La-Z-Boy

Complaint Department


Most Popular Complaint about La-Z-Boy

Posted by Complaints Department on Apr 02, 2013
Customer Rating
60

On 9/28/2012 I tried to buy a sofa at La-Z-Boy in Spanish Fort Al. The salesperson informed me the sofa I picked out was a floor model but i could pick any color on samples. I picked out a color and asked how long before delivery, she said “about 3 weeks”.

My Husband signed what we thought was a sales order, later found out it was a contract that took away all of our rights. A reputable, ethical business doesn’t have to resort to such unfair and deceptive practices. this contract was fraudulently misprepresented, also it is unconscionable due to a delivery date of 04/04/2044 .

After 5 weeks I began to inquire about delivery and was given the run-a-round. After 7 weeks I was told the delivery would not be until Dec. At which time I cancelled the order. The manager informed me I could not cancel and would not give me a refund. I used a debit card to pay in full on 9/28/12 and because I signed the receit my bank would not chargeback the funds.

When I was informed the sofa had arrived in Dec. I refused the delivery. I have tried everything to try to get my money back and nothing has worked. Now my only option is to file a law suit against L-Z-Boy. I have offered to pay 1/2 of the restocking fee to settle this but no one from the store responds. I never had possession of the sofa and I cancelled it before it was manufactured.

Now I believe the sofa has been resold because no one will answer where the sofa is. This La-Z-Boy store is independently owned so the Parent La-Z-Boy will not deal with this issue. This store sells the La-Z-Boy brand and name, so some organization must have some input over the business practices. There are many complaints against La-Z-Boy on the web about product quaility and service.

Maybe corporate should reconize they need to address these dishonest business practices before it puts them out of business. The internet is far reaching and La-Z-Boy cannot depend on the old reputation forever. Unfortunately most people don’t look on the internet until they have already been scamed, but La-Z-Boy will not get return customers and the word will spread about their business practices sooner or later. also the word is spreading that La-Z-Boy is not an American Made product as it claims. It has gone the way of China.

2 Customers agree with this feedback

Did La-Z-Boy provide poor service? Yes or No

Do you have a complaint about La-Z-Boy?

Customer Satisfaction Results
1.89 out of 5
1.89 out of 5 Stars
9 Consumer Reviews

La-Z-Boy
Contact Information

I want to write a letter to La-Z-Boy. What is their corporate mailing address?


I want to call the La-Z-Boy customer hotline. Do they have a phone number I can call to voice my problem?

I need to visit the La-Z-Boy company website. What is their website address?

More La-Z-Boy Complaints

Customer Rating
60

We bought a matching reclining sofa and love seat from Lazyboy Tacoma in March. The fabric on the love seat looks a little different from the sofa. Someone called us to ask about our purchase which was nice, and I explained what I noticed. They said they would have someone from the Tacoma store call us, but the never did. I went to the other Lazyboy to look at the displays and they were very similar I was talking to the salesman there and he said ” I just had to order that Loveseat as our warehouse just sold the last one “. I also noticed that the Loveseat had a tag on the top side of it like my sofa had but not my loveseat. Was my Loveseat a return?? Going to call the store today as I still have not heard back from anyone from the Tacoma Lazyboy store. For $ 2409.37 you would expect better follow up on your investment t!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Disclaimer: This complaint was submitted by Paul on 03/23/2014 at IP address 75.165.110.37 using our LAZY BOY complaint form. This opinions contained in this LAZY BOY customer review titled, “Fabric on loveseat does not match fabric on sofa.” do not reflect the opinions of this website.

1 Customer agrees with this feedback

Did La-Z-Boy provide poor service? Yes or No
Customer Rating
20

we purchased a la z boy recliner about a year ago. after about six months the recliner mechanism started to malfunction. last week we had a repair man look at the chair and he has to order parts to fix it. the cost will be around $150. the quality of the part that has to be replaced is so poor that they are on the third version of this cheap plastic part. we should not have to pay for this repair but were told they are only charging labor costs.

1 Customer agrees with this feedback

Did La-Z-Boy provide poor service? Yes or No
Customer Rating
20

We purchased two lazy boy recliners about a year and a half ago at Hobson Furniture in Festus MO. We have recently moved to Galveston TX and so can’t go back to the furniture store to complain. We had another pair of these recliners and they lasted for years with the exception of the springs being replaced a couple days. These chairs have faulty upholstery. These chairs are burgundy in color and the color is fading very badly. I am thinking of using upholstery cleaner on them but am concerned that they will fade even more. I would like to know how to make this complaint to Lazy Boy.

1 Customer agrees with this feedback

Did La-Z-Boy provide poor service? Yes or No
Customer Rating
60

The material of the lazy boy chairs and what in it is questionable by my daughter and myself. i have acquired a cough in the last 3 years that no doctor can explain. My husband died from cancer last year of the sinus track, etc. Now that he is gone my daughter sits in his chair and has also acquired a cough as mine. Please e-mail my daughter and assure her that there is no problem with the material in the chair. We will also notify the better business office and put it on record of our concern. These 2 lazy boy chairs were purchased at least 5 years ago.

1 Customer agrees with this feedback

Did La-Z-Boy provide poor service? Yes or No
Customer Rating
40

I recently purchase a $1, 200.00 La-Z-Boy recliner. When it was delivered, I didn’t even think to actually recline the chair to check it over thoroughly. Four days later when my husband was sitting in the reclined position, I noticed the leather was rubbed bare on the back of the arms. I took pictures and headed into the La-Z-Boy store. I explained that it was a brand new chair and I needed a new chair delivered. “We don’t do it that way” was what I was told. After several attempts to get a “real appointment” with them, I’m set for six (6) weeks down the road!!! You’ve got to be kidding, La-Z-Boy! I didn’t pay top-dollar for a repaired chair! It’s not a year old, nor was it a week old! Get serious and read up on CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!

1 Customer agrees with this feedback

Did La-Z-Boy provide poor service? Yes or No
Customer Rating
20

I purchased a Lazy Boy Recliner Sofa approx. 2 years ago. On delivery an arm cap was missing; never rectified after complaint to retailer and Lazy Boy. Now the retractable leg support has jammed in the out position and the particle board backer on the opposite side leg support has broken. The back of the sofa on one side has fallen to the rear. What I thought was a lifetime guarantee has turned into an $80.00 per hour labor charge. I am going to fire the junk in the dumpster; never again Lazy Boy.

1 Customer agrees with this feedback

Did La-Z-Boy provide poor service? Yes or No
Customer Rating
40

We ordered 2 recliners. Traded in our old ones that were very comfortable but the fabric was worn. When we received our chairs and tried them out they were nothing like the one in the store. These are very cheaply made, something hard in the seat and we are not big people but you can feel it when you push on the cushion with your hand. Sitting on it is not normal it’s like sitting on wood. The store refuses to do anything about it. However when we bought them they said “satisfaction guaranteed” Yeah, right. So, over $1, 700 for 2 chairs and they aren’t worth $25.00

Did La-Z-Boy provide poor service? Yes or No
Customer Rating
20

We bought an expensive sectional from La-Z-Boy Furniture Gallery. Since the day it was delivered it has been saggy and uncomfortable. I phoned and wrote a letter to the manager right away to complain, but received no response. Now, less than a year old, the stitching is falling apart. Here’s how it seems to work with La-Z-Boy. You go to the Furniture Gallery and choose one of the well-built, comfortable pieces they have on display there. You put a deposit on the one you select, and then wait for months. The one that’s finally delivered to you is crap compared to the one you try in the store. My advice to anyone considering a purchase from La-Z-Boy – take a good look at all the complaints on the internet about this company.

Did La-Z-Boy provide poor service? Yes or No

Companies Like La-Z-Boy

Thanks for your feedback!

Thanks for your feedback!

Sorry. Please try again later!