Big Lots Customer Service
Rated 1.53 of 5 Stars
Based on 30 Complaints

Contact Big Lots Corporate

Toll free phone number: 614-278-6800

Big Lots, Inc. www.biglots.com is an American retailer based in Ohio that specializes in everyday consumables of house ware, toys and season items at closeout prices. It is traded publicly on NYSE:BIG and has 1490 locations in 48 states. In 2014 sales/revenues were reported as US 5.1 billion.

If you want to contact Big Lots about a product or service you may call 1-866-244-5687. You may also find online help here. To contact CEO, David Campisi, address your postal letter with: Big Lots Corporate Offices, 300 Phillipi Rd., Columbus, OH 43228-5311. The headquarters phone number is 614-278-6800.

Sol Shenk started Consolidated International, Inc. in 1967. It was later called Odd Lots and in 2001 became Big Lots. The marketing goal of Big Lots is to ‘help people connect with their inner bargain hunter’. Social presence is found on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and Instagram.


Experienced poor service? File a complaint here!

Big Lots Contact Information

Report complaints to corporate and get satisfaction

  • Big Lots headquarters address

    • 300 Phillipi Road
    • Columbus
    • OH 43228-5311
    • United States
  • Company website

  • 1-800 phone number

    614-278-6800
  • Better Business Bureau rating

    A+

  • Customer service hours

    24 hours a day

Browse reviews of other Retail Stores



Top Big Lots Complaints

Browse more than 30 reviews submitted so far

20

While shopping at the Big Lots store in Madison Heights Michigan on July 8th my purchase totaling 8167 with my debit card was it first declined for no apparent reason after running the card again the purchase was approved the following day checking my bank statement both purchases went through to my bank trying to resolve the matter by calling the store was not helpful they gave me a number for the corporate office that was not helpful they gave me a number for the billing company they basically told me that I had to wait for 3 to 5 business days before they could resolve my issue I found that reasoning unacceptable I'm sure they wouldn't allow me to walk out of their store with merchandise and tell them that I will pay them in 3 to 5 days used to be a loyal Big Lots customer not anymore

20

While let’s see I wrote two days ago and no response to the poor services I received as far as a sofa I purchased three weeks. Tomorrow is the third time they will be delivering my sofa, first two times a tear in 1 and a nail sticking out of this one. Very disappointed see u people do not value your customers at all, I will NEVER I repeat Never purchase anything again. And I will pass the word, seen u don’t respond I do not look to hear from u

20

After my mom and had already paid for our groceries and went out the store the manager whom i forgot her name is a Hispanic lady had one of her new young employees (Sherryle fulkenberry) chase me out to the parking lot where she demanded to look in my purse after i told her for what reasons because she saw me on camra stealing and didnt ask me while i was in the store and before she let me pay for my items she waits till i get to my vehicle then starts threatening me she also tried to come and put hands on while working for big lots in uniform then she tried to grabb my purse but i yanked it out of her grib the store manager didnt come out till she started calling me names saying i was a tweeker and i need to stop stealing, her manager thought it was funny so honestly i want to see that new employee fired because that is so unprofessional of her to come and attack me the way she did.

20

I want to first start by saying, I always shop at Big Lots, I love Big Lots. You can pull up my account Jamie (Stankowski) Janczuk and see my purchases. However, I'm upset enough about my last experience to be writing this complaint. Probably because of the amount of money I have spent at this particular location. My husband and I recently moved and received a bunch of coupons from various stores offering us discounts. The one I received from Big Lots was for 20% off my in-store purchase expiring July 1, 2019. This past weekend, I took my son into the store after soccer practice to look at pools and for a new monster truck! Upon arriving there, it dawned on me I had this coupon (which of course I left home - story of my life). I asked the workers if I could purchase the pool and then bring the coupon back to get the 20% taken off. They told me that was fine and to come back within the next day or so, and they would adjust my receipt to reflect the discount. So I bought a 16x42 pool along with other items totaling over $300 went home and came back a few hours later with the coupon. Side Note: There was a coffee table and end tables my husband and I had been looking for our basement so he told me to ask if I could purchase them as well with the 20% off while I was there. The woman I spoke to said yes she would do that for me since I was making these purchases the same exact day so I could get the discount on this $200 purchase as well. The coffee table and end tables set that was on display in the store ended up not being in stock in the back. So, I asked if order it and pay for it and then they could let me know when the next shipment came in to pick it up, or could I just buy the floor display. They weren't sure if I could do either of those so we went up front to speak to the manager, Valerie. Valerie was RUDE and completely disregarded me and all of the money I had spent that day, and the additional money I was willing to spend in her store that day. She flat out said, "you can use the 20% on the pool or you can use it on the coffee table set," but she wasn't willing to re-ring and ring everything under one order to allow me to use the 20% off in-store purchase I was given. She didn't apologize, she didn't smile, she didn't thank me for my business...nothing. She said "it's too much to re-ring everything, and it's for a one time purchase." I'm furious because I should have just gone home to get the coupon and come back to make my purchases. Then, I would have been able to use MY 20% off in-store coupon for my ENTIRE purchases that day of the pool, the table set, the tarp, the monster truck, and the numerous other items I purchased from that store that day. It makes no sense and is beyond frustrating. I would really appreciate Big Lots sending me a 20% off coupon so that I can make my furniture purchase as I intended to that day but refuse to do without my discount. Otherwise, I will gladly spend double the price to go elsewhere and give another company mine and my husband's hard-earned money that Valerie's store does not deserve, or apparently even care about. I would really love for someone to look up my purchases at that location to see just how much money I spend there. It's a lot. And I will be certain to take my business some place else if I'm not satisfied with the outcome of this complaint. Some of the cashiers there are so nice and go above and beyond ( I really wish I could remember some of their names) but Valerie was a total (pardon my language) bitch and put a very bad taste in my mouth as a very loyal customer. It's a shame customer service is practically non-existent these days. People don't seem happy to help, they seem bothered and annoyed to have to do something for a customer or to take a few extra steps to ensure a customer's happiness and future purchases.

20

On Memorial Day, I purchased a couch and oversized chair. The manager of the store was the one who helped me. He told me they didn't have the chair in their store but checked with another store and found one. He said he would get one of his employees to go get it and would have it at his store on Wednesday in order for me to pick both of them up on Thursday. On Friday, May 31, 2019, I went to the store to get both the couch and chair and they couldn't find the chair because another employee sold it. Then the manager acted like he didn't know what was going on. I really want this chair because it goes with my couch. I find this to be poor customer service. I feel like this should be made right, get the chair to me at a discount and pay for the delivery of the chair to my house. And I don't want the model on the sales floor! I spent 3 hours in that store because they didn't have enough help in the store to help people. Your response is appreciated.

20

Last week I went into the big lot near me 34473. Your weekly Ad on your summer patio furniture. False advertising. When I went to pay for my chairs along with other customers , the sale girl said there was nothing she can do about the mistake in ad the chairs we had for our patio table were not on sale. So we put chairs back along with the other customers. The sale Clerk Said” it’s not all patio furniture. I was upset it was for my daughter and her six kids. After all we just brought a lot of furniture there. At least $2,000. Also all the screws from her dining room table came out the sale Guy on the floor told me to buy wood glue and try to put screws back in. All the screws are out the table and chairs are just sitting there until we can find someone to put the table and chairs back together. The patio table is just sitting there until the chairs go back on sale.The chairs were $25.00 each we needed 4. Advertisement Was 25% off and others were on sale too. The girl said it was advertising mistake she couldn’t give us nothing off. Thank you I still love shopping at Big Lot from Philadelphia to Ocala.. Rachel Medina my daughter. Thank you

20

I was woundering where my rewards are .
I just bought several items that cost me quit a bit..
C
an someone send my rewards to my email
Junevanderhoof0@gmail.com thank you

20

I contacted big lots over a week ago in regards to an issue with the brick nj location and no one has contacted me. I have emailed three times and left a voicemail for a supervisor and nothing. This has been the worst customer service experience.

20

Went to do a price exchange in the Germantown Md store today. The manager Adam
wa very unprofessional and inappropriate . Told me they do not do price adjustments on xmas items that are clearance. When I said I will bring them back and re buy them,
He said he would take them in the back and almost said he would throw them away but he caught himself and said so I couldn't buy them. That is a very discriminating remark.
He so arrogant he knows a complaint is being made about him that when I called to get the DM # he said they would just refer me back to the store. He must be use to people complaining about him to corporate, and no one doing anything about him and his Unproffessional inappropriate attitude. He was nasty to me and other customers shaking their head at him. I will explain more when someone from corporate contacts me . Wil explain the whole story to them since this says limited words. Ja20879@yahoo.com
Micki argilan

20

This happened twice when I walked into this store. A tall white employee gentlemen called me a queer. He has dark black hair or dark brown hair. This occurred on 08/13/18. This happened again last month. Also I believe your machines are not working properly. I purchased a dvd saw your employee a white female run the skanner for my discount and it did not register. I noticed this when I arrived home.

20

I went to the big lots in boynton
A few days ago,
I i need it help at the patio departament
An associte name luanne came to hepl but bisides help us she staring to complain about.
She was so dsrespectful and inprofetional no clue was customer service about.
I will never go back to that store!!
N i realy love that store, but after that experience i don t!!

20

On 2/14/18 at 9am I was waiting for the Big Lots on Boulder Hwy Las Vegas to open when I entered the guard Mack said was 86d from the store. The guard Mack, the store manager Rosalind and the cashier Brenda were there accusing me. They said Brenda said I was always in the store always running around the store not buying anything as if I may be trying to steal . I told them that was a lie I always pay for whatever I buy. I don't steal. I am not always in there running around. I told them they were wrong and accusing the wrong person. It had to be someone who looked like me and they said" no its you and we have me on tape." They said they had me on camera doing these things. I asked them to please let me see this tape showing I did something wrong but they didn't show me a tape. Brenda the cashier said she already called the metro cops so I should leave and she was laughing at me the whole time. I told them I wanted to wait for the cops because to arrive there because I didn't do anything wrong. I told the guard the cashier Brenda is lying on me because she is jealous and envious of me. Every time I come in the store she gives ugly screw faces like she hates me and rolls her eyes at me. So she is making this up. Brenda was cracking up laughing at me like a child the whole time this was going on. Brenda brought false charges on me. And the manager Rosalind and guard Mack cosigned on it without letting me see a tape showing I did anything wrong. They all should be fired. This has never happened to me before so you need to change the protocall there. Brenda is probably on drugs or alcohol because when these people get jealous they will do anything to lie, cheat, and manipulate people to believe their stupid stories. They are mean spirited. They will sell themselves and their own children. I know because I was in an abusive relationship. He was on crack, marijuana, cocaine, alcohol. He hid it from me and lied and said he wasn't. But I found it myself one day in a bag he had. But this explained the physical verbal and emotional abuse. If he was jealous of someone he would lie and manipulate and try to harm that person's character in some shape or form . I had him arrested for abuse and I had to go to therapy. I have PTSD, Depression, and Anxiety. So I know the signs of these people. I have never been arrested, nor have a criminal record. I never did drugs or alcohol. Normal, clean, sane professional people don't go around at work rolling their eyes, giving screw faces and not speaking to you while working as the cashier. This is what Brenda did to me every time I came in there. She wouldn't say one word. You need to do a drug test on her and a lie detector test on her to show she was lying about me, and she knew she was making false accusations about me. She just wanted to embarrass and humiliate me. I am willing to take a lie detector test. Thank you Dawn Guy Phone Number 646-351-9537 Please call instead of email

20

I bought 5 of these pots. One on 4/2/2017 and four on 3/27/2017 for a total cost of $82.21. Does not include 9.5% tax. Pictures attached. These pots are not that old. They are all crumbling apart. I still have receipts.

20

Observation: how does the Big Lots store in murphy, NC stay open? There are hardly ever any cars in the parking lot and when you go in you find out why. The place is junky and its not a friendly store. Its just not a pleasant place and is there not a dress code in appropriate clothing? The employee I saw had on tan pants that were way to small. Thats not appropriate on any size person but especially a larger person. This store is the black eye of other big lot stores. I got a few things on my trip but I don't think I will return.

40

On July 03, 2016 like visited the Big Lots establishment located at 7323 FM 1960 Road, West Houston Texas 77070-5801 at 1:08pm transaction C1609024. I purchased items from the specialist furniture department (salesman) l purchased 2 bar stools one was on clearance and the other was regular priced. l left the store with a bit of concerns of people skills that the gentleman (salesman) and l encountered.

The gentleman 's dialogue was to me out of order when l asked him if l could get the one assembled. I have worked for Sam's Club 25 years plus and if l was to ever entertain a customer with such words l would be given a warning. I felt the gentleman (salesman?) could have said Ma'ma you can get this assembled at a later date and time. Even though there was 2 other Bar stools displayed like the one l purchased which was 3 already displayed even though those was with a small dinner table.

My concern is that the Big Lots employees dialogue was not received as his best, cause certainly l could have been a mystery shopper for corporate and his choice of words would have been rated potential status can be improved. l not asking the salesman be removed but to seek public people skills in house videos. Thanks, your Big Lots continuous shopper.

20

We purchased a "Petite Foyer" portable heater that was on clearance on 5/2/16 at store #0175 on Bardstown Road in Louisville, Kentucky. When we got it home and started unpacking, we found the unit was damaged. We repacked the item and returned to the store to exchange it. Upon arriving at the store, we were not greeted. We waited for a few minutes and then I politely advised the lady at the counter that we wanted to exchange the item. The clerk stated that she didn't think there were any remaining. However, there were 5 boxes sitting about 5 feet from the counter where we stood. The clerk said that we needed to check with another person that was out on the floor. We did so and that person stated that we needed to go back to the clerk at the counter.

We did so and took one of the cartons with us to do the exchange. We then asked if we could open the new box to make sure is wasn't damaged. The clerk then said, "I think they are all damaged." I could not believe she made that statement. So, I asked her, "Why are you selling damaged merchandise?" She did not answer. At that point another worker approached us and said that she was wrong. She proceeded to open the box. We did not see any damage, so, we accepted the new item and loaded it and loaded it into our vehicle. She was not call anyone to assist us with loading the item into our vehicle. The clerk at the checkout counter was extremely rude and totally unwilling to assist us in any way. I feel that this clerk needs to be reprimanded. If she is that dissatisfied with her position, I would suggest that she find other work to perform that did not consist of dealing with customers.

20

i purchased a container of cat litter today and attached to the container was a 1.00 off coupon. The cashier stated that big lots does not honor coupons. How can you sell a product with a coupon attached and not honor the coupon? I have contacted the supplier and expressed my displeasure with them as well. As for shopping at big lots going forward i will make my purchases elsewhere.

40

I sent two emails and still haven't receive any response on 11/29/15 & 12/1/15. I went to Big Lots on 11/29/15 to redeem my coupon that was only given to customers based on what they spent on 11/26, 11/27, & 11/28. The coupon has to be redeemed from 11/29 to 12/4/15. I was told by the clerk and the manager on duty (Marty) that I could not use or redeem my coupon when I went into Big Lots on 11/29/15. They were knowledgeable about the coupon, and the manager was clueless, and just agreed with everything that the clerk said. He didn't even try to read the coupon or resolve the issue in any way. I explained to him about the coupon and what it said, and he didn't even seem to care about anything I had said. His attitude was basically to me, "just go away".

Why would customers be given a coupon to redeem later for what they spent on specific previous day, and then when you go back to redeem the coupons on specific dates, it's not honored? This store is the only Big Lots store located in Clovis, NM 88101. I would appreciate a response to my complaint. Like I've stated, I have written twice to Big Lots corporate offices and still haven't received any response of any kind. Thank you for your time and attention.

60

I was in line to check out when l was called to another line only had one item l asked to put it in a bag when the cashier said to my hubsand this will feat your hands just fine and l said no l want a bag she said l am talking to him l said you are talking to him but i am talking to you l was the one paying there was no need for her to address my hubsand cashier # 1140490

20

I when to Big lots for a return i bought the Item for my kitchen shelf and it did'nt fit . I had the receive, but I explain to the Lady that I had a Death in the family and lost the receive in all the pain in our family grief, but she said no I would lose the money and I have to keep something I;m never going to use.I think she could have given me store credit, but she also said no. what up with that I go to Target with no receive sometime i get store credit its not like your not going to sell the item.

60

I went into your big lots store at 7951 S. Broadway in Littleton,CO. I was shopping for a birthday gift for my Grandson. When I was in the toy isle I noticed a Dinosaur toy(prehistoric pet) that was on an advertised sale for $15.00. When I took this toy up to the register it rang up at $39.99 I showed the cashier the sign and stated it was the only one back there and the sign was on the self directly under the toy. She called the Assistant Manager(Payton) and he stated he could not make the choice as there was a big difference between the two prices and the advertisement expired on 10/29.

He called a store Manager(Linda) and she asked if it was the same sku#, and the cashier said no it rang up as a prehistoric pet however not a pterodacyl. So what is wrong with this? Advertisements not being pulled a toy that has the same name (prehistoric Pet) and the store did not honor this. I can't begin to say how upsetting this is for the consumer. This leads to very bad business.

40

I was returning two Big lots pet sweaters and just wanted to get smaller size IF they had any more if not I would keep the ones I bought they did not have any more so I went up to get them back and the Big lots cashier sold them they were mine not hers to sell. She never asked me to do any paper work to return them she just did it on her own I will not walk in to another big lots again to me the cashier was at wrong and should not have her job if she does what she damn well wants to.

40

I visited Biglots last week , I ended up buying a rug , some muffins, and an erase board that was in 3D. I left home really satisfied with what I bought. Next morning I was on my way to work and I saw the muffins & I said "Well mabe I will take one to drink with my coffee" So I grabbed a muffin & ignored to check the expiration date, while I was walking out the door I finally decided to go back and check the expiration date, So I got to the muffins and I came with the surprise that the muffins where expired since December 09, 2010!! I left really astonished thinking what could have happened if I ate one of those muffins. I then texted my husband telling him to not eat the muffins because they were 2 years expired & that we will go return them when we had time since we lived pretty far from the Kent Big Lots. Yesterday I went to the store to return them & both of the ladys where shocked, I dont understand how the manajer was shocked if she is the one who has to be checking everything and throwing away old stuff that doesn't work. I love going to Big Lots & especially for their good deals, but I'm doubting on going back if they are going to continue to have raw food & bad customer service

40

My sister and I was simply Christmas shopping for my son when police officers approached us in the store and said they had been called by store management that someone who matched our description had been shoplifting. When the officers asked to look through our purses we obliged and then they checked our pockets in the middle of the store making us feel like we were criminals. After being humiliated we left the store and I called and talked to the assistant manager. She said a customer had come up to them and said two women were stealing back in the toy department. She said she called the police to stay out of it. She also said that we were wearing heavy coats when we came in.This is West Virginia it was below freezing outside. Not once did she ever apologize for the incident, in fact it only made me feel worse. When I contacted the corporate office they told me they would send this to the distict manager and he would contact me by tuesday. I guess I wasn't good enough for him to talk to because the Store manager called me and said this was the police fault. She them said she had a gift card for me. This isnt about money, they embarassed me in the store and assumed I was guilty of something. The only thing I was doing was Christmas shopping for my son. My husband, happens to know some of members of the police departnent and they have a different story. They put the blame on the store. Apparently, with both sides blaming each other, no one even cares about us. Mistreated and falsely accused I guess they don't care how their customers feel. I will never shop there again and I will tell everyone I know how we were treated there. This is so frustating that no one in Big Lots seems to care. You can't put my dignity back on a gift card.

20

Big Lots seems to have bought my address from somewhere and continues to send unwanted adverts.
I have tried using the unsubscribe feature but it dioesn't ever wotk. I have contacted their people on the contact us feature and let them know I would contact FCC, BBB and my lawyer if it didn't stop. just got another one. guess I sue.

20

I purchased a Linksys cisco router model# wrt120n I can't find the receipt and the cable company told me I didn't need the router. I can't return it because I paid cash! What's the deal, I pay cash for a product, never open it and can't return it? How is that good business? I am usually a regular shopper at your store but have never been treated like this! If this is new company policy, as the manager said, it's not very fair to a cash paying consumer! Isn't there any way they can track the product to bring up the transaction so I can get a refund? Thank you.
Joe Antenucci

60

I was at the Fort Smith, Arkansas store today and I want to address how appalled I am with the way I was talked to and ultimately laughed at as I was leaving. I purchased some home furnishings and at the same time got a rewards card (which will collect dust after today). I selected two pictures to purchase for what I thought were ten dollars each. The pictures did not have a price anywhere on them, so like any normal person who reads from left to right, I saw that the tag on the left corner and it said ten dollars.

When they rang up for fifteen I questioned it and the lady went to look and I followed her. She pointed to a tag on the RIGHT bottom corner and said see they are fifteen. She did not check the sku number, the picture that was in the slot was different, but so long as she didn't have to do anything that is what it was. Then I requested a manager because I felt the price should be honored because people read from the left or the price is centered.

The rude female manager walked over there atter the cashier gave her the run down with her price findings included and the manager said the same thing. She did no check the sku, especially because the picture had no price tag, she then turned and walked away. After I finished purchasing my items (which I should not have done because there is no customer service or respect with company employees these days; even though it is the customer that allows your company to stay in business and give said employees a job) your employees thought they would be cute and laugh at me as I was leaving. Employees like this make me sick! Good job Big Lots

60

I bought a t.v. stand last week in the bangor maine store and I got it home and put it together and it was totally warped on one side. I was not a happy customer,but I am not able to bring it back because it is 3 tier glass,so i had to keep it. I paid 130.00 dollars for it but i think that big lots should do something about it especially being right in the box.I will not buy any thing at big lots again and i will let people no how i think that i got ripped off.

60

Big Lots store # 0575 Hampton Plz, 5363 Gunn HWY, Tampa Fl, 33624, I went into shop, first wewnt to the rest room 10/30/12. !0:30 am restroom was very dirty,washed hands NO Paper towel. looked at signed sheet to see when last cleaned. Signed for previous evening. went back next day to have my husband look at a item, I went back to use the restroom and it was worse than the day before. Washed my hands and had to go from the back of the store to the front to ask cashier for paper towels to wipe my hands. She never said a word, before leaving the store i checked to see if anyone had cleaned or put towels in their and they did'nt. This tells me your employies dont wash their hands either.

40

Today I went to Big Lots in Greenville, Pa to return some book shelves I purchased two days ago. The bookshelves were not what I wanted. I went to the register and ask the associate (Pauline) if she could get someone with a dolly to help me get them out of my car. She asked the manager if she should call "Bob" to help us. The manager said, "Yes". The associate (Pauline) called Bob over the intercom for a return. The manager said. "No"! He needs to bring a dolly with him. He's not going to come up here for a return." The associate didn't understand as the manager was not standing close and said it in a mean way. The associate asked her what she said. The manager said. "Never mind, I'll get it myself"! With that she took off in a huff. The associate should never have been treated like that especially in front of customers. She was speechless and embarrassed. I told her just because she got out of the wrong side of the bed don't let her put you in the wrong side, too. I was waiting for the manager to come back out so I could tell her she was the one that showed her true colors. No employee deserves to be treated "less than." I still hurt for her.

Have feedback for Big Lots?

Thanks for your feedback!

Sorry. Please try again later!