Experian Customer Service
Rated 1.25 of 5 Stars
Based on 16 Complaints

Contact Experian Corporate

Toll free phone number: 1 714 830 7000.

Experian is a global leader in consumer and business credit reporting. The business is a constituent of the United Kingdom's FTSE 100 index, with total revenue for the year ended March 31, 2015 of US $4.8 billion. It helps businesses to manage credit risk, prevent fraud, target marketing offers and automate decision making.

The corporate headquarters for Experian is located at 475 Anton Blvd., Costa Mesa, CA 92626. If you have a problem you can call customer service at 1-714-830-7000. A second office is located at 955, American Lane in Schaumburg, IL 60173. That phone number is 224-698-5600.

Common customer complaints for Experian usually are about disputes in credits, security freeze, denied credit, identity theft and credit access.


Experienced poor service? File a complaint here!

Experian Contact Information

Report complaints to corporate and get satisfaction

  • Experian headquarters address

    • 475 Anton Blvd. Costa Mesa, CA 92626
  • Company website

  • 1-800 phone number

    1 714 830 7000.
  • Better Business Bureau rating

    A+

  • Customer service hours

    24 hours a day

Browse reviews of other Financial Services



Top Experian Complaints

Browse more than 16 reviews submitted so far

20

there was a charge of 23.76 taken off of my debit card on may 3 .i did not authorize this transaction and I would like to have a refund put back on the card. My mother is on disability and I am her authorized representative
.She is not capable of managing her funds and sometimes she will get the card out of my wallet without my knowledge and do things with it and doesn't know what she's doing . Her name is not on the card mine is. I want to cancel whatever she did and get the refund put back on the card. Her name is pamela Bailey. Thank You Chimera Nelson (daughter)

20

I have been trying to enroll in boost for over a month. They do not have my bank listed so I cannot join. I told them it was Palco Credit Union and they still have not added my bank so I can proceed.

20

I have written Experian 3 times now and still they have done nothing with each letter I wrote to them. I am trying to buy a home using my VA who requires all 3 Credit Bureaus Scores. I was able to get TransUnion Report and Score along with Equifax. In investigating myself and Mortgage Comp. I was told I have a Zero (0) for a score? I have done everything they asked me by contacting my Toyota Financial, Honda Financial along with 2 Chase Credit Cards AARP and my SouthWest Chase Credit Card along with USAA Credit Card and a Walmart Master Card.

Everyone of the folks I spoke to were nice telling me that every month one sends my report to the different Credit Bureaus including Experian. What I do not understand is Experian sister Bureaus TransUnion and Equifax have an updated Credit Report and a Score, and were gracious enough to pass both to my Mortgage Company who is helping me purchase a home. But am running out of time as the Mortgage company gives you so many days before you have to resubmit application and may have to pay 5.0% from the 4% I signed up for now!

I am writing you and asking for help, it seems I call and no one answers except for ONE (1) time she sent me same paper i received back in June 2018 and Dec 2018. It seems no one wants to help fix this problem there. I have written them on paper and on computer but nothing. I am told to write a letter then told to complain on Computer so figure can not hurt on Computer

Any assistance is truly appreciated, I dont want to lose this home I found, seems they do not care? Would send you a copy of TransUnion and Equifax but dont have it on computer, If you like can send you copy of everything

20

They cannot seem to temporarily lift my credit freeze on the phone or onlne. They want me to mail alot of intormation.

20

You refused to grant me a freeze on my personal credit report because I couldn't answer when I had bought or leased a car in the 1980s. The rest of the questions were a snap. The one about the car must be designed to help deny such freezes.
BTW, I got a credit report a month ago with a score of 842. Not bad. I don't want anyone to access that information without my permission because too many banks and others want my business and send me junk mail and emails.
Get rid of that stupid car questions.

20

The operator did not give me my order number. I suppose that it's not important but to me it is. I am a very organized person and wanted the order number for my records. Due to this I would give a rating of 0 stars.
I hope that my request to freeze my credit to prevent someone from opening a charge card in my name was honored. I am a victim of a scam attempt so I want to prevent this possibility.
Martha Elizabeth Bekken

20

I sent in the required documents to unlock my report, and they evidently did not receive the documents. I need my credit unlocked, and no live person to talk to. I answered all the security questions correctly, and they said I didn't. What a big mess! I've been trying to unlock my report for a month.

Garry 505-877-7912

Does anyone know how I can get a live person? I also entered the pin that I believe was issued to me, but that number isn't working either!

20

Experian took three weeks to close my membership account and in the meantime added another month to the services after I cancelled. This affected my credit score and they was unavailable to remove the charge and update my credit account with Merrick Bank. As a result my credit score has dropped almost 100 points.

20

Your automated phone system is malfunctioning. It will cut you off not allowing to input requested info. It will not allow you to request info or talk to a real person. Past emails requesting stating this and requesting a callback have be ignored.

20

I need someone to get in touch with me as soon as possible. My account have been charged every month going back to 2011, that is as far as I can check . Experian had been debiting my account without authorization. Please contact me.

Brenton King
954-445-0560

Thank you.

20

From: Sandy Austin
Sent: 11 April 2018 17:20
To: customerrelations@uk.experian.com
Subject: FW: Expression of dissatisfaction - URGENT RESPONSE REQUESTED
Dear Sirs

Your lack of response to a client’s complaint is very disappointing. Please acknowledge the following expression of dissatisfaction and advise details of your timescale to investigate and respond.

Thank you

Mrs Sandy Austin
Compliance Officer
Sent: 22 February 2018 11:01
To: client.feedback@insight.experian.com
Subject: Expression of dissatisfaction - URGENT RESPONSE REQUESTED

Dear Sirs

I have not received any acknowledgement from you in respect of my expression of dissatisfaction with the auto search that was conducted.

Please urgently confirm receipt and your timescale for response.

Thank you
Kind Regards
From: Sandy Austin
Sent: 31 January 2018 16:49
To: client.feedback@insight.experian.com
Subject: RE: Experian would like your feedback

Dear Sirs

We are dissatisfied with an Experian report and the response. (Please see following e-mail detailed below)

The individual who was incorrectly traced has lodged a complaint with STA International.

An address was originally submitted for the correct individual but the details provided by Experian were for someone with the same first and surname; however Experian advised a middle name and there does not seem to be any attempt to connect the address we submitted with the address that was given as a positive result?

As the search could not have been verified it should have been negative?

I await your further response

Thank you
From: Experian CS Application Support Comms [mailto:csappsupportcomms@experian.com]
Sent: 19 January 2018 16:56
To: Kim Stevens <kim.stevens@staonline.com>
Subject: Experian INC0375781

Good afternoon
You have raised the incident - INC0375781 with Experian to investigate how Autotrace and manual search returned different address for same person with same DOB. Only difference is that the autotrace has a middle name Lee.

We have verified the search details and found that autotrace search was conducted on Dec 29th by passing Name and Marden road address. Manual search was conducted on Jan 15th by passing Name and Horsley road address. We could see that applicant is enrolled on Voters at both address. Since applicant is enrolled on both address and search was conducted based on Name and address data returned from our side is correct.
We also have checked with our Voters team reagarding the address and after checking they replied that both Electors are registered at both properties, but couldn't tell if they are the same individual as DOB isn't included in the Council Data. Since the addresses aren't within the same Council our voters team think that they're possibly not the same individual.
Hope we have answered your query. Please let us know if you have any further queries.

Many thanks

Benedykt Maliszewski
Associate Application Support Analyst
Application Support
Experian

Experian | Riverleen House | Electric Avenue | Nottingham | UK |NG801RH

To log a new Application Support incident, or to obtain an update on an existing case, please contact Experian's Service Support Desk
TS.ServiceSupportDesk@uk.experian.com | T: 0115 934 4444

From: Experian [mailto:client.feedback@insight.experian.com]
Sent: 30 January 2018 12:39
To: Kim Stevens <kim.stevens@staonline.com>
Subject: Experian would like your feedback

Dear Kim

As part of our commitment to continuously improve our request service, we are writing to ask for your assistance in providing feedback on your experience relating to:
INC0375781
Software – Experian

Your opinion is extremely valuable to us. The information collated will be analysed and acted upon as part of our continuous improvement efforts.

Our partner Satmetrix Systems will be conducting the survey on our behalf, which will take less than 5 minutes to complete.

To access the survey, please click the link below.

Click here

Thank you in advance for your time.

Kind regards,

Experian

** Data Protection Notice **

Please note that your answers will be attributed to your organisation. This will mean that Experian management will see individually completed questionnaires, however please rest assured that your answers will be treated in the strictest confidence within the Management team, and only used to improve the services we provide you and to answer any concerns that you many express.

If you’d rather not receive survey invitations from Satmetrix on behalf of Experian, you can UNSUBSCRIBE with one click.

This survey is being conducted by Satmetrix Systems on behalf of Experian. Satmetrix Systems does not use this information for any other purpose. Satmetrix information privacy statement: http://www.satmetrix.com/privacypolicy/privacy.pdf. To contact Satmetrix Systems by mail: 1820 Gateway Dr, Suite 300, San Mateo, CA 94404, USA.

EU Respondents: The data collected from you may be transferred out of the European Economic Area (EEA) to be processed on behalf of and under the instruction of Experian by a third party data processor based in the USA.

20

I cancelled my membership in December 2016 and monthly payments are still be withdrawn. I tried using the main number but the message states there is a 2 hour delay. I waited on the phone the other day for an 1.5 hours with no response. I have been in touch with someone named Alicia on Facebook Messenger (from your company), and she confirmed I have no active account and that I must talk to a live representative. The number she provided to me says it is disconnected or out of service. At this point, I am requesting a live call from you to discuss this situation.

I look forward to your timely response.

David Boynton
401-741-5387
dab116@yahoo.com

40

I cancelled my Experian subscription to this service prior to the cancellation deadline in writing as requested. By email and written letter. They still charged me for at least 2 months of additional service claiming that I did not cancel the service. After providing the proof of written cancellation in writing again they continue to deny my refund for services after I cancelled the enrollment. This is a ploy to gain fees from consumers because they know we will not hire an attorney at a higher fee than the refund amount. Never will I recommend Experian as a service or company!

20

Legacy bank of Plano TX ordered a credit score from three companies including Experian. The credit score was fine but there was a social security number listed on the report that was neither mine nor my wife's so don't know if it was a typo or attempt at fraud. It is curious that the last four digits were correct but just digits off in the rest of it. Tried to receive on line and by phone but was unable to resolve but offer other services for a fee that I do not want. Very disappointed in the service! You can be sure I will be calling Experian customer complaints with my problems!

40

Experian continues to report negative information about my credit worthiness. I have complaint to their management on numerous occasions. But still, There is no charge from them. How can I file a complaint against Experian so other people know what they have done to me!

60

Getting credit is always easy but to manage your credit limits should be always careful. I prefer to plan my financial things every often and I would like to know my affordability status for my future expenses. It's been difficult for me to sit and draw the tables and i expected some professional to help me out in this. Experian helped me a lot to know my credit history, have a control on my financial situation, make informed financial decisions and also helped me to protect myself from identity theft. Thanks a lot Experian for making me understand my position and i would like to suggest you to have a word with Experian if you want to your credit affordability.

Have feedback for Experian?

Thanks for your feedback!

Sorry. Please try again later!