Whirlpool

Latest Complaint

Linda Disalvatore
01-18-2015 11:26 am
60

We purchased a Whirlpool electric range Model GFE461LVQ60 in May of 2012. We had purchased a 2nd home and were having it renovated in anticipation of selling our 1st home. We did sell the 1st home in Oct. 2013 and moved Oct. 20th, 2013. Two days later I had extensive surgery that left my leg in a cast for 6 months. Needless to say, I didn’t do much cooking. Fast forward to December 25, 2014 (Christmas morning with seven guests arriving in five hours), I turned on the oven at 8:00 am to cook a turkey, the oven began to heat up and then quit. When the repairman came out a few days later he said that the control board was shot and it would be approximately $400.00 to replace it, (two weeks to get the part) about the same as a new range. We try to purchase American made product’s, so far, two out of the five products we purchased that were made by your company have had problems within a year’s time. We have had to purchase a brand new range as a result of the poor workmanship and even worse quality control. We feel that at a minimum, you should reimburse partial payment of either the new or old range. Your product should last more than the year we were able to utilize it.

Do you have a problem with Whirlpool?

Customer Rating
2.25 out of 5
12 Complaints

Contact Whirlpool

Corporate Address



Phone Number

Website

www.whirlpool.com

More Whirlpool Complaints

Complaints Department
03-24-2014 11:00 pm
40

Tried our brand new range 3/22/14. Turned the oven on at 350 for 30 minutes. Waited for the “new smell” to burn off. Then set the temp at 375 and put in a frozen lasagna dinner. 25 minutes later the inside oven door window exploded into the oven. Found out the outer window usually explodes.

Received our 2nd new range today, 3/25/14. Very concerned about this, apparently common, problem. Would like to know why this happens and why there are no product warnings, and why nothing is being done to change it.

Complaints Department
03-17-2014 11:00 pm
60

After 7 engineer visits to fix the Control Panel on my cooker, I finally gave up. The last visit, the engineer got the oven to pre-heat, to which, we both thought it was finally working. It wasn’t. After pre-heating, the oven cooked for 30 minutes then stopped. I had to re-set the oven and stay within hearing distance to keep re-setting it. The insurance I had said they would replace if couldn’t fix it, the engineer kept saying it could be fixed when I know it couldn’t, because each time the engineer left, the cooker started playing up again. Seven visits was a complete joke. I have today cancelled the policy and would not purchase a Domestic and General policy with Whirlpool again because of their very poor failure satisfy the customer.

Disclaimer: This complaint was submitted by Patricia Rodgers on 03/18/2014 at IP address 82.31.143.25 using our Whirlpool complaint form. This opinions contained in this Whirlpool customer review titled, “Oven” do not reflect the opinions of this website.

Complaints Department
04-09-2013 11:00 pm
20

I have an energy efficient washer and the solid black laundry always requires two rinses. I have reduced the detergent to the point of using hardly any. I use the detergent that is made for the washer. The machine is not overloaded nor underloaded. I have done laundry for 50 years with various types of machines and this is the worst machine I have ever had. It is also the most expensive. My husband thought that I surely was not using the machine correctly since we always thought highly of the Whirlpool brand. So, he did the laundry and the same thing happened. Please respond with a remedy.

Complaints Department
02-25-2013 11:00 pm
60

I purchased a Whirlpool front loader Duet washer and dryer at Sears around 10/2011. My Dryer model # WED94HEXW starting making a loud thumping noise yesterday and not taken out the extended warranty I called a repuable repair company that contracts with Whirlpools warranty Dept and is Whirlpool certified. The repair man was shocked to have to tell me that after 17 years of servicing Whirpool Dryers he had never seen a dryer of any brand with a seperating tub starting to slowly crack down the middle along with both felt tubs also needing to be replaced. He stated that it’s just impossible 13 months old it had to be a factory defect. Not to mention the dryer is in perfect condition and is only used maybe 2 x per week. The cost of the repair is almost the same as buying a new dryer. I called Whirpool and got no customer support. I would have no problem had the repair been something standard. The customer serives manager at Whirlpool even told me he had only heard of one other case like mine but could not do anything to help me.
I can not afford to buy another dryer is there any other help I can seek out. I will never buy another item from Sears . Had Sears appliance department even made an effort to help me purchase the set let alone the warranty I would not be up against a wall. I would call Whirlpools CEO if I could locate
his number.Do I have any legal leg to stand on.

Complaints Department
01-14-2013 11:00 pm
60

I am D.Arockiadass (Regd mobile no:9962673873)from chennai who is an unfortunate customer of Whirlpool washing machine. I have purchased a whirlpool washing machine from NEXT showroom, MTH road, Ambatur, Chennai on 30.10.2012 and at the time of purchase I was promised that I will recieve a scratch card offer from whirlpool with in 10 days which carries a minimum gift of a Iron box or maximum up to Rs. 2,50,000 /- worth gifts. Now it is already 2 months has gone from the billing date but still I am getting the reply that the dealer (i.e. NEXT) has not received the scratch card or gift items from whirlpool. Is it a real offer or a fraud offer from the product manufacturer and the selling dealer.

Complaints Department
01-02-2013 11:00 pm
60

We bought a Whirlpool side by side refrigerator to the tune of $1200. We were offered an extended warranty but declined to pay the additional $400. 15 months later it won’t keep anything frozen and the refrigerator section is barely cool. We called our local repairman. The first thing he asked after his inspection was if we bought the extended warranty. He went on to say he has had many calls on less than 2 year old Whirlpool refrigerators and they stopped warranty on the “sealed system ” at 12 months a few years back. Sealed systems used to extend to 5 years but not any more. It’s going to be between $500 and $700 to repair. We called whirlpool and they claim no issues with their units and basically said we were stupid for not buying the extended warranty and refuse any coverage even though this is only 2 months past warranty and basically the refrigerator is junk. Why shouldn’t a refrigerator last longer than 14 months and if properly built why should I feel the need to buy their over priced extended warranty? In talking with friends since we have found many people who have had the same experience with their Whirlpool refrigerators.

Complaints Department
11-19-2011 11:00 pm
20

This is regarding a complaint againist a service engineer Kiran who works at sahakarnagar and reports to suneel (9243578060). Last month my wahing machine board crashed and I called up Kiran as he told me he will service and as its borad he willl replace the changed one once it gets damaged in future. I used to conatct customer care, as he promised and he serviced prioror to this case as well I trusted him and he replaced the board with a cost of 3300 + 280 of his service charege.. Now once again the board crashed and this Mr Kiran is not answetring the call, I called to customer care that time I noticed he dint updated previous service details.

Now again I don’t want to shell the money, I need some body to resond on this and I hope I will get board replaced. Whirlpool will loose the brand name and customer satisfication if he continues in this.

Complaints Department
10-31-2011 11:00 pm
20

I bought a Whirlpool washing machine from Comet in March this year. It has developed a problem which can only be describes as the noise of a cement mixer full of bricks. Only when I rang Whirlpool to get it looked at, I found out that Whirlpool had sold the repair agreement to Comet. They were supposed to be repairing it this morning, but rang to say their engineer had gone sick and next week was the only earliest repair day. It is important to know that when buying anything big who will repair it if it goes wrong. Who knows how many sub contractors could get in the chain. Whirlpool should never have been allowed to sell service contracts like this. BEWARE

Complaints Department
07-12-2011 11:00 pm
20

On May 11, 2010, I purchased a Maytag washing machine from Lowe’s On June 22, 2011, the machine wouldn’t empty out on the rinse cycle. Lowe’s was called, as the machine was only one month out of warranty. They dispatched Appliance Plus for a service call which would be $80.00 just to diagnose the problem. Turns out the machine needs three parts; a Timer, an ATC switch and a Rinse switch. All totaled, this will add up to over $300.00, plus the $80.00 for the service call.
Appliance Plus tried to contact Whirlpool to see if Whirlpool would at least pay for parts, being it was only one month out of warranty. The answer took 5 days and the request was denied.

I was told I should contact Lowe’s Service Advantage and maybe they could contact Whirlpool for a special consideration, again, being it was only one month out of warranty. I made the call and they said to give them two business days turn around for an answer. On June 30th, Lowe’s said Whirlpool was looking for the serial number and I provided it. They said give them another 2 business days turnaround. On July 3rd, I again called Lowe’s and they informed me that they still hadn’t heard from Whirlpool. Finally, on July 7th, I received a call from Lowe’s saying Whirlpool denied the request.

I have to tell you how extremely disappointed I was, as this machine is only 13 months old. As consumers, we invest our hard earned money in name brands that we trust and expect that they will last us for years. THIS, is unacceptable and the unprofessional way it was treated is deplorable. Now, I am in the market for a new washer and I can assure you, that not only will I not purchase another Whirlpool/Maytag product; I will spread the word that your company is worthless.

Complaints Department
04-13-2011 11:00 pm
60

Buying the extended warranty from Home Depot on my Amana (Whirlpool) washing machine was a complete waste of money. I put in my first service call, got an appointment for TWO WEEKS later (imagine 2 weeks worth of laundry piling up) on a Saturday between 8am and noon. Needless to say, I waited until 1:30pm and NO ONE showed up. I called the company and they said they have no way of contacting the technicians and that “if I had nothing to do, I could maybe wait longer”. The following Monday I was called by Whirlpool to make sure someone really didn’t show up.

I confirmed and THEN they told me (for the first time) that their technicians don’t even work on Saturdays so they had no idea how I got that appointment in the first place! They couldn’t do anything but book me a weekday appointment TWO WEEKS from now, (which will be almost 5 weeks since I called them in the first place). So now, I have to take a half day off of work, use vacation time, and pray that someone shows up. They did absolutely NOTHING for me except tell me (in tandem, on a conference call with Whirlpool and some other person) that they couldn’t narrow down my 4 hour window and I should be grateful as some companies don’t give such narrow windows and I could be waiting all day.

I’d rather have saved the money I paid for the extended warranty and called a private company to repair my machine. At least they would have respect for a paying customer with no wash machine for over a month.

Complaints Department
03-26-2011 11:00 pm
60

I’ve taken an extended warranty from Whirlpool for my washing machine. I have extended my warranty and I got 1’st service request registered on a long time ago the people said they will send their engineer in 24 hours. nobody came till late in the month, then i phoned whirlpool again to ask for service, they again said today our engineer will visit at your place. Nobody came to check it out. Since November, I am calling them twice a day they are answering the same. Now I am really feeling very frustrated. Can something be done against whirlpool or who ever is responsible for this put off action. I want some suggestions please, best regards.

Companies Like Whirlpool