Vivint Customer Service
Rated 1.12 of 5 Stars
Based on 25 Complaints

Contact Vivint Corporate

Toll free phone number: (844) 334-7541

Vivint is a trusted brand in the market that provides energy management, home automation, local cloud storage, and high-speed Internet solutions. They provide service to over 1 million customers across United States and Canada. Simple, cost effective solutions that suits the budget of the individual is their moto.

The founder and CEO of Vivint is Todd Pedersen. You can contact Vivint head offices by calling 801-377-9111 or writing to their corporate address at 4931 North 300 West Provo, UT 84604. If you need assistence immediatley use their email address at customersupport@vivint.com.

Common issues with Vivint are about smart locks, home automation, burgulary detection, outdoor camera, doorbell camera, smart control, protect options, and cloud storage facility.


Experienced poor service? File a complaint here!

Vivint Contact Information

Report complaints to corporate and get satisfaction

  • Vivint headquarters address

    • 4931 N 300 W
    • Provo
    • UT
  • Company website

  • 1-800 phone number

    (844) 334-7541
  • Better Business Bureau rating

    A
  • Customer service hours

    24 hours a day

Browse reviews of other Security Systems



Top Vivint Complaints

Browse more than 25 reviews submitted so far

20

On Friday, June 7, 2019, I had one of the worse and most frightening encounters with a sales rep (James McEachern #59850) from Vivint, Inc., who cursed me, threatened and dared me to call the police on him because “he was a white man”. I heard a knock at my door so I looked out of my kitchen window and saw what I thought was my daughters car so I immediately went to the door and opened it only to find a white gentleman standing on my porch who looked every bit of a sales person. Even though there are signs posted all over the development where I live that soliciting is prohibited we get sales persons very often. I told him “no thank you” and I shut my door. After closing my door, I could hear him from inside my home yelling and cursing. I then open my door and told him to get off of my property and that if he didn’t leave, that I would allow my dogs to attack him and closed my door. Still, he’s standing on my front porch, belligerent and disrespectful. I opened my door and demanded him to get off of my property and leave the premises of my home or I would get my shotgun. Instead of him leaving in peace he told me “I’m a white man call the police I dare you”! And in a very condescending manor, he even offered to call the police for me saying “I’ll call them for you” and appeared to be dialing on his cell phone as if he was calling the police. I told him not to threaten me and dare me to call the police and demanded him to leave me alone and told him that at this point he was trespassing and harassing me and that I felt threatened. I told him that he had no right to knock on my door trying to force anything on me that he needed to say or was to sell. He continued to trespass and curse me telling me that he wasn’t selling anything and that he was with the “county”. This continued even after I told him I was not interested and told him to get off of my property. I told him that I didn’t care who he was with or what he had to say, and if the county needed to reach out to me that they would send a letter. He continued to disrespect me in the most threatening manner and would not leave my property. He then told me that “he will not ever knock on my door again and that no one from his “company” would knock on my door”! He continued to curse me in front of my property, on my property and in front of my neighbors. I called the police and will be filing a formal complaint for trespassing and harassment. This person presented himself as if he was in the right. As if he had the right to knock on my door, at my residence where I live, and to force on me, whatever it was that he needed to say or sell and threaten me with calling the police because he was a “white man” even after being told several times to get off of my property. His behavior was very intimidating, frightening, threatening and out right disrespectful. Is this how Vivit trains their sales reps? To be demanding, intimidating threatening, and belligerent in order to make a sale? As a woman, I felt very fearful of whatever his intentions might have been. And with him daring me to call the police because he was a “white man” sent a message to me that this man believes that he can do whatever he wants because he is a “white man” and is above and protected by the law for his disgusting actions. This man’s actions inflicted fear upon me. I was very afraid as I did not know who he was and what his intentions were as he was very intimidating, forceful and belligerent all while representing Vivint, Inc.! At this point I feel that he is capable of ANYTHING. I’m thinking he is someone to perhaps come back and try to rob my home, rape or kill me! I have no idea at this point because his story was conflicting and his actions were beyond frightening. I didn’t find out his name or the company that he represented until the police arrived and obtained that information. The police instructed him to leave and to not return to my residence and told me that if he did to call them and that he will be arrested for trespassing.

Threatened, disrespected and in fear

20

I was told to leave all my old equipment at apartment and to upgrade but was lied to about certain fees . . They don’t try to keep a customer. Some are not very nice some are but they aren’t understanding.

20

I have been ran off of two jobs because of your stocking temp service.Tell them to leave me alone.

20

My security system has been offline since 04.09.19. I noticed my cameras were offline on 04.11.19 after attempting to view cameras on my iphone. I called Vivint customer service and spoke with Gail who after one attempt to reboot my system informed me that I had a problem with my internet and that I needed to call my internet carrier regarding this. This lady had no intention of helping me & seemed very bored to be quite frank. I told her nevermind, I would just wait and that maybe miraculously the service might return to online... I decided I would call back the following day. The following day I called back and spoke with Carson ID#66209507. When I explained my issue Carson informed me that Gail had provided inaccurate customer service and that he would forward a complaint (do not remember to who - manager maybe??). Carson informed me that in order to have a technician out we had to go thru a series of attempts to fix the problem. When the system would not return online, Carson stated we could at this point request a technician. We schedule for the next day 04.13.19 between 12-4. I adjusted my work schedule to accommodate this appointment time. On Saturday after being home for a few hours waiting for the technician I noticed I had a voicemail that stated the technician would not be out. I called customer service and was told that per the manager "Christopher" (rep. stated he did not know Christopher's last name) the technician had a family emergency. This is the second time that I have been cancelled due to a "family emergency". This is blatant failure to be able to service my account according to my contract. I pay you people every month, therefore I expect to have my service up and running. The rep stated he would provide one month of free service... I don't need a free month, I need my service up and running!! My entire family works 30-45 minutes away from home, this is the reason we have opted for security service. I have watched your technicians work at my home so that I could reboot/troubleshoot the system myself to avoid having to call a tech out. At this point I do not trust Vivint is able to protect my family should a real emergency occur. I'm not sure if the problem is that you do not have enough technicians to carry out the work load & quite frankly this is not my problem. I asked for Vivint corporate office phone number I was provided #800-216-5232, clearly not the corporate office number... If you give a damn at all TODD, here is the case#66209507 (provided per Carson), the technician with a family emergency was, per the rep Pedro Avila, the manager was Christopher (without a last name...) & Carson's id#163662. At this time I have been trying to get thru to Corporate. I have been speaking with Beverly Walton who after lengthy discussion has informed me that she is attempting to have a tech out today after 5:00pm. TODD, I believed in your company enough to allow your representatives into my home to talk me into investing in YOUR security system. I took the bait. I now expect you to do your part and provide me my service as per the contract I signed. Otherwise, I request to terminate services with Vivint, due to the fact that you do not have the capacity to be able to service Vivint accounts. Let me also state that Carson & Beverly were wonderful on the phone & provided excellent customer service. You should peek your head into your customer service department you've got some very unqualified, unwilling employees. You should also look into your field - every tech that has been into my home is pleasant & has resolved the issue (except one). I am confident to say that you do not have enough help in this area. What are you doing about it??? If you were any other company I would give as much a damn, but my family depends on you to keep them safe. That my friend is priceless. I will await, hopeful that a tech will be out today. Otherwise, as I have stated please cancel my service so that I may look into other security options.

Yvonne Castillo

20

This is the worse contract to get in you can not get out of your contract they tell you that you sign up for 2yrs and to find out it's 3 yrs I called them a month before there 3 yr contract was up stateinh I no longer wanted the services the lady was so nice she told me it was taken care of I believe her but Feb and March they took my money my daughter and I called they apolize said it would be taken care off but this morning they took another payment I believe they has a scam going on and they are getting away with it don't take a liken to them talking nice to you it's there way of pulling your legs 3 of my frienfs told me after I had sign up with them that it was a bad decision it was the worse contract to get out of

20

Called about moving a system to new home. Was not satisfied with answer. Customer service rep says she spoke to supervisor ....
I ask to speak to supervisor, was put on hold. Waited 7 minutes then line was disconnected.
2nd vall today. 2.27.19

20

We have been a customer for quite awhile. I called your service number a couple of months ago, about a couple of issues. They would not put us on a list for service, they wanted to talk about issues and sending me equipment for repairs. I will not do repairs to existing equipment. If you don’t want to send a service rep you can cancel our account. I’ve had others approach us to change providers. If I don’t hear from you soon, I will again contact you to cancel our service. Rick McWhorter 909 Cleveland Sinclair Wyo. 82334 (307-710-3282)

20

A sensor on my garage door went out in JANURARY of 2018. I called Vivint and was told that since it was part of another company, they wouldn’t replace it. Now, mind you, they didn't mind using it to save money when they installed my system, but okay. I was told that corporate would have to approve its replacement and they would get back to me.
Time passed and i forgot about it until JULY of 2018. I called back and was told that the replacement part was approved and it was shipped two weeks prior. No call from Vivint.
Fast forward, it’s now NOVEMBER 28th of 2018 and still no sensor. I called them back and was told that it was never shipped and that they would send it out today and give me a whopping $15.00 credit for my inconvenience.
They have no regard for you, your family’s safety, or customer satisfaction. When my service is up, I will go with another service altogether. There are way too many systems that you can install yourself and have monitored for less than 20.00 dollars a month.

20

I canceled my service due to selling my home, I contracted VIVIANT to come and remove my system which I purchased outright without a contract and sent my cancellation notice to the correct department. On December 20th, 2017, my bank account was charged without my authorization and everyday I call and still can’t get it corrected or my money back for services not rendered and now get collection calls. I have never experienced such service in my life. Every time I talk to someone they assure my they can fix it, the next day it’s all wrong! Don’t ever trust this company!!!!

20

Hello, I want to share how disappointed I am in your service. I have had the system for several years. It is often NOT working. I work long days, gone at least 12 hours. I do not like having to have servicemen come ‘fix’ the system. I live alone so trying to schedule someone to come is difficult. I should not need to have them come so often. The last time I had it ‘fixed’ it worked one week. That was several months ago. I had called before to discontinue the service, [I agreed to continue with Vivint a little longer] and I was never told that I was on contract for another 3 years. I just got of the phone with a representative and he told me I am ‘stuck’ [my words] with you guys for 3 more years. He tells me he can send someone to ‘fix’ it and he won’t charge me. SINCE when should I be charged for a system that does NOT WORK in my home. I just want out of this. I truly cannot afford 3 more years. After talking to the person on the phone I was sick of my stomach, as I have referred several people, NOT ANY MORE. And I will let those that I referred, and they signed up, of the problems with you guys so that they can soon find a better company. I am feeling totally deceived and lied to. I will continue to air my complaints so that others are not feeling like a do. It does not work in my house.
Disappointed, E Navarrete

20

Stay away once you get into a contract they will make you pay the balance of if even if your services stop working. I've been trying to get out of contract for two years and they telling me I have to pay them for the equipment The garage open on its own, i have 3 false alarms that vivant didn't see on there end, and the thermostats are no good didn't help cool my home. They keep sending me parts to me in the mail so that i have to install.

20

My compllaint is one, I was told that I had signed a contract till 2021. This was over two months ago. I asked for a copy of the contract and as of today 10/10/2018 I have still not received it. I have asked that someone tell me how to fix or someone come repair my door that says low battery. We have replaced the batteries several times and it still says low battery. Now it says the camera is off line, I have rebooted the panel now it says to reboot the router I am out of state this is a problem. I want to cancel service and they say I have to pay contract till 2021. Again show me the contract.

20

I was charged for service that I never received due to called on July 13th, and canceled on same day before installation. I've been giving the run around for my money to be back in my account. I've been told by 6 different representatives that my money was refunded back on my card. They lied.

20

I have been with Vivint for almost 5yrs and paying 58.00 dollars a month. This last year has been a nightmare! First last winter the thermostat quit and at first they said it would be replaced but then when the repairman came out he said he had fixed it and left. Now you have to understand that last winter was really cold(15 degrees with a lower wind chill factor) It quit that night again and I was told that they could not back for three days and they were sorry, really! They cut back on their repairmen in the winter and could do nothing sooner. I was without heat for three days except for a heater my neighbor let me use, can you believe that! Now a few weeks ago one of my door sensors quit working ,they sent a new one after call after call it still will not work, finally I just told them to forget it because I had sold my home and was moving in a couple of weeks.I will pay for for this month but no more because I will not be living here, then I was told I owed four more months until it was 5yrs. even tho I'm not living here and my house is sold! I was told to take this system with me even throw it will leave a big hole in my wall or buy a new one for the other house and stay with them. I DO NOT want to use them ever again, nor will I pay for 4months so they can just ruin my credit after all the money I have paid them!!!

20

I have never had customer service as bad as this company. I became a customer two years ago. Make an appt in April to have my service transferred June 25 and they canceled 3 MINUTES BEFORE and I still do not have an appt. I am getting nowhere with customer service but they make me pay my bill. I have no system in my house now. I am in shock. A travesty.

20

On December 8 2017 I request information for services the person that I spoke on the phone given me the in formation that I needed so I move foward to start services so I provied my credit card number and Vivint chaged $ 99.00 dollars . the following day December 9 I cancel the services, the custumer service person told me that with in 7 days I will get my refund back to my credit card. 2 months past and no refund was submitted, I contact my credit card, and they told me that their is no refund from Vivint company. I cantact the custumer services several times and they are telling me that I will get within few days, 6 moths later stil no refund I contact the customer services 15 times and i always need to tell them the story every time it look s like they never write any comments about my issue on the computer. the last time I tell them that I need a physical check because they are failed to send the check. Im requesting a check to be send to my address my phone number is 209-356-8172 Sonia Yaranon this is my last attent to recovered my refund the next time my lawyer will contact and take care this matter.thank you

20

I specifically have a no soliciting sign on my door for solicitors. Your representatives do not hesitate to bother us. We have never asked for, want, or need your service. Today, in attempt to circumvent the posting on my door the person offered to "buy" my security contract! I had to tell him several times to get off my property. Wonder why no one in our area has vivint?! To top all, I'm disabled and it's difficult to get to the door! Hoping you stop this tactic with your salesmen.

20

To Whom Every This Concerns,

I am a loyal customer. I just had 3 major surgeries and had to move in with my daughter and because I was in a contact with your company I transferred my alarm system to my daughter's home which was almost 2 years ago. After my last surgery was completed and I could live alone again. Mind you I was still paying my montly payments. I moved into my apartment. I could not remember my password so I went without service from Dec. 1, 2017 through March 10, 2018 but during this time I called your office at least 4 times ask begged for help with is matters.

Mind you your company was sttill debiting my bank account that you refused to to provide services for because I could not remember my password.

1. I asked if you could sent a technician to install and verifiy who I was at that time using my Texas Driving Licenses or my TSA picture ID. You said no!

2. Call back at least four time attempting to get my services re-connected in my home. I am a first responder and advised you manager of this fact and yet I received no assist. I was just informed I was in a contract with you and had to pay regardless. This is the type of service I received from you managers!

3. I contacted my banker on the date you were due to debit my account and had the charge sent back to your company without payment. This was over 90 days later I still did not have services because your company refused to provide me services that I was paying you for!!!!!!!!

4. I call back again and asked your company if they knew me now? and they put me on hold and checked with the billing department and then and only then after they found out your payment request was return by me!

5. At this point your company recognied me without a password and scheduled an installtion date to connect my services. WOW YOU NEED TO ADD A ZERO 0 TO YOU SCALE BECAUSE THAT'S WHAT I WOULD HAVE GIVEN YOU AT THIS POINT. BUT HOLD ON IT GETS WROSTTTT

6. I had 5 montions dectors, 3 entry doors, 1 garage door, 6 windows, 2 wall panels, and 2 cameras.

7. When I moved I was advised by your company to only take the 2 wall panels and cameras.

I requested to have all of the original equipment installed again plus 2 additional exterior cameras because I am no located on a end unit.

8. When your technician arrived for the apartment he only had windo sensors. He advised he would have to return on a later date with the other equipement because he had not received any other infoamtion.

9 He return almost 48 hours later with the incorrect amount of montion detector and No cameras.

10. The 4 montion detectors he installed only 1 of them work. The other 3 do not work and plus he was one short.

11. The FINALE The back door sensor fell off the door and I called him and he stated he would come back out and fix it. We scheduled for last Saturday and I texted him on Friday to and asked if he could provide me with a time window for his arrival. HE STATED UNFORTUNATELY NO!!! He did not show up for our schedule appointment I set here all day with my housekeeper and no call no show!!!!

So I called your company again!!!!! I am too tried to even talk about the experience I have gone through with your company this week.... IT WOULD BE LIKE WRITING A DISSERTATION PAPER!!!! I have a new neighbor who moved in next door to me this pass weekend and she ask me about your company.... I told her you were a very good company... Even after all of this stuff you have put me through..... I have had a Double Mastectomy 3 surgeries regarrding my Double Mastectomy and I still will not speak ill of you!

I RATE YOU A TRIPLE ZERO!!!!!!
Novella Lynn Robinson
775-299-9990

PS: Your manager told me on this pass Tuesday if I wanted the equipment I had before I needed to pay for it!!!! and when I stated I would not pay for it that your company sould install and not charge me anything because of what I have gone through....YOUR MANAGER RESPONSED ------ YOU ARE IN A CONTRACT! I HUNG UP THE PHONE IN HIS FACE BECAUSE I WAS GOING TO FORGET I WAS A WOMAN OF GOD!!!!!!

20

Today, 01/10/2018 on the phone with four people at different Vivint department's. After calling Vivint on more than five times from November-december 2017 to get an item I purchase from them (Smart Drive aka Space Monkey) for $269.00 Plus tax to repair this item. Nothing happens Vivint just keeps blowing me off telling me that someone will contact me in five business days. It's been more than a month now. Smart Drive still not working still no callback from Vivint. Thanks Vivint great customer service

20

The installer never finished. Had to kick him out at 7, after 8 hours, because we closed at 5. He never came back. Left a mess everywhere. No system. Destroyed old system, which we will be charged for by previous security company. Sat on hold for over 2 hours thru various phone calls to customer service to get someone to come back out and finish the installation. Was promised an installer today at 10, another no-show. Since we are brand new customers, this isn't looking very good.

20

besides the fact that the security system works intermittently at best, a smoke detector continued failing with other devices. a tech did come out and replace the bad device some months ago. i just received a call from a gentleman representing Vivint demanding payment for a smoke detector. no bills, no notices. he informed me that Vivint policy is to call customers 24hrs after a bill is generated to demand payment. ill not be paying for the smoke detector. was just told that they cant find any tracking info for the bad smoke detector. don't remember much about it apparently it was mailed to me in august. i vaguely remember replacing it but not much else. if i was supposed to mail it back i did. if you persist with these collection tactics i will be forced to respond. please figure this out for me

thank you Robert Stephen - 931-494-3991

119 Gail st
oak grove ky 42262

20

We have had our Vivint alarm system for several years now and have had issues almost non-stop. Despite numerous technicians having been sent to our house, we are still experiencing problems. For the amount of money I am paying every month, this is completely unacceptable. Most recently, both our doorbell and interior camera are no longer functioning and we have not been able to control our heating or air conditioning from our cell phones...yet we continue to pay the full price of $69.99 for services we are not getting. My wife recently reported our most recent problems with the system (inoperable cameras) and was informed there is now a charge for visits. If our problems are not resolved on this visit, we will be canceling our service with Vivint. We have already turned several friends / neighbors away from your company. We would like a reasonable resolution to fix this problem. Please feel free to contact me by phone (302-598-8173). I am happy to further discuss our issues / concerns and am hopeful that your company will offer a resolution that would retain us as customers.

Sincerely,
John Breen

20

For 3 yr and 3 mo now we have had a system that doesn't work properly. The escalated tech support tested and confirmed the problem is with their own equipment yet nothing has been fixed. We have spent hours and hours on the phone and here in our home with them. On top of that we have paid the max subscription with no credit for service not working. We have reached out to higher ups with no resolution. They take our money but don't provide the service promised. Even the techs state that someone more experienced needs to be here instead of them. I don't know what has happened to Vivint but they used to care about customer service. That's obvious it isn't the case anymore! Very disappointing.

40

I found some additional contact numbers for Vivint if they will help anyone.

Fax number: 801.377.4116
Canadian service: 403.476.9572
Canada headquarters: 1602 3rd Ave. S, Lethbridge, AB T1J0L2

60

I am fairly happy with my vivint account. After about three years of owning my own home I finally decided to install an alarm system.

Have feedback for Vivint?

Thanks for your feedback!

Sorry. Please try again later!