Family Dollar Customer Service
Rated 1.86 of 5 Stars
Based on 110 Complaints

Contact Family Dollar Corporate

Toll free phone number: 704-847-6961

Family Dollar is a small format retailer that specializes in value and convenience products. Before it became a subsidiary of Dollar Tree, Inc. in January 2015, it was publicly traded on the NYSE: FDO. With over 8,100 locations nationwide, net sales for 3rd quarter in 2014 were reported as US 2.6 billion. There are eleven distributions centers in the US.

If you have a problem with any Family Dollar product or service you may call 1-866-377-6420. If you would like to contact the CEO Howard L. Levine you may address your postal correspondence to him at the company headquarters at 10401 Monroe Road, P.O. Box 1017, Charlotte, NC 28201. The corporate phone number is 704-847-6961. If you observe a Family Dollar fleet truck driving in an unsafe manner dial ext. 4589.  An email communication may be initiated at info@familydollar.com.

Founded in 1958 by a 21 year old entrepreneur Leon Levine, Family Dollar’s philosophy is “the customers are the boss and you need to keep them happy”. Levine started with a store carrying items priced ‘$2.00 or less. Calling themselves ‘your home for everyday low prices’, social media presences may be found on Facebook and on Dollar Tree Twitter account.


Experienced poor service? File a complaint here!

Family Dollar Contact Information

Report complaints to corporate and get satisfaction

  • Family Dollar headquarters address

    • 10401 Monroe Rd.
    • Matthews
    • NC 28105
    • United States
  • Company website

  • 1-800 phone number

    704-847-6961
  • Better Business Bureau rating

    A+

  • Customer service hours

    24 hours a day

Browse reviews of other Retail Stores



Top Family Dollar Complaints

Browse more than 110 reviews submitted so far

20

Store ran out of bags. Waits till u are getting rang up to say they don't have bags and you can purchase the reusable bags for $1 each. I walked to the store and only had enough cash to purchase what i needed. The right thing to do would be to put a sign on the door before i shop letting customers know they don't have bags or give the other bags for free or open up a bag of trash bags and use them..i had to walk all the way home carrying stuff and constantly dropping stuff on ny walk home..this is ridiculous

20

Every time I come here, which is min. Weekly, I have 8.00/ 20.00 in coupons. Digital coupons don't work here. I'm embarrassed each time. The cashier looks at me like I have 3 heads. Each time she claims she can't use my coupons. I don't scam!! There 100% valid! The mngr. Puts them in manually. Not to happily. Yesterday, this took 35 minutes with 11 people behind me starring at me! This store and help is pathetic!!!!!!

20

I stopped by your location at 311 Briarwood Dr, Jackson, Ms. The location should have been open at 8am. The location was still closed because your employees can not get to work on time, this is not the first time. I ended up going across the street to your competitor Dollar General. I prefer shopping at Family Dollar but if you can not open on time, I will stick with Dollar General.

20

My wife Karen,ended her employment last night with your store due to lack of hours, a manager that doesn't know how to manage, a verbally abusive, foul mouth, lazy, disrespectful assistant manager.
I retired recently in supervision, have had many hours of management training classes, so I recognize your problem.
I do not approve of your management treating my wife this way so now your store has lost a valuable, hardworking employee.

20

I was in Family Dollar #08395 Sunday, September 10, 2017 buying household supplies. I started by telling the cashier I had two separate purchases. As he was ringing up my first items, I informed the guy that the bleach was $3, not $3.15. He didn't acknowledge that he'd heard me so I assumed he had. After I'd paid he started ringing up the other items, which was candy and chips. I asked him for my receipt for the first purchase. He gave it to me. I looked and saw that he hadn't changed the price which I again mentioned while he was still ringing my second set of purchases. He responded by saying, "I don't know why it would be $3." I said, "Me either but the sign says $3." He again says he doesn't know why it's $3. Okay, that's what it says on the shelf. I didn't want to hold up the line so I told him to ring up the next person and I'd go grab the sticker. He tells me he doesn't need another bleach, he needs to see the price. To which I said, " That's what I'm going to get." I went ALL THE WAY to the back of the store and grabbed the sign that CLEARLY said, Clorox $4.25 Our Brand $3. Save $1.25. I show this to this guy and he's STILL SAYING he doesn't know why it's $3. Then he gets belligerent and really starts talking disrespectful and loud saying "I don't know why you're arguing with me over 15 cents!!!" I, and the line of customers, looked at him sideways. Is he serious, stupid or seriously stupid right now??? I never even raised my voice or got mad up to this point. I said, "I'm not arguing, I'm asking for my receipt to be corrected. I want the money that's due me." He said since I'm going to argue over this, I never argued, he'll give it to me but I was banned for HIS store. I guess he was mad that I'd showed him why the bleach was $3. I said, "NO PROBLEM, you shouldn't be in customer service!!! I come here all the time when I wash but never again". He said, "Are you kidding me!!!??? This is MY STORE!!! I'm always here. You're banned!!! Don't ever come back!!!" I said again,"NO PROBLEM!!!!!" I left there in disbelief about what had just transpired. His behavior was unwarranted. Watch the tape! I don't know if he was on meds or needed to be but he was definitely out of order and disrespectful.

100

5 stars = bad
I forgot my $5 coupon at home and was going to ask the cashier if she had one I could use. She said she only had one left and said that I could have it if I donated $1 to the Red Cross. I stated that I did not like the Red Cross (I'm not happy with the way some people were treated during Hurricane Harvey & I have heard that most money goes to the ones at the top). I told her that I supported the Salvation Army and other groups. She refused to let me have the coupon because I would not contribute a $1 to the Red Cross. I considered that blackmail! I paid my $27.00 and left. When I got to my car, I realized that I should have left the items on the counter and not paid for them. I decided then that I will never shop at Family Dollar again even though it used to be one of my favorite stores. Walmart would not have treated me that way, therefore; I will only shop at Walmart in the future.

20

I went to Family Dollar in Pike Plaza Shopping center in North Little Rock Arkansas at 8:40 central time this morning, the store was closed. The sign said store opens at 8:00 am, the store was dark and no one was around. I need a few things so I could continue working until my lunch hour. The items I needed were important, due to an urgent medical issue. I walked back to my job without the needed supplies. The store being closed was inconvenient and I had to improvise. I shop at Family Dollar frequently, I am considering a boycott to Family Dollar Store in general. Thank you for allowing me to vent. Rebecca

20

I got to the Famly Dollar on spring Grove at 9 am this morning to a closed store I have waited outside the store with other customers as well as with a delivery truck the manager did not show up to open the store until 9;46 without so much as and had us waiting until 10 am i thought that she was very rude because when she opened the store she closed the door on a young lady preventing her to come to inside without so much as giving us an apology for having us wait over an hour to shop, I have set inside of my car watching other customers leave very upset

20

I bought Colgate Toatal Avanced Health this one i had to Shake to Activate and i did when i tried it i almost choked my throat felt like closing on me. I took it back to the store and i was told that they can't refund or take it back because the store doesn't get refund all i want is another product not a refund. Store #05950 3919 Washington Ave Racine,Wi

20

Went in yesterday to buy some good sale items. I was told that she could not give me the sale price unless I had a Smart phone or just a cell phone. Lost a customer and plenty of my friends after this.

20

My car had broke down and phone was on 5%...so i went in bcause i just wanted a lil juice to call my mom and the girl at the front counter was very nasty and rude to me..and so i used else's phone to call roadside assistance. .then i had to use the restroom so i ask the same girl with the nasty attitude was like we dont a public restroom.very bad experience will never shop there...

20

Your parking lot always looks like a GARBAGE DUMP ! We moved to Memphis for a clean city but not so true at your store .

20

It seems that your company doesn't promote a drug free environment. I am aware of one of your employees using drugs and wasn't screened before she was hired. Her name is Cynthia Walker and she works at 210 W. Fairview Are. Montgomery Alabama.

100

Yesterday I went to Family Dollar
in Marumsco Plaza . I ask the cashier
For a pack of cigarettes. He told me I need to see your ID. I told him I left it in the car .I also said to him when I have my uniform on you didn't ask me for a ID.
I went to the car got my ID and came back.
The manger told me he did not like
my attitude. And he was not going to sell
the cigarettes to me.He also told the other cashier not to sale them to me niether.
And that he would call the police.

20

Was accused of stealing. I feel I was discriminated racially profiled. Was very embarrassing. The manager accused me her name is Shirley levette.location hwy 87n. September 1 2017 around nine am

20

My complaint is that your Assistant Manager Sue Mckinnis- store 08038 was rude, short and accusatory. I had a question concerning the pricing of the 75% off seasonal items. As I was trying to get a clear answer, she stated that she is tired of people coming into the store wanting to pay only a " penny " for things! She blamed her Manager, who where not there at the time, of the confusion due to the pricing. Her statement was offensive and uncalled for. She was very short with me. I never asked to get anything for a " penny " nor did I come to Family Dollar to get my items for free. I shop at Family Dollar approximately two to three times a week. Her abrasive tone and rudeness was uncalled for. I felt as though I was being treated like a common criminal. She never apologized. I am not sure if I would shop at that particular store again. I wouldn't think that this behavior from your managerial staff is representing the core values of Family Dollar. Thank you.

20

This management at the new Family Dollar on Mc Cart is a very unprofessional team. The store on a scale of 1 to 5 was 1 it was about 5 employee'S sitting n standing in a group talking the store for that many working wasn't Organized nor clean. When u call for merchandise to be held n not only that the DM even called to make for sure that it was there n it wasn't there this is a problem with ur management team . Now this means that the General Manager didn't want to follow orders of her boss a DM or even care about Good Customer Service this is what I call a Rachet Mgr. That should be written up by her DM for not following orders not providing Good Customer Service to a Customer. The location is the New Family Dollar on McCart. N when the season for that merchandise comes around again that Mgr should pay for those 12 Solar Lights out of her pocket or she should call around until she finds it. If I was thinking I would have taken a picture so u could see for urself n I have been a Secret Shopper before this store would have score very low n everything ok. It was about 2 hours before closing it looked like omg a mess.

20

I have been an active citizen in the West End community since a child since before family Dollars was there. My boy's have been selling in front family Dollar for a while by them selling gives them no reason to steal. Every time my boy's make money they shop with family Dollars and the manager have the audacity to accuse my boy's of stealing. Now I'm very offended and want to take out a law suit for falsely accuse and harassing my boy's by judging them. My kids are honor Muslim boy's principle list students and are being judged. For my boy's honor I'm willing to fight in court.

60

My husband who is just out of the hospital from 2 hip replacements arrived at our local family dollar at 20 mins to 10. Closing time is 10 pm. They refused to let him in stating they where closed. He said but its not 10 yet. They told him they had to get the paper work done or they won't get out of the store to go home. All he wanted was 2 2liter bottles of soda. In the time he could have bin in and out and home and it still would've been 10. There is definitely a problem here. This is not the first time I have had a problem with the store. This store is on grant and stone in Tucson, AZ.

20

Purchase a charger cord for a cell phone got home was not in bag call the store the young lady that checked me out answer the phone, as I begin to explain to her that my item was not in the bag she proceeded to talk over me and say yes it is in the bag you must have dropped it or something and as I went to explain to her that I was searching in the bag that it was not in there she hung up in my face. I called back and just so happened one of the workers found it on the ground.

I record all my phone calls I allowed the other cashier to listen to how rude the cashier was and as I'm trying to explain that particular cashier is still email them off and when I told the other cashier that the proper way to handle this would be an apology and that's when the young lady sad hell no you ain't get no apology from me you must be crazy. Then she started throwing out smart remarks with a store full of customers that were all of African American descent and they were all laughing at me and that's what I told her that she was the one that was worth a s*** and I would not stand in her line if it took 20 minutes to get out of this store.

20

While shopping in a Family Dollar in Hampton, AR I was treated very rudely by employee Derrick Stevens. His rudeness developed as a result of my questioning the cost of the products Fritos and Cheetos that were advertised at 2 for $4.00 by a sign attached to the shelf. When I questioned him about it and told him the sign said 2 for $4,00 he said that because I purchased a $2.95 bag of Lays Potato chips the Fritos and Cheetos sold for $3.00 each. In my attempt to explain to him that the three items were not dependent upon each other for the sale price to count I inadvertently called him son. He became agitated and said very rudely "I am not your son". When an employee exhibits this type of attitude I find it a problem.

I paid for the items but decided to show him the sign. He continued to say the purchase of the Lays Potato chips voided the sale of the Fritos and Cheetos at 2 for $4.00. I decided to return the products with Derrick saying I should hurry up and leave the store. Thereby indicating that by questioning the price of the items I was a problem. There was no indication on the sign supporting what he was saying. He also said maybe I couldn't read. This employee was very rude and showed a definite need for training on how to deal with the public. I apologize if my reference to him as "son" was offensive from that point on I referred to him as young man. Because his attitude was so rude and disrespectful I told him I would spread the word. You are who I am spreading the word to about his attitude. I hope you will see fit to remedy this situation.

20

CEO Howard R. Levine or COO Charles S. Gibson Jr. I have scanned and attached the full story in a .jpg file. Use a picture viewer you can magnify with, in case it's hard to read from being small text. I reported the incident to the manager on duty, immediately after it happened. I went back the next day with my typed outline of what occurred to give to "head" manager, Allie. A few days later, she informed me it was passed to the District Manager to make a decision. I am not sure if it went higher up for the final decision, but the wrong decision was made by keeping this cashier employed at your store. Is this what you really want representing your stores?

Please take the time to read my full complaint. Additionally, I stopped in that store to ask Allie about the outcome. When she told me the decision came down to keep him as an employee, she was informed Family Dollar just lost 2 customers; me and my roommate. Rest assured, I will inform as many people in this neighborhood as I can about the garbage you choose to keep employed. As I left the store, that cashier was "working." Only the thing he was working on was hitting on 2 girls. Not old enough for him to be hitting on. Once again, he was trying to line up some snatch for later, instead of doing his job.

The District Manager, and all others who made the decision to keep him, should be fired immediately... as well as the nearly pedophile cashier you have working at this store. On a further note, I'm not sure how you can even come close to claiming a BBB rating of A+ for your stores when you have ALL these complaints. Out of 47 ratings, you were given 1 star 41 times. That doesn't tell you that your system is broken?

20

Today was the first time I went into a recently opened Family Dollar store in my neighborhood and it's also the last. The cashier never spoke one word to me. I went to the register with my purchases and no Hello no Thank you no nothing. The worst part is I think she was the manager. When the transaction was complete I waited for a thank you or anything. Well nothing! I even said You're Welcome and nothing but a crappy smile. I worked in retail for over 30 year's and never would have lasted that long or treated any customer this way. The stores address is 5522 Turned Rd, Garfield Hts. Ohio 44125. The tore number 10523 and the phone number is 216-518-1277

40

There was a special on candy buy 2 get one free. I was charged 1 cent for the 3rd bag of candy. When I questioned cashier he became defensive, responded "it's only a penny". I responded your sign says buy 2 get one free, that's false advertisements. I asked to speak to manager, he said "I'm the manager". I asked for his name twice, he would not give his name, he rudely said I'll write it down, call who you want, they'll tell you the same, he then slammed the piece of paper on counter, when I looked down at it, he wrote in scribble. After I paid, he walked away. I said to my family member he's a asshole, he yelled and said what you say, I repeated what I said to who I was with, he walked over and said I can no longer come in the store. I then left. That is false advertisement and I don't care if it was just a penny he charged, free means Free not pay a penny..wonder how many he did this too!

20

I stopped at a Family Dollar at 3500 Napier Avenue, Macon, GA, there were three females standing around at the check out talking. I was not familiar with this store so went to the register, said excuse me to one older that was standing there, she ignored me as if I was not there, one of the younger females said can I help you. I asked if they sold stockings, she directed me down an isle, after looking they were out of stock. I thanked her for her help, purchased two packs of gum, stood at the same register as the older lady who was standing talking, again she ignored continued in her conversation.

Another young female said "madam, I will help you at the next register". I assume this older lady was the manager, not only was she rude by not acknowledging a customer she was having inappropriate conversation with the other two females about what she like to do with her boyfriend in the bedroom. This type of conversation should have not been discussed wile customers are present in the store, the store manager need more training and a better attitude.

20

I would like to report a theft by a cashier of a Family Dollar Store, located at 57th and Vine Sts (5601 Vine St) in Philadelphia, Pa. Family Dollar #8419. On Saturday evening, October 15th, 2016, My mistakenly left her mobile phone at the cash register. When she went back to retrieve the phone, the cashier that assisted her informed her that a gentleman had came in the store stating that he was there to retrieve her cell phone and the cashier handed it over to the person, without verifying his identity, only because he gave the cashier my wife's full name.

When this incident was brought to the cashier's attention, and that my wife had not authorized anyone to retrieve her phone the cashier's statement was, 'Oh', well I handed over the phone to the guy because he gave me your full name. Well, here is my theory on what occurred. This particular cashier saw an opportunity where she, or someone she knew could get a phone, and either use it herself, or sell it on the streets of Philadelphia for cash.

The only way this 'stranger' could have known my wife's full name is that someone had to have told him. I believe that the cashier saw my wife's full name as she (my wife) was during the sales transaction. She (the cashier) then called a friend and told the person that, I have this very nice cell phone that a customer left in the store and I want it. She then told the gentleman her full name and told him to come into the store, come directly to her (the cashier) and say, 'I am here to pick up 'Doreen James' (that's my wife) phone that she left in the store, Hence is a 'Conspiracy', which is a Crime punishable by Prison time.

My Wife and I have already filed a Criminal Complaint Report with the Philadelphia Police Department, and we are in the process of filing 'felony' charges against this cashier with the Philadelphia District Attorney's office to have the cashier 'arrested' for theft. My Wife not has a replacement cell phone with the same number but all of her ‘important’ information is in her stolen phone that the Family Dollar cashier ‘Conspired’ with someone to steal, and just as if the ‘CEO’ of Family Dollar would like for someone to return his phone, if he mistakenly leaves it at a sales counter, and same as if the Manager of that Family Dollar store would like for someone to return their phone to them, if they mistakenly leaves it at a sales counter, and even if that very Cashier of that Family Dollar would like for someone to return her phone, if she mistakenly leaves it at a sales counter.

Well, my Wife, still wants her phone that she worked ‘hard’ everyday to purchase, to be returned to that very Family Dollar store and given to a manager, and for the manager to give her a call so that she can return to the store and retrieve her cell phone.

40

If I could give no stars I would. These people are the worst. Today I was at the family dollar breach in Wilkes Barre at 3:30. Ok so I shop for what I can get as hardly anything is stocked hardly ever or things are way over priced. So I found coffee I like go to the register with people who are waiting this idiot worker refuses to do his job and get off. And this is not the first event with these people. In time I got tired of the horrible worker and left. These family dollar corporate people are the worst. I'll never shop their again I'll stick with Dollar General from now on.

40

My fiancé works for the Warwood store. She is pregnant and was just in the hospital for 2 days. The manager Dawn refused to take excuses from the doctor and is wanting her to unload truck which she is 19 weeks along. Plus she has a scheduled appointment every month that she needs to go to and every time she brings it up that she is unable to work on those days she still puts her to work when she knows about the appointments. I think it is clear BS that this manager can't do her own job for truck and also has an assistant manager that is able to do the job but refuses to do so. Also every time this other girl wants a day off or request a day off she gets everything she wants. It is pure favoritism. Also she brought her daughter from another store to work in her place so she could do whatever she needed to.

20

I am a current employee at a small family dollar In Jacksonville, NC located on Maplehurst Rd. Now even though I have enjoyed my six months working with this great company I recently had some troubles with my store Manager. I have never been so disrespected and belittled by a boss of mine ever before in my life. As we were closing down the store for the night and counting the money there seemed to be a issue with the overall money total. We were short. Come to find out it was a issue with the way I put in my numbers in the system.

Know I consider myself a really careful person when it comes to counting out my money. So if I had made a mistake it was a common human error that we all do as humans. Instead of my Manager walking me threw what I did wrong she continued to make me feel as if I was unintelligent and not important in the work place. I went home that night and do to all the stress I had a anxiety attack and put my unborn child inside me at risk as well. I had let my job know I was pregnant a while back and would not be able to take on as much responsibility as I wished to take on. Instead they give me longer shifts and less days off.

Like I said at the beginning of this email I enjoy working for family dollar but I do not enjoy the way I have and had been treated. Please contact me via email if you need any further information or have in future questions about my complaint against management at the store I work at. Thank you for your time. Hope to here back.

20

I tried to purchase the Cesar dog food special (6 pack at $4.50). The cashier attempted to scan the attached coupon it apparently would not register in your system. When your Manager Anthony tried with the same results he told me I couldn't have it free even though it is advertised.

Then he told me I should be the one to remove the coupon because he was trained not to remove this since Caesar's is not a Family Dollar product. I told him he had to honor the sale that is advertised. His response was that he is not losing his job because I want him to honor the sale and override his system. He still insisted that it wasn't his product just because it's in the store. It this point I called him an idiot who needed legitimate training.

He was rude and tried to find a solution to the problem. I told him I would file a complaint with his corporate office and BBB, he said he didn't care and gave me your number. I went to another Dollar store on 3rd street, Mount Vernon, New York and made my purchase with zero problems. He adjusted the sale purchase and apologized for the other Manager Anthony at Sanford Boulevard in Mount Vernon, New York. This store has a high turnover rate of managers, bad business.

20

Went to family Dollar in Houston, Texas at Gessner and Braeswood on October 10th 2016 at 9:20pm on a Monday and the store doors were locked and it clearly states that the hours of operation is 9-10. The employee on the inside did not even look up to acknowledge me this is unacceptable especially since I past several other stores that had what I needed to go to that store and they closing 40 minutes early with no reason is outrageous I will not be going to this store anymore. I will definitely be taking my business else where. Attached a screen shot of the time after writing this review.

100

This is not a complaint but a compliment. I commend one of your Assistant Managers for being polite and gracious with customers right before the hurricane Matthew hit in Charleston, SC. Even though they knew he was the only one there to check them out they complained but he kept his cool and smiled. I have worked in retail for over 15 years and know that good customer service is the key to repeat buyers. Thomas should be applauded for being such an excellent example of giving good customer service under such circumstance. A raise in pay would be a good way of showing your company's appreciation of good customer service which by the way is hard to come by in this day and age. Thomas I wish you the best in years to come.

20

On 10/07/16 at store #01879 2378 Rockingham Rd, Davenport Iowa, supervisor auth 539854/I approached the counter to purchase toiletry items. When cashier rang item's there was a price discrepancy, I asked the manager on duty (myrna I believe was her name, she refused to tell me her name when asked, but cashier mentioned mgrs name when i asked for corp number later) to please walk with me to verify, mgr refused to walk to simply verify price.mgr stated its right there I can see it from here.

I said there are two signs I just want you to see them both,she said no, I can see them from here and walked even further away, as though she didn't acknowledge the price of what the cashier and I both had witnessed. It was extremely unprofessional, and all I needed was clarity, on the price of my item. At that time there was no one at the register other than myself, please follow up on this incident, it became a very bad experience for me to go through as a regular customer.

20

I just left Family Dollar #103696 5630 N. Peoria Tulsa, Ok. I 'm still shaking, upset & disappointed over the terrible and unacceptable behavior that was displayed to me as a paying customer. I was at the check-out counter purchasing a box of Snickers Ice cream Bars when the cashier rang up $4.15 purchasing price.I remembered the sales tag stating $3.45 I then went back to the frozen food department and bought the sales tag to the cashier. The cashier then called over whom I assume is a store manager Mr. William Jones.Mr Jones looks at the sales tag then proceed to state in an unprofessional tone "This tag has expired" in front of a line of customers.

I then state that the sales tag was displayed in front of the ice cream and that was what I was expecting to pay.Mr.Jones goes on to state in a belligerent tone"If you be quiet, I was going to let you have them for that price". Now Mr. Jones is talking to me as I was a charity case. I then tell Mr. Jones that would be the correct thing to do,other than that it was false advertisement. He becomes totally irate and unprofessional displaying a negative image that I know Family Dollar would not condone with a paying customer. Mr.Jones then states" I'm not going to give you nothin" Mr. jones tone is more negative!

Jones then slams the sticker in the cashiers hand and walks off. I then asked the cashier for the manager's name. I proceed to pay for my merchandise and leave the store. Mr.Jones behavior was totally unprofessional and rude. Mr. Jones did not represent Family dollar in a positive matter. I'm sure Family Dollar would not condone the matter this particular situation was handled.

40

My complaint is on behalf of a friend of mine that went to your store on Nogalitos Street in San Antonio Texas. She told me that on a particular Friday of this month (September 2016), she went to this Nogalitos Family Dollar store and she asked one of your employees (employee #1) in English for dog food. The employee stated that she did not speak English and then my friend asked her in Spanish where the dog food was. Employee #1 then told her where the dog food was and my friend went to get the dog food.

When my friend returned to the front of the store to pay, another employee (employee #2) asked my friend in English what she had asked employee #1 and when my friend told her that she had asked where the dog food was, employee #2 lied to employee #1 and told employee #1 that my friend was saying that employee #1 should learn to speak English. Employee #2 was obviously wanting to start a fight between my friend and employee #1 and my friend then told employee #2 in Spanish so that employee #1 could understand, that she was lying and that she (my friend) had not said that at all about employee #1.

Employee #1, by this time angry because of the lies from employee #2, then got right in front of my friend's face and insulted her and then SPAT in my friend's face. My friend was shocked by this and so were other customers that also witnessed this incident. My friend refused to call the police and left the store even though the other customers begged her to call the police.

I told her to complain to your corporate office but I believe that she is too embarrassed to do this so I decided to do it myself. I cannot believe that you have such vile people working at your stores and I can assure you that I will never again shop at your stores if you do not fire these disgusting people and I will also ask my family not to shop at any of your stores again. These people need to be removed from your stores since they have no adequate manners to deal with customers. If you don't remove these people, this only means that you tolerate disgusting treatment of your customers and so in my opinion, you do not deserve my business. My rating for your stores right now is not even one star, but 0 stars.

20

The Family Dollar in Jacksonville, Fl on 5799 Ft. Caroline Road is in extreme need of organization (boxes of stock block the isles regularly). I went into the store today and there was a line at the register, which is not a problem, unless one looks around and sees three managers and another employee standing around in front of the second register talking. We, the customers, were not acknowledged. The line at the only open register continued to grow.

This is not the first time this has happened, but it might be the last time I shop at this store if the problem is not rectified. The store also needs to be cleaned on a regular basis, boxes should be removed from the isles, and customers should be recognized rather than ignored by the managers and employees.

40

I went shopping to family dollar located at Orosi Ca and the store manager named Maria was not friendly at all or professional. I also find very strange that they ask for donations every time I shop there but yet there's no signs or papers anywhere stating what foundation they're collecting money for I believe she's scamming us customers and just wants to make extra money.

20

I had 3 coupons I clipped from the Family Dollar Circular one was $1 off a lint roller one was buy one get one Lysol which was $2.25 and the other was a buy one get one gain $2which I thought was the 20 0z but it was the 40 0z I later found out. It was the $3 bottle. Regardless The cashier rang me up but overcharged me in fact she did not take the coupon for the Gain at all then she swore she did she called the store manager. They said I was rude but I had returned to the store twice to try to explain the cashiers mistake.

She could not understand that she did not take off the coupon. And until the manager asked her to pull it up on her past purchase history it wasn't there. I added the total in my head to show her what the difference was it was simple the lint roller was $3minus a dollar the Lysol was $2.25 for 2 and the dishwashing liquid was $2 she charged me $8 and some odd change. And the cashier had the nerve to pit the customers against me. I have been shopping here a long time as I live next door but I will be shopping Dollar General from now on.

20

I was the manager of 3271 several years back and it was always put to us customer service comes first if it weren't for the customers coming in we wouldn't have a job to always greet and thank them for their business. I used to spend a lot of money in 3271 trying to stay loyal to family dollar after working for them for 15 years but I trade with dollar general now 99 per cent of the time because they thank me for coming in and and spending my money there and to come back.

It's also clean no clutter except for truck day and their employees are not all outside smoking at the same time with customers inside. I can't say that about family dollar the store is a mess can't push shopping cart down isle without running over something can't shop clearance racks very well things aren't price regular merchandise mixed in with clearance and the employees that smoke are by the entrance door so they can see when a Customer is ready to check out. You have to walk through a cloud of smoke to get in.

Can't complain to manager because she is one of them that smokes. The dm that we had would have hung us out to dry if he saw the store in that condition and the smoking by the door. It obvious the the dm now either doesn't care or doesn't show up very often because the store is a disgrace. Maybe he needs to make some surprise visits I guarantee he will be in for a surprise. Thank you for your time. All I want is to be thanked for business.

40

I visited the Family Dollar store located at Polk and Camp wisdom in Dallas TX 9/30. The checkout line was very long and the cashier closest to the exit door allowed and checked out a customer who had not stood in line. She was made aware of this issue but ignore me and the gentle in front of me. We had been in line for several minutes.

80

I totally love shopping at these Family Dollar stores. But not understanding why the products don't have prices on the shelve. Some do and some don't. And to find a person you have to walk to the front of the store. Please price all the items on the shelve. It can't be to hard to place a price on shelve. The bigger stores do it. Why can't they do this?

20

My complaint is as follows: The Store Manager, when she is on duty, refuses to put heavy items such as a gallon milk which weighs approximately 8.3 pounds in an extra plastic bag for added support to carry out of the store. I have purchased the above item at various stores and asked it be double-bagged due to the weakness of the single bag seam. I have had the bag break and the milk busted on the pavement in the parking lot. I know these bags are inexpensive to purchase by the store. The Manager's only answer to my request was that she only orders one case of bags per month. My question to you is: Why is this manager's policy different from other Family Dollar Stores?

40

I signed up for the Family Dollar coupon app, used it once and it worked well, went to a different store and clipped new coupons, checked out and got none of my coupon savings. I bought Meow mix with $2.00 off coupon, cheese its with $1.00 off coupon and Pringles with $1.00 off coupon. None of these came off and the checker said, "I don't know, I was told to sign people up, but I don't know how it works", I'm super frustrated. I bought these things because I thought I was getting a deal, but I didn't and the cashier was NOT helpful.

40

On Thursday August 18th my boyfriend went into the family dollar @ 777 N. Rancho Las Vegas, Nv and purchased a lot of items including a pair of glasses that cost $6 they came apart that same evening. On Sunday August 21st my boyfriend went back into the same family dollar and took the glasses back to exchange them only but he threw his receipt out. But the cashier recognized him and verified that he purchased the glasses. The manager wouldn't let him exchange them and was very rude and unprofessional I am including a picture a the glasses we just want to exchange it we don't want cash, plus my boyfriend bought it with his debit card.

40

On Sunday August 21,2016 at the hour of 10;23 Am i enter the store two purchase item that was on sale. All Detergent. Buy one get one free. The location of the store located at 3407 Payne Avenue. Cleveland Ohio, store number 02334 contact number 216361-9477. The sale clerk was manager female name unknown she was only clerk at this hour waiting on customers. This woman had such poor ethnic of professional standards and customer courtesy that it was very ridiculous.

She was very rude, refuse to let my credit card go through make sale, shouted out illegal comments such as don't you rush me and disrespect me. This employee act like she was on some type of drugs doing her employment. Am very concern about her safety because how she violated my citizen rights in open door policy the next citizen wouldn't have allowed that misconduct of behavior and bad attitude of disrespect. She place herself in danger. The Administration need to inform of this employee bad attitude toward Family Dollars customers.

As i walk out, other customer inform me of there experience with this employee's attitude that also will lead to tort of Law: Discrimination. Thank you and please help resolve this complaint by contacting the Corporate office on my behalf. I plan to contact Family Dollar Corporate as well.

20

Went in to shop the sales had coupons with the exact same picture of the product and it did not ring up the coupon and they would not give it to me. They were rude they are always rude when we go in there. They said that the registers shut down at ten so, we had another transaction but they went around us and got the customers behind us that walked in 2 minutes before ten and we had been there over an hour. They were overheard saying that if we didn't check out before 10 we would have to leave our basket there and leave.

If you are trying to have a business and make money you let them finish shopping that way you make a sell. When you are at a restaurant you get to finish eating and you do not get run out of the place. The managers sure don't set there and complain that they have been there since 6 o'clock that morning and they are ready to go home. There is not one store in town who will not take the coupons. If it does not scan they type them in. Because they want to make a sell and have you return to there store. I will not go back to the store anymore as long as they are like they are in the store.

40

On July 29, 2016, I bought store items at the Family Dollar Store No. 01451 at approximately 6:00 p.m., double check receipt and tossed the sales receipt. Then I went to the Ledbetter Rail Station and waited on my buss but decided to go into the Family Dollar Store located on Ledbetter directly behind the Ledbetter Rail Station. There was a guy picking up trash outside the store, I went into the store and the cashier told me to leave my reusable family dollar bag at the front. I put the bag in a cart that they had stacked up almost to the ceiling. I grabbed my reusable bag and proceeded out of the store.

As I walked onto the parking lot headed across the street to the bus stop, I was approached by the guy picking up trash, he accused me of stealing and told me to show him a receipt, I did not have the receipt in my hand, he, in a rage, told me that was "this is my stuff" I tried to explain to him that I do not steal and that I Just bought those items. He kept asking that I show him the receipt then he grabbed my bag, said he was going into the store to review the tape. Then the cashier came out of the store and asked me what did I come into the store to get. I told her I was just browsing.

Then the guy who grabbed my bag said his cashier just said I stole. But when I said I left the bag at the front of the store, he was still not convinced. She did agree that I indeed left the bag at the front of the store. However, she proceeded to call the police and told me to leave the property. The police came and found me next door at Walgreens and asked me did I just leave the store. I agreed that I did and told him what happened.

He advised me to call the corporate office. However, I went back to the Jefferson location and found my receipt I had thrown in the trash can. So the following Monday, August 1, 2016 around 6:00 p.m. I went into the store and informed the same cashier that I had my receipt and needed to claim my merchandise that I had spent totaling approximately 20.75. She was so hostile when she addressed me in front of several customers and I walked out of the store. She came out of the store in a rage and asked that she could not help me if I did not come back into the store.

When I entered the store she was adamant about the issue and proceeded to speak to me in a hostile fashion. I told her I would contact the corporate office since I could not establish a reasonable dialogue with her. I felt as though she was going to strike me at any moment. I left the store and called the corporate office number and am hereby requesting a full refund of the items that were stolen from me.

40

The manager was on her cell phone when I first saw her she appeared to be putting items on the selves she looked over at the line which had 11 customers I made 12 she went over to a register so I thought good she will open up a line. Well she did not I waited of about ten minutes. Went over to ask if she was the manager and did she plan to open another line? She was very rude raising her voice and said I 'm helping this customer. Not once did Krista the manager store#6928

Tell the waiting customers I'll open a line once I'm finished with this customer. She yelled out Corporate number for the customers to call in a complaint. I waited a total of 35 minutes in the store. Krista the manager was still "helping" the customer after I over herd her talking to her Regional Manager saying FYI a customer will be calling to complain; as if this was a joke. I have never experience such sub par customer service this Manager needs to be retrained she has no customer service skills FYI 6 other customers left the store in disgust.

40

Om Wednesday, July 20, 2016 I went to Family Dollar located at 4724 Millbranch Store #1170 to return a bag of Laffy Taffy. The associate did refund me for the candy, but not before he laugh at me and tried to involve another customer. I told him it was stuck to the paper and I could not get it off. He tried to convince me that that's the way it is. Well, I have had it many times before and it was not like that.

40

On Saturday July 9, 2016 around 8:15am I went into the family dollar store located on 2004 Centenary Blvd, Shreveport, LA 71104 - I purchased my items and paid for them. Just as I was walking out of the store the door 'sounder" went off and the employee (didn't get a name-sorry) came from around the counter and immediately began checking my bag - she also asked to check my purse which I pulled out my belongings to show her I did nothing wrong.

My boyfriend became upset so she and him had some words and she told him not to come into the store ever again because she was not putting up with "it" today. Thankfully, no other customers were in the store at the time because I would've been embarrassed.

I also want to add that I had gone into the same store a couple of nights before and the sounder had gone off at that time, but the attending clerk said it was okay to go through the door...so apparently something's wrong with the sounder and needs to be repaired - as far as I'm concerned, the employee who confronted me that day should have apologized and been a little more professional....I've been a customer of that store for many years now and do not want to stop going to it - I've never been a problem and never stole anything or attempted to.

40

My complaint and I speak for my neighborhood is the garbage. This store never sweeps the North 9th Avenue side of their location I am always sweeping what blows from their side of the street and lands in front of my house. Now they have several boxes just sitting there. And I have learned that the city has given them several summons. Apparently this means nothing. This is a constant problem that needs to be corrected! I really feel if the property cannot be maintained the store should be closed.

40

5245 Riverdale rd-- not necessary a complaint on store service. But the trash bin on the outside a structure was built for it and it is parked on the outside of the structure and trash is building up. We live & work in a nice area. Please fix or I will call the corporate headquarters next to tell the CEO of Family Dollar what his employees are doing.

60

I went to the family dollar on Frank St. in Lufkin, Texas on Sunday June 26 around 8:30 pm. I was ready to checkout with my one item but no cashier was there. Another gentleman came behind me and see he didn't see a cashier he yelled "hello". Eventually a cashier stomped to the register, she did not speak or address me in any manner. She heard me talking to the gentleman behind me and she stated "what did you say" I just looked at her then she stated again "what did you say" I told her I said if I did not need my item I would leave the store because you are being rude to the customers.

She stated that she was not being rude, and I was the one with the attitude and then rolled her eyes at me. I asked her for her name, she stated that her name was Kim, then I asked her for her last name because I was going to contact the corporate office, she stated none of your business. At that point Kim threw my coins in my hand and refuse to put my dollars bills in my hands. Kim ordered me to leave the store. I left the store immediately and attempted to call the number that was outside of the store. There was no answer. I do not want Kim to lose her job, but please talk to her about her customer service skills. I go to this family dollar the time. I do not want to have another run in with Kim.

40

I went to family dollar to get detergent when I was racially profiled. I was accused of sticking something orange in my pocket No apology was given and management stood its ground like I dropped the item in question. I am a black shopper. And at the time l was the only one humiliated.

20

Saturday 06/18/2016 I entered Family Dollar Store #3377. Line of customers as my two grand children walked behind me and I was looking at them to make sure they didn't touch any of the toys on the end caps. The next thing I hear as we are down the isle heading to the card section was the cashier in a loud voice say, "no running in store, no horsing around!" I thought there must be some children some where else I couldn't see because surely she wasn't addressing my grands who were directly behind me.

I turned my basket around and went down another isle and was facing the cashiers and I asked the question were you addressing my grand children and she said I don't know who they are with! I told her that they are with me and I have this under control. I was just floored, 1 because I have seen on more than one occasion children literally run rampant through a store, open toys and play with them and then just walk away when the parent they are with is ready to go. I'm not sure who she was impressing that night, but she totally had me upset over her ignorance. There is ALWAYS a big turn over in this store, but this is the first time someone has EVER had to "attempt" to put me or my grand children in check. I'm also sure there is nothing going to be done about it.

40

I have called and complained regarding this store a number of times and I am complaining again, it appears that you are blatantly ignoring my complaints regarding this store, #: 07141 3901 Indiana Ave. Kansas City, Mo., 816- 861-2596. The store is unkept from inside & out, there is trash all over the parking lot, trash cans & dumpster over flowing with trash, also there is very poor lighting at night in parking lot. Inside the store shelves are not stocked, boxes all in the aisles, customers have to wait in one long line to make a purchase this is trouble and unacceptable. I will find out what other steps I need to take to insure this matter is addressed, since you don't appear to be concerned.

40

There's a new manager at store# 10367 her name is Elizabeth, I don't know her last name, but she is rude to the customers and her employees, memorial day weekend food example, she left the store piled up with boxes that had just came off the truck with one employee there to empty and stock the stuff before the next truck came in the next morning, the store was a mess, I overheard her saying that she came first and that she was going to "drug it up" for the weekend, she never greets the customers and the employees have nothing nice to say about her, everytime I go there and see her car in the parking lot I leave, she's very uncomfortable to be around and from what I've observed she's very lazy also. I would like to see her removed from this store, it's the only store in my neighborhood that I really liked, until Elizabeth came.

40

I went to the Family Dollar in Greenville, SC on Laurens Road to purchase a bag of brown rice along with a few other items. When I got home and opened the bag of rice to pour it into the pot, I noticed that there were what appeared to be small webs and dead bugs in there. As I looked closer, there were worms and maggots crawling in the bag. I will be further pursuing this matter!

20

Found a metal object in a chocolate chunk cookie while eating it.

40

I purchased your "Family Chef" coals. On the bag says easy lighting and long lasting. This product is garbage. I light the coals with fluid trying to get the coals hot, then the heat fizzles out within minutes. Wind start blowing coals fizzles out. I been barbecue for years and this is the first brand of coals that is a complete failure. Please do not sell any of these coals to customers, because they will be pissed off like I was.

60

I was passing through Roxboro NC and stopped at Family Dollars on Madison Boulevard. I discovered that the manager I think the name was Dreama. she had a no care attitude when I asked a question. She was on the cell phone, walking around rolling her eyes. Not a pleasant person at all. According to the little cashier she's like that with everyone. If this is the kind of management you allow in your stores that's not good. If I'm in that area again I will be going to Dollar General or elsewhere. This is just a heads up on the fact that Family Dollar in that area will be losing business if that irate Mgr. keeps up her pace.

40

Please get some new clerks/management at our store in Mercer Pa. The store is always empty. Rude clerks and the customer screen is never able to be viewed. We have a Dollar General. Always busy. We need this store, but, don't need these clerks that don't care. After being rudely treated, I told the clerk that is what is wrong with this store...bad attitudes. He said he did $4000 in business day before. The store is dead. No customers. Rid this store of its employees and hire in all new staff. Mercer will thank you for it.

100

The service was great and the sales rep personal. It's you, Family Dollar corporate offices, I'm pissed off with. Opening your store on Easter? Really! Are you so hurting in revenue that you must open on holidays? I think not. It's pure greed and you should be ashamed.

40

I went to the Family on Martin Luther King that just opened. First, the manager didn't even greet me when I walked through the door on March 10, 2016 at 8:45am. She just signaled for me to come to her register. I told her that I had a return and she immediately told me that she couldn't refund me the money for one pack of my underwear that I brought back.

I told her that the back of the package said that if I'm not 100% satisfied with the underwear that I could return them within 30days for a refund, and she got an attitude. I asked her could I have my original receipt back and she you don't need it because you have nothing else to return now. I just left after that without the receipt she was suppose to give back to me. I wanted the receipt to make sure the refund money went back to my card.

20

I got a Family Dollar code after looking for a long time on your site and then downloaded your coupon for xtra washing liquid. Went to store to cash it in and was told that they could not use internet coupons and that mine did not read. What a scam. The Family Dollar advertisement stated it would be $4. with coupon. I won't be going there again. This has happened more than once.

40

Employees of Pine River mn store are rude! Always on cell phones, smoking on family dollar grounds, in front of store doors, and when helping customers, they're in a hurry so they can get back to their phones. Also cussing a lot. I shop here a lot but when dollar general opens, I'll be shopping there.

20

I have recently sent a complaints email to Family Dollar on Friday 01/29/2016 with no response pertaining to a visit that I made to one of the Family Dollar store locations on Thursday 01/28/2016. On Thursday 01/28/2016 at 9:40 p.m. I tried to shop at store location #2434 at 625 Wolcott Street in Waterbury,Ct. As I walked toward the door two employees were sitting at the register talking. One woman got up, walked over and locked both the in and out doors.
I tried to open the door and the employee told me they were closed and she had to count the drawer.

I informed her that the store hours posted said they closed at 10 p.m. and I only needed five minutes to shop. The woman said they were closed and to call corporate if I had a problem with it. I asked for her name and position and told her I would be contacting corporate. She stated her name was Graciella and she was the assistant manager there. Due to this circumstance, I was forced to go across town to another store to purchase what I needed.
I have been shopping at this location for years and usually spend between 100 and 150.00 dollars each time I shop there.

I have never seen such rude customer service. The week before my wife and I were shopping there and the same individual was taking care of us at the register. She made us wait forever to pay due to standing there and talking with a gentleman who didn't even work there. Again on Monday 02/08/2016 at 2 p.m. while shopping there and being rung up by another employee, this same individual came over and sat down on the lower counter where the bags are kept. She was blocking the other employee from reaching for the bags while she was talking to someone in Spanish on her personal phone.

If this behavior continues I will be forced to take my business elsewhere. My wife and I also work in retail, and as managers are both aware of proper customer service. This individual is totally unprofessional.

60

I appreciate your store (the staff is friendly and seems to be dedicated). The selection of products is excellent. Displays are orderly. However, in our rather nice community, I feel that the interior and the exterior of your store is way below par. The storefront is really quite unappealing and the floor inside is rather nasty looking (it has been even worse perhaps 2 or 3 years ago). It is impossible to "park" a shopping cart at the front entrance. Carts must be pushed into the store from outside through a heavy, non-automatic door. The back entrance has no ramp for taking a cart into the parking area to unload a large purchase. I hope someone in a position to evaluate this location will take a look and see what I'm talking about. There is a newer dollar store in town; the store is much nicer, but Family Dollar usually carries the products I need.

40

I visited the family dollar store in Love Joy Ga. and ask edthe sale representative if this location sole matches and if so where located. The sales representative response was "Why do you need some." my response was "yes, that is why I m asking." Per the sales representative " I was a joke". Others in the store began to laugh. I feel that I 'm not visiting family dollar store for people who want to perform in front of other customers, or for people who want to be on comedy view/stand up comedy, I visit the store to purchase items that I need. I use to visit this store and found the customer service was professional and customer directed prior to this new management. I feel there is a need for customer service training at this store.

40

I went to the family dollar at 901 E main street in new iberia Louisiana and i heard the assistant manager making racist remarks about white people. She was on the phone and saying white people stink and they are so annoying and loud. The assistant managers name is Enchanted. I am not sure of her last name. She is so rude to her customers and always talks about them while they are in the store. This is not the first time i heard her make a racist remark. I suggest something be done about this before that store looses a lot of business because of her.

40

I am a Security Officer at the Skyland Shopping Center in Northeast Atlanta Ga. FD Store #1767 is one of our tenants so the Family Dollar employees at store #1767 have seen my very frequently. Anyway on 12-18-2015 at approx. 4:30 pm, I made a purchase at the store located at 3412 Clairmont Rd. Atlanta Ga 30319 of a few small items(nuts, soda, pens. I always ask for a receipt which was given to me by the store Manager (Troy) because I basically work outside and NOT in the tenants stores such as Family Dollar #1767. I will take an paid items OUT of the store and leave them on a small can outside the store just in case I have to return.

I could not locate a FD receipt for the items that day because it may have been a little windy outside and the receipt could have easily blown away onto the parking lot in front of FD store #1767(3412 Clairmont Rd in Atlanta, Ga 30319.) I went back into FD store#1767 and looked around the checkout area for my receipt not knowing if it was blown away outside or whatever. I still could not locate my receipt so I simply logged the small items down on a daily Security Log that I use for Skyland Shopping Center. Remember I am MALL security and not a Family Dollar employee.

Jeremiah (22 year old male) whom is a cashier at the FD# 1767 notice that I did not have the items that I had just paid for and asked me if I had wanted to try some funny looking candy that he had purchased at the FD candy aisle. After I tried it Jeremiah stated the following to me,"...you have never tried this befo'?...." I stated to Jeremiah NOT to call me that?.....Jeremiah then stated."...DON'T TAKE IT PERSONAL...I DIDN'T CALL YOU N****...I CALLED YOU N*****!"

I told Jeremiah that he would feel very upset if I called one of his relatives a derogatory name and he (Jeremiah)stated,".....IF YOU DO...THEN YOU WILL BE DEALT WITH..." Troy (25 year old black male)was standing RIGHT next to Jeremiah when he made those terrible remarks to me and DID NOT SAY A WORD TO JEREMIAH? Nothing. No stop. No be careful what you say to the customers. Nothing. TROY has recently become the FD store manager a few months but he still has got to say something to Family Dollars employees that use words like N****** and S*** and other words defaming minorities.

I am asking that Jeremiah me harshly disciplined and/or transferred out of FD store #1767 for his behavior towards Security Officer Calvin Thompson of the Skyland Shopping Center in Atlanta Ga 3412 Clairmont Rd. 30319. If there is no action against Jeremiah (witness Troy) for his racist comments towards the staff, then a complaint may be filed against the Family Dollar Corp via the Better Business Bureau and/or Federal Trade Commission. A copy of this complaint has been forwarded to the American Civil Liberties Union for the nasty comments that Jeremiah of FD store #1767 made towards Officer Calvin Thompson as the Security Officer was making a simple purchase and went back into the store to retrieve a simple receipt.

40

I live down the street (so I walk) go to Newburg Hts. Family Dollar store #11103 I like the products and prices. I shop like 10-15 times a month for food, cigs, and cat food. Most clerks and managers know me and I get along great. This morning at 8:00 am I went there and the clerk who is a young African American named Laqueesha got mad for asking a price for my smokes. She got the manager to ring me up, so threw my cigarettes to him across the counter and they hit the wall? manager? then floor. So I should of got another pack, since these were damaged. The only reason I brought up race because she is rude and I also had a run in with another female of this race. I have family members who are mix couples (black and Puerto Rican) so don't you dare think it is me.

40

My daughter who is 11 years old was accused of stealing something out of the Family Dollar located at 1617 Lodge Ave in Evansville, IN. First of all my daughter does not have to steal anything. I make sure she has money to purchase whatever it is that she wants. I do not appreciate the accusation at all. We have spent a great deal of money in that particular store. I like something done about this. I am not sure of the clerks name he was a older Caucasian male who was working around 9pm on December 4, 2015.

40

Went to the store located in Chamberlain S.D. This store is always dirty, empty and full boxes block most of the isles. New clothes, product, etc. on the floor. This particular day, Sunday, Nov. 22nd, I went in and two girls were working. One's name is Amanda, who worked there before but quit and now back, I didn't know the other's name. They were just talking very loud, yelling in fact at each other. Discussing their personal business, the stores business and anything else for the entire store to hear. (This Amanda is always loud and obnoxious and I was sorry to see her back).

When I came to the counter with my items I also asked for a pack of cigarettes. Amanda, who wasn't at the register said I got 'em, just throw me the keys in which the girl at the register did. Amanda got the pack of cigarettes and instead of handing them to her, which she could have easily done, she threw them at her. The cigarettes flew over her head, hitting some items on a shelf a couple of isles over from the register. They both laughed hysterically at this. I then said get me another pack, both of there replies were "We can get these for you", as the register girl ran to get them. I repeated that I wanted another pack instead. Finally Amanda got me a new pack. I don't know who runs this mad house but obviously they don't know what they are doing. These girls shouldn't be working together alone in this store and I would further say shouldn't be working there at all.

40

Well, it was at the location in York, SC. And I am a couponer, and I try to be honest about doing what I do because I enjoy saving money. But when I go into a store and the cashier has an attitude because I want to use my coupons is ridiculous! I heard her tell of one the other cashier's, "I don't know why these people think that just because they coupon, we are supposed to cater to them." Now, that was a rude statement to me in all sorts of ways! One, because I'm black, and two, because I coupon. Well, needless to say that I was offended and don't plan to shop there anymore.

20

Went to return a mop and the manager was very rude and loud infront of other custermers and would not exchange the mop with out receipt he accused me of trying to make a gain off this mop I just wanted to exchange it the mop cost a hole 9 dollars he said he would run store his way. This boy could not have been more then 22 yrs old and was yelling and scaring people and kids it was the family doller on spencer and blueberry

40

Purchase on 10/2/2015 $28.25 using debit card - Cash register did not accept -The manager tried two or three more times before moving to a second cash register. The manager tried the card once more then asked if I had a check. I then wrote check # 210 in the amt. of $28.25 that the cash register did not accept. The manager suggested we try another check. I then wrote check number 211 for $28.25. The cash register did not accept that either. By that time the customer line had begun to double and customers were disgruntled. The manager said that he was sure one of the transactions had gone through and allowed me to take the diapers, which were needed immediately, and the other misc. items I had chosen.

I checked my balance before I made the purchase. I had exactly $50.00. After the first 28.25 transaction cleared my balance was $21.75. The subsequent attempted withdrawals were dated 10/2, 10/2 again, 10/9 and 10/9 again. The supposed return checks were then turned over to a collection agency who attempted again on October 6 and again on November 12, according to the person I talked to at that agency. The total number of unsuccessful attempts was 6 @ $30.00 each equaling $180.00.

My meager $21.75 was lost in the transactions. I don't want to have to wait 10 to 14 days for reimbursement of $180 + $21.75 totaling $210.75. I deposited $100 on 10/27/15 to keep the bank from closing my account, which still left a negative balance. I went back to the store on 11/17/15 to try to speak with the manager that conducted the transactions and was informed he no longer works there. I want to be able to go to the store, I think the store # is 9277, and pick up a check or cash for reimbursement. I shop regularly at Family Dollar, normally at 2509 31st Ave. No., Birmingham, and receive exceptional customer service. Looking forward to an immediate remedy and a continued mutually beneficial relationship with your company.

60

On October 16th George, the store manager of store #05436, said hello sweetie when I entered the store. I said hello but no sweetie. George yelled back he calls everybody sweetie. I was buying a Gatorade. So I got back to the shortest line, his register and he did not want to ring up my groceries. He dropped his head, he took the Gatorade really slowly. Someone came up and gave him a high five. George said to him," Yea, I know man." I don't know what he was referring to but I know he was trying to make me feel wrong for correcting him. I told him I want to use my own bag. He slowly gets my bag behind the register. Slowly takes the Gatorade out of the Family Dollar bag and hands me it all.

On September 13, 2015 I was being rung up by his co-worker, he butted in and said, "you got the kind of bags he likes to steal". On September 9, 2015 as I was entering and putting my bag behind the register, George was falsely accusing someone for stealing. The guy he was accusing stayed calm and told him the product was his. On another day I was at checkout and commenting on the fall days with the cashier; George butts in. He butts in by coming across the floor from where he was sweeping and says to me rather then co-worker that he has to stop smoking cigarettes. I have never held a conversation with him so I thought it odd for him to continue a conversation they were having but he was staring at me.

Im writing this to have a written record of why I would sue Dollar General for allowing there manager to continue to try to humiliate, sexually assault, and dominant someone else's shopping experience. Furthermore, I will take this step if his actions continues and/or if he steals anything from my bags while my personal items are behind the register. I have been shopping at Dollar General to a point where I expect good customer service. I just moved into this new neighborhood and Im unwilling to continue to excuse his aggressive behavior. Im asking for a quality control visit, and a reprimand of some sort because his behavior is intentional. So he could stop on his own, I don't think Im the only customer he harasses. So the level of corrections should be left to Family Dollar, whom is responsible for his actions.

20

I went into the family dollar store on bluffton rd fort wayne Indiana on 10-27-2015. I was in line to check out with 1 person in front of me. everything went fine for that person however when I got up after standing there for over 10 minutes they were having a problem with the scanner. after watching the cashier hand put previous customer in manually, the cashier couldn't do mine. the manager came up and shut the register down and moved to another one. I asked if this was going to take long and that I would just go to another store. the manager had an attitude which in return made me angry causing me to walk out while muttering a word I shouldn't have used.

The manager then came running out the door telling me to never come back there. I tried to say I was sorry but she just flipped me the middle finger and said f##k you! do I deserve to be banned, No! Was I sorry Yes! but do they need a manager who will follow you out the door doing what she did and said! No! That is not too professional, and I wasn't either but I was not working! I doubt anything will become of this but I wanted to voice my opinion!

40

I was shopping at the Family Dollar located in Mr. Holly , NJ. Went into the store and got the things that I needed, When I got to the cash register. He began scanning and I noticed that there might be a price difference. He said you show me where you saw a lower price. I said I may have the wrong price I said I may be wrong, He said you probably are wrong. I started down the isle and he kept saying I know my prices, I said look man I am not going to argue with you, we got to the toilet paper section and he in a very rude way. He then held his hands in the way saying show me where you see a dollar price. I the started to get angry and tried to walk out of the store and he kept following me to the store exit. At this time I said some rude comments to the manager, I can not take someone being that close to me. I then got very angry and said some things that I should not have said. He then proceeded to tell me to leave, and banned me from store for future use, and if I do go back there he would have me removed removed by the cops. He has been rude I the to not only me but I have been there when he has verbally corrected his staff in front of a group of shoppers. My phone number was given to Family Dollar corporate. Can someone from customer service please call me to discuss. Thank you in advance,

20

There were four store employees on floor(women) including the store manager on the same aisle supposedly putting up merchandise. They were doing more talking and arguing with customers in reference to the there only being one cashier behind the register with 13 people in line. The young cashier was upset because of the manager's deliberate non response to needing help. Eventually the cashier began to ring the bell loudly for some assistance. The manager walked around to the other cash register but not before another store employee( young lightskinned girl that was putting up stock and arguing with customers) wanted to know why she needed help. At that moment I was paying for my merchandise and answered that obvious question for the young lady.

I was in that store for over 10 minutes in line before anyone acknowledged the young cashiers pleas for help. This is an unacceptable way to run a business. This is also a racist situation. The stores in the black neighborhoods have the least qualified personnel running its stores. or this could be Family Dollars ignorance of great customer service, cleanliness of stores and organization and merchandising. I expect and require a response from your company in reference to this being addressed and investigated to say the least. If there is no response I will be forced to bring this to the attention of the community and public officials. I expect to be treated as a paying customer and not some stereotype. This happened on Tuesday October 20, 2015 at the store in Richmond, Va on 25th and Fairmount Streets in historic Churchill area.

40

I purchased a Sylvania portable DVD player several months ago and it no longer $9 back for the product after I paid $35 for it. I can't find the receipt. Tried to call Family Dollar customer service and there was no answer. Would be great if someone can help me contact them so I can get a refund.

40

Store location#4318 Elsmere KY. I shop at this location every other day just about. Now 4 months ago I asked Tony the manager if he could order some more wheat bread, he said ok. 2 months went by and no wheat I'm getting mad I ask again he said that the supplier is suppose to put some out. look I'm fed up its know 4 months latter and still no wheat whats going on please help me. I mean its only bread don't let bread cost you a loyal customer. I would like to recognize two employees at this location. Lets start with Tony Manager he is a hard worker always polite, suggestive sales he deals with problems very well. Now Shellie Ass, Manager awesome she can do it all she suggestive sales, very nice to people hard worker look Shellie works when she is sick when your under staffed very dedicated employee. If we cant fix this problem with the wheat bread I'm going to take my 6 hundred dollars some where else. Those two employees I mentioned needs to be recognized by you prays them make them feel wanted.

40

9/27 in store #3857 WSNC line seven people deep only 1 register open..asked for a manager to open a new line she the manger came up looked and walked away manger's name Katie Moore I was told...two or three customers in line made the comment she never does any work its always like this in here.she didn't. Feel as manager it was her job to do a lowly job of opening a registry..i spend a lot of money in your store if you don't like the neighborhood you open in,why are you here .i think you need to have a talk and additional training of manager's as to what their job description consists. Of and how it essentially good to jump in when lines are longer than usual to keep customers from just putting. Their items down and leaving. Because service sucks.. The cashier was doing a great job being as nice as possible and the dumb manger just watched and wasn't doing anything!!

60

I want to this store around 9.30 am 09-25-2015 I had a cart fill with different items the amount total came to about $60.00 I only had a $100 the white lady that check me out stated I just open up and I don,t have change to give you back the different you need to go somewhere and get some change. It is hard to understand why she did what she did when my total was around $60. Did she do this because I was Black.

60

I have a Family Dollar located in my neighborhood. The store is located on highway 72 and Mastin Lake Road in Huntsville, Alabama. The lawn at this store hasn't been cut for several week. I asked the store employee if the lawn could be cut and keep neat. The employee states it was nothing he could do and if I had a problem to contact the corporate office, I am in a neighborhood that contains a high percentage of African Americans but the lawn are maintained. The store is located on a corner and makes the appearance of the neighborhood seem poorly maintained. The store provides a need for the community but it should not affect the appearance of the area in a negative manner. I would appreciate the lawn being cut this week (9/22 -9/26). Thanks for your cooperation.

40

I am a very good customer to your Moody St Waltham, Ma. store, have been shopping there since it opened. The manager you had before who just left this week ( Steve) was great helpful with whatever you need. But yesterday I went in and there was a new guy there I guess manager. First he was very rude, when I went to cash out I had 3 coupons for my products, I asked first the new cashier if the correct price one of the products, she didn't understand don't think she spoke English, but she was trying and nice, she looked to this so called manager.

I tried to ask my question he ignored me and just keep redoing the transaction canceling what she did and rescanned everything three times as I and others waited, if he just listen to me and made eye contact this wouldn't have happened then with one of the coupons register took coupon but he took it out I ask why got a grunt, so I took coupon back. I am really upset about this, I go there for good products and service. If this is how it is going to be I will never shop there again, and I will let everyone in Waltham,Ma know ( know alot of people and I bring elders there twice a week) Please advise how my complaint will be handled.

40

Sunday night 6/28 at 8;55pm, 5 minutes before closing, I walked into the Family Dollar Store in Holyoke Colorado intending to buy some Powerade Sport Drink for the electrolytes after a long hot day working on my farm because I often get leg cramps. As I entered to store a young man with a name tag Kent rudely said -"you have one minute", in those words, nothing more. His arrogant manner, rude speech was insulting, offensive and upsetting I asked him for his name full but he refused insisting I just leave. I came from the field dressed in work clothes which may be part of the reason for his attitude, in a farming area it's quite common. I'm 68 years old, own my farm and am well known in this community, as I walked to my car an friend who observed this commented on his rudeness, in a small town word gets around.

20

I was at Family Dollar store #05242 located at 2526 Bailey Ave on June 11, 2015. The line was full and moving slow. My Fiancee' located another Employee and asked if another line could be opened. The Employee came to the register and began punching in codes on the register. Another customer asked if he was opening and he stated not yet. The line slowly moved forward and the other Employee never opened his register. It was finally my turn at the register and the cashier assisting me stated to the other cashier you counted your change slow on purpose and the other cashier smiled.The cashier assisting me gave me my change after I paid for my purchase and as I stood waiting for my receipt he ate a hand full of Doritos first. Very displeased with rude service. You should maybe do an Undercover Boss to see what kind of Employees you have representing your Establishment.

60

I was at Family Dollar on 05-01-2015 @ 12:42:25. I was at store #01388 320 E. Sangamon St, Petersburg, IL 62675. I had 5 items and my change back should have been $16.78, instead it was $15.78. She put the ticket on top of the bills and the change on top of the ticket. I noticed it when I got home and she didn't count my change back to me. This store is close to a high rise with old people. How often are people short changed? I won't be going back to this store. It's just $1 but I'm more worried about the elderly. Please check this store out. I still have my ticket but that won't help. Those dollars add up.

20

The manager, Destiny, at Family Dollar in Robert Lee Texas is so rude to the employees. I used to spend 300.00 a month but ever since she's manager, I won't go in there. She is so rude and is always on her cell phone. Her boyfriend comes in there and goes in the back with her. That is wrong. She even fired a good employee who did everything just so she could hire her friends.

I would like to see Teresa Fernandez back to working. Please get rid of this manager! Everyone around here does not like her! Some people won't go there as long as she is working there. She is nasty and also yells at employees and treats them like kids. Please do something so I can shop there!

40

This is my second time writing to you all. On 4-4-15 I went shopping there that day I had the family dollar coupons 5/25 and $3 off plus other coupons that expired that day the girl was new that ring me up and the coupons was not coming off like they should so I did not say anything to her I just said that I would take it back the next day when the manager was in so the next ay I took everything back the manager was the only one working when I went in I was the only customer everything started out good she was going over my receipt she went through the coupons in which I use so the store good full and we stop until she waited on the other customers so she gave me a refund by the time she gave me the refund the store was full again remind you she was the only one working store is clear now she re rings my stuff back up for some reason the cash register froze or something and then she just started going off she went from being great to an evil BITCH saying the coupons would not take and I could not use a 2.00 one cause the Tresemme was on sale for 1.75 and she would let me have it for .25 I could not make her realize that it was not .25 it was 1.75 and .25 was overage she was so rude and I was offended because I have been shopping in FD just as long as it has been here and never no problem with no one but her she gave me back my coupons all but my 5/2 coupon on nivera.

This is my break down (2) Head &Shoulder $2.00 each coupon 3/2 (1) Tresemme 1.75 $2.00 coupon (2) Nivea $4.00 each $8.00 $5.00/2 (4) Suavitels $3.00 each $12.00 2-$2.50 on 2 which was $5.00 on 4 (1) Mitchum $3.00 and a $3.00 coupon. my total before taxes was $28.75 had the FD coupons 5/25 and the $3.00 so that was $8.00 leaving total 20.75 my coupons $18.00 my total should have been $2.75 taxes added $1.92 total should have been $4.67 and I tried my best to explain that to the manager she could not see I know my total was not $15.41. if you coupon you gonna have your total figured out when you go shopping and my Suavitels pearls had a high $2.50 value and they expired that day so mad.Your Camilla Ga Manager needs to learn some manners and stop being a hot head because I even told her to figure it up on her calculator and subtract but she would not just so disrespectful and she need couponing lessons because the next time it might not be me all nice and just walk away.

40

Told manager at my local Family Dollar that the milk in the fridge was expired and her response was that milk is good two weeks after expiration date. What? Seriously!

40

Your store located at 1801 Central Pky, Cincinnati, is perhaps the worst display of " customer service " I have ever witnessed. The cashiers are often rude, talking, texting and even yelling back and forth at other employees. They seldom if ever greet or say, "Thanks".
My family and friends have experienced the same rude treatment at the same location for better than 2 / 3 years. Stay clear if possible.

40

I often go to the Family Dollar located in Franklinton, Louisiana. The conditions of the store continues to deteriorate. It is so messy and cluttered you cannot shop. The last 5 times I have gone in there ( some of the times in the morning and some past noon) shipment boxes have been placed in the isles blocking anyone from retrieving items to purchase. Clothes from the racks are scattered on the floor which is a hazard as one elderly lady almost fell today . As a matter of fact one lady shopping was so aggravated as to the disarray of the store she left her buggy which contained a few items and stated" since I can hardly walk in this blank blank store, I will take my business elsewhere. There was a line of people waiting at the register (1 register was open) while the manager was sitting at the computer rather than helping at the register or cleaning the store. Apparently customer service and cleanliness is something lacking at this location. I hope more people will state facts of this such to the corporate offices otherwise it could go unknown. Please address this problem as you can see it is costing the business customers and revenue. Thanks and please feel free to email if you wish.

60

This store is located in Sayreville,NJ... I asked an employee that was stocking the shelves how much the Gatorade was. She snottingly said that I had to bring the bottle to the counter so they can ring it up. Totally not right.

60

When I went today to return pants that I had bought and ripped within the minute of me wearing them, I was told my the assistant manager that I was to "fat" and that's why it broke. She stated even though it was an XL I shouldn't have bought them and that I was larger than her! All this in front of a line of costumers! Very disrespectful!

40

The store manager is always standing outside at the door smoking. You have to constantly wait at the register for him to come in, he comes in finally, on the phone cursing in front of customers and kids,, the " f word" and checking people out, no "thank you" the store has no one around to help you, they're never around. This is a daily thing, it seems like family dollar would honor the word " family" we hate going in there because of this rude manager. The cursing has been brought to his attention numerous times, but he knows nothing will be done about it. This is the Eunice, Louisiana store ( newer one) someone needs to come here and see. Thanks.

40

I found out recently that your stores carry the Cafe' Al Fresco drinks, so I went to the nearest store to me, address is 11520 Quail Roost Drive, Miami Fl.33157, tel. no 305-378-6545 and saw the drinks but not the flavor I've been used to for a long time, Beatrice at that store is a very nice and polite young lady, I did buy the Vanilla and the Hazelnut to try them but I don't like the flavors so I asked them at the store if they could order the favor which I'm used to and they told me that's all that came to the store so I went on my computer and got the tel. no. of the head office and I was told to call the district manager which I did and her name is Maria and she told me to call the manager at the store and make a request for the Caramel drink which I'm used to which I did, her name is Nancy and I did make my request but she obviously wasn't interested in helping me and she gave me an attitude saying she couldn't do so, I just don't understand this if the store is already getting other flavors why can't I have the one that I've been drinking for almost a yr.

I have spoken to Brian who works for the Café al Fresco for quite some time and it was he who told me about your store having the drinks and when I called him and told him that you don't have the flavor and he told me to call your headquarters and see if you would be kind enough to let me have the flavor which I wanted and then I got the run around so I guess i'll just have to pay the $80 and have Brian send the drinks to me, i'll be 80yrs. old this October and I'm a widow with no children, I had emergency surgery last June and the Dr. told me that I cold only drink water which I hate and that's why I need the Cafe' Al Fresco Caramel syrup but nobody cares these days, end of story.

40

On 1/23/15,I, experience the worst shopping event I have every had at store at any family dollar store , the store number 08475# and the location is 1723 S main St. Gainesville. I shop in this location at least two times and week as well as the 23rd street location. I had the worst customer service experience having experiencing this type of shopping experience I will never shop at another family dollar. The lines were long due to the casher register would not accept visa cards and I did not have a problem with the machine not accepting visa debit cards but at least accepting another type of payment would have made this process a lot better and it would have made work out some of the issues this locating was having with this being said there should have been a back up plan in place, if this happens at another location and the store happens to be a bigger store you will have a lot more complaints coming from customers.

I was very disappoint that a back up plan was not in place and I was very disappointed with the out come, not only did the cash register would not accept visa cards but would not accept checks after the Manager stated to me that the register would accept checks . I end up placing almost 50.00$ dollars in items which had already been bag by the manger placing all my items back, customer had been waiting in line for almost 30 minutes to get help there was another cashier in the store but he walked by the long lines and did not help the front end supervisor from the Lake city store. The Manger was on hold at least an hour waiting for help from the corporate office to help get the machine back working it should have been a plan in place being a big company that make millions of dollars a year., I would encourage the company to think about getting a second cash register this would be helpful all customer if this happens in the near future.

With this being said I will not be returning to another Family dollar store in the near future.

Have feedback for Family Dollar?

Thanks for your feedback!

Sorry. Please try again later!