Denny's Complaints Continued... (Page 4)

378+ reviews added so far. Upset? Call Denny's corporate: 1-800-733-6697
20

Was at Dennys on 11/17/2012 for celebration Dinner. We got there at about 9:50 pm. We were immediately seated. Another party came in and was seated 15 to 20 mimutes after us. The manager came out to help them while we were made to wait. It took us over 30 minutes to ask whether we wanted somethimg to drink. The mamager walked by us several times without inquiring if we meeded anything. We asked if we can get anything to drink, we were told he was busy to wait on our waitress. However, all other non black cusgomer he readily helpped. I was veey offended

60

On my last visit to Denny's restaurant in Columbia MO my fiancee and I were seated and asked what we would like to drink. I ordered decaf and he ordered strawberry lemonade. He recieved his drink while I recieved nothing. After waiting for someone to take our order for more than 30 minutes I walked out. Several wait staff people walked by us or stood around doing nothing but did not wait on us. The manager spent the majority of his time on the phone. We used to regular customers there of at least once a week. I would have been more understanding had the restaurant been busy but there were only two other tables.

20

I'm a regular customer at Denny's on Sunset and sometimes I come in to just take a break and get some tea. I know a lot of the employees there from the years I've been going there and the customers that are regulars like me. Last night a drunk couple and their friends came in the restaurant. I had finished eating at the bar and took a seat in the lobby where others were. I knew the guy who was with the crew. The girl was drunk and kept walking in and our and they started arguing. Well the girl got in the officer's face and he told her he'll arrest her. So I'm shocked, I get my phone to update my status to a crazy night and the chic thinks I'm taking a pic. I told her I wasn't and was on FB. So she's calms down then she starts again like she wants to start a fight with the guy they came with. All of this is in front of me less than a foot. So she starts with me and I'm like you're drunk go home. Didn't touch the girl at all and my friend calls me saying her boss said I couldn't come back up there! In respect to mg friend Denny's can forget my money, but I wasn't the drunk and loud person. I was a customer. I feel like because I'm there at least 4 times a month I was singled out. No police report saying I'm banned from the restaurant, I feel it's unfair and my friend whose a manager it put in an unfair situation as well. I could say that the Denny's on Sunset is very

60

In Sunbury, oh my food took 45 minutes to be served. Breakfast food at that. Then the food was undercooked because they had realized they lost the order. Had to send hash browns back. When the waitress brought them back I was finished eating. Then they tried to charge me for the darn things. Not only did they not apologize they acted as if I was in the wrong! The whole time I was waiting my waitress never once came by. I had to call for her all 3 times I needed something. Not only will I not darken another Denny's door I will make it my mission to deter anyone I can from going there. This is the worst I have ever been treated by restaurant personnel in my 47 years.

20

This occurred 01-20-2013 at around 5:00pm at the Dennys in Kaufman , tx.
My family is my wife, two daughters (3and 10) and me. Well when I entered the restaurant
I noticed that every table was full except a couple tables. But on the other side that completely empty. I asked
the waitress if we could have a private booth on the empty side. She told me no and that side was closed.

I then told her we want to eat in a private table or booth or we will go elsewhere to eat.
She then told me they were short staff. I just repeated what I had said before. She said okay and we left .We then went elsewhere to eat.
Not very good customer service and you shouldn't lose business cause of either short staff or a lazy employee.

60

My parents have frequented a local Denny's for years. That was up until 5 weeks ago when my dad passed away. I also, there son had frequented this restaurant with them as well as continued taking my mother in there since my dad has passed. Now the only way my mother can get to this restaurant is by me because she is wheel chair bound. In my frequenting this restaurant with my mother I had met this waitress. I had asked her out and we had dated for approximately 3 1/2 months. We had since broke up. Approximately a month ago I went in for breakfast and requested to sit in a different servers section not to have any contact with my ex-girlfriend. I left without incident. After my ex got off of her shift she went to the police department and filed a complaint That I was harassing her. they had contacted me by phone and stated I was know longer allowed to go up there when she was working. 3 weeks later, but not the first, I took my mother up there knowing what the ex's shift is, took her there on her day off. We went in there and was seated by one of our regular waitresses. Approximately ten minutes later we found out by our waitress my ex was called in to manage and that she believed my ex called the police on me. I immediately got my mother in her wheel chair and took her back out to the car. Just as I got her in it 3 police cars surrounde

20

My daughter and I went for breakfast at The Denny's at 2701 Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach Florida, and I will NEVER go back!
I've been to that locationin the past and it was fine...but this trip will be the last. We sat, and one girl asked what we wanted to drink. We gave our drink order and I had to use the restroom. It was disgusting...sanitary napkin wrappers on the floor with full napking disposal trays...my shoes were sticking to the floor. I went back to the table, and expressed to my daughter that usually you can tell how clean a kitchen is by the condition of the bathrooms (I waitressed for 20 yrs). I had asked for extra cream for my coffee, and when it arrived it was filled to the top with cofee, but "poof", waitress was gone (the place was NOT busy, being it was 9:30 am). Probably 15 minutes later an older woman came and acted like nobody was going to take oour order so she would...I wanted 3 eggs and bacon. That's all. She said I couldn't get one egg cause they come in 2's. I said, "can't you just charge for an extra egg"? Nope, needed to order 4 eggs. My daughter wanted a moons over my hammy sandwich. 40 minutes later, nobody came to refill my coffe cup, or explain why we were not getting our food. Waitresses walked around and wouldn't make eye contact. The people in the booth behind us left without their food. I finally put a $5 bill onn the table for my one cup of coffe and mmy daughter's orange juice (ONLY because it was the only cash I had on me, and I didn't want to be arrested for non-payment). While walking behind the blg to our cars, i saw a woman and guy smoking with Denny uniforms on. I asked the woman if there was a manager I could speak to...she identified herself as the manager and asked what the problem was. I started with the service and then the disgusting bathroom, and she replied "Oh, that must have just happened because I've been in ther numerous times today". I said the f loor was so sticky, my shoes are still sticky...we went to IHOP, and I'm out $5 for a HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE I PAID FOR!
MAKE IT RIGHT! HIRE A NEW MANAGER AND STAFF. I want my money back!

40

My husband and I eat at dennys (store #6861) all the time and last night we went there to get some dinner and it took the cook 25 minutes to get our food out to us and there was only one other couple in there eating right before us! Each time we go there its always a hassle either getting our coffee or getting our food cooked properly and the service is so bad and there are always people in there causing fights that come from the Buzz bar and last night there was a guy that come in that was drunk and was demanding service and got rude and ignorant with a lady out that just came in to eat because she was standing in his way and your employees did nothing to help the lady. The man had actually cursed the elder lady and she was very upset and my husband had said something to the man about being rude to a woman in front of him and the man then threatened my husband to beat him up and none of your employees did anything about it except tell the man to sit down and be quiet. If it was properly handled which it wasnt the man who was being a nuisance should have been asked to leave but he wasnt so i really dont think we will be back there to eat at your restuarant again.

40

On Friday the 5th I took my family to Denny's on E. street in chula vista Ca, for dinner and the food was great so was the service. After the meal we left and headed home. Upon arriving home I couldn't find my headphones to my phone. I asked my daughter and she said she left them sitting on the table. We went back to the restraunt and was no more than 15 minutes, the manager said the tables were clean and the last shift usually turns property in. This time they didn't turn in anything to lost and found. The last shift had gone home and they couldn't contact them. Me and my family have been going to Denny's for years and nothing has ever happened like this when forgetting something. The headphones were a gift and cost almost $200. The manager said he will ask if anyone has found them.

20

Restaurant #8682 was a quick stop for a salad. Worst decision ever!!! While the server was pleasant enough, her attention to detail sucked!!!! I ordered the Dixie Fried Chicken salad with holding the onions while opting to have the cheese and the salad dressing on the side. My order was to go, not to dine in. When I received the order, the cheese and the dressing were on the top in a different container which fooled me, because once I got to my destination ans opened the container I was very upset to say the least. My salad was flooded with dressing , so much so I barely saw any foliage. The chicken was so hard and dry and minced up so tiny it might as well have been bacon bits!!! The lettuce was soft and mushy and had a lot of brown spots all over!!!! The salad was disgusting and a waste of $10.

60

I am a regular customer at Denny's and frequently order dinner from the senior menu. A choice of soup or salad is included with all of the senior dinners. I ordered the senior turkey and dressing dinner fron the current seasonal menu and assumed that soup or salad was included as it is with every other senior dinner. WRONG! The server returned to my table and said that the turkey was the only senior dinner that does not include soup or salad.
My complaint is that the menu needs to indicate that soup or salad is not included with the senior turkey dinner since this is a deviation from the usual menu. I am quite sure that I am not the only one that assumed soup or salad was included with the senior turkey dinner as it is with all other senior dinners. A simple disclaimer on the menu would have kept me from getting upset and leaving the restaurant without having a meal.

40

On May 6, 2013. We went to our usual Denny's Resturaunt at 3096 Aloma Ave, Winter Park Fl. for a late breakfast. It was very empty but it was Monday. We were promptly seated then the issues started. A waiter named John, and a waitress name terry were working We were seated in John's sections, but after 20 minutes wait Terry came over to see what drinks we would like, We explained we also wanted to order. She took our orders, no conversation, suggestions or anything , 15 minutes go bye again and then John comes over to take our drink order. We explained Terry had already taken our complete order.

10 more minutes to get our Sweet Tea and Coffee. In the mean time a table behind us has 3 adults and 3 kids trying to speak with Terry because their order is all messed up and what they did get right was COLD. She didn't do anything (whether she new how or what to ask she sent Manager over) He didn't even apologize or ask he could get anything else or refire the food. he just stood there. he walks away and they all walked out. Well our food had still nto come and we are getting ready to get up and walk out. Nobody came by to ask how things were, or offer more coffee or anything.

It was like watching everything in slow motion. Nobody cleaned tables, reset tables or anything. After what seems like an eternity or our food finally comes after sitting up on hot plates waiting for somebody to deliver it. We get our food and are more dissappointed,y i could only eat my hashbrowns and coffee, everything was cold. My husband was so hungry he ate, but i couldn't Terry the waitress comes by to give check, she says, "here's your check, when ready pay at register" No questions about how is food or anything.

So from the time our order was placed in the machine, and we got the check 48 mnutes had passed not taking into consideration all the time before our order. We are weekly visitors on the weekends at this Denny,bu tnow i don't know if i will even return. We asked to speak with the Store Manager when we went to the register and hes like what do you want me to do, he took only $3,00 off our check, He didn't care or anything. I was expecting my meal at least to be taken off, but just $3.00. It will be along time till i even consider going back to Denny's.

20

I seriously love dennys but when im budgeting every dollar for a trip im taking and dennys suprises me with $2.65 for a small glaas of milk & i had 2 of them. Just felt like i got ripped off since for one more dollar i could have bought a gallon

60

Good Morning, I would like to put a complain on the Dennys located in El Paso, Tx on 9567 Dyer st 79924. My family and I went in for breakfast today on the 14 of January 2013, and the staff treated us horrible we waited in the lobby for 5 minutes, finally the lady at the register told us to sit where ever. She seemed like she didn't want to be at work which is clearly not our fault.

We sat at a booth and were waiting for a waitress which never came to welcome us, nor give us menus . We waited for a good 10 minutes and the waitresses were helping all the other tables except ours. After noticing that we were not getting service my family and I got up and left.

This experience gave me a different perspective of the restaurant and more than likely I would not go to a Denny's again. My suggestion is to hire more enthusiastic staff that are happy they have a job instead of people that dread going to work and take it out of the customers.

60

Good morning! I am a 55 year old male who has had a lifetime of wonderful service from the Denny's restaurant around the country until last nite. I retired from the City of Detroit in the year of 2008 and moved to belvidere illinios , Any state we flew too for conferences we made sure that there was a Dennys close buy. We made sure our hotels were located close to a Dennys restaurant. In 2008 we found a Dennys on east State street in Rockford Illinois Wonderful Staff, Wonderful Service, Wonderful food, A wonderful time, This was me and my wife date spot anytime anyday . Until last nite! They have changed Managers but the one last nite was the worst one that we encountered . The procedure of table assignment has changed to a fault the you lady name Stella took our names ands told us that there was a 15-20 minute wait wrote our name down on a sign-in sheet , Ok we said this must be something new . but we counted more than twelve empty tables, Than a White gentleman came in 2 minutes behind us and commented on stellas wig. And she quoted oh you like it and his name did not go on the list. He went and seated his self while the line grew at the door. The manager seen what had happened and came and found us a table out of many tables after 10 minutes of waiting. The manager took our orders, I decided to try the all you can eat fish for the first time and my wife ordered the hamburger combo. We never waited longer than 10 minutes for any kind of breakfast, lunch , or dinner and or dessert that we ordered. Last nite 30minutes and no waitress until the bill, The order of fish came with four fish sticks mash potatoes and corn. No pop refill or water. The manager told me that she hada put in another order of fish for my all you can eat order OK! maybe she noticed that she had treated us wrong in service.Qk 10-15-25 minutes pasted no fish ,no refills . I told the wife lets go its horrible service in here. Then the waitress came and said oh ill be back to fill you water and sprite and she had 1 fish stick in her and and said this is your all you can eat fish that the manager had put in. What a insult to the menu it states all you can eat fish on Fridays . I got up told my wife lets go. What a insult , Horible service,food,Manager. Stella asked how was the service and food and I told her horrible. Afetr we went to the car we were parked in front of the window the managers came out from hiding and here and Stella had a laughing good time. We will never go back to a Dennys restaurant if this is the service that you are now offering your customers you keep. You will be the topic of my Sermon Sunday Titled God is the only Service that will forever please you man will let you down.

40

We sat down to order and were told the coffee was not ready (at 4:30 Dinner) after ordering 2 tables whom came in after we did were served. After waiting almost an hour we left without being served our dinner (only eggs ) we did get our drinks after waiting for the coffee to brew for 5 minutes! But the wait staff had lots of time talk talk with each other as well as friends who did get served!

40

we arrived at 9:24 p.m. four employee's at register and none seated us for several minutes nor would make any acknowledgement that we were there later one told one so seat us...it took about 25 minutes to get our order and not but a few in Denny's. Toast had been crushed before toasting, bacon had no taste and half of one piece was missing, waiter spilled tea in a large mess on table and walked away not bothered to clean it up..lots of talking from kitchen with breaking dishes...coffee poured with lots of bubbles like someone really shaking it for a while before bringing it unknown why.....never seen that before... to a foam..on top...order number 307014 did not want tip on card unsure what happened when I left I didn't say anything to employee's about service. I would rather have you handle it seems to make a difference because I feel Denny's corporate office cares we eat a lot at different Denny's and you can see problems if present...this was at Canton Texas on i20.

40

I went to Dennys because I have been told how wonderful they are. I ordered fish a new item on the menu this was a Sunday afternoon. the waitress said they were out of fish. So I ordered something else. she never came back to see how it was I wanted a refill on my water witch I never got. I will not be giving anyone a good review on Dennys.

60

On January 25, 2015, I took my handicapped mother to the Denny's Restaurant at 1140 Hillsdale Ave., San Jose, CA 95118. It was 10:00am and the restaurant was not full, yet I had to sign-in. When I signed in, I put I wanted a booth. Although there were booth available, the waitress that came to seat us, purposely put us at a half table in an area that was not a good spot for my mother with weak knees and a cane to sit. When asked for an available booth, the waitress rudely said no. At this point, we left. The waitress was rude and seemed to take pleasure in telling us we could not seat in a booth. What kind of customer service is this; especially when Denny's is an AARP company and my mother is 80 years old. Rude, horrible, obnoxious behavior by a waitress.

40

Me and my mom wanted to check out the new Denny's, and we got there about8:45 am. We ordered pancakes and Moons over my Ham, It took 25 min. to get our breakfast. I had to wave down a waiter for more coffee HIS name was Luis i do be leave.couldn't get eye contact with our waitress . I did not get her name ( but she had red hair). Our waitress didn"t even come over to see how we was doing. As we was waiting for our bill, i noticed Deana, another waitress as i had told my mom i wish we had her... She had checked on her customers and also apologized to them for not bringing them coffee. She was working clean on the other side of the room., plus where i was.Don't get me wrong We will not stop going to Denny"s. Just wanted to try the new one. I was not impressed with the manager ether. i had told him i was very impressed with Deana and he said i was just saying that, she's probably your daughter. i have 4 boys no Daughters . i wanted to tell him about our service and he snickered and left. REALLY. The food was blaw, I over looked it sense the grill still needs to be brook in. i was a waitress for 20 yrs and i started at 17. So i know good waitresses. i didn't have any money to tip Luis for being so kind with a smile. i had ask the cashier if i could leave a tip on my credit card for Luis and she said no. she was a Jewel also. So i didn't leave a tip. Felt bad, but oh well. I do not have The ID # for her. i have a receipt only. I hope you don"t just throw this under the rug.

20

hi
my name is Marcellus, and I had apply to you restaurant about a mouth ago. I was called in for two interviews for possible employment. the first interview went extremely well hosted by Dianna I believe. the second by a young lady name nicoletta... nicoletta than called me a day later to come fill out information such as w-2 contact information, etc. when I first walked in the door she and the GM were at the host stand talking. and told me to wait while she got the paper work, while I waited the GM never said a word to me, shook my hand, or acknowledge me as a rising stars the GM left 5 minutes after I arrived. while she was telling me how to fill out my information I had my cell phone out to get information off my phone and she demanded that I put my away and told me that if I had a problem with that I could leave and go else where, although I wasn't employed there yet she made me feel unwanted and unwelcome,
This restaurant has been getting negative reviews such as poor management mostly, some employee having issues with cashing there checks and having to travel nearly 30 miles to cash the own pay check, or checks bounces, are you serious!
for someone who has been giving an opportunity to work in this country and get a management position, she need an attitude adjustment . we don't treat people like this and we don't talk to people any kind of way, I've been in Williamsburg all my life. this is my town and the hardworking peoples town. When some like that is running a company like this they need have a respect for the people that work there and eat there as well. I will go to the papers if I have to, even though I choose to not lower my standard by working with a manager like that, I still care about the hardworking people who work there, and people that spend there hard earn money there. something seriously need to change in that stores location. thank you and have a blessed day

40

On 1-14-2015 I ate at the Denny's in west Memphis Arkansas that is I the flying j truckstop. I wasn't greeted whatsoever... And then had to wait over 10 minutes to place my drink order. Stellar service indeed!! Then when I placed my order.. I seemed to have aggravated the very rude and RACIST girl.. As she muttered "white motherfucker" walking away. Never again will I step foot in this or any other Denny's..

20

We waited over an hour for our food. Then they brought our drinks out on dirty cups. When we order take out they leave out half our food.

20

I slipped and fell in their store. They didn't check to see if I was ok. They all just all called me a laid and walked away.

20

Went to Denny’s in turnersville got seated ordered food right away people were seated after us like 6 or 7 tables we waited almost hour for food we had to go up to ask where food was manager nor waitress ever came to tell us what was going on is this how a business is supposed to be run

20

This last week my wife and I were eating at Denny’s off of White Bear Ave just across from Maplewood Mall, MN. When a person behind my wife took a couple puffs off his e-cigarette. It was just like someone was setting on your chest. When I did make eye contact with that person then he put it away. But the vapors and smell was in the air for everyone else to enjoy. I did call this complaint in and was told your policy was not against anyone smoking them. If you would please take a good look at this web site. It was on national TV so a lot of people had to see it if not glued to a ball game.

40

Saturday, March 29th around 8:45 A.M. Kayla seated us took our drink order, brought them to the table and left quickly. She didn’t return for 10 min. When we said something about how long it took, Kayla got very smart aleck with us for another minute or two. Food came out quickly and was served by another waitress. Then Kayla passed by the table again and made another smart aleck comment walked on off looked over her shoulder laughing. The order was not exactly right the first Time. She could have just apologized and all would have been well. Politeness goes a long way in earning a tip in my book.

20

My wife and I went to Denny’s in Hemet, CA #7081. March 27th 2014. I had “cowboy steak” with hash brown and pancake sides with coffee included. Meal was excellent as it always is. Service was excellent. However we didn’t finish our orders, so we asked for “2 doggie bags”.. waitress brought them. We boxed them. I paid the bill , went to restroom , then went to table to leave tip and pick up doggie bags.. They were gone. I went to the manager and asked for them. She came back and told me they had been thrown away. I am very sad and disappointed. I have been a customer of Denny’s for over 40 years. I feel I should have coupons for our next meals at Denny’s. Thank you. Clifford Allen 435 Northwood Avenue, Banning, CA 92220.

40

On march 22nd 2014 I was fired from Dennys Portage,In) for no reason it wasn’t job related,. I was getting an interview for a second job across the street from Dennys and charleston (general manager) came in and purchased alcohol and he saw me being interviewed and told the owner of the business I wouldn’t hire her she’s bad news. the owner where I was being interviewed told me what charleston said. I was shocked at that . I went to work at Dennys that evening I worked three nights a week at Dennys and Charleston told me to leave and enjoy my job across the street.I cannot believe he was so rude and I never missed a day or was even late all the time I worked at Dennys I don’t think that was very professional of him. He told me not to call corporate because their would not be anything done about this situation. Thank-you Judy Husk (219-654-4058)

20

My husband and I love Denny’s and always treated very nicely but not today. First of all, we had to wait to be seated. Not too crowded but still had to wait. We were placed into a booth where the seats were torn. We got up and moved to the next cleaner/nicer table. Our waitress left to get us coffee which we had to wait for some time.

Our waitress then seated two more people across the way from us . She then returned to give them their drinks but we never got ours. We got up to leave when she approached us and told us a new pot was brewing. Why didn’t she come back to tell us that? We do believe that was a down right lie. I asked for the manager and when she came out the first thing she told us was “Well you changed seats, didn’t you? Why did that matter. I told her the reason we changed because the seat was all torn and broken. The manager was not nice to us at all. Whatever happened to the customer comes first?

The gentleman that is usually the manager we see, is very very nice and we know he would have handled the situation differently. Makes you wonder, how this woman got to be the manager as she was not very clean looking. We left knowing we will never return to that Denny’s again. The manager left and picked up for the waitress and blaming us for changing seats. Shame on that manager and blaming us when the blame should have been put on the waitress who failed to return with our coffee. Put the blame where the blame should be. Thought Denny’s should be made aware of this situation. Also maybe take a run over there and see that it definitely needs a good cleaning.

40

I got charged a $1.00 for One slice of bacon I never ordered I always order two pancakes. Two eggs and four slices of bacon which is $6.59. Yet the last two times the last being march 22, 2013 when I got the check the bill was $.99 for a fifth slice of bacon I did not order. It’s hard to tell how much actual bacon is on the plate since its all curled.

I am on a fixed income and come in around 1:00 am. I always leave a tip but if I go back to Denny’s I will deduct the erroneous amount from the tip. This started about three months ago. I did not go back after the first over charge until tonight thinking things got better. Also one order was completely wrongs he woman next door to me told me they messed up her Oder and won’t go back

Royse city has few late night places to eat but we are having a lot of new construction. Soon there will be more dining choices and I will remember the crooks in this town.

40

restaurant # 6425 The first complaint is we found a hair in our dish, second is there was no toilet paper in the womens handicapped stall, third was the sink in the ladies room was ready to fall off the wall, and last but not least the manager did not even offer an apology for all these flaws or give us a break on the price, very very very rude of her, she should be fired!!!!!!!!!!!!!

60

I was at Dennys on 3/12/14 in Belle Vernon Pa and myself and another guest had ordered our meals they brought them out and they were not even close to what we had ordered and we asked the server about it and she said I told the kitchen they were wrong so my opinion is this issue should have been corrected back in the kitchen if she new it was wrong so she took the meals back and the manager came out and was very Rude to us and we were not treated very well the whole visit the manager should not be managing at restaurant I would not recommend this restaurant location to anyone and will never go back which is really disappointing.

60

Restaurant #8006 14697 Duval Rd, Jacksonville, Fl 3261. The grits was cold, the entire meal was not at serving temperature my wife meal was not fit for human cosumption. Restroom dirty. Parking area was filty, dumpter running over uncovered very unpleasant view. My wife insisted that we leave a three ($3.00) dollar tip. The cost of the meal was sixteen dollars and ninty-eight cent ($16.98). With tax eighteen dollars and seventeen cents ($18.17). We had table grace over the food and left it on the table. Thanks in advance for helping me with Denny's contact information.

 

40

My Husband and I went to dennys ( Center of New England) and he ordered a Philly Cheese Steak omlete with just steak and cheese. Well he got eveything on it he sent it back and it can back with mushrooms which he moved aside and ate some of the omlete he said something to the waitress and she said you can speak to the manager so he told the manager what happened. The manager said well does this happen in all the restaurants you eat in. Like he was saying do you complain just to get free food which we don’t and we pay for our whole meal there, We go to dennys twice a month and never had a problem.

60

When we entered the restaurant, the wait was not long to be seated. Once we were seated, after about 10 minutes, I had to ask for a waiter so we could order silverware,drinks and food. It took 10 minutes to get our drinks and another 20 minutes to get our silverware and food. Our food was incorrect and we had to go and get the waiter to let him know. About 10 minutes later he brought our correct order minus our toast. I did ask him for the toast and he said that it would be ready shortly. After we called the waiter to our table for our ticket, he brought the toast as we were walking to the cash register. During our entire visit to Denny’s we were watching the manager. (Kim) People were coming in asking for applications.

She was laughing and telling them that they were out of applications. We also noticed how much time she spent at the register laughing and flirting with the male customers, while being short with the female customers. She at NO time walked around checking on the employees or checked with any customers to see how things were going. There were several customers complaining about the service when I went to the register to pay for our food.. The manager was unconcerned (with her attitude) and rude. (short with words and unapologetic) Several employees had dirty and wrinkled cloths. I spoke to her with my concerns and she again appeared to be unconcerned. I asked for her managers name and number.

She gave me a number that I still have not been able to reach anyone on. This matter happened on 09/06/13 and today is 09/20/13. I called the restaurant today and spoke to Julia who asked Kim for her bosses number for a customer who had a complaint. Kim said” We can not give out that information.”This Denny’s is opening a new restaurant near Mack Road and Stockton Blvd. in Sacramento. I sure do hope that Kim is NOT the manager and that the employees are clean and have better customer service skills. Kim needs customer service training. She listens but does not hear customer concerns. I hope that whoever reads this takes a better role of customer satisfaction then Kim did.

40

To Whom it Concerns:
On Sunday March 28,2013, our family visited the location off of Hwy 59 and Gessner Blvd. We arrived at approximately 9:50 am, we were a party of 4 adults, 3 children, and a baby. Parts of our food began arriving about an hour of us being seated, and much of it is either cold or lukewarm. After repeated, requests of syrup, butter, silverware and food which was not brought out, I approached the manager who stated to me that all the food is cooked to order and takes time????? I have previously managed an IHOP restaurant and would never dream of replying to one of my customers in that manner. Not only was our food unsatisfactory, but the restaurant was hot, a portable fan was being used in the room we were sat, and the restroom was in need of cleaning.
As much as we have enjoyed other locations of Denny’s, we will not be patronizing any Denny’s location again.
Sincerely,
Phyllis Crockett

20

My wife and I travel the I5 corridor quite often, visiting our children at college. We stop at Denny’s quite often, because it is familiar. Recently we have recieved poor food and service at quite a few of these restaraunts. We stopped in Gustine, today, at 5:00pm. The restaraunt was uncomfortably hot and the waitresses did not seem to know we were there. The service was very slow even though there was only 4 tables with customers at them. We were very displeased and may have to stop going to Denny’s all together!
Glenn Murray

60

Every 2nd Wednesday of the month for years from 12 to 14 weman get together around 8 AM for Breakfast. The lasr three months things have really changed. They make us feel unwelcome. The service is not very good. All the waitress that had worked there for years no longer work there. The food is not as good, the coffee of the April 10th morning was not hot it was just barely warm. Even through there were not very many people there they did not want to put the tables together for us. They always had before. Serveral of us were discussing where else we could start going to besides of Denny;s. I think they are losing a lot of business.

40

About 2 weeks ago my fiance and I went to Dennys near Fort Myers Beach, ONE OF OUR FAVORITE PLACES TO EAT, we usually go at night but it was after a Drs appt and we were starved!! (This email is late because I had my son and I’ve been crazy with him.) We went in took a little over 15 minutes to JUST TAKE OUR DRINK ORDER, my fiance ordered a coffee, myself a Fanta, 19 minutes and 37 seconds later the server returns with a Dark soda and a coffee, He apologized and said he’d get my fanta my finance asked for sugar 21 minutes and 53 seconds later we got up and left the server sees us leaving and shrugs and says, “O well.” I turned around, being a manager myself knowing WITHOUT CUSTOMERS WE HAVE NO JOB, looked at him and said, “Words like that are uncalled for and inappropriate!” He smirked and continued with his current conversation with someone he apparently knew very well! I AM APPALLED WITH THIS TIME OF SERVICE I ASKED FOR A MANGER AFTER WAITING NEARLY 25 MINUTES I JUST GAVE UP AND LEFT I AM SURE THE MANAGER WAS NOT NOTIFIED THAT WE WANTED TO SPEAK WITH THEM!!! Sadly after this experience i am not sure if either of us will return to Denny’s! This guy didn’t even seem bothered with his actions!!!!
Sincerely,
Rebecca S.

40

I am a regular customer at the dennys in Hempstead Texas my family visis this restaurant every weekend. tonight has to be the most horrible night I’ve experience there. we arrive there around 8:45 p.m.a party of 5. it was to be exact 4 adults and 1 child. the person that waited on us… “Quote” its my second day what do ya want to drink.

My granddaughter ordered a strawberry banana smoothie she was told we don’t have the stuff to make that. we had to ask for refills on our drinks. we never got silverware we had to ask for napkins. my son order breakfast and his plate was not complete we asked for the item that was messin they never brought it.

We asked for a order to go, the waitress told us that we could not order it until we went up to the register to pay for our food. So we ordered a bacon cheeseburger plain, when they gave it to us it had lettuce & tomatoes.then she charged us for kid plate which kids eat free between the hours of 4-10pm. It was very unpleasant!! I am very disappointed in this restaurant.

40

I visited the Mobile hwy store in pensacola fl tonight. The serviceDennys or tell my colleagues we have to choose somewhere else to eat.ed good, we were quickly seated and order taken. The server brought our food out 2 grand slam sluggers. 1 meal was ok but the sausage ewasnt cooked, the second meal had undercooked eggs that were cooked barely over easy when over medium was ordered, the sausages were under cooked and the server never came back to the table. I couldn’t ask to have the eggs & hashbrowns redone because there was no longer service from any server or manager. I finally stopped a server who was able to give me my ticket and as she tossed it on my tabke she quickly hurried away.

I proceeded to the register where the manager was told he’s going to complain to corporate. She barked out my total and swiped my card and never asked what was wrong ir if they can do anything to make it better. She didn’t even give me my receipt fot $17.00 and change.

I travel a lot for work and I prefer Dennys and I hop but after this experience I will have rethink where I can have experience.

I hope that this is an isolated incident and I dont have to avoid dennys

20

Last night (2/16/13), my friends and I went to the Denny’s on upper front st. in Binghamton NY (according to the receipt, restaurant #8194) as we do every Sat. night after bowling and we have never been so upset and disappointed. There were 5 of us and it was around 9 pm… First we waited almost 15 minutes to be seated, there were only about 7 customers in the whole place, we finally got seated and waited nearly half an hour just to have our drink orders taken. We ordered about 45 minutes after we were seated. The appetizers we ordered came out about 30 seconds before our meal, 4 of us had ordered skill it meals that were served on plates and were cold! We heard the waitresses yelling at the cooks that they were skillet meals, the cooks yelled back “oh well guess they’ll just have to eat it off a plate”! The waitress was very unpleasant and never checked to see if we needed anything. We have never been displeased with the service or food but last night was ridiculous! Even when we said the food was cold no one seemed to care. We all finished with deserts and even they were not up to par! I am afraid that if service like this continues we will NOT be visiting anymore! The rudeness was inexcusable! I rarely complain but I feel something should be done. We spent almost $80 between the five of us not including the tip, which she did NOT deserve!

20

went to Dennys on 82nd st Inpls, In…they dropped my cr card in a slit on the counter and it was locked in there,,,, the manager had no keys…called the gm she refused to come unlock it…the lock box was to be for cus complaints but there was no forms to fill out just an open slit on the counter where you pay!! They sd I would have to come back the next day!! What if that is the only source of income I had??

What I was on vacation or traveling to someplace on a time restraint?? The sd I would have to come back my daughter sd thats not exceptable we have to have her cr card back tonite they sd no one had a key but this gm girl…came back the next day drove 15 miles back and the manager isnt even there hes ( Travis ) hes running errands!! They are out of food and or supplies!! So I waited…finally he came because I sd im not leaving without my card!! he gave my card back and explained my issue with that process he couldnt have cared less,,,

never even offered me a glass of water or sorry for you drive back!! What business has no key for there” customer complaint box”? What gm expects you to leave your cr card there with them??What manager for a restaurant is running errands on there shift?? If I didnt get the card back I was going to call the police! Would you leave your cr card all night in some reataurant?? Worse thing they didnt even care…just leave it was the answer

20

I went into the Denny’s on the Carlisle Pike in Mechanisburg PA at approximately 10.35am on Saturday January 19th 2013 and recieved the most horrible treatment in my restaurant life. After waiting a considerable length of time to be seated I asked the lady at the cash register if Icould seat myself ? She barked at me is such a fashion that I felt absolutely be-littled. She told me that three of her wokers called out sick with the flu so everyone was busy so I should just wait and someone would get to me in a while.

Ten minutes later a waitress tried to seat me in an isle table and I made the mistake of asking for a booth instead. The attitude from this young female was so alarming my guest who was a caucasian female had to ask her to calm down since all I was asking for was a change of table. My waitress name was Janet and she started out being pleasant until I asked her for a clean cup because the one I had for coffee had lipstick stains. Because of this I waited over an hour for my order.

I had one cup of coffee which got cold and distasteful after about 20 mins and to top it all while I was waiting for my order when I saw the waitress Janet leaving the building. I could not believe my eyes, I thought the waitress was leaving so I went outside to see for myself, only to find a group of waitress standing outside smoking. I was in total dis-belief, I was waiting over half an hour for my order and the waitress was outside smoking. I was further dismayed when she came inside and grabbed her notepad without washing her hands and started taking another customer’s order. Strange enough this customer got served before me. I called Janet to complain and she brought my order which was almost crisp from being under the warmer so long.

To top it all I got cheated out of the bacon in my order and I asked for sugar-free syrup twice and got completely ignored. I am an African Amercan male and I truly believe that I was the victim of a racist encounter at this Denny’s. I could not eat this terribly dried up breakfast.Tthe order was not complete as the menu stated, and I was still charged for this horror show. The restaurant number was 1342 and the order number was 513935, the table number was 108 and there were two guest. . I will absolutely contact by legal council about this encounter because as a matter of principle this was wrong, Denny’s should be ashame of themselves, I will never visit this or any other Denny's again.

20

My family and I were at Dennys in Yakima Wa and the server there, her name is Summer Wildflower, was talking about her Sexual Herpes and how she abandoned her husband and her children. Now I do not appreciate that kind of behavior around my family, especially at a public restaurant and I think that she should be fired. She acted also like a W**** taliking about all the guys that she went out with. We will never go there again and if you have any morals, neither will you.

40

On Monday January 7, 2013, I parked in Denny’s parking lot and slept in the car along with my child. We stayed at the Denny’s parking lot, because it was well lit and we wanted to feel safe from my physically abusive boyfriend. The next morning, an employee reported us to the police for being parked there. If an employee had asked us to leave we would have done so. I just wanted to feel safe for once. Police officer pulled in beside me and asked if everything was ok, and stated he was called there by a Denny’s employee. I informed him about my situation and that I didn’t know I had caused any problems. He drove my son and I to police station where we would wait for Women In Need to arrive. Meanwhile the vehicle was still parked in the Denny’s parking lot waiting for the owner to drive it off the parking lot, which happend to be my very abusive boyfriend. Upon arriving he stated that the waitress told him that my child and I had been taken to a shelter, and told him exactly where the WIN was located, and stated she too had once stayed there. WIN has a very strict policy that NO ONE may tell anyone where the “safehouse” is, and if someone is picking us up, we are to meet them elsewhere, so that others will not be jeopardized. Because of her telling my abusive boyfriend where the battered women’s shelter is, my child is now scared that he is going to hurt us. The whole purpose of the shelter is for women and their children to be safe. It was not her place to tell him and put my child and I in a dangerous situation. She doesn’t know me nor my boyfriend, and I cannot comprehend why she would tell anyone where to find the shelter. I hope she is happy that my child is so frightened he can’t sleep at night, because of her actions.

40

My friends and I visited Denny’s in Evansville, Indiana on Wednesday night and had horrible service. Our waitress was not available most of the she hardly ever checked on us. Our drinks remained empty for up to 10 minutes without her refilling them. My fiancé asked for seasoned fries but got regular. I ordered an apple juice with my meal and it didn’t arrive until 5 minutes after my food arrived. When it arrived it did not look at all like apple juice, it looked like cloudy water. I couldn’t believe she would serve me that as apple juice. I could tell immediately that the syrup had ran out and it was mostly water. When I told her it was mostly water she said it came out of a machine so it was probably all like that. My daughters grilled cheese looked very unappetizing, it was burnt. My experience was one of the worst I’ve ever had at Denny’s.

20

On 1/2 /2013 we decided to have breakfast at Denny’s in Lake Havasu, AZ #7085. I have been a truck driver most of my life before retirement and I could always count on Dennys for good breakfast food. This restaurant advertised that it was under new management so we expected this would be a very enjoyable experience. To our dismay the food served was cold and not very enjoyable. My husband ordered bisc&gravy and a side order of sausages. The gravy was cold and the side order of sauages was on a plate that had grease on it and it too was cold. I had pancake which were hot but the bacon seemed like it had been precooked and was just waiting around to be thrown on my plate, not hot of the griddle. The servers were seniors and I am not sure it this was there error or the cooks, but whatever it didn’t prove satisfactory. We had to track down any server just to get a refill on our coffee. What do you think? What could be the problem with this restaurant? We like Dennys and want you to know so you can check into this and make it better.

60

Complaint regarding Denny’s in Belleville, Ill.. Several on-duty detectives with the Belleville Police Department dropped in to Denny’s while working on-duty. The detectives had their badges and their guns. I guess This bothered a patron who then complained to a manager, David Rice, who then complained to one of the detectives: Please take your gun to your car or leave.

As a patron who eats at Denny’s I will Never return to your restaurant because Denny’s doesn’t like the police. I live in Oaklawn, Il. And I have several Denny’s near my home and because your chain discriminates towards law enforcement that protects us I will choose a new place to fine with my family.

40

I have been a customer at the Denny’s location in Taylor, Michigan for over five years going at least once a week. Stephanie, one of the waitresses has kept my friends and I going throughout the years because she is the best waitress I have ever had in any restaurant. I walked into Denny’s this past week and knowing that I am vegan, she immediately informed me that they will no longer be carrying the vegan burger. As there are few options in Michigan to have a meal without meat, I was very upset knowing that after I could finally have a real meal here, it was taken away. There are many people that I know of who eat the same way I do, wanting to simply be healthy when dining out with others. With so few options one can understand how upsetting it can be when they are no longer an option. Not only is the vegan burger no longer an option, there are hardly any options that are meat or dairy free. I would just like to simply make a formal complaint about the ridiculously unhealthy menu that started to make a change for the better but is declining back to unhealthy. I would also like to say that there are many waiters at this establishment who get no credit or perks for their hard work. They should at least get some sort of award for dealing with corporate rules, regularly intoxicated guests, and rude people in general. Thank you.

40

The Dennys at I-25 and Bijou in Colorado Springs, CO is the worst. At 9:30 am we went into Dennys for a simple breakfast. There were two people complaining at the front register about service and food. All the waitress could say was, sorry. There were two waitresses and the manager was serving food from the kitchen. We had an ll am doctors appointment. There was one table of eight and five tables of two, we were seated within a few minutes, it took twenty minutes to get a menu, then it took another twenty minutes to give our order, we were given one cup of coffee (two of us) and water. At 10:25 a.m. orders were coming out and going everywhere but to us. I approached the waitress and she said that their table top of 8 had thrown everything off and our order would be up in 10 to 15 minutes. I told her we would pay for the coffee and leave, she said the coffee was on the house. The manager in the kitchen had about 5 orders cancelled and more people were walking out than walking in, all because the Dennys could not handle this table of 8 guys. As we were leaving three people were waiting for some to go orders they had called in but were not ready, two other people were complaining about food and service, and the kitchen staff were standing around shooting the breeze, because all of their customers had left.

60

Denny’s – a place I used to enjoy taking my family to eat a good meal. Please note the words – used to. Have you and your management gone totally stupid? I will only say this, because I am finding it very difficult to keep a civil tone towards Denny’s. As a measure of protest, I and everyone whom I can influence WILL NOT be frequenting your establishment again until

1 Denny’s issues a complete apology to the policemen you disgraced.

2 Denny’s FIRES the idiot night manager who made the decisiion and acted on such an idiotic idea.

David Capps

40

I will no longer dine at Dennys while traveling because I find it offensive that a police officer was allegedly denied entry because he was carrying a gun. If all guns were banned the only people carrying guns would be the criminals. I hope the word gets around to all the customers who would otherwise choose Dennys and they will find someplace else to dine where common sense is the norm . Criminals will come in Dennys armed . When this happens you may wish someone would notify the police who carries guns to protect You. Stupid, Stupid, Stupid rule.

20

Tonight we ordered from dominoes as we had many times before we have never had a complaint. The type of pizza we ordered was crispy crust mushroom onion And hamburger. We were impressed in the recent past by quality so again we became regular customers. BUT this time. The pizza seemed to have reverted to the old reason why we stopped ordering in the first place. First there was for each slice maybe 1 piece of hamburger if at all. Then the mushrooms were sparse but ok. There was an overwhelming amount of onion. I proceeded to call the manager to let him know he was nice enough. And offered to send another pizza. With more hamburger. But. I declined. I don’t think he took my feedback seriously at all. It saddens me that. The quality in westfield MA. Is suffering again. When the market for well made pizza is overflowing. And at a lower cost than dominoes. Once again you have lost a customer.

60

Server by the name of Meghan was very immature, texting while on the job and even cause my good friend to run out of the building crying. I was extremely upset at this, the employee had no business poking her head in the drama and frankly should have just kept doing her job instead of instigate the situation

40

Denny location in Stanton by garden grove and beach. I order a country fried steak dinner and when I check my dinner, it had only one Patty. So I spoke to the manager and ask her why is there only one patty,and she told me that the menu has change and the dinner come with only one Patty. I check the dinner menu and it has two Patty.

I was charge $10.99 for the country fried steak dinner with only one patty. I’ve been going to Denny for over twenty years, I can’t believe that this is happening. The manager could of just say it was a mistake, but instead she told me word for word that the menu has changed, while on the present menu it says two Patty for country fried steak dinner and I have the dinner receipt for record.

40

Just sat down to eat at Denny’s and my cousin asked for a coffee. She received a mug that had lipstick imprinted on the side that someone had just drank off of. This is very disgusting and she could have put her mouth on it if I had not seen it. I felt as tho she should have been accomedated with a free appetizer, and the manager refused.

This location is in Perris California, and the managers name is Jen. This is just just very bad customer service, a free dessert or appetizer for the trouble wouldn’t have hurt. Denny’s management does not care about customer satisfaction!!!

40

To whom it may concern,
My daughters and I went to Denny’s on Christmas day, expecting what we usually get, great service,
Clean atmosphere, quick friendly service, well to say the least we were NOT happy, we sat for almost
10 minutes before someone even acknowledged us, we then waited again for our waters, when we did
Get it 2 out of the 3 had floaties in them ?? The resturant as a whole was dirty & smelled bad, the restroom
smelled gross. Anyway our order came almost 20 min after we ordered ( they were not that busy either)
we ordered simple 1 cheeseburger, with fries, smothered cheese fries, & I had mashed potatoes with corn
& gravy & a skewer of shrimp. That was all ! I’m very disappointed !
And to top it all off we were on vacation . This Denny’s is one I will never return too EVER!!

40

I visited my local Denny’s today in ontario, ohio. When I arrived it was not busy but they still took a while to seat my two children and I. When we were seated I asked for a booster seat and a high chair, the boy acted as if it were a hassle and was rather cocky. I have a three year old and a one year old did he think they were going to sit at the table like adults. Normally my husband or I would retrieve these things for ourselves but he is currently deployed and I did not find it out of reason to ask him to get it. Our waitress came, she was pleasant and took our order quickly, the food was also presented quickly. My children’s meals looked good and they seemed to enjoy it but my eggs were brown on the bottom like they had been cooked too long, my hash browns were crunchy and looked nothing like they are supposed to and my shire sausage was burnt on one side. I thought about complaining there but didn’t have the heart to say anything to my waitress, she was too nice. I don’t know if maybe they got a new cook but if I am going to pay to eat at an establishment I expect the same quality I would get as if I cooked it myself.

20

Went to the Denny’s in McAllen, Texas. The service was horrible. Our waitress was never around, took us over an hour to get our food. And once we finally got our food, we didn’t even get all of it. We had to call the lady twice in order to get the rest of our food. The eggs were hard, we had to cut them with a steak knife. Finally when we told someone about the experience, all he said was “oh”. Overall horrible experience. We will never be going back.

60

I came with my family to your saginaw, mi Denny’s and am appalled at the unorganization and terrible service we experienced. We came in for a Christmas Eve dinner and waited for 15 minutes to be seated along with 6 other people who had been waiting even longer. We were sat and never asked what kind of beverage we wanted or when a server would be with us. We waited at our table for 25 minutes before I called over the manager to take our drink order. The entire resturant was filled and they’re was only 1 server doing all the table. It was 10 minutes later that he brought the drinks and he brought the wrong drinks. And the hostess took the drink order of the table next to us and they had just been seated. It was nearly another 10 minutes later before our orders were taken. This has to be the absolute worst service I’ve ever experienced before and I’ve been coming to Denny’s since I was a kind am seriously not considering coming back or recommending your resturant to anyone I know.
Very disappointed,
Nick barr

20

To Who It May Concern:
On a weekly basis I order take-out from my local Denny’s restaurant. Each time I visit (12/02, 12/06, 12/17) the Denny’s on Reseda #46789 (Merchant #1) I am harassed by the store Manager! He is never friendly or wearing a name tag.

His negative attitude and comments towards me include statements like “other Manager’s may not charge you for a cup of ice, but I have to start charging you.” ‘I need to see ID’ when I use my credit card for payment and I don’t see the same Manager telling other customer the same statements.

Two weeks ago, while in the restaurant, I told the District manager. The comments have not stopped. This time I am writing a note to the Denny’s Corporation, BB, yelp, and possibly the media to let them know about this Manager’s conduct. I want my complaint placed and in his permanent file and tallied in his next review. I feel his actions are speared by both racial and gender biases. Though it may not sound much, it is enough for me to write/phone the corporate office. This man never says ‘hello’ or ‘good morning’ like I see him doing some other customers.

Last night I went to the Denny’s restaurant on Topanga Canyon Blvd. and both the Manager and employee were very nice to me. I have driven 5 miles out of the way to this Denny’s to avoid the Reseda restaurant’s disrespect! I am determined to keep writing complaints until your company removes that manager from any store in my local area. In closing, he is not worth the financial loss of me taking my business to another company and telling all of my family/freinds about my experience and the corporate response.

Respectfully,
K. F. Williams, MPA. MS.
818 4165338

20

On Friday 1/27, I visited a Denny’s near home (CA), store # 8747. When we entered, there was just another table in the restaurant since right across from Denny’s they had just opened Buffalo Wings & everyone is going there instead. Considering that it was dead inside, the server sat us down and took forever to check back with us. When I showed her my coupon of buy 1 get 1 free entrée asking if we could choose any entrée in the menu, she said yes and disappeared once again. Another party of about 8 people entered and they got seated to the left of us. She took their drink order, brought out the items, and once again, disappeared. Never checked in on us.

After 20 minutes of waiting, she finally stopped by and took our order. Since the coupon says we need to get 2 drinks with it, we ordered an OJ & an iced tea. Appearantly the OJ comes in either small or large but we never specified the size, and she never asked.

Throughout our entire dining time, never once did the serve check in on us to see how we were doing. She did walk around but it wasn’t to check in on any table. So we assumed that she was just lazy, not so much of biasing on us using the coupon. I jokingly told my husband he would have to make eye contact to get her attention, we both tried, she saw us, but nothing! So he raised his hand, waved at her, and asked for a refill on the OJ, but (sorry we didn’t know this), there’s no refill. Fine. Instead, she brought out the bill & left it on our table. We asked her for a togo box, that was a second time she stopped by our table.

Seeing that the drink was charged as a large OJ, I was a little puzzled thinking I didn’t ORDER a large, I didn’t even know what she brought out was a large. So as we made our way to pay, I mentioned to her at the cash register that I did not order a large. She then turned to my husband, had the nerve to point at the menu which was 3 steps away, & demanded “give me the menu, I’ll show you”. He brought it to her, she pointed @ the price & said “look, small is 1.99, large is 2.65”. I replied “yes I understand, but it’d be nice if you’d ask us for the size specification”. “No, just like how you would in any restaurant, it is YOUR JOB to tell me what you want, NOT my JOB to ask. Just like your coupon, you ASKED me if you could use it. NOT MY JOB to ask you.”

What?

I answered back, “no, just like how you asked me about how I would like my eggs, my steak, & my toast prepared. Same thing with the size of the drink! But it’s only a difference of whatever, I’m just letting you know”. To my statement, she turned to me, waved the receipt in front of my face, & said “it’s ok. I pay for you. You can’t afford the 65 cents, I pay for you.” This was it for me. There is no way any human being can possibly talk to another human being like this. Plus, if 65 cents make that much of a difference to me, I don’t think I’ll eat @ Dennys. I could have gone to Norms & other places where there are cheaper food at about the same quality!!!

So I demanded to talk to a manager instead of dealing with her. She ignored my request, turned around & repeated “no no, it’s fine. I pay for you. You’re so cheap I pay, that’s fine!”. I said more firmly “I need to speak to your manager”. She turned to a co-worker, spoke in Spanish, laughed, & walked away to talk to the manager who has been standing behind the glass window behind her this whole time. He nodded, smiled, gave her a comfort tap on the shoulder & chin & said “it’s ok I got it. Love you”.

As he made his way out, he said he’ll take care of the 65 cents for me. I DON’T THINK ANYONE AT THIS PLACE UNDERSTANDS THE REAL PROBLEM HERE. It’s the customer service that I’m not satisfied with, not the 65 cents. With my t-bone steak meal, it was well over 65 cents for sure! My bill was $40+, why would the 65 cents matter?

So I explained the situation just like what I have written up here, when I got to the part where the server only came to our table twice 1) to tell us no refill, 2) to give us the check, right when I finished my sentence, the server dashed and jumped from out of nowhere to the counter, slammed on her on it, & said “fine, you want to lie, lie. You people LIE”. I turned to the manager & asked “is this how a customer should be treated?”, he turned to her and said “it’s ok Maria, I got this”.

Wow, never once was she asked to calm down or step aside, she had the full right to be there & pointed at my face all she wanted. At the end, I asked for the manager’s name, the server’s name, & the corporate email to report this incident. Maria, my server, was standing with the rest of her gang in the corner dogging us down, speaking full-blast Spanish and laughing because we’re stupid enough to think corporate email would work.

As we made our way out, in the parking lot, a white lady said to us “I saw what happened in there, but seriously, why would you waste time with these people. This is their “hood”, they are protected by law & they’re not going anywhere”. I disagree. Regardless of one’s race, one must fulfill a job requirements as one promises to do so upon hiring. This letter is a one of the many reflections of Denny’s customer service: negligence, attitude, and unsafe environment. Will I ever eat here again? You know the answer. Will I publish this post on all the search engine and social network? Will I publish this on my personal website? Will this be on our local newspaper? Definitely.

What I demand is not the 65 cents. But I demand justice. The fact that we as mankind treats each other with kindness and not what I got from Maria, our server.

60

On 10-29-11, we stopped to get sundaes to go from Dennys on Roscoe and Topanga in West Hills in California and the guy didn’t seem to want to get it. He got it and perked up, but once I opened it to eat it, it was DISGUSTING!! There was a few dried up, hard pieces of fudge on top and the sundae was just gross and uneatble. I think it was the manager. Pobably the same guy who threw my friend and I out a few years ago because we were playing a card game. We ordered coffee. We didn’t just sit there playing games and we weren’t being disruptive. They say customer service matters to them, but it doesn’t seem like it.

60

My son is a cook at this new franchise, and he calls it the best job he’s ever had. Except for one problem. Almost as soon as the restaurant there was one cook was belligerent, lazy, and finally, dangerous. This cook man assaulted another cook, then brandished a large knife and threatened the other cooks. At first, the owner said he would fire the man after payday. Then he said he was afraid of being accused of discrimination. Now this man is back in the kitchen and I feel that anyone, of any race, should lose their job after threatening a coworker, especially while waving a knife at them.

I know that in the past Dennys was accused of discrimination, but clearly this is not the case here. As scared of being accused of discrimination as this owner is, he needs to be more worried about letting this violent individual stay employed there. I can tell you, as a multi-racial individual my son could care less what color the man is, he just wants to know that the people he works with aren’t going to snap at any minute. As his mother, I can tell you if this man assaults my son, I will sue this franchise owner. I will sue Dennys as well. There’s a reason he’s so scared to fire him, and it doesn’t take a genius to put two and two together.

The past problems of discrimination makes me believe that it’s a little talked of rule of thumb given to owners, to keep Dennys out of the news. But this is a dangerous man. Now that he knows he can do that without consequences who knows how far he will push the envelope next.

60

My friend and I had gone into Denny’s at 7619 E. Ben White Blvd. in Austin, Texas. There is black mold in the corners of the restaurant as well as on the cieling tiles. We had sat in the dinning room with the glass window walls and it had a very high smell of wet mold. After leaving I started to get a headache and felt sick to my stomach. This should be addressed because you can have many lawsuits if the mold is serious. How can a nice family breakfast restaurant like Denny’s allow mold to bother it’s business to the point where it is actually losing customers because of shoddy service!!!!

40

I went for supper at the Big Spring, Texas Denny’s workers were in and out smoking then return to work without washing hands. They would serve coffee/food then return outside leaving place unattended. What upset me the most was when the cook anwsered his cell phone while cooking!!! He keep holding the phone and cooking. He hung the phone and never went to wash his hands until i pointed my concern to the Manager. Then manager walked to the cook and ask him to “hang up that phone”! We got up and left when no attempt for the cook to wash his hands. We choosed to leave without eating and the cook followed us out to smoke.

What a dirty looking environment to begin with >>>> this place needs to be torn down and rebuilt to make it clean. I plan to call the health department in the morning.

40

we visited dennys in checotah oklahoma today and the waitress was un interested in taking our order. we ordered a apple cranberry salad and soup a desert cup and a slice of coconut pie. we had to ask again for our soup and the salad was minus the apples. we never received the fruit cup or the pie. she said the pie was frozen and couldnt be served at this time and she was still looking for the fruit to make the fruit cup. we thought we would give them one more time to redeem themselves so we tried their breakfast. they took our order but thirty minutes went by and still no breakfast. then fourty five minutes and nothing so we decided to go to mcdonalds where we got waited on right away and a heck of a lot cheaper.

60

If you want cold food and drug daelers the Denny’s at 425 ne. Hassalo in Portland Or. is the place to go. Sit and watch the pimps and the prostatutes play around the resturant. Watch the shift manager Janice let the local bullies walk out with dishes and not paying there bill just because that person was black ( as she is ).I’m a senior who really likes the food at Denny’s but since this is the only Denny’s in my neibhorhood I will not be consuming food from this place again and if Denny’s has any respect in its company they should clean this place up, add security and take a better look at the people who run their business’s for them.

My main complaint is that I watch and timed how long it took to bring our meal to the table once it was placed on the waitress station by the cook. Over 10 miniuts it sat getting cold while the help in this placed walk around giggling and talking street talk, very un- business like. Well Denny’, as of now we are through.

60

The pecan chicken cranberry apple salad was unfit to eat. the greens were very wilted and were more stem than edible portion. there were no pecans because we asked for them, and were offered peanuts instead which is disgusting. the chicken was microwaved to long and was unappetizing. the size of the salad was the small portion and we were charged for the large size. If there was 12 or 14 cranberries then that was abonus The server was uniterested in his job that day and did not seem too concerned about our problem with the meal. I can not say enough negative comments about the meal. Was a most unpleasant dining experience. I well not be visiting this dennys any time soon and possible never again.

20

I would think that you would realize charging $2.00 for a cup of coffee is ridiculous. I could see $1.00 a cup to draw your public in. Kids it free under 5 years old is good. Deserts have price with a meal would be good. Special discounts for senior citizens other than a senior menue. Other restraints in my zip code area 32765 and 32708 offer this. I DO NOT SEE your restaurants’ overly crowed. Your food is not that great. Does not have that home cooking taste. Breakfast is so, sometime good….mostly bad…..I usually end up with an upset stomach. I use to eat at Denny’s once a week. Now maybe once every 6 months. (Like today). It wasn’t that good.

Help must have got up on the wrong side of the been. I even asked if she was feeling ok. Help could be friendlier. I have a whole list of ideas to improve your restaurants. Without your public you have nothing.

40

I’ve had several bad experiences at the local Denny’s. Twice I couldn’t get served and left. The second time I complained to the manager by phone. A couple of times my bill was wrong. A few days ago, when I went to pay, I noticed my “subtotal” had jumped fifty cents – before tax with no notation of what it was for (I hadn’t ordered a drink or anything extra to my knowledge). I ordered a dinner at Denny’s which came with 2 sides. They told me that one of the sides was fifty cents extra. I told them I didn’t see that in the menu – and after insisting I be given a menu to show them there was absolutely no notation about that.

They asked if my Denny’s server had told me and my answer was no. They took off the charge, but I’m still left wondering about their business practices.

20

i always order at dennys for our company lunch. the address at 4824 n. river road schiller park 60176. date of order 05/24/11 time 10:48:36. the request was to make sure the steak dinner to be meduim rare and too make sure to make it really meduim rare due to unable to go back to get a new one if wrong due to lunch time is limitted. i rcvd the food and it was very well done!!!! i talked to the manger, miguel at that time and he is very rude and mean and sarcastic that i am just making up the story that the food is well done. i apologize for the word but he was an A** when he was talking to me.

he do not want to return my money without bringing the food back there and i told him that i wont be able to bring it back due to my work require to throw all food after lunch time and not leave in our desk. that is our policy!!! my company is very big and you just lost our business!!! i want my money back for $15.17 and i will not go back to that restuarant so that they can harrass me. you can reach me at sheilla.guarin [at] xerox.com. thank you!

40

I had been visiting the Latrobe, Pa. Dennys for many years. And up and until a few years ago I quit visiting because of the food quality. I would order breakfast and more often than not the food served was not per my request. ie, I would order an item without cheese and the item would be served with cheese. I would order my eggs over medium, and they would be served runny or hard. Many times the eggs would be floating in grease. The hash browns would either be over cooked(burnt) or almost still frozen. It was not just me. I would observe the server returning items to the cooks, because there was some problem.

Last year I retuned to see if things had changed. For awhile things we okay, but lately its back to the same thing.
The servers are afraid to say anything because of being reprimanded. They have set quidelines for serving and clearing tables, and do not feel comfortable doing whats right by the customer. It seems that volumn and customer turn around is priority over service and food quality. The server should be the judge as to if the food is of the standards that Denny’s subscribe. If the server observes that the food is not to the customers request, the server should be able to have the cook redo the order with out fear of any repercussions and the manager should back them and hold the cook responsible for the qualily of the food.

An item that is not prepared to the customer’s request, should not be presented to the customer, and ask them if it is okay the way is is? It should never be put on the tray, and say “order up”. The servers at the local Denny’s are all very considerate and polite, and apoligize for the problems. The manage(s) will visit and talk about the problem, but it is just lip service, for the same things keep happening. I don’t see any corrections in later visits.

I will probably not be returning to the Latrobe Denny’s in the near future. I visit Denny’s at least once a week for breakfast, so these comments are not from just a single visit, but occurances for over the years. The one reason that I return is that the servers do a good job, and on the occasion when the food is served, per my request, is good.

40

Manager at dennys in absecon new jersey was rude and immature telling me to go to the kitchen and watch them cook the eggs that was sent back because it was not properly cooked in the first place. This incident happened April 30,2011 at around 7:30 am while eating breakfast at Denny’s. This manager, should be reeducated on how to treat customers with respect at his location. Very rude manager at the Absecon, New Jersey restaurant.

60

After dining in at the Denny’s located on Lynhurst Drive (near the airport) in Indianapolis one morning last week, I received the bill and went to the register to pay. My friend left the tip on the table, and went out to the car. There was a customer paying , so I stood behind him, with my credit card and bill in hand. Once the Denny’s cashier completed that transaction, I came up to the register, again with card and bill in hand, however she did not acknowledge me. She shut her money drawer, then walked away. Hummmm…OK. She must be busy, I thought, so I waited for her to come back and ring me up for the bill.

And watched as 3 other Denny’s employees walked behind the counter and past the register to fix drinks and turn in orders…and waited, no one ever said a thing to me. So,I finally said in a loud voice “guess i will have a seat while I wait to pay!” and I did. Seating at a booth across from the register…I waited….Well, I’m sure you get the point, I ended leaving after waiting 15 minutes without paying! I even stood outside to leisurely smoke, and nope NO ONE noticed! Now, granted our Denny’s bill was less than $10.00, heck we left a $4 tip, so my intention was never to dine and dash!

Not sure what the problem was, but waiting to pay for that long and being ignored at Denny’s is unacceptable! My time too is valuable, a simple “someone will be with you in a moment” or even a “hold on’ would have been ok. Heck-they could have just have said nothing to me, but let me pay, so I could be on my way….

20

The dennys in our area never have french dressing for their salads! why???

Have feedback for Denny's?

Thanks for your feedback!

Sorry. Please try again later!