Chevrolet Complaints Continued... (Page 2)

116+ reviews added so far. Upset? Call Chevrolet corporate: 800-222-1020
40

Chevrolet Corporate Office Headquarters, 300 Renaissance Center, Detroit, Michigan 48265. On January 29, 2016 I took my car to Merollis Chevrolet Service Center located on Gratiot Ave in Eastpointe, Michigan because the passenger heated seat was not working. I explained to the Service Advisor Kristen Thompson that my seat was not staying on when the button was pushed. My car was left at the location for further investigation, I was taken to work and picked up from work, and was informed that the seat elements may need to be replaced and that the part needed to be order. Ms. Thompson indicated that she would call me when the part was in to set-up an appointment to bring my car back for repair.

I received a call from Ms. Thompson and was informed that the part was in, we scheduled the appointment for Thursday, February 4, 2016, I was told that it would take about 4 – 5 hours to repair my car, so I dropped my car off and returned home. I received a call around 2:00 p.m. on that day stating that my car was ready, I had the van pick me up and I got my car. My deductible was $100.00 so, I paid the amount and left the service center.

On February 9, 2016 I went back to the service center to inform them that my passenger heated seat was still not working, because when you hit the button, the heater stays on approximately 15 – 20 minutes before it cuts off and will not turn back on. When the car is turned off and turned on again, the heater button is pushed and stays on for a short period of time. Again I left my car at the service center and was told that they would look into the problem.

I informed Ms. Thompson that I needed a ride to work and I got off at 3:30 p.m. that day, she indicated that she would keep me posted as to where my repairs are. Ms. Thompson called me and indicated to me that according to the technician they could not find anything wrong with me car. After they started my car up and turned on the heater seat for approximately 45 – 60 minutes the heater did not turn off. (That is untrue and I know that the heater did not stay on longer than 20 minutes at one time).

Again she indicated that they would keep my car overnight and allow me to get a rental car for the next day so they could have another technician look at my car. When I got the rental car, Ms. Thompson did a walk thru with me and indicated that the car had a half tank of gas. When I started the car, I noticed that the car only had a ¼ tank of gas. Again I informed Ms. Thompson of this and she said OK just bring it back with a ¼ tank of gas. However, her demeanor was not so pleasant.

On February 10, 2016, I received a call from Ms. Thompson indicating that my car was ready for pick up and they could not find anything wrong with my heated seat. She stated that several technicians looked at my car and that they also contacted GM to see if a recall was done on the seat and was told NO. Ms. Thompson also indicated that my seat may be on a timer and cuts off automatically, and that maybe I needed to have someone over 100 pounds ride in my passenger seat because it may not realize the weight on someone less 100 pounds.

Well again, after all of that I found myself at Merollis at the service center on February 15, 2016 for my seat. I phoned Ms. Thompson on Friday, February 12, 2016 to let her know that I had a co-worker with me weighing over 100 pounds and of course the heater did not stay on after 20 minutes of us being in the car. I immediately contacted Ms. Thompson at the service center and informed her of this problem. I was asked when I can bring my car in, so we agreed on Monday, February 15, 2016, so once again I dropped my car off at 7:00 a.m. and got a ride home. During the course of the day, I did not hear from Ms. Thompson so I contacted her around 1:00 p.m. She indicated that no one has looked at my car due to the fact that it was Monday, and they had a lot of car there.

She did call me back around 3:00 p.m. and stated that they found the problem that I had a bad wire and they needed to repair the wire, so my car would be ready before they close at 8:00 p.m. However, that was not the case, my car was not ready on Monday, so I had to get another rental car which took place around 7:45 p.m. that night. Well my car was repaired on Tuesday, February 16, 2016 and I returned the rental car.

Well while they were testing my seat, Ms. Thompson contacted me and informed me that I had a left rear tail bulb out and they would charge me $35.00 to replace the bulb, I asked her why so much she indicated that the labor cost. The bulb cost $5.00 and they are charging me $30.00 to put the bulb in. I had a bulb in my glove compartment and they could have just shown me how to replace my bulb or just been kind to do it at no cost considering how inconvenienced I have been.

Here are my real concerns: I did not like the fact that I felt as if I was stupid because I am telling you that my heater is not working. I was asked indirectly if I know how to turn the button or if I am sure that I am turning the bottom on correctly. I was told that several technicians looked at my car and could not find anything wrong with my seat and that GM was contracted about a recall. (However, I had the same amount of gas in my car and no one drove my car, just started it up). I asked her to make sure someone starts my car longer than 20 minutes and she indicated that my car has been started several times and ran for 45 – 60 minutes and the heater never cut-off (untrue)

I did not like the fact that I was treated as if I was a bother to them, when I came into the service center more than two times within 10 days with the same problem like it was my problem. I did not like the fact that changing a bulb would cost 35.00 but checking to see if a wire was lose cost me 3 visit and 2 rental cars. I did not like the fact that I paid my deductible without a problem but unable to resolve my car issue in a timely manner.

However, as of February 17, 2016 my seat warmer seems to be working, this letter is not to put blame on anyone but to give you some of my frustration regarding my experience. I have taken my car to Merollis before and my experience was better. I would just like to know that every customer matter no matter what the concern or the issue may be. To charge me labor to replace a bulb that took 5 minutes is sad and to tell me that that you can’t find anything wrong with my car, that I am making up this is sad.

60

On March 22, 2014, my husband and I purchased a 2014 Chevorlet Traverse AND a 2014 Chevorlet Silverado valuing over $80,000.00 between both vehicles. We were completely happy driving them off the lot. The customer service at Jerry's Chevorlet Dealership in Weatherford, Texas was top notch, however, 2 days after I had the Traverse, the door lock actuators stopped working. I took it in to All American Chevorlet Dealership in Killeen, Texas to be inspected. They had to keep my car because they had to order a the part to fix the issue.

Meanwhile, I was without transportation. While they were fixing the vehicle, we had a bad hailstorm. I called before the hailstorm to check on the progress. I was informed that they were working on it and not to worry and that it was is in the repair shop. Later on, I called again to check on the progress. I was informed that they were in the middle of test-driving it IN THE HAIL STORM and that I would be responsible for any damages as it was an "act of God" and not their concern.

My husband spoke with Mr. Perez, the Service Manager at All American Chevy in Killeen, Texas. He asked Mr. Perez what could be done about the hail damage. Mr. Perez laughed and said that nothing could be done because it was an "act of God". My husband then asked to speak with his manager. As he was walking away to find the manager, he turned and asked my husband if the vehicle was purchased at All American Chevorlet. My husband advised him it was purchased in Weatherford, Texas. Mr. Perez then said, "Well, I guess you learned your lesson, didn't you?" Nothing came of speaking with the Manager as he backed up what his Service Manager said.

So, upon getting my car back, I had to take it in to have the hail damage repaired without any financial help from Chevy. It was over $4,000.00 worth of damages and I was without a car once again while the damages were being fixed.

My husband's 2014 Chevy Silverado had an oil leak because when Don Ringler Chevorlet changed the oil, they forgot to tighten the oil filter. We took a trip to Nashville and had to find out the hard way that the truck had lost over 3 quarts of oil. Luckily, we noticed the leak and immediately took it in to be looked at. It was not easy finding a dealership close by that was open on a Saturday morning.

We now refuse to use All American Chevorlet even though they are located within 10 miles of our home. Instead, we travel almost 30 miles outside our town for all of our vehicle maintenance. I have had problems with the heater and A/C not working properly. Sometimes when I turn the A/C or heat on, nothing happens. It's just quiet. I have to play with the dials a few times turning it on and off, but it will eventually kick on. Not the experience I expected from purchasing a brand new vehicle.

My car is currently in the shop again for issues with the engine, rear heating/cooling controls, and the vents are falling out of the ceiling. It has been in the shop for almost 2 weeks now and they still do not know what is wrong with it. We were told that they have to pull the engine apart and they cannot give an estimated time for completion. Both vehicles have less than 14,000 miles. My husband is in the process of taking his 2014 Silverado in for inspection because the 4-wheel drive is making a popping sound in the front end and the vehicle smells like oil when the heater is on.

We have always been Chevy buyers, but feel the current issues and poor service we have received are leaving us less than satisfied and may possibly turn to other manufacturers for future purchases. We wanted to make you aware of the issues happening in your dealerships in Texas and with the quality of the newer model vehicles leaving the plant with flaws. This is dangerous to your customers and could have cost lives if the vehicle(s) would have failed on the interstate.

The poor service from All American Chevorlet is by far the most damning to your company. There are many people in my area that feel the same way about their quality of service and also choose to buy their cars outside of Killeen, Texas because of this reason. We hope this problem is addressed and rectified. Thank you for taking the time to hear my complaint.

60

While planning to buy a new car, my friends recommended to go for chevrolet, only because they were fully satisfied with chevrolet performance. Considering your company’s reputation and no delay Service only I went for chevrole. But now I feel pity for this. I was a proud owner of "chevrolet aveo u-va" car till 29th Nov 2015.. But now, I am having bitter experience from your Thiruvananthapuram dealer "Deedi Motors Pvt. Ltd.".

Now let me, come to the point. On 30th Nov. 2015, I gave my Car for routine Service, to DEEDI, but on inspection they informed some major problems and requested for my consent to repair. Keeping in mind your company’s reputation, I agreed for this. The repair took about I Month. After repair, they returned back my Vehicle on 2nd Dec. 2015 claiming that they have completed all the problems and they Charged an amount of Rs.48,153/-. Without any hesitation I have paid the full amount. The Job details are (Copy of the Biil etc are attached herewith).

But sir, Vehicle started showing the following problems on my first drive itself and it was informed immediately. While driving the vehicle starts jerking like engine is not fired properly. Vehicle is not moving according to the acceleration. Discomfort due to this jerking. Deedi requested to check for few more days and report back. Since I was on tour etc, I was not able to contact for another two weeks. When I returned, I faced the same problems and I contact once again and they requested to bring the Vehicle for inspection. After inspection, they informed that these problems are not based on the work that they have undertaken and these are new problems and this new work will amount to another rs.10,000/- or more.

I strongly believe that the new problems cited are only because of the careless handling of my vehicle during the repair and I have lost faith in Deedi Motors Pvt. Ltd. So I request your intervention in this case and let your Engineers inspect my Vehicle and suggest, how to proceed. Expecting a speedy intervention in this regard from your side.

40

I am approaching you for problem regarding my car, I had registered a complaint at Chevrolet customer complaint division with complaint no.70479415. but was not satisfied with the reply i got. Firstly, i want to bring to your notice that no information was given to me on this and to my surprise when i called back to find out the status regarding my complaint i was told that the complaint was already closed. Is this the way a complaint is attended to by your customer service by blindly saying the complaint is closed, then for what is this cell for? I am sending you a copy of the letter that i sent to the Area Manager of GM. No one had the curtsy to reply nor respond to the mail that i sent.

This is with regard to my car Cruz which I have been using for past 7 Years. On 30th May 2014 my car had stopped all of a sudden on Mysore highway at 81400km in the middle of the road. I was told that it was a clutch failure and the whole thing was replaced at my cost (approx 100000). Again by 14th Dec 2014 the same problem occurred and the second time clutch was replaced though reluctantly under warranty at 94913km. Now it's not even a year since the whole part was replaced again the same problem has come up. Mr. Naveen and team of Trident Chevrolet servicing centre,kalyanagar have informed me that all the parts of the clutch has completely worn out. If it was the clutch problem I would have got at least a clue like less pickup or over rising or anything, I did not have any such problem and all of a sudden the vehicle comes to a halt.

60

I bought a Chevrolet Cruze last year on the 3 March and in June it had a break down was towed to CMH East Rand where I originally bought the vehicle. I requested a meeting with dealership principal and new car sales manager to inform them of my dissatisfaction of their product and I informed them I had paid for a new car. It was too soon for the car to have issues to which they responded to my complaint to say there is no way they can exchange the car they can only fix it till this day the car is still having problems. Now I am looking for the Chevy complaint line so that I can escalate this to corporate. The most recent issue is the car needs brake pads, its too soon for me to be replacing brake pads.

60

I first bought a ball joint for a 2000 Chevy truck, it was wrong size. I take it back and buy the complete upper control arm and it is wrong, they do not have the right one of those either. I paid with a debit card and cannot get my money back for two days. I have to work tomorrow and my truck is tore down and I have no money to buy the part from someone else. Again I paid with a debit card not a credit card. I will miss work tomorrow and that will cost me $400, all over $110 that cannot be refunded to me so I can go buy the part I need. Is this company policy? If it is, its a poor excuse for a policy. I need my money NOW.

60

I am having a Chevrolet beat & problem in ignition switch. So I went to service center situated at kangra Himachal Pardesh India & told them about the problem. And services center people told me that I have to replace ignition switch. Then they told me that I have to deposit advance money 2000 Indian rupees for ordering the ignition switch so I deposited advance then they told me to come after one week but 45 days over and my vehicle is of no use since last two months. I am totally disappointed with the service center working n behavior. Now service center people are not even picking up phone. Already sent mail to Chevrolet service department but no required action is taken. And now there is no value of my car. Totally frustrated n disappointed.

40

I was led to believe I was going to receive a discount on a truck hitch and I was going to receive other items at dealer cost. The wording was vague on the closing but I took the salesman at his word. Very disappointed with Morlan Chevrolet in Sikeston mo. The salesman name is Bryd and the finance manager was not very honest . Will not buy another vehicle from Morlan.

60

On my 2010 Malibu that only has 66,000 miles on it. The issue I have is the Drivers Door Actuator does not work and I can not open the door from the outside or the inside. I have to crawl over the center console to get out of the vehicle. I have my car going into Acton Chevrolet to have it fixed. Most of the work is covered under my extended warranty I have. The part that is not covered is the door panel? The dealership told me that they will need to take out the drivers seat to work on the door because it will not open. they said sometimes the panel will break and that I would have to pay for a new door panel.$300. That is so wrong at so many levels. To me that is a big safety issue that I can not get out the door and have to climb over center console.

40

I was contacted by Chevy that my lease is almost up and I should lease a new 2015 Chevy. Everything sounded good so I handed in my old lease on April 25th. The lease still had 4 months remaining which,as part of the incentive, chevy would take care of. Long...long..story short I contacted GMFL on May 11th and was told nothing was paid against my account and that I am still liable for the remaining 4 months.I contacted chevy and they insisted that they did everything right and that the mistake lies with GMFL.

GMFL told me that Chevy said that they took possession of the car the day I called. I actually handed the car back on 4/25..not 5/11... Now GMFL is telling me that if I do not make any payments that they will report the no payment to the credit agency. I was in a panic. I had three way callings and all to no avail. Finally the chevy dealer admitted that they forgot to put my account number and name on the check. Well finally today June 8th I finally received notice that my loan was paid up. I have gone through so much pain and anguish over this. I hate looking at the car and cannot wait for these three years to be over. I hate chevy and GM... P.S. when I tried to contact GM to get some relief.

40

I bought a 2007 Chevy Tahoe LTZ White in October 2010. Since last year the paint on the vehicle is blistering, starting first with the passengers side quarter panel and then the drivers side fender. Currently it is blistering on all 4 fender wells in unison. I had the initial blistering/peeling/flaking repaired thinking that it would be fine, however the repair did not last even 6 months. Again peeling in large sections! At the onset I asked the dealer, where purchased to contact Chevrolet with the issue. They said they did, however, did not. This is now a major paint defect issue and refuse to do anything about it. I have contacted Chevrolet Customer Assistance. They have filed a defect report and given a case number, stated that this would be presented to the Dealership Customer Assistance liason. Service Manager called back today with every excuse in the book, as to how he can do nothing with this problem! This is a $55,000 vehicle and they can do NOTHING! I will not be buying another CHEVROLET product. This is the 5th CHEVROLET in this household!

60

I have many complaints! I have only had this car less than a year and I have had nothing but problems. My biggest problem is it just dies while i am driving 65 down the road and now it will not start AT ALL! It will crank and act like it wants to start but won't. Also I was checking the oil and as I leaned against the car I got shocked! We have replaced the passenger side tail lights 4 times and it still don't work. I could continue but don't have all day and night to do so. I have 2 children and this IS NOT A SAFE CAR! I am very close to turning this over to BBB but figured I would give this a chance first. Something needs to be done.

20

"Several months ago I purchased a 2011 Camaro RS Convertible and about a week later I purchased a Equinox LS. Both of these vehicles were purchased because of the fuel mileage advertisments. The averages are not even close. My Daughter drives the Equinox in mostly rural areas as a Physical Therapist performing home health services. She is a good driver and a fairly conservative driver but only gets an average of 23.5 MPG. My Wife drives the Camaro 60% town and 40% highway and is only averaging 17.8 MPG. When I drive it it is about 90% highway and I know how to drive conservativly, I get 17.4 MPG out of my 02 Silverado 1500HD, 31 MPG out of a 2008 Saturn Sky Red Line we had that we traded on the Camaro and 24.2 MPG on a 1996 Impala SS we traded on the Saturn Sky in 2008.

The best I can get out of the Camaro on the highway driving 68 MPH in a 70 MPH speed limit is 23.3 MPG. There is a serious problem here. I have driven GM of Chevrolets mainly since 1961 and have never had a serious complaint until now. What will Chevrolet do to get this mileage up? A friend of mine told me his SS 6 speed got 24.7 MPG on the highway but he drives it pretty hard. There again, this is rediculous. I am checking on who to talk to about the false advertising on 2 of your new vehicles. Do you have any comments? A VERY UNHAPPY Chevy owner, Ken"

40

I have a 2010 Chevy HHR. The warning light for the traction control keeps coming on for no reason. I brought it to a mechanic and he said it was a quick fix that a clip above the brake peddal was broke. He replaced it and it went off and was fine. Today I noticed my break light comes on when I accelerate, and it doesn't come on when I hit the break unless I have the break peddal all the way down. HAS ANYONE ELSE HAD ANY PROBLEMS LIKE THIS?

20

In may 2011 Gm sends out a letter informing people about #10240: Special Coverage Adjustment-Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning Blower Not Fully Functional or Inoperative - (May 9, 2011) Subject: 10240 - Special Coverage Adjustment - Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning Blower Not Fully Functional or Inoperative Condition On some 2003-2006 model year Chevrolet Avalanche, Suburban, Tahoe; GMC Yukon, Yukon XL; and 2003-2007 model year Chevrolet Silverado and GMC Sierra vehicles equipped with a manual heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system (CJ3) or heavy duty heater (C42), the interface between the electrical terminals of the relay resistor module and the wiring connector that powers the module may be incapable of conducting higher current levels for sustained periods of blower motor operation. In addition, moisture and other contaminants may enter the fresh air intake plenum and contact the internal circuit of the module or corrode the terminals.

If any of these were to occur, the relay resistor module or wiring connector could overheat and the HVAC blower may not function on certain blower settings or may be inoperative. This may be accompanied by a burning smell or smoke. Special Policy Coverage Adjustment This special coverage covers the condition described above for a period of 10 years or 150,000 miles (240,000 km), whichever occurs first, from the date the vehicle was originally placed in service, regardless of ownership. Dealers are to install a new blower motor resistor and resistor module connector. The repairs will be made at no charge to the customer. For vehicles covered by Vehicle Service Contracts, all eligible claims with repair orders on or after May 10, 2011, are covered by this special coverage and must be submitted using the labor operation codes provided with this bulletin. Claims with repair orders prior to May 10, 2011, must be submitted to the Service Contract provider.

Vehicles Involved Involved are certain 2003-2006 model year Chevrolet Avalanche, Suburban, Tahoe; GMC Yukon, Yukon XL; and 2003-2007 model year Chevrolet Silverado and GMC Sierra vehicles equipped with a manual HVAC (CJ3) or heavy duty heater (C42). Important: Dealers are to confirm vehicle eligibility prior to beginning repairs by using the Applicable Warranties section in the Global Warranty Management system. Models: 2003-2006 Chevrolet Avalanche, Suburban Tahoe 2003-2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2003-2006 GMC Yukon, Yukon XL 2003-2007 GMC Sierra Equipped with Manual HVAC (CJ3) or Heavy Duty Heater (C42).

It's like these service people do not want to do the work. Now I having the problem and they know what I'm talking about and act like they know nothing and are trying to charge me 321.00 for the repair.I was still waiting for one service department to call and it's been four days. This was after they told me they would call and set up a time for the next day. I have brought two silverados in the last 12 years and will now go to toyota. Lousy experince.

40

I have a 2003 chevy impala that has a problem with abs and traction lites staying on. i keep bringing it back to belize chevy in warwick ri and get charged $100 for a engine diagnostic and every time it comes back censors or harnessing wire. so every time i get it fixed. so i replaced every censor and harness wire and every time it happens again and again even after it is fixe. so after $5000.00 of repairs it still is not fixed and i cannot keep paying for the test and the same repairs. You cannot tell me that they are doing a good job because the computor says what is wrong .how much more should i spend . i am not happy

Have feedback for Chevrolet?

Thanks for your feedback!

Sorry. Please try again later!