DirecTV Complaints Continued... (Page 4)

354+ reviews added so far. Upset? Call DirecTV corporate: 1-855-802-3473
40

I am unhappy with the choice of weather reporting done by Direct TV. The current channel does not cover the NY Metropolitan area enough. I’ve sat and waited over an hour to see my weather report. I know more about California weather than I do my own. If you are going to save money on weather reporting, at least get more localized reporting.

20

I have been a customer for many years. The problem I have is the pricing and the type of programs in the packages that are offered. In 2013 my bill increased each month and good channels were dropped and replaced with trash that is not fit for families or good use of air time. I called on 6-28-2013 to have my service disconnected. I spoke to Katrina and at that time she adjusted my payments for 1 year to $50.98 if you can calculate you will see that 1 year has not expired. I have had no problems with the payments until 2-2014 when it was increased.

When my bill came for this month it is $105.77. You must think people are so desperate for tv that they will let anything go but you don’t know me. I don’t need to have your service or anyone else, I don’t have the finances to pay that much money and get so little for it. I called to speak to someone only to be disconnected, I will try again but if I get no help I will disconnect.

60

Been with Directv since ’97.They were great for many years then something changed.The pricing would go up for no reason without warning. The equipment began to fail. Living in the city, and having Directv with no problems I purchased the protection plan in’06 because I moved out of the city and thought that I might run into some problems in my new location. Early on when I ran into problems, but because I had the protection plan, the 1 or 2 minor problems were dealt with easily. I then began to develop picture problems, I was told I needed a new receiver, now a contract, 1st one in 10 yrs, another receiver, another contract. My bill is going up and I don’t get good answers as to why. I had the NFL Sunday ticket since 1997, I retired in 2010, and could no longer afford the Sunday ticket, but I purchased another and then stopped the next year. I then heard radio ads about free NFL Sunday ticket for new subscribers, I called as a long-time customer,13 yrs, and told no for me. I called the following year and was told 1/2 off for NFL Sunday ticket.. I got a new tivo, old one died, new contract and a very much larger dish on my roof. My “new” Tivo often did not work as well as the old one, even when there was not a cloud in the sky. I would call and complain, and nothing. The last straw was in late fall, when light rain knocked out all TV reception. I decided it was time for a change and decided to go with the parent company AT&T (U-verse) who they refer to as their partner. Never paid a bill late and my reward to change subscribers was to be charged $40.00 early termination of the “contract”. DirecTV began as a class act. Better than any cable or any other satellite company until they decided to just become money grubbers like the rest. I, as a former customer, and the rest of your current customers deserve better

Delano W.Tucker

Disclaimer: This complaint was submitted by Delano Tucker on 03/11/2014 at IP address 172.15.237.181 using our Directv complaint form. This opinions contained in this Directv customer review titled, “Bad service, contracts(2yr), Protection Plan” do not reflect the opinions of this website.

20

Direct TV was suppose to come to my house to give me a free upgrade DVR. Time was between 12-4. I called at 2 and told them I had an unexpected pick up grandson at school. Would be gone from 3 and 4. At 6, I called to see if they were still coming. Lady tried to contact the service man and could not. She gave me the name and number of his supervisor Gordon and told me to call him if he did not call me. That he was aware of the problem. He did not call me so I called the number she gave me. Gordon answered and he said he had no idea what I was talking about. So I started telling him my problem. He hung up on me! I was so patient about the whole thing until then and that made me furious. Now I am not sure I want my upgrade because I am not sure I want 2 more years with a company that treats their customers like this!

20

I pay well over $2k per year in service fees for Direct TV and do not get value for my money due to service outages and boxes going bad. I have been calling for service for around a week, this time, but they cannot seem to get a tech to make a call despite my paying for free service calls.

I am a doctor at the VA and cannot drop patient care to go at their convenience. I am tired of people like ‘Andy’ your customer ‘service rep’ try to tell me what motivation is and being argued with and tell me ‘what my problem is.’ I have asked for them to contact my wife to arrange some service time but she is a healthcare professional too. I will post my complaints over many complaint boards

20

IIn March 2013 Directv offered a rebate of $10.00 for the month if the customer purchased at least 4 movies. I assumed the rebate would be given on my March bill. Now I find it would be given in the form of a coupon which must be filled out, but it will not even be received for 6-8 weeks. I n the meantime, I must pay for the movies in full with my March bill. This means they will be gaining interest on money they receive for the masses of customers who take advantage of the offer. It is ridiculous that I need to wait for months to receive a rebate. If this is their offer, they should explain what they intend when they broadcast the offer.

60

we have been customers for over 20 yrs- our monthly statement increaes all the time with no explanation. we just took it. then we moved, had Direct tv upgrade us to HD and add another receiver . After a couple of days-we lost local channels! NO ABC, CBS, NBC, news or ANYTHING!!!! REALLY?! you expect people to not have access to their news and weather and other shows? we called about it and was told we might get a waiver to receive local channels out of L.A. Again, REALLY?! we live in Colorado-why would we want LA news ? It appears that when talking to a rep on the phone, the right hnd does not know what the left hand is doing-no two reps gave us the same story on any of the issues. You have lost our business and we will not reccomend your service to anyone!

60

been on direct tv since august and have called customer service 5 times..they never figured what was wrong just kept replacing part til it worked..i got tired of calling and the direct tv agent telling me how sorry they were I had problems but it would br 3 days before anyone could fix it. the tech who comes out is great polite and knowledgeable..my system goes in and out at least once a month..no sense in calling anyone it usually fixes itself in a couple of days…when it works its good but I never had as many problems with cable…siick of direct tv..

40

Hello,
I am writing to you regarding how unhappy I am with the customer service at Directv. I have been a customer for over 13 years and I just can’t believe how I have been treated.

Today I called to discuss charges on my bill and also to go over my bill in general and was hung up on 3 separate times. I asked to speak to a manager and was connected to a floor manager who apparently didn’t want to deal with me as well and hung up. I will point out all 3 were English second language which always complicates communication.

That said I am strongly considering cancelling my service seeing that nobody wants to address my concerns at Directv.

Regards,
David and Rosann Gilbert

60

According to my credit union, $701.50 was debited from my account without my authorization. I do not have an account with Direct TV. I have documentation from the credit union showing when the money was taken from my account by Direct TV. This has caused my bills to fall behind. Please reveiw this as soon as possible. Please respond by email when you receive this. I will do whatever I need to , to get this resolved.

60

I entered into a contract with Direct TV 010 12/17/2013 after being referred by my son. I was told at the time by the representative I would receive $10 off my bill for ten months ans well as 3 months of discount for various preminum channels. I later referred my sister and called customer service giving the date of installation and was told I would receive $10 credit once again. To this date I have not received the $20 credit and only received 2 months of the discount ($45) for the premimum channels. I am also a AAA customer and entitled to a discount, which Direct TV seem to know nothing about. I have been calling and calling concerning these issues but unable to receive any assistance concerning this matter. I want to file a law suit due to false advertisment and breach of contract by the aforementioned party, if this matter can not be resolve soon.

60

I just scheduled an appointment for 3 Apr 13 for around 1630 to have my service installed not but a few days ago. I was told that there would be a note for the technician servicing my installation request reminding them that I would not be home until 1630, seeing as I do not get off work until 1600.

When I called the appointment line I had to reschedule for 5 Apr 13 as the technician was already about to start on another appointment. I was sold when I subscribed for DirecTv services but this really irked me. Also, the technician called my cell phone around 1300 saying that he was on his way to my apartment.

I was still at work and could not be released to let him into my apartment unit. I specifically told the representative helping me setup this appointment that I would NOT be home until a specified time. Now, I am inconvenienced.

40

To whom it may concern at directv ,I am very frustrated at the way your company handles damage claims..on Saturday March 23rd ,2013 at approximately 2:30 pm an installer named “Cory “from DirecTV drilled a 3/4″ hole in the east side of my home and while doing so cut through the internal electrical run thus darkening half of the home.

This also caused a flash and started the insulation in the wall to burn. I personally found the damage on Monday, March 25th at 2pm and contracted my home contractor. An electrician had to open up about 10 feet of the exterior wall siding and repair the wiring, replace the burnt insulation and restore the circuits in the home.

Please see the invoice and pictures attached. I called the DirecTV service line this morning at 10am and talked to a rep named Adrian after an hour long phone conversation he could not take my claim or help me with my claim or even give me a claim number or further contact, Stating the Direct TV customer (who was only a guest in the home) is also a DirecTV employee and that he would loose his job if he assisted me..

I find that odd that if a landlord has a valid claim that your customer service people cannot assist in a remedy. Please also note that this installation was not authorized by me and I think your staff needs some training in the correct procedure in installation on rental property…

I am seeking damages in the amount of $1275.80 and If this email goes unanswered I will have no choice but to pursue this matter in court…

40

I’ve had the same problem with them all year…I freaking hate them! I feel like they have been stealing from me. In my building we can only have direct tv. Worst customer service ever! In fact its out right now…im watching the nfl championships with my old school rabbit ears. Oh and if you call they put you on hold until your disconnected…yesterday 45 minutes; I made the mistake of asking for a manager. MDU their tech support…4 appointments only showed up once…1 month later out again.

20

My wife has an account with direct tv and my name is not on the account. I tryed calling customr service to ask a simple general question and was told because my name was not on the account they could not answer my question. This is not how you treat a customers of your company. I pay the bill so you are going to lose a customer because of the way you want to treat people. There is no reason that anyone cant call up your company and ask a general question reguardless if they are on an account or not. If your CEO cares so much about his customers he would not allow this to go on at his company.

40

My mother who is 82 had to move to live with me because of health issues and could no longer live by herself. Direct Tv wants to still charge her a 300 early cancellation fee. After talking to several people and getting verbal confirmation of waiving two hundred of the fee, she paid what was left of herbill. She gets new bill with a creditor whatshername just paid and wecallsirect tv and find out ohno, she doesn’t have a credits he still owes 89 more dollars. Seems funny how they decided after she pays right away and over pays at that, she no longer will get the 200 credit on the early cancellation fee. She won’t get it and now owes more. Hum!!!! Direct tv has one funny way of treating customers and we will never have them again as I will also be canceling my service. What crap, I believe it is elder abuse and will be telling everyone I know about it. Amy Beebe

20

We got Direct TV in Sept. 2012, for the NFL Sunday Ticket promotion they were having. The failed to mention that the package didn’t include the play-offs or SuperBowl. We just now got local channels that don’t include CBS, who is airing the SuperBowl this year. The other local channel freezes every 5 minutes, not to mention the brown lines that appear when you turn your tv on. Customer service is very frustrating, even if you get someone who can speak clear english. Our bill was never right, they will still keep charging you for the 3 month movie channel promotion if you don’t call and tell them to stop. We are getting rid of the frustration after only 4 months. There’s a $400 fee for breaking the 2 yr. contract, but I’m going back to my local cable co. anyway. Lesson learned!

40

For months now we have experienced constant interruption of service with 5 of our 6 TVs. We have had Direct TV for 13 years and despite q quite hefty bill which we pay each month, we continue to be told that “it is a problem with the R16 receivers and we are working really hard to correct the problem”. It has been at least 3 months and no resolution. When I asked the customer service rep how long it might be, she had no idea and just asked us to “be patient”. i also asked how I file a formal complaint, and the response was “I don’t know how you do that Sir”.

I guarantee you if I were to not pay my bill, Direct TV would take action. Bottom line is that if it faulty receivers, then they need to be replaced at no cost to us- that is what we pay for. I will likely be changing satellite companies as soon as our contract is up and will be sure to let everyone I can know of the poor service.

60

My husband and I called in to enquire about getting direct tv and was given false information concerning what channels we would have for the 2 years. We were both told buy a lady named marie that we would have the movie channel for the entire 2 years and would not have to pay any other monies. She said that it was part of the package that we got. She also said that the call was being recorded and I was glad about that because they could go back and hear exactly what was said. She did this so that she could get a sale and we are truly angry about it.

They called to welcome us to direct tv and I spoke to customer service to make sure that this was correct and they told me no that we had to pay $45.00 if we are to keep the movie channels after 3 months. I then talked to the supervisor on call and she said the same thing. She did not try to make things right after knowing that the representative had lied just to get us to sign up. We are truly disappointed.

 

20

After being a customer for over 10 years we have seen this company go from great to the worst in the last few years.A first when you called they would do everything they could to make you happy with your service,now its a battle just to get the least bit of help with faulty equipment.We have a dvr that has a phone connection that doesn’t work and is very slow and after many calls we were told that no new dvr’s would be replaced unless it was totally out and not working.Now every time we want pay per view we have to call or text when all we should have to do is select it from our guide.I guess customer satisfaction is an antiquated term in this day and age.

60

Why are you screwing over the long term customers that made you what you are today? I believe Krystal stated I had been a customer since 2003, I was looking to lower our monthly bill, AND get our outdated antiquated equipment replaced. The only way I could do that was to cancel my service and become a new subscriber… Krystal indicated that she understood and that she would process our cancellation. NEVER did she indicate that DirecTV would not allow the following.

So I cancelled my service and had my wife activate a new account so that we could get the whole home DVR service (tired of the ‘record one, both or cancel notice), and new receivers and reduce our monthly cost by $20-30 while getting a greater DirecTV experience. Today you folks call and cancel our installation and accuse us of being ‘criminals’ and that DirecTV does not allow this and that we will now be without service for 24 months before we can re-subscribe.

That is a nice “Thank You for being your customer for so long”. Why can’t LONG TIME subscribers get receivers and equipment upgrades (AT RESONABLE INTERVALS). Even the phone companies do that. Our old 2003 Hughes RXs won’t do HD, the DVR does 2 channels. Luckily last visit (DVR install) the technician put in a DTV antenna to replace the original DISH antenna that we had to use since our move in 2007.

So again I ask, “Why are you shafting us long time subscribers when you offer such a grand deal to new clients?” BTW, when you deny an install when your own CS rep does not indicate any inpropriety and then infer that we are criminals for attempting this ‘fraudulent act’, we usually end up in the legal arena. Which will be fine by me, I can’t wait for Dish and the media to get wind of this one. So, there you have it, one VERY pissed off, dis-satisfied customer.

Likely no one will read this and we will get screwed by a company we have supported and made the premier sat provider on the planet. Unfortunately you forgot who put you there. I can’t wait for the calls to start. Missouri prosecutes ‘No Call’ violators.

60

Why is it that , as a new customer, I have been “stuck” with a miscellaneous charge on my bill until another “promotion’ is available? I chose Direct TV to get out of the money pit loop of Dish Network for equipment and services that were unfair, erroneous and costly to an unemployed single mother. However I find almost the same deceptive practices of discounting one thing just to re coup some of it somewhere else. When I ordered I told agent that I wanted DVR’s but I had old tv’s so HD was not needed but the boxes came all HD and tech was not able to hook up boxes and I told him what I told selling agent.

I had to re-do order to get the correct boxes within the coming week. One of my TV’s had AV jacks that allowed for one DVR receiver and I was told there are no DVRs now that are NOT HD So now I have a $10/mo HD service charge and unable to use service Makes my picture looks funny and will cost $200 to “swap” to a regular DVR because someone lied to me about the equipment. The customer service agent seemed apologetic over his inablity to assist me given that I was the third person this week who had this happen. Now I am stuck with you til 2013.

20

I was miss led from Verizion about the pkg. deal. They told me it was 59.99 a month for 0ne year includes direct tv , verizion internet service and phone. Then later it turns out they said that direct tv was not included in that price . They out right lied. Also there service is the pits. I had no recourse but to quit the program. Now as for direct tv i loved the service and the best tv ever. But when i told you folks what happened you charged me a 420.00 fee to cancel. Not fair being that you partnered with verizion.

Once again a cable company has ripped me off what is it about these companys doing this? First off they lure you in with what appears to be good pricing by the time you nget to check out the monthly price has somehow went up $15 dollars a month, then the rebates they CLAIM to offer dont appear on your bill you call them and in a nut shell they tell you to go to hell. Since your in a contract with them and the F.C.C. doesnt seem to care about deceptive marketing practices Direct has you by the short hairs.

The best option is not to ever get involved with a company like this, they are pretty much scum in my eyes now and i plan to tell everyone I know about it. Really the best thing to do no is hook up to the net stream shows and put these rip off companys out of business.

60

My wife and I had cancelled service with Direct TV due to poor and or bad service. The bill was incorrect form the first month, in which, we would have to call every month to rectify the bill. I was told by direct tv employees that the fee was for leasing the equipment, which I have sent back to direct tv all of the equipment that I had. When that was questioned direct tv said that the fee was for a 2 year contract that was cancelled. I told them I did not sign a 2 year contract and asked for an agreement with my signature on it. They said they would send me a signed copy. I still do not have that signed copy of an agreement.

I am disputing this fee because of poor service month after month. We have paid in full and on time for the services that we had. I will not pay for services that were poor. If I go out to eat and do not like the service, I will pay for the meal, however, I will not return to eat there again. I should not have to call direct every month for an over billing issue. The cancellation fee is $338.61. I have sent this matter to the BBB as well. Most of the customer service representatives have been rude, a few were helpful, this also includes managers.

We have called every month because they had double and triple charged us. Every month they said they would credit us and take care of it so this won’t happen again. Had we not checked our bill or thought it was for something else, it would have been paid month after month. How many people do they do this too by overcharging and not giving back a credit on accounts with deceptive trade and unfair sales practices. DirecTV failed to clearly disclose to us the commitment to keep DirecTV service. Hiking profits by deceiving consumers is one of the oldest scams in the game.

20

I had a tech come out the first of July. They could not get a line of site so I could not get services. They told me that a supervisor would come out for a second opinion and today is August 12th and I have heard nothing. I called twice to be told they did not have that somone was coming out for a second opinion. Direct TV was real happy to take my $21.35 and not give it back because services will not work where I am located. I finally called today, again and sat on hold for 15 min. and got told again he showed that I did not cancel my order. Why in the heck would I want to keep service with out the product. And why do I have to call and cancel and waist my valuable time when Direct TV can’t get service to my house? I will never have their service again. Now lets see if I get refunded my $21.35.

 

40

After 5 years of service, we closed our DirecTV service in July, we were sent a box by FedEx Ground which contained a prepaid USPS return label. Our DirecTV equipment was carefully packed and dropped off in July at our local post office and returned using DirecTV’s USPS return label. On August 6, 2011, our account was charged $401.74 by DirecTV. Upon calling DirecTV, they claimed that our equipment was never returned and they refused to refund our account or try to locate the returned equipment. Since the USPS return label was created on DirecTV’s account, we are unable to file a claim with USPS. DirecTV refused to file a claim with USPS.

After researching online, we found that this is very common with customers who close their accounts with DirecTV. There are numerous complaints to be found online about this scam by searching for the phrase “DirecTV Equipment Return Scam”. Since the burden of proof is upon the customer to prove that the equipment was returned, customers are essentially helpless against these charges. DirecTV’s business practices are unethical and should be considered mail fraud since the United States Postal Service is used to scam customers. Do not sign up for DirecTV service.

20

We have had Direct tv for over 7 years and the only reason we even keep them is for the NFL Sunday Ticket. Yet every year they charge their “loyal” customers more and more to have this special channel and give all new customers either free or extremely discounted prices for it. Dont sign with them, they are nothing but trouble. We have to call atleast every other month to complain about random charges on our bill. Then when they explain your bill to you, it doesnt add up. If you question them about it they try to run around and confuse you when all it does is anger you.

They have done nothing but lie about every service they provide. Our box wasnt working and we called to order a movie. they charged us for calling to order the movie(which they said they would not due to the box not working properly) and for the movie that wasnt watched bc it cut off about 5 mins into it. This is just a handful of situations. I could name a hundred more.

60

I spoke to a technician in regard to scrambling on all five of my tv’s this afternoon around 4:00pm. I was instructed by a technician to go outside and inspect the dish to check for any tree branches , leaves etc. that could cause any interference with the system. The technician also performed some diagnostic testing and discovered that there was low strength signaling. She was in the process of scheduling an appointment when I was informed that there was a past due amount of $63.30. I was told that there would not be an appointment scheduled until the past due amount was paid. I was appalled at the statement and couldn’t believe what I was hearing.

I have been a customer of Direct TV for 7 years. I paid 100.00 towards my bill on June 16th.Ever since the so called diagnostic testing was performed, I have not had access to any cable stations, only local stations. I called back and spoke to a supervisor by the name of Jeff at approximately 8:40 PM, who was quite unprofessional rude and nasty. I had to stop him and tell him to watch his tone. He didnot resolve any thing for me. I am without service and guess what still being charged for the service. Direct TV will not continue to have competitive advantage over other companies, because they are not being loyal to existing customers. I am very disturbed by the service that I have received.

I intend to file a formal complaint against Direct TV with the ISSC . This is not good business practice. Supervisors should be retrained on servicing their customers. I must say that the quality of service is not the best anyway. The signaling system needs to be upgraded so that it can function in inclement weather. You have lost a good customer by displaying such poor business practices. I am very disgusted with your company and will pass the word on to other existing customers that I know. Good riddance to bad rubbish. (equipment& service)

20

Three days ago our Direct TV froze up when we tried to delete a program and service rep told us to hit the red button to rebook the TV (took about 20 minutes { It hapopened two times tonight and I told the girl that we were told it waa a problem three days ago and DirectTV was working on it. When it happened twice tonight I again called and talked to a very nice rep in SD but she told me she was not allowed to enter our problem, send out a service rep (we have protection plan), or to get us a new recorder. What terrible respect for a long time customer. I am going to look for another service if you do not respond to my complaint.

WE have your service both in IN and AZ and have been a long time customer(over ten years) and feel we are due more respect that this. I feel sorry for the poor rep in SD who has to tell customers there is nothig that can be done as Direct TV knows about this problem and it working on and will resolve it in the FUTURE. What a company you have. No Respect for paying customers.

40

It’s been over a year and a half as a customer of Directv when i first order the installmenr were suppose to free til a month later a hidden fee pop up so i decided to go ahead and pay it.Then seven went by Directv added $14 more to package i wanted so after that i had chage my package to a lower price after a year with them they gave me a package which i didn’t ask for turn out to be higher than the previous one with less programming. They breach the contract so hoe=w can i get at them? I wanna cancel directv service but the cancellation fee is pretty high. Since they breach the contract i should able to cancel for free!

20

my girlfriend was a directv customer. she stopped the service because they did not deliver as promised and did not resolve the issue. they then billed my debit card even though i have no agreement with them. they also refuse to refund the money they wrongfully took from me and say i need to talk to her. I had to change my card number to prevent them from stealing more from me. the bank says they can collect from any card used to pay their bills ever. CAUTION DONT LET YOUR FRIENDS GET F**KED BY YOUR DTV BILL! THEY WILL ROB YOUR FRIENDS AND FAMILLY. First they tried to take 400+ dollars, then reduced the amount over and over until they got all the money in my account.

I am not and have never been a direct tv customer. they have no agreement with me. they still took all my money and refuse to refund it. I am currently yelling at them about the problem and reporting the experience to all the review boards I can find. STAY AWAY FROM DIRECTV!!!! If you are currently a directv customer… I feel sorry for you.

40

First of all I had dish network and changed to direct tv to bundle with at&t. The lies started from the beginning. When I initially signed up, I asked would I have local channels and the answer was yes. Well when the techs hook it up, no locals, wth. I then call customer service & was told that it will be in the area in 3 months. Well it was more like 5 months and then only one receiver with local….it will cost me $49 for each additional receiver, wtf. If I wanted them without paying I would have to sign a 24 month contract. Oh no hell I’m not..as soon as this contract is up, I’m gone. DIRECT TV IS A FU$KING JOKE.

40

I am a senior citizen with handicap husband who have put up with Direct TV poor signal service due to storms/clouds for 15 yrs.without a complaint Until May 2011 where I was not getting service on clear sunny days and being charged for it. After making many phone calls over the phone and dealing with rude/poor customer service I finally got someone to send out a tech twice. The first Direct TV tech showed no ID was rude/unqualified talked over me when I tried to explain the problem and did nothing. The second tech showed no ID was unqualified and also did nothing.

I complained on 5/30 about their techs and was told they would send a tech out & there was a work order to check everything including receiver which in the past they installed a defective one and had to replace it. My daughter called on 5/30 and was told the same thing. DTV called on 5/31 to say they weren’t coming out. I asked why and I was told there was no work order. My daughter& I called back DTV and told customer service and supervisor I was cancelling my service because of poor/rude service and my service issue was not resolved.

I requested my refund back because I am paid up until 6/15. I also in the past experience shady billing practices from Direct TV then when I would call& ask about the unknown charge charged to me without notification. I was told it was charged because of economy. They also refuse to pick up receiver. I told them they hooked it up they can unhook it. I will not touch be responsible of property that is not mine. I also told Direct TV they can send a bill every month on the rented cheap receiver box if they want, but I WILL NOT PAY FOR THE RENTED BOX!

If they want it send a tech to come pick it up. Direct TV steals,lies,takes advantage of loyal customers. BUYER BEWARE DO NOT DEAL WITH DIRECT TV!

20

Direct Tv is a company that makes charges with out using there programing they charge me double for a TV program at the same time same day I called and there answer was there is nothing we can do about it, I canceled my servise and I had a $102.10 credit
on my last statement and they send me 91.05, they charge me 10.99 for a program that I never requested. How can you? At the beginming I had a lot of trouble with one of the boxes I had to keep reseting it, this went on and on til the service guy told me to buy the policy for $5.00 a month after that I never in two years had a problem with the box again what is the mater this company everything is about money. You better think about singning with them.

40

Well, the installer came and put the dish on my roof using 4 lag bolts. Only! He put that lag bolts through my roof! Then, he installed new cable and cut the cable in front of my house that had been installed by Dish awhile back. He left the Dish cable hanging on the front of my house. I called, emailed and quit Directv. I am going to file a suit and a BBB report for damages. Directv says I have to do all the leg work and answer to them and, go to the expense of hiring someone to “assess” the damages. I do not think so. On top of it all they have crap channels, crap service and are way over priced. DO NOT go with Directv. They are scam artists of the worse kind.

60

Signing up with Directv is definitely not a good idea. You will get a different answer almost every time you call their customer service department to fix it. While customer service people are friendly they usually do not resolve billing issues, You just hear different answer and apologizies. I have been getting different bills almost every month even if I have the exact same package without any changes. I have given up at this point with directv, I am just waiting to finish my 2 years contract to get out of this bad experience with them.

40

I called Direct tv today to inquire about their packages because I was thinking of switching from cable. They have a bundle package for cable internet and phone but the gentleman I spoke would have to transfer me to someone else about the phone. Instead of being able to handle the entire call. The worst part of the experience was how aggressive he was. When I wouldn’t sign up for direct tv he placed me on hold telling me he was looking into something. He actually was putting his supervisor on the line. I finally had to just hang up. I will not change to Direct tv due to their rude sales reps in Florida!

20

Atrocious Service – please do not sign up for directv. Our home got hit by lightning and we made a service call. Were told 5 days (frustration #1)…so we figured – must be busy and waited the five days. Were told we’d get a credit – we got $8 off for 5 lost days when we pay $3/day (frustration #2). Serviceman got here and said he didn’t have a ladder that would work and we would need to reschedule (frustration #3 – we began to think about cancellation). We didn’t immediately call – waiting to fix other things and think through whether we needed Directv (we’ve been customers for YEARS by the way – not a new customer).

We decided to contact them and discontinue service at this time. We have not had service for 15 days now – they refuse to akncowledge this and are asking us to pay them for a service that we have not had – because of Directv’s service problem. We are quite obviously done with them and would strongly encourage anyone NOT to use them. The satellite is very spotty during storms, but we put up with that because we used the dvr recording so had shows to watch. Of course, we also missed shows because of it. That is the norm for them but their service was horrendous.

I even forgot to mention the person I talked to first who insisted we had a service that we did not because it was in her computer that way…no apology when we found that she was wrong.

Just Say No!!! (to Directv)

60

My name is Kenneth Breazeale and I live in Paisley, Fl. 32767. Remember, this is where YOUR direct TV tecks installed the system. I tried paying by phone. I lost my bill and therefore do NOT know my direct TV account number. Your telephone system then asked me for a phone number to which I gave two…my cell, and my residence and your ystem rejected both and refused to allow me to pay my bill. Not good!! Very Amature! I am already agrivated at paying more than our agreement and this stupidity doesn’t help my state of mind! Question…why not ask my address, my last 4 digits of my SS number or even my name? What the heck.

Yes, it was my fault for losing the bill, but it is direct TV’s fault for using an insuficient system. For heaven’s sake… I WANT TO PAY MY BILL which, in turn PAYS YOUR SALARY. Why should you even care who pays the bill as long as it gets paid? Please try to upgrade you antiquated system so we don’t have to make what should be a simple system into a nightmare

40

Wow, Rocky S. You’re great… thanks for making sure I got to comcast! I really get how that 5.00 late fee on an 11.00 balance works! Thank you for writing me Directv. I see that you’ve been with us for several years and we would like to thank you for keeping your business with us. I completely understand your concern about the late fee charged and your looking to lower your monthly bill. Our records show that we indeed received a payment of $85.73 on 2/24/2011. The payment of $85.73 was for your Directv bill dated 2/5/2011 Please note that the total balance is $96.73. since there’s a remaining balance of $11.00 and it was added on your march bill , a late fee was charged. This fee is a valid charge and we are unable to credit your account at this time.

On a different note, We know you have a choice when it comes to programming providers, and we must work hard to earn your business. We’d like to speak with you to see how we can help you, so please call us at 800-531-5000 so we can assist you.

Thanks again for writing. We appreciate your patience and understanding.

Sincerely,

Rocky S. – 100275912
DIRECTV Customer Service

40

I recently had a Direct TV salesman knock on the door and told me he would sell me Direct TV, Internet, & Phone for $95./mo. (I was paying $159 from the other guy.) My first month bill was for $124. The second month bill was $140. I immediately canceled my service and was told about the early termination charge. My agreement was for $95./mo NOT $140. So I don’t think I broke any agreements with them, yet I was being constantly overcharged. I was lied to plain and simple and I am not happy about it at all. Now I’m going to tell every website I can find about my experience with Direct TV, and maybe help someone else make a more informed decision about their provider service.

60

Why in the hell cant I get an g** d***** American on the freakin’ phone when I call Direct TV? I cant understand a d*** thing these retards in India are saying its really starting to piss me off. I don’t know if its everywhere or just Direct TV but this s*** is getting pathetic. Customer service is called customer service for a reason, you get SERVICE. Not frustration from somebody in India working in a loud annoying call center.

20

I just signed up for direct tv choice extra package on 2-9-11. Part of the agreement was $5.00/receiver package from them to take care of the choice extra package included in the plan. They billed me $6.00/receiver saying a price increase went into effect 2/10/11 They refuse to do anything . I”ll never deal with direct tv again.

20

Direct TV Rebate Gift cards sucks! I got a $100 Gift card and can’t use it and by the time I got to  Young America Corp they said card expired and I lost all the money in the card. No body could tell who got the money that was unspent: DirectTV, Meta Bank, Young America Inc. Stupid thing is I can’t use the card when I have the money and by the time I got through to them to get the card fix so I can use it, Direct TV said the card expired so I lost all the money they gave. I guess it’s scam with these gift cards so that GIVE you something then use thier partners to scam you and take the money back!

20

After being sued by virtually every state in the country, DIRECTV has agreed to pay millions of dollars and improve its business practices. State investigators say the settlement is the direct result of thousands of complaints. “DIRECTV is the most complained about business at the Attorney General’s Office, ” said Senior Counsel Paula Selis of the Attorney General’s Consumer Protection Division. The company insists the issues raised in the complaints, lawsuits and settlements represent fewer than 1 percent of its 19 million customer base and most customers are extremely happy. Yeah right!

60

I initially was going to set up service through the Dish Network but was lied to by several phone salesman. I was taking my time to get the right price so I contacted Direct TV. The saleswoman told me that with all discounts and taxes my total bill would be 34.99. I signed up for the $5.99 insurance in case a technician needed to come out to fix the equipment. We also had 2 friends and family discounts which would deduct $10 a piece off our bill, making our grand total 20.98. We have yet to receive an accurate bill. Every month we have to call in and argue with a customer service representative to no avail. I am so displeased with our Direct TV service. This is a racket. There should be some legal repercussions to this kind of practice. It’s sickening.

60

I called Verizon to sign up for their package that included home phone, internet and Direct TV. I was not sure about signing up for Direct TV as I had heard mixed reviews about them so I called to get more details on the package and was informed I had 14 days to cancel my Direct TV services. After a few days with Direct TV I noticed they cable would go out every time it was windy outside. So about 4 or 5 days after our satellite was installed I called to cancel, stating our problems with their service. I was told I would have to pay a $450 cancellation fee or they could send someone out to adjust our satellite for a small fee! What????

60

They dropped my favorite channel! When I called and asked them why, they said they saw no value in the channel and that it just wasn’t worth having. WTF?! I can’t believe they would drop my favorite channel, with out that I can’t stand using their service! Now I’m dropping them, I can’t believe they would drop it. So long DirecTV and good riddance!

60

I’ve been soo lucky to have made the mistake of changing from Dish to Direct TV. This Sunday morning and I’ve waited 35 minutes to talke to someone about my DVR crashing again. Finaly a guy answers and he has to read the book on how to fix my problem. As always, when they don’t know, push the red button on both the main DVR and the bedroom or unplug it from the wall. After 3 months I hate this damn system and thier service wait times but it will cost me about $300 to change, please don’t make the same mistake I did. Direct TV is my worst nightmare!!!

20

I find the dart commercial in very poor taste and violent. You can hear the dart entering the neck. Don’t you think you could post a positive message for your product. Promoting violence is very bad as kids don’t associate pain and death with seeing that stuff. Please remove it. I am not liking being associated with Direct tv in any way.

40

Just saw Direct TV blowgun/dart commercial during the game. I guess we’re not cool…shooting a person with a blowgun and stealing movies? The internet claims this is a parody…good grief what messages are we sending our kids. Thumbs down Direct TV, you can’t just throw stuff around thinking this a great message to be sending. I know advertising is all about shock and wow factor but seriously this commercial is a joke.

60

I am writing here in regard to the disappointing customer service I received from DISH NETWORK today. I have been their customer for more than 4 years now, and now I need to share my review of Dish TV. My family in Texas is still using the connection and I opted for it as soon as I moved to Minnesota ignoring Direct TV’s popularity here.

I am the only customer for dish among hundreds of Direct TV and comcast customers. I have already been enrolled in you 250+ package and wanted to add a super pack. Unfortunately, I received an unacceptable and rude response from your customer service. Read the poor reviews out there on the web about Dish TV, they don’t lie.

60

I ordered Direct TV from Sam’s Club. The first installation was to be in two weeks between 8AM-Noon. At  11:30 AM, Direct TV called and said there installer had an emergency and couldn’t install satellite. We rescheduled for the following week. They called and canceled that appointment because they said they didn’t have enough staff to install and asked to reschedule. We rescheduled for two weeks away. Guess what…they canceled. This time it was equipment problems. I told them forget it and refund my money. It’s a good indication about the service I would receive.

20

Direct TV is retarded. My husband and I have had direct tv for awhile now and I am getting sick of it. We can never order any movies and a few weeks ago our dish stopped working. Not sure what happened but they keep saying we have to pay and have a direct TV guy come on and look at the dish, otherwise they won’t fix it. No television, no satellite, nada! So they are telling my husband now we have to pay to make up for their crappy service are you kidding me? If anyone should have to pay for the bad install it should be the guy who did it, or the stupid company who hired him! It was a “free” install and we never touched anything, but now its magically broken and we are being charged for repairs. Not my problem! Direct TV sucks.

Have feedback for DirecTV?

Thanks for your feedback!

Sorry. Please try again later!