Duke Energy Customer Service
Rated 1.23 of 5 Stars
Based on 26 Complaints

Contact Duke Energy Corporate

Toll free phone number: 704-594-6200

Welcome to the Duke Energy complaints department brought to you by HissingKitty. Experienced poor customer service? We make it easy to file a formal complaint against Duke Energy online. Simply use our free form and your feedback will be instantly forwarded for review. Need to contact the Duke Energy corporate office? We have the mailing address, phone number, and email address listed below.

Experienced poor service? File a complaint here!

Duke Energy Contact Information

Report complaints to corporate and get satisfaction

  • Duke Energy headquarters address

    • 550 South Tryon Street
    • Charlotte
    • NC 28202
    • United States
  • Company website

  • 1-800 phone number

    704-594-6200
  • Better Business Bureau rating

    A+

  • Customer service hours

    24 hours a day

Browse reviews of other Utility Services



Top Duke Energy Complaints

Browse more than 26 reviews submitted so far

20

Will be finding a new electric supplier. The most rude customer service team in the entire world! I asked for a supervisor 5 times before actually getting one. Their deposit is bull shit. They don’t tell you upfront what the deposit is nor do. My paperwork said $0 deposit and now all the sudden they are trying to get a $105 for a $20 electric bill.

20

A truck with Duke Energy and Southern Cross stickers on the side drove completely into my front yard and parked on my lawn. The truck broke off one of my inground sprinklers and left ruts where it drove. This happened at 4:00pm 5/7/2019 at 166 Tarpine Dr, Panacea Fl, 32346
So who covers the damage in this case? Please respond back to my email.
Thank you, Dan Hinchee
danhinchee@aol.com

20

Power outage reported one hour ago let’s see how many days it takes to restore power.

20

Power goes out a lot, yet it takes them most of the day to restore it. We lost power yesterday that was out for 20 hours. The text updates I subscribed to attributed the loss to down trees, but there were no down trees anywhere in the entire end of the county. I drove, I looked. Only a handful of houses lost power at the end of our subdivision and I heard the fuse in the transformer blow when the power went out. Obviously, it was a holiday and they had a small crew. I've noticed the smaller the number of houses out of power (according to the recording) the longer it takes to get power restored.

I've lived in a lot of places and Duke Energy is hands down the worst utility company I've ever dealt with. They care nothing about their customers. You can't even call and talk to a human. In the past they've filed for rate increases in order to pay bonuses to their fat cat executives and shareholders. Uncaring service and high utility costs are what you get when you allow utility companies to merge and become giants like Duke.

20

I have been trying to get a bill from Duke energy since Jan 2019. I keep getting the run around everybody in customer service gives me a different answer. A new meter was installed and I was told it was not connecting to the main office. This make since if didn't pay my power it would be cut off. You can't reach anybody with authority.

20

On 2/21/2019 my total account balance was $2478...
On that day I paid $2500...

Today they say I never paid off agreement
When I paid total account balance plus a few extra dollars.
They never cancelled my agreement when I made the $2500 payment On 2/21/19.

My balance should not be $700+ today when its only been 30 days since I paid the $2500.

20

Live at 7010 Kohls road melbourne ky 41059. Tree trimmers parked wood chopper in yard. Ground wet left large tire prints . They should fix it back. Also, left all small tree branches in yard . need to picked up . This happened around 3-6 2019 Have pictures. please contact for fixing. thanks

20

I completing this complaint for my 81 year old mother, that lives by herself on a small fixed income. My mother got behind on her monthly payment and is trying to catch up. She sent in a payment of $160 of $437.75 bill (this amount includes a $15 reconnect fee). She was told the $160 payment was received, but they disconnected her power anyway. This was done with no prior notice. Personally I believe this sad that an elderly woman would be treated in this manner. Louis Ballew

20

I CALLED IN ON FEB THE 22 I HAD JUST SPOKE WITH SOMEONE BEFORE I PAY MY BILL SHE CONFIRM THAT I HAD TO PAY $132.OO SO I PAYED THAT I CALLED AFTER TO CHECK IT AND SPOKE WITH A TEAM LEADER SHE THEN ADVISE ME THAT WAS GOOD ENOUGH I HAD TO PAY THE WHOLE $299.00.PRIOR TO THAT I HAD JUST PAID 200 SO THE SYSTEM TOLD ME I HAD 132.OO LEFT TO PAY AND NOT 299..SHE SAY I WAS NOT MEETING MY AGREEMENT...SO I WENT BACK AND PAID THE REMAING BALANCE AND THEN CALLED BACK IN THE LADY I SPOKE WITH WAS THE ONE I TALK TO EARLIER ABOUT PAYING THE 132.00 I TOLD HER WHAT HAPPENED AND SHE SAY THAT WAS NOT CORRECT THE 132.00 WAS FINE AND MY SERVICE WAS GOOD BECAUSE THE TEAM LEADER SAID I WOULD BE UP FOR DIS CONNECTION IF IT WAS NOT PAY BY THE 28...SHE HAD A NASTY ATTITUDE AND WAS LIKE I CAN GIVE U AN EXT MY THING IS IF I DIDNT MEET MY AGREEMENT WHY WOULD YOU GIVE ME AN EXT I THOUGHT IF YOU DIDNT MEET YOUR AGREEMENT THAT YOU WOULD NOT BE QUALIFY FOR AN FOR ABOUT TWO WEEKS

20

My service has been cancelled as of 2/1/2019 and I paid my final bill and I am still getting bills that are $20.00 higher each time and when I call customer service (3 different times) I am informed that I do not owe anything. So why am I still getting bills.
Please stop sending me emails that I owe something on a closed account

20

In early January we had our power line repaired after waiting a month for the equipment to make this repair (Ditch Witch required for under road boring).  While we certainly appreciate the restoration of our power using a temporary "extension cord type repair",  we were disappointed in the condition of the yard and road after the final repair.

Please see the attached two JPG photos of the completed job.

CONCERS:
1- Hole in road not filled after repair.
2- Lawn not repaired after digging for break
3- Soil in bed not replaced after repair

20

My name is Tierra Rogers I called the 919 508-5400 number 1/11/2019 the information in the computer who I spoke too. I was just asking how could I get help with my light bill what are my options so the first lady was nice talk to me put a supervisor on the phone said she could not help me. So I called back talk to someone name Tamakia I asked her to talk to the same supervisor she said ok put me on hold the come back to the phone and say the supervisor refuse to talk to u so I told her to hold on so I could record the conversation she stated again the supervisor refused to speak with me I was not rude or disrespectful so I ask what is he name she said Sorena that is how she spelled it for me I do not know if it is the right name cause I let her know also I was recording she said he was not allowed to give me a last name but the supervisor tells her she can set me up with a payment plan. My point is if she do not want help why is she a supervisor I work in the hospital it is plenty of times I am not in the mood but I still treat people with respect i want to know the reason she did not want to talk what did I do wrong and I know it can get busy but being a supervisor u are a leader it is just mind blowing especially being in customer service u refusing help. Thanks for your time hopefully it will not happen to anyone else if u do something about it or not

20

when your service man came to my house at 325 Regency Road, Salisbury, NC to work on my power box, he
dug a trench down the middle of my drive and just left it. I called and reported this on 10/17/2018 at 3:02 to Ty.
I have heard nothing. I need gravel spread over this trench so that it will not keep getting larger.
Carolyn Biddix
.

20

Do you have my previous e-mails requesting how the billing that I have been receiving works? I have asked with no response to my questions. I have received bills two months in a row now with no understanding as to what to pay if anything. Would these bills simply be a record of what has been used or what? Why has no one responded to my e-mails? Why has no one explained anything to me? I do not want a phone call at this point I want it in writing so there is no denial at a latter date like there has been so far. We would like for someone to explain what is going on. Is there someone monitoring my meter? This ACCOUNT NUMBER is 68216 45369. There is in fact a solar meter adjoining my electrical system. There must be some data regarding this instrument and its function.

Kurt Lenz
Deland, Florida 32720
kurtannylenz@outlook.com

20

I have contacted costumer service to enquirer about a deposit being added to my account, when I was informed that since I had made the payment a new account was created. In the process of me trying to speak to someone about the deposit I have been extremely discriminated against for having a disability. When I contacted costumer service about the deposit the 3 Duke represenatives have said some of the harshes statement I have ever heard. I have been told "Duke power do not care if you are blind you better pay your bill or Duke will cut it off, and then you really will be in the dark". I had another Duke rep tell me "stop acting helpless there are thousands of people who have a disability...you are not special". I have tried contacting the head courters, but the system does not allow you to speak to anyone.

20

I don't understand that my single trialer can have a electric bill of $396.20. my daughter place is connected to a a three bedroom house( it's like a studio) . So she had 2 wall units in her studio and in the house they had 2 wall units. The electric for both place was on the same bill n there bill at the highest was 260. Reminding you that that 4 wallunits running day and night a 69 degrees. Now you tell me how my single one bedroom trialer . Is over $200 more . Then a 3 bedroom house and a garage (that was a into studio apartment) billl. Duke energy is taking advantage of a poor old cripple women who is on disability. They just don't care . I going to call the local news about this . Cause clearly they are ripping me off

20

rude and malicious customer service rep Daneelle workID # 4070607 -- supervisor - Charles Lockette

I am filing a FORMAL COMPLAINT to corporate on these 2 ASAP from my experience on 01/30/2018

20

I line in a 55+ adult community in DownYonder Village in Largo, FL, i understand that due to Hurricane IRMA that people need their electricity reconnected regardless. For god sake, this is an older community with elderly poor people in need. You would think you could get courtesy phone calls back with the truth of when power will be restored. I am elderly an now have to throw my food stamp good money all in the garbarage that I have purchased thru sales of food. Because of No power. They are so quick to increase there charges and cry because the aren't making enough. Well another greedy corporation all out for themselves. When we need them they don't come around. They HIDE behind a telephone outage system. I'm darn mad.

20

In August there were contract workers for Duke Energy running a new line to a light on the street.
They had to cross my backyard. Unfortunately they tore up the gate to the back yard with the backhoe or other large machinery that
they needed to bury the line.
I was at work and did not find this until weeks later.
my address is 608 Wedgedale Ave Greensboro NC 27403
The repair was for a light post in front of my house. The men were from another company doing the work so I cannot give you a name.
I would like the chain link gate replaced and installed.
Please respond
Thank you
Vickie Barkley 336-312-4412 the account may still be in my husbands name who died. I have requested a change
of name. The account is 0000437661

40

I have been calling duke energy for the last 9 month re: my bill and questioning why my bill was $0, knowing that something is wrong. I have been told every month that I have a credit and not to pay my bill. Which some months I did anyway. Now I called Monday and come to fine out that I have a balance do of over $3000.00, which was never addressed when I called several time speaking to Lamia and Morgan.

Spoke to Kayla a supervisor who said she reviewed all my bills in less than 5 minutes for 2 years and she came to this conclusion. I want to know Why I was not advised about this BB balance when I called and I even questioned this when I called Duke customer care. I was told not to worry about this balance.Why when I addressed the balance billing amount told not to worry about it several times.

20

As a business owner here in Kings Mountain, NC and the oldest business in town still family owned and operated. 2 years ago we moved our business adjacent to the interstate and you're business along with 2 other hotels and what a great move. The response for your and our business was excellent to say the least. Duke power contractors and the like filled this establishment as well as ours nice place to stay food and drink and night life in walking distance meant no driving for Duke Energy. Then management changed jacking rates up and shorter check out, and renting to dubious locals who are drug addict and dealers now the good people won't stay there.

Law enforcement is called out regularly break ends. You name it. And these Duke Energy people are directly involved and sends new good people when you get some to other business like mine for complaints I have made on behalf of our business. I included hotel and the other businesses in all my advertising it worked well for us all. Something needs to happen to correct the public problem. It's a matter of public record of fact about this complaint. The public relations between us out ways the problem. Business working together is the best way in my humble opinion.

40

My phone line always has a hum on it and when we have wet weather the hum becomes much worse. To the point that talking is impossible. My mother is on a separate private line to her house behind mine and her reception is worse. She is 94 years old and requires adequate phone service to keep her safe. We have had service people come and tell us that there is nothing they can do to make it better, as it really isn't a problem with centurylink lines, but a problem with Duke Energy power lines having inadequate or no ground lines on their poles and electricity is bleeding into the ground and centurylink phone lines are picking it up.

So it appears I have to live with this continuing problem as it is no one's responsibility to take care of this problem. My mother needs an amplified phone as her hearing is bad and a phone with big memory buttons as she has poor eyesight. Therefore a cell phone is out for her. Also living in the country means no choice of companies to use. I have your internet dsl line as that is the best I can do out here. Therefore, I need the phone line myself. Anything that could be done by you or in conjunction with Duke Energy to alleviate our continuing problem would be greatly appreciated.

40

I have had a leaking water heater for over 2 week. Home serve sent a Duke Energy tech out and he replaced the overflow valve 3 times and it still leaks. I ask for them to send a different company and they stated it was because of the pressure was to high. I called the city of Casselberry and they came out and check all three areas and stated the the PSI level were find. I have all the documentation to show. I am at my wit end. Spoke to Dave at Duke customer service ex 6474 and he stated I needed to put a control valve on. I called the city back and they said absolutely not. Please help me resolve this issue.

20

First of all Duke Energy asks for donations over my bill to help people, I have never been offered help when I need it. Second I forgot what the last date to pay my bill was and you came to my store/resident to shut off but didn't if paid that day which I did pay part of bill. Since my account is store/resident in the back of store, I didn't think you would shut off during winter. could my account show that I am store/resident and not just store? Terrible customer support as well.

60

I called about a Duke Energy complaint regarding my KW usage, something isn't right for 750 sq ft and over 700kw used per month, new appliances etc. I had to listen to a Duke Energy customer service rep tell me about her house and her neighborhood and that I should turn off my electrical panel and go to this and do that. I called for some assistance and a little help, since the new meters have been put in my kw hours have increased, they were bad enough as it is. All of my neighbors use about 450-600 per month, I am not home all day and using over 700?

40

I have talked to Duke Energy at length about my bill, it seems to go up and down every month with no hope of changing. I have also written a letter to the company hoping that they would help out other customers like myself. At the end of the day my power is not something I can really control.

Have feedback for Duke Energy?

Thanks for your feedback!

Sorry. Please try again later!