Payless Shoes Customer Service
Rated 1.42 of 5 Stars
Based on 24 Complaints

Contact Payless Shoes Corporate

Toll free phone number: 1-877-474-6379

Payless shoe stores are one of the largest American footwear stores. They offer discounted and affordable shoes of many brands. Payless is headquartered in Kansas and is located at 3231 Se 6th Ave, Topeka, 66607. The company was founded in 1956.

If you have a problem with Payless shoes or an employee contact customer service toll free at 1-877-474-6379. The best hours to reach a live human at Payless is Mon - Sat: 7:30am to 12am CT
Sun: 9:30am to 12am CT. 

You can also direct email feedback to CustomerService@csr.payless.com or by escalating your complaint to management to jose.velasco@payless.com or meghan.spreer@payless.com. Payless has various sections and categories for men, women, kids, and teens.

Common issues include jackets, handbags, and hoecare products. The company was founded by cousins Louis and Shaol Pozez. They are known best for inventing sneakers with velcro straps replacing the traditional type of laces.


Experienced poor service? File a complaint here!

Payless Shoes Contact Information

Report complaints to corporate and get satisfaction

  • Payless Shoes headquarters address

    • 3231 Se 6th Ave Topeka, KS 66607
  • Company website

  • 1-800 phone number

    1-877-474-6379
  • Better Business Bureau rating

    A
  • Customer service hours

    Mon - Sat: 7:30am to 12am CST

Browse reviews of other Shoes



Top Payless Shoes Complaints

Browse more than 24 reviews submitted so far

20

Your going out of business sales sucks big time. I've been watching from day 1 since you made the announcement that you were going out of business and the % off has not changed for women's shoes. You have taken off all of the sale prices throughout the store. I'm not happy about this at all. I am not alone with this issue. I was at your Avenues Mall location here in Jacksonville on Saturday and there were many customers leaving empty handed and that can't be good for the bottom line. When are you guys going to wake up and get it right? Thanks for listening.

20

on 03/25/19 on my way to work stop at 1276 nw broad street number 58 , Murfreesboro TN 37129 phone 615- 890-6320 brought a shoe. I was still in the shoe when I saw another shoe that was cheaper. I pick the shoe up and the cashier said they can not exchange the shoe. I pay for the shoes and left without taking the first shoe. the shop too my money and the shoe. it was 177170135 AWK MAUVE LEGAC 23.04 dollar.

20

I was in their branch at the grand traverse mall in traverse city Michigan and was kicked out by an extremely rude (and frankly bitchy) employee because I had knocked something over. I will not be doing business with the company again.

20

I understand that the Payless stores are closing, but still feel it is important to report the poor customer service from the employees at the store locations of 2600 W Loop 340, Waco, Tx 76711 and 5201 Bosque Blvd Ste 200 in Waco,Tx 76710. The stores are randomly being closed during store hours and customers are not being informed. When customers come to the door and ask if they are open, the customers are completely being ignored by the employees. It would be helpful if some sort of communication was posted outside the store locations stating store hours may vary so customers were aware. Also, store employees should be professional and at least have the decency to go to the door and acknowledge the customer and inform them if the store is closed for the day. I’m assuming that Payless would like to sell as much as their remaining merchandise as possible, but with the lack of professionalism it makes it challenging for customers to want to spend their money when they are experiencing poor service. I’m hoping that the situation will be rectified. I will also be reporting this situation to other avenues as I feel it is important that this issue gets resolved.

20

Yesterday I went in to return some shoes I got that didn't work out and they told me I couldn't return them any more and I had bought the shoes on 02/17/2019 I don't understand why they couldn't it hasnt been 30 days since I got them so know I have to stay with some shoes that im not even going to wear

20

hi i went to your ontario store purchased a pair of childrens boots.the caisher at the time of purchase told me if tjey dodnt fit i could bring them back.so my grandaughter couldnt get them on and i drove over there next day to exchange them . i was informed there are no refunds. as the caisher pointed to a sign and pointed oit it says that on tje reciet ok i get all that but yoir employee told me i could return them.ive work in retail and understand buisness but i also undestand customer service
thank you and have a good day!

60

My complaint is that several times I have asked them to mail sale coupons to my home address.
Not to send the sale coupons to my email address because I can't afford to pay for in to print out the coupons.

Also some times I had a hard finding shoes my size which is 6 & half wide :( And I also on even feet:(

20

I had stopped at Payless Shoes on 1/16/18 Central Valley Plaza, 2225 Plaza Parkway, Ste K1, Modesto, Ca. 95350. They were having a 40% off sale on everything in the store for the day. As I shopped and picked out some discounted clearance shoes, I had picked out one pair of Airwalk, Darley boots that were marked down to 14.99 and then they should have been discounted 40% off of that and a pair of Dexflex comfort boots that were marked down to 20.00. When I took them to the cashier and she rang them up, she started to charge me 24.99 for the Airwalk Darley boots and 25.00 for the Dexflex boots. When I called it to her attention she claimed that was not the right price for each of the boots and told me that one of the boxes had been changed. After examining the boxes in fact they were the correct boxes and sizes. I proceeded over to the display shelf were they had one of the boots that I purchased with a big sale tag on it for 20.00 so I brought it over to her. Mind you these were not the only sizes they had available on the shelf for that price. Then she claimed that they were in the middle of a price change and rudely announced that she was only one person and could not do everything. I do believe that she intentionally price gauged me and did not honor the prices listed on the boots. Then she rudley did something similar with my mom as she approched her with a question about another pair of saddle shoes and.was not going to offer the sale price. Sounds like a scam to me.. I WAS WONDERING IF SHE DOES THIS TO EVERYBODY. SHE NEEDS TO BE FIRED AND THE STORE NEEDS TO HIRE SOME HONEST EMPLOYEES. I was ripped off, perhaps she is pocketing the extra money. Jipped!!!

20

On 12/24/18 11:45 AM, Transaction by: 7256 Store: Twin City Center, 760 G Ocean Beach Highway, Longview, WA 98632, other number on recite: 6534-1358-20039. I entered the Payless store and preceded to look at purses. The sale was great. 50% off. As I listened behind me I noticed the cashier complaining to a customer paying about having to work her shift alone. There were no more than two people in line at that time. Once those customers left it was myself and another woman. She picked out two pairs of earings and asked the employee about what was on sale. She walked up to pay for her items as a gentleman walked in the door he asked if they had men slippers. The employee pointed to the men section and he started to walk over. Then the employee walked away from the counter and the lady standing at the cashier desk was waiting to pay. I thought that was strange because she was already there waiting to pay before the man came in. I watched the employee walk over to help him look even though he didnt ask for any further assistance. We stood there waiting for about 4 to 5 minutes. The woman in front of me started looking towards the direction the employee went. I said I'm sure she will be right back. Well she never came back to cash her or I out. The woman said her husband was walking towards their car and she hadn't told him where she was so she said, I'll try and come back and set the earings on the counter next to my little pile if items i had put there earlier. I was still waiting for her to come back. The odd thing was there were now two people in the store. The gentleman and myself. It wasn't busy but the employee seemed very impatient and stressed. I finally got tired of waiting so I went to find her and instead of saying I was ready I said, do they have men slippers? Im looking for my husband, as a excuse. When I found her she wasn't even helping the man. She was fixing shelves. I was kindof suprised because she knew we were standing there. She then started walking back up to the front. I told her the earings weren't mine. That the woman that was in line earlier left because she needed to meet up with her husband. The employee quickly grabbed the earings and tossed them by the register and looked upset. She than said, ya I heard her. I didnt know what to say. The woman wasn't mad. She just had to go. Than the employee said, People need to understand that I'm here alone. It's just me working. I still don't know why she was complaining like she was when I came in and was looking at purses. Anyway, I tried to change the subject and said how cute the hand bags were I found and how the price was great. As I was paying I used a credit card as part to pay for my purchase because I didn't want to use all the cash I had on me. I told her I wanted to put $23 on the card and the rest cash $25. She said with a long sigh, You only want to put $23? I said yes $23. She than said, well I have to ask in a very snotty voice. At that point there were two more people in the store and in line behind me. I kindof felt like she was agitated because I did two separate transactions and people were waiting. It didn't take as long as I had waited for her while she was stocking shoes earlier. I only had 5 items. Than she started complaining again and said, I wish people would understand that I'm here by myself working. I didn't say anything. She ripped the recite from the registure wrote on it while telling me, Feel free to call corporate and tell them to raise their payroll for her. I was pretty offended at that point because it seemed like she wanted to take out her frustration on me and anyone else that came in the store. I did have a reply this time. I told her after she said that that if I call corporate it wont be to ask for your raise. She got pretty upset and said in a agitated rude tone, well you can call them for whatever you want. You guys have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year again in a annoyed tone. I told her alright, well try and have a good day. She than short of yelling says, oh I'm having good day, it's other people that aren't apparently. I just walked out the door and really whispered to my husband, I can't believe how rude she is. She than persisted to yell, so are you as I looked back the customers faces looked at her confused and not to impressed. It was really like being yelled at by someone that was suppose to be friendly, professional and helpful. I got none of these from her. If you look at the time I was there there were not alot of people in the store. She made it clear she was mad about being alone working and gave the impression that customers weren't being understanding I guess. I can only hope that this is not a waste of time and this young lady is talked to. Retail is not for everyone. She needs to represent the store even when she has to work alone. Trust me at 50% off everything that day, no customers that I watched as I was in there was rude, short with her or impatient. If you have any questions you may call me at: 360-703-7758. I would like a reply that this will be felt with before I set foot back in that Payless Shoe Store branch.

20

I ordered some shoes online and only part of my order arrived. I cant reach anyone on their customer service number even after holding for a hour each time I call. VERY POOR customer service!!!!! I would NEVER order from this site again and will file a suit if I dont get my money back.

20

I recently went to a Payless store in my area at 134-40 Springfield blvd, Jamaica N.Y 11413 and ordeded in the sore a size 9.5 Christian Siriano women's Samilya over the knee boot the Charocoal color. When I went to pick it up on Friday 10/31/2108 IT WAS THE WRONG BOOT THE SALES PERSON ORDERED. So I waited a week for the wrong boot and I had a affair to attend the I brought Gray sweater to match the boots. I was very upset and disappointed. I asked the manager women their what can be done for my inconvenience and trouble so said nothing can be done. I asked can it be shipped overnight no charge to me or discounted price 10.00 off because it was thrie employee mistake not mines so said no. Very unhappy at the answer because it was their fault not mines. I tols her I will not shop at payless again I have been shopping at payless for 15 years a loyal customer. Can I get this issue resolved because I really like the boot I currently have them in black and chocolate.

20

I want my phone number taken out of your calling/text message list. too many messages they are annoying I called on oct 10 and am still receiving on the 13th. I have prepaid this is costing me money. people on the internet say they don't even want to shop there anymore. I agree you are driving away customers 2 emails and 2 phone calls to payless stop will never give out my contact info again. 323 383 2383

20

Tried to buy Champion athletic shoes 3 times...first shopko store in Helena MT ..very limited stock..no one available to ask questions..second shopko store in Great Falks MT...no available Payless person to help or answer questions...went to actual Payless store in mall..clerk said the shoes didn’t come in Navy...did see navy in other 2 stores,just not my size. She offered no help. Told me to go home and shop on line......so much for Payless Shoes....

20

If I could rate no stars that is what I would do I placed an online order July 11th, 2018 as of July 20th my order was still not in no email explaining the delay nothing I contacted customer service to as what the problem was they had no idea so I requested a full refund I was on hold forever and then they said the refund was put into the system ok it is now 7/25/2018 and I am again on the phone with customer service because I still do not have my money yet they took it from my account the same day my order was place. So now I am told a sevond request for my refund has been put through. Not happen will never shop at Payless again.

20

I ordered 2 pairs of the same shoe. Only one pair was received. The box was big enough to hold 2 shoe boxes but only 1 box of shoes were there.
Order No 500001865063 Order date 2/8/18.

Please send the pair of shoes that were not sent.
Dianna Spensko
825 N 600 E
Price, UT 84501

20

I bought a pair of shoes on 9-4-2017 for my 9 year old Grandson. The sneakers have holes in them already and they are falling apart. I went to a payless shoe store with my Grandson on October 29, 2017 at 2:30 p.m. and the manager said well the shoes are worn Duh no s--- I know this then the manager proceeded to tell me that is wear and tear that's why the shoes are falling apart so soon. I said how can wear and tear be on the top of the shoes you don't make any sense. The manager said that is from walking to much. I said seriously the sneakers are starting to get holes on the toe's and any sneaker should hold up longer than 2 months.. I told the manager I never had any problems before. The manager said oh well. The black manager was rude. I wish I got her name I was so upset that I just walked out. I told the manager before I walked out that I should get refunded $19.99 because these American Eagle sneakers are defective.

40

Since last year in March Payless shoe store never sends coupons for me. I am a member of rewards, every time I go there I let them know but they do not do nothing about it. When I called Payless customer service, they sent off for me and I hoped it was fixed. That was very helpful for me but I am guessing Payless head offices has a mailing room issue. I would like to know the reason of this? If it is for some people not for everyone, fine but be honest with me.

40

I have been a payless shoe store customer for many years. I ordered some sandals online that did not fit my feet properly. I took them back to Payless store 4079 in Oxford, Alabama to return them. I was told by the sales associate that I am new and I am not authorized to do returns in a very rude way. She then turns and walk away and pick her cell phone like I am not even standing there, which in turn made me get kinda rude with her. She went on to say, well you will have to bring them back tomorrow when my manager is here, I am not authorized to do returns.

My problem with the situation was why would a manager leave a sales associated alone in a store that she is not trained to operate by herself? I just drove nearly 20 miles to return some shoes only to be told you need to come back tomorrow when my manager is here because I am not authorized to do it. In my opinion, any sales associate that is left in a store alone should be able to operate the store completely and that includes doing returns.

40

Their is no one here and the store is closed. The sign says open at ten and now it's 10:45 and no one is here. This is about the store in Millington TN. This happened today, May 24.

40

I need to register a complaint against Payless Shoes about an employee. Basically, the worker is taking selfies, giving discount to random people and just rude and annoying. Horrible horrible horrible. If she can just give her discount to all her friends why can't all customers get it? South mall store located in Allentown PA. Feorra I believe is the little girls name.

40

My wife, 7 year old grandson and I were in your wareham store today and our grandson needed to use the bathroom and the store refused us. My wife was so upset that we left without buying the $100 worth or shoes we wanted. I mean he is a 7 year old child. How could they do this? I hope the Payless Shoe Store corporate offices read this!

40

9/28/2015 arrived at the Payless Store located on SH47, Rio Grande, NJ at approximately 7:50 PM. Wanted to purchase work boots. As I approached the door, I observed two sales personal standing at the counter. As I try to enter, I found the front door locked. I asked the one person what time they closed and she said 8:00 PM. I informed her that it wasn't 8:00 0-clock yet by showing her my watch but she just turned her back on me. I feel this just might be my last visit to any Payless Stores.

40

I bought a pair of shoes at Payless Shoe Store on the 13 of oct 2012 it is now the 16th i still am not wearing them because someone left ink cartridge on. Im not driving a hour to you. A manager said a employee would come to me. I called again to see what was up and they had no clue what i was talking about. Now i wish i wouldnt have ever bought them. Hopefully i will hear from someone about it before next year. I am so not impressed at all.

40

I am terribly unhappy with the walkmates quality. My kids have been using it for many years but now the quality is not the same anymore. I bought 2 pairs of shoes for my daughter. The same styling, different sizes. One pair is still brand new. The shoe she is currently wearing is a few weeks old and the sole has torn at the point of the white glue/attachment. I looked at the brand new pair and also saw the same foot, the binding is pulling apart. That shoe hasnt even been worn as yet! I shall be taking it back to Payless Shoe Store and will request that both shoes be replaced either with the same styling or something that i like at no additional cost! Let's see what they say!

Have feedback for Payless Shoes?

Thanks for your feedback!

Sorry. Please try again later!