FOR THE REASON OF HIS ACTIONS AN WHY HE WOULDNT FIX MY CAR WHEN CARHOP WAS OFFERING HIM PAYMENT OVER THE PHONE W CC NOT HIM HAVING TO WAIT FOR A CHECK IN THE MAIL I THOUGHT COMPANIES WERE IN THE MARKET TO MAKE MONEY BUT I GUESS NOT MIDAS IN MOSES LAKE WA!!!

20

DO NOT GO TO THIS MIDAS. I went in to get my MAP sensor replaced at Midas (5115 S. Loop 289 Lubbock, TX 79424) and fix anything else that might be going on. I was charged $621 to replace the sensor and valves which I was okay with even though it was bit high. A week later the check engine light went on again and it was the same MAP sensor. Since I am working in Houston for a few more weeks, I went to a Midas here. The mechanic at this location talked with the manager Tim at the location in Lubbock letting him know that his mechanic did not replace the sensor and charged me for work they didn’t do. This Midas in Lubbock lied to me and charged me for parts they didn’t even install, in the words of the Midas mechanic here in Houston, “they were deceitful and did a less than half-ass job”. I have photo evidence and the actual sensor that has been on the vehicle since it came off the assembly line. I had to pay another $500 to fix what the mechanics here didn’t do. I would like my $621 back.

20

Ok my car is still needs to be look at still have power steering noise is there another midas in Lafayette, la that I can take it to to get fix I wrote to you all a while back about a complaint on midas on Bertrand Dr help i don't want to go to court just want my car fix right 337 2967397

20

broke my skid plate and manager told me he would fix it, and never received a call for a month. I have called and they always give me a excuse why they can't repair it.

20

i was charged 79.00$ for a windshield washer pump that only cost 28.64 and was lied to as why it cost that much It was bettermade pump and had warrentee he said he got from union auto parts they were not open on sat day of repair truth is it came from orileys and was 2864 i seen the invoice no need in all that lying he thought i was stupid because of being female..i cant deal with a lyer

20

I received an online estimate of $390.00 from the Midas shop I east Brunswick NJ for repairs to my 2004 explorer. When I arrived at the shop the estimate immediately increased to $550.00 for the same repair work. After having the vehicle for several hours, I received a call from Midas stating that I “need” an additional $300.00 worth of work which was not at all related to original repair.
Is this how Midas operates??? I thought that the bait and switch tactics were illegal.
This is the first, and last time I will use Midas.

20

I had struts replaced last year because they said my wheel was loose. This year the same problem but was told needed ball joints. Then I was told I needed front breaks and rotors but they never removed my tire. This was at the. Mt pocono store. I have been going there for 7 years but recently they change managers monthly. And I’m told that they have to do some work even for repairs that can wait.

20

This is to serve as a courtesy warning to possible patrons of the Butler Midas located at 101 Evans City Road, Butler, PA. The on-site manager for this station is Robert Y. (last name omitted) and the District Manager that oversees this station is Trenton K. (last name omitted). I scheduled and took my vehicle to this service center for a state safety inspection and oil change. I dropped my vehicle off at 12:30 for the scheduled appointment. I was under the impression that everything was proceeding fine with the inspection and oil service until I received a phone call from Robert at 4:30 (end of the work day and 4 hours after I had dropped the vehicle off). He stated that Trenton had come into the station and noticed my vehicle in the queue for service. Robert stated that Trenton declared to him that he had paid out a repair claim on my vehicle for damage that was caused during a previous service appointment a month or so prior. This accounting is accurate. The Butler station caused damage to my vehicle on a previous appointment, which they paid to have repaired. It’s of value to mention at this point that I have used Midas for 13+ years with great service throughout, with exception for the isolated instance of damage. I was not going to hold one bad experience against them, as any shop or mechanic can have a bad day. I pursued forward with that thought and returned for the corresponding service appointment in question. Returning back to the end-of-the-day phone call, Robert stated that they would not be performing my state inspection. The reasoning that was given is that for the visual inspection requirement portion of the state inspection, they needed to remove components that Trenton had informed them they had to repair from damage from the previous appointment and that they were not going to be held liable for possible damage a second time. Immediately, this sounded like a rouse to retaliate for the repair claim. My thought was, “perform the task correctly and no damage should occur, correct?” From the tone of the conversation with Robert, I quickly ascertained that any continued discussion for getting that service completed was not going to be productive. I moved forward and asked about the oil change. I was told that because of the previous repair claim, they would not put my vehicle on one of their conventional post lifts. Robert stated that they would need to put my vehicle on their “drive-on” lift to perform the oil service. It was stated that this lift was currently in use and would be in use overnight to the affect that they would not be performing my oil service either. I was then told to arrange to pick up my vehicle before they closed. I promptly arrived down at the service station no more than 30 minutes later and immediately noticed that there was no vehicle on their “drive-on” lift. I captured a photo to preserve that fact. So here’s the summary. I had a scheduled appointment to have a state inspection and oil service performed. They had my vehicle for 4+ hours and failed to perform either service. It is my perception that this purposeful service refusal was a juvenile attempt to retaliate on the previous repair claim that they incurred. I feel that it was highly unprofessional and my objective is to warn prospective customers of the past actions of these two managers. Despite this experience, I will continue to use Midas. I will however, never take my vehicle back to the Butler Midas as long as these two managers are in the wheel-house.

As a side note, I was told by both managers that any complaint I would make would simply be forward back to them and quickly discard in the trash. That is why I am populating this complaint through any and all mediums within the Midas corporate structure to ensure that word of their actions makes it outside of their jurisdiction of control.

20

I arrived 10 minutes prior to my service appt of 9:15 am I waited over 1 hour before approaching the person behind the desk where I had given all info plus my car keys.
I asked why it was taking so long to do a state safety inspection and an oil change.
My car had not moved since I arrived at the Waialae Ave location.
Long story short. This appt lasted close to 4HOURS!!!!!!!
Totally unacceptable. I WILL NOT RETURN TO THIS LOCATION FOR ANY REASON
By the way I had to cancel another appt I had made, thinking I had plenty of time but
as you can read from my complaint. 4 HOURS pushed me pass my time allowed to make my other appt I had to cancel and rebook the appt
No customer should be treated this way Oh and by the way this location is very old and in need of lots of tender loving care

Janet L. Knight

20

I wanted to tell you about the inexcusable / dangerous experience I recently had at your Midas location located at 7382 Oswego Rd, Liverpool, NY 13090. I have go to this location because it is convenient. It's less than a mile from my home.
Back on _________ I had a brake job done on my front brakes at this location I'm mentioning this now, and you will see why in a minute. Keep reading.

On Friday 09-08-17 I had an appointment for an oil change. I went in and they advised me they would rotate my tires as "part of the package" at no cost to me. I thought that would nice. When I left there, it felt to me as if my car was pulling just a little bit to the left, but then I thought no, it was all in my mind. About a week later when I drove between 30-35mph my car would vibrate very badly. It was rough on the ear drums, so I had to try to drive below 30mph or over 35mph. The vibration on the ears was that bad. My car had also developed a squeak which sounded like it was coming from the front left tire.

I called and got an appointment on Monday, 09-25-17 for the same Midas store to look at my car to see what was causing this. Mind you, before I went in for my oil change/tire rotation it was not making this vibration or squeak. Service Manager Dave told me they would take a look at it and see what was going on with my car. They had it on the lift for over two hours. Dave came in to me and told me there was a bolt on the front left that looked like it was almost rusted through and would replace it. A little while later, they took it off the lift and Dave took it for a test drive. I went outside when I saw him driving back into the lot. He stopped and got out of the car, and took the protective plastic off the seat, and said I was "all set'. (Like you would do if everything was fixed and I was good to go). I asked him if he had heard the squeak when he drove it. He said he had not. (You have to be deaf not to have heard it). Dave then told me "they could not find anything, so they rotated my tires back to where they were when I first brought them in"). He said the issues were not fixed. I asked him why after over 2 hours nothing is any better than when I brought it in to them to look at?! He advised me he "needed more time" to figure it out. I told him I work all week long, and have an event this Saturday, and they are closed on Sunday, so what was he going to do about this. He said he could put me in for the following Saturday October 7th, and in the meantime, I would "just have to listen to the squeak and vibration". Dave was condescending and treated me like I was an idiot who didn't know anything.

I asked my friends if any of them could recommend a reliable mechanic. Thankfully I was given the name and number to B & H Automotive and they were able to take me in the very next day. First let me tell you that owner's of B & H Automotive's name is Bob, and he welcomes you to call him, and he will be happy to explain to you exactly what I am going to tell you (below). I have photographs of everything to support every word of this.

Bob wanted to check my front tires/brakes to see what might be going on up there. The drivers side front tire would not come off. They wound up cutting the bolt off in order to get my wheel off. (SEE PHOTO). Bob told me there was NO way the guys at Midas "Re-rotated" my tires back to where they said they did, and said it probably took them over 2 hours to try to figure out how to fix their botched job!
Once they got the tire off, Bob said there one stud was spinning and not even tight. He found out the reason for this was because the mechanics at Midas did not put in the correct stud.....no, instead they put in a HEX BOLT like you buy at the hardware store! (SEE PHOTO). Not only did they put in this hex bolt, they found it was too long, and when they tightened it down, it gouged the the rotor!!! (SEE PHOTO)...The Midas mechanics solution to this was to put a washer on the hex bolt to try to shorten it. When they found this still didn't work, they loosened it, and left it that way!!!! This same left front tire was also missing the caliper hardware/bracket. (SEE PHOTO). I had to have a entire new brake job done on the front of my car because of the shoddy work done by the people at your Route 57 location.

So not only are your people liars and thief's, they have NO regard for customer safety! As I write this I sit here and shake my head, in disbelief.

I have had my safety put at risk, had to pay for a 2nd/correctly done front brake job. I have also had to inconvenience others to take me to work and back because of Midas. There is no excuse for this!

I look forward to hearing from you, to hear what Midas is going to do to make this right.

As I mentioned earlier in my letter, Bob Ortolani/owner of B & H Automotive welcomes you to call him if you have any questions or concerns. Here is his information:

B & H Automotive
7700 Maple Road
Baldwinsville, NY 13027
315-635-5366 - Bob Ortolani/Owner

I can be reached on my cell phone:

Diane Sheerin (Cell phone) 315-409-6968
If I am not available to answer the phone when you call, please leave me a message with your name and best number to reach (including any extension) and I will get back to you as soon as I can.

I am appalled and in shock over not only the treatment I received from Dave on the 25th, but for the total disregard for my safety and the safety of my vehicle. Dave never even offered me apology for any of this.

A very dissatisfied customer.

-Diane Sheerin

20

On November 4,2016, Midas installed a Serpentine belt on my 2010 Volvo XC60 and two weeks later my air condition stop working because Midas did not replace the other required parts on my car (coupling and kit) for the belt. They did not even use the correct belt for my car. It was forced on the a/c compressor and other pulleys. I tried talking to the assistant manager Jeremy Wilson and the store manager/owner Charles Pace on November 23,2016, and November 25th, and they did not want to accept the blame for the work they performed on the car.

All they wanted was more money out me to solve the problem by charging more money to replace the air compress without replacing the other required parts. I was originally quoted $262.06 to replace the serpentine belt and when I decided to have the belt replaced the price went to $592.71 receipt #702588.

Charles tried to tell me he was going to warranty the labor and charge me $1167.00 to install the a/c compressor and Jeremy Wilson quoted me $1500.00. I don't how they are helping me when the dealer had the part for $700.00. Basically they were increasing the cost of the part so that I would still pay for labor. I even explained to them that I was losing money from this transaction and previous transaction because I drive for a ride sharing companies.

I ended up taking my car to a shop that specialized in working with Volvo only and I had to replaced the belt that Midas put along with parts that Midas failed to put expansion valve, coupling, repair kit and a damage A/C compressor created by Midas. It cost me a total of $2,382.90 (Midas $592.71 + $1790.19 other repair shop). I have requested the old parts and the belt that Midas put to seek a refund within 10days. Otherwise I will be filing a complaint in small claims court.

20

Paid $500.00 to have a oil leak fixed but it never happened. Took it back said valve cover still leaking, said if i pay for new valve cover gasket $70 they would furnish the labor. I did and they replaced gasket but it still leaks. Took it back had them look at it, and change oil. They said they didn't known where it was leaking. Problem still exists and I am not a happy Midas customer.

20

I had visited this Midas service center and they are totally fraud. They made so many promises but the work which they did was very poor. In fact, my entire family has been made to suffer because of these people. I will put these pictures on Facebook and every social media site so that nobody else will lose their money and time. The workers are uneducated and need help, the management team has no manners and are rude to employees. How can I find contact information for the Midas CEO? I'd love to escalate this to headquarters with a phone call. The address of this store is 7501 W Chester Pike, Upper Darby, PA 19082.

40

I have called Midas corporate hotline multiple times to be contacted about a misquote of service and get parts installed in my car without approval that ended up being $600 more. And two additional services after that I am told my car needs more work to work properly and our bill is now $2200. The tech have some crazy reason about pressure. Waiting for call still. Their customer service needs some help!

40

Midas supposedly provides you with A to Z services like oil change, exhaust and mufflers, brakes, tires and wheels, batteries and suspensions with complete care and protection. Well I certainly have used them for everything over the years.

Recently I went in for a routine oil change but ended up getting sold hundreds of dollars more in repairs that I do not believe were actually needed. It's sad because I know that the name is derived from the king Midas and his golden touch, hence the slogan "Trust the Midas touch", which says you can just trust the service without any worry.

Not sure I can trust this company anymore.

40

After taking my car into Midas for repairs, they began with a diagnostic that cost $155 and then began to place arbitrary parts into the car which did not fix the car. By the time they reached $700, I had had enough. The car was smoking and cutting off more than ever and I told them to stop. I took the car back after expressing my ire. Then when I found someone else, I had the car towed to the Chevy dealership who fixed the problem and explained to me that they were not even close in their repairs. They explained how some crooks operate to pad their bill. They only charged me $430 but they actually fixed the car. Is this criminal or what?

60

Car had grinding sound when braking also abs light was on. Took it to Midas and had brake evaluation. I was told needed back brakes, shocks, struts on front only, rack and pinion replaced. I was also told the reason for abs light on because a screw was not tightened. Had repairs done. 3weeks later heard same noise was told by management that I needed front brakes had new brakes your on. 1 day later took car back heard same grinding noise.

Took car back to Midas again and they did more adjustments. Two days later went in for same problem and was told metal rubbing against metal. They did more adjustments. Dec 8 heard loud pop, Dec 9 while driving heard another loud pop. So, I stopped to check trunk would not stay up on its own. Dec 10th took car back for evaluation was told nothing was wrong. When driving away abs, trac light on while backing up turned around went back to same Midas. I complained to customer service department and was told wheels were too big for auto, ridiculous answer because wheels were put on by discount tire.

I paid $2200 for work on car abs light and service auto light is still on. I am very very disappointed with the Midas corporate office for ignoring my complaints. Have had no real problems with car for until Midas repairs were done. I want my car fixed.

60

Took my truck in for an oil change. A short time after that I started to notice oil spots in my driveway. My driveway had been freshly coated in the late spring.This made me very upset ! I made a returned trip to the Midas shop.I was informed they had installed too much oil in my motor, about 1/2 quart and they had to take that back out.I also was told they had spilled a substantial amount of oil down the side of my motor .They failed to clean it up properly which caused two oil pools in my driveway. I resent that I had to spend my time and money trying to remove the oil stains,without much luck. I might add. At this time I don't think I would ever return to Midas for any type of service on my truck or car.

60

I had to get the oil change done for my vehicle so took it to Midas as suggested by my office colleague. Well I would really appreciate them for the kind of efficient work they have done. Not just oil change, but I asked them to service it as well. Now my vehicle is spik and span, neatly done, oil change, brakes are checked and corrected. Midas store is staffed by ASE-certified mechanics and hence I trust them in the work.

They are ready to serve us anytime. I can be rest assured when I give my vehicle to Midas. I know it is in safe hands. Midas is one of the world’s largest providers of automotive services, offering brake, maintenance, tires, exhaust, steering and suspension services at more than 2,000 franchisee. So I know that I can trust them!

Have feedback for Midas?

Thanks for your feedback!

Sorry. Please try again later!