Expedia Customer Service
Rated 1.27 of 5 Stars
Based on 81 Complaints

Contact Expedia Corporate

Toll free phone number: 425-679-7200

Expedia, Inc (www.expediainc.com) is parent company to Orbitz (as of February,  2015) as well as Trivago, Hotels.com,  and Hotwire.com to name a few. Expedia is publicly  traded on the NASDAQ:EXPE. With over 14,000 employees and revenues reported in 2014 as US 5.7 billion Expedia is an American company that provides secure internet services needed to plan and reserve travel.

If you have a problem with your travel arrangements made through Expedia or its subsidiaries, you may call 1-877-787-7186 or check here to for customer service portal. If you would like to send correspondence via postal mail you may address your letter to CEO, Dara Khosrowshahi at Expedia Building, 333 108th Avenue, NE, Bellevue, WA 98004. Corporate office phone number is 425-679-7200.

Expedia was founded in 1996 as a division of Microsoft by Richard Barton in Redmond, WA. Expedia has a long list of acquisitions and divestitures and has been recognized by Forbes as one of America’s Best Managed Companies. Social media presence is found on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and 4 million followers on Google+.


Experienced poor service? File a complaint here!

Expedia Contact Information

Report complaints to corporate and get satisfaction

  • Expedia headquarters address

    • 333 108th Ave., Ne
    • Bellevue
    • WA 98004
    • United States
  • Company website

  • 1-800 phone number

    425-679-7200
  • Better Business Bureau rating

    A+

  • Customer service hours

    24 hours a day

Browse reviews of other Travel



Top Expedia Complaints

Browse more than 81 reviews submitted so far

20

The hotel is under massive renovations almost none of the amenities are available, late check-in at 5:30 hallways are blocked with construction workers ripping out tile and carpet construction noise starts at 6 AM elevator is broken, This construction material laying all over the hallways do you expect customers of walk-through power tools with extension cords laying in the hallway to trip over. I want to complete a refund or I’m filing a lawsuit for the money I paid for this hotel, nothing on Expedia’s website indicates there’s construction like this going on in the hotel. I repeat it’s a massive construction,I have more than 60 photos and about five videos that I filmed. Plus they expect me and my five-year-old son to ride the elevator with construction workers hauling out mass of debris from the hotel

20

So I'm very very passed off at this company to a point where I go outta my way to tell everyone I know to never use your services I can't believe the run around I wAs giving and I still lost the money I put in and was given a fake $100. Coupon by a manager in your customer service department I am a marketing major and have my masters in marketing/advertising and ill go outta my wY to tell everyone about my bad experience

40

Unable to use gift certificate because you collected your fee up front—no more Expedia for this cowboy—same to you

20

I booked a hotel through Expedia for three nights starting 6/27/19 for La Quinta by Wyndham 300S. Salisbury Blvd. Salisbury, Maryland 21801. When I arrived I was given a room on the fourth floor which was under construction, and wreaked of heavy paint and glue fumes. When I went to call the front desk from the room to request a transfer, there was no phone cord connecting the phone to the wall. I was later transferred a room on the second floor which had a dirty bed skirt and a broken entertainment center. I took pictures at that time planning to complain about paying roughly $200 a night for such awful conditions. On 6/28/19, I had several glasses of wine at the hotel bar, The Edge. I admit I drank more than I should have and was verbally obnoxious but I did not break any laws. The manager of the hotel called the local police department and had me arrested for trespassing. The police officer waited for me as he insisted that I pack my belongings and removed me from my room because the hotel manager wanted me to leave. If I had gotten into my car at that point (to find another hotel) I could have gotten arrested for a DWI or worse. I spent the night in jail as I had nowhere to go. I have to appear in court on August 14th, 2019. Depending on the result of the hearing I may lose my lose my professional license. The charges are trespassing at a Hotel that I paid for through Expedia and failing to obey a lawful order (to leave the hotel where I was a paying customer and had been served the alcohol at the hotel bar). I did not break any laws. Furthermore, my credit card was charged $492.04 by Expedia on June 18th for the room. It was again charged on 6/29/19 for $494.83 by La Quinta and again on 6/29/19 for $50.00 by La Quinta. And I am now paying for another hotel for the remainder of my stay and will likely be retaining a lawyer when I return home. I look forward to hearing how this situation will be rectified. I have also formally complained to the La Quinta by Wyndham corporate office.

20

I booked a room for 2 days and purchased the $3 insurance in a case of a situation they will refund me the unused room .when I called I was told the only way they could do it it's if I bought a Google play card for $150 and then they would credit back to my credit card the cost of the room .I did and they then came back and they said Google unless refunds if I sent them another with $500 and they would then refund me $750 I told them know I was totally scammed by your business I will file a complaint and will go on social media and let people know about this scam when I told them to send me a refund for either 145 for the room or 150 for the Google they said they could unless I sent them another 500.

20

Dyn, it is truly insulting that you responded to us this way. Shows the value of Expedia. We will NOT call you as Expedia customer service on the phone is no more than “LIP” service ( I have posted a review on TripAdvisor and Tweeter and will do it to any other social media outlet I can….). I will continue to bang away at Expedia on social media. Believe me I will!!! This EXCURSION was LOUSY and YOU should not expect anyone to be willing to pay for it. WHAT is Expedia doing to confirm our story? What is Expedia doing to get rid of unacceptable vendors? What is Expedia doing to become more of a “customer” service oriented company…In my mind, NOT much! This was a LOUSY excursion and you should not be so bull headed and give me my money back!!!!!!!!!!!!!Just because you deal will a vendor that gives LOUSY service…you should not bend over and say give it to me and my customers………This $27 puts me on a mission, a mission to reveal how lousy you are delivering a product to your customer……..You should be ashamed of yourself as a company! I want my $27 dollars BACK and I deserve to get it back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Dear Leesa,

Thank you for contacting Expedia about your travel experience. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience that may have occurred, we would like to assure you that every reservation is important to us.

We appreciate you take the time to let us know your comments, your feedback is very valuable for us to prevent similar situations in the future. We verified that your request has been denied. You may contact us at 1-800-EXPEDIA(397-3342) or 1-404-7288787, callers outside US and Canada, for assistance about your complaint and request.

We value your business with Expedia.

Dyn
Expedia Customer Service Team

20

Your company double booked flights on my bank card and then when I was told that the issue was resolved. Someone from your company rebooked the flights again causing my account to overdraw. I called back again and I was treated horribly. I was told I was being transferred to corporate only to be transferred from corporate back down to customer service. I was then cussed out by your employee. This has been the worst experience I have ever had with customer service and not only am I not going to stop until I am reimbursed but I will never use nor will I recommend anyone to use your services. I have been ripped off by this company. Your rating should be 0.

20

My return flight was changed with out my knowledge. When I went to print tickets 24 hours before scheduled flight I received notification that I had missed my flight. As I was in an remote area with no cell coverage I had no notification my flight had been changed requiring me to cut my vacation short by 2 days. After purchasing my original tickets back from the airline and receiving confirmation that expedia had been the ones to change my flight I returned home and contacted expledia. They now claim my original reservation was only for a one way flight. when I attempt to contact them I am transferred, put on hold, and have not yet reached a worker that I am able to understand without repeated requests for clarification due to language barriers.

20

I booked a flight to go from Logan International Boston, MA to Phoenix, AZ for July 2, 2019, return July 15, 2019..I purchased Cancellation Flight Insurance for my protection, Itin# 7433942320251 Policy # 936202369. On May 17, 2019 I received a phone call from my sister in AZ..she told me that my nephew/Godson was being deployed sooner than originally told and his date to leave was July 2, 2019..I immediately called Expedia requesting a cancellation and rebooking a new flight.. "John" indicated he would have to put me on hold to check my info, we were cut off. I thought he would call me back as he had all my information..I proceeded to book my new flight with American Airlines through Expedia, thinking a credit would be given to my Discover card..WRONG!!! On June 3rd I again called Expedia to inquire about the credit or voucher for a future flight. After 3 calls I finally got a HUMAN and spoke with "Bianca" who informed me she would have to place me on hold to check out my information..after 45 minutes I hung up, she immediately called back and said I needed to remain on hold in order for her to check my information..I said yes, but requested she not leave me on hold with NO communication..she put me on hold..after 52 more minutes on hold I again hung up..she called me back..same statement "I needed to remain on hold in order for her to complete her checking" I said to Bianca I had a doctors appointment at 3:00 and I had to leave shortly..on hold I went, after another 25 minutes I hung up, she called back and she needed me on hold to complete the investigation..I said I could not wait any longer, that over 2 hours on hold was a little too much..I requested she have a supervisor call me after 5PM..Bianca said she was unable to do that so I asked her what good does insurance do in case a person has an emergency like mine...I hung up and left to go to my doctor.. Since then I have not heard anything...I called JetBlue and they cannot help me due to the seat assigned me, 12F, is NOT IN MY LEGAL NAME..my license is made to ROSE M. WING....That is what Expedia should have used..now I am in the middle as NO ONE WILL HELP!!!!

20

Spoke with rep, followed step by step of instruction to schedule flight, was promised we could pick seats without charge, received email following day, we could pick seats for $150 per person, so this now had my 11 year old son, who has never flown, sitting ALONE. I called in the same day, advised to purchase additional one way flight and use returning flight on previous booking, this flight has us sitting together. Well now we cant use returning flight. After 10 phone calls and numerous complaints, they have 1 recorded conversation, benefit to them and their horrible customer service, I'm sure! The recorded call they have explains all flight restrictions (which was my noted 3rd out of 10 phone calls). United will not correct error, blamed Expedia and agreed horrible customer care but they are a partner and that's what I get for booking through Expedia, exact words from United employee.

20

Hi,
I am property owner, currently registered on the Expedia Partner Central site. I am currently experiencing the same problem as many other colleagues who owe properties in Manila. When a reservation is passed to us by Expedia or their subsidies, no cell number or email is provided so we can contact the guest and ask them to provides with check in details and copies of ID's. Expedia always pass us non existent cell numbers. We are not open 24 hours for check in(only till 5pm). Last week we had one of your guests waiting outside the security gate for hours, because he was refused access and turn up at 10pm. We could not contact him, because Expedia never provides contact details of the guests, not like Booking.com.
I hope that you will resolve this matter, so such incidents do not happen again.
E. Yankov
Property ID 21898111

20

been on hold for38min/115min/30min/so far 3.05hrs and nothing hung up each time I have a pay per min phone and used up my min you ow me 15.00 plus 30.00 for my time feel as if I was messed with and still nothing will not go here to book anything again period!ltinerary#7424625306520

20

itinerary no. 7423902435928 booked Holiday inn express in downtown Indi. Greeted at desk and told $20.00 per night for parking? Looked back to see if I missed notice of this. It says "self parking (subject to charge) is available on site". Never paid for parking at a hotel before. This is not evident on their homepage. Can't click on it to see amount.Subject to charge means??$2.00, $10.00, $100.00, who knows? Can't change at check in, don't know if other place has vacancy. I see this as deceiving and almost hidden as an additional charge. Not right to inform me at check in. I expect to be credited $80.00, the amount of parking fees. Thank you for reviewing, Mike

20

I booked two hotel rooms several months in advance of my brother's wedding. I actually went to the hotel two weeks before our stay and verified our hotel rooms since we were in town figuring out logistics of the wedding. I had booked two rooms, each with 2 queen beds in the room as there would be 2 adults and 4 children staying in the rooms. They were verified as two rooms with 2 queen beds in each room reserved for the night of said event. I have paper work and emails verifying this.
We get to the hotel to check in and the rooms they gave us were automatically defaulted to "current available room" which ended up being two rooms with King beds... NOT enough for 2 adults and 4 children and NOT what we had reserved MONTHS prior to this... Not to mention I had also stated that we would like adjoining rooms or as close as possible... the put us on 2 different floors. This is unacceptable.

The hotel was very nice and the staff apologized, but it was not their fault... I will NEVER use or recommend Expedia again.

20

This complaint is a out Expedia India. When I requested a date change on an existing flight reservation, Expedia India not only charged me the $ 300/- extra for change of flight date, but they added another $ 300/- approx. Over and above the airline charges, which is very unfair.

20

My return flight was cancelled. SInce it was a different airline going and returning they stated they couldn't refund the entire amount. I could rebook with the same airline going and coming with a shorter trip if I was refunded my purchase. I'm very unhappy with this. My original trip was going with Delta 4 hr trip and returning on American with a 4 hr trip. Now the only option offered was a return 11 hr trip with 3 stops. I feel I should be given a full refund and allow me to rebook my trip as I want to.

20

I will not do business with Expedia again! They have been awful to deal with. While traveling, I learned of a family emergency and needed to make travel arrangements to get home. As usual, I was flying Southwest Air and they were helping me locate a good option to travel home. Southwest could not offer a flight until the next day so they researched online and suggested an Expedia fare (via Alaska Air). I called Expedia to sort things out, and kept getting put on long holds, ultimately ending up speaking to someone in another country who could not understand me well. Customer service was extremely poor, and had no understanding of my situation. It was a waste of time, when time was scarce and I was desperate to get home. The Southwest agent witnessing this poor excerise in customer service, felt sorry for me and worked to find another option through Southwest. Thank goodness for Southwest, Expedia did nothing, it only worsened/further complicated my situation, during my time of need.

20

My trip from Las Vegas to Portland caused damage to my wheelchair. I sent complaint to spirit but the form go through without confirmation number to follow up. I did it twice with the same issue. I booked my flight through expedia.
confirmation A7ZWGY - FLIGHT 546 @ 8:45PM.

How can I get my wheelchair fixed?
Thanks
Hala Awad

20

I booked a Icelandair flight September last year and cancelled it before the flight. I received the email confirmation from Expedia about the credit of $3717.21. I am going to use the credit recently but called Expedia 4 times and spent more than 5 hours with Expedia. It is not solved on phone and I was promised to be reached later but never received a phone call back!!!! Today’s phone call took another 2.5 hours but no result again!!! I am Expedia customer. If there is any issue between Expedia and airline company, Expedia should deal with later. It is 10 days since my first call to Expedia. Very disappointed!!!! My case number is E-23479883.

20

Expedia has billed me twice for one flight. The initial response to my complaint asked me to provide photo evidence. After emailing the photo of transaction authorization codes evidence from my bank, no further response from Expedia is forthcoming. I would like a refund of my monies.

20

Dear Sir/Madam -2035084

RE: #2035084 - Reservation #

I have been a frequent user of Expedia in the past but my last experience has left my wife and I are very apprehensive to using your services
in the future.
We are going to Egypt in May and travelling via Germany. We booked a B&B (Vrbo) in Mainz. I did not get a confirmation for this reservation
and proceeded to register at another location. A few days later, I received notice that my reservation had been cancelled. I will receive 50%
of 415 euros.
Also on the reservation page, Canadian dollars were indicated but the owner claims that she charges euros.
I was hoping that you can shed some light on this situation and possibly intercede on our behalf.

G. Pelletier

20

I had booked 2 seats from LAGUADiIA NYC to Dallas for July 6th 9:38 HTWNRV. ONE SEAT FOR MYSELF THE OTHER FOR MY CAT. DELTA SAYS I CAN'T BUY A SEAT FOR THE CAT THAT EXPEDIA HAS TO CHANGE IT. THE CAT GOES UNDER MY SEAT. A REFUND FOR THE 2ND SEAT, BY EXPEDIA HAS TO GIVEN. I WOULD HAVE TO PAY $125.00 @ THE AIR PORT. A NEW CONTRACT PHONE IS 917-565-7874, OLD # was 347-220-2589 this all was explained to your customer rep but she ignored me

20

I had booked a wonderfully exciting birthday excursion for myself on Expedia , to travel to Dubrovnik, Croatia. The booking went smooth, and in no time I was confirmed on a combination of United & Lufthansa for my to of Salt Lake City to Croatia, via a connection in ORD. As I was planning to celebrate my birthday, I had booked in Premier Economy. I then decided to really treat myself, and upgrade the Lufthansa's ORD-MUN portion of my journey to their "business" class. I was able to do so, by contacting Lufthansa directly, and paid the additional $630 required to make the upgrade from the Premier Economy to Business class. I received an E-mail from Lufthansa confirming the upgraded booking in business class. I was super excited to try this luxury service. Everything took a sudden turn for the worse, when a schedule change by United, ( for my return last leg of ORD-SLC) caused a "reissuing" of my ticket by Expedia. In which mysteriously my already paid for and confirmed upgrade booking in business class disappeared. Now NO one is claiming responsibility for this mishap, and all they can say to me, is how "sorry " they are .

20

Hi, I am very disappointed in my recent booking with Expedia. #7400841358017. I paid for my flights and hotel for my wife and I to Belfast on 28/12/2018 only for Jury's inn Belfast to charge me again on 15/04/2019. This caused myself much distress during our stay as this deduction left me with no money in my account and I had to negotiate borrowing money from back home to supplement the rest of our stay. This was a gift for my wife so you can imagine how annoyed I was, and still am at this error. This was supposed to be a relaxing break which just ended up as a stressful break. Although this error was resolved by a very helpful Expedia agent called Thomas, this trip will forever be etched by this horrible experience! I only noticed this by chance upon checking my bank statement and it was a good job I did. This came as a massive shock and I wish this experience on nobody else. Thomas was very apologetic on behalf of your company but no further offer of compensation has been forthcoming from your organisation (who very nearly left me with a serious overdraft issue) I would like to think that you value your customers and will be taking this complaint seriously as I am quite tempted to not use Expedia again.

Regards

Stuart Rose

20

We booked a car rental for U.K. and were quoted under $400 dollars. We get to the car rental place and they charge us almost £1000!!! Also saying the don’t take the insurance we paid for on Expedia site. Expedia doesn’t answer corporate phone and the poorly trained phone reps don’t care about customers at all. Won’t be using Expedia again in the future. What a joke. Travellers beware.

20

booked a wekkend trip to Las Vegas with Alaska Air Vacation Packages (they use Expedia). Called day before flight to cancel the trip as my husband got sick, called once and waited 15 minutes, transferred 3 times, and the 3rd transfer the phone wasn't working). Called 2nd time, line was dropped, Third time, and I am still talking and holding for 33.15 minutes....lots of nothing, person comes back on, "have patience" he tells me and goes away.....I will never book thru Expedia again!!

20

Name incorrect on reservation causing endless problems with AA and no chance to get an online boarding pass. Expedia rep did not understand English. I have used you for 20 years and am fed up completely. Also, flight time changed and Expedia never changed my reservation on line. No alert was sent to me after 11/11/18. AA does not like dealing with you due to mistakes. Now I am stuck going early to airport to sort out your errors. Hope this is the only issue - and I have not even left! Gail Dawson-White

20

I booked a cruise, transportation, a tour and two hotels. apparently expedia doesn't connect their cruises with the normal expedia account. as a result I could not see all of my bookings in one spot. I had to make a specific call to the expedia cruise department using the nowegian customer service number and then press the right button to connect to an expedia person. made arranging my trip confusing with extra work adde3d.

20

They sold me a package with shuttle to hotel. I paid in full over a month before trip. 3 days before departing the shuttle company told me its too far to take me hotel, Expedia basically ripped me off . Issue not resolved

20

I was somehow double-booked in Expedia (thru Delta App) for a business trip to San Jose in Dec 11-14, 2018 and got stuck paying ($1078.45) for a Hotel (Global Luxury Suites Agnew) I didn't occupy. Due to an email address error, I had no awareness of the original transaction actually going through (no confirmation) so I booked another hotel through Expedia in the San Jose, CA. A few weeks later I initiated an Amex dispute as I didn't recognize the charge from Global Suites but was rejected due to them having proper billing info (except for my correct email).

After spending many hours on support lines (Expedia, Hotel, Delta) no agents could provide acceptable resolution. I find it alarming that your reservation system cannot identify double bookings which could result in Expedia customers getting stuck with very expensive non-refundable hotel charges. I travel for business (road warrior) and the likelihood of this happening is exponentially greater than the average customer. The two booking ID's given to me by support were 1160224345 and 1160668166. I also attached the Amex dispute for context.

regards,
Allen Mahaffy

20

I booked a Fox Car rental through Expedia. My confirmation number was NEXP473774, My itinerary number was 7411063442201.
My quote for the rental was $504.92. My charges at end of contract came to $1,248.57...about 2 1/2 times the original quote! Now I do not call that a good price! I must suggest that your office follow up with the FOX car rental company in regards to their agents training, practices, rules, etc. After waiting 1 1/2-2 hours in line for a car....with only 3 agents working and customers being very upset with the wait, I was finally given access to a black male agent. Oh, he was as schiester! I am guessing agents get paid on commissions? Maybe he thought that 2 senior white women would not follow up on what he did at the counter! Anyway, both my friend and I made it clear that we did not want extra insurance, as our own insurance companies would take care of any damage, etc. if needed. We also were not told there would be an extra charge for additional driver! He told me that I MUST put my initials at certain places in order to get the car. He stated that my initials would confirm MY wishes for no extra insurance etc. He grabbed the contract back as quickly as possible without giving us time to read more clearly! There were all sorts of additional charges listed by Caps or acronyms....none of which he explained. He then wrote and highlighted on the top that we MUST bring the car back empty, saying that the airport gas was $2.39 and it was $2.90 in town. However, in reading the contract later, I noted that cost for gas was $7.99/gallon! At least I knew to have a full tank upon return. This company allowed an agent to purposely mislead and scam customers! Something I do not believe your corporate office would support! I do not intend to pay the additional fees that were not appropriately billed to me. I have a witness, and will continue to pursue this complaint unless I hear that your company will make amends and adjustments!
Please reply to this asap! I do appreciate your looking into this and resolving this overcharge, etc.
Sincerely,
CoraMae Pipkin

20

I was charged by The Hyatt House Resort of Anaheim at 1800 S. Harbor Blvd. Anaheim, Ca, 92802, for a reservation that I never made for the date of September 21, 2018. I have tried to get it cleared with the Hotel since November 18,
2018 when I noticed they had charged my Debit card for the amount of $212.65. At that time I was told by Tristen representative that I would get refunded. However, after 6 calls they told me I would not get refunded because you had told them that you had made the reservation for me and they would not return the No show charge. I call to your attention and clear this matter with the Hyatt House. I have never made any reservations with EXPEDIA. Your prompt attention will be very much appreciate,. or I will have to fill with the BBB.

Respectfully,
Raquel Hernandez
(619)279-6235

20

Incident Date: On or about January 24, 2019
Itinerary # 7407261169616
I was booking my boss a trip travelling from Vancouver to Trinidad to Barbados then return to Vancouver. I filled out all the passenger information on Expedia. As soon as the confirmation printed we realized that somehow the middle name was listed as Allen instead of Arthur. We called right away and were told by the first person we spoke to that we were the fourth call she had that morning about the same thing happening. She transferred me to another agent and we were told that we could do nothing about it and we could not change anything. We do no know how the error occurred. I spent hours of my work time on this. She said the only thing we could do is have my boss show up at the airport and take a chance if the customs officer would accept him through the gate. Well, he did not. We had to cancel the whole flight and he had to rebook right then. Due to the shortness of time, he just booked the one leg of the trip...from Vancouver to Trinidad. I then worked hours on the next booking to try and get it all sorted.

My boss is very upset with Expedia and we have used them for all our bookings. We will not be in the future. My boss is requesting some reimbursement for all the time spent on this issue. If you look at the file, you will see what a mess it was and the time that we spent on it. We caught the mistake (whosoever it was) right away, and it is hard to believe that Expedia couldn't do something to help us sort the problem.

We would appreciate Expedia somehow making this right so that we can continue to use your service.

Thank you

20

I had booked a flight dated February 24th, 2019 (Delta Air Flight No: 5269) as well as a Hotel reservation in Buffalo Holiday Inn through Expedia website. The payments for these transactions were made through my credit card ($183.30 under Delta Air and $68.10 under Expedia).
When I tried checking in at the JFK Airport on the aforementioned date I was denied as there appeared to be no payment made by me. The flight was cancelled due to bad weather conditions anyway, but I would not be able to board if it wasn’t cancelled.
Following this setback, I moved to Buffalo with a bus as I had an important rendezvous there, I also cancelled my hotel reservation in the meanwhile.
In conclusion, I was not reimbursed for the fees charged ($183.30 under Delta Air, and $68.10 under Expedia), which is a significantly unjust issue.

20

1. Was not made aware of additional baggage fees departing and Arriving.
2. Booked hotels through Expedia which were given at a higher rate than what the hotels regular rate.
3. Clicked smoking rooms when booking, after money was taken and arrival at hotel, was made aware they do not have smoking rooms. At no point during transactions was I made aware of this.

I expected to get better deals with Expedia, after research through my vacation, I arrived at the conclusion I paid more using Expedia. Information and hidden fees I am also not impressed with.

I expect an explanation via email or direct contact.

jp.inc@hotmail.com
1-604-727-0635

20

I tried to cancel a hotel reservation within the cancellation period and it became a major fiasco that took several phone calls over 2 days. After a very long conversation the "representative" was not able to confirm my cancellation due to an error (never told me what the error was) , then put me on with a supervisor after I had been put on hold numerous times. The supervisor assured me my credit card would be refunded. The next day I received phone calls from unknown sources claiming to be Expedia customer service. They said there was an error and NOW needed my credit card number and email.....I refused and hung up not fully trusting the authenticity of the call. I called Expedia and they AGAIN said there is an error and after being on hold several times I was put on with a supervisor who said they would need my credit card number to complete the credit. I told them I have never had to do that, the cc information is encrypted and attached to my itinerary therefore there is no need to provide it verbally. I said , mail me a check, no they don't do that. I said then I will have my credit card company dispute it with you...boom!

This is all after cancelling a flight that I had purchased insurance for and won't get a dime returned to me because my reasons don't apply. I am done with Expedia, so disappointed!

20

Hello, I booked a flight with car rental on 1/9/19, however I cancelled the car reservation on 1/9/19 but never received the cancellation email confirmation. So I called customer services on 1/10/19 to confirm that the car rental was cancelled and to send me the confirmation email but the agent that serviced my call made the error of cancelling my flight Itinerary #7403946068670
Travel dates
Feb 9, 2019 - Feb 20, 2019
Itinerary #
7403946068670
You will receive a refund of:
$443.18
Since I never requested this flight to be cancelled I called Expedia and spoke to a supervisor to resolve the issue, however, he advised me that I would need to rebook the flight because he was not able to reverse the cancellation. He also informed me that if the error was made by the agent that serviced my call that I would get a credit of $50.00 ($25.00 per passenger) for the inconvenience to be used for any hotel stay booked the Expedia, but he said he would need to listen to the recorded message to ensure it was the agent's fault. On 1/12/19 I received a call from the investigations dept and they informed me that I would not received a credit of $50.00 because they said I confirmed to the agent that I wanted my flight cancelled, which was a lie because I never instructed him to cancel my flight. I asked to be able to listen to the recording but the agent from the investigations dept was very rude and said that I cannot listen to the recording. This is a travesty and I am shocked that Expedia allows it's employees to scam customers like this and not accept Onus for their errors. Customers should be allowed to listen their recorded messages because this is the only was that both parties can confirm who was at fault,

Please escalate this complaint to upper management and credit my account for the $50.00 that should be entitled to me for the agent's error.

Kind regards,
Anthony Garcia
917-239-0498
Email: agarcia@nabny.com

20

BEYOND PISSED with the Sunscape Bavarro Punta Cana All Inclusive resort that I booked thru your website Expedia. I booked vacation for 4 in August TO Dominican Republic. Reservation was for 2 Deluxe Tropical View rooms. Double Beds in each. We Paid all 4 in full and was sworn that our 2 rooms would be adjoining with 2 double Beds EACH. I had been trying for over a week to contact the resort and pay the advised fee for the convenience of having the door in the middle.. They advised me multiple times that I would have to pay if directly to the resort upon arrival. I did not want to pay once to resort because I KNEW this would be an issue.. We Arrived to resort around 1130PM on January 1st 2019 tired hungry and exhausted. Upon check in he stated “they will have to see if they have 2 rooms with double bed and door in middle”. I demanded the rooms be adjoining with 2 double beds in each room because that’s what we reserved. He came back and said it was available. I accepted and upon reaching the room we open the door to 1 room Double bed room and other with 1 KING BED. Then hey wheeled in a Disgusting looking rolling mattress bed. We refused to sleep on it. It was gross. I immediately contacted Expedia at MIDNIGHT EST and was told I'd get a call back in 30 minutes. STILL no CALLBACK after waiting 8 HOURS LATER.. After contacting EXPEDIA customer support seems to not be able to get a English speaker on the phone when they all spoke very good English when we checked in. The resort also proclaimed their there resort DOES NOT HAVE 2 DOUBLE BED ROOMS WITH A DOOR IN THE MIDDLE AS A PART OF THEIR ACCOMADATIONS... AT ALL... So I advised that I paid for 2 adjoining rooms with 2 double bed rooms and THATS WHAT I EXPECTED to have the next 6 days.. Otherwise we need to be refunded some of these costs because we aren’t getting what we paid for. They refused to refund the fee for adjoining rooms.

Furthermore the rooms smelled horribly of MOLD and sewer like scent... 2 of my party of 4 has Asthma and cannot be around this smell or whatever it is. I and my family picked this location because we wanted to spend our BIRTHDAY'S here and at this point I it seems like the BIGGEST MISTAKE year to date.... From January 1-the 4th we tried to cooperate with Expedia and the resort to put us in the rooms that we PAID FOR and was unsuccessful until 9pm on January 4th. So we basically spent our entire trip not getting the accommodations that we paid in full for... This is unacceptable to us and we are not going to fully pay for this... January 4th Marlana at the resort contacted me and stated that they have a better room for us… We pack all of our belongings and go to another room on the other side of the resort... We open the door and guess what it is... 2 SIDE BY SIDE ROOMS WITH 2 BEDS IN EACH ROOM AND A DOOR IN THE MIDDLE… Remember they claimed they did not have this type of accommodation at their resort... It wasn’t an open yet when I begged and wasted 3 days of my paid vacation demanding it they produced it… I don’t appreciate being LIED to be this resort for a trip that was planned MONTHS in advance... This ended up being more stressful than a vacation. Worse mistake we could have ever made.

Expedia Itinerary #'s are 7376445957953 AND 7376446076175. Email address associated is Scubbaj03@gmail.com.
I did NOT want to START my mornings of a supposed to be "VACATION" arguing and pleading for what we paid for..... I incurred charges thru my cell phone carrier from calling the SUNSCAPE BAVARRO MULTIPLE TIMES to ensure that they had my 2 double bed rooms AHEAD of time and we stood there for over an HOUR waiting for them to check us into the WRONG ROOM... this is absolutely unacceptable. WHAT ARE YOU "EXPEDIA" going to do to correct this issue because at this point the aggravation, waiting and experience was not worth it. We are Pissed and beyond disappointed.

I need to be compensated for the type of accommodations we received and the beyond below average level of service that was provided by the resort on your website... This was a waste of our money and the vacation was not worth it. UNACCEPTABLE.

I NEED THIS RESOLVED. NOW!!!!

Please contact me direct at Milton James @ 727 768 5693. Email: scubbaj03@gmail.com

20

I've been a long time customer of Expedia and Hotwire and use the latter quite often for my extensive travels. I typically don't use the 'mystery deal' type of bargain fare hunting for flights however I was doing a search on Expedia and an option came up for it. I decided to go for it because it looked like the right itinerary it listed a departure and return flight time of 6am on both but I didn't realize it meant there was a time *window* starting between 6am - 10pm any time in between. It's misleading because the way I typically look at itinerary in Expedia (or any other travel site for that matter) the time doesn't show a range so you zone in on just the 6am time. And I admit that if I look back at it and made aware it does make more sense but unless you're prepared for it, you're most likely going to overlook this strange time range. Anyhow, I figure Expedia has been good to me I've used them so often but after hours of sitting on hold and escalating they simply will not budge on adjusting the departure flight even though I booked it only hours ago. It's a shame that they can't make a one time exception to fix an issue for a faithful long time customer that had an honest oversight.

20

On 29th November 2018, I purchased an online booking for a hotel in Muscat - Oman. Expedia Itinerary #
7394760503131 Booking to cover 29th November to 3rd Dec 2018.
On 31st December 2018 (28 days after the stay) I received my credit card bill.
After checking the bill I noted that Expedia had charged me twice for the hotel.
I contacted Expedia via telephone to seek help on 2nd January 2019. I was passed to 4 different divisions, all of whom did not know which division had made the online booking,
Finally I was put through to one division that agreed that there was a booking.
But stated that I had made two bookings.
I explained that the first booking had not completed, I had not given the bank approval codes, however the lady answering the call continued to ignore this legal fact.
She said she would call the hotel and see if they would agree a refund (as they would know that I only booked one room & used one room) obviously, she then returned to me (after 3 minutes of waiting on hold) stating that the hotel refused as the date was 3rd Dec 2018 & it was now 2nd Jan 2019..
I asked her how I was supposed to know there was a mistake prior to today, as my credit card bill had only just arrived (e.g. one month after the booking was made and used) she said that she could not help & the hotel were not interested........
This obviously leads to two points.
1) Expedia, booked the first transaction without the finalisation of a bank code, which in my country is illegal. If Expedia were to check their 'state of the art' computer booking system, they would clearly see that they completed the first booking without a bank code.
2) Expedia's customer service division is hiding behind the hotel & the complete rubbish of being too late after the date to agree a refund (allowing for credit card bills being one month behind the time of use) Any check by either Expedia or the hotel will clarify that I only used / confirmed one room. paid bills for one room etc. etc.
If Expedia do not own up to this mistake and fraudulent behaviour, I will be left with no option than to;
a) take legal action against this giant of a company
b) take to social media, local TV and radio. in order that my voice can be heard.
We are talking about a sum of USD$586.23, no small amount in todays world.
my email is colinperkins@hotmail.com - telephone +966 562 526 749 (work in Saudi)

20

I booked a room in Canton, Michigan in August 2018. When I went to check in with my confirmation number the hotel told me Expedia did not notify them of the reservation and that they were booked. I spent 3 hours on the phone with Expedia while waiting in a cold car with four small children and was finally connected to someone who tried to help me. No discount on my room and I never saw the coupon they promised .

20

Working with Expedia cruise ships in kelowna have for many years crusiing. This year we booked again for december 2018 paid off right away saw it was cheaper within less than 30 days called them on it and they won't honor the amount back they threw a very small bone to us, insulting. So very disappointed. 46000 on cruises and they can't price match and give us the equivalent of 800 CAD back, Bad business, I want corporate involved. I will review bad things for a long time if this is how they work. very sad. Dont use them if they can't honor their customers...BAD BAD BUSINESS EXPEDIA CRUISE LINES IN KELOWNA

Business franchise owner odvisiously a crook.

Krista Berrigan and James Parker
2507656543

20

I have talked to 6 different people wiith Expedia and gotten 6 different answers. I have been on hold with each person more than 30 minutes each time. I have a credit with itinerary # 7374032442217. The reservation was booked to SDY Sydney, Montana instead of SYD Sydney Australia. I have two family members that were able to book their Sydney, Australia reservations with no problem. I can even look on the website and see the flights that I want, it is ridiculous that your empoyees can not make a simple reservation. I have spoken to two Supervisors, and gotten different responses. If I ever get this reservation booked, I will be spreading the word not to EVER book with Expedia, because first of all your Agents don't listen, you have to repeat several times, then they put you on eternal hold.

Disugsted by your Service
Sylvia Shiflet

20

Reserved a room at the Quality in in Fayetteville NC. Looked like a murder scene. Cigar burns on the linens and blood on the mattes, and holes in the the wall. This Was SUPPOSED To Be A 3.6 rating. We had to get our money reimbursed as a renewal other rooms available I was told it would take up to a week to receive her money call Expedia reserved another room across the street at Doubletree in Fayetteville North Carolina two queen beds we arrived there are no rooms available we called Expedia again to get her money reimbursed and told us that this money would take 7 to 10 business days you sold us a room that you didn't even haveand your telling me that I have to wait for my money. Now you have my money for two hotels and I still don't have a room. Its 11:30 at night and I am standing in a parking lot with my 3 children look for a room. What the hell. The worst experience you could imagine. I will use Expedia and I will be sure to tell anyone that I mean to never use Expedia

20

Expedia owes me $84.67.promised me my refund would be processed on june1 2018..now its aug..still no refund...i have called a dozev times..
And know seeems to know what to do...

20

My wife and I paid Expedia the posted "double occupancy" rate for an all-inclusive trip to Mexico. When we arrived, we were expected to share a room with another couple. I paid the hotel an extra $1000 for our own room (even though I already paid for a room), and assumed that I could easily resolve the issue when we got home. NOPE! Expedia says they made no mistake and simply ignores my argument that "double-occupancy" means two people. On researching the many complaints against Expedia, it seems that their MO is to refuse any responsibility then ignore the customer until they give up. I can't understand how they stay in business being so unethical??? I will never use Expedia every again. I can't believe how dishonest and unethical this company is.

20

I booked round trip tickets for myself and my two children. I then canceled the first set of tickets to verify all the important information for the trip. Prior to booking the second set of tickets, I called Expedia and spoke to an agent about my trip. The following information was provided to the agent: My husband has to go to Quantico, VA for 3 months for work. I will be driving from Colorado to Washington DC with him, flying back to Colorado. I will then fly back to DC when he graduates from the FBI Academy, driving home. My children will be for sure flying to DC when he graduates, however we are not sure if they will be going to DC to drop him off and fly home. We won't know this until the last minute. I asked the agent if I could book round trip tickets and if the children didn't use the first set of tickets if that would be okay. The agent replied that I could book round trip tickets and if the children did use the first set, that I was to let the agent at the gate know. The children would then be able to return with me in September. I booked the round trip tickets through Expedia using United Airlines. I did exactly what the Expedia agent told me to do. To my surprise, the United agent, was very professional but advised that is not how it is done and if the children where not on the flight, it would cancel the return flight. I had just left my husband for three months and emotional. The United agent, again very professional encouraged me to call United direct. I did this. Again this agent was very polite and professional but said the only thing I could do was to pay $200 a ticket and rebook their flights. Having no other option, I paid the $200 per ticket and re-booked. I am very disappointed in Expedia and hope that this can be rectified.

20

I've booked at Phoenix Copenhagen, Denmark on June 7, 2018. The A/C wasn't working properly that caused my daughter and I sweating all night, therefore, had sleepless night. We were hoping to get a good night sleep, but was miserable.

20

I will NEVER use Expedia for anything in the future or at least until you stop boycotting the Ingraham Angle program on Fox News Channel ... There is freedom of speech and to boycott something just because you don't agree with them is not right ... I hope other will boycott you as well ... Maybe if enough people boycott you as you are boycotting Fox News Channel Ingraham Angle program .... You will stop this nonsense .... Are you going to stay boycotting everything you disagree with ... If so that's sad and I feel sorry for you and your company .... Thanks for hearing me out.

20

I have used your company for over three years on a weekly basis. Now that this company has become political and respond negatively to the freedoms of this country I will not use this service any longer. When businesses become political I refuse to deal with them any longer. I refuse to rent cars any longer and use your service. I am contacting my employees indicating that we will not use Expedia for travel arrangements any longer.

20

I was granted a $50.00 coupon for poor service in April of 2017. I was told I could use this coupon for future reservations through Expedia and it expired in 1 year. I have tried on numerous occasions to apply this coupon to a reservation without success, The customer service rep ha a different reason EVERYTIME why they cant apply it to my reservation. AND its VERY disappointing. I held Expedia up to great standards and have recommended Expedia.com to many family members and friends. However at this time I am NOT a satisfied customer.

Thank you for your attention And I would LOVE some insight on what days are suitable to use my coupon that I was given since with every conversation the criteria changes.
Trimika Uzzle
804-943-7450

20

I booked a rental car (Dollar) through expedia. The price was reasonable however, the pick-up location was off-site from the Charleston international Airport and the shuttle was really overcrowded. That was my first issue.
Second issue - the rental car I received was heavy sprayed with air freshner and I found out why after driving for a while. The car smelled like a dog was in it. I had to use air freshner for the 3 days that I rented the car because the smell was unbearable to me
Third issue - Car seats were very dirty.
Fourth issue - The paper tags was not secure on the car and they flew away. I didn't realize this until I got to my destination which did not allow me to drive the car to the family planned activities. (going to Parris Island Base, meeting with family for dinner and just sightseeing).
I called Dollar and the person wanted me to drive to Hilton Head to pick of another tag but I refused because I am not driving a car without tags. I was lucky not to get stopped by the police. Dollar only offered me a $51.00 refund. I feel that there should be more of a monetary refund due to inconvenience of losing the use of the vehicle for several hours. I am requesting an additional refund of $100.00 for my inconvenience.

20

We have purchased several vacation packages with Expedia and today I am most unhappy with our experience with Expedia. We selected and paid for a package to Barcelona and very specifically selected non-stop flights with Air Canada. We paid additional for non-stop flights. We were notified today the flight was moved to a day earlier and was now with one stop. I spent over 2 hours on the phone today trying to come to a satisfactory solution. Did not happen. Expedia did try to work with the airline for compensation, unsuccessfully. We were willing to accept the date change and the change from non-stop but asked Expedia for assistance in covering the cost of the extra day of hotel. The supervisor “Mike” denied all compensation. His comment that we already got a great deal was unhelpful and infuriating. We were told several times that it is the airlines fault, but from my perspective we purchased a package from Expedia so Expedia holds responsibility in helping deliver what we paid for. It is my belief we paid for a specific package, elements have now been removed from our package, and Expedia is unwilling to recognize this. If we had initiated the changes we would be required to pay for the changes. Very disappointed. This will impact future decisions when selecting a company in purchasing travel and vacations.

20

I have a family death I tried calling customer service with expedia to let them know and I told them I need to speak to a manager they then put me on hold for long period of time and no one has come to the phone nor can't get a manager on my situation and then they'll hang up the phone on me and I tried calling back 4 times and same thing all over again. I need to cancel my trip to the hotel due to death in family I already contact the hotel and spoke to the manager there and he said he will waive and not charge for the trip but to contact expedia since I booked it with them and no one seems to want to help me with expedia I am a long time customer who travels with expedia all the times for many years. My itinerary number is 7287047392725. My phone number is 678-665-0879.Please help as a one time courtesy for us that me and my family is experiencing this difficult time of grieve.

20

A leg of my flight was cancelled to fly home today and I only found out about it at check in last night. There was no email or phone call about this and no plans to get me on a new flight until I called. I was on the phone with a horrible Customer service agent that could barely speak English and really didn't know what she was doing. I have to stay another night at a hotel on my dime because we didn't pay for the hotel on our Expedia account which is a load. I am staying another night because Expedia didn't contact me about my cancelled flight so why should I have to pay for my hotel. Plus United Airlines has done nothing either. I will never use Expedia again and I will advise everyone I know to not use Expedia either. Word of mouth is very powerful.

20

Worst company ever to deal with. Customer service is a waist of time they lie and are involved in fraud of not returning customers charges that they used on my debit card.
I hope your company goes out of business soon your a disgrace. Fuck off!

20

I booked an international air ticket through Expedia for my friend, paid with visa, got E ticket and confirmation.
Friend arrives to Airport and airline tells him that Expedia canceled his ticket and he will not be able to fly.
Friend with no money to purchase a new ticket is sleeping and living in airport.
I did not receive any notice from Expedia about this cancellation even though they had my email and phone #.
I call Expedia next day (learning from a friend about situation) and ask what happened, they keep me on line for 30 min looking for someone who can explain why ticket was cancelled, finally supervisor gets on line and tells me that he is very sorry but he is not sure why my ticket was canceled.
Expedia screw up cost me and my friend lots of money and stress.
This is the last time I use Expedia.

20

I canceled my daughters flight within 24 hours and had travel insurance. Expedia's system had an error and now they won't give me my money back but instead offers a coupon. I don't travel and don't need the coupon. I just want the money back that I paid for the flight. Calling the CS line is exhausting as they say your name 100times over and state they know it's their error, but can't refund me. Um, what?

20

In December 2015 I booked a cruise through Expedia.com for my daughter and myself. This cruise was booked as a 21st birthday present to my daughter. I booked the cruise to Bermuda in part due to the free alcohol package that Norwegian offered. Unfortunately when I called to make my final payment in July, I was told my entire cruise had been canceled. Expedia had canceled the entire cruise.

40

I contacted customer service to be assisted in contacting my hotel reservation that my arrival would be late a day. on my first call i was told they could not get a hold of hotel and they are passing my case to offline department and i would be contacted by them. After six hours with no call or email from offline care department i called expedia back and was basically one hour one hold between 5 seconds talk back and forward without no success.

I requested to talk to a supervisor and took 25 minutes to get a hold of him. at the end of conversation, i was told they could not get a hold of the hotel. I asked supervisor to give me phone number he was calling and thru another agency (not expedia) the call was completed. i had purchased several packages with expedia in the past, but i never needed assistance with my travel itinerary in the past. the first time i need assistance from expedia customer services it was a fiasco. lesson learned, first and last time. Then i asked myself, why is so hard for them to get a hold of the hotel if someone else was able to call right the way?

Most likely because expedia customer service it is located in the Philippines, and who knows if they are having any type of phone line problems, and cannot help the customer, stating they cannot get a hold of the hotel. i am just writing to express my frustration with expedia customer service and that i had to find out how poor its customer service is while when it is needed the most.

40

Dealing with Expedia is a risk. Hotel date change immediately after booking cost me $95 penalty. Three weeks before my stay, I booked the wrong hotel dates of 10-9-16 and 10-10 in Salt Lake City. What I wanted was 10-11 to 10-I4. The web site popped up the dates from my visit the previous day and I did not realize the dates were wrong. It was my error. I was planning a 23 day trip of hotels, rental cars and eight air flights and got confused. Immediately after the booking within 5 minutes, I tried to fix it and Expedia said I could only get a rate $20 higher per day than the original booking so over 3 days it is a penalty of $60.

I can see if I tied up the room for two weeks, then changed the dates shortly before arriving at the hotel. But I found the error immediately and it was almost a month before the hotel stay was planned. Expedia and the hotel did not lose a booking that cannot be replaced in the next three weeks. I cancelled the booking and lost $95 but learned a good lesson. I will avoid Expedia bookings in the future. I booked another hotel in Salt Lake outside of Expedia. I am asking that the $95 penalty be waived and that Expedia allow timely changes to fix booking errors.

One more point: Expedia says their contract with the hotel does not permit a refund in this case. I am the paying customer and when I need a date change that does not penalized Expedia or the hotel, Expedia should negotiate your contracts to have some flexibility. Expedia I assume wants customers and must negotiate contracts that protect the customers, the people paying the bill. So Expedia and the hotel lost the revenue of a three day stay in Salt Lake and I will stop using Expedia's services because they do not protect the customer.

20

Trying to cancel a hotel reservation or get a credit towards next visit. Have been on the after talking to a rep for 35 minutes. Said he would be back in about 5 minutes and then they disconnected line after all that time. Most unhappy. This is terrible customer service from Expedia and I will not sure them for travel reservations again.

40

i booked a package to LA for 8/16/16-8/21/16 air and car rental (thru dollar rental car) Itn #7193121181268 when i arrived at the counter at dollar rental cars inquired about an upgrade, and ask specifically 3 times that i would only be charged the diference in price from what i already paid expedia. I was reassured after the counter person asked his manager that i would only be charged the difference.

Well i was not, they charged me for a new booking rental at $392.40 (which i thought and was told that this was my new rate with the upgrade) only to learn when i checked my charges after i got home. So I was charged the $340.79 I initially paid Expedia. and charged again $392.40 for the upgrade. I called expedia customer service department and they were no help. I've booked many vacations with Your company because i thought i'd be safe from situations like this.

I work very hard to afford a vacation and always thought a company like Expedia would be there to help in situations like this. Please look into this matter and i would appreciate a response.

40

I have purchased four airline tickets by expedia.com for 2 passengers (roundtrip), itinerary number: 7203162704855. The tickets were summarily canceled by expedia and only the amount corresponding to three passage was refunded. I contacted the customer support by phone three times, they asked me to wait the time required for refunds, after this they asked me to call to my bank to confirm the refund of the remaining amount, I did, but the refund of the fourth ticket had not been done by expedia company. I am extremely disappointed, upset and frustrated.

This was the first time that I made any transaction with this company, and my experience has been terrible. I want the FULL value of the refund paid as soon as possible, since the product was not delivered (my tickets are cancelled).

60

I booked my trip through expedia to Cancun, Mexico for my 10 year wedding anniversary at the Grand Oasis Hotel. i can not express how upsetting my entire vacation was, both my husband and i have bed bug bites all over our body, the room had dried vomit on the walls of the room, I told the manager at the hotel nothing was done, so i took all necessary pictures. It was an all inclusive hotel with extreme limitations we were only given 2 waters a day, i had to walk all the way down to the main lobby to ask for water from the manager. they gave me 3 waters my husband and drank a bottle asked for couple of more to take it to our room they didn't give it to us , they said 2 bottles a day one per person.

After complaining to the manager he turned around and said, " this hotel is for spring breakers" basically you get nothing. i had to go out and eat food the worse part is i would bring my food to my room go down for a swim come up and my food would be gone, they wouldn't clean the room but they would take my food. first time it happened i said its ok its a mistake however the same thing occurred day 2 and day 3. This was my 4th time in Cancun I've always stayed at RIU, this time i said let me try something different.

My vacation was ruined terrible, I came back called expedia and complained they put me on hold for 2 hours and hung up at the end, i called again had to explain myself all over because no notes were put in the system. I called few more times finally got through they tried calling the hotel can't get a hold of anyone, there asking me if I have the contact information of the hotel, calling the headquarters of expedia can't get through. I can't believe they way they are treating there customers. If expedia doesn't refund my entire money, I will definitely I will take these actions; 1) go to all the social medias like twitter, yelp etc. , 2) will definitely contact newspapers and news stations and 3) I will open up a class action lawsuit and anyone can join.

40

I went online to purchase 2 tickets through Travelocity. For some reason it kept declining the card, so that prompt me to check my online account, then that's when I noticed several charges. I then reached out to Travelocity via phone in regard to no confirmation on my tickets! The rep stated that the charges would be removed within 3 business days. That is not appropriate you don't take money and not be able to produce the ticket that is stealing I said. I was promised by a "supervisor"that I would have my money today! So far nothing. They have kept me on hold...other reps said 5 to 10 business days. I would prefer the tickets but they couldn't even provide that!!! Just took my money and my time. The worst company.

20

Hi,my name is Latoya ribe I had made reservations at this hotel through Expedia and canceled with in the hour after speaking with hotel night audit Brian told me to cancel now so I would not be charge fee which I did. I then got a email for a 105.00 charge. I then called Expedia who advised me that the hotel charge fee and they called over and was told fee would not be charged.

I then called back at 3 am and spike to Karen because my card was charged and she said that she will call Expedia and have them remove charge and then she left me a voicemail a few hours later and stated it was just a hold and in a few days will release. Instead 2/29/16 the charge was posted called back spoke with another front desk clerk and she placed me on hold forever and said my money would be returned in 2days and said she couldn't give me a confirmation number.

Then I waited for a week and money still was not refunded now three weeks later since I was told I would not be charged I am now being told by Brian after having to now call my bank and the hotel on three way I am being told to wait another two days for my refund. This is absolutely unacceptable I do a lot of traveling and normally love booking with you all, but the blatant lies and lack of customer service is ridiculous. I thought you should be aware of issue being that the general manager kept me waiting for 45 minutes and never came to answer my call instead put the same night audit on the line to tell me refund will be issued and posted to my account in two days and I still have not received the refund.

40

I booked round trip tickets from phoenix to sacramento using the Expedia website. I picked the lowest price and specified my flight times with no stops. Unbeknownst to me, the fine print indicated that the actual times would be specified randomly by the airline. By the time I had discovered this (the time selected included a 3 hour layover and was in the evening rather than the morning as requested) I was told there would be a $200.00 change fee for each reservation that needed to be changed, plus the extra cost of the flight! This will cost me more than $700.00 more than the original cost of the flight. I have been told there is nothing I can do and I had to wait more than 2 hours on hold with Expedia customer service to get someone who said they can not help me! This is completely wrong and inappropriate, and I need to talk to someone who can help me with this situation

20

You have a telemarketer that has been told many times on voicemail as well as by my pressing 2 after they call me to put me on your DNC list and they continually call me. I have filed a complaint with the FCC. If I get one more call I will get an attorney and file a harassment charge against you. This has been on going for over a month every week from Expedia corporate offices.

40

I used Expedia to purchase a package for my honeymoon using my personal credit card. My ex-fiance cancelled the wedding and I was stuck with a credit for over $2400.00. I was informed today that she was able to spend $1200.00 on a ticket for herself. Given that her name was not on my credit card I feel that Expedia customer service dept. would have the obligation to at least notify me of this. She will never return the 1200 to me and I no longer even communicate with her.

Again this was my personal credit card not a joint account. I would like to see the policy that states that someone that was on a trip deserves to receive the credit for it. I am absolutely disappointed in how the situation was handled and if I did not have to use this last bit of credit would have chosen a different company. I believe that this will be the last time I book through your company given how this was handled.

60

I booked a flight and hotel for Jan. 27 trip to Miami. I did not realize that Leamington Hotel was horrible. The place looks sketchy, the door of the room seems easily broken into, the bathroom is claustrophobic, moldy and dreadful, the smell of the hotel is unfathomable. It looks completely unsafe. I could not stand even staying in the room.

I checked in but checked out after seeing the room. I called expedia to cancel and was told that I'm in luck, there is no cancellation fee. I was expecting a fee adjustment since I did not use the hotel but it has been 2 weeks and the call center has been putting me on hold from one call to the other. It is a simple refund from a valid concern. Acknowledge consumer rights if the hotel refuses to give a refund then Expedia should step up and take responsibility.

40

I spent US $9,700 on 3 business class tickets from DXB-ORD-YYZ-DXB. I wanted to change the date of my flight from YYZ-DXB which was originally for the 17/02/2016 to 10/02/2016. They told me the change fee of US$163 per passenger which was fine, but then they tell me it cannot be done because when issuing the ticket they put the entire value of the ticket on the first sector (DXB-ORD) so it was as if I was flying YYZ-DXB for free.

Because of this, Expedia is now saying it will cost more than purchasing a brand new one way ticket for YYZ-DXB to change the existing ticket that I already have. I also am unable to find a copy of the fare rules and conditions anywhere in my emails regarding this flight or the itinerary page for this. So far spent over 4 hours on the phone with them (mostly on hold) and I am on the verge of giving up, but will destroy their reputation on social media!

40

I am based in India. I had booked a Paris Pass itenary on the xpedia site for 17th Feb 2016 but I received the pass for the same day that is 19th January 2016. Immediately I rand up their number to clarify. The support team intimated me on my phone as well as by e-mail that they have taken authorisation from the vendor to cancel my booking without any penalty and the cost will be refunded to me within five working days.

Thereafter I have been trying to contact the support personnel on their phone but always getting a response that my waiting time is around 20 minutes to sometime 37 minutes and then nothing. Expedia support system is not even accepting my Indian phone number for call back facilities. Every time I write an email to them, they reply back saying that please contact the number of the support personnel. If you could please help in this matter then will be very grateful to you.

40

I am at a loss for words! I was actually a satisfied customer and would have used expedia, hotels.com orbitz and your other companies. I now have them all on a blacklist and have blogged my experience to hundreds of thousands. Quite simply you cannot opt out from the spamming emails that come regularly to my business email. When you do use the opt out, it says you have unsubscribed but keeps sending the spam. I have contacted customer service on two separate occasions- both times they apologized, said they had unsubscribed me, and the spamming continues today. Attached please find the latest correspondence.

I can't believe a multinational of the 21st century would stoop to 1990's harassing spam marketing techniques, proven not to work since the advent of social media blogging. After receiving the email below, 2 days later, the spam continued.

60

In November I bought 4 tickets to St. Croix as a Christmas gift for my daughter, son-in-law and 2 young grandchildren. I sent the itinerary to my daughter who indicated that the return trip wouldn't work because it included an 8+ hour layover in DC in the middle of the night. I went back on Expedia and purchased a different (and far more expensive) itinerary for the same dates with a different return flight. Then I called Expedia just to make sure everything was all set. I spoke with the agent for nearly an hour going over an over the itinerary number I wanted to cancel and the one I wanted to keep.

It took so long because she hardly spoke English and was very confused, although she tried very hard and was very pleasant. At the end, I thought I was all set. Then, my credit card bill arrived and there were 4 charges (nearly $1500.) for the original return trip. I called Expedia and explained the problem. They said I didn't cancel the original itinerary, although the outgoing leg had been cancelled. They put me on hold for 3 hours and 10 minutes while they "researched" it. In the end, the agent said they had to listen to the recording of the phone conversation and he would get back to me in a day or two (Craig was his name.) He never called back. Today (nearly a month later) I called to find out what happened. The agent said that the voice recording indicated that I was going to call back in a day or two.

That's a bold faced mis-representation about what happened. I had asked the agent if it would be less expensive for me to book 2 one-way tickets. She replied that I had to check on-line and get back to Expedia within 3 days (it was a weekend) if I wanted to change the new itinerary. I stayed with the one I had confirmed on the phone and didn't call back. Today, the Expedia customer service supervisor said that they are denying my refund because I didn't call back. I never thought there was an issue with the cancellation of the first itinerary, just whether or not I could find a less expensive new itinerary. I am so upset.

To make it worse, Expedia said the credit with American Airlines billing department would have to be in my daughter, son-in-law and grandchildren's names They don't travel because they can't afford to, that's why our Christmas gift was going to be so special. I've been on hold for a total of over 5 hours with Expedia (2 calls) and am convinced it's a Expedia Corporate strategy to try to get customers to give up. In the end, they just read the scripted responses and don't listen to the customer or address the problem logically. I ended paying for the original leg of the itinerary ($1500.) that I called to cancel. I was sure it was cancelled--I repeated the itinerary number many, many times.

I am so upset with Expedia's approach to business and customer relations. DO NOT use this service (or any of their acquired companies (Hotwire, etc)--it's a terrible, terrible company.

40

To the Expedia corporate office, here is my complaint. I just wanted to drop you a line to express my wife's and my disappointment with Expedia.com when speaking with Andrea G.( name she gave @ "reservation counter.com"). Although we are recently retired senior citizen "Baby Boomers," and fairly new customers to Expedia, we believe that Expedia took advantage of us using a "bait and switch" tactic. In our experience, Expedia did not even match the hotel's rates, let alone give us a better rate. Why would a customer want to use Expedia, when they could call that hotel, make the reservation themselves, and get a lower rate than what Expedia could give? We have made countless trip reservations over the years/decades. I will pass my experience along to my family, friends and/or social media in order to give them a "heads-up" before booking thru Expedia. By getting overcharged by approximately 25%, Expedia.com has really opened my wife's and my eyes.

Some additional information is:
(i) the Itinerary number of our hotel stay was: 193324740,
(ii) the confirmation number was: 121267236630,
(iii) last contact was on 12/01/2015 with the above Andrea G. in the customer service department

20

I had to cancel flights booked through Expedia, because of a situation which was out of my control. I made the first call to cancel the first leg of the flight, which went fine - the agent on the other end (from Expedia's Philippines call centre), told me that there won't be any issues with the cancellation, and since I had the travel insurance option, I'd get credited all the money. He also mentioned that there would be a $200 change fee, when I go to try to use the credit, for changing the flights; but that it would get waived, given that I have the travel insurance option.

The next day, I called to cancel the second leg of the flight (should of done it on the first call, but I didn't have the details readily available, since it was booked by the company). I got a woman on the phone, by the name of Gloria Cordon (also from the Philippines call centre). She informed me (in her very robotic voice), that I would be charged the $200 change fee, as soon as I tried to use the credit from the flights I cancelled, even though the agent from the previous day, said otherwise. So that would be a charge of $200 for the first leg, and another $200 for the second leg, totalling $400 in 'change fees'. I told her that was completely absurd, and that the other agent told me completely different. She disregarded my objections with complete silence - I finally said, "hello?", in which she replied, in her monotone voice, "yes sir?"; completely disregarding anything I said.

Furiously, I demanded to speak to her supervisor, and then asked her name; but instead of telling me her name, she just transfers me - thankfully I got it from her supervisor, who was also, less than helpful. He pretty much told me the same stuff, and offered no sort of empathy, at any level. They just blamed the airlines, which they claimed charged that fee - which is bs, since I've had change fees before, directly from airlines, and they were nowhere near that amount.

I'm honestly not even sure how such a company survives. They hire these cheap call centres in the Philippines and where ever else they have them, and train the staff to be robots. There isn't an ounce of human sympathy - I may as well be speaking with an automated machine. Every question I had was met with a scripted response; and if I objected, the scripted response was just repeated. I really hope that people smarten up and start boycotting companies like this, who refuse to give us proper service; but instead find the cheapest options possible. I will never spend a single dime with Expedia, or any of their conglomerates. I've even made sure that our company doesn't use you for booking anything, ever again. The one time that I had to cancel a flight, after booking countless through you, you screwed me.

40

I booked a roundtrip plane ticket three months in advance, only to find out that an Air France employee had cancelled my connecting flight, which means there is no way for me to get home. Expedia e-mailed to call for other travel options, and since I've called in I have wasted about three hours and counting, waiting for them to rearrange my flight. I have called in three times, and like other customers, I will wait for an hour and then all of a sudden they will hang up on me. Then I get a called back from Expedia, but their phone system is broken because I cannot hear anyone on the other line.

At the moment, I am able to write this review because I have been waiting for customer representatives the fourth time around for an hour. What kind of customer service is this? It's none at all. What a waste of money and time. I will never book with Expedia again. This is terrible service. I travel at least twice a month and I often have to book plane tickets for colleagues. I'll be sure to never use their website ever again.

40

I am trying to cancel my trip due to the flights changing from direct to non direct. I have spent a total of six hours on the phone, to be told by 2 reps they are working on my cancellation and then they hang up on me. I try calling back and am on hold for hours and hours, to be told the same message "let me look at your policy so I can work on it". I just want the refund that two prior reps told me I could get.

40

I booked a flight on Expedia and the fare rules for this flight allowed for changes at USD 75 fee. I called to make the changes, first agenda was helpful enough and took my payment, then said something was wrong, passed me to a supervisor - could not find the problem and wasted another hour on it. Line dropped. Called again and put on hold for another hour, next supervisor again tries to make the changes, takes one hour, line drops. I call again, and Agent No 3 says my ticket could not be changed (!). Why such an incoherent service? She then passed me to corporate customer service, been on hold for two hours. Total time on the phone, 4 hours... This is very poor customer service, not worth my time. Thank you.

40

I recently booked a hotel on Expedia in the city of Atlanta. I wanted to stay near downtown but certainly not downtown due to traffic. The pictures of the hotel on Expedia showed a hotel that had nothing but blue sky in every direction, it couldn't have been anywhere downtown I thought. I reserved it online, and to my surprise when I arrive at the address it was in the middle of other buildings in the middle of downtown. The photos on Expedia that came from the website had obviously been edited to look like it was a shining beacon of hope in the middle of nowhere. I can't see how this picture could not have been doctored since there are clearly buildings around the hotel in every direction.

When we arrived parking was a nightmare, in fact the bellman came out and said we needed to "circle around" again because our car was blocking the road. Circle around? Isn't the point of valet so that we don't have to mess with the stress of parking? Also the valet was $30 per day, a fact I would love to have known about before the trip. I don't know if this is Expedia's fault, but I would love it if they verified photography or at least checked to make sure the places they are recommending are accurate. Today's customer does not want the sunny side of everything, we just want the truth. That's all I want from a travel website.

Have feedback for Expedia?

Thanks for your feedback!

Sorry. Please try again later!