Sony Complaints Continued... (Page 2)

139+ reviews added so far. Upset? Call Sony corporate: 212-833-6722
40

I have been experiencing no end of problems with my playstation 4. The servers are more often then not down for whatever reason, and yet we have to pay for this service, only for it to have more problems then I care to mention. My playstation 3 has had no such problems apart from when maintenance tasks are being carried out. My internet connection at its slowest is 105Mb so I know it isn’t that. It is connected via a LAN cable so the connection is wired, and is located not even .5m away from the playstation.

Besides all the problems I’m having with getting online, the simple fact that all games now have some part of the main game that requires an online connection, means that players who can’t afford the online subscription whatever the reason for, now can’t enjoy a FULL game. (An example of this is Assassins Creed Black Flag- accessing your fleet of ships is online based, so I can’t access any of my 14 ships and the missions I have sent them to complete.) I wouldn’t mind half of these problems, but when I have to pay £40 or whatever the cost is per year to be able to gain full use of a console I have already paid £360+ for, I find it rather annoying, when the same features and experiences can be had on the previous version of the console for free.

The simple fact is that playstation is trying to copy features that Xbox have already implemented into their system, and are failing, and myself and other playstation 4 owners are becoming increasingly more frustrated with the lack of communication between sony and it’s customers as regards problems. The playstation 4 cost and the £40 per year online subscription I presume have already made over £1 billion, yet they can’t even keep servers and online services running smoothly with the additional money gained through online subscriptions. I look forward to hearing the response from yourselves soon. Please feel free to mail me on the address provided, and if needs be, mail me to send you my mobile number and we can talk directly over the phone.

40

My Sony e reader would not scinc from computer to reader had an I T come out also could not do it sent Sony email no reply. Rang Monday said would ring back that day and did but could not fix said some one would ring back in two days no return call rang Sony again told someone would ring back still no return call. Asked if I could speak to someone higher told no . So all I can say is thanks for the no service I have two Sony Bravia T V s and a Sony mobile and have returned E Reader back to shop and will NOT BUY SONY again can understand we can all have something go wrong but I will not go where I don’t get SERVICE. Julie Hetherington

40

I recently sent in my PS3 to be repaired after it quit working. I thought this would be a better idea than having a shop fix it as Sony knows it’s product. So I filled out the service request online, made the payment, and I received the instructions on how to send it back. I got the box in the mail about 3 days later and sent my console in. On 4/9 I received a call from the service center saying that they received my console but the payment did not go through online and that I had to do it over the phone. I went ahead and gave him the information and everything was done. I was told that it would take 7-10 days to service and 3-5 days for shipping. On May 1st, I still had not received an email so I called the customer support number to check on the status.

The young lady was very polite and researched why it was taking so long. So after about 15 minutes of waiting on the phone, she said that when they called for the payment over the phone, there was a mix up because of where it was not previously accepted online. She said my console was listed as ship-ready and that as soon as fedex came, the console would be shipped out and I would receive an email with tracking information. So today, May 3rd, I still had not received an email so I looked at the service status online to only find that instead of saying my console was received on 4/9, it was received on 5/2. I called customer service again to find out what was going on. The rep said that it was listed my console was ship-ready and put me on hold to find out what was going on.

She came back and told me that my system was on back order and that it would be another 8-10 days before it could be shipped out. If I had know that it would have taken more than a month to have my system serviced, I would not have sent it in and paid for the service that I WAS NOT GETTING! So the 7-10 days for service is not completely true. If I had been contacted by sony telling me that my system was on back order, it probably wouldn’t have been so bad. But instead, I have to call, get lied to or mislead, call again, and get more bad news. I was a very loyal sony customer, but in the future, I will be looking at other products, xbox especially. This was the worst customer service experience that I have ever received. Not what I would expect from a company like Sony.

40

when we go to shop at Rayalaseema Agencies, Nellore
(Sony Cybershot W730 )
we ask the sales mangaer what is the price of above item he said that
it is worth of Rs: 7600/- then we ask him to get discount but he said not
then we said that we will get it more discount on online shopping
if u have any chance to give the discount
But he rashly said that the sales boy “SEND THEM OUT”
then we as is it the way to behave the customers ?
then he said that “SEND THEM OUT”
If a dealer of SONY is talks like that who will purchse Your sony product in the Nellore.
and your sales will decrease for that behavour
so please instruct your dealers please behave politely with customers when they buy or not is second thing.

40

I have a Sony tv of model DRC-MF. I am sorry to inform you that that the TV set has suddenly lost its colours and has turned black and white. Surprisingly when it regains its colours the colour quality too isn’t well defined. It is my earnest request that you should look into this matter and respond to this message.

20

Dear whoever this may concern
Your legal team has seemed to randomly block a parody of ‘Gangnam Style’. You say you have it blocked due to copyright issues… How…?Why just the Minecraft Style? There are numerous amount of parodies on this song, yet only this one has been blocked. It does not harm the original Gangnam Style video, if anything it will get it more views (which may I add, it already has one billion). You guys have normally been a very nice, cool company who help customers/non-customers at times, yet this situation has made me think twice about buying products such as T.V’s, a Ps3. This is losing you customers and is wrecking the internet’s view on your company. I highly recommend you come out and officially apologize and unblock the video. You should also consider some sort of compensation for CaptainSparklez (Jordan Maron), perhaps by giving him a few products he could use to help his channel due to the damage you have done.

40

So I bought a game for Playstaion 3 with PS Vita cross buy and I accidentally downloaded the materials from the disk into my own Playstation Network account. The game was for my sons account and the download didn’t work because I had already installed it into my account. I called Sony and I told them that it was a mistake and that they can wipe it from my account as long as my son was able to have the material in is account and they pretty much told me to buy an another game. They didn’t even attempt to help or take care of me.

20

Your Ultra Violet format is bullshit, it sucks, and I and many others are not happy being duped that we have purchased a digital copy only to find our selves jumping through hoops to get it to work and finding it really doesn’t work anyway. We want a copy that works on iTunes, no body needs nor wants 2 or 3 programs to watch a digital copy of a movie. Get over yourselves. Apple got there first and was smart about it, the infrastructure is far better than yours will ever be. Take your Ultra Violet and shove it. Nobody wants it.

20

I purchased a Sony wega projection tv in 2005 model KDF55WF655, it was a great TV even after replacing blubs 4 time since I’ve owed the TV, suddenly this blue streak was across the bottom and continued, as I started reading it seems like it’s common on this TV. For the price Sony charged for this model KDFWF655 there should be more help me. Its optical black but the part costs more then spending on a new TV which I believe is not fair to me as a consumer. I would really appricate some help from sony on this matter. PLEASE

40

I purchased a 60″ Sony projection tv in late 2007 for around.$3500. I went with this particular tv because Sony was supposed to be the best and I was convinced by salesmen that projection would far outlast a plasma. So I bought it. In 2010 I had to replace the lamp, it cost $150. According to Research the bulb should have lasted for 3-5 yrs or 20,000 hours. Well that was the first lie. Then in 2012 I noticed that the picture was changing. It seemed to yellow with time. And get progressively worse as it remained on. So I contact Sony. I had to go thru many steps to reset the tv. And then I was told to have the tv serviced or contact them for the factory decertified exchange program. So I did. That was a waste of time.

They told me that there was nothing they could do. So I started telling them that I knew of the class action law suit about this “optical block” issue and that they were supposed to take care of the customer. They transferred me to “Mel” and all she did was tell me that the program was over and the best she would do was to offer me a $1499 tv for $1000. Really? I paid $3500 for a tv that was projected to last over 10 years and I got 5 barely. And the best they could do was to offer me another Sony product for a savings of $500? This is unreal. I want my tv fixed or a better offer. Matter of a fact I don’t want a Sony tv ever again. Not with this lousy customer service, not to mention I could barely understand them thru there thick foreign accents.

60

Sony tells nothing but lies when it comes to replacing faulty units,they tell constant lies and give you misinformation only to delay replacing faulty products, it has been over a month and I still don’t have a replacement tv promised for a tv that didn’t even last 6 months,I had no tv for me and the kids for Christmas which was a big let down for them .still waiting but not holding my breath, this is the worst compacy I have ever had to deal with

60

I recently purchase a Sony digital photo frame. On the box according to me; it clearly stated that the frame will be able to accept a Memory-Stick/USB Stick. On the instruction manual it even shows a picture as to insert this “stick”. But to my disappointment the digital photo frame can only use n Memory-Card. I feel that this is falls advertising and I”m very disappointed with Sony. I now had to spent extra money on purchasing a Memory-card as I bought this fame thinking I can use my memory stick/usb stick as shown on their instruction manual.

40

I brought a Sony viao laptop a week ago , and already the Hard drive crashes on me. .I called customer support three days ago, and there guy with a thick Indian accent, who got my information completely wrong told me that a repairer man would contact me. Well I’m still waiting. So tomorrow I’m going to best buy and exchanging it $1000 paper weight exchange for something (non-Sony) that actually work.

60

I’m in the US Air Force stationed at Misawa AB Japan. I bought a tablet for my wife since her reader is getting old and worn out. When we tried to download the reader app, it said its not available in our country. I called customer service to see if there is a way around it and I was basically told sorry about your luck. I dont see why apple can get around this issue and Sony cant my daughters IPad gets app as does my iPhone. We went with Sony so my wife would not have to repurchase her 50+ books. The customer service on the phone was rude and not willing to help. Not i have a 500 dollar paper weigh as she will no use it. Completely ruined our Christmas.

40

Subject – Rude Behavior from Sony Center Manager and given wrong product. Yesterday (05-03-2012), evening i went to a Sony center for purchasing a mobile as per my requirement. I had clearly explained the seller about my requirement that i need to connect the mobile to my laptop and asked for sony mobile but they given Walkman Mix 13i, that does not hoption to connect to my laptop. Today , just hours after the purchase i asked them to change the mobile as it is not as per my requirement, but they are not ready to replace and they started shouting us .

The manager named Varghese behaved very rudely to us. I am using many SONY product like SONY Arc S and Sony digital camera etc. I never experienced this kind of rude behavior from an authorized mobile dealer.Hope SONY will take necessary action. We have several option to purchase the mobile through online or other mobile shop but came to sony center just hoping that dealer will suggest the right product , but they cheated us by giving the wrong mobile. I need the replacement as early possible and i need mobile that can fulfill my only requirement that is connecting to internet through mobile. the same i asked several times while purchasing.

20

My sony vaio laptop have a problum and my laptop still under warrenty. i bought my laptop early 2011. Today 29/11/2011 i went to sony centre at jusco cheras and person detach my laptop problum and they said my laptop have lost my cd drive. they told to me i need to go to midvalley to install back my cd drive coz my laptop under warrenty. if i want to in stall at jusco cheras sony centre i need to pay rm80 for me this is useless reason coz the person know to install my cd drive immediately. Distance from my place to midvalley around 60km and i went to jusco cheras becauce it only near by my place they dont want to install..

i feel regret sony only know to sold they products but service after sales is bad..sony just thing about profit n sold your products even the thing still under warentty.. regret with sony service centre jusco cheras or this is SONY RULES?

i have requested sony about warranty extend.SONY Told me it will happen and sony will extend my warranty. i live in kashmir thats why i cant extend my warranty on time.SO, i request sony 2 extend my warranty.SONY Told me it will happen and sony will extend my warranty.I paid money and they asked me sony will give you unique number.But you dont provide me any kind of number and status is still open according to sony. So Plz provide me unique code and extend my warranty

20

I had braught a sony bravia Lcd Tv on 01.11.09 from Ankur Electronics, 12 Ground Floor Cross River Mall Delhi – 110032. Model No. is KLV – 22T550A. But Now there is a problem accuring with my TV that the light blinks 8 times and it suddenly got off. I had complaint about it to sony customer care ( Complaint no. 8235203)and they transfered my service to their dealer the “AP Network Services, B – 1, Plot No.5, Sagar Complex LSC, New Rajdhani Enclave new Delhi Phone – 011 22043246. They sent an engineer to visit the my TV and he told that BT2 Board of my TV has to be replaced.

He has taken Rs. 3000.00 as advance to replace the part on the date 01.10.2011 and he made the promise that the your part will be replaced within the 2 or 3 days but it has been 18 days since he has taken the advance and the part has not been replaced. I also tried to connect with AP Network services and there is a guy Mr. Samant, he always tells a lie that you will get your part tomorrow and it’s 18 days past and still his answer is same. So, I want to ask you that what kind of this company is ? which does not care about its customers ? Plz try to take immediate action.

20

This is to inform u that I purchased a sony vaio laptop being model No.SONYVAIO VPCEG18/P INV NOMES/11-12/1830 on Dt.16.7.11. I lodge complaint to your service center as details below. iner side screen is looking broken and day by day going blackish. Service center confirm it as damage and given estimate of Rs.14115. Again this is my submission that this a natural cause not damage at my part . Hence you are retested ki9ndly provide services under guarantee provision. Subject: ESTIMATE LCD OF SONY VAIO VPCEH18FG. Estimate of Sony Vaio VPCEH18FG. S/N – 27544986-7002548. LCD – A1799183A – 12392.00. If Estimate Approve 75% advance will require to order the part. Part Arrival time will approx 10 Days.

60

I purchased a new Sony Vaio laptop in January from their website along with the on-site service warranty. On 7/15/2011 my keyboard completely died. I was on the phone with Sony for over 2 hrs when they finally told me that they could not send out an onsite technical because ‘my computer was custom’ and they did not know what keyboard it had. The computer is definitely not ‘custom’, I simply selected it off their website. Basically they gave me a bunch of different reasons but said the only solution was to mail in my computer (~10 day turn around time) but they would not send a technician.

I explained that I could not be without a computer this long and that was why I had paid for the onsite service. They could offer no other solution and were extremely unhelpful. The first rep was meant to send a box to return the computer and promised to call me back and did not. I then had to call back and wasted another 2 hours going around in circles getting yet another set of reasons why they could not send a tech to fix my laptop. This rep kept saying because my laptop was ‘custom’ I coundn’t have an on site tech. But could not answer why I was able to select that option and pay for it!

20

I bought a VAIO PC form SONY (SONY STYLE) in July 2010 with a 3 year extended Warranty. The computer suddenly died on July 26, 2011. I have call and e-mailed SONY for service at least a dozen times and they have been completely unresponsive. I have been going in circles. Service people say I will be help by extended warranty people and extended warranty people say their database does not have my information. I have e-mailed copies of SONY invoices for the purchase with added charge of 3 year extended warranty, but they claim the update has been pending for last 3 days. They have the information but cannot help for they have not updated their database.

If an individual takes someone money and says he does not have it because he did not put it in his bank, it is a fraud. SONY is guilty of fraud. They are a dishonest company and I feel that potential victims of SONY should be aware of their irresponsible and dishonest behavior.

40

Do NOT buy Sony VAIO lapotps! We have a PCG 7173L and the screen goes blank every 3 seconds. When you press “Display Off” button the screen comes back up and then goes black again. Sony sent us a screen chip ($for 68.86). Did not solve the problem! Then they told us to download and install Intel 4 Mobile Chip software update. The problem persists! Even though Sony sells defective laptops they refuse to recall the part/software and fix the issue at THEIR expense.

Since our computer is out of warranty, after hours on the phone trying to figure out how to solve this, Sony tells us that WE have to send the computer in for “repair” and pay for it. This is not a wear and tear, is a manufacturer’s defective part/software. The laptop works fine with an external screen.

This is a known issue: http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20100629153035AAPbQZb

Still, Sony customer service, employee C28J said since this is not a “known problem” in their system and therefore they will not acknowledge customer complaints from external websites and will assert that my problem is a single person issue.

20

Guten Tag, meine Name ist Frank Möller (b.a.e.r.85@gmx.de ; Mühlweg 2a D-85560 Ebersberg) und ich habe anfang April mir die PS3 zugelegt. Nach dem Hackangriff: sollte als Entschädigung, wie Sie wissen, einen Monat PSN plus Mitgliedschaft und zwei Spiele zur Verfügung stehen. Als das PSN wieder lief nahm ich zu erst die Mitgliedschaft an, als ständig ein Systemfehler auftrat (80710D36). Ich dachte mir das PSN ist wahrscheinlich überlastet und ging für eine weile raus. Doch als ich wieder rein ging hatte ich aber keinen zugriff mehr auf die zwei Spiele, die zum Download ausstanden.Da ich schon gern “Little Big Planet” und “Wiepout” hätte Frage ich nun was da los war und wie ich an meine Entschädigungsspiele komme?

40

I recently was excited that the playstation network was back up and they were offering us free inncentives. So as I am sure lots of other people were, I decided to get my free games. I got my games and everything was goin great until I seen my bank statement and found out that they had charged me for the games. This wasn’t such a big deal other then the fact that the money they had taken out of the account was not in it and so therefore I was charged 2 $35 insufficent funds charges. I called sony and they had no problem giving me my money back for the games, but as for the insufficent funds charges they just told me I was S.O.L. even though it was entirely there fault. And this is where I am no longer a happy sony customer.

60

Had to redo my computer after a virus infection. I got everything to work except the sound control did not work on pad above keyboard. Tried all drivers from Sony website. Finally called Sony & they said I would have to order recovery CDs as the drivers are not on Internet. There were 7 CDs labeled Recovery 1 – 4 & then 1-3. CDs gave error after when inserting CD 2 on both sets. Called Sony & they said this meant there was an error w/the CD drive. Loaded Vista from CD as well as Office 2010 & Norton from CDs. I never had a problem with any CDs except for the ones Sony sold me for $70 plus shipping and handling.

Will just have to live without sound control pad working but I will remember this and never recommend or purchase a Sony computer product.

60

Dear Sony, When I bought the playstation on April 29, 2011, I had every intention of playing online. I didn’t get the chance to sign up for the psn. On April 20th, the system was hacked and I couldn’t sign up at all. All of a sudden the system comes back on and the representative on the phone told me that anyone who bought the playstation before the hacking (April 19) would get 2 free games and 1 month of playstation plus for free. Oh, how wrong she was. She never told me that we had to be signed in to the Sony psn network before it happened. Due to the fact that I didn’t sign in the day I bought the system, I got screwed.

Sony, your a million dollar company. Find some way to compensate consumers like me, who at least deserve one game. Besides, we had to wait for over a month before we could play online and use netflix. James.

20

sony polyphony digital needs to step up and accept the fact that there is an issue in the online portion of the game gran turismo 5. A black screen appears and the race is delayed untill a pace lap is complete and some stay behind a black screen with ther car driving itself(slowly). For many who play this game, online play is the only reason for purchase and after the long and extended anticipation of the games release we were treated to an online experience unlike no other. parts of the online features have been touched upon but the most anoying part is being overlooked.

never have I heard any mention of acknowledgement or any ways to help deal with the issue. many have tried to find the cause with all results showing that there is a major problem with the servers used. The servers used have allegedly been replaced with similar if not worse effect. The point I am trying to make is stand by ur product and at least acknowlage and address the issue in some manor, it’s been 6 months, get it fixed or do what is necessary to put this feature to it’s fullest potential. Sony if it has to do with peoples internet conection then tell us, and stop avoiding the issue all together.

40

I would just like an answer to the question all PSN users are asking, which is when will we be back online? Simple enough you would have thought until now. Instead have been focusing on releasing posts about the intrusions to their networks etc they ignore blog posts and getting any info using your PS3 is near impossible due to the outdated browser. Sony just tell us something, anything at all, better to know it could be another 2 weeks than to know nothing at all even if you don’t know when just say so.

i try putting in my credit card information in to psn to add money to my wallet and it didnt let me put the money in then i checked my creditcard balance nd psn had charged me 15 dollars that i didnt have on my psn wallet i want my money bak and also i bought i psn card that dosnt want to work the psn store says the information is wrong but im try alot of times i want my money bak im a very unhappy customer i just lost 35 dollars in tottal thans to psn and i demand my money back email me back to.

60

I purchased a new Sony VAIO Laptop – E Series (Blueray DVD, built-in motion eye, etc.) in Dec 2010. It worked fine until 3 weeks ago when the screen went black. Sony’s service tech informed us my new 18″ LCD screen has an ‘internal’ crack rendering my computer unusable! That’s right … my $2,000 computer has a cracked screen after only 3 months. It’s important to emphasize that my laptop was not damaged or dropped. It is not transported to and from work. It remains in our home office where I work. Upon learning of the ‘internal’ crack, the Sony service rep contacted their customer service center and handed me the phone.

My VAIO laptop was under warranty, but the LCD screen was not covered. Rather, Sony sent me a box to mail my laptop to Sony’s repair center in California at a cost of $700 to replace the LCD screen! That’s right. Sony’s customer service solution is to charge ME $700 to replace the faulty inferior quality LCD screen they marketed to me was a premium laptop. A word to the wise: Sony charges a premium price for the quality products they used to provide consumers. Those days are no longer! Sony’s low quality electronic products are the worst on the market and highest priced.

I will NEVER purchase another Sony product again, and continue to advise family, friends and colleagues to do the same. Sadly, Sony’s customer service is deplorable and unable to provide acceptable solutions to these quality issues eroding customer loyalty. Bottom line greed is Sony’s top priority. Not customer satisfaction! They’ve lost my business … I wish I’d read this message board prior to my purchasing the Sony VAIO – I would have made a different choice!

40

Dear Sony, I recently bought a playstation 3 because I’ve seen all the commercials, heard all the hype and have even read the reviews about how the PS3 is much superior to the 360. I believed I was being the wise consumer and thought that I had purchased the right gaming consul, WRONG. I’ve been online gaming with you since the PS2 with no problems apparently the idiots that you employ now can’t even fix the current problem on the PSN. All I would like to know is when if ever will the PSN be up and running?

If you cannot fix it then I will just return my consul and purchase the 360 slim and tell all my buddies who just bought one for the same reason I did “online play” to go with me and make the switch to microsoft.

Yours Truly
Justin S. Dean

40

How can there be so much DLC for every game released these days ? Can you not make a FULL game anymore ? Or is this the future for Sony PS3 where you buy a game @ 39.99 , then realise you have got to pay more just for little add-ons – which should already really be in the game …. Game developers are incapable of producing a complete game and just want as much money as they can make out of you … dont even get me started on the pathetic excuses that call themselves HACKERS !!! Thing is – PSN dont care what they HACK up because its a “FREE” system … im buying a X-BOX , 2 fingers salute to SONY.

60

Hello, hissing kitty! A word to the wise – the higher Sony pricetags, at least for computers, isn’t what it used to be. We’ve had Vaio desktops for over a decade (and Toshiba portables)- the manufacturing quality has been top-notch. But computers aren’t just hardware – it’s software as well. Which is where Sony falls flat. The “perfect storm” combination of Windows Updates, the nvidia G-force video chip that Sony uses, and an earlier model family of Sony’s $2K All-in-One 24″ computers means that Microsoft sends out “critical updates” including new nvidia drivers, but fail to acknowledge that these drivers happen to be incompatible with your PC.

Result – no more “all-in-one” functionality. Your solution – $130 for a “per-incident” remote software repair. The warranty on the repair? 7 days. The frequency of the Windows “critical update?” Monthly. At least the nvidia folks had the foresight to tell me to turn the updates off, they can’t control it either. As far as Sony, they’re happy to either sell me a new $2K computer (after all, mine is 15 months old, isn’t it time for a new one??) or another $130 per-incident repair.

Bottom line – think twice before you’re lured by that Sony brand on new high-end equipment. The build quality may still be great, the design appealing, but today’s products are a combination of hardware, software, and support: Sony is coasting on yesterday’s reputation and not really focused on the overall customer experience.

60

DON’T BUY SONY PRODUCTS–WORSE PRODUCTS AND CUSTOMER SERVICE. On 4/28/10 I purchased a Sony Vaio from Best Buy. I returned it on 4/30/10 because the backspace key wouldn’t work and received a new Vaio. 15 days later the DVD drive wouldn’t work and so began my Sony nightmare. Five repairs in five months and the Vaio still didn’t work properly. I have spent 60 hours on the phone with Sony because its customer service is horrible. You wait anywhere from 10-20 minutes to get a representative, explain the problem, then the Sony rep says they have to read the file, another 5 minutes, after which they ask you why you are calling, so you have to repeat the problem again.

If you get transferred the whole process starts all over again. In dozens of phone calls to Sony I’ve never gotten off the phone in less than 45 minutes, frequently spending as much as two hours on a call. When Sony said the Vaio had to be returned for a sixth repair in 5 months I contacted a local TV station’s consumer action group. It took them almost two weeks to track down a phone number for a Sony representative and Sony agreed to replace the Vaio with a new one. Sony deliberately makes it virtually impossible for a customer to contact them other than through their useless customer service.

Six weeks after the “new” Vaio was delivered the hard drive crashed and the DVD drive wouldn’t work. In the next four weeks the hard drive, DVD drive, touchpad and motherboard had to be replaced and then the keyboard stopped working. During the replacement of the motherboard it was discovered that the laptop wasn’t new but was in fact refurbished. I demanded my money back and was told Sony would repair the keyboard.

I obtained the name and phone number from the consumer group and called the Sony PR rep but he no longer worked in that capacity and provided the email address for his replacement. I sent a detailed email, including the all of the event numbers assigned by Sony, asking for a full refund. I received no response. I called the original Sony PR rep and after much back and forth he provided me with Elizabeth Boukis’ phone number. I called Ms. Boukis and left a voicemail, which she ignored. I called back several times getting her voicemail but finally she answered and I told her I wanted my money back. It wasn’t a pleasant conversation and I told her I would call her everyday until I got my money back. Five minutes after hanging up another Sony rep called saying they would refund my full purchase price.

If you are going through the nightmare that is Sony Customer Service, here is the contact information for the Sony reps mentioned above.

Elizabeth Boukis, 408-352-4593, Elizabeth.boukis@am.sony.com
Gary Bacci, Sony Operations, 858-942-3275, Gary.Bacci@am.sony.com
Linda Barger, Sony PR, Linda.barger@am.sony.com

20

In 2009 a friend of mine in another state bought a PRS600BC/cs digital reader $299.99. He used the book about one year on an off. The screen turned to one large gray and white unreadable mess. He called Sony, but was told it was out of servive. This winter when sending nchristmas stuff, he sent the ready to me. Said if I could find someone to fix it, it would be a good thing. I called your service department about a month ago now. After some internet trying to fix it without success. The man said I could exchange it. He said it would be $99.00. I ask if that was a new one or rebuilt. I told him I did NOT want a rebuilt thing. He assured me it was NEW.

I ask if I could put a little more and get an upgrade. He told me that was not needed as the new ones were already upgraded. I again told him I did not want a rebuild thing. He again told me,”NO NO this is all new.” My claim # E49621858. The book did not come for a week after he had said it would be shipped that day. I called back, got a different person, he said the warehouse was out and that he would contact a different one a sent it right out It came REBUILT. I called to complain and to let them know I would send that back. Because I assured it was NEW. “not”. He told me he would send me an email about what I should do.

I NEVER got one. I called back. They were very sorry about the mix up and woouold look into it and CAll mer. Yhey did not. I called again. This time I was told nothing like that was in the order. And no way would I get a new reader. They also they would call me right back so I could file a claim with the complait department. NO CALL. I do expect a large company like Sony could keep there word. I have been honest and feel you should too. Marsha

60

I bought a 46″ Sony Bravia TV 2 years ago for $1500. I didn’t get an extended warranty as I thought Sony products were the way to go. After reading HUNDREDS of complaints on the internet about Sony products, this company is NOT what it used to be. I took my TV to a repair shop & it will cost $1000 to replace a “faulty panel board.” The TV repairman said he warns people NOT to buy Sony TV’s as they (Sony) KNOW the panel boards are faulty & your EXPENSIVE TV WILL fail (with or without a warranty). When floor models were popular, my TV lasted 20+ years without ANY service to it & it surely didn’t cost me THOUSANDS of dollars either.

Before you buy anything SONY, review the MANY complaints about this company FIRST! Remember when Toyota made great cars & then they had brake problems that they KNEW about? Well, Sony knows their $#!T is CRAP & it’ll take Congress to call them on it due to the MANY consumer complaints. Remember – DON’T BUY SONY TV’s ANYTHING!

20

I purchased a Sony Vaio Laptop. Cost of laptop wasn’t a cheap one. Then the hard drive crashed. The computer has a 12 months parts and labor warranty. I contacted Sony on that date and advised them of the problem. I was told that they would ship out a replacement hard drive within 2 to 3 days and I should receive it within 10 to 14 days. When the hard drive had not been received from Sony, I called them again. So now almost 1 month later Sony cannot complete a simply task of shipping a hard drive that is covered under warranty. I will never purchase another Sony product of any kind because of the customer service experience. Sony Customer Service is without a doubt the worst I’ve ever had the misfortune to deal with.

60

For the past 25 years I have purchased only Sony products for my home, because I thought Sony would stand behind their products. Then I purchased a KDL 52 inch Sony Bravia TV, and I noticed digital lines or pixilation on the screen. Called customer service and was told they told me that would have to pay for a Sony authorized tech to check it out at a cost of $135 dollars, and he said it would cost more than $2,000 to fix! The LCD was advertised to last for 60,000 hours, that is 2,500 days or almost 7 years running. I’m sure in the 17 months I had the TV I put less than 2, 000 hours on it. Sounds like fraud to me and Sony should be held accountable for selling faulty LCD panels. One more former Sony customer that can’t wait to tell people never ever buy another Sony product.

40

I purchased a Sony Vaio VPCEB2Z0E laptop in October 2010. Almost immediately I noticed that there were thick black lines down the screen – this would occur when the laptop screen was woken from sleep mode. I called the company I purchased from, 3 weeks after purchase, only to be told that as it was over 14 days they would not replace it and that I’d have to contact Sony. I did so, and was told that they would not replace the product and would only offer a repair. I was extremely unhappy about this, but they flat refused to offer anything else. I was forced to send it for repair!

60

SONY VAIO Laptops are very awful … As I can remember some serial numbers were revoked from SONY! They were faulty, always crash, and the hard drive is so loud! Other products from Sony are quite good but not the best, this is a shame because they used to put out a quality product. Seems now more interested in profits instead of keeping customers happy. I called their customer support complaints line, but INSTEAD was put on hold for an hour! I think that this was a bad choice…

We recently bought a Sony Laptop and purchased the extended warranty. We use ours as a desktop replacement, so it does not get moved often. After six months the connection( on the laptop side) for the is so loose that the machine will no longer power up. We called Sony and they acknowledged that this is fairly common even under normal use, but they would not cover it under the warranty. It appears that this is an engineering flaw. I would highly suggest avoiding any Sony Laptop that has a power connection in the hinge area.

40

Purchased a new laptop from Sony… a month ago. The AC power adapter broke today. Spent 3+ hours with tech and customer support only to learn that I was sold a refurbished laptop, which was why they could not locate my serial # in their system. This is an outrageous business practice. They said it was a miscommunication but it was really a fraudulent/unethical conduct on Sony’s part to sell me a $1200 refurbished laptop without telling me what I was getting. I would NEVER purchase a refurbished laptop. They offered me 5% discount on a new purchase… are you kidding me??? I will NEVER purchase another Sony product… EVER!!!

Have feedback for Sony?

Thanks for your feedback!

Sorry. Please try again later!