CenterPoint Energy Customer Service
Rated 1.5 of 5 Stars
Based on 36 Complaints

Contact CenterPoint Energy Corporate

Toll free phone number: 713-207-1111

Welcome to the CenterPoint Energy complaints department brought to you by HissingKitty. Experienced poor customer service? We make it easy to file a formal complaint against CenterPoint Energy online. Simply use our free form and your feedback will be instantly forwarded for review. Need to contact the CenterPoint Energy corporate office? We have the mailing address, phone number, and email address listed below.

Experienced poor service? File a complaint here!

CenterPoint Energy Contact Information

Report complaints to corporate and get satisfaction

  • CenterPoint Energy headquarters address

    • 1111 Louisiana St.
    • Houston
    • TX 77002
    • United States
  • Company website

  • 1-800 phone number

    713-207-1111
  • Better Business Bureau rating

    A+

  • Customer service hours

    24 hours a day

Browse reviews of other Utility Services



Top CenterPoint Energy Complaints

Browse more than 36 reviews submitted so far

20

Refused to wait approx 3 extra days for us to get a check..we are retired on Social Security.
Bill was $800...they refused turned us off. Our adult disabled daughter lives with us..most of our appliances are gas.
This created a hardship..then they penalized us with extra fees and put us in the red in our account..like a domino effect
These are terrible people and need to go out of business!

20

Today I received a call from Center point energy which I was expecting since I had requested to transfer services. I picked up the phone call since I Knew it was the gas company so it took me 2 rings to pick up since I was heading to work. I answered the call and I kept on saying "hello, hello, Hello" and no answer. So then I knew it was the gas company and I dialed back and the lady that answered said that no one had called because she said there was no notes. So then I received a second call at 8:30 and so then I answered and they just hung up the call. I called back and the Kay #700 told me that my transfer services were cancelled due to that it was my second attempt and I was not able to confirm. I was explaining to her and she didn't care about what I was telling her. She also told me that there was no supervisor and that I just had 2 options. One was to pay $47. for same day connection and the other one was to wait until Monday to reconnect. I explained to her to what had happened and she kept telling me the same thing, about my 2 options. I asked to speak to someone in corporate and she said that there was no one higher than a supervisor. I asked Kay the the center point energy customer service lady that what if the same thing happened to where I answer and no one would answer and she told me that I was still going to be responsible for the $47.00 same day connection fee.

20

They butchered my tree. Did not clean up the mess in my yard or in my neighbor's yard it is ridiculous how tree looks and branches are still in a power line but butchered part of tree not in power lines. Complained last year about leaving branches on my daughters playhouse and they dont care because they did it again. Pathetic pieces of crap in my eyes and people involved should be fired. I would never be allowed to leave someone's home looking like that. Most unprofessional people I have ever seen.

20

Deceased Customer: Floyd W Roman 6/1/19
Address: 7208 Penn avenue South,Richfield Minnesaota
Account Number: 000005706024
Robert Roman Address: 1901 Yorkshire Ave South, Minnetonka Minnesota, 55305
In March 2019, I received a letter dated 3/19/19 with enclosed Centerpoint Energy Minnesota refund check# 0707865 made payable to my deceased father,Floyd W Roman, for $8.02. On 4/8/19, I contacted a CPT Energy consultant and explained that my father died on 11/4/17 and that prior to his death, I had Power Of Attorney for him. I added that I knew that position terminated upon his death, but that I was still handling any issues regarding his small estate. I also explained that he did have a legal will and probate court was never involved in this estate settlement. I said that since my father was deceased and obviously couldn't cash this check, I requested that CPT please resend this check with the amount payable to me. The consultant said that was "no problem "and should be sent in about a week.
On 5/1/19, I recontacted CPT Energy and spoke with another representative as I had not received that reissued check payable to me. I again explained this situation and this representative stated no new check was ever sent as it could only be made payable to my father. I reminded him that cashing that particular check payable only to him would be quite difficult since he was dead. I again advised him no probate court was ever required or involved in settling his small estate. He replied he was sorry, but he could not provide any other solution.
While the $8.02 doesn't involve a large amount of money, I believe some CPT Energy management level person needed to be aware of the contradictory information and incredible logic I encountered from CPT Energy in attempting to resolve this simple issue. While I still believe a correctly printed check payable to me for that amount should be issued, it is the principal of this issue that is the main motivation for this correspondence.
Thank you for any assistance you may provide.
Robert Roman

20

Centerpoint Energy has not mail me my gas bill, and they are refusing to do that, if I don't get a paper bill, it will cause me all kinds of problems, I disability benefits once a month, and government asistance, and those government agencies wants to see a paper bill, therefore paperless billing won't help me at all, please can you get them to mail me my gas bill please,

20

my complaint is the tech that came to reconnect my gas refuse to connect my service because i would not allow to come in my home. everything he needed to reconnect service was in the garage where he had access too. I called and spoke with a manager with centerpoint energy named Laterian who seem as she did not care, and i felt as if she didnt believe anything i said to her. I was told I would have to wait until tommorow for service to be reconnected.I have had service with this company for over 14 years and i am in the process of looking for another company. the workers and management have little compassion for their customers.

100

My neighbor, an elderly man, Mr. John Cieslowicz with possible cognitive impairment has nailed 2very large plywood boards to the utility pole that serves both our houses. The pole is already compromised and leaning somewhat. The boards are large enough to catch the wind and could cause the pole to fall down. He refuses to remove them. The pole is on his side of the fence but is Center Point's property I assume. Is there anything Center Point can do to make him remove the boards. Thank You!
The pole with the nailed in boards is at 1250 Du Barry, Houston 77018
I live next door at 1246 Du Barry
re: photo -A second board was added after I took the photo.

20

Horrid customer service..liars as well.
Had a gas bill agreement..we are Seniors on a fixed income and Fed shutdown made check late.Now they Hit us with a jumongous bill and threaten to cut off service. All we want is to work out a payment plan.
Our adult daughter disabled lives with us...plan to sue thru state if services cut off..as she is ill

20

My costumer service rep.. is disrespectful and rude. Not willing to listen nor follow instructions.. this has to get better.. center point energy feels like I’m dealing with ROBBERS

20

Yesterday I was notified by the vendor who shovels snow for our development that our gas meters might be dangerously covered by snow. He indicated that the vent at the bottom of the meter was, in some of our homes, buried in snow. He also said it was dangerous and could produce carbon dioxide poisoning. I called Center Point Energy and was told not to worry that it might cause a little gas small but not carbon dioxide poisoning. The president of our board called the gas company and they confirmed the danger of the meter vent being blocked. I too, am a board member and decided to further confirm this information and called Center Point Energy again. Over the next two hours I spoke with three(3) different people and not one person confirmed the other tech's urgency of doing something about a dangerous situation. We did however have the vendor shovel out all almost all of the meters in the 31 homes in our development. My complaint is that SOMEONE should notify homeowners if a true danger exists and it would certainly be helpful if all the customer service people would have the same cautionary information. Not at all happy with my gas company.

20

I work in Saudi Arabia, and my wife and daughter live in Katy, Texas. Our account number is 6401280376-9. My wife Sharon was very dissatisfied with the service she received on February 4 at ca. 9:30 a.m. from the caller representative Stephanie. My wife explained that the flame on her stove began by burning blue, and then sputtered somewhat and turned to orange. She also noticed that the bottom of her pots was turning black from use. This had not happened in the prior state in which we lived.
She therefore called the consumer line to report this and asked that a technician be sent to our home; she is concerned that there might be some damage to our gas line. Stephanie informed her that the problem must lie in our appliances. Stephanie also said that CenterPoint could not send a technician to our home. My wife also felt that Stephanie's tone was brusque and unhelpful.
I ask that you send a technician to our home to reassure my wife that she and our daughter are safe and that our gas line is functioning safely and properly. If a technician inspection is impossible, I would like a polite explanation of this impossibility. We remember the gas-line explosion in San Bruno, CA, that killed 8 people and caused the local gas company to pay more than $500 million in damages. Are we receiving less pressure than we should? If so, does this indicate that a break may be elsewhere--perhaps in the line nearby? Please give us the psig for the local line and reassure me that it is operating safely and within safety guidelines.
Finally, I hope your management consults with Stephanie, urging that she handle callers more politely. I'm sure her job is not always easy, but such an attitude would better serve both her and your company.

20

They sent me a text message 30 minutes after the power was cut that the power was going to be cut for routine maintenance. I was trapped in my house - unable to open my garage nor my front gate fence. Why would they not send a message a hour BEFORE cutting the power? Or heck, a day before would be nice. Seems like pretty poor customer service. Then try to reach them on the phone - IMPOSSIBLE!!

20

For the last 4 months, I have been calling about an issue with the online and pay by phone options. It says you can use your checking or savings account to pay your bill, but when it comes time to submit, it say it cannot process your request at this time. On pay by phone, it just gives the same confirmation number OBJECT. For the last 4 months. For the last 4 months I have been told that something would be done about it, but nothing has. I don't want to use Billmatrix, I don't want to an extra 3 dollars. If I wanted to pay the fee, I would use billmatrix, but I don't. I am seriously looking at contacting the Better Business Bureau, or some other agency. This has been an on going issue since August.

20

I am trying to get a new service for a building I just purchased. The previous owners had gas and there should be a clear record of that. I can't get ANYWHERE with this. I keep getting questions about apartment numbers ect. and when I answer one , I get another email the next day with another question. There is NO apartment number. I am the sole owner of the building. My ONLY heat is gas and my massage business there is being harmed due to lack of heat. I requested someone to call me or to get this started? It would be great to speak with a person. I have never had any issues with utilities and I own multiple buildings.

20

We have over 25 rental properties in Shreveport, LA. Each time we purchase a property it has been a nightmare to set up service. When you call customer service, the hold times exceed 30 mins. When you do reach a live person, they either transfer you and place you back on hold, or hang up on you. There has to be a more efficient way to start service.

20

At the resident of 424 viser Camden Ar. a call was made to bring out a gas meter that was removed for previous gas leak. Inspection of unit was made and tagged the phone agent was called and responded by saying on 10/05/2018 to wait between 5:00 pm and 10:00pm and a technician will install meter. After waiting 5 hours on someone to come out, no one showed up and at the very least a phone call would have been appreciated to a loyal custom that is still out of gas for the weekend. We realize things happen but some friendly custom service go a long way.

20

CenterPoint sent me a bill for $61 due on 7/11/18. My gas was disconnected on 7/9/18 due to non-payment. CenterPoint states they sent a disconnect notice via USPS mail, which was never received. CenterPoint states it is not their responsibility to try to notify the customer any further than that. It cost me $60 (in addition to my balance of $61) to have my service reconnected, which I did not have to spend due to being out of a job. The amount they disconnected my service for? $31.

Every response I have received from this company is heartless and uncaring. I have been a customer for 12 years with no issues and this is how they treat their customers. Why? Because they are a monopoly and we have no choice in gas providers. They know this and their heartlessness shows in every response I receive from them.

If this was a reoccuring issue with my account, I would understand. First time in 12 years and they cannot have the courtesy to give me more notice than a lost piece of mail, or the courtesy to waive the $60 fee. Why? Because according to them, they don't have to.

Why can I not rate them 0 stars?

Lucianna Green

20

After reviewing my recent electric bill (provider is Direct Energy) I have over 152.00 in all kinds of charges, delivery fee charges and so on. This amount is more than half my current electric bill. I have spent 3 days trying to reach some one at Direct Energy and Centerpoint to explain to me how I have so much money charged on this account in just fees. I was also given the name of Phil Suitor, which Direct Energy also tried to contact for me at: 713-207-3852, and have left numerous messages. I feel that 152.00 above and beyond my electric charge is not fair or acceptable, in just charge after charge. There are more than 12 different kids of charges listed

I had planned on asking each one of my neighbors if they have all of this excessive charges as well. My physical address is 8913 Hwy 36 Jones Creek (Freeport) Texas 77541
Kim Caster RN
979-236-0309

20

On April 9 2018 my neighbor complained about smelling gas in her apartment while the gas man Brian was in her home she said her neighbor (me) also smelled gas so he came to my apartment and my company answers the door and tells the man yes he can check it out by the time my company told me I said no I asked if I could schedule something on my own time and he said no at that time there was no gas leak in my area but because I would not allow him in my home he put a gas leak in the area to justify him taking my meter. His supervisor Chris Mattthews instead of making him put it back he sent him the next day at almost 10 a.m when he told me 8 a.m. this was not right and centerpoint should not allow employees to treat paying customers like that!

20

Customer is given a 14 hour window for turning gas on. Very soup notzi from New York City...you must answer when they call you to let you know they are on their way or else they cancel. They leave you no message or no way of calling them back without having to go through automated system that takes at least 10-15 minutes for someone to answer just to say there is nothing they can help you with. HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!

20

The gas was turned off on 12/14/2016 at my 86 year old mothers house. And was told to pay pass tenant gas The bill was for 195.00 So my mother paid, but didn't get her gas tuned back on, They said the gas will be turned back on 12/19/2016.

Which is 5 days later I called the collection agency and said to A. Louis that it against the law to make someone pay for a bill that's not theirs so they can have gas in their home. Even when my mother sent her prove that she moved in.

Why are they letting Centerpoint Energy here in Houston, Texas get away it. .My mother needed the money to buy food. On 12/18/2016 here in Houston, Texas it is going to be below 35 degrees for 4 days.and Centerpoint Energy doesn't care that my is going to be cold and no warm water to take a bath in.

40

I live at 112 main street south apt 2 Braham, MN 55006. I'm trying to reach whoever is in charge, I've tried contacting Centerpoint via the telephone about my account several times in the last week only to be put on hold again and again. 11 mins 52 seconds was the last time I called. I'm am not happy long story short I live in a 4-plex. Our meters are switched with another apt. My meter number on my bill reads different from my actual meter. Centerpoint was made aware of this last winter and we were told twice in the last year that you would change it. We were told that you did make it right by a technician. I went out to check myself and it is not fixed. I'm not even gonna contact anyone with Centerpoint after this if nothing is done immediately. I'm gonna file a consumer complaint with the Minnesota attorney Generals office.

40

My gas was turned off, I called yesterday and paid the amount the rep told me I would need to pay to get it back on, + $27 extra to have it turned on yesterday. No one ever showed up so I called again only to be told that a service request was not put in and I would have to wait until Monday. Excuse me, its no my job to fill your service reports out. I wan my gas on today or my $27 refunded asap.

40

I have been without gas for 3 days because of a leak at the meter. Customer service said a technician would be out during the night but this have not occurred. Per customer service technicians are out working emergencies. This means Centerpoint does not have enough technicians in the field. I cook and heat water with gas. This has created physical and emotional hardship for me.

40

The CenterPoint tech was called out after a disconnection due to a late payment. He showed up after 4 1/2 hours late and I was politely approached to his vehicle at that point he had his driver side window up and with his right hand signed me to go away from his car rudely. I walked away as he open his door and stared "don't crowed my truck " I kept silent and walked in my establishment. As soon as he finished the reconnection he went outside of my back restaurant and starting cut and destroyed my squash plan without telling me. He is a very unprofessional person and unkind. I am seeking his apology and an answer from CenterPoint management.

40

I had an app for technician to fix my fridge for a day of work and nobody show up at the house. They said technician came at 2:50. CenterPoint corporate lied to me, because nobody came and i lost a day of work for nothing.

40

For one appointment, they didn't come within 4 hour window. When I called it could happen. When I went 15 min late (though I told the tech to wait), the tech has left without waiting. Also, they charged me even if they didn't start the service yet.

20

CenterPoint Energy's bucket truck drove across my lawn causing deep ruts, the broke my drain pipe and left debris in my yard. They also broke the cable box and Suddenlink spent several hours getting the service restored to several homes.

40

I had appointment today to schedule gas service turned on to my rental property. The appointment was scheduled between 8-12 pm. Of course they explain to you press 1 if you are already at the service address, or press 2 if you are in route. I pressed 2, since my husband was heading to the service address to meet the technician. I received call 10:00 am, and my husband arrived at 10:32 am so technically 1-2 min late. The technician was still at the property, and told my husband order was cancelled and refused to do the job. With the customer in front of the technician I do not see how this is good customer service. Keep in mind I am now a new centerpoint energy customer either. Been with this company over 10 years, and I am very disappointed right now.

When I called customer service the rep was also not helpful, at all. She did not care that I was upset about how we were treated as the customer. I did not think that was proper way to treat any customer. She also told me I had to pay another $50 dollars in order to re-schedule for today. Poor customer service and also want to add another charge. I asked to me transferred to management and she had the nerve to tell me that my husband was two minutes late and technicians have many other jobs to do. I can understanding if he was 15 minutes late, but 2 minutes unreal. Management skills were poor as well, unable to bring any customer satisfaction. The correct thing to do was to call that same technician to return and do the job. I am so upset and truly considering looking for another company for my both homes. I am sure that this situation should of been handled in a better manner.

Centerpoint energy is paying employee to give poor customer service, which in turn will loose many customers.

40

CenterPoint Energy technicians and employees never showed up at my house. The guy cancelled my connection because he said nobody was home. My son and I was in the living room with the window open waiting on him to show. And come to find out they have tried to cancel my appointment for tomorrow. I hate CenterPoint corporate for what they have put our family through. Worst experience ever!

40

We recently moved into our new house and me and my fiance was trying to get our gas on, they are giving us the worst time ever. They will not let us turn our gas on because the previous renters had a bill, which I do not understand what that has to do with us. So they said I have to send a copy of my lease, light bill, and water bill we sent all of that only for the lady to tell my fiance (with attitude) that the lease wasn't real and the light bill was from our other residents and it was because we just moved here we don't have a light bill for this resident at the moment. They also said that we can pay the previous renters bill why should we have to do that we didn't help them run their bill up. We was treated poorly by CenterPoint and is being punished for someone else mishaps.

20

Oh my god I just found out about the worker beating the dogs! This is terrible. Please share this complaint and put this company out of business or make them change their dog abuse ways.

40

I have been trying to get electrical power for almost 3 weeks now. For two weeks I was told and explained that at my house. always being told that I do have a meter at the address provided. when I finally lost my cool and loudly explained there is no meter and someone finally came to see that the meter had been removed, they told me the meter base is bad. NOW MIND YOU in three weeks no customer service agent ever called me, I had to keep calling explaining to everyone I talked to the problem which has been very time consuming. Now the last few calls I made to customer service with Center point I was told to talk to my provider. which is TXU but see TXU and Center point do not talk to the customer to get problems resolved. So I was finally told to replace the meter base and they would come hook up my electrical power.

So I replaced the meter base, braker box and all. Now I am told they will not put a meter in a after market meter base. When for two days I called TXU and Center point energy trying to get someone to tell me what I needed to buy so there were NO MORE ISSUES getting power. All I was told is "we can not tell you what to buy" So now that I have spent the money that my electrician said to spend you say it is wrong.

20

CenterPoint customer service is very bad. I have a past due bill of 66 dollars and was trying to get assistance from CenterPoint. The rep refused payment, and we had an argument that the program that was going to help me. They also told me that CenterPoint closed my billing account. Now I have to pay 66 past due and another 95 deposit and 60 for re-connection fees. I am a single parent with two children in the house.

60

I called CenterPoint Energy to come in and set up my new service in my new home on November 24th. I paid a fee of 47 to 50 dollars for same day service. I was told on Wednesday the 25th that they had numerous emergencies and could not get to me but they would come that day which would have been the 25th. Again they did not show.on Friday after thanksgiving and they gave the same reason. I was told I would be the first on the list today. The representative told me she spoke to the lead and he assured her they would come today. Once again they did not show. They are now telling me I will be first on the list tomorrow. This was told to me by an after hours representative who says she called the dispatch and he said I would be first tomorrow. I am in a brand new house with a kid and the weather is cooler and I am forced to get hotel rooms because the gas company will not come set up the gas. I can't believe this is how the company is run and that a supervisor has not called me back to explain or apologize. This has been the worst experience and to be flat out lied to each day is appalling. Next I will contact the CenterPoint Energy corporate office to complain to the CEO.

60

As I have shifted to a new place, I opted for the best domestic gas company and I found CenterPoint Energy is the right one. Awesome customer service, better guidelines helping me to save energy and money too. CentrePoint Energy also provides services to Business,builders,trade allies around the locations. It deals with natural gas, electrical , pipeline services including Mobile Energy Solutions, Pole Attachments, Surveying and Right-of-Way, and Telecommunications Delivery Services. It's really great to associated with CentrePoint Energy.

Have feedback for CenterPoint Energy?

Thanks for your feedback!

Sorry. Please try again later!