DeWALT Customer Service
Rated 1.79 of 5 Stars
Based on 33 Complaints

Contact DeWALT Corporate

Toll free phone number: 1-800-433-9258

Founded in 1924, DEWALT is one of the world's leading tool companies. They currently have more than 300 products and almost 1,000 power tool accessories. If you have questions or comments the best way to reach support is by filling out their online form.

Common reasons to register feedback include warranty issues, problems with corded and cordless drills, and all types of accessories for their power tool lines. DEWALT also makes saws, sanders, generators, compressors, as well as screw driving tools. The corporate headquarters address is located in Towson, Maryland at 701 East Joppa Road.

The company is currently in stores both nationwide in North America as well international. They are also carried in places like Home Depot and Lowes, with over 1,000 owned and operated factory locations. The best time to reach a live person is from Monday to Friday from 8am-5pm (Eastern Time).


Experienced poor service? File a complaint here!

DeWALT Contact Information

Report complaints to corporate and get satisfaction

  • DeWALT headquarters address

    • 701 East Joppa Road
    • Baltimore
    • MD 21286
  • Company website

  • 1-800 phone number

    1-800-433-9258
  • Better Business Bureau rating

    A+
  • Customer service hours

    Monday-Friday (8am-5pm)

Browse reviews of other Home Improvement



Top DeWALT Complaints

Browse more than 33 reviews submitted so far

20

On 9/28/18 we purchased a Dewalt tile saw D24000S from a Delwalt tool representative at the Rocking-R Ace Hardware store in Harrisonburg, Virginia. We were told by the store staff and the Dewalt representative that it would arrive in one week. It still has not arrived and we have been told they are not sure when it will be. Dewalt company headquarters is only three hours away from us yet it has been weeks and no saw has arrived. We wish now that we had used Amazon. I have the Dewalt table saw and miter saw and love them both. I was looking forward to the tile saw. Why would sending the saw overnight be out of the question?

20

The 18 volt batteries are junk and do not last, do not buy these tools, I have gone through 7 batteries with 3 sitting on my bench now.
I have 2 new batteries as I have quite a few tools, id they do not last a year it will be the last I deal with dewalt.
I will never deal with them again. Have they heard of warranty!! Junk!

20

My son and I have purchased many DeWalt tools and have always been satisfied with them (actually I just purchased an air powered framing nailer about 2 weeks ago) I bought a DeWalt electric string trimmer less than a year ago and have only used it a few times because it is light duty. The other day I wanted to use it and the motor would not rev up and within a few seconds it would slow down to a stop. The motor would be warmer than it should be. I put a freshly charged battery on and it did the same thing. I totally cleaned all debris from around the head - no difference. I completely disassembled the motor end and everything looks like new. The trouble has to be in the electronic control module by the battery. That unit should not go out with as little use as I have used it. This was not a cheap unit and I am totally dissatisfied with it. I would appreciate your comments.
Charles Lancaster

20

My dealt drill had a 3years warrenty I bought for use around my home and not for industrial use as I am a tree surgeon .the cog in the drill has started to slip so I sent it in to be repaired and they are asking me for £125 repair fee which I shouldn't have to pay as it's still under warrenty
I bought it from toolstop ref0003665314 and registered it online for the extended warrenty which dewalt is now denying all knowledge of
So could you give me a name of the person I will be dealing with for to pass on to trading standards officers
Could you please look into this as quickly as possible because it's been going on for nearly amonthq
Thanks

20

My pressure washer has been in the shop for repairs since June 11th and I was told the part will not be available until Sept. 11th. If there is a major problem with unloader valves on your pressure washer the part should be available to the supplier at all times and in stock.I will never recommend a DeWalt pressure washer because of the service.

40

I had 18v 5 pice hammer and drill combo set that was made in America. Used it for over 10 years saw died. So got new set for myself about 2 years ago. biggest pice of crap ever. Saw switch went out after 1 year so took American switch out of old one. not long after that it slowed down. Hammer drill feels like the motor is going to come through the back when you drill. Junk china crap. Was told that out of japan that the Jap batteries were better. Since I'm lucky to get a year out of Jap ones Mexico ones must really suck. My question is since there assembled in America again are they good or just more junk. thought about new set of 20v lithium. But if its same junk i will change brands. think I should get some kind off a deal on a new set.If there even worth having. But I'm sure I will not here from dewalt.

20

I have just purchased another 14 oz. Framing hammer. The one I had just broke in half just above handle grip. It was only 2 years old. The one before that both claws broke off after two years. The first cost$ 60. The second $50.00. The hammer overall is excellent. I just can't keep buying new hammers every two years. I've been a framer for 3o plus years and purchase and use your tools I'm all I do. I would hate to have to switch to a different manufacturer.

40

DeWALT customer service at London Ontario location really sucks. 1st I was told it would take 1 to 2 days to press a bearing on the motor on our Dewalt DW718 mitre saw. Since i have called numerous times and been told a few times it has not been done yet but will put on technicians table to speed up things. A bunch of liars there, when I 1st came in everyone was relaxed and leaning on the desk. No problem 1 to 2 days to press bearing on. I am now way over a month.

I heard no noises from the techs desk was quit quiet in there ( 10:45 am) when i came in. Since then we have rented a mitre saw from a rental place a few times. A bearing takes at most, 10 minutes to perform job. This is the worse service we have ever had, there is no business ethics at this location. I would recommend lots of training and stop the lying. Tell the truth sell me the bearing and let a pro put it on( myself) My recommendation do not buy a Dewalt, if you do, put the part on yourself.

40

I purchased boots from Selco builders. I have had them 8 months as I needed strong boots for work the left boot has split and letting in water this is not good for my line of work. They are worn I cannot change them I didn't think I needed the warranty as I thought this make was the best you can get I am a builder myself and need strong pair of boots. I thought I was purchasing as I was told there the best as you can see by image the tread on boot is very strong so for the side of boot to spit like this I am very unhappy.

60

I have purchased over $15,000 worth of Dewalt tools in the last 2 years and many of them need certain repair. When I call to have them repaired I have to ship them in and pay shipping, ridiculous! I have been a Dewalt customer for a long time and expect better service than what your call center reps are putting out. I don't expect to be treated like I am some bother, I purchased a product and I want ease when the item needs to be fixed in warranty! I don't beat my tools up by any means. If Dewalt does not do something to make things correct with me, ill be switching to a more trusted and reliable brand while posting on my business facebook, my experience with Dewalt.

40

I have a DeWalt 20v, 1/4" cordless impact driver (DCF885), serial # 699587, that I received this tool along with the drill, circular saw ,and tool bag combined as a kit for Christmas. I've happily used it several times (I'm not a professional so it hasn't been used regularly). Today I was using it with a stubby Philips drive. The stubby drive was not long enough to get to the screw that was imbedded in the wood so I pulled out a longer one (about 2"), used it and then needed to exchange that drive for another type of drive. I've use this longer drive with other equipment without any problem. Please explain to me what I have to do to get this longer drive out. Once I get it out, how do I avoid this problem in the future?

20

I received a DeWALT oscillating tool for Christmas in 2014. In 2 months the oscillating shaft begin to turn a little during use and about 2 months later it would no longer oscillate but the shaft would turn in circles. I bought another one 8/24/2015 and it does the same thing. The tool is worthless, it spins like a drill instead of oscillating.

40

i took my 10 year old DW871 chop saw in for repair, it made a rattling noise in the motor area. They told me for $99 I could repair it. Two weeks later I call them, they told me to come and pick it up, too many parts to repair it and the parts are obsolete. I pick it up, they gave it to me in a bag full of parts, really. I was furious, what am I supposed to do with a bag full of parts, I have no idea how they go back together. They said osha requires them to return it that way, nothing they can do.

I almost went over the counter, this was not in the same condition I brought it in. He said it was over 10 yrs old, parts are obsolete, I was on my own. Why didn't they tell me that before I left it with them, they knew the age. I guess if you want a tool to last more than 10 yrs, do not buy DeWALT, Porter Cable, Bostich, Stanley, or Black and Decker. At the very least, they removed my choice to repair it myself or by a private company by giving me a bag of pieces. DeWALT owes me a replacement Chop Saw, at the very least.

20

I recently purchased the new corded dewalt circular saw 1600rpm but have chewed up all the cord because the guard finishes about an inch an a half short of the blades leaving that part exposed. Well, having this problem which kept catching my lead also from a health an safety point of you that is a accident waiting to happen. I'm emailing you today to give you this feedback hoping you'll bear this mind for future designs an was wondering if there is any chance of being compensated for the damages that keep occurring. Maybe some blades or other accessories hope to hear from you.

60

The complaint is I bought a DCB107 drill on 28-10-15 with 3 years warranty from BQ in Hull with a special offer to buy a second battery now the second battery is failing to work. They say because they do not have one in stock I have to get in touch with you to replace it. Was told when I bought it any complaints to go back to them. So I need a replacement please. Thanking you hope for an early response to this feedback.

40

I took my dewalt sawzaw to the dewalt/porter cable repair shop to have it fixed. I received a letter in the mail that i had to pick my item up by march 8th. So i went there about a week before that and was told they didn't have my tool any longer. I spoke with the manager and she took my phone number and said she would look for my tool and call me. She never called so i called them back about two weeks later and spoke to her again and i was told my tool had been either sold or misplaced and was offer to purchase a brand new one for half off.

I told them i could not afford a new tool and wanted my old one back. She said she was sorry and that was all she could do. So i asked when i could pick it up and she said they would have to order it and she would call when it arrived. So two more weeks went by, no phone call and i called them and they said it had arrived. I again said i wanted my old tool back and was put on hold for 10 min and they hung up on me.

40

My husband changed from timberland work safety boots to DeWALT on the 20/02/2016 as was told they were good quality boots. My husband came home from work early as a nail had gone straight through the bottom of the boot and into his foot. I am really disgusted in the quality of these boots as the nail went through so easily. I want to know what is going to be done about this as they are clearly not safe to wear on a work site.

60

Only one problem with DeWALT. I have a compressor d55146. Love this compressor however handle plastic bushings total crap & wheel bushings always fall out. Very poor design and bad customer support when I try to report issues. I have macguiverd a solution but this company should fix existing design.

20

Let me start off by saying DeWALT power tools are awesome I love them they last so long. last year I lost my staple gun (arrow) so I was pretty excited to see you made staple guns without hesitation I bought it and package of your staples to go with it. I only needed it for a small job and it had issues form the start constant misfires I just figured needed a little break in time or some oil. have not used it sense, until today two staples in a row is an accomplishment for this stapler I was up high in a very tricky spot and it failed constantly I'm so ticked off, now I have to go get a stapler that works to do the job and get back up there. you don't even need to respond to this email bottom line I think you should stick to what you know power tools I will never buy another stapler or any item that you make that doesn't need electric power to run. I fought hard to keep it civil but I'm mad as heck.

20

I know this is probably not the fault of the DeWALT company, but, I thought i'd bring it to your attn. The web site, "Free Samples Get It" is using your products for what it call bait and switch. They offer one of your products, a 4 pack of drill bits and driver sets. When you try to get them you wind up getting some sub. to a diabetic mag. I have read some of the comments about this site,none good. sorta got real upset about it. Most comments were how could Dewalt scam us like this, never gonna by Dewalt again. Not real good for your image. As for me I guess no drills for me. hope you follow up on this. I also got a pair of boots with poor treads.

40

I think DeWALT tools are great tools but I ordered a dca 1820 in Nov. 1 2015 and again in Jan.11 I been told DeWALT keeps moving back delivery date. I just want I paid for companies ordered from platt electric suppy factory outlet DeWALT.

60

I received a D24000S tile saw yesterday, and the water pump discharge fitting was snapped off. Spent two hours on phone with Factory Authorized Outlet, and Manufacturer with no result. At the end of the day, they wanted me to call a local parts store and attempt to get one for free, or purchase it I was told. On that note saw is going back, and will never purchase a Dewalt product again.

40

I purchased a 557394 Dewalt 20V Max 4-Tool Com on 12-24-15 at Lowe's Home Center Boardwalk Avenue Kansas City MO, while on vacation from Trinidad & Tobago. I returned home on 12-30-15, and attempted to charge battery, but charger was not working. I contacted Lowe's who informed me that I could return said purchase to one of their closest stores, but that is not physically possible.

I then visited Esau Oilfield Company in Trinidad who is an authorized Dewalt agent who said that the charger was defective and so were both batteries. I had to buy a new charger and batteries since they are vital for my job. After charging batteries, I tried testing items in kit, and found that the DCL040 20V Max Cordless LED work light had no switch. The DCF885 1/4" 20V Max Cordless Impact Driver appeared to have been previously used because of scratches.

I am accustomed to using Craftsman, but decided to try Dewalt. I am extremely disappointed, and would like some redress from the customer service number I called.

20

Bought dewalt xr 18v Li-ion DCD776C2-SFBG combi drill from screwfix. 1 battery will not charge and I want a full refund of this crappy product. I acquired on the 16-9-2015 and this is not acceptable customer service for only a year in to the drill.

20

I have been a user of dewalt tools for a long time and have always been satisfied so when my drill quit working I went to Lowe's to buy a new one a few weeks went by and while helping a buddy build a deck it quit working so back to Lowe's they exchanged it no problem the next day I went back to help my buddy again sure enough this one did the same thing so back to Lowe's the same guy waited on me and asked how I burnt 2 drills up so I told him at this point he said we can't replace IT I should have bought the XP series. now I guess helping a friend build a deck made me a contractor since I got paid a few beers for my help. I know you can't help the ignorance of Lowe's isn't your problem my question is. is this your policy or Lowe's and I feel putting a few deck screws in shouldn't have made my drill burn up... So please let me no thanks

20

All 25, 20 volt max XR lithium ion drill kits that our company uses the chucks don't stay gripped on drill bits of any size. You never know when they will spin or fall out of the chuck. Just more China Crap form this company. Will be avoiding buying any DeWALT products in the future if possible. Seeing more complaints about them online.

20

Purchased some DeWALT knee pads around 6 months ago only used them a few times .one of the rivets popped of nearly had my eye out. I expect I lot more use from them.

60

Sent in a 20v hammer drill for repair 3 weeks ago and home depot told me to check back in in a couple more weeks. There is no way I should be with out a tool i use everyday for this long. I am now using an electric black and decker drill I purchased 44 years ago. Come on DeWalt, make a better product or get out.

40

I have a Craftman cordless drill that I have had for 10 years. One battery will let me screw over 100 3 and half inch screws. One of my batteries went bad and because it is so old I decided to buy a DeWALT product because of the name. Boy was I wrong, nothing but compaints here. It is a 20V MAX Lithium Ion Battery. Never buying DeWALT again. Back to Craftsman!

40

I have bought many dewalt tools over the years. I'm a interior trim carpenter going on 20 years. Love my dewalt tools. My last few purchase have been upsetting though. I order the dck296m2 on June 17 2014. I've had many issues. The charger died 3 months in. The bit lock on the impact broke doesn't hold the bit. It just falls out. The screw torque settings on the drill doesn't work properly. It cuts in and out and makes funky noises. I've tried other workers and they work fine. Also purchased another drill kit previous to that one and the drill burnt out in less then a year. I hope I can get some help with this or I will not be buying dewalt tools anymore.

60

Bought a pair of work boots in march only worn at night/weekends because of work in office these boots now leak like a sieve they are like new. To look at them i bought dewalt thinking they were good boots only problem. I haven't got receipt anymore i did think they would have lasted longer than 6 months of light work.

40

The handle broke on my drill, really poorly built DeWALT product. Which was a hand grinder and it hurt my hand. The bolt holding it on sheared off need to put a better bolt in it. I expected more higher quality products from DeWALT.

60

DeWalt cordless drill is the perfect drilling machine one can choose. The brand speaks for itself. We had some small wood work at home. DeWalt drill is capable to bore 2inch holes on wood and half and inch on metal. The drill is only 3.5 pounds and easy to handle. I felt it very comfortable to work with. 3 year warranty is one more good factor about DeWalt. I am greatly pleased with this product.

Have feedback for DeWALT?

Thanks for your feedback!

Sorry. Please try again later!