Redbox Customer Service
Rated 2 of 5 Stars
Based on 82 Complaints

Contact Redbox Corporate

Toll free phone number: 1-866-733-2693

Redbox is a LLC automated outlet for retail rentals of DVD, Blue-ray and video games. As of November 2012 there were 42,000kiosks and 34,000 locations owned by Redbox. Revenues in 2014 were reported over US 1.5 billion and employees number at least 500 and increase seasonally.

If you experience a problem at a Redbox or with a Redbox product you may call 1-866-733-2693 or view this site for customer F&Q and contact information. For basic Redbox facts you may view this page. If you would like to contact the CEO of Redbox you may address your correspondence to Gregg Kaplan at 1 Tower Lane, Suite 2100, Oakbrook Terrace, IL 60187. You may also call the corporate office at 630-756-8000.

Gregg Kaplan is also the founder of Redbox and he founded it in 2002.  After agreeing to their TERMS innovative texting services are as follows: Text NEW to 727272 to obtain latest Redbox releases each week. Text SIGNUP to 727272 to obtain exclusive offers.  Social media presence may be found on Facebook, Twitter and YouTube.


Experienced poor service? File a complaint here!

Redbox Contact Information

Report complaints to corporate and get satisfaction

  • Redbox headquarters address

    • 1 Tower Lane, Suite 2100
    • Oakbrook Terrace
    • IL 60181
    • United States
  • Company website

  • 1-800 phone number

    1-866-733-2693
  • Better Business Bureau rating

    A+

  • Customer service hours

    24 hours a day

Browse reviews of other Television Streaming



  • Netflix
    (130 reviews)
    41.230769230769
  • EA Games
    (17 reviews)
    42.352941176471
  • Roku
    (5 reviews)
    52
  • Hulu
    (11 reviews)
    47.272727272727

Top Redbox Complaints

Browse more than 82 reviews submitted so far

20

On Sunday Nov 20 10:30 CT I spent over 30 minutes on your web site. I was unable to do the following. Enter a movie and find out all the Redbox kiosks near my area. Once I found a kiosk with the movie I wanted to use, I could not figure out how to make a reservation. I phoned the Redbox 1-866 number. it took over 20 minutes for a human to answer. While waiting, I had to constantly listen to your tiresome message while waiting. A woman from overseas finally answered.I could not get her to understand my two simple problems. When I told her she did not understand what I needed, she hung up. This is inexcusable behavior. Please have someone from Redbox call me to help me learn how to navigate your web site.

40

Redbox customers get no service, the phone line sucks. I had an issue with a movie and followed the instructions to get bit corrected was given a credit. I returned the bad movie and was charged anyway. So, I contacted Redbox live chat and was treated like crap. The employees were no help at all. Finally, I contacted my bank and was charged twice for one movie. If this is a practice Redbox follows then I'm never using them again.

80

My son, daughter in-law and granddaughter went to the Redbox at King Soopers at 64th and Federal, Arvada, CO., today and rented "Kung Fu Panda". Brought it home and tried to play it. It had a hard time getting started and then nothing. We tried numerous times to get it going again. We took out the movie and put it back in and still doing the same thing. Took it out again and it appeared dirty at first. Put it back into the machine and again it started up and then quit again. By now the granddaughter was very unhappy - so we looked at the video very closely and discovered some horrible scratch marks on it. So, we gave up on Kung Fu Panda. How do I get my refund?

40

Today I rented Batman vs Superman (blue ray). It would not play on my Blue ray player but other dvds did play. There is something wrong with this disc. The bar code number is RDBX00728. Please has anyone been able to get a refund. Hoping Redbox customer service will credit me for the unpleasant rental.

20

I rented two movies today. One of them wasnt even recognized. The blu ray player is an xbox one, and i made sure the movie was a blue ray. This isnt the first time that this has happened to me. I am seriously thinking about going back to netflix. Northlake blvd and u.s. 1 location in Palm Beach County.

40

6/7/2016 Very deceptive; I would not have rented Anomalis had netflix properly describe the cartoon/CGI as just that. The picture displayed on the kiosk screen was so small and unclear that one would find it near impossible to deduce that the characters of Anomalis were dummies! This is not the first time that netflix has put one over us. Shame on you.

20

Reserved two pickups to a certain redbox location when I got there I couldn't get my card to pickup my reserve so I'm sure I'll get charged for it.

20

I rented two Ps4 Games and just for one game its taking a half a day to load up and my games are due back tomorrow, I'm very frustrated and have learned my lesson about renting games you cant enjoying playing them if its taking all day to download, so my question is can I get a refund on my Redbox rental and just be done, I know now I can just rent movies at least you don't have to wait for those to download.

40

I rented a game for my grandson. My daughter said she took it back, but i guess she didn't. I was charged 73 dollars for this game... how can i return to get my money back? I called the Redbox support number already, what else am I supposed to do?

20

The commercial began freezing playing and freezing playing and freezing so I fast forwarded to the beginning of the movie. The movie played fine for about 5 minutes million minutes and then it froze and it would not fast forward or go back. The movie was call Goosebumps I was not able to watch the movie so I am hoping I can rent it again free of charge.

40

I rented two movies the first one I watched Fantastic Four was great but The second AntMan the whole move is messed up, it kept skipping through and then freezing, Very hard to watch so I would like to get another copy to watch since I could not watch this one.

40

Rented a copy of Ted 2. Playing on a NEW Samsung blue ray player and getting a message, with muted audio.

20

I rented the movie heist it skipped all the way though chapter 12 and 14 and started playing at the end it messed the whole how he did it up. If this is the way Redbox is going to work than forget it.

20

I rented a movie and the redbox unit was down. No movie for me and no response when I called the customer service phone number on the side of the machine.

40

I checked the 5 movies I rented out after 9:30 PM. The next night I had to drive to five different locations to return 3 of the disks I rented. The 3 were returned by 9:15 specifically because every box I went to for 45 mins was full and couldn't take any more disks. 3 disks I had for just short of 24 hours. The next 2 disks I had to wait to return until the next business day in the evening. I had to go to 2 locations to find a box that had room for them. I returned them both right at 9 PM. They charged me for a full three days rental on all 5 movies.

1 movie wasn't even watchable because the soundtrack didn't match what was going on in the movie by about 15 seconds. I will never rent from redbox again. I could have bought on iTunes to own 2 & 1/2 of the movies I rented for what they ended up charging me.

40

We rented The Hunger Games; Mockingjay and it stop and skipped and stopped and. From 40 minutes on. Now that sucks. What can we do to get satisfaction on this?

40

I rented a Redbox dvd and did not return it back on time. I returned the dvd and 4 days later I was charged $21.11 for purchase of a dvd. If Redbox charges me for a dvd then give me the dvd. Think about it, you charge me for purchase of a dvd and you have the dvd and my money. This is totally illegal. How can I contact the Redbox corporate team to tell them of this problem? I am sure other customers have the same challenge.

40

We rented Mall Cop 2 today and when we started watching it it started skipping, we had to fast forward (missing a lot of the movie). Then toward the end it started skipping again! Stopped completely! I am a very unsatisfied customer. I want my money reimbursed back to my debit card. We ejected the movie and the disc had scratches on it.

40

I went to rent a game I swiped my card 2 times and Redbox said try again I got charged 2 times but no game I am highly upset. I would like someone to contact me soon from Redbox customer support and fix this problem with free game rentals and my money back. I called the Redbox complaint hotline but the lady was rude and didn't help

60

I got 2 movies at night time and returned them the next day. Redbox charged me for both the movies for 2 nights. I only had them for one. It was a problem and so I tried to contact Redbox on Twitter and Facebook but was ignored. Then, I called customer support and got put on hold. It was only a simple problem, but not I cannot fix it. It should not be this difficult!

60

We live on the north east side of guthrie oklahoma so does my son and family. We would rent more movies if there was a red box on this side of town!! There is 3 redbox in guthrie ok. One at mcdonalds one right next door at Walgreens and one across the street at walmart! Now how stupid is that?? On our side of town is the i35 exit with four big hotels lots of restraints and 3 big truck stops!! And lots of housing behind those....please put a red box in! Or I am going to have to give in to my husband and get a bunch of movie channels!

20

I rented a movie from RedBox at the beach (3 hours away). When coming home, my wife packed the movie sleeve and mistakenly left the movie in the DVD player. We realized this when we got home and tried to return the movie. I contacted Redbox today to see how it would be handled. I was told that I cannot return an empty movie sleeve nor can my realtor return a DVD without a sleeve. Redbox said I own the movie for $26. FYI - With a similar issue, Netflix eats the cost.

20

I rented a blue-ray disc on Wednesday 4/22/15 and returned it on Friday 4/24/15. They are saying I did not return the disc and charged me $36 for the disc. They are saying that their system does not show it being rented since I rented it, and that is how they determine if the disc has been returned. But couldn't something go wrong with their machine? What if it did not register the disc properly? They would not take my word for it that something obviously malfunctioned. I will NEVER rent from Redbox again.

80

I rented two movies from redbox and the first movie was fine and the second one would not play!!! I was planning on some me time as I'm off tomorrow but I guess I'll go to bed.

40

I rented the Night at the museum on 5/3 and the disc was corrupted not able to view at all. I want my money back!

60

Rented a game that would not play. So I took it back got another and it would not play. Out 6 dollar's in one hour and still nothing to play.

40

I went to the first Redbox location at thr fresh market on 5600 S 900 E SLC UT and i pressed the rent button on the screen and nothing happened, so i kept pressing it and it wouldn't do anything, so i moved over to the next machine and it did the same thing. So I drove over to the 5600 S 900 E 7-eleven location and it did the same thing. I wanted to rent a movie? So what's going on with broken Redbox machines.

40

Became a new member on 12 Apr 2015. Almost immediately I started receiving unsolicited e-mails. According to your policy, you do not give out information. This can not be true. Up to today, I was receiving 1-3 e-mails a day. Today alone I have received over 20. The only thing that has changed is becoming a Redbox member. I have went to my e-mail options and unchecked all the boxes. Can not figure out what else to do. Next step is to cancel the account if the e-mails do not stop.

40

So here it sit again, just rented 2 much anticipated movies from Redbox, got my snacks and drinks and here we go. And..... skip, skip, skip, skip,skip, skip, skip, skip..... You get the idea!! Do you not check your inventory for damaged discs or do you just not care? This isn't the first time this has happened and I should know better, but it's like a bad habit and keep thinking maybe this time will be different.I have no idea what is going on with this story, skip, skip, skip. You have one thing to do right and that is to supply fans of movies with one thing, a great movie experience. You can't even do that right. Redbox, Bye girl!!

20

Recently, I rented Gone Girl on blu ray at Redbox closest to my house on April 8 th at 4 pm . The video has scratches and stopped multiple times. I was unable to finish the movie due to the multiple skips. I need another credit on my account and want my money back. Then re-rented another video and this one skips too. I am not going to use Redbox anymore due to the scratchy discs that make it impossible to watch the movie.

60

I rented two movies yesterday. I rented Interstellar and Divergent, both were the blue-Ray copies. I was able to watch Interstellar with no problems. However, the movie Divergent would not play. I wasted $2.00 and I would appreciate being given a credit for that movie. Thank you!

40

Loved Redbox at $1 for a rental but not so happy with the rate hikes. Moving on to Netflix rentals instead now that they have increased prices. Wish someone would contact their executives and let them know they are screwed.

40

Watching intersteller on Redbox and it keeps skipping sections! I wish that their movies were of higher quality but it sucks sometimes Redbox.

20

I rented Big Hero 6 at your kiosk in the Cumberland Farms Gas Station on bonston post road, orange, ct. I'm disappointed at the quality of the DVD, it was scratched up that it would freeze and skip every few minutes. It was irritating and unsatisfactory. I hope you guys could somehow check up on the DVDs in stock to make sure that they are in working condition.

20

Only had the movie our for 5 days and was charged $19. This is ridiculous considering that is 3.80 a night. Certainly not right!!!

60

I wanted to reserve two movies today and you said I had to change my password. I am 68 years old just learned how to reserve this year and I Loved it. Now you have made the password so hard I could not get on and even if I could I wood never remember it. Why do you have to make it so hard? I had to cancel my movies this morning because I could not get on site. This is the first time I have been unhappy with you all the years I have been using Red Box .

40

This is like the 4th time this has happened I rented a movie last night "The best of me". The movie froze 5 minutes into watching and I couldn't get it to work. I'm very upset as I work for my money.

40

i rent 5 movies on a friday night. i return 3 movies on saturday afternoon. return the other 2 movies on tuesday and redbox charges me me $14 dollars out of my credit card. i dont know why. there is no phone number to call them.

40

The selection of kids movies are poor and you need more choice. I tried to find lion king 2 and nothing came up you only have 6 disney movies. You need more selection of movies because people are not getting there money's worth. Disappointed

40

I rented Step Up Revolution tonight & it skips the whole time. It's not dirty. It's not scratched. I've read other posts about this movie not working. I think it's just a bad copy..?? Do I get a credit or a free rental? My husban is returning it now & getting something else. We rent almost every day & have not had this problem before.

40

I purchased the Reebok Crossfit Nano about 2 months ago. During this time I have had 2 toe nails turn completely green! They are literally the color of my green/purple sneakers! The dye has gone into my toe nails and can not be removed regardless of what I do. I would like either a credit or some sort of compensation for this.

60

The game we just rented (1/18/13) The Amazing Spiderman is so scratched that it is unreadable. I would like to not be charged for this game rental like I have been in the past.

60

Hi I wanted to post a complaint about redbox because I frankly think its messed up of them to over charge me for movies n then have movies in redbox that dnt even work and all they do to help is give u 2 free movies ummhh hello I've been renting from you for a long time and that's all I get seriously not even a im so sorry or my money back from previous charges and my unworking movies , ok but I don't think im guna be renting from redbox anymore.

40

I rented two movies from Redbox in September and the movies did not play in my DVD at home. So I returned one of the movies the following day and the other movie two weeks later. when I went to take the movie back the machine would not accept the movie. Here it is two months later and I have been charged for a movie that I feel like Im being accused of keeping and the customer service representative actually accused me of keeping this movie in which I know I did not keep or had a desire to keep. I am very offended by the rep and how he spoke to me about this movie. The customer representative name is Specene.

fist time ever using redbox, i loved it only rented twice, i look at my bank statement that week, it was at -107. WTF? So i call and ask them whats going on, the teller refunded me 3.40. i spoke to a manager and he was the rudest guy ever. he sounded like he didnt care that they were charging me, and all he kept saying was that they already refunded me 3.40... im never renting from there again.

20

Yesterday while reviewing my bank statement online I noticed a charge to my account from Redbox Rentals. I have been using their services for many years now and never thought of keeping tabs on my returns but now beware. I called the Company and spoke with a customer service lady Amber and she looked up my rentals. First she said that it was 2 movies that show that weren't returned. "The Devils Own" and " The Greatest Movie Ever Made". I said no to her that I did return them I rent several movies a week.

Then with her research she said "Oh I do show that we now have them ,it was the movie Jane Ere that we don't have I said no I returned that as well. I asked to be put through to a Supervisor and talked with her. She said that she can see by my excellent record that she would credit my checking account back.So the next day which is today Tuesday Oct.11th,2011 I went online to check my bank account balance and noticed that not only my account doesn't reflect the 28.00 in return but now they charged me 50 something on top of the 28.00 from my account.

I called again and asked to speak with a Supervisor her name is Lori. She told me that I owe for the movies that I just mentioned. Yes I was pissed and expressed my self so. She had a too bad so sad attitude about the situation. I asked to speak with her Supervisor and she said that "he doesn't get on the phone with customers!" So now I have nearly 90.00 stolen from my account which I can do nothing about until they take the money from my account then I have to file an complaint action through my bank which is Chase to get my money back from these Crooks. I calculated that I rent over 250 movies from them a year.

NO MORE the buck stops here! So far they show over 170 movies for the year 2011. They I found have many flaws in their rental system. why do they not have their machines print you out a receipt when you rent and one when you return the movie for your safety and records. You cant rely on them sending you a comformation letter receipt on a regular basis. They have lost a VERY GOOD Customer! It's back to Block Buster for me. Hopefully they won't go out of business like the rumors were awhile ago!!!!!!

60

The last time I rented was around January 2013, it is now August 13, Redbox has tried to bill my credit card every day since May for $40 saying it was late fees. I paid for the late fees already, and they continue to try and charge me. I called them about it and they were completely rude to me. They would not listen to anything I had to say and basically blew me off. I had to put a stop payment on my account to make it so they couldn't keep charging me. The representative I talked to with my credit card company said this is ridiculous and she has never seen Redbox do this before. Needless to say I will never rent movies from this company again.

20

I rented Step Up Revolution at a local redbox station and the dvd skipped and the picture was broken.I took it back and rented a different disc of the same movie and it does the same exact thing. I have really wanted to see this movie but I don't think its fair for me to have to waste more money trying to find a copy that will work.

There were no scratches on either copy and no finger prints or smudges so it must just be bad copies of the movie. Upset that redbox can't seem to get their DVDs fixed and in working order. I am furious and extremely disappointed with redbox!

60

We just got a blu ray and its damaged so we had to skip threw just to watch PART of the movie that we paid for. I would like to get some free blu rays rentals since I couldn't watch the one I paid for.

I don't like how Redbox allows damaged movies to be recycled through their system, it's frustrating to say the least. In the future if Blu Ray's are scratched or broken they should take them out of circulation and not allow them to be rented by customers.

40

I was charged for a reservation when the machine told me no reservation was found for my credit card. I had to re-rent the movies and got charged twice. I want a refund!

40

I made an online reservations for 2 movies, when I went to pick up the movies, the machine was out of order. I called the 800 number and was told I would not be charged PLUS they were giving me 3 promotional codes for my "inconvenience." The credit never came through and when I called them, I was told I accepted the promo codes in place of a credit "they don't give credits." I was very clear on the phone that I wanted the cc credited. They lied.

40

The last two movies I have rented quit playing shortly after they began. I'm really upset I have wasted my time and money! It's very aggravating to begin a movie you have waited to see then the movie won't play just as you get into it. Very upsetting!!! I would like a refund for both movies!! I love movies and all I use is redbox I can't believe it's happened twice in a row now. Hope to hear from you soon

20

Redbox machine where I'm supposed to return film (due today) won't accept the film. Says' error' even though I have done everything I"m supposed to. I then went to another machine, about a block away, same thing happened. Then tried called their free phone # and find it's not working and for only $2.99 I can connected to ??? I didn't do it. Meanwhile, my film is outstanding for return, Redbox has my credit card # (not good at all) and I have a film I don't want.

20

I believe this is the third movie in a row I've gotten that is scratched beyond forwarding. Unable to follow a story line due to skipping or freezing an already tiring user, should Blockbuster still be more available I would have already resigned using your services. I'll continue buying and trading bought movies. Check your inventory more often. This movie had not been out long enough for this...

60

This morning I looked at my account online and saw a hold for 53.09. I called Redbox and after about 15-20 minutes she was finally able to find a charge, with my first name (different last name) and the last 4 digits of my account number. I explained that the Redbox she says my card was used at was 10 miles away from where I lived. She advised that I needed to contact my back. I contacted my bank and together we called Redbox customer service back the gentleman I spoke to was SO RUDE! He said the charge was valid and that I would need to contact my bank.

He says the charge was in my name, I explained that the lady I had spoken to earlier said the charge was under a different last name...did she change to make it look like a valid charge? I am so upset. I don't have the money to waste on a charge in did not accrue!!! Now I have to wait 7 business days to dispute this through my bank. In the meantime...I will be short on my bills. I am so upset and want this rectified as soon as possible.

60

On 2 separate occasions I rented 2 DVD's and they did not work The movies I rented was: Creep Van Diary of a cheating woman I was wondering am not entitled to credit for these 2 movies. I really enjoy using Redbox and as cheap as it is, I still have NO money to give away. Terrible customer service from Redbox.

20

I made an online reservation with a credit card for 3 movies. I went to the location, with cc in hand, to get the movies and the error message stated that my card didn't match the reservation. I tried the card various ways to make sure I was swiping the cc right. I went back to my car to get another credit card & got the same movies as my reservation. When I got home to cancel the reservation, the website listed I couldn't cancel the reservation. I will be charged on a credit card $3,85 for 3 movies that earlier the box location stated the card didn't match the reservation.

I guess I don't understand when I am not making a mistake in the usage of your system for your product, why should I not be able to cancel a reservation. I should at least be told that I can not cancel an online reservation to remind me never to do an online reservation again. This is the second time this has happened to me. It may not seem like a lot of money but I am a college student away from home on Thanksgiving and I thought I'd treat myself today. It's really disappointing.

20

I haven't had cable for about 9 months now, so I have spent a lot of money renting movies. Lately about 75 percent of the DVDs I rent from Redbox will not play due to the amount of scratches on the DVDs. It's extremely frustrating to get home and pop in a movie just for it to say "error." I think that you should have a button on the kiosk when you return the movie that you can push telling that that DVD did not work, so that someone can come replace it. I rented 3 DVDs today and only one worked. As I said before this is not the first time this had happened. I will soon be switching to renting from the blockbuster kiosks if no one replies to this email and let's me know that this problem is being taken care of.

80

Redbox is the way to go for a cheap movie night in.  it’s great to watch a movie for only a dollar.  The many locations make it easy to return and I love that redboxes are located in my local grocery store as well as the CVS down the street.  Great idea and even better date night!

60

I assume when I write my zip code as the area I live in the only options coming up for holding the video will be in that zip code area.not out of state or . I have put on hold several movies that turned to be out of state. . I know I have some responsibility to look but just assume it will be in my area as Would it be possible for redbox to only put dvd's in the zip code area I've put in..

40

I rented two movies from Redbox to play on my DVD player that's not hooked to anything online. One move played fine the other kept freezing in spots I took the movie out and cleaned it but still not working. After calling Redbox customer service they were all hard to understand due to heavy accents, then they kept putting me on hold saying they were "testing from our side". After 16 min's and three different agents (the 1st hung up on me) I finally asked for a supervisor witch he quickly said " I am the senior rep, ma’am". I never got my issue resolved after asking for the same movie again. One agent even told me that I was being charged $10 per minute to speak with him, so apparently they have no QA department that monitors their work. I have replied "stop" to their text messages and will not get another movie. I will be praying for this company they have to know how bad this customer service is and don't seem to care. Shame on the owners (Coinstar) of Redbox, this is why we are seeing less and less of them. My suggestion leave the Redbox alone!!!!!!

40

For the second time in two months, my husband has had to cancel his debit card due to fraudulent charges from redbox. In December I found a $78.36 charge for rebox DVD rental pending in our bank account. Neither my husband or I had even rented a movie. After contacting our bank we learned that my husband's debit card number had been entered manually at redbox headquarters, call center, (whatever the place is called). Our bank could only go back 60 days but we were credited over $261.00 in fraudulent charges. Today, two weeks after the first card was cancelled due to this problem, there was another charge from redbox pending in our account. I immediately contacted our bank's fraud department and once again found out the charge came from manually entering my husband's debit card number. This card had just been activated a week ago! I highly recommend anyone who has seen even small charges, (a dollar here, three dollars there, etc.) that they are unfamiliar with, contact your bank. Please remove any credit or debit cards linked to redbox via your online account as well. If this company can make hundreds of dollars off of one person within 60 days, just think of the total amount fraudulently obtained by countless others!

40

I rented a movie today called August-Osage County at Redbox only to come home to find another scratched DVD. If Redbox wants to continue to get my business they need to do a better job of QA and checking the movies for errors, maybe even swap them out on a regular basis or work with customers to find the places that have the most problems. I take care of my movies, but maybe they should scan them for errors on the way in to the machine? Just a thought.

20

Redbox customer service is VERY RUDE.

40

I just purchased a redbox movie in hopes to go home and stay occupied while I was home with no cable or internet connection. As I open the movie I realize it was a blu-ray and I can no longer watch it. I am very unsatisfied only because blu-ray simply was not listed for this specific movie. In regards to Redbox at Hannaford Super Market in Hooksett, NH at 2140 hours.

40

Rainy days are great for watching movies. Too bad your screens don’t work in the rain. I have never experienced Redbox customer service that is this bad before.

 

60

After having rented and returned movies multiple times now I have noticed on multiple occasions that after I receive the charge for the movies another charge shows up in my bank account for more money, but I have no rented more movies. I tried to call the 800 number but got left on hold for 45 minutes!

40

After a long rainy day on a motorcycle benefit ride I reserved movie at the red box at dollar general on hwy 24 in Anderson sc. Not only could I not retrieve my movies that I have already payed for but I get soaking wet trying to get them! This is not convient in any way! Need to figure out how to use the kiosk in the rain! Very aggravating and inconvient!

40

I have been contacting Redbox for quite some time now trying to get them to see that some of their pratices can be easily misconstrued as racism. I have been a loyal redbox customer since 2009. I rent anywhere from 7 to 11 movies per week every week. I have noticed that over the last five months, Redbox has completely stop putting Black or Latino Titles in their kiosks in my area. When asked about this, I am told that due to lack of popularity, these movies are not made available in my area. I understand that business is about making money, but is also about satisfying all customers. not just a chosen majority. Like I’ve explained to Redbox; and this is fact. One Redbox kiosk holds a maxium of 700 DVD’s, Blu-Ray’s or Games.

Due to rental returns, a kiosk is never preloaded beyond 50% capacity, which leaves a max preload capacity of 350. Ottawa, Kansas, the city I live in is quite small compared to it’s surrounding cities. Ottawa, Kansas has 5 Redbox kiosks. A 350 preload space X 5 Kiosk = 1,750 spaces. Redbox releases every Tuesday morning by Midnight, all of their new movies. This last tuesday the released 16 movies Less than 60 seconds after Midnight, all of these movies were available in just about every kiosk in Ottawa with the exception of 3. … 2 Black movies and 1 Latino movie. (It has been the way for the last 20 weeks.)

You mean to tell me that Blacks and Latinos rate so low that we can’t have at minimum 3 out of 1,750 of their precious spaces? Wow! Unbelievable! I now travel a 60 mile round trip between 2 different Redbox kiosk every week; (Which are also both in predominately white communities;) to get the ethnic titles I want to see; though there are 5 Redbox kiosks in my community that are all less than a 4 minute drive from my home. Evey time I call Redbox and they look into my account, every service rep tells the same thing; ” I have never seen any one else that has come close to renting as many movies as you have! We really appreciate your business.” Well, they are very close to loosing that bussiness.

For 4 months I did not complain to Redbox customer service. I did not decide to say somthing about it until I heard other black people in line at the Redbox voicing aloud the same frustrations. I know that the more popular movies get more copies per kiosk and the lesser movies get lesser spots. But not even one spot per ethnic move? Just one? I don’t think that is asking a lot from your supposed best customer and his small handfull of minorities from his community. (It’s not like all the other movies they load up are blockbusters. I rent enough to know.)

40

I called Redbox complaint department asking why i was being charged 2.62 and an additional 11.90 for 2 days that seems rediculous. When i asked how much i was told that i need to take that up with my bank because i wasnt charged for that so my bank statements lied to me … Im very disatisfied. I have been overcharged and then talked to very rude by customer service lady lazett. I will not be renting from rexbox anymore. I have never had this much of a problem until now.

 

 

60

Can’t rent reserved movie cause it’s raining outside and the touchscreen doesn’t work. Would be nice if you could swipe your card and it would know what movies you are there to get….tried that just beeped at me. Touch the screen and cursor is somewhere else about 3 inches from finger and wouldn’t do anything

40

I rented taken 2 earlier today. I am trying to watch it and my blu-ray keeps spitting out. I tried updating my player but this still didn’t fix the problem. I have tried to watch on the other two player around but it won’t play. I also barrow my brother-in-laws PlayStation 3 but it still won’t work. I have run out of ideas and have concluded its a defective disc. The redbox barcode number is 429743966, the blu-ray serial is LY02 9661 22832980 E21208-06G 9615. I want my money back, I was looking toward to watching this movie. I have heard nothing but good reviews about it.

60

The redbox hasn’t worked since before christmas in Goldsboro NC I have to travel a good distance to get to a cvs store and I haven’t been able to use their redbox to get coupons. Is there and way to get the coupons w/o using the redbox? I can only go once or twice a week.

20

Can not return redbox dvd because “it always quits working when it rains”. Have to drive further to.return. no answer on help line and chat not not available. Won’t be renting from them again.

20

WTF why take time out of your day, a day by the way that was filled with many things to do. On your way home your mind ponders to a way enwhich you could just take your mind away from reality for a sec. You think to yourself a good movie to releive stress sounds like a good idea. So you hit your local redbox, grab yourself a pizza, you even allow your kids to invite some of there friends over.

All of this to get home and find out the movies you have rented were sooo scratched they weren’t even worth the energy you spent cleaning them over and over again! Thanks red box for a dissapointing evening! Just a concerned customer!!!! I am so frustrated I can’t tell how bad I wanted to yell. You pick up a redbox movie thinking it’s fine and been checked for quality, but more and more they are not. How are you supposed to enjoy movie night this way?

I wish somebody from red box corporate offices would see this complaint and fix the problem once and for all!

40

More oftent then not now, I am getting movies from Redbox that are scratched and they are not able to be watched all the way through. It’s very frusterating. The disc is scratched and then that makes the movie very hard to watch because it will skip sections in the movie. This is annoying. Redbox is a great idea but there needs to be more maintenance on the movies. Yes, it is only $1…or more now, but it’s very by customer service to rent movies you can’t watch because of low maintenance.

40

I too rented a movie about 3 weeks ago. A charge for 25.68 for redbox was posted to my bank account. I called redbox and allison told me a movie had not been returned and that is what the charge was for. I told her it was returned and she told me to check around my house to see if I might still have it and if I didnt she would have a service tech come out and see if it was stuck in the box somewhere. Regardless I wouldnt receive a full refund even if the service tech did locate the movie. As a courtesy she would refund me $10.00. I advised her I would be filing a complaint with the Governors Office of Consumer Affairs. I also told her I would be contacting my bank for a full refund.

She told me to do whatever I needed to do and thank you for choosing Redbox. I told her I would not be using Redbox again!!! PLEASE DO NOT RENT FROM REDBOX!!! THEY DO NOT ALWAYS GIVE YOU RECEIPTS SHOWING YOU HAVE RETURNED YOUR MOVIES EITHER. IT COULD HAPPEN TO YOU TOO…

40

I rented a movie from Redbox about a month ago, I returned it the next day before 9:00pm. I was checking by bank statment and I notice a $25.00 dollar charge from Redbox. So i called Redbox and asked why they charge my card, they said that I never return a movie the a rent amonth ago so, I told the guy that the movie was returned hi said no that the movie never was reuturned that I was the last person tha rented it. there is many complaints about this redbox company charging people’s credit card be careful. DON’T RENT MOVIES FROM THE REDBOX.

20

I have a complaint about redbox. I have tried to return my rented movies twice and do not want to be charged a third time by redbox for them. I would like the money to be put back on my card please as soon as possible so I don’t get charged anymore. I would try and take it to another redbox but i dont have a car and this is the closest redbox in walking distance to my house. I really hope that somebody can help on this matter thank you for your time. Chad.

40

I recently rented a Wii video game from Redbox for my kids, it was: “Lego Star Wars”. I returned it after 3 days and three weeks later saw a charge pending on my bank account for $52.00 I was like what the F@#$!! I called redbox and they said the charge was for Lego Star Wars that was never returned. I said that I did return it, they then said they could refund $15 back. I was like, “no, I am going to contact my bank and get the full $52 back”. But why offer to refund $15 if you know you are 100% in the right? Very fishy! I will never rent from these Redbox con men again!

40

Last Redbox dvds i rented from Silverspring downtown Fenton St. Redbox did not sent me a a return confirmation and a rental receipt. This is not good sign please respond asap!

40

I received a free rental code, due to expire today, 1/16/11. I attempted to use it today and it was not accepted. I verified code when I returned home, and I had in fact been entering it correctly!

60

You mean a redbox vending machine doesn’t carefully take the disc out of the case and clean the disc with a soft cloth, carefully put it back in the case and then clean the cloth? That’s about the only way to avoid unauthorized charges. The machine should have a pair of lips that come out and kiss your ass after every rental too. Cleaning the discs are pretty much a customer responsibility with redbox. You rent with the understanding that you may have to clean the disc before viewing. Thats why the instructions on how to clean the disc are on the cases. It’s a whole 20 seconds of work for you. What do you expect for $1? Quit being a lazy turd and complaining about unauthorized charges.

Have feedback for Redbox?

Thanks for your feedback!

Sorry. Please try again later!